to top 10 table

Best Wool Sweaters

last updated Feb 08, 2019

As temperatures plunge, heading outside for any type of event might leave you frozen to the bone at the end of the day. While outerwear is an important part of staying warm, making sure that you have warm materials under your heavy winter coat is going to be an important part of staying nice and toasty. Wool is a fantastic insulator because it traps your body heat right into its fibers, and holds it close against your skin. This means that the more that you move and heat you expel, the warmer it is going to be. In this guide, you will find some of the best wool sweaters to ensure that no matter how cold it gets, you will be able to stay nice and warm.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
The Irish Store
89/100 our score
Style
91
Color
87
Materials
92
Fit
89
Value
86
The Irish Store
Why is it better?

Users find that it fits as expected

Comfortable to wear

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
The Irish Store
Test Winner: The Irish Store
Researched Sources
3
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
15
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Color Materials Fit Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Style
91%
Color
87%
Materials
92%
Fit
89%
Value
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$84.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Style
90%
Color
85%
Materials
91%
Fit
89%
Value
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$109.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Style
90%
Color
86%
Materials
87%
Fit
89%
Value
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$65.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Style
87%
Color
85%
Materials
89%
Fit
84%
Value
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$69.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Style
84%
Color
72%
Materials
91%
Fit
89%
Value
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$134.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Style
87%
Color
84%
Materials
86%
Fit
79%
Value
76%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$84.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Style
82%
Color
86%
Materials
88%
Fit
80%
Value
74%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$69.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
Style
78%
Color
82%
Materials
76%
Fit
80%
Value
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$40.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.6
Style
80%
Color
79%
Materials
70%
Fit
85%
Value
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$52.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.4
Style
81%
Color
83%
Materials
70%
Fit
68%
Value
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$39.97
In Depth Review Top 10
  • The Irish Store
  • Woolrich
  • Westend Knitwear
  • TW Kempton
  • Woolx Zoey
  • Carraig Donn
  • KNITTONS
  • Goodthreads
  • WoolX X560
  • Liny Xin
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. The Irish Store

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
The Irish Store
Style
91
Color
87
Materials
92
Fit
89
Value
86
best offer for today
$84.95
Pros:

Users find that it fits as expected

Comfortable to wear

Cons:

A little expensive

Users have had troubles with the zipper

We liked this Aran sweater because it has all of the characteristics that users would want in one of these products. It’s thick and bulky with a high neck, but it also has a classic design, and it is made from a material that is a little bit more lightweight.

Read more

Style

We liked the style of this because it has a pretty thick and bulky look that you would come to expect from one of these designs. It has a high neckline that can be folded down into a collar, and be zipped all the way down for a variety of ways to wear it. Plus, it has that classic Aran design in the stitching that users would expect from a product made from this type of material.

Color

Users can select from color options that include the classic cream color, or they can select from either a very vibrant raspberry or violet.

Material

Looks may be deceiving when it comes to this style. While it might look very heavy, it is actually made from 100 percent Merino sheep which means that it is going to keep you just as warm as that from traditional sheep, but it is going to be a little lighter.

Fit

About 82 percent of users feel that this design fits as expected. Users can select from sizes that start at extra small and run up to extra large, and they include a size chart to ensure that you get the right size the first time.

Value

What we found is that the price of this unit is about for a product made from this type of materials, but it is quite a bit more than users would usually spend on a singular top. What makes this a great deal is that users can zip and unzip this design so they can wear it as a lighter cardigan when the weather starts to warm up in the spring.

Overall

We loved this option because it brings all of the things that users would want to stay warm this winter. It has a great style, it’s made from high-quality materials, and it’s going to be versatile enough to wear three seasons out of the year.

2. Woolrich

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Woolrich
Style
90
Color
85
Materials
91
Fit
89
Value
86
best offer for today
$109.99
Pros:

Trusted brand

Fit as expected

Simple and sleek design

Cons:

Dry clean only

A little expensive

Some feel that it is a little too heavy

Woolrich is a brand that has been manufacturing great cardigans made from Shetland sheep since about 1830, so it’s no surprise they are coming in at one of the top spots on our list. This option is great because it boasts a classic style, but it isn't so big and bulky that you feel you are going to be able to breathe.

Read more

Style

This design has a high neck collar that can be flipped up as the temperatures fall, but it can also be unbuttoned and folded down for a more casual look. The stitching is basic and doesn’t have any designs as you would see in other designs, and it is long enough to hit the top of your jeans.

Color

Users can select from two tones of grey, which include charcoal and heather grey. The heather grey option is a little different because it has a pop of dark grey in the lining of the top button.

Material

This option is made from 100 percent materials that are derived from Shetland sheep. This fabric is going to be a little stiffer than design that user fabric such as merino, which some users actually prefer.

Fit

Three out of ever 4 users feel that this option fit exactly as they would expect it to fit. Size options start at small and run all the way up to XX-large. A size chart is provided to help you find the right size for you.

Value

The cost of this design is slightly more affordable than the previous option, but it still boasts a higher price point that users would typically spend on a top. We find that this design is an excellent value because it is made from high-quality materials from a company that has been around for almost 200 years!

Overall

If you were looking for something that sports those classic materials that are incredibly warm and a little bit stiff- this is going to be the best option. We loved the quality of materials that were used, and that comes from a very trusted brand.

3. Westend Knitwear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Westend Knitwear
Style
90
Color
86
Materials
87
Fit
89
Value
85
best offer for today
$65.00
Pros:

Lightweight and comfortable fit

Affordable

Cons:

Users find that the buttons are too loose and will pop off easily

What we liked most about this option is that it is incredibly versatile and can be worn in a myriad of ways. What is different about this option lies in the stitching. Instead of having the traditional Aran stitching, Westend Knitwear has put a contemporary spin on a classic design.

Read more

Style

As we mentioned earlier, what makes this design stand out from the rest is in the stitching. While stitched patterns in the fabric look to be the traditional Aran design, they are actually a little different and made to look a little bit more contemporary. It has a low neckline and a series of buttons along the bottom to allow users to pull it on and off with ease.

Color

Colors options are a bit limited and include a classic oatmeal color, as well as a hunter green option and a charcoal grey design.

Material

What is great about this design is that while it looks like it is going to be heavy and bulky, it is actually quite light because it is made from materials derived from merino sheep. This means that is is going to have a less rigid and stiff knit as compared to some of the other options out there.

Fit

Sizing starts out at small and runs all the way up to XX-L. What we have discovered is that about 74 percent of past users feel that this unit fits exactly as expected. Plus, due to the fact that it is a buttoned cardigan, it is still going to look sharp even if it fits a little loose.

Value

What we really liked about this design is that it comes in at a pretty affordable price point. It isn’t the most affordable option out there, but we find that it is a great deal considering the innovative design as well as the high-quality materials used.

Overall

If you were looking for something that is going to be a little less structured so that you will be able to layer it over other tops for added comfort and warmth, this is going to be an excellent option.

4. TW Kempton

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
TW Kempton
Style
87
Color
85
Materials
89
Fit
84
Value
82
best offer for today
$69.99
Pros:

High-quality materials make it incredibly warm

Sporty design

Many color options offered

Cons:

Some feel that it is very itchy

If you are looking for something that is a little bit more casual but is still made from the still and heavy fabrics that are made to keep you warm, you are going to want to check out this option from TW Kempton.

Read more

Style

What users really like about this option is that is has a sharp and simple design that is also pretty casual. It has basic stitching on the front, and unique patches on the top of the shoulder that makes it stand out from other options and gives is a little bit of character.

Color

The great thing about this choice is that it comes in a wide variety of colors. Users can select from options that include army green, black, purple, brown, beige, and gray.

Material

The body of this cardigan is made from 100 percent wool materials that make it a little bit heavier and bulkier those that user blends or merino. The patches on the shoulders are made from a polyester and cotton blend.

Fit

What we really love about this option is that it has far more sizing options than other brands that we have seen. Users can select from sizes that start out at extra small and run all the way up to 4XL. Plus, about 72 percent of past users felt that this design fit them just how they expected.

Value

The cost of this unit is slightly higher than the average option we have seen, but we feel like it is an excellent deal. It had a well crafted and quality design, and it is made from high-quality materials that make it well worth the price point in our option.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is made from stiff and high-quality materials that are going to be able to keep you incredibly warm while still sporting a casual look, this is going to be one of your best options.

5. Woolx Zoey

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Woolx Zoey
Style
84
Color
72
Materials
91
Fit
89
Value
85
best offer for today
$134.00
Pros:

Lightweight merino materials will keep users incredibly warm

Users love that it is very soft

Cons:

Very expensive

Before you get your heart set on this really stylish and functional option from Woolx Zoey, we first have to mention that is costs two times as much as many of the other designs on our list. However, if you are willing to pay a higher price point for something warm, casual, stylish, and comfortable- this is going to be one of your better options.

Read more

Style

At first glance, this looks like a pretty basic zip-up cardigan, but all of the impressive features lie in the details. What users really like about this design is that it has thumb holes in the sleeves so that you can keep the sleeves from riding up over your wrists. Plus, it has a detailed stitched hood that makes it the perfect thing to wear when outdoors.

Color

One of the downsides to this option is that it is only offered in one color- black. However, users don’t really seem to mind this limitation considering that black goes with just about everything, and it great at trapping heat.

Materials

If you are looking for warmth, this is going to be one of your better options. It is composed 100 percent materials derived from merino sheep, which makes it incredibly warm but also very lightweight.

Fit

In impressive 92 percent of past users felt that this design fit them exactly as they expected it would. It comes in a wide variety of sizes that start out at extra small and run all the way up to 2XL.

Value

As we mentioned earlier, this design does pack quite a punch when it comes to cost. However, we think that this price point is well worth it due to the innovative design, quality of materials used, as well as how warm it is going to keep you on those incredibly cold winter days.

Overall

Sure, it comes in at a higher price point than most, but we feel that the price is well worth it for those that are always on the go and need something lightweight and casual that will keep them incredibly warm when exposed to some pretty cold temperatures.

6. Carraig Donn

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Carraig Donn
Style
87
Color
84
Materials
86
Fit
79
Value
76
best offer for today
$84.95
Pros:

Lightweight and comfortable

Classic knit patterns

Cons:

Some found that it wasn’t as long as they were expecting it to be

Roll neck is bulkier than many expected

The is the quintessential classic cardigan that you take one look at and you just feel warm. This unit may look like it is going to be incredibly heavy and itchy, but it is actually made from lightweight fabric that is going to be just as soft and comfortable as it is warm.

Read more

Style

What we really like most about this option is that is has a very classic knit design. It has a high roll neck that will keep your neck warm without feeling like it is strangling you. We like the cuts in the sides so that it will be able to slide over the top of your jeans no matter what your size.

Color

There are only a few neutral color options available with this design. Color options include the traditional beige, and also include hunter green, marine blue, and a simple light gray.

Material

Looks can be deceiving when it comes to this design. While it may look like it is heavy and bulky, it actually is made from 100 percent merino which means that it is going to be very lightweight and soft.

Fit

About 84 percent of users claim that this design fits them just as they expected that it would. Some users felt that it was a little bit shorter than they were expecting. It is offered in sizes that include extra small, and run all the way up to extra large.

Value

The price tag on this option is going to be just a tad higher than those designs that run about in the middle of the road. We feel that this unit is priced at a great deal considering the attention to detail in the stitching as well as the quality of materials that were used to make it lightweight and easy.

Overall

If you want something that is going to give off that classic look of a thick and heavy cardigan without all of the additional weight, this is an excellent choice.

7. KNITTONS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
KNITTONS
Style
82
Color
86
Materials
88
Fit
80
Value
74
best offer for today
$69.99
Pros:

Lightweight and soft

Simple design

Users can wash it in a washing machine

Cons:

A little expensive

Some found that it runs a little on the small side

Perhaps you want all of the warmth that comes from one of these designs, but you don’t want a lot of the extra bulk that comes from the Aran knit designs. If that’s the case, you might want to check out this simple and low profile option from KNITTONS.

Read more

Style

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to the style of this option. It has a crew neck that will set just at your collarbone, and simple stitching at the waist, neckline, and cuffs. It is also made to be a little bit more fitted, so your figure will not get lost in fabric.

Color

What we really like about this choice is that it comes with quite a few color choices, and some of them are a little different than color choices we have seen previously. Colors include a standard black, burgundy, two shades of blue, and orange.

Material

What users really like most about this design is that it is made out of 100 percent merino fabric, and it is considered to be extra fine. That means that it is going to work wonders a keeping you warm with a thinner and more lightweight profile.

Fit

In impressive 86 percent of users feel that this product fit them exactly as they expect that it would fit, which is a pretty impressive number. It is offered in sizes that start off at an extra small and run up to an extra large.

Value

The price of this option runs about in the middle of the road. While it isn’t the most expensive design out there on the market, it is far from being the least expensive. We think that the ability to machine wash this option makes it well worth the slightly higher price tag.

Overall

If you don’t like the idea of a top that is big and bulky and heavy, but you want all of that same warmth, this option is going to be one of your better options at keeping you warm without weighing you down.

8. Goodthreads

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
Goodthreads
Style
78
Color
82
Materials
76
Fit
80
Value
87
best offer for today
$40.00
Pros:

Affordable

Users feel that it fits as expected

Lightweight and comfortable

Cons:

Some feel that it is a little too thin

There were some users that felt that it was not very warm

What we liked most about this option from Goodthreads is that it is simple and functional, and will still keep you incredibly warm. The thing we like the most about this design, however, is that it comes in at one of the most affordable price points of any of the other options that we have seen on this list.

Read more

Style

This cardigan has a deep V neckline which makes it a perfect accent to layer over other shirts, and it has a series of 5 buttons on the bottom to make it easy to pull off in the event that you get too warm. It also has a pair of convenient and deep pockets on the front that is perfect for smaller items or cold hands.

Color

What we love about this option is it that it is offered in a few neutral colors that include basic black, gray, camel, navy, and a lighter shade of gray.

Material

The thing that users really respond to the most with this option is that it is made out of 100 percent merino fabrics, which means it is going to have all of the same warmth of traditional materials but it is going to be more lightweight and thinner.

Fit

The great thing about these button-up cardigans is that if it fits a little loose, it is still going to look good. An impressive 86 percent of users found that it fit exactly as they expected. It is available in sizes that start at extra small and run all the way to XXX-L.

Value

You cannot beat the price of this option. It is one of the most affordable options to make our list, and users love that it feels just as warm and comfortable as some of the higher end options.

Overall

If you were looking for something that is incredibly warm and lightweight but doesn’t want to spend the money on some of the more expensive options, this option from Goodthreads is a great choice.

9. WoolX X560

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.6
WoolX X560
Style
80
Color
79
Materials
70
Fit
85
Value
84
best offer for today
$52.00
Pros:

Smart design

Users feel that it fits as they expected

Cons:

Arms are a polyester and spandex blend

Some users do not like how tight that it fits

Difficult to wash

While most of the options that we have selected for our list are something that you could wear for everyday events, we wanted to also select something that can be worn while going for a jog or a bike ride when the temperature begins to plummet. Plus, may feel that merino is the best material to wick away moisture and regulate body heat.

Read more

Style

What we loved about this option is the sleek and sporty style. It has a solid panel along the front and the sleeves have unique boxed designs that make it stand out from many of the other designs out there.

Color

Users can select from a few fun and bright color combinations that include basic black and white, black and gray, burgundy and gray, and green and gray.

Material

Surprisingly, this is made from 100 percent merino fabrics in the body. The arms and vented sides are made from a blend of spandex and polyester.

Fit

This design is made to fit incredibly tight to leave no room for the cold air to infiltrate. An impressive 94 percent felt that this unit fit exactly as they expected. It is available in sizes that start at an extra small and run all the way up to an extra large.

Value

We appreciate that this design comes in at a really affordable price point. It isn’t the least expensive design out there, but it is far from being the most expensive. If you were looking for something affordable to keep you warm on your outdoor adventures, this is a great option.

Overall

We liked this design because it is just a bit different, and it is made to be worn for those that are always on the go no matter how cold it is outside. If you need something that is going to keep you warm while you are on the go, this is a great choice.

10. Liny Xin

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.4
Liny Xin
Style
81
Color
83
Materials
70
Fit
68
Value
75
best offer for today
$39.97
Pros:

Available in many unique colors

Affordable

Cons:

Offered in only “one size fits all”

Users do not like how it drapes

This option from Liny Xin is great because it comes in a wide range of colors, and it has that classic bulky look that many users look for when it comes to these types of products. Plus, it comes in at a very affordable price point that makes it worth checking out.

Read more

Style

We liked the overall design of this option. It has a simple and classic knit in on the main trunk, and the arms and sides have loose Aran knitting that gives it a lot of extra character. It boasts a wide neckline and heavy arms that make it perfect for layering over other shirts and accessories.

Color

Color options are not just limited to neutral shades. Users can select from colors that include orange, mustard, green, black, being, blue, red, purple, and white.

Material

This design is made from a 2 ply cashmere as well as a wool blend (the blend is undisclosed in the product description). Users find this blend to be bulky, but incredibly lightweight.

Fit

The downside here is about 68 percent of users feel that it fit as they expected it to, despite Liny Xin offering a sizing chart for users to reference. From what we could gather, many users felt that this unit ran too small, and it was a lot shorter than they expected.

Value

One of the things that we liked most about this option is that it comes in at a really affordable price point that won’t break the bank. In fact, this is considered to be one of the more affordable options out there on the market.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is going to fit big and loose and offer you a lot of warmth at an affordable price point, this is going to be worth a look.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

Whether you are planning on wearing it to work, a party, an outdoor event, or to just wear around the house, we wanted to make sure that we selected great styles that are sure to generate a few compliments.

There were two schools of thought when it came to choosing the right style. For many that are in the market for this type of top, the bulky and patterned knit is what they typically have in mind. These are referred to as Irish Aran knits and they get their design origins around 500 B.C. These designs have long knit patterns running down the front, often to look like ropes, or in the shape of diamonds. We wanted to ensure that we included quite a few of the traditional styles on our list. However, no everyone is in the market for something that has intricate patterns on the knit- some users just want something that is simple and sleek. For them, we selected basic knit designs that have tight-fitting sleeveless and crew necklines.

Color

Winter can be long and dark, so selecting brands with color options was something that we considered.

While it might not have any effect on keeping you warm, great color options are going to be key to keeping you confident. We wanted to select designs that had a lot of color options- because not everyone can pull off that classic cream color most noted in the traditional Aran styles. While most color options were of neutral tones such as blacks, grays, brown, and deep blues, we made an effort to select a few brands that had bright and fun colors. Liny Xin, for example, offered users a wide variety of bright colors in addition to their neutral lineup.

Materials

Its components is going to be the key factor in whether or not it is going to keep you very warm.

The first thing that we looked at when considering a product is whether it was made out of 100 percent materials. Generally, products that utilize a blend of materials are not made to be very warm, and they also are a nightmare to properly wash. While we did offer one or two blended options on our list, they were for the purposes of saving you a little bit of money, because these options can wrack up quite the price tag. As far as the type of wool that we selected, we tried to get a good variety of various kinds. Some, such as merino, are made to be a lot thinner and lightweight, but they are still great at maintaining heat. Other types, like the more traditional shetland fabrics, are going to be a lot bulkier and heavy, and many users feel that this type of fabric is the end of the line when it comes to keeping you warm.

Fit

A good fit is not only going to keep your confidence up, but it is also going to help you stay warm.

We wanted to make sure that the styles that we selected were true to fit, and we tried to accomplish this in a few ways. The first thing that we looked at is if each brand offered users a sizing chart to reference their size. Selecting clothes without the benefit of trying them on can be difficult, so the more resources a brand was able to provide to ensure you got that right fit- the better. We also looked at how many sizing options were offered. If a brand offered a wide range of sizes that spanned from extra small to XXL, this means that there is going to be more variances in sizes so that you can get the one that fits you best. The last thing that we looked at is what people had to say about the sizing. Sure, a company can make claims about the fit, but the proof is always in the pudding. If there was an overwhelming amount of users that felt like it didn’t fit them right, we would typically move on to the next design.

Value

At the end of the day, everyone wants to save a little bit of money where they can.

In the instance of these products, be prepared to dish out a little bit of money. The prices are not considered to be overwhelming, or far eclipse what you may spend on a regular top, but they can get rather pricey. This type of material tends to be a little more difficult to manufacture than synthetic textiles, so the price is going to be a bit more. Even though you are going to be spending just a little bit more, the benefits you will reap by keeping nice and warm as temperatures plunge will make you quite pleased you spend the little bit of extra cash. One thing we feel we should warn against is incredibly low price points that use blended fabric. These options may seem tempting, but they just aren’t going to keep you as warm as the 100 percent options.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Fit
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Materials

One of the most important pieces of advice that we could offer if that going with blends is going to hinder how warm it is going to be able to keep you. Blends are great for offering style and saving you a little bit of money, but if warmth is what you are after, you should stick to garments that are made from Shetland, merino, or cashmere to keep warm and comfortable.

Fit

A good fit is going to be the difference in wearing it, and it collecting mothballs in your closet. One way to ensure that you get the perfect fit the first time is to look for companies that offer a wide range of sizes. The more sizes that are offered means that the better chance you will have at finding the right size for you. Also, keep a lookout for sizing charts, because they are going to make your life a whole lot easier!

Style

If you are spending the money on one of the higher end options, you are going to want something that is classic and isn't going to go out to style. We suggest selecting very basic designs that come in neutral and classic colors. If you want something that is a little more fun, we suggest trying out of the Aran designs. These options have a lot of character, and they aren't going out of style anytime soon.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How can I make it less itchy?
a:

One of the biggest complaints when it comes to this type of material is how it feels against the skin. Sure, it can offer you a world of warmth, but is it worth that constant scratchy feel? For some- it is worth that itchy feeling. For those that can’t stand it, there may be a solution to make the material a little bit easier on your skin. We suggest that you wash (by hand!) your article by adding a few tablespoons of glycerin to water. Glycerin is typically found at most market or drugstores, and it is one of the main ingredients in body lotions designed to treat dry skin. You can also try and wash your article in a tub of water with a few cups of vinegar, which is something that you might already have on hand. If you are feeling brave, you can also try and rinse it with a hair condition. Not only will it help make the fibers softer, but it will also make it smell great!

q: What’s the difference between shetland, merino, and cashmere?
a:

All of these textiles have one thing in common: they all come from sheep. Where they differ, however, is in the shape, feel, and cost. The most affordable option comes from your basic sheep, and it sometimes referred to as Shetland. This textile is typically pretty big a bulky, and it is a bit more course than some of the other options. Users like this fabric because it is affordable, and typically a lot more warm than pretty much any other textile out there on the market. This merino textile comes from a special breed of sheep that was first spotted and utilized in Spain almost 1,000 years ago. Today, about 80 percent of the world's merino comes from Australia. Cashmere, on the other hand, comes from a sheep that has hair that almost looks like human hair. This textile is generally is softest of the bunch. While it is considered to be a warm textile, it doesn’t come close to being as warm as Shetland or merino.

q: What is an Aran sweater?
a:

You might have noticed that quite a few brands boast their Aran designs. Aran is a design that historians have traced back to about 2500 years ago in Ireland. Rope and diamond designs that run vertically are knitted into course fabrics to give them as richer and more detailed look. Aran usually just refers to the pattern on the article of clothing and doesn’t necessarily mean that the garment was made in Ireland. While the pattern may be incredibly old, historians found that it only became included in garments in a small fishing village in the late 1800s. By the 1940s, fashion magazines began noticing the interesting knit pattern of these garments, and they became a timeless staple in a lot of wardrobes ever since.

q: How should they be washed?
a:

Never put them in the washing machine! Just as Superman’s weakness is kryptonite, these garments don’t stand a chance against hot water. When exposed to any type of hot water, or even the heat from the dryer, it will cause the fabric not only to shrink up to about half its original size, but it will also become terribly misshapen. We suggest that when it comes to giving it a good wash, you toss it into a washtub with a little bit of lukewarm water and gentle detergent. When you want to dry, skip the dryer and lay them on a flat surface. We do not suggest that you hang them on a clothesline to dry, because the weight from the water may cause it to lose its shape. If you are worried that you are going to ruin your garment, you can always play it safe and take it to your local dry cleaner.

q: Do I need to wear a shirt underneath it?
a:

This is all a matter of personal preference, but wearing a shirt underneath does have some advantages. You are bound to sweat even a little while wearing these garments, and washing them is no easy feat. If you wear a shirt underneath it, it means that you will be able to wear it for long before you have to make the decision on how you want to wash it. Also, wearing an undershirt also means that it is going to be less itchy against your skin, and it is going to make you look more polished and put together.

Sources

  1. Unknown, THE ARAN SWEATER MARKET, Blog, Jan 01, 2019
  2. Melanie Pinola, Make Wool Clothing Less Itchy with Glycerin or Vinegar, Blog, Jan 01, 1970
  3. ROBERT MOULDING, What is Merino Wool?, Blog, Jan 01, 1970