to top 10 table

Best Treadmill Lubricant

last updated Mar 10, 2019

Home gym equipment can be terribly expensive, so you want to ensure that you are providing proper maintenance when needed. Most runners don’t even realize that they need to care for the belt to ensure that it doesn’t become weak and brittle over time. A good treadmill lubricant it going to help reduce friction, and help make sure that it will last you for years to come, and it also helps reduce those annoying noises and squeaks. One of the most common problems is that when you are out running on the trails for the warm months, you often neglect the needs of your indoor equipment, and you will run into problems when you start it up for the season. In this guide you will find some of our favorite picks for treadmill lubricant to provide smooth sailing for the life of your unit.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
Impresa Products
89/100 our score
Application
87
Product Purity
91
Effectiveness
90
Size
89
Value
88
Impresa Products
Why is it better?

No odor formula

Easy application

100 percent silicone works on most belts

Made in the USA

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Impresa Products
Test Winner: Impresa Products
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
22
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Application Product Purity Effectiveness Size Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Application
87%
Product Purity
91%
Effectiveness
90%
Size
89%
Value
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$12.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Application
86%
Product Purity
89%
Effectiveness
91%
Size
89%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$11.55
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Application
85%
Product Purity
89%
Effectiveness
88%
Size
90%
Value
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$6.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Application
90%
Product Purity
85%
Effectiveness
84%
Size
86%
Value
83%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$12.97
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
Application
89%
Product Purity
80%
Effectiveness
85%
Size
81%
Value
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$17.25
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Application
83%
Product Purity
85%
Effectiveness
84%
Size
79%
Value
76%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$14.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.2
Application
78%
Product Purity
84%
Effectiveness
79%
Size
73%
Value
77%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$31.53
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73
Application
70%
Product Purity
78%
Effectiveness
74%
Size
71%
Value
72%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$9.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73
Application
69%
Product Purity
70%
Effectiveness
76%
Size
79%
Value
71%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$10.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72
Application
69%
Product Purity
74%
Effectiveness
72%
Size
70%
Value
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$10.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Impresa Products
  • Spot On
  • GSM Brands
  • Noosa Life
  • Lube-n-Walk
  • LifeSpan Fitness
  • Horizon Fitness
  • Nothing But
  • Essential Values
  • UniSport
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Impresa Products

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Impresa Products
Application
87
Product Purity
91
Effectiveness
90
Size
89
Value
88
best offer for today
$12.99
Pros:

No odor formula

Easy application

100 percent silicone works on most belts

Made in the USA

Cons:

A little expensive

Some users exterpeiced leaky bottles

We found that this product is the formula that most users turn to when it is time for maintenance because it is made from a natural formula that is going to work on almost all types of machines, and it is incredibly easy and safe to use, and because of this it lands on our list as our favorite pick.

Read more

Application

The bottle of this design is short and narrow, and it has a squeezable tip. To apply, simply unscrew the cap until it is open, and then apply it under your belt in a zigzag pattern. Once you are done, turn it until it is completely closed and ready to be used for another application in the future.

Product purity

What users like more about this product is that it is made from 100 percent silicone. What this means for you is that it is going to work on just about any belt, whether it be a used model that you picked up at a yard sale or a sparkling new top of the line design. Plus, this formula has no odor, so you won’t have to worry about that unpleasant chemical smell filling your home gym.

Effectiveness

From what we have read from past users, this formula is great at not only keeping their belt healthy, but it also helps reduce any noise that you have noticed your machine making over time.

Size

Users will receive one plastic squeeze bottle that provides 4 ounces of their silicon formula. Considering how little users will need to use with one application, this bottle will last quite some time.

Value

The cost of this little bottle is just slightly more than other similar options out there on the market. However, considering the positive feedback and the purity of this formula, we feel that it is well worth the added cost.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is going to work incredibly well on most models and belts with an easy application and a pure silicon formula, this option from Impresa Products is going to be one of your better options.

2. Spot On

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Spot On
Application
86
Product Purity
89
Effectiveness
91
Size
89
Value
90
best offer for today
$11.55
Pros:

Easy to use

100 percent silicone formula

Odor free

Made in USA

Cons:

Some have experienced leaky bottles

Users found that at lowest setting the liquid comes out a little too fast

This option is quite similar to that of Impresa Products. It comes in a squeeze bottle that is just a tad wider than our top pick, which is why it was bumped slightly to our number 2 position. It offers a versatile formula that works on most belts, and it is incredibly easy to use.

Read more

Application

To use this product, simply loosen your belt at the back of the device. The cap twists off to allow users to control just how much of the product can be applied to your belt. Lift the belt up and apply the formula in a line pattern, and then tighten the cap for your next use.

Product purity

If you aren’t quite sure what type of formula you need to apply to your machine, this is going to be a good option. It is made from 100 percent silicone which means it is going to be safe for most machines. Users like that this formula also doesn’t have a smell.

Effectiveness

According to previous users, this product is incredibly effective. Just a little bit seems to go a long way, and it not only makes the belt glide easier, but it also reduces noise and friction that can slow down your workouts.

Size

Users will receive a short and stout plastic bottle that holds about 4 ounces of their silicone formula. According to the product description, this bottle should last users about a year.

Value

The cost of this bottle is just slightly more expensive than some of the other options out there on the market. However, we liked that it comes with a money back guarantee if you find that it isn’t performing as you expected it to.

Overall

For those in the market for something that is going to be incredibly effective and easy to use, this is going to be one of your better options. Plus, it comes with a money back guarantee, which gives you little reason not to give this option a shot.

3. GSM Brands

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
GSM Brands
Application
85
Product Purity
89
Effectiveness
88
Size
90
Value
91
best offer for today
$6.99
Pros:

100 percent silicon

Offered in 1 ounce or 4 ounce options

Incredibly affordable

Cons:

1 ounce bottle only good for 1-2 applications

Some feel that the formula is too thick

What we liked most about this option from GSM Brands is that it is made from a simple and versatile formula, and it comes in at a really affordable price. Plus, users can elect to save a little bit of money by purchasing a smaller bottle.

Read more

Application

What we liked most about this option is that it comes in a very small and narrow bottle that is going to make reaching up and under the belt a lot easier and less awkward. To apply, simply screw off the top and apply it to under the belt. Be careful, however, because the wider nozzle and liquid formula leave the bottle quite quickly.

Product purity

If you aren’t quite sure what formula to use on your belt because you threw away your user manual, this is going to be one of your better options. Made from 100 percent silicon, it is made for most styles of belts, and users like that it is considered to be non-toxic and odorless.

Effectiveness

Past users have had a lot of good things to say about not only how easy this bottle is to use on their machine, but how well that it works. Many users that had annoying squeaky belts found that this formula works like a charm.

Size

Users can elect to select bottle sizes that range from 1 ounce or 4 ounces. The 1-ounce bottle is perfect for those that want to give this formula a try without spending the higher price point on a 4-ounce bottle that is designed to last up to a year.

Value

What we liked most about this option is that it comes in at a price that makes it one of the most affordable options out there on the market. Considering that it is a 100 percent silicon, we feel that this is a excellent value.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is made from 100 percent silicon but is offered at a very affordable price point and it just as easy to use as some of the more expensive options, this formula from GSM Brands is an excellent choice.

4. Noosa Life

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Noosa Life
Application
90
Product Purity
85
Effectiveness
84
Size
86
Value
83
best offer for today
$12.97
Pros:

Incredibly easy to apply without the need to loosen the belt

Odor and propellent free

100 percent silicon designed for most machines

Cons:

A little expensive

Some found the formula to be a little watery

Getting up and under your belt can prove to be a little difficult, and users often need to loosen their belt from the back and employ the use of a flashlight for proper distribution. This option from Noosa Life has a long straw applicator that makes applying it under your belt much easier than many of the other options out there.

Read more

Application

This product gets an A+ in the application department. To use, you will simply need to place the straw under your belt, and then squeeze the bottle to distribute the appropriate amount under your belt. The best part about this option is that you will not need to loosen your belt in order to use it.

Product purity

For those that are unsure of what type of formula that they need for their belt, this is going to be one of your better choices. It is made from 100 percent silicone, which makes it perfect for home use and commercial grade machines. Plus, it has no odor or propellants.

Effectiveness

Users found that this formula helped a great deal in mitigating annoying squeaking that sometimes happens over time. Also, because it is so easy to use, runners were more likely to use this product on a regular basis because it allowed them to apply it without unscrewing the back belt.

Size

One bottle holds about 4 ounces of formula, which is pretty standard to these types of products. According to the brand product description, this bottle will last users up to 4 applications.

Value

The cost of this option is just slightly more than many of the average priced options out there on the market, but we feel that this higher price tag is well worth it considering how easy it is to apply to your machine.

Overall

If you know you aren’t someone that is going to take the time to loosen your belt to apply other options, this is going to be a perfect choice for you because it allows you to apply it under your belt without taking the time to loosen the bolts in the back of the machine.

5. Lube-n-Walk

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
Lube-n-Walk
Application
89
Product Purity
80
Effectiveness
85
Size
81
Value
82
best offer for today
$17.25
Pros:

Users a wand that is incredibly easy to use without the need to loosen belt

Comes with detailed instructions

Cons:

Small bottle of fluid included

Slightly more expensive than many of the other options out there

This option from Lube-n-Walk is another great design that makes it incredibly easy to reach up under that tight space on the underside of your belt. Instead of using a bottle, this option uses a wand that will be able to reach the full length of your belt with ease.

Read more

Application

As we mentioned earlier, this is one of the easier options on the market to use. To apply it under your belt, simply take the wand out of its packaging and place a modest amount of fluid to the base. One applied, run it along the underside of your belt.

Product purity

This formula is made from silicone which is going to make it perfect for many different types of machines. The downside of this option is that we found no indication of whether or not it is considered to be 100 percent silicone or whether it has a strong odor.

Effectiveness

One thing that we did immediately notice is that there are a lot of users that found that this unit works like a charm. Due to the fact that it uses a long arm to get up under the belt, you can ensure that it spreads the silicone formula evenly across the belt.

Size

The size of this wand isn’t explicitly listed on the product description, but past users found that it is wide enough to use on their machine that has a 20-inch belt, and it is able to reach from end to end. The bottle of solution didn't mention the amount, but from what we can tell the bottle looks rather small.

Value

Considering how easy this unit is to use, we feel that it is listed at a great value. However, compared to other options that we put on our list, it has a price tag that is quite larger than even some of the higher end options.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is going to be incredibly easy and fast to use, this is going to be an excellent option if you are willing to pay the higher price tag.

6. LifeSpan Fitness

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
LifeSpan Fitness
Application
83
Product Purity
85
Effectiveness
84
Size
79
Value
76
best offer for today
$14.99
Pros:

Spray bottle is easy to use and create an even coat

100 percent silicone

Cons:

Some users found that the bottle leaks

Slightly expensive

The thing that makes this design different is that it comes in a spray bottle rather than a squirt bottle. This means that you will technically be able to create a more even layer of formula under your belt and you won’t run the risk of accidentally using too much.

Read more

Application

Due to the fact that you will need to spray it under the belt, it is almost a certainty that you will need to loosen up the belt along the back. Once it is loosened, simply spray an even layer of this solution on the underside of the belt, and you will be ready to go.

Product purity

According to the product description, this solution is made up of 100 percent silicone. What this is going to mean for you is that it is going to work on pretty much any type of belt. If you don’t know what type of solution your machine requires, this option is going to be one of your best bets.

Effectiveness

From what we have read from previous users, this bottle works really great at keeping your belt moist and it also serves to mitigate squeaking. Due to the fact that it comes in a spray bottle, it means that you are going to be able to generate a more even layer to the bottom of your belt.

Size

One bottle holds about 4 ounces of solution. According to some past users, they feel that one bottle is going to last them well over 1 year.

Value

The cost of this option is one of the more expensive options out there on the market, but only slightly. Considering that it is made to last over 1 year, we feel that this is an excellent value.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is going to be easy to administer a full and even coat on the base of your machine, this potent formula that comes in an easy to use spray bottle is going to be an excellent choice if you are willing to pay the slightly higher price point.

7. Horizon Fitness

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.2
Horizon Fitness
Application
78
Product Purity
84
Effectiveness
79
Size
73
Value
77
best offer for today
$31.53
Pros:

Perfectly measured applicator bottles

Users found that it worked great at reducing noise

Cons:

Expensive

Only 3 applications per pack

If you are a stickler for exact measurements, this option from Horizon Fitness is going to be perfect for you. Each bottle is measured to give you just enough solution for one application. This means that there is going to be no more guesswork as to how much solution you need to place on the base of your belt.

Read more

Application

Each bottle provides users just enough solution that you will need to properly oil the base of your belt. Due to the fact that it comes in a squeeze bottle, it means that you are going to need to loosen your belt slightly in order to access the underside. Once you have lifted your belt, squeeze the liquid to the underside of the base.

Product purity

The product description states that this formula is made from silicone, which means that it is going to be a great pairing for most brands of machines, and is a surefire pairing for your Horizon equipment. We didn’t find any indication in the description or customer comments about whether or not the formula has a strong odor.

Effectiveness

From what we have read, most users find that this solution is very effective at not only greasing up the underside for a smoother run, but is also help get rid of annoying noises and squeaks.

Size

Users will receive 3 bottles in their kit, and each bottle holds about 50 mL of fluid, which translates to about 1.6 ounces per bottle. Each bottle is measured to offer the exact amount that you will need to use per application. This means that one pack offers users 3 applications.

Value

The downside to this option is that it comes in at a price tag that almost doubles that of some of the more affordable products out there on the market. However, if you want to be sure that you are using the exact right amount for every application, it is going to be well worth the padded price tag.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is going to be easy to use and has a long line of users that feel that it is incredibly effective at protecting the life of their belt, we feel that Horizon Fitness is the way to go.

8. Nothing But

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73
Nothing But
Application
70
Product Purity
78
Effectiveness
74
Size
71
Value
72
best offer for today
$9.95
Pros:

Incredibly affordable

Thicker formula will last longer in between applications

Cons:

Difficult to apply to belt

As the name suggests, this is a pretty straight forward formula. Users like it because the formula is a little bit thicker and has a higher viscosity than most that makes it easier to work with. While it comes with a tube for application, many users feel that the tube is very difficult to use.

Read more

Application

What we liked most about this option is that you won’t have to go to the trouble of loosening your belt in the back of the machine in order to oil the underside. This product comes with a long 10-inch straw, but users are not quite sure how the straw attaches to the bottle. We suggest you loosen the back of your belt, and then apply this liquid by squeezing the bottle onto the underside of the belt.

Product purity

Unlike many other options out there on the market, this option is quite a bit thicker and more viscous which makes it slicker. It is composed of 100 percent silicone that is safe and gentle enough for skin contact.

Effectiveness

Users feel that because this product is a little thicker than most, and it means that it is going to stay present on the underside of your belt for more miles. This means that is is going to last you quite a bit longer in between applications.

Size

What we liked most about this option is that it comes in a pack of 4 bottles, and each bottle offers 4 ounces of their solution. With a total of 8 ounces of solution, this pack is going to last you up to 2 years.

Value

From what we gathered, this is one of the best values we have found out there on the market. The application is a little less than ideal, but this pack is something that is going to last you twice as long as some of the other 4 ounce options while costing users the same amount.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is going to last quite a long while in between applications and comes in at an affordable price tag- this is it. Just keep in mind that applying it to your belt is going to be a little more difficult than most.

9. Essential Values

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73
Essential Values
Application
69
Product Purity
70
Effectiveness
76
Size
79
Value
71
best offer for today
$10.99
Pros:

Offers a money back guarantee if you do not like the product

Silicone solution does a great job at reducing noise

Cons:

Users find it difficult to apply

What we liked about this options from Essential Values is that it is an incredibly affordable options that takes the guesswork out of trying to decide how much you should use at the base of your belt. Application is a little more tricky than most, but will be worth it if you are looking to save a few bucks.

Read more

Application

To apply this to the underside of your belt, you are going to need to be able to get up under it. Simply loosen the screws on the back of the unit to gain access to the underside. Once there, apply the entirety of one bottle to the base, and then tighten the screws back. Walking on the base should be sufficient to spread the solution to the entirety of the belt.

Product purity

The brand description states that this solution is perfect for almost all machines, and it is composed of 100 percent silicone. It is an incredibly safe formula that is considered to be odorless as well as non-toxic.

Effectiveness

From what we read for previous reviews, this product gets the job done. There may be issues in the design of the bottle, but the quality of the formula is great at oiling the belt for easier runs as well as reduce noise.

Size

One pack comes with three bottles that hold 1 ounce. Each bottle is the equivalent to one application, so that means that one pack will provide users with three applications, which is just slightly less than their 4-ounce counterparts.

Value

The cost of this pack is slightly less than 4-ounce bottles out there on the market, but it also provides users with one less application than many of the other options out there on the market which is something that you may want to keep in mind.

Overall

If you are looking for a product that takes the guesswork out of how much solution you need to place on the base of your machine, this is going to be one of you better options that is offered at a great value.

10. UniSport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72
UniSport
Application
69
Product Purity
74
Effectiveness
72
Size
70
Value
75
best offer for today
$10.99
Pros:

100 percent silicon formula great for most machines

Affordable

Cons:

Some found that this bottle makes it difficult to apply

This option from UniSport is great because it offers users a premium formula that is going to really help the longevity of your machine, and it comes in at a very affordable price point that is worth checking out.

Read more

Application

To use this product on your machine, you are going to need to loosen up the belt to gain access to the underside. Once it is loose, simply squeeze a small amount from the bottle on to the base of the unit and you are ready to go.

Product purity

According to the package description, this formula is made from 100 percent premium silicone that is perfect for almost any machine. Plus, it is listed to be odorless and non-toxic.

Effectiveness

From what we have found, many users feel that this formula works great at oiling surfaces and reducing noise. The only downside is that some find that it is a little bit difficult to apply.

Size

With the purchase, users will receive one bottle that holds 4 ounces. One bottle should allow for about 4 application, which will likely last you just over a year.

Value

The cost of this unit runs pretty par for the course. It isn’t the most expensive option out there on the market, but it isn’t the least expensive as well.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is safe, simple, and affordable, this option from UniSport is worth a look.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Application

This is a big issue to consider because if a product is difficult to use, you are going to feel less compelled to use it as much as you should.

There were quite a few designs that had innovative application processes that we liked, but they also had a few drawbacks. The most effective style was the spray bottle and the simple squirt bottle with a tapered tip that would allow users to control how much liquid is placed under the belt. These designs typically require the user to unscrew and loosen the belt in the back of the machine, which can be an issue for all of those procrastinators out there. This application method may not be the easiest, but it’s the most effective from what we have seen. There is another method that uses a similar squeezable bottle with the addition of a long hose on the tip. This design allows users to get up under the belt without the need of loosening it, but it may be difficult to see just how much is being used, and where on the belt. The last method that we considered was the wand design. These designs work just the way you would use a butter knife to spread butter on bread. The downside to these models is that you cannot control or see how much of the fluid is actually on the base. But, it does allow users to apply a layer of liquid without lifting up the belt.

Product Purity

If it is something that you are using in your home, you want to make sure that it is made from clean and pure ingredients.

The purity of the formula is also going to dictate what types of machines it is going to be compatible with. Most machines have a recommendation of the type of liquid that should be used on their belts. If you purchased your machine used at a yard sale, you more than likely do not have the owner's manual to find out this information. If that’s the case, your best bet is to use a formula that is made from 100 percent silicone, because this formula is the most versatile. With that being said, we made sure that we selected products that used a silicone formula that would be compatible with most of the machines out there- young or old. Another thing that we looked at in regards to the formula was to make sure that it was considered odor-free and non-toxic. If you are using this product in your home with little ones or pets, you want to make sure that you select something that is going to be safe.

Effectiveness

At the end of the day, you want to know that you are using a product that is actually going to work.

One of the ways that we determined if a product was effective was simply by checking out what the formula was made from, as well as the container that is used to administer it to your belt. Of course, with any product such as this, the proof is always in the pudding. That’s why we made sure to take a look at what past users had to say about how these products performed. To ensure that a product that we selected was effective, we only picked brands that had a long line of past customers that claimed that each product not only helped ease the motion of their belt, but ones that also helped eliminate squeaking. A squeaky belt may seem like a superficial problem, but it is actually indicative of debris being trapped under the belt and causing friction. Continued friction over time is actually making your belt weaker, and can ultimately lead the belt to break over a long enough timeline- which is not an easy fix.

Size

The size of the bottle is going to tell you just how long it is going to last.

Most machines are able to travel hundreds of miles before they need to be greased up, so it’s something that you aren't going to use all that frequently. The average size of bottles that we found ran about 4 ounces, with some companies offering smaller 1 ounce options, and some offer larger 8 ounce designs. We typically stuck to the 4 ounce model because it offers home users the best value. While some runner may use their machines all year, other like to give their machines a break once the trails begin to thaw and the sun comes out in the springtime. This means that you aren’t going to be racking up those miles on the machine, so you won’t need to oil it as often. From what we found on most 4 ounce bottles is that they will likely last users about a year- but that’s only if they use their unit every single day out of the year.

Value

We understand that these machines don’t run cheap, so it may be hard to splurge on extra maintenance products.

However, if you spend just a little extra money now, it will likely save you boat loads of money in the future buying replacement belts or even replacing your entire machine. The belt is the one thing that really takes a beating, so it is important that you take extra good care of it. The good news here is that these products typically come with a very affordable price tag. Some options are even so affordable that they are going to cost you less than what you spent on your morning cup of coffee. The more expensive options are also quite affordable, and will typically save users a lot of time with their innovative bottle designs, and will last users at least a year.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Application
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Application

To ensure that you are getting a clean and even coat, and to ensure that the base of your machine is clear of any debris, you are really going to want to loosen your belt. This is a simple and easy process that will requite the use of an allen wrench or sometimes just a phillips head screwdriver. Make sure that you don't remove the screws completely, just loosen them so that you are able to reach up under your belt.

Product Purity

You are more than likely using this product in your home, so you want to make sure that it is going to be safe for your little ones as well as your furry family members. 100 percent silicone is the way to go because it is generally considered to be non toxic, and it is also odorless as well.

Effectiveness

One of the best ways to tell if a product is going to be effective is to look to see what some of the previous users have had to say. Sometimes products that are a little on the watery side tend to be less effective, and they also do not last quite as long before you feel the need to apply them again.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why does my belt need to be oiled?
a:

If you stop to think about it, that belt really takes a beating as you rack up the miles over the months. Debris from the bottom of your shows and dust from you home can get caught on the underside of the belt and start to slow it down or create an annoying squeak over time. Also, sometimes the fitness bug only bites us whenever we feel that we have overindulged over the holidays, or you found your favorite jeans don’t fit anymore and your machine has been used as storage shelf. Before you fire it up to shed some pounds, you want to make sure that the belt isn’t dry and brittle from months of inactivity. If you really want to ensure the longevity of your indoor gym equipment, you want to take proper care of the belt. Wiping the top down with a rag will do the trick to keeping the topside in good form, but oiling the underside is the most important aspect of keeping it in pristine condition.

q: What it the proper way to use it?
a:

Many assume that this product is applied to the topside of the belt, but it is actually applied to the underside of the belt. The underside of the belt may be a little tricky to access, especially if your belt is incredibly tight. What most people like to do to ensure that they do a thorough job is to loosen the belt a but to make application easier. To do this, simply loosen the screws that are typically found at the back of your unit. You won’t need to take them off completely, but just loosen them up enough so that you will be able to easily gain access to the bottom side of your belt. It is suggested that you take a lint free cloth (such as an old t-shirt) to the underside of the belt to get rid of any dirt or debris that may have found its way to the underside. Once this is done, take you oil or grease and apply a thin layer to the bottom side of the belt. Be sure that you tighten the screws before you jump back on! A few laps of simply walking on the surface will do a sufficient job of spreading the formula to all sides of the belt, and you should be ready to go!

q: How often does it need to be greased?
a:

The timeframe suggested for greasing that belt is similar to how often you should get your oil changed in your car. Many experts suggest that you should apply some type of liquid or oil to the underside every 40 hours of use, or at least every 3 months or so. If you have purchased a model recently, you can consult your owner's manual to find how often your brand recommends oiling the belt. Some machines vary wildly, with some suggesting to oil it every month, and others claiming it only needs to be oiled once a year. The most important thing to note is that all designs need to be greased every so often! That means that if you have a hand me down model that was used in conjunction with Jane Fonda videos, or if you have a top of the line model- they all have belts that are going to requite a little bit of loving.

q: Can it be used for anything else?
a:

One of the most surprising things that we discovered is that the silicone formulas are actually used for artists as well. If you are using acrylic paints, it can used as a pouring agent that helps it blend more easily similar to the way that painters would use and blend oil paints. If you aren’t a painter, however, there are still a ton of different ways that we found users have benefited from this formula. Basically, if you have any squeaky wheels in your home gym that are driving you crazy, a quick dab of this formula will offer a quick solution to that annoying problem. We even noticed that some customers used this product to help oil the power windows on their car, or even windows in their home that require a too much elbow grease to operate. The best part about using this product around the house is that it offers a non toxic and odor freel solution to some of the more annoying problems around your home.

q: Why is 100 percent silicone considered to be the best solution?
a:

What users love most about using silicone is that it is a natural ingredient that is considered to be safe and non toxic, and it often doesn’t have a strong chemical odor. Also, many machine often disclose that they can only be oiled with one type of solution, and it is typically silicone. This means that if you bought an old model from a yardsale and the owner's manual has been lost to time, silicon is going to be your best bet in ensuring that you are using the proper oils for your device. Other formulas may do a find job, but we feel that using silicon is the best solution for home use that is going to be safe to use around little ones as well as pets. Plus, no one likes it when their home smells like strong chemicals!

Sources