to top 10 table

Best Water Test Kits

last updated Mar 04, 2019

Water is one of the most important things we need for our survival. In fact, it has many uses. For humans, it can be used for drinking and simply help in the digestion of our food. Humans also use water for taking a bath, watering the plants, cleaning purposes, and so on. To sum it up, life would be nothing without water. This is why it is so important that we ensure we are drinking clean and safe water. What better way to ensure that the water you are using is clean and pure by using a test kit. A test kit takes but only a few seconds and lets you know the PH of the water to ensure that it is safe and clean and can be used without issue.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 13 hrs of research

icon
First Alert
97.4/100 our score
Size
98
Weight
98
Materials
97
Responsiveness
97
Ease of Use
97
First Alert
Why is it better?

It is easy to use

Everything you need is included in the kit

It delivers results in as early as ten minutes

It is easy to handle

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
First Alert
Test Winner: First Alert
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.1k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
13
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Jordan Coleiro:

This list of water test kits has been put together to show you the best products to help you test any water you would like to make sure it is safe and clean. A great water test kit to keep your eye on is from First Alert. We love this addition because it is known for being easy to use, it comes with everything you need to test the water, and gives you results in ten minutes.

Sorting Options
Size Weight Materials Responsiveness Ease of Use Accuracy By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Size
98%
Weight
98%
Materials
97%
Responsiveness
97%
Ease of Use
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$9.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Size
96%
Weight
96%
Materials
95%
Responsiveness
95%
Accuracy
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$24.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Size
95%
Weight
95%
Materials
95%
Ease of Use
94%
Accuracy
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$169.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Size
93%
Weight
93%
Responsiveness
93%
Ease of Use
92%
Accuracy
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Size
91%
Materials
90%
Responsiveness
89%
Ease of Use
88%
Accuracy
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$18.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Weight
86%
Materials
85%
Responsiveness
84%
Ease of Use
83%
Accuracy
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$23.46
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
Size
81%
Weight
81%
Materials
81%
Responsiveness
80%
Ease of Use
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$21.96
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Size
80%
Weight
80%
Materials
79%
Responsiveness
78%
Ease of Use
78%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$17.59
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.6
Size
77%
Weight
77%
Materials
77%
Responsiveness
76%
Ease of Use
76%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$34.95
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.6
Size
76%
Weight
76%
Materials
76%
Responsiveness
75%
Ease of Use
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$41.88
In Depth Review Top 10
  • First Alert
  • Watersafe
  • Drinking Water Specialists, LLC
  • PurTest
  • Baldwin Meadows
  • Poolmaster
  • AquaVial
  • API
  • Test Assured
  • Watts
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top Ten Best Water Test Kits

1. First Alert

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
First Alert
Size
98
Weight
98
Materials
97
Responsiveness
97
Ease of Use
97
best offer for today
$9.99
Pros:

It is easy to use

Everything you need is included in the kit

It delivers results in as early as ten minutes

It is easy to handle

Cons:

It only delivers the approximate result and not the accurate one

This is very easy to use. It lets you test your drinking water to avoid harmful bacteria entering your body.

Read more

Features
This product contains all the material you will need. It tests the level of pH and how hard your water is. It is important to know this to avoid the production of limescale and metals that produce leach. This also examines the pesticides, chlorine, nitrites/nitrates, bacteria, and lead that are possibly inside the water. These contaminants can cause a lot of harm to the body like cancer and neurological diseases.

Size
The dimensions of this product are 5.9 x 1.5 x 9.2 inches.

Weight
This product weighs 1.6 ounces when shipped.

Material
This item is made of plastic.

Responsiveness
This product delivers the result as early as ten minutes. No need to bring the test kit in the laboratory for results.

Ease of Use
It is easy to use since all the materials you will need are already included. There is also an instruction manual provided to avoid confusion.

Accuracy
This test kit delivers the approximate results only. Failure to follow the instructions may cause disruption of the results.

2. Watersafe

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Watersafe
Size
96
Weight
96
Materials
95
Responsiveness
95
Accuracy
95
best offer for today
$24.95
Pros:

It produces an accurate result

It is a 10-in1 kit that tests all the contaminants using one kit

Everything you need is included inside the kit

It is very affordable

Cons:

Results may take a long time. Maximum time is at two days.

This tester is best to use for dining and kitchen water. It is 10-in-1 since it can automatically detect 10 contaminants in one testing.

Read more

Features
This product can detect all the possible harmful contaminants in your drinking water. Pesticides, lead, copper, bacteria, iron, nitrites, chlorine, and nitrates are some of the contaminants that you do not know which can enter your body if not tested. This item also examines the hardness and pH level of the water. It is to prevent you from acquiring cancer or other illness. It has all the test strips needed—iron, copper, nitrate, chlorine, pesticide, and nitrate. There is also a vial for bacteria test and strips for pH and hardness.

Size
The dimensions of this product are 7.9 x 4.3 x 1.6 inches.

Weight
This product weighs 0.32 ounces.

Material
This item is made from plastic.

Responsiveness
It delivers results in 48 hours.

Ease of Use
It is easy to use, and the manual included can help you if you have questions regarding the test kit.

Accuracy
It delivers the most accurate result. No need to bring it to the laboratory to have it screened.

3. Drinking Water Specialists, LLC

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Drinking Water Specialists, LLC
Size
95
Weight
95
Materials
95
Ease of Use
94
Accuracy
94
best offer for today
$169.00
Pros:

It generates an accurate result

It has all the materials needed for testing

It also tests the compound aside from the bacteria

This is very affordable

Cons:

Results need to be brought to the laboratory for testing.

It can take a while to see the results. Maximum time is two weeks.

This item examines all the contaminants that are possibly living in your drinking water. It also has indicators for compounds that are also inside the water.

Read more

Features
Essential Indicators is created by Drinking Water Specialists. Aside from the contaminants, it also tests the compound that is possibly inside the water. These compounds can be harmful to the body and need to be removed. This product contains all the materials needed for testing your water.

Size
The dimensions of this product are 6 x 4 x 4 inches.

Weight
This product weighs 7 ounces.

Material
This item is made from plastic.

Responsiveness
It delivers results within two weeks since it must be brought to the laboratory for testing.

Ease of Use
It is easy to use, and the laboratory is very responsive in giving the results.

Accuracy
This also delivers the most accurate result when it comes to testing the bacteria living in the water.

4. PurTest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
PurTest
Size
93
Weight
93
Responsiveness
93
Ease of Use
92
Accuracy
92
best offer for today
Pros:

It is very handy and easy to use

It generates results quickly

It has accurate results that no longer require testing in the laboratory

It is trusted by many users

Cons:

It can only be used for a single test

This lets you examine your water if it contains possible contaminants like E.coli. It contains all the necessary materials needed for water testing.

Read more

Our home is not exempted to the harmful bacteria. This Test Kit provides an analysis of your water. This is best used for on-site purposes, but it is also good for home use only. It quickly analyzes the contaminants. You don't need to go to the nearest laboratory to have your water tested. This has testing strips for testing the contaminants and a small bottle where you can place the water to be tested.

Size
The dimensions of this product are 2.5 x 5 x 7 inches.

Weight
This product weighs 0.8 ounces.

Material
The item is made of plastic.

Responsiveness
This item can generate results in just minutes.

Ease of Use
It is very easy to use since everything you need for the testing is included in the kit.

Accuracy
It delivers an accurate result same as the ones done in the laboratory.

5. Baldwin Meadows

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Baldwin Meadows
Size
91
Materials
90
Responsiveness
89
Ease of Use
88
Accuracy
87
best offer for today
$18.99
Pros:

It contains many sampling strips for testing

It generates accurate results

Waiting for weeks is no longer needed since it can produce results in just minutes

A single test can give multiple results already

Cons:

It may not generate results for other contaminants

This 9-in-1 test kit generates multiple results in a single test. Also, there are many testing strips included when you purchase it.

Read more

Features
Baldwin Meadows has indeed created a water testing kit that can benefit a lot of people. It is 9-in-1 because it can deliver multiple results in just one test. It provides a result for nitrate, nitrite, lead, copper, iron, chlorine, pH, hardness, and alkalinity. No need to go to the laboratory for testing. This water testing kit can provide an accurate result in just minutes.

Size
The dimensions of this item are 4.1 x 1.8 x 1.8 inches.

Weight
This product weighs 1.6 ounces.

Material
This item is made of plastic.

Responsiveness
It can generate results in just minutes. No need to wait for weeks to see if your water is infected with harmful bacteria. This is best for those who want instant results.

Ease of Use
It is very easy to use and everything you need for water testing is included in the kit.

Accuracy
The results provided are accurate and comparable to the laboratory results.

6. Poolmaster

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Poolmaster
Weight
86
Materials
85
Responsiveness
84
Ease of Use
83
Accuracy
82
best offer for today
$23.46
Pros:

Everything you need for testing is included in the kit

It has a separate case that can be used for storage when not in used

It is very affordable compared to other testing kits

The results are very accurate and comparable to laboratory results

The bottles are color-coded for easy determination of the results

Cons:

The results may not appear in an instant. It may take a few days or weeks to see

Poolmaster 5-Way Test Kit
Pool water requires testing too. This 5-way test kit can help you know if there is improper maintenance in the chemistry of water.

Read more

Most Expert Criteria
This 5-way test kit contains all the materials you need for testing your pool water. Acid Demand, pH, Bromine, Chlorine, and total alkalinity are tested by this product. Whenever we use the swimming pool, it is inevitable for us to accumulate water inside our body. So, it is a must that we test it as well. This water testing kit is color-coded so it will be easier to see the results. There is also a case provided to secure the testing materials when not in use.

Size
The dimensions of this product are 7.4 x 4.9 x 4.4 inches.

Weight
This item weighs 15.4 ounces.

Material
This product is made of plastic even the case.

Responsiveness
The result of the test may take a few days or weeks to appear. For someone who wants to get fast results, this may not be the best product.

Ease of Use
It is easy to use since it contains all the materials needed for water testing.

Accuracy
It generates the most accurate results. The results are comparable with the ones in the laboratory. You will be satisfied since it is the same once you see it.

7. AquaVial

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
AquaVial
Size
81
Weight
81
Materials
81
Responsiveness
80
Ease of Use
80
best offer for today
$21.96
Pros:

It generates quality and accurate results

It is easy to use

You will find everything you need for water testing inside the kit as you purchase it

It can distinguish even the deepest bacteria lying around the water

The shelf life of the whole kit can last for two whole years

Cons:

The results may take a day to appear depending on what is being tested

This amazing product can provide results quickly. It is one of the most trusted brands and it is affordable.

Read more

Features
This can distinguish even the slightest bacteria present in the water. Aside from the bacteria, it can also perceive the fungi or biofilm. You need not to wait for weeks to see the results. In just half an hour or less, it can already generate results. Not only is it quick in giving results, but you are guaranteed to see accurate ones. This water testing kit can be kept for as long as two years. Results, however, may vary depending on the one being tested. It is best to purchase this product before your water can be a harm to you and your family’s health.

Size
The dimensions of this product are 3 x 3 x 3 inches.

Weight
This item weighs 1.6 ounces.

Material
This product is made of plastic even the cups used for testing.

Responsiveness
For testing the bacteria, it can generate a result in just thirty minutes. For testing the E.coli, results can appear within twenty-four hours.

Ease of Use
It is easy to use since everything is provided in the kit.

Accuracy
It delivers an accurate result that is comparable to the ones in the laboratory.

8. API

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
API
Size
80
Weight
80
Materials
79
Responsiveness
78
Ease of Use
78
best offer for today
$17.59
Pros:

Everything you need for testing is complete inside the kit

The testing tubes can be used for several times

It delivers an accurate result

No need to go to the laboratory for the testing the result

It has a case where you can place the testing materials when not in use

Cons:

The results may or may not generate quickly

If you are a petting a fish and you own an aquarium, it is best to have its water checked. Your pet fish needs to acquire a contaminant-free water as well.

Read more

Features
This provides results that are true and accurate. Nitrate, nitrite, ammonia, pH, and high-range pH are the ones being tested by this product. To avoid your pet fish from acquiring chemicals, bacteria, or contaminants, you can use this water testing kit. There are four glass tubes, seven bottles for testing solutions, and a color card included as you purchase it. Use this every week to monitor the condition of the fishes and the water.

Size
The dimensions of this product are 9.1 x 3.5 x 4.6 inches.

Weight
This item weighs 1.15 pounds.

Material
The testing tubes are made from glass while the container for securing is made from plastic.
Responsiveness
The results may not show up quickly.

Ease of Use
It is easy to use, and it comes with a manual for instructions to avoid confusion when using it for testing the water.

Accuracy
It generates an accurate result that is comparable with the ones in the laboratory.

9. Test Assured

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.6
Test Assured
Size
77
Weight
77
Materials
77
Responsiveness
76
Ease of Use
76
best offer for today
$34.95
Pros:

It provides accurate results

No need to visit the laboratory to have the results checked

It can determine multiple contaminants in a single test

Everything you need is included in the kit already

It can deliver results in just fifteen minutes. No need to wait for long hours

Cons:

Some contaminants may not be tested using this kit

Test your drinking water now using this. It has all the testing materials you will need. It is also easy to use and interpret.

Read more

Features
This product by Test Assured can examine if you water contains all the possible contaminants—lead, copper, iron, chlorine, pesticide, nitrates, nitrites, and bacteria. It also tests the pH level, hardness, and alkalinity of the water. It can be simply done at home. No need to go to the laboratory. In as early as fifteen minutes, you can already see the results.

Size
The dimensions of this product are 8.1 x 1.7 x 5 inches.

Weight
This item weighs 3.2 ounces.

Material
All the items included in the kit are made of plastic.

Responsiveness
It generates result in as early as fifteen minutes.

Ease of Use
It is easy to use since everything you need is inside the kit. Instructions are also on how to use are also provided.

Accuracy
It provides an accurate result that is comparable to the ones in the laboratory.

10. Watts

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.6
Watts
Size
76
Weight
76
Materials
76
Responsiveness
75
Ease of Use
75
best offer for today
$41.88
Pros:

Results are easy to read and interpret since they are color-coded

It can determine multiple contaminants in just a single test

No need to wait for long hours, days, or weeks for the result

The results are sure to be accurate even if it is compared in the laboratory

Cons:

It may be costly for some

If you need a water testing kit that can provide you with an accurate and fast result, purchase this one from Watts Premier. It contains all the necessary materials you will need for testing your water.

Read more

Features
This is very comprehensive. It can deliver results in just minutes. Also, the results are color-coded for easy reading. They are sure to be accurate even if they to be compared in the laboratory. It can determine all the harmful contaminants that may be living inside the water.

Size
The dimensions of this product are 5.8 x 2.5 x 4.5 inches.

Weight
This item weighs 4.2 ounces.

Material
This product is made of plastic.

Responsiveness
It generates results in just a few minutes after testing.

Ease of Use
It is easy to use and everything you need for testing is included in the kit.

Accuracy
The results provided are all accurate and comparable to the ones in the laboratory.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Size

Size always matters. This criterion is included because not all users can predict the size from the picture only.

These products are usually small and handy. Yet, there are test kits that are in test tubes. These test kits are larger in size. These kits do not need to be transported to often so the size does not matter completely. It is nice to have a kit that can be transported with ease.

Water testing can be done anywhere. We use water every day. If we are very meticulous, we would want to see if water is harmful or not. In times like these, we must opt for test kits that are handy. Use the ones that can be placed inside your bag without creating a hassle when carried.

Weight

This criterion is important for some people. Not all users have enough strength to carry something.

It is a good thing that these kits are mostly lightweight. Still, it depends on the material used. The material will determine how heavy or light the product is. Again, these kits are better if they can transport easily and being a lighter weight will help you transport and test your water with ease.

If a product is made from glass, it can weigh more than the usual. If the product is made from plastic, it weighs less. If the product is made from paper (test strips), of course, it will not be a hassle since it is very light. However, it will always depend on the person. The capacity of the person to carry something is very important.

Materials

This is another important criterion that must be paid attention to. We do not want to invest in something that will go to waste quickly.

If possible, choose one that is not fragile. There are different brands available on the market. Moreover, each brand claim that they have the best quality. It is best to check the customer reviews to ensure that the test kit you are interested in will hold up and give you the results you are after.

Since they have their own different claims, you can search for reviews first. They are available anywhere around the internet. Most reviews are accurate and rated accordingly. Products made from glass or plastic can last longer. However, it still depends on how the user handles it.

Responsiveness

We must admit, there are times when we tend to be impatient. We always want to see things in an instant.

This is why we purchase products that are quick to deliver results. In examining things, we want to use the testers that can easily provide results. It is to keep up with our impatience in things.
In looking for the best item, it is vital to choose the ones that will not take days to see the result. A quick response can also get a quick remedy.

Responsiveness is key when looking at water test kits because we need quick results as we will want to use the water we are testing and do not want to wait a long time for results. Again, checking the customer reviews will allow you to see how the water test kits respond when other customers used them and you can make a decision.

Ease of Use

When we buy a product, we always look for the ones that are easy to handle and use. We always want to make sure that our investment is worth spending money on.

Almost all water testing kit contains all the necessary materials needed. So, there is no need to worry about how easy or hard it is going to be when in use. This should be considered to avoid frequent slipping from your hands, too.

The instructions should be easy to follow so you can get your results quickly and efficiently and be able to use the water without issues.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Weight
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Responsiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Accuracy

Not all water test kits are accurate in the results. Although they claim to generate an accurate result, it is still not sure. There are some test kits that when tested in the laboratories produce a different result. You may think that the result from the test kit is safe, but the laboratory shows otherwise.

Fortunately, these claim-to-fame products are not many. Most brands that say they deliver accurately are true. Even if it is tested in the laboratory, it will show the same result. These brands are the ones which have been in the market for a long time already. It is best to carefully choose the water test kit you are about to buy. This is to avoid spending on something that is not worth it.

Other Factors to Consider

Features

People who are searching for the best product always want to know the features first. It is where they decide if a product is worth buying. Although, most water test kits have the same features already.
These water test kits differ in a lot of ways depending on the brand. Every brand company wants its item to stand out from the rest to gain more market. So, they add features that are unique to attract buyers. It is highly suggested that buyers must carefully choose the items no matter how deceiving the features are. They may be too good to be true and might end up disappointing you so choose wisely.

Testing your water is very important to prevent possible dangers to your health. These water kits can be a big help to lessen the dangers that can affect your body. When you search the market for test kits, it will show you a lot of results. It is better to have thorough research first of the item before purchasing it.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why is it important to test the water first before consuming it?
a:

It is a known fact that we use water every day. Without water, it will be hard to survive the day. We use water for drinking, cleansing, and a lot more. Since it has a lot of uses, we must be aware of the quality of water for safety purposes. This is to prevent our bodies from accumulating harmful bacteria.

Water consumes a lot of percentage around the world. However, there are some who just cannot help themselves in maintaining a clean surrounding. Thus, affecting our waters. When these affected areas are not cleaned, and we accidentally consume them, it will cause us so much harm. Our health is greatly affected.

It is important to know if water is clean to avoid ourselves from getting sick. Harmful bacteria can spread to our body or even cause an epidemic. One way of preventing this from happening is to test the water we are about to consume. The best water test kits are everywhere around the market. Simply search for them and purchase it at a reasonable price.

q: What are the possible contaminants that are living inside the water?
a:

There are a lot of harmful contaminants that are inside the water that we do not know of. Bacteria are only a few of the most harmful ones. It can result in several kinds of diseases. There are also chemicals which can be bad for us too. These contaminants can cause sicknesses of varying levels of severity. It's best to know what's in your drinking water.

q: Is everything included inside the kit already?
a:

It varies depending on the manufacturer. The product may say that is a kit, but it lacks some material needed. Though, this case is less likely to happen. Most water test kits have a complete set of materials. It includes a variety of test strips, tubes, containers, a vial for the guide, and an instruction manual.

However, if you want to get the complete deal, you have to look for brands that are a lot more expensive than the usual. The more materials it has, the more expensive it is. It is not that expensive anyway. It is still affordable. But if you really want to get a complete package, look for the ones that have everything you need.

q: Can I use the water test kit several times?
a:

Several usages of a water test kit depend on the material of the product. If a product is made from paper (test strips), then you are sure to dispose of them right away. You cannot wait for it to generate another result once used already. If it is made from plastic, then it is safe to use it again. Products that are made from plastic are usually long-lasting. Still, it depends on the user. Glass products are also worth using for a long time. They may be fragile, but careful use will prolong it more. Simply wash these test kits after use. There are harmful contaminants that may have stuck in it. These contaminants can still affect the result of waters that are yet to be tested.