to top 10 table

Best TV Mounts

last updated Sep 13, 2019

Whether you just bought yourself a brand new television and you’re looking for an aesthetic and space-saving way to watch it or if you’re just remodeling your living room and are hoping to do away with your bulky entertainment center, wall mounts for TVs are a safe and nice-looking way to hang your TV. There are a number of different styles on the market and it can be quite overwhelming at first if you’re not prepared before you throw yourself into the world of TV mounts. Our buying guide below outlines the ten best options on the market today and will help you make an informed decision about which mount is best for you, your needs and your specific living room design.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 8 hrs of research

icon
EchoGear
96.8/100 our score
Style
96
Style
96
Features
97
Durability
98
Value
97
EchoGear
Why is it better?

No play at all 

Very sturdy construction 

No creaks

Swivels easily

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
EchoGear
Test Winner: EchoGear
Amazon Link
Interviewed Experts
10
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
40
Researched Sources
Total Readers
12000
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
800
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
8
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Features Durability Value Size By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Style
96 %
Style
96 %
Features
97 %
Durability
98 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$99.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Style
95 %
Size
95 %
Features
96 %
Durability
97 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$33.96
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Style
96 %
Size
96 %
Features
95 %
Durability
96 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$38.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Style
95 %
Size
96 %
Features
94 %
Durability
95 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$139.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Style
95 %
Size
94 %
Features
94 %
Durability
92 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$23.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Style
94 %
Size
93 %
Features
94 %
Durability
93 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$31.60
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Style
94 %
Size
92 %
Features
93 %
Durability
93 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$24.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Style
93 %
Size
92 %
Features
91 %
Durability
91 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$399.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Style
92 %
Size
90 %
Features
91 %
Durability
90 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$139.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Style
91 %
Size
90 %
Features
90 %
Durability
89 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$54.99

Top 10 Picks

1. EchoGear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
EchoGear
Amazon Link
Style
96
Style
96
Features
97
Durability
98
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$99.99
Pros:

No play at all 

Very sturdy construction 

No creaks

Swivels easily

Cons:

Studs have to be 16” apart

Slightly bulky

This option from EchoGear comes from a company of self-proclaimed do-it-yourselves. What does this mean for you as a consumer? A product that is si easy to install that anyone can do it with ease. If you find yourself struggling with the installation process, however, you can rest assured as the customer service fan at EchoGear is top-notch and available seven days a week for your convenience.

Read more

Style
This TV mount is considered to be a full-motion (also known as articulating) option. This is, by far, the most customizable style of TV Mount available, perfect for large rooms or for people who don’t want to commit to having their television in just one spot all of the time. The EchoGear mount provides consumers with 130 degrees of swivel adjustments, perfect for when you want to watch your favorite shows from somewhere other than “your spot.” Users are also able to extend their TVs out to 16” and 15 degrees of tilt, making your Netflix binges a whole lot more of a customized viewing experience. Worried that this mount will look bulky on your wall? Fear not, this model can retract very slow to the wall, keeping your viewing area free of distracting business. It can shrink down to just 2.6 inches away from the wall when retracted.

Size
EchoGear truly puts their products to the test in their labs. This particular mount was traded to hold four times its rated weight so that it can provide consumers nervous about hanging their TV in the wall with peace of mind knowing it won’t fall off and destroy their home. It is designed to hold televisions up to 70 inches wide. When it comes to the weight limit, this mount can hold a whopping 132 pounds.

Features
It doesn’t matter if you’re an LG fan or if you own a Sony or Samsung television, the EchoGear mount arrives with several different bolts to ensure you will be able to hang your TV. The hardware bags included with this product make it compatible with any television.

Durability
Current users of this EchoGear product are mostly impressed with the sturdy and heavy-duty construction of this mount. Some users found that the arms are hard to retract and that they had to MacGyver the mount to make it work for them. But, that said, the overwhelming majority loved the product and found it to be of durable construction.

Price
We loved the way that EchoGear presents themselves online. From their witty Amazon listings to their commitment to customer service, we believe that this is a company that stands by their products. Sadly, it only comes with a five-year warranty while other products on our list offer much more attractive warranty policies. We still believe the solid and durable construction of this mount makes it more than a viable option for consumers.

2. Cheetah

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Cheetah
Amazon Link
Style
95
Size
95
Features
96
Durability
97
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.96
Pros:

Low profile 

Includes free HDMI cable 

Easy to install 

Heavy, durable steel construction

Cons:

Included level of questionable quality  

Hard to level  

You have to appreciate a company that stands behind their products so much that they provide a 100% guaranteed for life. This is the case with this TV mount from Cheetah.

Read more

Style
This product from Cheetah can be used as a fixed TV mount or as a tilting style one using the included bracket. This is a great feature to have, especially for folks who are a little indecisive about which style they want to employ in their living room. This mount features a super low profile, extending only 1.3” away from the wall once installed. Though this feature is appealing because it looks nice, it should be noted that this low profile design does make accessing your televisions inputs difficult once it’s mounted. There are pull tabs found below the mount that lets consumers access a simple mount release.

Size
The Cheetah mount is designed to fit televisions that are in the 20-inch to 80-inch range. This product arrives in a box ready with a VESA 400 configuration. This means that out of the box, this mount is ready to go to hold TVs up to 60 inches. For consumers with smaller or larger televisions, the mount can be adjusted appropriately with the parts included in the package.

Features
The Cheetah mount is compatible with some of the most common television brand on the market today. It ships with all of the required hardware to prep the mount and your TV for wall mounting. This brand makes installing this mount anywhere easy. It arrives with anchors that make it simple to mount this even to brick walls or other masonry.

Durability
This mount is constructed of heavy-duty materials that really aid in its overall durability. Some users felt that the hooks used to attach the VESA mount to the television left a little to be desired but they proved themselves to be up to the task regardless.

Price
All-in-all, this is a high quality, inexpensive mounting option. It is made with durable materials and with one of the cheapest price tags on our top ten list, we can’t recommend this option enough.

3. Mounting Dream

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Mounting Dream
Amazon Link
Style
96
Size
96
Features
95
Durability
96
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$38.99
Pros:

Multiple hardware pieces included to ensure fit

Directions are simple to follow

Sturdy construction

Numerous adjustment capabilities

Cons:

Overkill for smaller TVs

Only works if your studs are 16” apart

With 20 years of business under their belts, Mounting Dream boasts a reputation that is impressive. With a number of different TV mount styles available from this company, consumers can rest assured that if this particular style doesn’t suit their needs, Mounting Dream has one made just for you and your television.

Read more

Style
The Mounting Dream mount is a full-motion style. It allows users to tilt their TVs up to five degrees as well as tilt the TV down up to 15 degrees. Being able to control the tilt allows users to adjust the TV if glare from the sun becomes an issue. The mount provides users with a way to swivel their TV in case they want it to point at the armchair instead of the couch. It pulls out to just over 15” and will retract back to a mere 3”.

Size
This option from Mounting Dream is designed to fit televisions that are 32-55 inches in size. More specifically, they claim this mount will fit TVs with mounting holes as near to each other as 3x3 or as far apart as 16x16. It is rated to hold TVs that weigh up to 99 pounds.

Features
This mount comes with all of the hardware you will need to get it up on your wall and get you watching your favorite shows in no time. It does not come with anchors for concrete wall installation, however, so that is one thing to take into account before you make your final purchase. The box does include some fun bonuses like a bubble level to help ensure your mount is straight, a nine-foot HDMI cable and three ties to help keep your TV and component wires tame.

Durability
The option from Mounting Dream looks and feels like a durable product. With a warranty on parts that lasts for ten years, you have nothing to worry about when you invest in this mount.

Price
We loved this product because this brand is such a well-known source in the world of TV mounts. They have been around for a while and know exactly what needs to be done to produce a high-quality product. We loved that they include bonuses – the bubble level, HDMI cable, and cord management system – with the package and also that they have a United States-based customer service team available to answer any of your questions and concerns before and after purchase.

4. Sanus VLT6

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Sanus VLT6
Amazon Link
Style
95
Size
96
Features
94
Durability
95
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$139.99
Pros:

Sturdy tilting feature

Fits over top of outlets with room left over to still plug in items

Slots for mounting provide a lot of adjustability

Easy to follow instructions

Cons:

Expensive

Not as solidly constructed as it should be

This TV mount from Sanus is one of the most expensive options on our list but its design is revolutionary and sometimes you have to pay a little bit more to get a great, long-lasting and durable product in return. What makes this design unique from other options on our list is that it features an open design at the back that allows users to install their mount right over the top of electrical outlets if necessary.

Read more

Style  
The Sanus VLT6 utilizes a tilting style in its design. With an extension of over 5.5 inches, even the biggest televisions are able to reach the maximum tilting range when mounted on this product. This isn’t always the case with some of the other options for mounts available on the market. Sometimes when you have a larger sized TV, they are limited in how much they can tilt because they’ll hit the wall before they hit maximum tilt.

Size 
The Sanus VLT6 is designed to hold televisions that are within the 46-inch to 90-inch range, making this one of the options on our list that is rated to hold that large of a TV. This mount proudly boasts the capability of holding flat panel televisions up to 150 pounds in weight.
 
Features
As with most of the mounting kits, you will find on the market, this product from Sanus arrives in a box with all of the required hardware all ready for you for installation. The included instruction manual is very clear and goes into in-depth detail regarding the compatible mounting surfaces for this product – wood or metal studs as well as concrete. Users should find that there is enough hardware included with this mount that they should be able to install any of their appropriately sized and weighted televisions on it.

Durability
The overwhelming majority of reviews regarding this mount from Sanus absolutely rave about the high-quality construction. While this far forms the cheapest option on our list, sometimes a little more of investment truly makes a difference.
 
Price 
Though the price tag for this product is quite a bit higher than other options on our list, we still stand by our decision to include the Sanus mount in our buying guide. One thing we thought was very handy was the tool on their website that allows customers to find the perfect height for their product based upon their television brand, model number, and Sanus mount kit.

5. Husky Mount

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Husky Mount
Amazon Link
Style
95
Size
94
Features
94
Durability
92
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.99
Pros:

Easy installation

Swivel works nicely

Affordable price tag

Aesthetically pleasing

Cons:

Lag screws stripped easily

This TV mount from Husky Mount is a great option for consumers who have smaller sized TVs. A lot of the TV mounts on our list are rated for larger sized televisions and won’t work for folks who decided to stay modest with the size of their TV. The Husky Mount is a great product for people who require a corner mount, as well.

Read more

Style
This option from Husky Mounts is a full-motion style. It swivels easily left and right thanks to the swinging arm design and provides 180-degrees of swivel, providing a way for users to customize their viewing experience. It also boasts 15-degrees of downward tilt adjustments. It should be noted, though, that the larger the TV is, the more tilting capabilities will be sacrificed. Users are able to pull their TV up to 15-inches away from their wall and fold it back against the wall as close as 2-inches.

Size
The Husky Mounts product is designed to hold TVs up to 66 pounds in weight. Users should find that it fits most 32” televisions with ease, though it can fit bigger sizes provided that these TVs fit within the weight restrictions. Users should pay close attention to the VESA measurements listed in the product listing to avoid disappointment.

Features
This mount arrives at your door with everything you need to succeed in your installation process. The mount is already put together straight out of the box and has a faceplate that is easy to remove so one person can install this on their own. It also arrives with a wire management system to keep your cords out of the way and looking nice. With the included hardware, users can mount this either on a single wood stud or onto a concrete wall with ease.

Durability
This mount is constructed from a heavy-duty steel material that will provide enough durability to make this product long-lasting. And, if you were to ever find to question its durability, the manufacturer offers a lifetime guarantee so there is literally nothing to lose.

Price
We loved this Husky Mounts product because of its durable construction and we had to include it on our list because we know that not everyone has 60-inch plus TVs in their living rooms. This is a great amount to invest in if you are on a budget as it is relatively low-priced and is perfect for folks with moderately-sized TVs.

6. VonHaus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
 VonHaus
Amazon Link
Style
94
Size
93
Features
94
Durability
93
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$31.60
Pros:

Ample number of screw holes for studs

Included hardware is of high quality

Sturdy construction

Number of different swivel positions available

Mounts onto a single stud

Cons:

Extending arms feel a bit flimsy

Mount might not be the best for larger TVs

This TV mount from VonHaus provides a quick and painless installation process, perfect for the folks who don’t want to spend an entire afternoon installing their new mount. It’s a great option for folks with smaller sized TVs and the provided warranty is a great way to ensure you can feel good about your investment.

Read more

Style
This mount from VonHaus is a full-motion option. It provides users 15-degrees of tilt adjustments. It features a low-profile design and will retract against the wall so just over 2-inches is sticking out. The articulating arm will extend from the wall, providing 180-degrees of swivel for a customized viewing experience.

Size
This product is a great option if you have a modestly-sized television. Reviews mention, however, that it will work best for smaller sized televisions than ones on the larger size of the rated range. VonHaus markets this as an amount that works for TVs in the 26-inch to 55-inch size range with a weight capacity of 88 pounds. It should be noted that the smaller and lighter your TV is, the better you will find this mount to work and perform to its best abilities.

Features
As one should come to expect from TV mounts, this option will arrive in a box with all of the required hardware you need to get it up and on your wall in no time. Plastic spaces, shim spaces, washers of varying sizes, anchors and screws plenty, you name it, it’s in the package.

Durability
VonHaus backs up their TV mount with a wonderful 25-year warranty so if you were to ever have a question about the longevity of this mount; the warranty has your back,

Price
The VonHaus TV mount is a great product for people with lighter and smaller-sized televisions. While it is rated to 50-inches and 88 pounds, the research we conducted suggests that the heavier and larger than the TV is, the less great the mount is at swiveling and tilting. This is okay if you want a mount that will just hold your TV in place, but if you want to be able to use it to its full capabilities, you should take this into account. We loved that this product comes with a 25-year warranty so that customers can rest assured that the mount will last at least as long as their TV does.

7. Fortress Mount

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
 Fortress Mount
Amazon Link
Style
94
Size
92
Features
93
Durability
93
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.99
Pros:

Beautiful construction

Smaller than you think it would be

Low profile design

Quick and painless assembly process

Bonus HDMI cable a nice addition

Cons:

Clearance behind the TV can be limited

Pull cords that let you take the TV off of the wall bracket are visible

This option from Fortress Mount boasts a heavyweight capacity as well as a lifetime guarantee and a slim profile. This is a great product if you have a larger or heavier sized television and are in the market for a mount that will provide you with endless adjustment capabilities.

Read more

Style
This Fortress Mount product is a tilting style option that provides up to 15-degrees of downward tilting and 5-degrees of upwards. It features a low-profile design that will retract to as close to 2.5 inches away from your wall. The tilting option is great as it allows for reduced glare from windows and the sun, especially in rooms with ample natural lighting.

Size
The Fortress Mount company boasts this product as a “universal design fit” that will fit most televisions in the 40-inch to 70-inch range and even some as small as 20-inches or as big as 75 inches. The weight limit is 165 pounds, and it accommodates VESA sizes up to 600 x 400.

Features
This TV mount provides a degree of flexibility when it comes to where you can mount it. It works well on concrete blocks, poured concrete and standard drywall (when attached to wood studs). The product arrives with the hardware necessary to perform any of these installation processes.

Durability
The frame of this mount is made from heavy gauge steel that is designed to be very durable. The lifetime warranty that accompanies this mount should provide enough peace of mind if that heavy-duty construction doesn’t do it for you.

Price
The price for this mount is quite low, especially when you compare it to similar products on the market. We love that this mount can fit most sizes of televisions and with a weight limit of 165 pounds, we feel there won’t be many sized TVs that can’t be hung by this mount. You have to appreciate when a company believes so wholeheartedly in their products that they provide all buyers with a 100% money-back guarantee for life. The customer service for Fortress Mounts is fantastic, and with such a great warranty to fall back on, you have nothing to lose with purchasing this product.

8. MantelMount

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
MantelMount
Amazon Link
Style
93
Size
92
Features
91
Durability
91
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$399.00
Pros:

Sturdy construction

Great range of motion

Making adjustments is easy

Quick and painless installation

Cons:

Expensive

Heavy

This product from MantelMount is a little bit different than the other options on our list but we felt in order to make this top ten buying guide all-encompassing, we had to include other styles than just the three main types. Though this mount far surpasses all of the others on this list in terms of price, consumers should be comforted by the fact that the company offers a lifetime warranty on their products.

Read more

Style  
As mentioned in the introduction of this product, this option from MantelMount is a little bit different in terms of style. This product is designed to be mounted above a fireplace. When properly installed, users can pull down the mount to have their TV at a more accessible height. It can lower your TV down 29 inches from its installed height. It allows for 35-degrees of left and right swivel as well as adjustable stops that will stop your television from hitting the mounting hardware.

Size 
This product is designed to hold TVs that weigh between 20 and 90 pounds or fall in between the 44-inch and 80-inch range in terms of size. It supports VESA configurations up to 725 mm to 550 mm.
 
Features
This product arrives in a box with everything you need to make the installation quick, easy and dummy-proof. It comes with wall covers that you can paint to match the color of your walls. This is so that when your TV is in the lowered position, you don’t have any unsightly discrepancies in color on your wall. It also has a built-in attachment for your soundbar. Safety-wise, this product features handles that can sense heat. They will turn red if they reach 110-degrees, letting you know that they’re getting too hot. This is an indispensable feature, especially as this mount is designed to be positioned over a fireplace.

Durability
This product utilizes high-quality gas pistons in its unique construction. Alongside those pistons are lightweight alloys that ensure a durable mount. If that doesn’t provide enough peace of mind for you, the 100% lifetime guarantee might.
 
Price 
If you are in the market for a TV mount that can be placed above your fireplace, this is the one for you. Not all of the mounts on the market are suitable for over the fireplace placement, but because this one is designed with that configuration in mind, you can rest assured knowing that this mount will perform its job dutifully. Some people have concerns about whether or not placing a TV over a fireplace is safe, and we do actually touch on this in our FAQ section below, but we have to appreciate the fact that this product is designed to let you know if it is getting close to overheating. Despite its very high price tag, we do recommend this product for those reasons alone.

9. Kanto PDX680

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Kanto PDX680
Amazon Link
Style
92
Size
90
Features
91
Durability
90
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$139.99
Pros:

Solid and well made

Packaging makes everything easy to find

Video instructions a bonus

Cardboard template makes installation a breeze

Cons:

Written instructions could be clearer

Might work best for lighter TVs than its rated for

This TV mount from Kanto is low in weight but made of high-quality materials. Solid steel construction provides users with the guarantee that this product will hold the televisions that it’s rated for without any problems whatsoever. The powder coating that finishes this TV mount will provide durability that is both long-lasting and aesthetically pleasing.

Read more

Style  
The Kanto PDX680 is a full-motion style that allows users to adjust their viewing experience. It will swivel up to 85-degrees both left and right and will provide users with a tilting adjustment of 18-degrees. It is a low-profile option that will sit only 2 inches away from your wall when retracted but is able to extend all the way up to 2 feet away when extended fully.

Size 
This TV mount is designed to hold TVs up to 125 pounds in weight.  Users should find that this mount will fit most televisions that are in the 39-inch to 80-inch range with VESA compatibilities from 100x100 to 700x400.

Features
This product arrives with everything you need to get your TV mount set up in no time. As a bonus, the box includes a cable management system as well as caps you can use to disguise the often unsightly lag bolts in your walls. It can be installed on wood or concrete walls.

Durability
The solid steel frame found on this product from Kanto is made to lease and will support up to 125 pounds of TV, even at full extension!
 
Price 
Though the price tag is pretty high for the Kanto PDX680 mount, we believe the value provided with the mount is more than worth the price tag. We appreciated the heavy-duty construction of this mount and Kanto’s commitment to safety and security.

10. VideoSecu MW380B5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
VideoSecu MW380B5
Amazon Link
Style
91
Size
90
Features
90
Durability
89
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$54.99
Pros:

Included 10-foot HDMI cable is a nice addition

Heavy duty construction

Easy to assemble by yourself if your TV is light enough

Great price tag

Cons:

May not include enough washers

Tilt adjustment can be tricky

If you have a large TV, this mount from VideoSecu is going to be right up your alley. The good news is, even if you have a smaller sized TV, though, this company has a solution for you. This particular style is backed by over 25,000 reviews on Amazon alone that attest to the high-quality and heavy-duty construction of this TV mount.

Read more

Style
The VideoSecu MW380B5 wall mount is a full-motion style. It can swivel up to 160-degrees in either direction and the tilt is adjustable +12/-12 degrees. The amount of adjustability is determined by how large your television is.

Size
This mount is built to hold TVs that weigh up to 125 pounds and are between 37-inches and 70-inches in width. If you find yourself loving what VideoSecu offers as a brand, you will be happy to find that this mount is also available in 27-inch to 55-inch, 37-inch to 65-inch and 40-inch to 88-inch varieties. It is important to note that if you do purchase this mount, please ensure that your TV is at least 37 inches wide or else the mounting bracket will be visible on either end of your TV.

Features
Some reviewers mentioned that they felt this product didn’t come with enough washers. This isn’t a huge deal for most people, however, as washers are only mere pennies each at the hardware store. It does make the installation process a little more inconvenient, though, if you need to make a run to the store in the middle of installing your mount. It does arrive with several screws and bolts to ensure that there are enough available for differing TV styles and brands.

Durability
This product from VideoSecu is created with a high gauge steel material to provide users with a mount that will last long.

Price
The price tag for the VideoSecu MW380B5 is middle of the line in comparison to the other products on our list. We loved this option because of its easy installation process and a high amount of adjustability offered with this articulating mount.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

Style equals good quality.

This TV mount is considered to be a full-motion (also known as articulating) option. This is, by far, the most customizable style of TV Mount available, perfect for large rooms or for people who don’t want to commit to having their television in just one spot all of the time. The EchoGear mount provides consumers with 130 degrees of swivel adjustments, perfect for when you want to watch your favorite shows from somewhere other than “your spot.” Users are also able to extend their TVs out to 16” and 15 degrees of tilt, making your Netflix binges a whole lot more of a customized viewing experience. Worried that this mount will look bulky on your wall? Fear not, this model can actually retract very slow to the wall, keeping your viewing area free of distracting business. It can shrink down to just 2.6 inches away from the wall when retracted.

Size

Bigger is not always best.

EchoGear truly puts their products to the test in their labs. This particular mount was traded to hold four times its rated weight just so it can provide consumers nervous about hanging their TV in the wall with peace of mind knowing it won’t fall off and destroy their home. It is designed to hold televisions up to 70 inches wide. When it comes to the weight limit, this mount can hold a whopping 132 pounds. 

Features

Features give more for money.

It doesn’t matter if you’re an LG fan or if you own a Sony or Samsung television, the EchoGear mount arrives with a number of different bolts to ensure you will be able to hang your TV. The hardware bags included with this product make it compatible with any television.

Durability

Good products give durability.

Current users of this EchoGear product are mostly impressed with the sturdy and heavy-duty construction of this mount. Some users found that the arms are hard to retract and that they had to MacGyver the mount to make it work for them. But, that said, the overwhelming majority loved the product and found it to be of durable construction.

Value

Always look for good value.

We loved the way that EchoGear presents themselves online. From their witty Amazon listings to their commitment to customer service, we believe that this is a company that stands by their products. Sadly, it only comes with a five-year warranty while other products on our list offer much more attractive warranty policies. We still believe the solid and durable construction of this mount makes it more than a viable option for consumers. 

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Safety Hazards
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Hanging Height

The positioning of your television is important. If you hang it too low or too high, you risk hurting your neck by having to crane it to watch the TV properly. Though installation is a breeze for the mounts on this top ten list, taking the mount down to reposition it would be a pain in the neck so it’s best if you try to get it’s height right the first try. A good rule of thumb that many installers use is placing the center point of the TV about 42” off of the floor. This accounts for the height of the back of most standard couches and an extra two feet above that to reach eye level.

Do Your Prep Work

There is a lot more to hanging your TV than just installing your new mount onto just any old spot on your way. You need to ensure that where you are placing your mount is capable of holding the weight of the product and the TV you are going to be mounting there. You will need to make sure that the location you choose to hang your mount has studs nearby so you will have someplace to anchor the screws. You can buy a stud finder at any hardware store for as low as $10 and use this device to find the studs in your walls.

Other Factors to Consider

Style

There are many different styles of TV mounts on the market, and we tried to ensure that our top ten list was as inclusive as possible to reflect that. To be able to choose what style of mount works best for your television in your particular space, you must ask yourself what type of movement you want to see with your new mount. There are three common styles of mounts available for purchase as outlined below:
1)Fixed
This design allows your TV to lie flat against your wall. It is the most aesthetically pleasing option as there is no bulky hardware cluttering up space behind your television. The issue with fixed types is that they are unforgiving. You must be sure that the spot you place your fixed mount in is the optimal spot on your wall, free from glares from windows and located in the center of where you will be viewing the TV from.
2)Tilting
The tilting style does just as its name suggests – tilts. This design allows consumers to tilt their television vertically. We recommend this style if you are going to be hanging your TV higher than what might be considered “normal.” This is handy if you are installing it over a media table or a fireplace as it allows you to adjust vertically the position of the TV, typically in 5 to 15-degree increments.
3)Articulating
This third style provides consumers with the most customizable way of adjusting their television. It features a swinging arm that moves away from the wall and allows users to tilt or angle it in any way they like. This style is great for rooms with a lot of natural light as the TV position can be easily changed depending on the time of day. It does take up some extra space behind your TV, however, and isn’t as nice to look at which is why some people use the articulating mount style if they have their TV hiding in an armoire.

Size

This is another important aspect that consumers especially need to look at when they’re making their decision about whether or not to purchase a certain mount. Each of the options on our top ten list are rated to hold televisions up to a certain size. You need to pay attention to these specifications as nothing would be more disappointing than receiving your new TV mount in the mail only to realize that it’s meant for a smaller TV than what you own. You don’t need to buy a mount that can hold a TV that is 75” wide if your television is only 42”.

Features

You should find that each of these TV mounts arrive in box with everything you need to secure it to regular walls. Most of these products have numbers of screws and bolts to ensure that they are compatible with many different TV brands and styles on the market. Some come with the anchors necessary to attach the mount to masonry while other products will force you to buy those separately. If you plan on hanging your new mount onto masonry, this is something you will need to take into consideration. Some of the products on our list come with fun extras like cable management systems and HDMI cables.

Durability

Durability of a product is a very important criterion to look into as no one wants to spend money on an item that is of poor quality that will break down far before its time. As we compiled our list, we took into account the materials used in the construction of each of the TV mounts as well as the consumer reviews from current users of each of the options on our list. If we saw products with consistently poor or suspicious looking reviews, we immediately nixed them off of our list. We favored TV mounts by companies who stand by their products with warranties and through the use of high-quality materials. We also looked at what materials the TV mounts were not only made with, but finished with as well. We didn’t want to offer you products that would scratch easily, either.

Value

After dropping thousands of dollars on a great television on which to binge your Netflix and play your video games, it can be hard to justify opening the ol’ wallet again to purchase a steel structure on which to hang your TV. But, at the same time, you want to be able to protect your investment so you don’t want an untrustworthy cheap-o mount that’ll have your TV on the floor in pieces faster than you can even get your butt down in your comfy spot on the couch. We wanted to make sure that we were offering our readers a number of different products in a variety of price ranges. Not everyone can afford an expensive TV mount, so we made sure to include a number of products in the sub $50 range. Though these items come at a relatively cheap price, we ensured that they weren’t cheaply made as is the case with a number of similar options on the market. Despite the low investment, all ten of these TV mounts provide a great amount of long-lasting value for consumers.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I install these?

a:

Installation is different for each of the products on our top ten list. The good news is that you will find instructions in the box, no matter which option you decide to purchase. Some of them even come with video instructions, a handy bonus for those of us who are visual learners.

q: What kind of tools will I need to install my new TV mount?

a:

First of all, you will most definitely need the mounting kit that should come with your new TV mount. As for other tools, it depends on where you are going to be installing your new mount. If you will be putting it onto drywall, you’ll need to get yourself a stud finder to ensure you place the mount onto the proper studs to support it on your wall. You will also need a drill and drill bits, a level, screwdrivers, a measuring tape and pencils for marking on the wall. Mounting onto a brick wall requires a bit more skill, concrete anchors and a hammer drill, just to name a few. This might be a task better left to professionals

q: Is it safe to mount my TV over top of a fireplace?

a:

The general consensus seems to be heating elements + electronic elements = a bad idea. If you’re burning wood, there is a chance that smoke will rise up and can build up in the components of your television. Once these particles begin the build-up, the heat emitted by your TV will rise as well, creating a bit of a fire hazard. If you can avoid placing your TV overtop of your fireplace, we highly recommend it.

q: How do I know what height to install my mount?

a:

There seems to be a general rule of thumb when it comes to the height you should install your TV mount and it depends on the size of your television. Obviously not every TV is the same size, so we can’t give you definitive numbers but just a general guideline. The most ergonomic height to have your TV installed is one where you won’t be cranking your neck to get a good look at your favorite Netflix show. If you have a couple of strong friends at your disposal, you can recruit them to help you test out different heights for your TV mount. Have them stand to hold your television while you sit back in your favorite viewing spot to see how having your TV at that height would work. Keep trying this method until you’ve nailed down the perfect position for your mount!

q: What are the benefits of mounting a TV in the first place?

a:

Entertainment centers can be really space-hogging. Being able to keep your TV off of a dedicated TV stand or media center will help free up space in your living room. This is especially important if you are tight on space, to begin with. Another great benefit of mounting your TV to a wall is that it provides adjustments that you can customize based on your living room shape, size and the amount of natural light that enters through your windows, all of which provide you, the consumer greater flexibility when it comes to viewing the TV how you want it.

q: I keep seeing you mention VESA compatibility. What does this mean?

a:

The VESA Mounting Interface Standard refers to the position of the mounting holes on the back of your television. It is important to note the location of these holes because, without these specifications, you might end up purchasing an incompatible TV mount. All of the major brand names on the market right now follow these standardized measurements.

Sources

  1. Staff, Mounting a TV on the Wall: Step by Step Guide, Guide
  2. Staff, How to Mount a Flat Screen TV, Artical
  3. Staff, FAQ, Guide
  4. Manasa Reddigari, Solved! How High to Mount a TV, Guide