to top 10 table

Best Snowshoe Boots

last updated Mar 07, 2019

Getting out there on the trails this winter to enjoy the beautiful scenery can be incredibly miserable with cold feet. If your footwear isn’t designed for those plummeting temperatures of ice and slush and snow, your feet aren’t going to be really happy with you a the end of the day. Investing in a great pair of snowshoe boots will make your feet feel like they're on a tropical island as you go about your winter wonderland adventures. Ensuring that you select something that is incredibly insulated, has a thick sole that really separates your feet from the cold ground, and a soft, waterproof lining is the key to keeping your feet warm this winter. Check out our top picks of the season below.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
EQUICK
90/100 our score
Style
88
Outsole
90
Upper
91
Terrain
89
Value
92
EQUICK
Why is it better?

Drawstring upper works well with a wide variety of winter pants

Affordable

Simple design great for men and women

Flexible and comfortable sole

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
EQUICK
Test Winner: EQUICK
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
10
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
2.4k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Melissa Coleiro
By Melissa Coleiro:

This buying guide for snowshoe boots has been put together to show you the best researched and reviewed products to help you walk in the snowy weather comfortably and safely. A great snowshoe boot to keep your eye on is the Merrell Moab Polar. We love this snowshoe boot because it is known for being from a trusted brand, being completely waterproof, and has comfortably soft lining.

Sorting Options
Style Outsole Upper Terrain Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Style
88 %
Outsole
90 %
Upper
91 %
Terrain
89 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Style
86 %
Outsole
92 %
Upper
91 %
Terrain
87 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Style
90 %
Outsole
87 %
Upper
89 %
Terrain
86 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$109.95
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Style
86 %
Outsole
84 %
Upper
90 %
Terrain
89 %
Value
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$35.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Style
83 %
Outsole
86 %
Upper
87 %
Terrain
89 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.4
Style
90 %
Outsole
83 %
Upper
82 %
Terrain
79 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Style
84 %
Outsole
87 %
Upper
86 %
Terrain
83 %
Value
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Style
80 %
Outsole
90 %
Upper
81 %
Terrain
80 %
Value
74 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$204.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.4
Style
84 %
Outsole
79 %
Upper
76 %
Terrain
75 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$46.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78
Style
80 %
Outsole
75 %
Upper
79 %
Terrain
70 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link

Top 10 Picks

1. EQUICK

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
EQUICK
Amazon Link
Style
88
Outsole
90
Upper
91
Terrain
89
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Drawstring upper works well with a wide variety of winter pants

Affordable

Simple design great for men and women

Flexible and comfortable sole

Cons:

Some found that they run a little on the small side

The EQUICK option is our favorite pick because it completes all of the tasks that users would want from one of these products, and it is made to be incredibly tough. It’s warm, it can be worn with a myriad of different outdoor pants, and it comes in at a reasonable price point.

Read more

Style

The look of this option is very simple and it has a basic outer design that is perfect for both men and women. It is only offered in a handful of colors that include black, brown, burgundy, and gray.

Outsole

There are an impressive 1.8 inches between your foot and the ground with this model, and the bottoms are composed of a pliable EVA rubber that will conform to the shape of your foot over time. Users love that the base of this option is a lot more flexible than many of the more rigid options out there on the market.

Upper

What makes this design quite different from the rest is that in the absence of laces is a simple drawstring. This easy to pull drawstring makes pairing all type of thin or bulky winter pants with this option a lot easier. The inside is lined with breathable yet waterproof oxford cloth, and it has a light and fluffy faux fur feel to it.

Terrain

These are made to be worn just about anywhere- from shoveling your driveway to hiking up a mountain. The thick tread that is composed of anti-slip EVA rubber is made to really grip even this slickest of icy surfaces.

Value

What we loved most about this option is that it comes in at a really affordable price point that won’t break the bank. A pair of these EQUICKs will likely set you back about the same amount that you would spend on a nice steak dinner out with a partner.

Overall

We think this is going to be one of your best options this winter based upon the quality of materials used, the simple yet practicals design, and the comfortable feel. Plus, the lower price point is pretty great as well.

2. Merrell Moab Polar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Merrell Moab Polar
Amazon Link
Style
86
Outsole
92
Upper
91
Terrain
87
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Trusted brand

Completely waterproof

Comfortable soft lining

Cons:

Some feel they are too small and run a bit narrow

Slightly expensive

Merrell is known for making great hiking footwear since their founding in 1981, and the Moab Polar is no exception. What we liked most about this design is that it’s got a thick, sturdy design that is built like a tank from the sole all the way up to the tips of the laces.

Read more

Style

If you are looking for something that has a bit more detail and style, this is an excellent choice. We liked the layering of different shades of fabric on the upper, and the understated speckled laces are a really nice touch. This option is offered in only two neutral shades that include black and espresso.

Outsole

The outside of this design is treated with a unique M-Select ICE GRIP to ensure that you are going to be able to hold your footing in all sorts of terrain. We like that between you and the cold, unforgiving ground lies about 1.25 inches of molded EVA rubber that actually runs up and over the tops of the toes to make a solid, waterproof seal.

Upper

This unit runs to fight tightly right up against your ankle and stops a few inches higher than your ankle bone. It is composed of completely waterproof synthetic materials to keep your feet dry and comfortable. According to many past users, this design is completely water[roof from bottom to top.

Terrain

Thick grooved patterns in the special M-Select ICE GRIP EVA sole means that you can wear these pretty much anywhere your winter adventures may take you. This design is not only good with rocky and uneven terrain, but it will also help you keep your footing on tricky icy conditions as well.

Value

This option might be priced slightly higher than some of the other designs out there on the market, but they are far from being the most expensive. Considering that it comes from a trusted brand such as Merrell, we find this is a really great deal.

Overall

Where the Moab Polar really shines in its ability to be completely waterproof. It has a sleek, utilitarian shell that makes it look like it is built like a tank, and it has a very comfortable lining that will keep your feet nice and warm all winter.

3. The North Face Chilkat III

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
The North Face Chilkat III
Amazon Link
Style
90
Outsole
87
Upper
89
Terrain
86
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$109.95
Pros:

Trusted brand

Affordable price point

Sturdy, stiff base

Cons:

Some found they are difficult to lace

Reports that that rubber cracked only after a few years of continued use

Anyone that is familiar with cold winter climates is familiar with the name The North Face. You might even have a piece The North Face gear already in your arsenal. Since their founding in 1968 in San Francisco, they have been able to marry style and functionality in a series way. And that’s what we liked so much about the Chilkat III- it is as stylish as it is functional.

Read more

Style

We really liked the look of this option. It is offered in a wide variety of color combinations that include black and grey, brown and beige, brown and orange, and shades of chocolate brown. It blends insulated rubber and synthetic suede to create a sleek and stylish look.

Outside

The platform to this option leaves about a 1.25-inch butter between you and the ground. The outsole is made from synthetic rubber materials, and it is a bit stiffer than some of the other options out there on the market.

Upper

The lining also uses synthetic materials, and it has a familiar soft fleece feel to it that is warm and comfortable without being too bulky if you like to layer socks. This upper stop about 4-5 inches past your ankle bone. What we liked about this design is that the top is flared slightly to allow users to tuck in snow pants in the top.

Terrain

As you would come to expect from The North Face, the traction on the sole of this design is incredibly deep and detailed. Users find that the stiff soles are really great for walking in both snowy and uneven terrain as well as slightly icy conditions.

Value

Surprisingly, the cost of the Chilkat III does not cost as much as one would expect a North Face design to cost. In fact, we find the price point of this option to be a really great deal for a well-known company.

Overall

If you don’t want to take a chance on companies that don’t have the same brand recognition as THe North Face, but you don’t really want to spend the higher price point on a name brand, the Chilkat III is going to be one of your best options in our opinion.

4. Mgreater

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Mgreater
Amazon Link
Style
86
Outsole
84
Upper
90
Terrain
89
Value
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.99
Pros:

Sleek and stylish high top design

Affordable

Incredibly lightweight

Cons:

Users found that the upper isn’t very waterproof in harsh conditions

Perhaps you have no intentions of climbing any mountains this winter, but you still want something that is warm and stylish. We liked the Mgreater design because it has the style of a sneaker, but the warmth that comes from winter gear.

Read more

Style

The Mgreater gets an A+ in the style department. This design looks like your average high top sneaker, accented with light gray faux fur along the top. It is offered in colors that include black, army camo, gray, and hunter green.

Outsole

This unit is designed with a lug sole that will help users when walking on slippery conditions and helps them maintain control. The outsole of this design is made from a more pliable non-slip and waterproof rubber that runs up over the toes, as well as offering superior shock absorption to prevent fatigue on those long days.

Upper

The top of this design stops short just at the ankle bone- so if you were looking for something that fit a little higher, this design might not be for you. The interior is lined with a faux fur, and Mgreater states that this lining will keep your feet above 28 degrees, no matter how cold it is outside.

Terrain

This design is made to be worn for casual, everyday use. If you live in a part of the world that really gets hit hard with snow and ice every winter, simply walking from your home to the sidewalk can be a treacherous endeavor. This design is made to make your everyday travels just a little bit easier in the winter, while still giving you a sleek look.

Value

One of the things that we liked most about this design is that it comes in at a really affordable price tag that is almost half of what some of the higher end name brands sell for.

Overall

If you are looking for a pair of winter kicks that will be a great companion for all of your urban adventures, but also something that will keep your feet high and dry when the temperatures plummet, this option from Mgreater is a really great choice.

5. Barerun

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Barerun
Amazon Link
Style
83
Outsole
86
Upper
87
Terrain
89
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Affordable

Thick, anti-slip soles

Comfortable faux fur interior

Cons:

Users found that the tongue is not waterproof

Some users found that it is initially very stiff and takes a while to break in

It was very hard to pass up this option from Barerun because it has an outward design that makes it look like a tank. But it’s not just for looks- this option is able to take you just about anywhere in hard winter conditions, and it will keep your feet high and dry.

Read more

Style

The style of the Barerun option is what you would come to expect from a solid piece of winter gear. It has a thick, bulky sole with a solid upper and metal clips for laces. What we do like, however, is that it is offered in a few unique colors such as red and green, and it also includes the basics such as black, brown, and gray. Users will have to option of selecting a style that has the faux fur at the top showing or not showing.

Outsole

If stability is your number one concern without sacrificing range of motion, this option is going to be your best bet. The base of this outsole is skid-proof and abrasion-resistant, making it perfect for a myriad of treacherous winter terrain condition. Plus, the sole is also composed of a compressed EVA which will mold to the shape of your foot over time, and it also makes it a little more pliable than some of the more rigid options.

Upper

The inside of this design is lined with a very soft faux fur that users can elect to have shown on the top of the design, or without. The leather uppers are sealed at the seams to prevent water from penetrating from the inside, and the lining is great at absorbing moisture from your feet so your feet will stay dry and warm.

Terrain

There are no limits to the places that the thick and bulky treads on this option will be able to take you. It is perfect for rocky and uneven terrain, but the skid-proof soles are great for walking on wet, slippery rocks, or even mostly icy conditions.

Value

We users really like about this option is that it comes in at an affordable price point that will likely set you back the same amount of money that you would likely spend on a casual pair of sneakers to wear in the summer.

Overall

If the grip is something that is important to you, these are going to be one of your best options. There were quite a few past users that were older and got around with the use of a cane, and they felt that this design was perfect from keeping them from slipping on icy winter surfaces.

6. soouops

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.4
soouops
Amazon Link
Style
90
Outsole
83
Upper
82
Terrain
79
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Affordable

Incredibly waterproof

Casual design

Cons:

Some found that they run a little on the small side.

If you are someone that feels that the key to a happy winter is keeping your socks dry- this is going to be a great fit for you. The most notable take away from the soouops design is its unmatched waterproof exterior that will keep your socks dry and your disposition happy.

Read more

Style

The style of this design is pretty basic. We focused on the lower ankle design for the purpose of this review because we felt that it added the most style, and still gave the general impression of being a sneaker while also keeping feet high and dry in cold and snowy conditions.

Outsole

It may come to a little bit of a surprise to you that this design has an outsole that is significantly thicker than many of the other options out there on the market, creating about 1.57 inches between your feet and the cold hard ground. It is also composed of a fairly pliable and rugged rubber outsole that provides excellent traction, and the footbed boasts a thick EVA rubber for excellent shock absorption.

Upper

The best feature about this design is what it brings to the table as far as the design of the upper. It is composed of a blend of nylon and PU with airtight seams to create one of the most waterproof options of any of the others out there on the market. The interior is lined with a faux fur to keep feel warm and comfortable.

Terrain

If you are planning to do some trekking off of the beaten path, this option might not be the best option for you. This style has modest treads that are great for everyday wear in snowy, wintery conditions.

Value

What users really like about this design is that it comes in at a really affordable price point, and it might even be just slightly less expensive than what you paid on a pair of casual summer sneakers.

Overall

For those that want something that is going to keep their feet dry and warm while out and about running errands during the blustery cold winter months, this option form soouops is going to be an excellent choice.

7. Baffin Timber

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Baffin Timber
Amazon Link
Style
84
Outsole
87
Upper
86
Terrain
83
Value
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Made from 100 percent leather

Polar tested rubber

Flexible sole will not inhibit range of motion

Cons:

Very expensive

Perhaps you have an entire winter planning of hiking and climbing and ice fishing, and you need something of superior quality that is going to keep your feet warm and happy. If that’s the case, you might want to check out the Timber design from Baffin. It may come in at a very high price point, but there are few options as rugged and well made as this design.

Read more

Style

The style of this design is what you may come to expect from this type of footwear. It has a thick and bulky sole that stretches up over the toes, and a leather top sole with thick metal loops to firmly hold laces in place. It is offered in two basic colors that include black and brown.

Outsole

Baffin is serious about their outsole. While the exact thickness of the design isn’t listed on the item description, what we do know is that Baffin uses a blend of thermo-set polymers to craft their rubber sole to craft something that is going to really stick to the ground in slippery conditions, while still maintaining heat and comfort.

Upper

This design runs just a few inches above the ankle bone, and it is constructed from 100 percent leather, which means that water won’t be penetrating though, and that includes through the tongue.

Terrain

There is really no limits to where you can take this set of footwear. Thick and carefully placed rubber treads on the bottom will keep users from slipping on slick, icy surfaces, and it is also great for clinging to rocky, snow-covered terrain while hiking and trekking on uneven surfaces.

Value

The cost of this option is one of the more expensive designs to make our list. To put it into perspective, this pair costs about double of that of The North Face Chilkat III.

Overall

If you find that you are someone that spends far more time outside than inside during those incredibly cold winter months, you may find that it will be in your best interest to spend a little bit of extra money to invest in this design to keep your feet happy while out on your snowy adventures.

8. Thorogood Endeavor Extreme

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Thorogood Endeavor Extreme
Amazon Link
Style
80
Outsole
90
Upper
81
Terrain
80
Value
74
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$204.95
Pros:

Made from high-quality materials

Cement Construction

Waterproof

Cons:

Expensive

Just like the name infers, this options from Thorogood is made for the extreme outdoorsman. This option uses some of the highest quality materials out there on the market so even if you are waist deep in freshly fallen snow on the coldest day of your year, your feet may think they are at a tropical beach somewhere.

Read more

Style

Function trump's style with this design. It is only offered on one very specific black base with bright tan reflective accents. Users really appreciate that this design sits a little bit higher up on the ankle than some of the other designs out there on the market.

Outsole

The outsole on this design boasts what Thorogood calls traction control, which makes it perfect for all weather conditions. It also offers a cement construction for its rubber sole, which means that the bottom of this design is one solid unit that wraps around to the top side of the foot so that users can feel good that no water or snow will penetrate through the bottom.

Upper

This unit has 3M™ Thinsulate™, which is a type of insulation that is incredibly thin and breathable, but it will ensure that no water will penetrate through the surface. According to past users, the materials used to make this design will keep your toes nice and toasty in even some of the worst weather conditions.

Terrain

Based upon what we have reported about the durability of the sole and upper, you have probably already come to the conclusion that this option is made to be worn just about anywhere- and you would be right! The tightly sealed materials are made to be worn while ice fishing, hiking, and trekking through some of the worst weather conditions that you can find.

Value

You might be surprised to learn that this option isn’t the most expensive design out there on the market, and it actually quite less than the Baffin design. Users will have to dish out a good deal of money, however, and it will likely cost you more than you spent on your high end running sneakers.

Overall

The durability and wear of this design are made to ensure that even when you are out ice fishing in some pretty cold weather conditions, your feet will stay nice and warm all throughout the day.

9. arctiv8

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.4
arctiv8
Amazon Link
Style
84
Outsole
79
Upper
76
Terrain
75
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$46.99
Pros:

Very affordable

Waterproof design

Comfortable

Cons:

Users find that the laces will not stay tied

Some users feel that they run a little wide

What we liked about this design from arctiv8 is that is has a basic look to them, but they are made to keep your feet warm and comfortable on snowy days, and they come in at an incredibly affordable price point.

Read more

Style

The style is what you can come to expect from a basic design for winter footwear. It has a thick and bulky base, and an upper that is composed of faux leather material. It is offered in three different color choices that include brown, light brown, and black.

Outsole

The outsole is constructed from a quality EVA rubber that has a platform of about .75 inches, and a 1-inch rise at the heel. This is just a little flatter than some of the other options out there on the market that have a platform of at least 1.25 inches, but this smaller sole makes this option just a little more lightweight.

Upper

The top section of this design is constructed from a synthetic leather material that is advertised to be waterproof. It has Thermolite insulation that will keep feet nice and warm, even when the temperature plummets to a frigid -25 degrees.

Terrain

The very thick treads on the bottom of this design make it perfect for almost any type of outdoor adventuring- from sledding to ice fishing.

Value

One of the things that we liked most about this design is that while it is still pretty bulky and rugged, it comes in at a really affordable price point that will likely set you back the same amount that you would have spent on a pair of casual summer sneakers.

Overall

According to the reviews for past users, these are a great and affordable option for those looking for something that will get them through the season. As far as being something that will hold up for multiple years- these might not be your answer.

10. Globalwin

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78
Globalwin
Amazon Link
Style
80
Outsole
75
Upper
79
Terrain
70
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Affordable

Waterproof upper

Lightweight

Cons:

Thin sole

Runs a little small

Just like we saw with the arctiv8 design, this is a simple and affordable option that is going to get the job done of keeping your feet nice and warm this winter. They may not be made from materials that are designed to hold up in the long haul, but they come in at an affordable price point that is perfect when you need something warm on your feet but money is tight.

Read more

Style

This design is offered in color options that include black, brown, and gray. Each option has sleek faux fur trim along the top (although you can opt for forgo the fur trim if it isn’t your thing), and PU leather uppers that run a few inches above the ankle.

Outsole

The sole of this option is made from a quality rubber that extends up and over the toes to create a waterproof seal. While exact measurements aren’t provided for the thickness of the sole, it appears to be just a bit thinner than many of the other options out there on the market.

Upper

This is where this particular design really shines. The PU leather exterior has tight seams to create a watertight seal, and it is reinforced with a layer of nylon that sits between the leather and the very soft faux fleece lining.

Terrain

Thick treads in the base of the sole provide users with excellent footing in all sorts of winter terrain, from rocky and snow-covered surfaces to slick and icy driveways or parking lots.

Value

What users really like most about this design is that it comes in at one of the most affordable price points of many of the other designs out there on the market. A few flaws in construction can be forgiven when you consider the affordable price tag.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is going to keep your feet nice and warm this winter in a myriad of different weather conditions, this is a great option that won’t break the bank.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

When it comes to footwear, it’s hard not to take style into consideration.

While function is always going to be the most important feature that we consider, we feel that there is no reason that we cannot have the best of both worlds. To achieve this footwear utopia where style meets function, we tried to select designs that gave users the choice in the color combinations. For the most part, companies stuck to the basic neutral tones such as black and brown, but we discovered a few brands that strayed from the conventional and offered color selections such as burgundy and green. Plus, not all readers are planning to scale any mountains this winter, so we also wanted to select a few casual designs that would offer users some of the functionality of some of the more utilitarian designs, but were made to look like a casual high top.

Outsole

For cold climates, this is going to be the most important factor to consider.

Many users feel that lining and insulation are going to be the key to keeping their feet warm in the winter, but they would be wrong. The ground (not the air) is what makes your feet cold in the wintertime because it is always in constant contact. If you want to keep your feet warm, you are going to want to create a good deal of distance between your feet and ground, and you can achieve this with a thick rubber outsole. From what we found, the average outsole thickness runs at about 1.25 inches- which is considered to be the ideal thickness. Thinner options will leave your feet a little cold, and thicker options will keep your feet incredibly warm, but they can often be incredibly heavy. Finding the right outsole is a matter of finding the right balance. If it becomes too thick, it means that you are also going to lose a lot of range of motion, and it is going to feel like you are wearing bricks on your feet. While this might be great to keep your toes toasty, it means that you are going to become fatigued much faster when walking for long distances.

Upper

While the soles of each design are very important, creating a warm and watertight seal is another part of the equation.

We made sure to select designs that used high-quality materials for the upper part of the design to ensure that no moisture was able to penetrate. To achieve this, we looked at the types of materials used. We liked options that used any type of leather- whether it was synthetic or genuine. Leather creates a great moisture seal that users can feel confident about. However, it is also imported to conder how that material is stitched together. You may have the most waterproof material in the world, but if it has faulty stitching, it means that water is going to find its way in. We kept a lookout for designs that had very tight stitching or utilized double stitching in the construction of their upper. The lining was another important feature that we looked at. Ideally, you want a layer of nylon between your exterior material and your lining. We liked designs that either used a fleece-like lining or those that opted for a faux fur.

Terrain

Where you can take these was something else that we considered.

For wintertime adventures, we wanted to make sure that we selected styles that were able to be worn just about anywhere- from ice fishing to winter trekking. To achieve this, we took a look at not only the treads for each design but also the material that it was made from. Designs that boasted an anti-skid or anti-slip rubber material has a texture that was a little tackier than typical rubber soles. While this isn’t going to save you completely from potentially slipping on ice, it is going to reduce the risk significantly. It does this by creating a lot of friction between the treads and the ground, and it is going to be able to stick to any friction that exists in the ice. While it might not save you completely from slipping on icy surfaces, it will reduce the risk of those banana peel-esque type of falls.

Value

Lastly, we want to save you a little bit of money when we can.

The cost of these products is a little tricky because there is a wide distance between the most affordable option and the more affordable brands. From what we could gather, the big difference between the two options was durability. While the more affordable options might keep your feet nice and warm, users found that with extended use, seams would begin to fray, or rubber sole would begin to crack. If you opt for one of the more affordable options like the ones found on our list, they will do their job at keeping your feet warm for the duration of the season. However, you might find that if you try and wear then for an additional season, your socks might become a little soggy. We wanted to make sure that we included brands that were affordable to many users and would still keep their feet warm, but we also wanted to include some of the higher end designs from some of the big names to offer options that could be worn season after season without losing any strength.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Outsole
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Upper
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Terrain
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Sole Thickness = Warmth

To keep your feet nice and warm, you generally want to create a lot of distance between your foot and the cold, hard, ground. From what we have found, the average thickness of even some of the high-end models measure about 1.25 inches thick, with some options measuring to be over 1.5 inches thick. You might be thinking that the thicker the sole, the warmer the foot. You would not be wrong in your assessment, but thicker soles do pose some problems. The first problem is they often can be rather heavy, and this means that you are going to become tired quickly when out on adventures.

Other Factors to Consider

Water Resistance

Creating a waterproof seal is another important feature to keep your feet dry and warm. We found that designs that utilized leather (either synthetic or genuine) created the best barrier. Also, stitching that is tight or double-stitched is the ticket for a waterproof seal.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are these products typically waterproof?

a:

The mark of any great piece of winter gear is whether or not it is waterproof. If you find a pair out there on the market that does not boast that they are waterproof, then you can pretty much guarantee that they aren’t going to be very warm. When you are out there in cold weather and your socks become wet, you have basically created a mini fridge in the form of footwear. So, what do you need to look out for when you are trying to determine if they are waterproof? Nylon and leather are two great materials for keeping water out, but that’s not the only thing that you need to consider. Tight seams or double seams will ensure that where pieces of fabric come together will form a tight enough bond so that water will not be able to penetrate through.

q: What does cement construction mean?

a:

Don’t worry, this doesn’t mean that the outsole is made from cement. Basically, what this means is that the rubber sole of the unit has been poured to create one solid unit, much the way cement is poured. This is beneficial to the user because it means that it is going to be great at keeping water from seeping into your socks. The number one way that water gets in any type of outdoor gear is through the seams, so the fewer seams that you have on your gear means that there is going to be less of a chance that it is going to be able to penetrate into your socks.

q: How do I know which style is right for me?

a:

You are going to be wearing these on more than just the trails, so you want something that is going to work for other occasions as well. We know that not everyone is going to be out climbing mountains when the temperatures begin to plummet. Before you decide on a style that is right for you, first take into consideration the reason that you want to purchase them. Are you someone that likes to get out of the house on snowy days to go shopping or visit friends, or even just go for a walk down the sidewalk? If that’ the case, you might be interested in the more basic designs that look more like high top sneakers with a little bit of extra tread on the bottom. These are great for keeping your feet nice and warm on those very cold days, and they offer a little bit more traction and stability on slippery surfaces than your average sneaker. However, if you are someone that likes to go trekking or ice fishing during the cold winter months, you are going to want something that is more substantial. In this case, you want to select designs that have tight seams, use high-quality waterproof materials, and have thick soles that measure to be over an inch thick, and ideally with cement construction.

q: Will they keep me from slipping on ice?

a:

Unless you invest in a little jetpack that will allow you to hover over the ice, slipping is always going to be a possibility (or if you invest in a pair of metal snow cleats that slip over your footwear). However, a good outsole is going to be an excellent way to mitigate that potential risk. Keep an eye out for terms like ani-skid or anti-slip, because these types of materials have a bit of a tacky texture to the sole that will grab onto any friction found in the ice to reduce your risk of slipping.