to top 10 table

Best Survival Kits

last updated Feb 20, 2019

When packing up your gear into the back of your car to get ready for a week of camping out in the middle of the woods, you want to make sure that you are prepared for anything. Tents and sleeping bags are a few of the most important tools you could bring, but the most important thing you need to pack into the back of your car is a good survival kit. Sure, you might think that it is a little over the top to bring a kit filled with tactical gear used by extreme adventurers, but the farther away that you get from the comforts of home, the more likely that something can go wrong.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Eiliks
99.7/100 our score
Materials
99
Features
100
Value
100
Eiliks
Why is it better?

Affordable

Comes with a survival pen

Tools made from sturdy and high-quality materials

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Eiliks
Test Winner: Eiliks
Researched Sources
13
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1,788
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Sami Kritz:

While carrying a survival kit may seem outrageous to some, everyone's fate will be in your hands when disaster hits. Explore our updated list of top-rated kits, including our newest addition from CCS Uncharted, the Seventy2 kit. In addition to the included tools, the backpack that holds everything can be used as a flotation device. Don't forget to vote and tell us which criterion is most important to you!

Sorting Options
Materials Features Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.7
Materials
99%
Features
100%
Value
100%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$23.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Materials
99%
Features
100%
Value
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$350.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Materials
97%
Features
99%
Value
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$12.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Materials
97%
Features
98%
Value
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$26.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Materials
97%
Features
97%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$29.48
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Materials
97%
Features
96%
Value
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$27.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Materials
95%
Features
95%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$24.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Materials
95%
Features
96%
Value
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$35.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Materials
94%
Features
94%
Value
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$34.89
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Materials
91%
Features
92%
Value
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$25.49
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Eiliks
  • CCS Uncharted Seventy2
  • Emdmak
  • TRSCIND
  • GoloGuide
  • PDL Outdoor
  • HYSTEK
  • Angazure
  • TRSCIND 13 in 1
  • Stealth Squads
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Eiliks

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.7
Eiliks
Materials
99
Features
100
Value
100
best offer for today
$23.99
Pros:

Affordable

Comes with a survival pen

Tools made from sturdy and high-quality materials

Cons:

Some discovered that the compass is slightly off

In our opinion, it doesn't get any better than this case. It has all of the things that stranded adventurers would need to help them make the best of their surroundings whether they are lost in the woods or in the mountains. The best part about this case is that all of the materials are made from high-quality steel so that you won’t need to worry about cheap components breaking when you need them the most.

Read more

Materials
Once you open up the small black case that stores the components, you will be amazed at how much items actually fit inside. Users can expect to find tools such as an LED flashlight that clips right onto your belt, compass, a light up keychain, a swiss card, flint for making a fire, an emergency pen, and an emergency blanket.

Features
One of the most important features, in this case, is the emergency pen. This pen is made from high-quality tungsten steel, so you know it’s top quality. On one end it is able to write like a standard pen, but on the other side is a sharp blade that will be able to break glass without much pressure if you find yourself trapped in your car under water. What’s also great about this pack is that it also has enough room to fit an emergency blanket for those chilly nights outside.

Value
The thing we like best about the EILIKS design is that it comes in at a really affordable price point while stuffing offering tools that are very high quality. The cost of this will likely set you back about the same amount that you would spend on a large pizza what you would deliver once arriving safe and sound back home.

Summary
If you need something that will not only have all of the tools that you will need to stay safe and protected if something happens on one of your standard camping trips, the EILIKS design is something that will deliver in all areas without breaking the bank. Plus, the survival pen makes this a great thing to leave in the car if you ever find yourself trapped under water.

2. CCS Uncharted Seventy2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
CCS Uncharted Seventy2
Materials
99
Features
100
Value
98
best offer for today
$350.00
Pros:

Great customer service

Lightweight

Well organized

Stylish

Cons:

Only holds enough supplies for one person

Radio could be improved

This kit from CCS is another great set that will give you all of the tools that you will need when the chips are down. It comes in a sturdy bag that is airtight. The bag with all of its contents only weighs 11-pounds and is small enough to be able to pack along with you on long camping trips to short day treks in the mountains, and it is packed with high-quality tools that will hold up in the roughest of circumstances.

Read more

Materials
Once opened, you will reveal a myriad of tools and gear that will help you when you are trapped in the wilderness. This specific bag comes with 35 tools. Just like any good pack, this one includes a sharp and durable tactical knife, flashlight, and emergency radio. What makes this case so special is that it also comes with a few unusual items, such as a beanie, a shovel, and an emergency filtration mask.

Features
This baackpack that houses all of these tools is amazing in itself. It is capable of carrying up to 48-liters and is made a durable, waterproof tarpaulin. An added feature that isn’t included in the tool count is that fact that this pack can be used as a flotation device.

Value
This pack is priced quite high but we believe it is worth it. The whole kit only weighs 11-pounds and features survival kit necessities and a few more well thought out bonuses. Add this in with the stylish backpack/flotation device and there’s no second guessing this.

Summary
For those that want something reliable that will prepare you for any situation, look no further. While this kit is slightly more expensive than others, it has outstanding features and some reviewers say you can re-organize the pack to make room for anything else you would like to add.

3. Emdmak

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Emdmak
Materials
97
Features
99
Value
98
best offer for today
$12.99
Pros:

Affordable

Small and compact case

Cons:

Some users feel that the case is flimsy

Reports that the compass does not work

The EMDMAK design doesn’t have the same number of features that some of the others have, but the contents that are included in this case are incredibly useful, are made from high-quality materials, and will help you survive when an emergency strikes. Plus, it comes with a few things that you might not see in other cases that you might find to be a little bit more helpful.

Read more

Materials
Do not worry, even though the contents of this case are just a little different, it still comes with the same basic necessities such as a fire starter, compass, swiss card, emergency blanket, and flashlight.

Features
Where it differs from some of the others is with the addition of a pretty extensive multi-tool and a wire saw. The multi-tool unfolds to look like a basic set of stainless steel pliers with sharp tips, but it also does a host of other things. The handle unfolds to reveal a fish scaler, flashlight, knife, screwdriver, and cable scissors. The wire saw is unique because it is simply a long piece of wire with round handles that travelers can use to cut through just about anything.

Value
What’s great about this design is that it comes in at a price point that is so low that you might even want to consider getting two- one for your car and one for your camping pack. The lower price point is due to the fact that EMDMAK pack in only the things that travelers will need, and none of the extra tools that they would not use.

Summary
Users love not only how small and compact this unit is, but also how functional all of the components are. It’s a perfect size for users that want something that isn’t going to take up a lot of room in their pack.

4. TRSCIND

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
TRSCIND
Materials
97
Features
98
Value
97
best offer for today
$26.99
Pros:

Users like the soft case that cinches at the waist

Small and compact design

Cons:

A little more expensive than many of the others

Users found that the compass doesn’t work properly

We are going to take a brief break from the hard shell designs and take a look at something that is just a little bit different. The contents of this unit are very similar to many of the others out there on the market, but it differs in the pack design. This pack is made from canvas, and it is able to cinch around your waist so that you can easily carry it on your person while out of adventures.

Read more

Materials
All the standard gear that travelers would need is found inside this pack. It comes with a LED flashlight, a swiss card, a bottle opener that is also an eating utensil, a survival pen, and a fire started.

Features
The things that we really liked that are included with this pack are is the quality of the pocket knife. Users love how sharp and durable the knife is, and that is one of the most important aspects of any type of outdoor survival. What we also liked was the paracord bracelet that is included. There isn’t a full compass in this pack, but there is a small compass found on the bracelet. These bracelets serve some many functions, and they simply fit comfortably on your wrist.

Value
While the cost isn’t anything that is going to knock your socks off, it is considered to be one of the more expensive designs out there on the market. It will likely set you back around the same price that you would spend going out for dinner for two.

Summary
This is a great option for someone that wants something that they can keep with them at all times. The harder cases are meant to be packed away, but the TRSCIND design is made to be worn on your waist for easy access when you need it.

5. GoloGuide

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
GoloGuide
Materials
97
Features
97
Value
95
best offer for today
$29.48
Pros:

Comes with a myriad of unique tools and gadgets

Unique wilderness survival card is very useful without taking up a lot of room

Cons:

A little expensive

This case really packs in a lot of tools and gadgets in such a small space. What users like most about this product are that there is basically everything that you would ever need while stranded in the woods, and it even comes with a few things that you wouldn’t expect to be in there, but you’ll be glad they included them when the time comes.

Read more

Materials
As we said earlier, they were really able to pack a lot into such a small case. Users can expect to find all of the core components that you would need in one of these cases. Items include an LED flashlight, a survival pen, a really great tactical knife, a swiss card, a fire starter, a rope saw, and an emergency blanket.

Features
The things we loved that were included with this product was the paracord bracelet- a lifesaver in many instances because of it’s design and versatility, and we also loved the wilderness survival card. This card is something unique that we haven’t seen really anywhere else. On a small little card, it provides traveling with gear such as spearheads and arrows for small game, hooks for fishing, and awl, sewing needles and tweezers- all one little card.

Value
This is one of the more expensive designs to make our list, but the price isn’t something that should dissuade you in any way. It will likely set you back the same amount it may take to fill your car with gas, but the quality of products, as well as the number of uses this little case has, makes it well worth the slightly padded price tag in our opinion.

Summary
If you are satisfied with a few tools that will keep you going while stranded out in the wilderness, and you want something that has a ton of tools and gadgets to do just about anything- this is going to be a perfect design for you if you are willing to pay the slightly padded price tag.

6. PDL Outdoor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
PDL Outdoor
Materials
97
Features
96
Value
96
best offer for today
$27.95
Pros:

Lightweight and compact

Users love the function and quality of the multi-tool

Cons:

A little expensive

Flashlight comes without a battery

Some found the tweezers and scissors are a little on the cheap side

The PDL Outdoor design is just a little bit different than many of the other styles we have seen out there on the market. While most focus on gear and tools that will help you survive, the PDL Outdoor product focuses a lot on first aid while still offering a great assortment of tools.

Read more

Materials
Before we talk about what is on the inside, we first want to talk about the outside. Instead of using a hard shell, this design uses a soft canvas shell that can be clipped onto almost anything- you backpack, your belt loop, or just placed inside of your car for when you need it. Inside, users can find all of the tools that they have come to expect to be found in these sets. Standard items include an emergency blanket, a poncho, a pretty serious multi-tool, waterproof matches, a compass, an emergency whistle, a Swiss car, and a wire saw.

Features
What makes this stand out from the rest is the addition of first aid kit that comes with a lot of items such as bandages, q-tips, alcohol wipes, tweezers, tape, gauze, and scissors.

Value
This is one of the more expensive designs out there on the market, but the high praise from users make us think that it is well worth the slightly padded price tag. Plus, if you find that you aren’t pleased with the quality of the gear, PDL Outdoor will offer you a 100 percent money back guarantee without any questions asked.

Summary
High-quality tools are important, but when the chips are down you are more prone to have an accident or mishap. It is always a great idea to include a first aid kit with your gear no matter where you go, and the PDL Outdoor design offers many medical tools right in the pack.

7. HYSTEK

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
HYSTEK
Materials
95
Features
95
Value
95
best offer for today
$24.99
Pros:

Affordable

Paracord bracelet included

Users love the quality of the gear included

Cons:

Some feel the case is a little flimsy and easy to break

Reports that the compass does not work properly

The HYSTEK design really shines in the quality of materials that are used to make up their pack. Users can expect to find all of the tools that come standard in these products, and all of the components are made from really high-quality materials so that they won’t let you down when you need them the most.

Read more

Materials
You can expect to find all of the basic essentials in this pack, such as an emergency blanket, a fire started, a high-quality pocket knife, a swiss card, compass, emergency blanket, survival pen, and a wire saw. The flashlight that is included takes one standard AA battery that has its one position in the case next to the light. This is important because it means that if your pack sits in the trunk of your car for years before you need it, you won’t have to worry about leaky batteries ruining your gear.

Features
This unit also comes with a paracord bracelet, which can be a real lifesaver in instances where you need to utilize a very strong and durable rope.

Value
The cost of this unit runs pretty par for the course. It isn’t the most expensive unit out there on the market, but it is far from their least expensive as well. If you are looking for something that comes with all of the basic components and nothing else- this is well worth the price.

Summary
Sometimes you don’t want all of the extra bells and whistles (and sadly this pack doesn’t come with an emergency whistle). You just want something that has good quality tools that aren’t held back by extra components that you might not ever use. If that’s the case, the HYSTEK design is going to be a perfect fit for your needs.

8. Angazure

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Angazure
Materials
95
Features
96
Value
94
best offer for today
$35.99
Pros:

Very sharp utility knife included

Users love the quality of the tools

Includes fishing line as well as lures and hooks

Cons:

Slightly expensive

The ANGAZURE design comes in a really heavy duty case that will be able to take a beating, and on the inside are all of the tools that you will need to keep going when your next camping trip goes a little awry. Keep in mind, however, that this is one of the more expensive options out there on the market, but users love the quality of gear that is included.

Read more

Materials
Campers can expect to get all of the tools that they will need while roughing it out in the woods for an extended period of time. This pack includes necessary tools such as a LED flashlight, a USB charging cable, a swiss card, a very sharp utility knife, a wire saw, emergency whistle, and a fire starter.

Features
The thing that really caught our eye about this product is the addition of fishing tools. Not only does this unit come with a few hooks as well as lures, but it also comes with a good deal of fishing line to ensure that as long as there is a body of water and a way to start a fire- you will never go hungry with this pack.

Value
As we mentioned before, this is one of the most expensive designs out there on the market. However, based upon what past users have said, the quality of the components included making it well worth the slightly padded price tag.

Summary
This is a great option for travelers that want something that has really high-quality tools included, as well as enough tools to be able to catch a good dinner with the included fishing equipment, and the tools to start a fire to cook it upon.

9. TRSCIND 13 in 1

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
TRSCIND 13 in 1
Materials
94
Features
94
Value
94
best offer for today
$34.89
Pros:

Hard, compact case

Additional fishing gear is included

Affordable price point

Cons:

Some users feel that the components are not made with the high-quality materials

This is a great little set to pack along into your backpack or just to leave in the glovebox of your car. It has a very small and compact case that is filled with all of the tools and gear that you would need to keep going when things go a little lopsided on your next outdoor adventure.

Read more

Materials
You can expect all of the gear that you will need with the contents of this case. The case is hard and small, and it perfect for packing into your backpack when you are ready to hit the trails. Inside, users will find an LED flashlight that is easy to use and emits a strong light, a fire starter, a swiss card, an emergency whistle, a survival pen, an emergency blanket, and a wire saw.

Features
What we liked most about this case is that it comes with the addition of some pretty solid fishing gear. Also included is a paracord bracelet, which is something that every outdoor adventurer should be wearing every time they venture out into the great outdoors.

Value
This unit runs pretty par for the course. It isn’t the most expensive out there on the market, but it isn’t the least expensive as well, Generally speaking, it is just slightly more expensive than the average price of similar models that we have seen.

Summary
If you are looking for something that is simple, and small enough that it can fit in your backpack or bug out bag without taking up all that much room, we feel this would be an excellent option to any outdoor expedition.

10. Stealth Squads

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Stealth Squads
Materials
91
Features
92
Value
94
best offer for today
$25.49
Pros:

Affordable

Comes with first aid tools

Survival booklet included in case

Users love the sharp knife

Cons:

Users found compass on paracord bracelet doesn’t work

Some found the quality of some of the materials to be underwhelming

This case comes with just about everything that we have found in other packs out there on the market, although the quality of the materials used is a little less than par. However, given the affordable price point as well as the diverse array of tools provided, this is an excellent option for any outdoor adventurer.

Read more

Materials
The STEALTH SQUADS design comes with all of the tools that you would need if you found yourself stranded in the woods. It includes a basic flashlight, fire starter, swiss card, emergency blanket, waterproof matches, emergency whistle, and a sturdy pocket knife.

Features
The thing we liked best about this design is that it comes with a little booklet that offers a lot of advice and tips on how to get the most out of your tools as well as using the materials that surround you in nature to keep you comfortable and fed. We also liked that it comes with first aid pieces such as bandages and alcohol wipes, and it all fits into a soft canvas case.

Value
The cost of this design runs about in the middle of the road. There are some users that find that STEALTH SQUADS prefer quantity over quality, but we feel that this is an excellent price for the tools that come in this sharp and well-made canvas case.

Summary
For outdoor adventurers that need a little bit of everything- such as tactical tools for first aid- this will be a great addition that will give you peace of mind when traveling far away from civilization and into the woods.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

This was something important that we looked at because if the pack isn’t constructed from high-quality materials that are able to take a beating, we because suspicious of the quality of materials found on the inside. There were two distinct schools of thought when it came to the packs that these tools came in. The first design was the hard outer shell. We were more drawn to this design because it would be able to take a beating and the interior components wouldn’t become damaged. Plus, it makes it a lot neater to throw into a backpack. The second design we discovered was the safe, canvas design. More often than not, the canvas was coated with a layer of waterproof materials, so you wouldn’t have to be concerned for your gear if the rains were pouring down. What we liked about the soft shells is that most of them could cinch on the outside of the backpack for easy access with their molle design, or they could be worn around the waist.

Features

Contents
Obviously, this is the most important thing that we considered when selecting the best products to make our list. There were a few things that were an absolute must, and if a product didn’t come equipped with them, we moved on to the next. Some of the things that we made sure each pack had was a really good knife. This was by far one of the most important pieces because there are a lot of uses for a sharp knife in the middle of the woods. Another piece of gear that we couldn’t do without was a flashlight. Now, most flashlights that come in these packs typically use one AA battery, and we liked companies that have a spot to place a spare battery to ensure that you are never left out in the dark. A few of the other must-haves included things like emergency blankets, compasses, fire starters, and swiss cards.

Additional gear
We made sure to check each design to see if they brought anything new to the table. From what we gathered many companies try and stand out from the other designs by including at least one piece of gear that you might not find with other designs. One of our favorite additions was the emergency pen. It might be a rare occurrence that you would ever find yourself trapped underwater in your car with no way out, but with the addition of one of these pens, you will be able to break and glass and escape without using that much pressure. We also really liked items such as a wire saw because they weigh almost nothing, but they are able to cut through almost anything if you have the time and the patients. Another feature we liked that was offered in a few designs was the addition of fishing gear. Some companies offered a few basic hooks and lures that could either be fastened to the end of a paracord bracelet, or fishing line that is included with the case.

Value

Our thoughts on the matter are that when it comes to your well being and safety, one should spare no expense. However, we also understand that it can sometimes be a little difficult to spend the extra money on something that you may not ever need. You might even think that buying the cheapest version might be the better option, but the last thing you want is to curse your penny-pinching in times of crisis. While we did ensure to offer up some of the more affordable options that received positive reviews, we mainly stuck to brands that were either par for the course in terms of price or were just a little bit higher. While we often like to save you a little bit of money so that you can spend more money on surfboards and climbing gear, we don’t think it is a good item to cut corners when your safety is concerned.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Food and Water

While these kits are full of useful tools, it is important to remember to add your personal touch on your survival kit. This could range from anything from an inflatable pillow to a can opener. However, food and water are two of the most important items to add to your pack. If you don't have enough room water, you may want to consider water purification tablets.

Batteries

Every so often, it's a good idea to check the batteries in your flashlight or radio. Keep a spare set if you can. Additionally, there are now solar lights that are very compact and can be charged in the sun, so you never have to worry about dead batteries and you'll still have light.

Other Factors to Consider

Size

If you are worried about how much room that they are going to take up in your pack or in your glove box, you can rest easy because they are typically pretty small. In fact, many users often complain because they feel like they are just a little bit too small. However, when you are packing for a trekking expedition, the last thing that you want taking up room in an overcrowded backpack is a case of tools that you mind not even need for the duration of your trip. If they were any larger, many campers might opt to leave them back at the care and potentially put them in a dangerous situation. If you don’t like the idea of packing them inside of your backpack, there are options on the market that are made from softer canvas materials that can be affixed to your belt loop or right on the outside of your backpack. Plus, there is no need to worry about weight because almost all of these options we have selected weigh under 1 pound.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What are some of the necessities that every pack should have equipped?
a:

There are a lot of options out there that have a wide variety of gear, and you pick which one will suit your needs better based upon where you like to travel. However, there are a few very specific tools that you need to make sure the case you decide upon has equipped. The most important option is to make sure that it has a knife. Most campers or hikes typically keep a pocket knife in their pocket even when they are shopping at a grocery store, because they know that there will be an instance throughout their day where they will need to employ the use of a sharp blade. Another thing that you want to ensure that comes with your pack is a fire starter. Sure, a flashlight will lend you a little bit of light precisely where you need it, but a fire will not only provide a little bit of light for safety, but you can also use it to cook or boil water if you need to. These fire starters are typically very easy to use and will prevent you from engaging in the frustrating task of starting a fire with just two sticks.

q: Are they going to be able to fit into my bug out bag?
a:

Not only will they fit in your bug out bag, but they will serve as an excellent addition. You never know where a disaster is going to take you, and ensuring that you have all of the right tactical gear means that you bug out bag will be prepared for basically any type of disaster that you could imagine.

q: What is a swiss card?
a:

You might have noticed that just about every option out there on the market comes with the addition of a swiss card. They might look a little bit peculiar, but they basically have the exact same function that you would find in a swiss army knife. Typically, these designs come with things such as a file, scissors, straight pin, mini ruler, and a bottle opener.

q: Do I need a paracord bracelet?
a:

Another piece of gear that you might not necessarily be familiar with is something called a paracord bracelet. Paracord refers to the material that is used to make it, and it is incredibly strong and durable. These bracelets can be a real lifesaver in an emergency because they can be unraveled to reveal a very long rope that you have been wearing right on your wrist. This rope can be used in a myriad of ways, from constructing a shelter to fishing to helping someone that may have fallen down a hole or ravine.

q: How much room do they generally take up?
a:

If you are worried about how much room that they are going to take up in your pack or in your glove box, you can rest easy because they are typically pretty small. In fact, many users often complain because they feel like they are just a little bit too small. However, when you are packing for a trekking expedition, the last thing that you want taking up room in an overcrowded backpack is a case of tools that you mind not even need for the duration of your trip. If they were any larger, many campers might opt to leave them back at the care and potentially put them in a dangerous situation. If you don’t like the idea of packing them inside of your backpack, there are options on the market that are made from softer canvas materials that can be affixed to your belt loop or right on the outside of your backpack. Plus, there is no need to worry about weight because almost all of these options we have selected weigh under 1 pound.

Sources

  1. Tim MacWelch, Build An Emergency Survival Kit, Sports Guide, May 08, 2017
  2. TIM MACWELCH, Ultimate Survival Kit: 10 Pieces of Gear That Will Save Your Life, Outdoor Guide, Jul 05, 2017