to top 10 table

Best Snow Bikes

last updated Feb 20, 2019

Winter is hard. The snow, cold and ice make for an unfortunate trifecta that keeps a lot of us indoors during the winter months. Well, we have good news. It doesn’t have to be this way. There are many bike manufacturer’s who have started to make snow bikes for use during the winter months. These bikes use wide tire and low air pressure to ‘float’ on top of terrains such as ice and sand. Now there is no longer an excuse as to why you can’t keep on top of your cycling routine in the winter months. Let’s take a closer look at some of the ten best options for snow bikes on the market today.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 18 hrs of research

icon
Mongoose Dolomite
97.6/100 our score
Value
99
Size
97
Advanced Features
97
Materials
98
Style
97
Mongoose Dolomite
Why is it better?

Sturdy and tough construction

Great price tag

Relatively easy to assemble

Works great on trails and cement as well as snow and sand

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Mongoose Dolomite
Test Winner: Mongoose Dolomite
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
14
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
10k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
18
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
11
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Value Size Advanced Features Materials Style By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Value
99 %
Size
97 %
Advanced Features
97 %
Materials
98 %
Style
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$254.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Value
96 %
Size
97 %
Advanced Features
96 %
Materials
95 %
Style
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$319.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Value
95 %
Size
96 %
Advanced Features
95 %
Materials
94 %
Style
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$969.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Value
94 %
Size
93 %
Advanced Features
95 %
Materials
93 %
Style
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$1,899.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Value
93 %
Size
94 %
Advanced Features
92 %
Materials
94 %
Style
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$799.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Value
93 %
Size
92 %
Advanced Features
93 %
Materials
91 %
Style
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$1,690.00
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Value
90 %
Size
91 %
Advanced Features
92 %
Materials
91 %
Style
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$739.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Value
99 %
Size
90 %
Advanced Features
80 %
Materials
81 %
Style
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$549.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Value
82 %
Size
86 %
Advanced Features
85 %
Materials
83 %
Style
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$1,499.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
Value
80 %
Size
82 %
Advanced Features
81 %
Materials
83 %
Style
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$1,388.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Mongoose Dolomite Mongoose Dolomite
  • Mongoose Malus Mongoose Malus
  • ECOTRIC 26” 500W ECOTRIC 26” 500W
  • Add Motor Motan M560 Add Motor Motan M560
  • Nakto Mini Cruiser Nakto Mini Cruiser
  • Cyrusher Cyrusher
  • GoPlus 20” GoPlus 20”
  • Gravity Bullseye Monster Gravity Bullseye Monster
  • Ecotric Ecotric
  • Wallke Folding Wallke Folding
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Mongoose Dolomite

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Mongoose Dolomite
Amazon Link
Value
99
Size
97
Advanced Features
97
Materials
98
Style
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$254.99
Pros:

Sturdy and tough construction

Great price tag

Relatively easy to assemble

Works great on trails and cement as well as snow and sand

Cons:

Some difficulty going up hills

Tires came flat for some reviewers

This is not the only Mongoose brand snow bike you’re going to see on our top ten list but this one snatched the first place because of its low price, high ratings and great value.

Read more

Value
This product from Mongoose is the cheapest priced option on our top ten list. But don’t let its price fool you. It has been well-received by reviewers and seems to be a durable option. Mongoose also provides a limited lifetime warranty for extra peace of mind.

Size
This bicycle is designed for cyclists who are between 5’6” and 6’ tall. The tires are 4-inches wide and the bike itself has 26-inch wheels. The shipping weight for this bicycle is 59 pounds.

Advanced Features
The gear shifters on this bicycle are easy to change with just a quick twist and the seven different speeds that the gears provide make this bike a go-to choice for when you have some hills in sight.

Materials
This bike from Mongoose features a steel frame and tires that are designed to be used for all different types of terrain. The rims are made from a lightweight alloy material to help make the bike a little lighter overall.

Style
You might look at this bicycle and appreciate its beach cruiser style. This bike is available in three different colors – light blue with lime accents, navy blue with red accents and red with black accents.

2. Mongoose Malus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Mongoose Malus
Amazon Link
Value
96
Size
97
Advanced Features
96
Materials
95
Style
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$319.99

Slightly pricier than the Dolomite option from Mongoose above, the Malus is a similar style to the Dolomite with some key differences. Let’s take a closer look.

Read more

Value
As mentioned above, this bicycle is priced just a bit higher than the bike in our number one spot on our guide. This is still an incredibly affordable snow bike, however, and is priced hundreds of dollars cheaper than the rest of the options on our list.

Size
The wheels are 26” tall and the tires are 4.5” thick and rugged in order to provide traction and stability on difficult terrain. The shipping weight of this bicycle is less than the Dolomite at 53.2 pounds. In a snow bike like this, every pound matters.

Advanced Features
The handlebars on the Malus are low-rise and feature a 7-speed twist shifter so it’s easy for riders to go between gears. If you find yourself on an icy patch of land, the dual disc brakes on both the front end and back end of the bicycle will provide you with fast and reliable stop.

Materials
Similar to the other Mongoose bike on our list, the Malus is made with a durable and sturdy steel frame. The large tires are knobby and have drilled alloy rims that will provide that necessary stability.

Style
This bike is only available in one color – silver. The rims are dark grey. If you were to take away the fat tires, it would look just like any other beach cruiser on the road.

3. ECOTRIC 26” 500W

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
ECOTRIC 26” 500W
Amazon Link
Value
95
Size
96
Advanced Features
95
Materials
94
Style
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$969.00
Pros:

Power assist when you peddle

Fun to ride

Durably constructed bike

Quiet motor

Cons:

Heavy

No fenders

This snow bike from Ecotric is the first electric bike option on our list. Some might balk at the price tag wondering how an e-bike can come at such an affordable price but our research indicates most current users of this bike were pleasantly surprised at how great it rides and how well its made.

Read more

Value
The Ecotric 26” 500W snow bike will require a bit of an investment but it is still one of the more affordably priced options on our top ten list. When you consider that this product is actually an electric bike as well, you will see why the higher price tag is warranted.

Size
Similar to the other options on our list so far, this bicycle from Ecotric has 26” wheels and 4-inch wide tires. The weight of the bicycle itself is 58 pounds, making it one of the heavier options on our list. It is rated to hold up to 260 pounds.

Advanced Features
One of the best things about this bike is that it is electric. This will come in handy when you’re slogging through rough terrain and find that your legs need a break. This max speed is 23 miles per hour thanks to the bikes 500W gear motor battery. The bike has a lithium battery that is removable so you can bring it inside to charge it. Another great feature of this bicycle is that it comes with an LCD display panel that will display your speed, odometer, time and battery life.

Materials
The 4-inch wide tires feature an anti-skidding property so you can easily ride this in complex terrain. The frame of the bike is made from alloy which was chosen to provide a rust-resistant material option.

Style
This snow bike is available in three different color accents: black, blue or orange. While the frame of the bike remains in the same color in all three of these options, the rim is where the color accent comes in.

4. Add Motor Motan M560

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Add Motor Motan M560
Amazon Link
Value
94
Size
93
Advanced Features
95
Materials
93
Style
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,899.00
Pros:

Simple to set up

Durable construction

Add Motor provide great customer service

Digital dashboard

Cons:

Battery level indicator might not be accurate

Here we have another electric snow bike. It is designed to go up to 23 miles per hour and should last up to 55 miles per charge. Of course, you can still pedal once the battery has died, however. Add Motor won’t leave you stranded.

Read more

Value
While this bike may be the most expensive option on our top ten list, it comes with a great amount of value that justifies the high price tag.

Size
This 26” bike features the typical 4-inch wide tires. It’s best used by folks in the 5’8” to 6’8” height range. The weight capacity of the Motan is 300 pounds. Though we were unable to find the exact weight of this bike, the shipping weight is a whopping 85 pounds.

Advanced Features
A unique feature of this e-bike is that it has a USB charging port so that you are able to charge your smartphone on your rides. The battery that powers the bicycle is a very quiet 11.6Ah lithium battery. Users are able to enjoy two different working modes – e-bike where you can sit and enjoy your motor-powered ride or assisted ride where you can pedal alongside the motor to get where you’re going faster. This bike also has a bike rack on the rear so you can attach saddlebags if you choose.

Materials
The frame of this bike is constructed from a 6061-aluminum alloy material which will make it quite durable and sturdy. The handlebar is also made from aluminum and the chains are rust-resistant, making them perfect to withstand that snowy weather you’re going to take them out on.

Style
This bike even looks like a workhorse. It is available in two different rim colors – black/red or orange. It has a rack on the back where you can attach saddlebags.

5. Nakto Mini Cruiser

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Nakto Mini Cruiser
Amazon Link
Value
93
Size
94
Advanced Features
92
Materials
94
Style
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$799.99
Pros:

Fun to ride

Comfortable seat

Grips on handles are nice

Tank-like build

Adjustable kickstand

Cons:

Hard to put together

Quality control issues

Yet another electric bike has made our list of top ten snow bikes. This product from Nakto is a relatively affordable option with a number of different styles (in many different price ranges) available from Amazon.

Read more

Value
As mentioned above, Nakto offers a number of different styles for their electric snow bike. The option we are reviewing today is the Mini Cruiser which is priced right in the middle in comparison to their other available options. This is actually one of the cheaper options on our top ten list, however, though it will still require a fair bit of an investment.

Size
The Mini Cruiser is designed for smaller people than many of the other options on our list. It is ideal for even shorter folks, designed for those between 4’9” and 6’6” providing the much-needed versatility that other options lack. It can hold users up to 250 pounds. The wheels are 20” and tires are the average 4” wide. The Mini Cruiser weighs around 50 pounds with the battery installed.

Advanced Features
Nakto has outfitted this bicycle with a 360-degree spotlight on the front that will help those users who choose to ride their bike during the darker hours of the day. It has mechanical disc brakes on both the front and back of the bike and its 300-watt motor will definitely pay off on those snowy routes or at the beach.

Materials
This bike is made with an iron frame while the hub is made from an aluminum alloy material. These metals will ensure that the bike provides a sturdy of a ride as possible.

Style
There are no color options when it comes to the Nakto bike but we think users will like the classic look it takes on regardless. The bicycle itself is just black with a touch of red on the tire rims. The Nakto logo is emblazoned on the frame of the bike in lime green lettering.

6. Cyrusher

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Cyrusher
Amazon Link
Value
93
Size
92
Advanced Features
93
Materials
91
Style
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,690.00
Pros:

7 speed shifter

Front light

Electric motor provides support when necessary

Supportive customer service

Easy to assemble

Cons:

Build quality might not be up to par

Cyrusher is a manufacturer of a number of different types and styles of e-bikes and snow bikes. The one we’re reviewing today comes with a rather high price tag, at least when comparing it to other products in our buying guide, but it still is a worthwhile investment that we think you’ll love.

Read more

Value
Though this electric snow bike is one of the most expensive options on our list, it still is able to provide users who can afford it with a lot of value. We loved the special feature like high weight capacity and its advanced electrical system.

Size
The wheels of this Cyrusher bike are 26” and the tires are the typical 4” wide. This bike is rated for folks up to 360 pounds, making it one of the most inclusive options on our list. The bike itself weighs 55 pounds.

Advanced Features
We loved that the handlebars for this snow bike are adjustable so users are able to choose the height that will best suit them on any given day in any given terrain. It is important to note that only the newest version of this bike has the adjustable handlebar feature. This e-bike is equipped with a 500W motor that is powered by a waterproof battery that can be charged either right on the bike or taken off and charged that way. This product is able to reach speeds of nearly 22 miles per hour. The bike has three different working modes to choose from.

Materials
The frame of this bicycle is made from aluminum. The front fork of this product has a lockout suspension made from an aluminum alloy material that helps to aid riders in the snow.

Style
This bicycle is available in five different color options – black/green, black/red, white/blue, black/orange or black/white. The frame of the bike is for most of these color options is black, while the color accent is on the rim area. The exception to this rule is the white/blue option where the frame is white and rims are blue. This product is sleek and modern looking.

7. GoPlus 20”

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
GoPlus 20”
Amazon Link
Value
90
Size
91
Advanced Features
92
Materials
91
Style
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$739.99
Pros:

Performs well on gnarly trails

Pedals grip well

Motor will go faster than advertised

Fun to ride

Cons:

Battery sometimes comes loose

May need a professional to tune it out of the box

Here we have another electric snow bike option. This product from GoPlus is affordably priced at least when we compare it to what other e-bikes on the market are selling for and its high-quality motor and durable construction make it a great option for the adventurer in all of us.

Read more

Value
The GoPlus 20” bike is priced around the middle of the range when comparing it to other products in our buying guide. It won’t cost you an arm and a leg but the electric motor will definitely help to save your legs during your long, difficult traverses over snowy terrain.

Size
This bicycle weighs 64 pounds and has a load capacity of 265 pounds. The wheel height is 20 inches and the tires are 4” wide.

Advanced Features
This e-bike features a removable 48V lithium battery. Users should find that this battery will last around 22 miles and will take around eight hours to charge fully. The bike has two working modes – either e-bike or assisted bicycling and the maximum speed is around 17 miles per hour.

Materials
The durable and lightweight frame of this bicycle from GoPlus is made from an aluminum material. It has a shock absorbing detail on the seat post to help aid in comfort. The wheels are skid-proof which will prove handy on icy terrain.

Style
This bicycle is only available in one color. The frame is black with red/orange color accents. The brand name – GoPlus – is emblazoned on the side of the frame in white.

8. Gravity Bullseye Monster

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Gravity Bullseye Monster
Amazon Link
Value
99
Size
90
Advanced Features
80
Materials
81
Style
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$549.00
Pros:

Affordable price tag

Very lightweight

Classic bike aesthetic

Handles rough terrain well

Great entry-level fat bike

Cons:

May need to be tuned up professionally before you take it for a ride

We go back to basics with this non-electric snow bike option from Gravity Bullseye Monster. This product is very affordably priced and has a host of options that make it a worthwhile option to consider. Let’s take a closer look.

Read more

Value
This bicycle from Gravity Bullseye Monster is one of the cheapest entries on our top ten list. Don’t be put off by its affordable price tag, however. This bike has been well-received by reviewers and is a fantastic snow and sand option to invest in.

Size
The wheels for this bicycle are 26” tall and the 4” wide tires will aid themselves well to the difficult terrain you want to traverse. The shipping weight for this bike is just 50 pounds, making it one of the most lightweight options on our list.

Advanced Features
This bike features Tektro disc brakes at both the front and rear of the bicycle. This provides users with a powerful ride that they can feel in control of.

Materials
Gravity Bullseye Monster outfitted this snow bike with a durable and strong aluminum frame.

Style
This bike is available in a number of different color options – lime green, dark grey, silver, orange or black. It has a very classic bicycle look to it and if it weren’t for the fat tires, it would look like any other mountain bike.

9. Ecotric

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Ecotric
Amazon Link
Value
82
Size
86
Advanced Features
85
Materials
83
Style
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,499.00
Pros:

LCD panel

Headlamp is included

Fast

Good for steep hills

Fun to ride

Cons:

Heavy

Here we have a second entry on our top ten list from Ecotric. This option differs in many ways from the other bike on our list from this company. Let’s take a closer look to see just how different the two bikes are.

Read more

Value
This option from Ecotric is one of the most expensive ones on our top ten list. It is a few hundred dollars more expensive than the previous Ecotric bicycle we reviewed. But just because it requires a bit more of an investment out front doesn’t make this option less worthy of consideration. In fact, this bike has a lot of features we’ll go into below that add a lot of value.

Size
The wheels of this bicycle are 26” tall while the fat tires are the average at 4”. The weight capacity for this bike is 260 pounds. With the battery, this bike is heavy, however, in the 75-pound range.

Advanced Features
This electric bike has the capability of getting riders going up to 26 miles per hour. This is fast, especially when we compare it to other similar e-bike speed capabilities. It has a USB port available for use under the meter that will allow riders to charge their smartphones on the go. The motor for this product is twice as powerful as the other Ecotric bike on our list at 1000W. This bike is ergonomic in design, allowing users to adjust the seat to find a height that is right for them.

Materials
This bike is equipped with a very powerful motor as well as disc brakes. The tires provide anti-skidding properties for extra protection on treacherous terrain. The frame of the bike itself is made from alloy materials for durability and strength.

Style
This bike comes in either black with blue rims or black with orange rims. The colors of the rim truly pop against the dark frame of the bike making you stand out no matter where you are.

10. Wallke Folding

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
Wallke Folding
Amazon Link
Value
80
Size
82
Advanced Features
81
Materials
83
Style
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,388.99
Pros:

LCD display on handlebars

Included phone mount

Folding style

Hydraulic brakes

Cons:

Some may not like the unique style

This final entry on our top ten list is the only folding style bike we included. Folding bikes are great especially if space is a commodity in your home as they take up less room than other bikes. This option from Wallke is chock full of unique features that set it apart from other snow bikes on our list. Let’s take a closer look at what it has to offer.

Read more

Value
This bicycle is one of the more expensive options on our list but it provides a lot of value when you consider all of the features it has. Wallke also provides users with a one year warranty for the battery and motor of the bicycle as well as six months for the controller and the charger.

Size
This bike is designed to hold users up to 300 pounds. The wheels are 26” and the tires are 4” wide. The weight capacity is 300 pounds. We were unable to find information about the weight of this bicycle.

Advanced Features
If you’re looking for a bike chock full of fun features, this is the one for you. This bike has a rechargeable phone mount holder, buttons to control the included headlight and horn, a LCD display screen so you’re aware of your speed and battery life as well as built-in speakers in the headlight. What more could you want?

Materials
Rain and snow riders rejoice! This bicycle is equipped with fenders. Many of the complaints about the previous entries on our list were because the bikes lacked fenders. No fear here with this product from Wallke. This folding bike is made with aluminum alloy materials for durability.

Style
This bike is less traditional looking than other options on our list. Despite its unique aesthetic, it’s still a great looking option especially when you consider all of the extras it provides. It is only available in one color option – black with grey.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Value

Snow bikes require an investment but it will really pay off.

It probably doesn’t come as a surprise that snow bikes are expensive. These are more of a specialty bike than what you’re probably used to seeing being sold at your local Wal-Mart. Most of the time you will need to go to a store that specializes in bicycles in order to find a high-quality snow bike (‘high-quality’ being the keyword here). That said, we were pretty shocked to find a number of the products that made our top ten list actually fall well below what the average price is for this type of bike. It’s not unusual to see products of this nature in the $3000 range but we managed to find the best options available online for around half that price and lower.
You might be asking yourself just why snow bikes cost as much as they do. Well, we touch a lot on the benefits of this particular bicycle throughout our entire buying guide but one of the greatest features of this bike is that it can be used throughout the entire year. This is fantastic for people who love to cycle but have to hang up their bike in the garage during the winter months. Realistically, you are going to get more use out of your snow bike if you are a bit of an adventurer who feels held back by what their road or mountain bike can achieve in certain terrain.
Warranties are another factor to consider as we looked at the overall value of the product. Those who offer warranties or guarantees are always a safer bet.

Size

You should ensure the snow bike you choose is rated to hold your height and weight.

There are a number of factors that play into the ‘Size’ category here. We didn’t only judge the bikes on our list on their physical size and weight, but also on the size that they are rated to carry. We also looked at the size of the tires. These are all important factors to consider as you begin your hunt for the perfect snow bike for you. If you’re too large to ride the bike, why would you spend your hard-earned money in it? If the bike is going to be too bike for you, you will be pretty disappointed when it comes in the mail and you have to deal with sending it back. Tire size is important because the wider the tire, the more stability and traction you’re going to get from your bike.

Advanced Features

Many snow bikes are equipped with high-tech features.

There are plenty of special features that the snow bikes on our list can boast and you can rest assured that we have chosen the best options on the market today with only the most beneficial of features. Some of the advanced features to look for as you begin to peruse our list are: whether or not the bicycle is electric, USB charging ports for your phones, headlights, gear shifters, handlebar styles and more. Not every option on our list has all of the above features but there are a number of products who offer far more in terms of advanced benefits than others.

Materials

Frame, tire and motor materials all matter when considering a snow bike.

While most of the options on our list are made from a type of aluminum, we still wanted to include a materials section in the criteria because this is something you, as a consumer, should always be watching for. When we talk about materials in this buying guide, we are not only talking about the materials used to construct the frame of the bike but also other sections such as the motor (if applicable) and the tires.

Style

You don’t have to choose a one style fits all bicycle anymore.

Manufacturer’s are starting to slowly realize that when it comes to anything they’re creating, there is no one size (or, in this case, style) fits all rule. Not everyone is happy with having just a plain black bike anymore so many of the snow bikes on our list are actually available in a multitude of different colors. This is a great thing to pay attention to as you begin your hunt for the best snow bike for you because you are then able to choose a bike that is available in a color and style that appeals to you.
Many of the bike options on our list look like regular ol’ beach cruisers that have just been outfitted with humongous tires. But this rule doesn’t apply to all of the bikes on our list. The product in our number one spot, for example, looks like a bike from the future and, even with the tires removed, doesn’t really resemble a bike you’ve seen on the trails before.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Advanced Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Get on the Trails

Because fat biking has been taking the cycling world by storm, ski hills are starting to provide snow bikers with trails they can traverse during the winter months. Many resorts actually have snow bikes available for rent as well. If you aren’t sure if you will like riding one of these specialty bicycles, you can always test out before you make the decision to invest.

Work It

Let’s face it, it isn’t hard for fitness goals to fall to the wayside during winter months. It’s cold out. You have to start your car ahead of time to ensure it warms up and then drive across the city in the snow and ice to get to the gym. Yuck. When you invest in something like a snow bike, you’re investing in an exercise solution that is fun and, more importantly perhaps, something you can do in the winter months.

Other Factors to Consider

Weight

As you can probably imagine just by looking at the photos of some of the snow bikes we have in our buying guide, the weight of these products can be quite astronomical at times at least in the world of bicycles. That said, there are a number of different factors at play when we are talking about the weight of these. Typically, the more money you are willing to spend on a snow bike, the lighter it will be. Though this definitely isn’t always the case but manufacturer’s will sometimes use more lightweight materials in the construction of their bicycles if they know that the consumer is willing to spend the money to cover the more expensive materials.

Why would weight be a factor you should consider, though? There are many answers to this question. First, let’s consider the fact that having a heavier bike may make cycling more difficult in general. You will have not to not only move your own body weight as you would with a more lightweight bicycle, but you’ll have to be strong enough to be able to move the weight of the bicycle as well. Of course, if you are even considering purchasing a snow bike, you must have some sort of experience with biking for exercise or have a keen eye for adventure so this may not apply to you at all. Another reason why weight matters is when it comes time to transport you bike. If you plan on taking your snow bike with you to adventure somewhere other than your home town, you will want to consider how much weight you are able (and willing) to lift onto your vehicle’s bike carrier. Can your bike carrier hold the weight of the bicycle, even?

Terrain

You may be asking yourself why terrain would be a factor consider when we are talking about bikes made for the snow. Well, yes, of course all of the options on our list are rated for use in wintery weather. But can they be used in other terrain? And how well? First, let’s talk about the tire pressure required in the large tires that snow bikes have. In a typical mountain bike, you will see a tire pressure recommendation in the 35 to 70 psi range. Looking at a car tire, we’re talking 30 and 35 psi. But when it comes to the fat tires that you’ll see on your snow bike, they are often recommended to be filled only between 10 and 20 psi (and sometimes even lower). This low tire pressure will help your new bicycle handle certain types of terrain better. Think of it this way. If you’re walking through snow in a winter boot, you’re going to sink into the soft fluffy stuff fast. If you’re taking a stroll in a snow shoe, however, your weight is spread evenly across a larger surface area which will allow you to stay on top of the surface instead of sinking in as you would with a winter boot. When you pair a wide tire with a low tire pressure, your bike is then able to handle terrain like snow, sand and bogs much better as it then can stay aloft.

All of that said, you can definitely take your snow bike out on other terrain like roads or trails but you should keep a few things in mind. As discussed above, these bicycles weigh more than mountain or road bikes. This makes them harder to pedal when used on terrain such as asphalt or pavement. You shouldn’t expect to win any road races in your snow bike due in part to that lower tire pressure and the general heaviness of the frame. We wouldn’t recommend a snow bike if you’re hoping it will double as a commuting bicycle, unless of course you enjoy a challenge.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why do I need a specific bike for snow?

a:

The bicycles on our list were designed for use in snow (and sand and other terrain that is difficult for regular bikes to traverse over). The tires are wide and require low air pressure which will allow them to be ridden on soft and otherwise unstable terrain. If you have ever tried to use your mountain bike on snow or sand and then compare that experience to riding over the same terrain with a snow bike, you will see very quickly the difference. If you are an avid cyclist and want to take your training outdoors in the winter months, investing in a snow bike is definitely going to benefit you. They are going to provide you with the traction that other bikes and their tires lack. With a snow bike, you are going to get one heck of a workout. Pedaling through newly fallen snow is hard but it is going to be rewarding when you’re cycling through paths that no one else has the equipment to.

q: Can I use my snow bike in the other seasons, too?

a:

Yes, of course. These bikes with their fat tires aren’t just very adept at traversing over snow, they can handle other terrain like sand and rocky traverses. Some beginner mountain bikers use the fat-tired bikes to help them transition to mountain cycling.

q: Why do the tires have to be so fat?

a:

To carve through all that snow, silly. But in reality, the wider the tires are, the smoother and more cushioned your ride is going to be. The fat tires you are going to see in all snow bikes provide much needed stability to keep you upright on snow and ice.

q: Do I need a bike with pedal assist?

a:

You probably don’t need it but it is helpful. The pedal assist technology only kicks into gear when you are in a situation where you’re putting a lot of pressure onto your pedals (e.g., when you’re going up a hill or trying to get out of a snow pile). Having pedal assist on your snow bike might also make you more confident when it comes to traversing terrain you may have not tried to get through otherwise (e.g., slogging through a snow field).

q: What should I wear when I am going cycling in the winter?

a:

This is a fantastic question and a loaded one at that. If you dress in too many layers, you will risk overheating. If you go on the opposite side and don’t wear enough layers, you will be frozen and risk potential injury. In order to find the right balance, you must be willing to experiment a little bit. It may take some time until you are able to figure out just how many layers you’ll need to keep warm without overheating. The important thing to think about is layering up. If you live in a wet climate (think the Pacific Northwest), you will want to invest in a pair of pants that are waterproof. If you’re somewhere in the world where snow and bitter wind chills are a reality, you’ll want to invest in a pair of thermal water-resistant pants and if it’s really cold, some long johns to wear underneath them. You jacket should be both waterproof and breathable which will help provide you with the protection necessary for weather that is cold and wet. Bonus points if the jacket has ventilation for air flow. You will want your first layer that’s closest to your body to be form-fitting and breathable. This will help to keep you warm without overheating you. Reflective details on your clothing are a must if you’re cycling at any time of the day when it is dark. You will also need to consider neck gaiters, waterproof or weather-resistant gloves and cycling socks that will keep you dry, comfortable and warm.