to top 10 table

Best Swim Diapers

last updated Mar 17, 2019

Just because one of your family members hasn’t quite got the hang of using the bathroom doesn’t mean that they should be sidelined from swimming with the rest of the family. What makes swim diapers special from you standard daily design is that they aren’t going to swell up and become uncomfortable. This means that you and your little one are going to be able to play outside for longer periods of time before heading to the restroom for a quick wardrobe change. Disposable ones are available, but we found that parents really like the reusable designs because they are affordable and often come in adorable prints. In this guide you will find some of our favorite picks for swim diapers to make your next beach vacation even more pleasant and worry-free.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
Beau & Belle Littles
90.8/100 our score
Style
97
Size
90
Materials
88
Comfort
92
Value
87
Beau & Belle Littles
Why is it better?

Adjustable, so it will grow with your child

Easy to change

Comfortable

Made from high quality materials

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Beau & Belle Littles
Test Winner: Beau & Belle Littles
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
22
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Size Materials Comfort Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Style
97 %
Size
90 %
Materials
88 %
Comfort
92 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$15.97
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Style
91 %
Size
88 %
Materials
90 %
Comfort
89 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Style
86 %
Size
90 %
Materials
89 %
Comfort
91 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Style
86 %
Size
89 %
Materials
88 %
Comfort
84 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$12.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Style
86 %
Size
82 %
Materials
80 %
Comfort
85 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$9.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
Style
84 %
Size
80 %
Materials
83 %
Comfort
81 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$8.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77
Style
70 %
Size
83 %
Materials
75 %
Comfort
80 %
Value
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.2
Style
83 %
Size
74 %
Materials
76 %
Comfort
81 %
Value
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$10.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.4
Style
79 %
Size
74 %
Materials
70 %
Comfort
69 %
Value
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$7.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71.6
Style
69 %
Size
71 %
Materials
70 %
Comfort
75 %
Value
73 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$12.16

Top 10 Picks

1. Beau & Belle Littles

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Beau & Belle Littles
Amazon Link
Style
97
Size
90
Materials
88
Comfort
92
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.97
Pros:

Adjustable, so it will grow with your child

Easy to change

Comfortable

Made from high quality materials

Cons:

It may fit too tight for chubby thighs

What we liked most about this design that landed it in our top spot is the ability to adjust it as your baby grows. Plus, it is made from high quality materials that are going to be incredibly comfortable, effective, and it comes in at an affordable price point.

Read more

Style

Parents are going to have the option to select from two different unisex styles that include a deep blue option with octopuses and sea shells, and a more neutral white design with red and orange fish.

Size

This design is a one size fits all- it is designed to fit standard sizes that start at N and run all the way through 5! The way that this is possible is because there are front buttons on the front that allow the entire design to be adjust to fet various sizes.

Materials

The exterior is made from a stiff and waterproof PUL layer on the outside, and the inside is made from a polyester mesh lining that is design to catch everything and keep it away from your little one’s skin.

Comfort

From what we have read from past users, yout will one will feel nice and comfortable while wearing this design. Due to the way that the legs are designed, there is going to be little chance of chafing chubby little thighs, and the standard design means that you will not have to pull it all the way off of their legs when it is time for a change.

Value

What we liked most about this option is that it comes in at a really affordable price point that won’t break the bank, and it is going to be something that is going to grow right alongside your child until they finally become a master of the restroom!

Overall

If you are in the market for something that has a more neural design, and it going to be able to grow right along with your child (which is going to save you a lot of money!) this is our favorite choice.

2. ALVABABY

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
ALVABABY
Amazon Link
Style
91
Size
88
Materials
90
Comfort
89
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99
Pros:

Comes in a pack of two

Affordable

Made from high quality materials

Cons:

Changing time means you will have to pull the entire unit down their legs

Some users feel that they are a little too small

This option from ALVABABY is great because it comes in a pack of 2, and parents love the unisex patterns that make it perfect for a boy or a girl. Plus, it comes in at a really affordable price point that makes it work checking out.

Read more

Style

Users will receive a pack of two with their purchase. Each design is light blue with white trim, and has the image of an adorable cartoon octopus with a pirate hat on one, and a happy white whale on the other one.

Size

ALVABABY is offered as a one size fits all. There is a sizing chart on their brand description that will give you an indication of the measurements of your baby's waist and thighs that it will be able to accommodate.

Materials

The exterior is made from a slick waterproof polyester material with PUL, and the inside is made from a mesh material that is designed to only hold solids.

Comfort

Due to the fact that there is no absorbent lining to this option, it isn’t going to swell up and become uncomfortable like your standard option. This means that your little one will be willing to wear it for longer periods of time.

Value

The best part about this option is that it is offered at a price point that may feel is pretty standard for one, but a purchase of this product will actually land you two. Parents love this because when it comes time to change, they have a clean option already loaded up in the bag.

Overall

For parents that are looking for something simple and easy to use that offers adorable designs that are going to be perfect for your boy or girl, and that comes in at a really affordable price point, this is going to be one of your better choices.

3. Wegreeco

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Wegreeco
Amazon Link
Style
86
Size
90
Materials
89
Comfort
91
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

Affordable

Easy to change

Grows with your child

Cons:

Some parents found that they run a little small

The quality of materials used in this option from Wegreeco is what landed it on our number 3 stop. Parents love that it comes in a pack of three at a really affordable price point, and your little one will low that it is incredibly comfortable.

Read more

Style

Parents will receive a pack of three with their purchase, and the colors and designs are made to work for both a boy or a girl. They come in neutral colors such as deep blue, purple, and orange, and have designs on them such as foxes, feathers, and mermaids.

Size

The standard size of these options is going to be able to fit little ones from the age of 0 to 3 with their elastic bands and stretchy material.

Materials

Just like all washable options out there on the market, this design is made from a 100 percent waterproof polyester with PUL, and the interior has a soft mesh fabric that is going to create an airtight seal that will catch solids, but will not catch liquids on the inside or outside.

Comfort

From what we have read from past users, parents have been quite pleased with how happy their little one is to wear these options. Due to the fact that is users soft mesh material on the inside, you child will be able to wear these for longer periods of time with fewer complaints or whimpers.

Value

The best part about this option from Wegreeco is that users are going to get a total of 3 units that come in at the same price as many of the higher priced singular options. Considering that it is going to be able to grow with your child, we feel that this an excellent deal.

Overall

When you take into consideration the price of this option, it is going to save you quite a bit of money in the long run.

4. i play

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
i play
Amazon Link
Style
86
Size
89
Materials
88
Comfort
84
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.99
Pros:

Easy to change- buttons along the side unsnap

Made from breathable and flexible materials that are very comfortable

Cons:

A little more expensive than others

Some parents feel that the lining is too thin

What parents and babies loves most about this design is that it is easy to take on and off when the time comes, and it is made from incredibly soft materials that is going to make moving around in the water a lot easier.

Read more

Style

There are no unique patterns of styles offered with this option. However, parents will get to select from a variety of color options that include teal, white, navy, pink, and royal blue.

Size

This brand offers more sizing options than any other brand we have seen so you can make sure that you get a size that fits your little one. Sizes start out with 3 and 4 T, and move on to sizes for babies that are 6, 12, 18, and 24 months.

Materials

The interior and exterior of this design is made from 100 percent eco-friendly polyester that is thin and lightweight, and the stretchy material is going to prevent rubbing and chaffing on sensitive skin.

Comfort

What parents love most about this design is that it is made for babies on the move. The stretchy material will move and bend with your baby, therefore preventing uncomfortable movements or constant rubbing up against their skin.

Value

The price of this design is just a little bit more than other options we have seen out there on the market. However, if you are looking for something that is going to look and feel more natural and less bulky, this is going to be worth the slightly higher price tag.

Overall

What we liked most about this option from i play is that it is one of the thinnest and softest materials out there on the market. It doesn’t have that classic stiff feel that can limit movement, and it comes in a lot of fun colors to choose from.

5. storeofbaby

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
storeofbaby
Amazon Link
Style
86
Size
82
Materials
80
Comfort
85
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.99
Pros:

Easy to change

Parents can adjust the size to grow with their child

Very affordable

Cons:

Some users felt it runs a little small

According to past users, it is not leak proof

This style is another options that parents really like because it is going to be able to grow with your baby. A series of snaps along the size will allow you to adjust it from small, medium, and large without the need to buy additional styles.

Read more

Style

Users will have the option to select from a series of neutral colors and designs that will be perfect for both boys and girls. Designs include pink and blue feathers and leaves on a white backdrop, blue and green dragonflies on a white backdrop, or pink starfish on a blue background.

Size

What is great about this option is that it is going to be the perfect size for newborns up to 3 years old (or up to about 28 pounds). Parents will be able to adjust the size of the hips by unsnapping buttons and placing them at the small, medium, or large setting.

Materials

The outside layer of this option is made from a 100 percent waterproof PUL polyester. A 100 percent nylon mesh interior will allow air to flow freely that is going to keep your babies skin from becoming irritated.

Comfort

As we mentioned earlier, the mesh lining of the interior is going to keep air flowing to keep your babies skin nice and comfortable. Plus, when it comes time to change it, parents will not need to pull this design all the way down their legs- they can simply unsnap it to remove.

Value

What we loved about this option is that it comes in at a really affordable price point- which is going to save you loads of money because it is something that is going to be able to grow with your child.

Overall

If you were in the market for something that is simple and affordable, as well as easy to change and comfortable, this is going to be one of your best options.

6. Babygoal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
Babygoal
Amazon Link
Style
84
Size
80
Materials
83
Comfort
81
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$8.99
Pros:

Easy to change

Offers a little bit of absorbency without becoming too bulky

Very affordable

Cons:

Some parents feel that it runs a little too small

This design from Babygoal is another option that is going to be able to grow with your baby. What we liked most about this options is that it is offered in fun unisex designs that are incredibly unique and different from other styles out there on the market.

Read more

Style

As we stated earlier, we really liked the styling of this option. Parents can select from styles that include pineapples on a deep blue backdrop, light blue sharks with sunglasses, or black anchors on a light grey backdrop.

Size

This is another one size fits all scenario. Technically, it is going to be able to fit babies from 0-2, which is just slightly smaller than most. It has snaps along the sides that will give parents the option to adjust the hips from small, medium, and large as their baby grows.

Materials

The exterior of this option is made from a 100 percent waterproof PUL polyester that is going to have a little bit of a stiffer finish like that of a soft lunch box. The nylon mesh lining offers a little bit of absorbency, but not so much that it is going to puff out.

Comfort

From what we have read from parents, the fit and feel of this option get a passing grade from their babies. Plus, the option to unsnap it from the sides when it comes times for a change makes it a much more pleasant experience for the parents and the baby.

Value

The good news about this design is that it is one of the most affordable options out there on the market. Considering that it is something that is also going to grow with your child, we think it is offered at a great value.

Overall

For those that are in the market for something that is going to be affordable, comfortable, and easy to wear, this option from Babygoal is going to be able to grow allowing with your little weed at a price that isn’t going to break the bank.

7. Pampers Splashers

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77
Pampers Splashers
Amazon Link
Style
70
Size
83
Materials
75
Comfort
80
Value
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Trusted brand

Doesn’t swell when wet

Simply throw away when done

Cons:

A little more expensive than most

Some parents found that it isn’t leak-proof

If you are a little concerned about how these thinner cloth diapers are going to perform, you might want to check out this option from Pampers. What users love most about this design is that they found that they fit incredibly well, and parents could just toss them in the garbage when they are done.

Read more

Style

These are going to look like your standard everyday disposable options, but they are going to be just a little bit thinner. This option has cute maritime characters printed on the front, such as an octopus eating an ice cream cone and a frog.

Size

Users are going to be able to select the size that is right for them. Sizes include small, medium, and large. Small is for weights between 13-24 pounds, the medium is for 20-33 pounds, and large is for 31-40 pounds.

Materials

This product is made from a paper material that has a coating on the base to prevent leaks and water retention. It also has very stretchy materials that are going to provide a really comfortable fit.

Comfort

As we mentioned early, stretchy straps are what is going to make this selection incredibly comfortable. It is going to be able to hug your babies skin without digging into it. Plus, they aren’t going to swell while in the water.

Value

One box of these is about the same price as one pair of the washable cloth options, and you are going to get about 17 in one box. If you do not like the idea of washing cloth versions at the end of beach day, this is going to be worth the slightly higher price point.

Overall

What we liked most about this option is that it doesn’t require parents to wash it at the end of the day, and it feels nice and snug and comfortable on your little one without swelling when it in the water.

8. Langsprit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.2
Langsprit
Amazon Link
Style
83
Size
74
Materials
76
Comfort
81
Value
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.99
Pros:

Very affordable

Easy to change

Cons:

Some parents felt it ran a little small, especially in the leg holes

What we liked most about these cloth options from Langsprit is that they are offered at one of the most affordable price points out there on the market. Plus, it is made from the high quality materials that are going to perform quite well under pressure.

Read more

Style

Each pack of 3 comes with three different designs that are pretty neutral and will be perfect for both boys and girls. Patterns include two different styles of fish, and an option that sports cute blue sea turtles.

Size

Parents will have the option of selecting from two different sizes- small or large. These sizes were designed to fit babies that range from 0 years all the way to 3 years.

Materials

Like we have seen in all of the high-quality cloth options, this design is made from 100 percent PUL polyester that is waterproof as well. The inside is made from a soft nylon mesh that is designed to catch solids (and not liquids).

Comfort

Due to the fact that these are incredibly thin and they will not swell while in use, this is going to feel incredibly comfortable on your little one. Plus, we have found that parents have been quite pleased with how well these design fit their babies.

Value

The cost of these is one of the best values out there on the market. Users will get 3 different styles for the same price that some of the higher end singular options are priced, which we feel is a really great value.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is going to offer you the best value while still providing superior quality and style, this option from Langsprit is going to be worth checking out.

9. FINIS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.4
FINIS
Amazon Link
Style
79
Size
74
Materials
70
Comfort
69
Value
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.99
Pros:

Many size options offered

Made from comfortable and reliable fabrics

Cons:

Difficult to take off

The great thing about this option from FINIS is that it is made to look and feel like actually underwear. It isn’t big a bulky, and it is made from a stretchy material that is made to be incredibly soft and will move with your baby. It comes in a lot of different sizes, and it comes in at an affordable price point.

Read more

Style

What we loved about this option is that most of the styles and color options are gender-neutral, so they will work perfectly for both a boy or a girl. Parents can select solid colors such as blue or pink, or designs such as fish, octopus, or flowers.

Size

The great thing about this product is that there are a ton of different sizes that are sure to fit your baby just right to avoid chafing or an uncomfortable fit. Sizes start at small and run all the way up to 3T. From what we found, about 66 percent of users found that this fit them as expected.

Materials

This design is made from 100 percent polyester inside and out, with a soft woven lining that is also many from polyester.

Comfort

The material used for this design is what makes it so incredibly comfortable. The lining on the waist as well as around the legs is tight enough to create a seal, but it isn’t too tight that it is going to dig into your baby’s legs.

Value

The cost of this design runs about in the middle of the road. It isn’t the most expensive design out there, but it is far from being the least expensive as well.

Overall

For those parents that are looking for something that is going to provide a really great fit, this is one of your better options because it has a wide range of sizes that you will be able to select from.

10. Huggies Little Swimmers

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71.6
Huggies Little Swimmers
Amazon Link
Style
69
Size
71
Materials
70
Comfort
75
Value
73
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.16
Pros:

Trusted brand

Affordable

You can just throw it away when finished

Cons:

Some found that they ran a little small

If you don’t like the idea of washable cloth options, parents love the reliability of this disposable option from Huggies. They have been in the business of making sure your baby is covered where is counts since 1968, so it is no wonder they are making out list at least once.

Read more

Style

There isn’t much to say about the style of this option. Users are going to just be throwing it away in the trash can when they are done, so there isn’t much in terms of design for this particular style.

Size

Parents are going to have the options to select from small, medium, or large sizes. Small is for babies that weigh between 16-26 pounds, a medium is for those that weigh 34-34 pounds, and large is for those that weigh over 32 pounds.

Material

The material is going to be that of your standard paper options, but this has a coating on it that is is going to make it waterproof and leak-free.

Comfort

If there is one thing that Huggies promotes, it is comfortable babies. The use of soft and stretchy materials along hips and also on the legs aren’t going to cut into the skin, but it is also going to create a watertight seal to prevent leaks.

Value

The cost of a package of these is about the same price that you would spend on a single pair of the higher end cloth options. Considering that one box comes with 11 pieces, this is a pretty decent deal in our option.

Overall

If you don’t like the idea of washing your babies pants at the end of a day at the pool, this option is going to be your best bet because you will be able to just toss it into the trash when you are done swimming for the day.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

Style is something that we considered to be important, because these are basically going to be the bottom portion of your babies swimsuit while you are at the beach.

If you are selecting a washable design, you also want it to be something that is going to look good. That’s why we made sure to select brands that offered a lot of different design choices as well as color options. We liked when companies made gender neutral color choices and patterns, because it meant that there was going to be more choices for parents to select. We also want to make sure that we selected a style that was going to be easy to take on and off. One thing that you want to look for is buttons that run along the side. These buttons are going to make it far easier when it comes time for a change. Options that don’t have these buttons mean that you are going to have to pull it down their legs- which could potentially be quite messy!

Size

Ensuring that you get the right size is going to ensure that your baby is happy and comfortable, and that there are very few leaks and accidents.

There were two distinct things that we looked at when trying to find those that would provide your baby with the right fit. First, we loved brands that were able to grow right along with your baby. Some companies had a series of buttons that ran along the side that could be used to adjust the width of the waist. This means that as your little weed grows, you won’t have to feel the need to go out and buy a new pair every time your family takes a trip to the beach. We also liked products that offered a wide array of sizes that ranged from N-3T. A wide variety of sizes that is offered by a company increases the chances that you are going to find the size that fits your little one perfectly. One way to make sure that you get the right size is to take measurements because you land on a product. Many companies offer sizing charts with measurements of legs and hips to make sure you get that perfect fit.

Materials

If you are selecting a reusable option, you want to make sure that it is made from high quality materials.

From what we have gathered, the best material for these types of products is PUL polyester for the exterior. This material is considered to be soft and pliable, but it has a waterproof exterior shell that is going to help wick water away. For the inside of these products, there are a few schools of thought when it comes to the ideal material. Some parents do not like the use of any type of absorbent fabrics on the inside, because it means that it is going to make the product big and bulky as it collects moisture over the course of the afternoon. Other parents simply prefer a mesh nylon interior that doesn’t absorb any moisture. This means that it may not be ideal for keeping liquids out (or in), but it is going to provide a comfortable fit for the duration of the day.

Comfort

If it isn’t something that is very comfortable, your baby will find a way to let you know.

When we researched a product, we always turned to see what the past users had to say about how well their baby liked wearing it. There were quite a few contenders that fell just a little short because we found a lot of parents would complain that there would be deep red marks in their baby’s skin where the bands were too tight, or a few that rubbed their baby’s skin raw. We wanted to make sure that the style selected for our list were going to be soft enough and comfortable enough not to affect your day at the beach. While there isn’t a direct way to tell how comfortable a design is, marks in the skin and a grumpy baby are surefire ways to tell that the product you are using isn’t working. If you want it to be as comfortable and effective as possible, you need to make sure that when you strap it onto your child that it is considered to be a big snug, but make sure that it isn’t too tight.

Value

As always, we want to save you a little bit of money when we can.

While there are a lot of disposable options out there on the market that come in at a pretty reasonable price point, we still feel that reusable options are going to be your best value. Sure, you are going to need to wash them at the end of every day, but the savings are really going to be worth it in the long run. If you select a style that has buttons that is able to grow right along with your little weed, your savings is going to be even higher. We suggest that you select a design that comes in a pack of more than 1, because that means that you can pack a few into your beach bag to have on hand if you don’t have the energy to wash a load at the end of the day, or you feel you need to change it in the middle of the afternoon.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Size

One of the things that we noticed a lot was that many of these options out there have pretty small leg holes. This means that if you have a baby with those adrobable chubby thunder-thighs, you may have a little bit of trouble finding an option that fits well.

Materials

From what we could gather, PUL polyester is the perfect material in this instance. It is considered to be waterproof, and it provide enough give that your little one will still be able to be pretty mobile on the beach.

Comfort

The key to finding a design that is going to be comfortable for your baby is making sure that you get the right fit. Be sure that you measure before taking the plunge!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are they really necessary?

a:

If you are thinking about going for a swim with your every day diaper (be is disposable or cloth), you are going to be in for a bad time. You average everyday pair has a layer inside that is going to be able to absorb moisture and keep it away from your baby’s body. When you are in the pool, the last thing that you want is a very absorbent layer, because it means that it is going to swell to twice its size, and it is no long going to be functional. With these styles, they are typically very thin, and they have a super right seal along the legs and on the hips to keep water from seeping in as well as out.

q: Are they sanitary?

a:

A common misconception of these products is that they are going to work just like you average everyday pair- but that just isn’t the case. The purpose of these products is to keep solid objects (with a point of origin for your baby’s behind) from infiltrating into the water. That is only for solid waste, so it isn’t going to do much at preventing liquids from seeping into the pool. It is important to keep that in mind when you are spending the day at the beach. For beach play, your normal pairs should suffice, and then you can change into you water designs once it is time to go swimming.

q: Should I select a disposable or cloth option?

a:

The answer to this question is just going to be a matter of personal preference. Many parents like the idea of reusable designs because it is helpful to the environment and it help reduce unnecessary waste. Plus, reusable options are going to be considered the more cost effective solution because it means that you won’t be continuously running to the store to stock back up on supplies. These cloth options typically feel a lot better on your baby's skin, and they often come in adorable and stylish prints. The bad side about disposable options is that you are actually going to need to wash them. For some parents, this is an unpleasant task that they just don’t want to be bothered with. The disposable options aren’t considered to be as cute and adorable, but they are more convenient. Once you are done for the day, all you will need to do is toss it right into the trash can. The bad side about going the disposable route is that cost can add up pretty quickly, and it is not great for the environment.

q: Are they allowed in public pools?

a:

Due to the fact that these products are going to hold everything in, parents often wonder if they are going to be allowed in public pools. The answer to this question is something that is going to vary from pool to pool, so if you are unsure it is best to call ahead and ask. From what we could gather, most pools require that all babies wear some version of this product while the are in a public pool to help control the spread of preventable infections such as E. Coli.

q: How large or small do they typically run?

a:

From what we found, the smallest size out there on the market was a size N. Larger options typically capped out at around 3 years old, or around 30-35 pounds. Making sure that you get the right size is one of the most important parts to ensure that you get something that is going to fit right. If a company offers a sizing chart- be sure that you take proper measurements. We discovered that one of the most common complaints when it came to these products is that babies that have thicker legs often had trouble fitting into most designs. Make sure you measure!

q: Are they absorbent?

a:

No, these products are not going to offer any absorbency. If you think about it, this feature would be quite silly while swimming. If these products were able to absorb liquid, it means that they would also be able to absorb any pool water that was able to penetrate through the legs. With this simple fact in mind, many companies have dropped putting any type of absorbent material on the inside at all. Most design offer a soft nylon interior that has a mesh finish. Therefore, these are not going to be ideal for use outside of the pool.

q: Do I still need to use them after they are potty trained?

a:

We understand the hesitation on skipping these products for the newly potty trained- especially when heading off to a public pool. The answer to this question is no- they don’t need to wear them after being potty trained, but you are going to need to keep a eye on them for the first few tries. Your small human is new to the planet, and may not know all of the customary ins and outs of pool behavior. It may happen they they let one slip by while in a public pool. Be sure to tell them that it isn’t ok, and continue to keep an eye on them. The general rule of thumb here is that if it becomes habitual, you may have to take a few steps back in their training when it comes to public pools.

Sources

  1. Swimoutlet.com, Understanding Swim Diapers , Blog
  2. Amy Corbett Storch, Disposable vs. Reusable Swim Diapers, Blog