to top 10 table

Best Yoga Books

last updated Apr 06, 2019

There are infinite benefits that one can reap when they choose to add a yoga practice into their life. In addition to helping with flexibility and overall body strengthening, one can become more mindful, grateful and spiritual through the practice of yoga. Whether you’re a beginner or a seasoned yogi with years under your belt, there is always something more to learn about this beautiful form of movement and practice. This is why we’ve compiled a list of the ten best yoga books currently on the market. Through reading these books, you’ll not only learn more about the principles of yoga or postures you can do, you’ll learn more about yourself, what makes you tick and, who knows, maybe you will even find yourself. Let’s take a look now at which yoga books made our top ten list and what makes them better than other options on the market.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 4 hrs of research

icon
The Yamas & Niyamas
97.2/100 our score
Materials
98
Use
98
Size
97
Features
96
Value
97
The Yamas & Niyamas
Why is it better?

Great for personal development

Questions at the end of each chapter for reflection

Will help people to understand the core of yoga

Accessible and relatable to living in today’s modern age

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
The Yamas & Niyamas
Test Winner: The Yamas & Niyamas
Amazon Link
Sorting Options
Materials Use Size Features Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Materials
98 %
Use
98 %
Size
97 %
Features
96 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.08.19)
Amazon Link
$11.20
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.4
Materials
100 %
Use
99 %
Size
100 %
Features
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.08.19)
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Materials
96 %
Use
96 %
Size
95 %
Features
97 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.08.19)
Amazon Link
$13.79
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Materials
94 %
Use
95 %
Size
93 %
Features
95 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.08.19)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Materials
93 %
Use
97 %
Size
94 %
Features
93 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.08.19)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Materials
91 %
Use
93 %
Size
95 %
Features
92 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.08.19)
Amazon Link
$18.20
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Materials
89 %
Use
87 %
Size
97 %
Features
89 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.08.19)
Amazon Link
$16.96
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Materials
88 %
Use
87 %
Size
90 %
Features
87 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.08.19)
Amazon Link
$19.20
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Materials
86 %
Use
87 %
Size
90 %
Features
86 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.08.19)
Amazon Link
$13.56
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Materials
86 %
Use
83 %
Size
87 %
Features
84 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.08.19)
Amazon Link
$26.49

Top 10 Picks

1. The Yamas & Niyamas

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
The Yamas & Niyamas
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Use
98
Size
97
Features
96
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.20
Pros:

Great for personal development

Questions at the end of each chapter for reflection

Will help people to understand the core of yoga

Accessible and relatable to living in today’s modern age

Cons:

Takes a while to really get through the book

Taking a drastic turn from the light and fun nature of the book in our number one spot, we have this option by Deborah Adele. If you’re into the practice of judging books by their cover, you will likely immediately notice that The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga’s Ethical Practice is much more serious in tone than Namaslay.

Read more

Materials

This book is designed to act as a spiritual pathway for people who want to practice yoga. The Yamas and Niyamas are 10 ethical guidelines that are important to yoga. It’s going to teach you about the ethics and roots of yoga in a way that is very structured and easy to understand and relate to.

Use

This book is best read in tidbits rather than poured over all in one day. Treat The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice as you would a fine piece of chocolate – enjoying one piece at a time, savoring the taste.

Size

This book has 192 pages.

Features

As you read through this book, you will learn about ten guidelines (5 yamas, 5 niyamas) that will help you to open up doors in your life, this is what you need to invest in.

Value

If you want to take a more serious and traditional approach to your yoga practice, this is the book for you. You’re going to learn a lot about taking ownership of your life through the ethical practice of yoga. It will provide a lot of value to serious yogis and those who are yoga teachers in training.

2. Namaslay

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.4
Namaslay
Amazon Link
Materials
100
Use
99
Size
100
Features
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Breaks down poses really well

Great for people looking to grow their practice

Moore writes so authentically

Great for beginner or intermediate yogis (though advanced folks will likely find something in this book for them, too)

Cons:

Some people might be offended by the images in the book (read: lots of bikinis)

This book from author Candace Moore took the number one spot on our list for several different reasons. It comes highly recommended by hundreds of readers and employs a very distinct visual format that sets it apart from other yoga books currently on the market. Let’s dive a bit deeper and see what else one can expect from this product.

Read more

Materials
Namaslay takes a modern (an something hilarious) approach to the very ancient practice of yoga. While its style may not be for hardcore yogis, we think that this book will meet the needs of a certain subset of readers. It’s edgier than other options in the bookstore but it’s still artistic and beautiful, making it a great book to display in your home or yoga studio.

Use
Namaslay features three different 30-day yoga programs for readers to embark on. They have different focuses depending upon your needs. Need to destress? There’s a program for you. Have a weak core? We can work on that! Back pain? Namaslay has you covered.

Size
This book has 416 pages.

Features
If you’re looking for a funny and heart-centered approach to your yoga practice, you’re going to love Namaslay. Author Candace Moore peppers in information about her own story and struggles with illness and her mental health. There is something that everyone can relate to in this book.

Value
This is an affordably priced paperback. We love that it has a modern-day approach to yoga and isn’t filled with complicated theories or confusing words. It is a great choice for beginners and intermate yogis.

3. The Complete Guide to Yin Yoga

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
The Complete Guide to Yin Yoga
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Use
96
Size
95
Features
97
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.79
Pros:

Book is well laid out

Tone is accessible

Acts as a great primer for yin yoga

Well organized

Cons:

Illustrations show yogis holding deep versions of the poses which may not be realistic for all flexibility levels

This book from Bernie Clark is a comprehensive look into the philosophy surrounding yin yoga. This type of yoga is a slower paced and more modern style that involves holding postures for a longer amount of time.

Read more

Materials
Readers can expect this book to be true to its name, it truly is a complete guide to the practice of Yin yoga. It includes illustrated portions describing how one can practice this style alongside descriptions and photographs of different poses (or asanas).

Use
As mentioned, the practice of yin yoga involves holder postures for longer periods of times. This allows yogis to reflect deeply on their journey and tap into the meditative benefits of their practice.

Size
This book is 296 pages.

Features
There are over 24 different postures outline in The Complete Guide to Yin Yoga: The Philosophy and Practice of Yin Yoga. Each posture is accompanied by the benefits of the pose, how to get into it, contraindications and other pertinent information.

Value
This is a very affordable book and is worth the rather small investment for yogis who are interested in tapping into the benefits of Yin yoga.

4. The Yoga Mind

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
The Yoga Mind
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Use
95
Size
93
Features
95
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Easy to read with a lot of mainstream lingo

Great overview of yogic principles

Simple but very powerful and memorable

Perfectly portioned

Cons:

No illustrations

If you are a beginner, this yoga book by Rina Jakubowicz is going to prove to be an accessible guide to teach you the very complex origins of yogic philosophy.

Read more

Materials
Readers will find that The Yoga Mind: 52 Essential Principles of Yoga Philosophy to Deepen Your Practice is chock full of very clear descriptions and explanations that will make the core yoga principles very easy to understand.

Use
In addition to providing explanations of yogic philosophy, this book will be able to provide readers with guided meditations and simple movements they can do to incorporate a yoga practice and those aforementioned principles into their everyday lives.

Size
There are 214 pages in this book.

Features
Though this book is perfect for beginner yogis, even more, experienced and advanced folks will find something worthwhile to sink their teeth into.

Value
This is a very affordable option for people on a budget. We loved that it’s easy to read and that it’s broken down into 52 principles, making it perfect for someone who wants to tackle one portion per week.

5. Inner Engineering:

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Inner Engineering:
Amazon Link
Materials
93
Use
97
Size
94
Features
93
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Contains practical and sound advice

Great for beginners

Filled with insightful little gems

Cons:

May be offensive to some people with certain religious beliefs

Available on Kindle, as an audiobook, as a hardcover or paperback and even as an audio CD, Inner Engineering: A Yogi's Guide to Joy by Sadhguru is readily accessible for you, no matter how you choose to digest it.

Read more

Materials
The author, Sadhguru, tells his story of his own awakening and his personal journey into enlightenment. This book is meant to serve as a spiritual guide for your own personal growth, though as well.

Use
The book is broken down into two distinct sections - one about Sadhguru and his personal journey and one section about yoga and how it affects the body, mind, energy, and joy.

Size
This book is quite lengthy at 278 pages.

Features
This book is not only a look into the life of Sadhguru but a guide for helping readers to find a job in their lives. There are a number of different practices included in the book that is aimed at helping the reader to handle nearly every aspect of their lives from food to sex and love.

Value

No matter how you choose to digest Inner Engineering: A Yogi's Guide to Joy, we think you’re going to be able to appreciate the cost and the value of the information you’ll receive for your investment in return.

6. The Yoga Bible

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
The Yoga Bible
Amazon Link
Materials
91
Use
93
Size
95
Features
92
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.20
Pros:

Full-color photographs

Great for beginners

Book has a high-quality construction

Has a section on different yoga poses for certain medical conditions

Cons:

Should be spiral bound for easier access (though some reviewers do mention they spiral bound it themselves at home)

This is one of the most instantly recognizable yoga books on the market today. Author Christina Brown really hit the nail on the head with this one. Whether you’re a complete beginner or an intermediate yogi wanting to switch things up, there is something for you in The Yoga Bible.

Read more

Materials
The Yoga Bible is an incredibly comprehensive guide for people who want to practice yoga on their own terms. It will help you to find a balance between the mental and physical realms of your life.

Use
This book contains over 170 different yoga postures from some of the main schools of yoga. If you’re a bit lost in your practice, The Yoga Bible will help you to find a sequence that speaks to your individual needs and your ability level. One thing we really liked was that there is a section in the book that focuses on using yoga for certain medical conditions.

Size
The Yoga Bible is a big book with a whopping 400 pages.

Features
The author, Christina Brown, has been a yoga teacher for nearly 25 years. She uses her vast knowledge on many different aspects of yoga and yogic philosophies to create an easily digestible guide that truly acts more like a bible than a book.

Value
The Yoga Bible is a bit more expensive than some of the other options in our buying guide. We do think that it’s a worthwhile investment, however, especially for beginners who are looking to start their own practice at home.

7. Yoga Sequencing:

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Yoga Sequencing:
Amazon Link
Materials
89
Use
87
Size
97
Features
89
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.96
Pros:

Great reference for yoga teachers and yogis in general

User-friendly book

Sequences to help balance chakras are included

Includes the theory behind each of the sequences

Cons:

Photos are quite small

Sequences are in Sanskrit

This book by Mark Stephens is a great little investment for yoga teachers who want to learn how to plan and sequence their own classes. Though it is meant more for teachers than individuals, one could still use this book to plan their practice as well.

Read more

Materials
Aside from going very in-depth on over 150 different yoga asanas, Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes is a great book because it provides readers with guidance on different breathing and meditation techniques that are truly to thank for providing yoga with its transformative powers.

Use
This book has over 2000 instructional photographs and an accompanying guide that goes in-depth on over 150 yoga postures.

Size
This is the biggest book on our buying guide so far at 528 pages.

Features
The book has over 67 different sequences of yoga poses. There are options for everybody and every yoga experience level. Whether you’re teaching beginners or advanced yogis, children, teenagers, seniors, or people struggling with mental health issues, there is an asana in this guide for you to use in your classes.

Value
We were quite surprised at how affordable this book is when you consider all that you are receiving in return from your investment.

8. Yoga as Medicine:

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Yoga as Medicine:
Amazon Link
Materials
88
Use
87
Size
90
Features
87
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.20
Pros:

Clear and accessible

Well organized and beautifully presented

Great balance of Western & Eastern thought

Focus on safety

Cons:

Some of the photos may be misleading

Author Timothy McCall penned this book as a way of describing why and how the medical community will sometimes turn their patients onto a yoga practice. This book is a great mix of Western and Eastern medicine combining.

Read more

Materials
First of all, we have to say that we loved that this book was written by a medical doctor. There are a lot of MDs out there who scoff at the practices of Eastern medicine. Dr. McCall stuffed Yoga as Medicine: The Yogic Prescription for Health and Healing fully with information on how people can use yoga to become more in tune with what their bodies want and need.

Use
This book includes a ton of useful information like how to communicate better with your doctor, how to use yoga to complement your current medical care and how to use yogic tools to prevent and heal any illness you may have.

Size
This book has a whopping 592 pages.

Features
This book has 20 chapters that are designed to help connect you with a style of yoga that is right for you. Whether you have arthritis or chronic fatigue syndrome, are suffering from infertility or depression or have been diagnosed with heart disease or AIDS, there is a style of yoga that will help to complement your current treatment plan from your MD.

Value
This book is on the pricier end of the spectrum but it is still fairly priced when you consider the ROI. If you have a medical condition that you’re currently struggling with, we highly recommend making the investment in this book to use yoga to help complement your care.

9. Light on Yoga

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Light on Yoga
Amazon Link
Materials
86
Use
87
Size
90
Features
86
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.56
Pros:

Excellent guide for breathing techniques

Gives alternative preparatory poses for more difficult postures

Does a great job at explaining the yogic philosophy

Great for newbies

Cons:

Might be too academic for some readers

B.K.S. Iyengar, who passed away in 2014, was one of the greats when it came to modern yoga philosophy and practice. He founded a modern style known as Iyengar Yoga and his book, Light on Yoga: The Bible of Modern Yoga, is a true testament to the wisdom and knowledge that this man had.

Read more

Materials
This book is considered to be a true classic and one of the most comprehensive books on yoga asanas.

Use
We loved that this book had alternate pose suggestions for some of the more difficult postures. The book also has an asana guide that’ll help readers go from complete beginners to advanced yogis.

Size
This book has 544 pages.

Features
This book is broken down into three parts. Part one is an introduction. Part two focuses on yoga asanas, bandha, and kriya. Part three is about pranayama, including hints, techniques, and effects.

Value
Regardless of if you choose the paperback or spiral-bound option, Light on Yoga: The Bible of Modern Yoga is still an affordable book one should consider investing in.

10. 100 Asanas

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
100 Asanas
Amazon Link
Materials
86
Use
83
Size
87
Features
84
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.49
Pros:

Truly a comprehensive guide

High-quality photographs

Great reference book

Cons:

Not necessarily a great choice for beginners

This book from Daniel Lacerda could very well be one of the most complete books on yoga asanas that have ever been photographed and published. With an astonishing, 2100 yoga poses include, this great guide is a must-have for yogis of every level.

Read more

Materials
This book is the most comprehensive and meticulously-crafted guides on yoga poses and their modifications. This makes it a great option for beginner and advanced yogis alike.

Use
With over 2100 different asanas featured in this book, it is easy to see how one can use it in their practice.

Size
We saved the longest for last. This book is 736 pages.

Features
There are eight different pose types in this book from seated to standing to backbends and inversions (and more). We think that yogis will find the way everything is laid out very easy to navigate.

Value
This is the most expensive book on our top ten list, but for a good reason. When you consider that it is twice or three times as long as a lot of the other books and that it’s chock full of photos to help guide your practice, you will see that the value is there.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

What can readers expect to get out of this book?

When we’re talking about judging the books on their ‘Materials’, we’re not referring to what the books are made out of, we’re talking about what the books contain. This is vitally important, we think, especially when it comes to books of this nature. It will benefit you to know what materials the book you’re investing in will be going over. Not every yoga book is the same. Some are designed for teachers. Some are meant for beginners. Some are designed to be a life companion, helping you with your personal development. These are the things we took into consideration as we looked at the materials that each of the items in our top ten offer readers.

Size

How long is the book?

When we talk about the size of the book, we’re not talking about its physical dimensions (although that might be something you want to take into consideration on your own time). If you plan on toting your yoga book with you to the gym or to your yoga studio, you may not want to take something that is very big and bulky. When we’re talking about size, we’re looking at the length of the book. Some of the options on our list have over 700 pages, while others are much shorter in the 200-page range. Why is the length of the book important? It might not be a deal breaker for some people, but others like to know exactly what they’re receiving. It’s hard to buy things like this online when you can’t hold the book in your hand and flip through it to see if it appeals to you. Knowing the length of the book is just one extra consideration you can use while making your decision.

Features

What other features are in the book?

When we were compiling our list of the best yoga books on the market, aside from looking at the materials at hand and the way one can use these materials in practice, we wanted to look at other features that the book can offer readers as well. You’ll notice that the features each product provides are vastly different from each other. It is important to pay close attention to the features provided by each book as you make your decision about which one is best for you. You may find that you’re more apt to spend money on a book that has a lot of different yoga postures for certain health conditions like you would find in 2,100 Asanas: The Complete Yoga Poses. Perhaps you are more interested in learning about the Yin Yoga style and why each posture is important like you would learn in The Complete Guide to Yin Yoga: The Philosophy and Practice of Yin Yoga. Or maybe you want a book that’s really easy and fun to read but still is able to provide a host of important information? In that case, reach for Namaslay: Rock Your Yoga Practice, Tap Into Your Greatness, & Defy Your Limits and you won’t be disappointed.

Value

What kind of return on investment will you receive with your purchase?

We are proud to say that each and every one of the books on our list is in an affordable price range. You won’t find anything on this list that is over $25. Even if you did, though, it would be worth the price tag. When we’re talking about the value of the book, it’s not just the price tag associated with owning it. We’re looking at what you, the reader, will receive back from your investment. Though ROI might not be a term you think of when you’re at the book store, it’s true about anything you buy. You want to be able to spend your money on something that you’re going to receive a return from.

Use

How can you use this book to further your practice?

As we perused through the best yoga books available today, we wanted to make sure that the books actually were useful for yogis in their practice. Different options on our list are useful in different applications. Some books are great for taking with you wherever you take your practice. Want to do a little beach yoga? Pack the 2100 Asanas reference book with you so you know which posture to do when and how. Some books are great for teaching you more about the philosophy of yoga and all of its principles. A book like The Yoga Mind: 52 Essential Principles of Yoga Philosophy to Deepen Your Practice will give you 52 challenges you can do to further your practice. We don’t know why you’re interested in investing in a yoga book so all we can do is offer you a number of different options that we are sure will help you make deepen your yoga practice.

expert tips icon
Love Yoga? Share It Through Teaching!

If you have been practicing yoga for some time and want to share it with the world, you might want to consider taking a yoga teacher training. Not only will becoming a teacher enhance your own personal yoga practice, but it will also help increase your overall gratitude levels through a healthy outlet while sharing one of your passions. It can be a bit of a process to become a yoga teacher depending on how long the course you choose to take is. You can expect a 500-level course to take you up to a year to complete.

Respect Your Body

Whether you’re just beginning a yoga practice or if you’ve been practicing for some time, do not push yourself into any postures that feel dangerous or wrong for you on any given day. The practice of non-harm – ahimsa – is absolutely vital to practicing yoga.

Other Factors to Consider

Side Effects

There are a lot of health benefits one will be able to reap once they add a yoga practice into their life. Even just doing 10 minutes of yoga per day to start can greatly improve various aspects of your life. Let’s take a look at some of the side effects from participating in yoga practice:

- Improvement in flexibility, strength, and posture
- Increase in overall energy levels
- Reduction in stress levels
- Better mood
- Being able to think clearly
- Increased life expectancy
- Reduction in anxiety levels

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can I just read a book and practice yoga or do I need to go to a class?

a:

The question is, what are you most comfortable with? You can certainly read a book, watch DVDs and self-teach yourself the practice of yoga without setting foot in a studio. If you feel you need the help of a trained yoga teacher, you can attend classes. Or you can do both at once. The great thing about yoga is that you can decide how and where you want to practice and what you want your practice to look like. While we often fall into the trap of thinking yoga should be XYZ, there is no one “right” way to practice. Whatever works best for you is the best way to approach your practice.

q: Do I need to familiarize myself with all of the different principles of yoga to be able to benefit from practicing?

a:

No. Any practice is better than no practice at all. Each yogic principle can help guide you to lead a more harmonic life. Learning how to properly breathe, for example, will help to improve your oxygen flow and provide a more balanced feeling in your life.

q: Do I need to buy any special equipment before beginning a yoga practice?

a:

Not necessarily. We would recommend purchasing a high-quality yoga mat that has non-slip so that you are able to practice comfortably and safely. Do you need special socks, certain pants or a yoga wheel? No. Unless that is, you feel you will benefit from having those accessories in your practice. For beginners, we recommend starting with a great yoga mat and then deciding if the other non-essentials will benefit you in your practice down the line.

q: Should I eat before yoga?

a:

When you are participating in some exercise regimens, it is often recommended that you eat right before you hit the gym to be able to provide yourself with the energy necessary to get through your workout. When it comes to yoga, however, the general recommendation is to wait at least an hour after eating before practicing. You can always listen to your body and see how practicing an hour after eating feels and if you need to adjust next time, you can.

q: Which type of yoga is best?

a:

We cannot tell you which yoga style will be best for you. This may require some self-discovery on your part. There are many different types of yoga that will provide different benefits to those who choose to practice it. For example, yin yoga is a highly meditative style. It focused a lot of passive postures that you will hold for extended periods of time. It’s a great choice to start with if you want to quiet your mind with yoga postures and meditation. Hatha yoga uses a mixture of postures, yogic breathing, and meditation in order to awaken the mind and body. It’s slower paced than other yoga types and is a great choice for beginners. Iyengar yoga, named after the author of the book in our #9 spot is a type of hatha yoga that focuses on achieving alignment. Yogis will often use props like yoga blocks in an Iyengar practice.

Sources

  1. eMedicine Health, Yoga FAQs,
  2. Laetitia Tempelman, 10 health benefits of daily yoga practice,
  3. The Wellness Institute , https://wellnessinstitute.ca/health-benefits-of-yoga/,