to top 10 table

Best Cockroach Traps

last updated Feb 08, 2019

Cockroaches are not only disgusting pests that can make their way into your home through small gaps but sharing your space with them can lead to dangerous illnesses in humans if the infestation gets bad enough. The best way to get rid of an infestation is to not let one occur in the first place but you might be past that point if you have stumbled onto our buying guide for cockroach traps. If your home is past the point of no return, the next best thing you can do is to try and trap or repel these little buggers. We have compiled a list of the ten best cockroach killers, traps and repellents so you can reclaim your home and get these creepy pests out of sight.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 4 hrs of research

icon
Brison Ultrasonic Repellent
98.6/100 our score
Versatility
99
Safety Hazards
98
Application
99
Effectiveness
98
Features
99
Brison Ultrasonic Repellent
Why is it better?

Comes as a two pack

Simple to use

Has a light on it when its plugged in

Chemical free

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Brison Ultrasonic Repellent
Test Winner: Brison Ultrasonic Repellent
Sorting Options
Versatility Safety Hazards Application Effectiveness Features By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Versatility
99%
Safety Hazards
98%
Application
99%
Effectiveness
98%
Features
99%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$29.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Versatility
98%
Safety Hazards
96%
Application
97%
Effectiveness
98%
Features
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$6.94
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Versatility
95%
Safety Hazards
93%
Application
96%
Effectiveness
95%
Features
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$8.75
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Versatility
92%
Safety Hazards
97%
Application
93%
Effectiveness
92%
Features
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$29.97
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Versatility
95%
Safety Hazards
86%
Application
95%
Effectiveness
95%
Features
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$7.97
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Versatility
89%
Safety Hazards
92%
Application
89%
Effectiveness
89%
Features
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$8.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Versatility
85%
Safety Hazards
92%
Application
86%
Effectiveness
83%
Features
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$15.25
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Versatility
86%
Safety Hazards
79%
Application
92%
Effectiveness
86%
Features
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$8.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Versatility
84%
Safety Hazards
90%
Application
90%
Effectiveness
75%
Features
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Versatility
84%
Safety Hazards
75%
Application
86%
Effectiveness
83%
Features
76%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$6.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Brison Ultrasonic Repellent
  • Alazco Glue Traps
  • Combat Roach Killing Bait
  • Ever Pet Ultrasound Pest Repeller
  • Hot Shot Ultra Liquid Roach Bait
  • Earth Chemical Co. Hoy Hoy Trap
  • Black Flag Roach Motel
  • Harris Boric Acid Roach Killer
  • Hyleo Pest Repellent
  • Harris Roach Tablets
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Brison Ultrasonic Repellent

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Brison Ultrasonic Repellent
Versatility
99
Safety Hazards
98
Application
99
Effectiveness
98
Features
99
best offer for today
$29.99
Pros:

Comes as a two pack

Simple to use

Has a light on it when its plugged in

Chemical free

Cons:

Can only work in places it can be plugged in

This unique product from Brison uses electromagnetic waves to repel a number of different annoying bugs and critters away from your home. This is a great option to rid your space of cockroaches because you don’t have to deal with their dead bodies as they just stop coming to your home altogether.

Read more

Versatility
The great thing about the repellent type cockroach traps is that they are incredibly useful in a number of other applications as well. This particular product works great for mosquitoes, bed bugs, spiders and even rodents.

Safety
Safety first! And with this product from Brison, you can rest assured that your small children and pets are safe from harm. Because this repellant user’s ultrasound controls, you don’t have to worry about the loved ones in your life coming into harm because of this product.

Application
This product is probably one of the easiest ones to use on our top ten list. All you need to do is plug it into an outlet and then the repelling properties begin right away. This product covers an area of 1100 square feet and can even send signals through walls.

Effectiveness
This product is extremely effective in repelling pesky bugs and annoying critters that can not only give us the heebie-jeebies but also cause damage to our homes. Because it can cover such a large area – 1100 sq feet – you can be sure that it is effective in repelling creatures throughout your home.

Features
This product uses optical, ultrasonic and electromagnetic waves in order to repel bugs and other pests from your home and yard. The body of this device is also fireproof.

2. Alazco Glue Traps

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Alazco Glue Traps
Versatility
98
Safety Hazards
96
Application
97
Effectiveness
98
Features
95
best offer for today
$6.94
Pros:

Very effective

No bad scents

Affordable price tag

No chemicals

Cons:

Can cause a mess if you happen to drop them face down

You still have to deal with the critters once you’ve caught them

These glue traps from Alazco are a very budget-friendly option for the homeowner who needs to get rid of their cockroaches but doesn’t have the money to drop on a more expensive trap.

Read more

Versatility
These glue traps can be used either in a flat position or folded. Having control over how the trap looks means you can set it up in unique spaces where only a folded trap can be set.

Safety
These glue traps are proudly non-toxic, meaning they are safe to use if you have children or pets in your home. That said, you should always try and be mindful about where you are placing these traps. Because the glue used is so heavy-duty, it can still ‘trap’ your poodle or toddler which could put you in a sticky situation (pun definitely intended) when it comes time to remove your loved ones from the trap.

Application
These traps are as simple to use as ever. All you need to do is pull back the outer covering to reveal the glue pad. The next step is to decide where you are going to place it in your home. How to set the trap? Put the glue pad on the ground and voila, you are done!

Effectiveness
These traps work surprisingly well and rather quickly, too. A number of current users raved about the fact that within a few hours of setting these glue traps on the floor, they had already caught a number of the pesky critters they were set out to catch.

Features
The glue surface measures 4.5 inches by 6.5 inches and, with its ability to be folded, you can ensure it’ll fit in nearly any space you want it to. It is available in a set of 6, 12 or 24.

3. Combat Roach Killing Bait

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Combat Roach Killing Bait
Versatility
95
Safety Hazards
93
Application
96
Effectiveness
95
Features
92
best offer for today
$8.75
Pros:

Not messy

Works fast

Lasts a long time

Easy to use

Cons:

May not work on all species of roaches

If you are searching for a no-mess alternative to cockroach traps, this option from Combat will have you covered. It does have some user warnings on the side of the box so if you live in a home with small children or pets, you might want to pay close attention to these warnings.

Read more

Versatility
This product is marketed as solely for use against cockroaches. Though we can’t attest as to whether or not it works for other similar bugs in your home.

Safety
These baits boast a child-resistant design that should protect any of your small kids that you have in your home. That said, there is a warning on the side of the box that states this product is hazardous to both humans and animals. It can be harmful if absorbed through the skin so the packaging suggests no contact with eyes, skin or your clothing occurs. It also suggests that you wash your hands thoroughly with soap and water after you’ve touched the trap and definitely before you bring your hands anywhere near your face, so before you eat or drink anything.

Application
These traps are incredibly easy to use. All you need to do is put the bait down in your home wherever you have seen a roach. The roaches are attracted to the bait and will enter the trap to eat it. Some will take the bait with them back to wherever their nest is which will aid in the killing of roaches still in the nest.

Effectiveness
Our research indicates that these traps are fairly effective at killing the cockroaches and their nest. These baits will last users up to eight months of use so it’s quite a small investment for long-term results.

Features
These baits come in packs of two, six or eight. They don’t leave a mess behind and are used best when you place them in areas where roaches will commonly be found like under your sinks and behind your toilets and kitchen appliances. What is really great about these baits is that the roaches will take the bait with them back to their nest effectively killing that roach as well as the ones you can’t even see.

4. Ever Pet Ultrasound Pest Repeller

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Ever Pet Ultrasound Pest Repeller
Versatility
92
Safety Hazards
97
Application
93
Effectiveness
92
Features
93
best offer for today
$29.97
Pros:

Non-poison

Easy to install

Will cover a large area

Safe for homes with pets and kids

Cons:

May not work for all types of cockroaches

In our number Four spot, we have the Ever Pet repeller that uses ultrasound technology to drive unwanted bugs and other critters away from your home.

Read more

Versatility
A great feature of the ultrasound repellants is that they work for a number of different pests. This option from Ever Pest is marketed towards rodents, mosquitoes, squirrels, bats and, of course, cockroaches.

Safety
Because this repellent uses ultrasound technology, it is absolutely safe to use in a home where pets and small children reside. There is no poison affiliated with this at all.

Application
This device has probably one of the simplest applications possible. You simply plug it in and the sonic repellent is immediately put to work.

Effectiveness
Ever Pest suggests that this device will provide coverage for 1800 square feet of your home and surrounding areas.

Features
This repellent has a light on it that you are able to power on and off with the touch of a button. It is 4 inches tall and 2.5 inches wide and will plug into any household outlet.

5. Hot Shot Ultra Liquid Roach Bait

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Hot Shot Ultra Liquid Roach Bait
Versatility
95
Safety Hazards
86
Application
95
Effectiveness
95
Features
93
best offer for today
$7.97
Pros:

Won’t leave a mess

Easy to use

Works fast

Kills roaches and eggs

Cons:

May not work for certain roach breeds

Here we have another similar product to the one from Combat. These liquid roach baits from Hot Shot are designed to attract the cockroaches to them as it disguises itself as an attractive source of both food and water.

Read more

Versatility
These traps are designed to not only kill the cockroaches drinking from them, but also the eggs that they carry around as well. This product is made to kill large and small roaches.

Safety
There is a caution on the front of the box that states users should not allow their children or pets to play with these roach baits. This leads us to believe that there may be some level of danger associated with these traps. But if you are a smart consumer and keep an eye on your little (and furry) ones, you should be fine to use these, especially if you are using them as directed and where the company suggests you use them.

Application
These bait stations are very easy to work. Roaches will sometimes come into our homes because they are looking for water. These baits work best if you place them near your water sources, like under the sinks in your kitchen and washroom.

Effectiveness
These baits use a quick kill formula that will work fast in order to get your infestation under control. The dual bait design of these helps them to be extremely attractive to the roaches who are entering your home in order to find water and food.

Features
Hot Shot outfitted these traps with “Advanced Liquid Bait” tech. This simply means that the bait used attracts roaches because it presents itself as a food source as well as a water source that the cockroaches need to survive. They come in cases of either one, three or six.

6. Earth Chemical Co. Hoy Hoy Trap

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Earth Chemical Co. Hoy Hoy Trap
Versatility
89
Safety Hazards
92
Application
89
Effectiveness
89
Features
84
best offer for today
$8.99
Pros:

Very effective

Will catch other insects

Safe to use

Easy to set up

Cons:

Kind of smelly

If you are looking for a chemical-free way to control the number of roaches (and other small insects) you have in your home, look no further than the Hoy Hoy trap. This easy to use and set up trap uses a glue platform to catch the pests.

Read more

Versatility
These traps from Earth Chemical Co., are designed mostly for use with cockroaches. You may find, however, that other similar bugs will be caught in this as well.

Safety
These baits are made using food ingredients. There is no pesticide use at all associated with this product. You can rest assured that these baits will be safe to use if you have pets or children in your home. That said, these traps are very stick so while they won’t poison your loved ones, you should still try and keep them away from it.

Application
These traps are very easy to use. This product uses a sticky platform to catch the roaches. They need to be placed in your home where there is suspected roach activity. You can also use them behind your kitchen appliances, closets or under your kitchen or washroom sink.

Effectiveness
You can expect to get about one month of use from each of these traps. Our research suggests that these traps really bring the cockroaches out of the woodwork. You may be surprised to see just how many roaches you have caught in your home once you start using these traps.

Features
We really love this Hoy Hoy trap because it uses no pesticides or harmful chemicals at all. It is easy to use and incredibly effective.

7. Black Flag Roach Motel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Black Flag Roach Motel
Versatility
85
Safety Hazards
92
Application
86
Effectiveness
83
Features
84
best offer for today
$15.25
Pros:

Easy to clean up

Great to determine size of infestation

Pesticide-free

Convenient to set up

Cons:

More expensive that other similar options

This roach trap from Black Flag is an incredibly effective tool to use if you are dealing with a bit of a cockroach situation. Not to mention, these traps work really great for other kinds of critters as well. You will see just what kind of bug infestation you are dealing with when you use the Roach Motel.

Read more

Versatility
Black Flag suggests that this trap can be used to control the population of not only cockroaches in your home but water bugs, spiders and even scorpions.

Safety
While this product is pesticide free and doesn’t produce any fumes or bad odors, the packaging still suggests you keep it out of reach of small children. This is because the glue pad in the ‘motel’ is very sticky and can quickly create a traumatic event if your child were to get stuck to it.

Application
Similar to other glue trap options on our list, this product from Black Flag just requires very little effort from consumers. Simply remove the trap from the wrapper it arrives in, and place it in the areas of your home where you have seen the roaches. Some suggestions are in cabinets, under your sinks or behind your kitchen appliances.

Effectiveness
This trap uses a special lure that attracts your household critters into it. Once the bugs are inside of the trap, they become glued in place and will eventually die. Black Flag recommends letting the trap work for three or four days to work.

Features
Black Flag believes so much in their product that they provide a money back guarantee. We have a lot of respect for companies who believe so wholeheartedly in what they are selling their customers that they can provide guarantees like this.

8. Harris Boric Acid Roach Killer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Harris Boric Acid Roach Killer
Versatility
86
Safety Hazards
79
Application
92
Effectiveness
86
Features
82
best offer for today
$8.99
Pros:

Quick acting

Cheaper than other options

Works for other pests too

Puffer makes application very easy

Cons:

Not safe for pets or children

This boric acid cockroach killer is an incredibly effective tool in your fight against pests. We feel it is important to mention, however, that despite the Amazon listing saying this product has been registered with the EPA for use in homes that have humans and animals, the packaging of the product actually states that it is hazardous to humans and domestic animals.

Read more

Versatility
Harris markets this product as an effective lure for not only cockroaches but water bugs, silverfish and palmetto bugs as well.

Safety
Harris has registered this product with the EPA, getting it approved in homes that have small children and pets. That said, the small print on the back of the bottle does recommend not using this in areas that animals and kids can get into. It also suggests not using it in an area where there is food nearby or anywhere food may be exposed to it. To be on the safe side, we would not recommend this product if you have children or pets in your home.

Application
This lure arrives with a puffer to aid in application. If you are hoping to place the boric acid in a hard to reach place, the puffer will make this easy as pie.

Effectiveness
This is a fast-acting lure that cockroaches are immediately attracted to. This food-grade lure will pull bugs out from their hiding places as they want to find the source of the scent. One they have come into contact with this product, they will die within 72 hours.

Features
This product is sold in either 16 ounce or 32-ounce options. This product is different from other boric acid cockroach powders because Harris has added a lure to it that will bring the cockroaches to the powder. As long as the powder remains dry, it will continue to work for months.

9. Hyleo Pest Repellent

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
 Hyleo Pest Repellent
Versatility
84
Safety Hazards
90
Application
90
Effectiveness
75
Features
82
best offer for today
Pros:

No chemicals or pesticides

Safe for use in homes with children or pets

Quiet

Don’t have to deal with any dead critters

Cons:

Doesn’t work through walls

At the number nine spot on our list, we have another ultrasonic and electromagnetic device that is designed to repel a number of different household pests.

Read more

Versatility
Hyleo markets this device as effective against a number of different types of critters including, but not limited to, mice, spiders, bats, wasps and, yes, cockroaches.

Safety
Because this device uses electromagnetic and ultrasonic technology and not harmful pesticides or chemicals, you can rest assured that it is safe for use in your home, whether or not you have small children or domestic animals.

Application
Simply just plug this device into any home outlet and you will have an effective pest relent. Hyleo does recommend plugging it in seven to 20 inches above the floor and ensuring that you do not have any furniture that can block the waves it transmits.
Effectiveness
Because this product is not designed to send ultrasonic waves through furniture or walls, it is only effective for one room. It does provide 1200 sq feet of coverage, however, so it works great for large rooms or garages. Hyleo suggests that consumers give this product about two weeks to start seeing an improvement in their cockroach infestation.

Features
Hyleo provides a lifetime quality warranty for this product. They recommend waiting about a month and if you do not see an improvement in the number of roaches on your property, they will work with you to find the best solution.

10. Harris Roach Tablets

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Harris Roach Tablets
Versatility
84
Safety Hazards
75
Application
86
Effectiveness
83
Features
76
best offer for today
$6.99
Pros:

Cost effective

Effective

Easy to hide

Can last a year or longer

Cons:

Not safe for use in homes with pets or children

In our tenth and final spot in our buying guide, we have another product from Harris. This one differs from the previous option from this company in that the boric acid is in pill form instead of powder. It is still hazardous to use in homes with children and small pets, however, so remember to take this into account.

Read more

Versatility
Harris markets this product as an effective way to kill both cockroaches and silverfish.

Safety
If you have small children or pets in your home, we suggest skipping right by this product. They are not safe for human or pet ingestion and there are plenty of other options on our list that can provide you with an effective way to rid your home of roaches without putting your loved ones at risk.

Application
To use these tablets, you need only to hide them in areas that you know the cockroaches have frequented. If you’re not sure, under your kitchen and bathroom sinks as well as behind your big kitchen appliances are great places to start. The roaches will carry the boric acid with them back to wherever their nest is, effectively killing their entire colony.

Effectiveness
One box of these tablets can be used to treat an entire home. If you keep the tablets dry, you can expect them to remain effective for over a year, making this product a very cost-effective and budget-friendly item to add to your cockroach fighting regimen.

Features
This product is available in either four- or six-ounce boxes. The four-ounce box has a minimum of 96 tablets in it, enough to use in a home with eight rooms. The active ingredient in these tablets is boric acid.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Versatility

Being able to kill, repel or trap more than just cockroaches make the product very versatile.

Though we are focusing predominately on trapping and killing cockroaches in this buying guide, a number of the traps on our list are actually quite effective at capturing or killing other bugs and pests as well. This is a great feature to have as it makes the product you are investing in much more versatile. If you were to purchase a trap that worked only for cockroaches but you also have a problem with ants or spiders, you might be disappointed when you try and use your trapping method to kill the other pests in your home.

Safety Hazards

Please be sure to pay extra close attention to the safety of your traps before you choose to purchase one

This is a huge concern when we are talking about products that sometimes use harmful chemicals to stop pest infestations. This is especially important if you live in a home where there are small children or pets around that can get into your garage or wherever you store your pest control supplies and seriously harm themselves. Because we tried to be as comprehensive as possible as we compiled our top ten list for this buying guide, we included a number of different styles and types of traps, some of which do utilize chemicals in their construction. Please be sure to pay extra close attention to the safety of your traps before you choose to purchase one. There are definitely options on our list that we would not recommend to folks who have pets or small children in their homes. You must also be mindful of where in your home you are placing your traps and how accessible those areas are to your tiny and furry family members. Some of the chemical-less options on are list are generally safe to use in homes with pets or children but should be placed in areas where they cannot reach the traps. For example, the glue traps can be especially traumatic, not to mention painful, for your pets or children to get stuck in.

Application

There are many different styles and applications of cockroach traps on the market.

As mentioned above, we tried to be very comprehensive when we performed our research for this buying guide. We didn’t want to include only one style of trap because there are so many different applications out there. On our list you will see roach killing bait, electromagnetic deterrents, and glue traps (amongst others). Some plug-in while others need to be placed strategically around your home. Which style is the right one for you? You will have to read our buying guide to find out. There are pros and cons to each of the style options and we will go into this more thoroughly as we dive a little deeper into each of the ten products on our list.

Effectiveness

You don’t want to spend your hard-earned money on a product that is ineffective.

This might be the most important criterion to look for as you begin your hunt for the best cockroach trap. Although none of these products are going to break the bank, in most scenarios anyway, you still don’t want to invest your hard-earned money into a poor-quality trap or one that just flat out doesn’t work. This is why we are here, though. We have performed all of the required research in order to let you know which traps are the best on the market. You will find that all ten of these products are effective in catching and/or killing those pesty cockroaches but there are some that work better than others. Be sure to read each of our ten product reviews thoroughly to weight the pros and cons of each of these cockroach traps in order to go into your purchase fully informed.

Features

Different size options, guarantees and ingredients make these traps different from one another.

There are a number of different features that the cockroach traps on our list boast. Some come with warranties and guarantees that their product will work. Some options are available in a number of different sizes to choose from depending upon how big your home is and how bad the infestation is. Some have lights and powerful technology. Some use chemicals that cockroaches will take back with them to their nest which will effectively destroy the entire nest.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Safety Hazards
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Application
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Cockroach Species

There are about 4000 different species of cockroaches in the world today. Thankfully (or maybe not?) there are only 70 of these that are commonly found in the United States. The biggest of the house cockroaches you might see in the US is the American cockroach. They are a red-brown color and have a distinguishable yellow ‘8’ pattern on their head.

Dangers of Infestation

Other than the obvious creep factor associated with having cockroaches roaming around your home, they can actually cause a lot of harm to humans. They pick up germs on their leg spines as they crawl which can then be transferred onto food and into humans through food. This can cause dangerous illnesses like E. coli and salmonella poisoning. Cockroaches can also cause allergy and asthma attacks through their saliva and shed skin.

Other Factors to Consider

Ease of Use

If you are dealing with a cockroach infestation, you may not want to have to spend a lot of time tracking down the little buggers in order to get rid of them. Many of the traps on our list will attract the cockroaches to them, taking you out as the middle man. Some of the more technologically-advanced options on our list will drive the cockroaches away. Both of these trap types are actually very easy to deal with. The hardest thing you will have to do as a homeowner trying to rid your home of these pests is to actually set the trap which, let’s be real here, isn’t even that hard at all. The most difficult to use traps on our list will require you to place them behind your kitchen appliances but even that isn’t that hard to do especially when you consider what the pay off will be.

Value

To be honest, the price affiliated with the products on our list is just a small investment when you consider what the return will be – no more roaches (and, hey, maybe no more spiders, scorpions, silverfish and other annoying critters, too). None of the options on our list are going to break the bank and they all cost a considerable amount less than what you would be paying for an exterminator to come to your home to rid you of your pest issues.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What attracts cockroaches in the first place?
a:

There are a number of different attractants that can get cockroaches into your home. The main things that will bring these bugs into your space are food and standing water. In order to prevent them from getting all up in your business in the first place, your best bet is to toss out any food that you may have left out on the counter or in your outdoor spaces. Be sure you’re rinsing out any and all recycling and try to remember to take out the garbage as often as you can. After you are done the cooking, wipe down any surfaces in your kitchen that may have come into contact with food. When you are storing your food, make sure you’ve invested in airtight containers to keep delectable scents at bay. This goes for Fido’s food as well. Make sure you check the pipes around your home and prioritize repairing any leaks. Caulk any gaps that you find around the sinks in your home as that will help to prevent water from getting in your walls.

q: What type of trap is the best?
a:

Well, this depends on a number of factors. First of all, how many cockroaches do you have? Have they been around for a while or are you just noticing them now? Are you comfortable using a trap that might emit chemicals or do you prefer to use something that is a little more natural? Each type of trap has its pros and cons, but it depends entirely on your situation which one would work best for you.

q: What is boric acid and is it safe to use?
a:

Boric acid is an element that occurs naturally in a number of different minerals. It is found in sources like rocks, fruits, veggies and even in volcanoes. It is often used for killing insects and in a number of other different industrial ways. It can be dangerous for people and domestic animals to come into contact with but it requires a fairly large overexposure in order to do harm.

q: How do ultrasonic repellents work?
a:

These devices use high frequency sound waves that are only really noticeable by the pests you are trying to repel in order to keep them away from your home. They do have their limitations, however, as many of them are not yet capable of sending sound waves through walls or furniture.

q: Is it better to attract the cockroaches or to repel them?
a:

This is a great question. As you might have been able to tell if you’ve read our buying guide already, there are a number of different products on our list that claim to repel cockroaches and a number that claim to attract them to kill them. To effectively answer this question, you must take into account the size of your infestation. If you are dealing with a sizable number of pests, we think it might be better to attract the cockroaches to the traps that feature ingredients they will take back with them to their nest. When the roaches take the trap components back with them, the bait will work to kill the rest of the pests still in the nest. Repellents work great if you don’t have a large infestation you are dealing with.

q: How do I know if I have a cockroach problem?
a:

Aside from the obvious answer of seeing them in your home, there are a number of ways to tell if you have an infestation on your hands. The first, and maybe most noticeable of which aside from physically seeing them, is the scent. Cockroach infestations will produce a very unpleasant smell that will ruin whatever it is they come into contact with. Another thing to look for is dropping. If the roaches don’t have access to water, their droppings will be brown or black in color and cylindrical in shape. You can also look for smear marks in your home or their shedded skin.

Sources

  1. Rentokil, Signs of Cockroaches, Feb 01, 2019
  2. Today's Homeowner, Do Ultrasonic Pest Repellents Really Work?, Dec 12, 2018
  3. Den Garden, How is Boric Acid Able to Kill Insects When It is Only as Toxic as Table Salt?, Dec 21, 2018
  4. Government of Canada, Boric acid, Jan 17, 2019
  5. Terminix, What Attracts Cockroaches?, Jan 10, 2019