to top 10 table

Best Ski Masks

last updated Mar 10, 2019

When you’re getting ready to hit the slopes there are several pieces of apparel you want to make sure you have in order to ensure you’re providing yourself with the most comfortable and protected day on the mountain. You will want to equip yourself with waterproof boots, snow pants, a warm winter jacket, a helmet, goggles and a ski mask. Ski masks are an often-overlooked part of your skiing attire but they’re incredibly beneficial to have. Protecting the delicate skin of your face and neck is important when you’ll be outside in inclement weather and having a proper ski mask will be of utmost importance. We have compiled a list of the ten best ski masks on the market today. Let’s take a look.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 4 hrs of research

icon
Ergodyne N-Ferno 6823
97.6/100 our score
Materials
99
Water Resistance
90
Style
99
Breathability
100
Value
100
Ergodyne N-Ferno 6823
Why is it better?

Long length

Not bulky

Lightweight but still provides a lot of warmth

Great for freezing temperatures

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Ergodyne N-Ferno 6823
Test Winner: Ergodyne N-Ferno 6823
Amazon Link
Sorting Options
Materials Water Resistance Style Breathability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Materials
99 %
Water Resistance
90 %
Style
99 %
Breathability
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$19.13
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Materials
98 %
Water Resistance
82 %
Style
97 %
Breathability
98 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$14.90
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Materials
96 %
Water Resistance
82 %
Style
95 %
Breathability
96 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$16.95
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Materials
95 %
Water Resistance
80 %
Style
93 %
Breathability
94 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$12.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Materials
92 %
Water Resistance
83 %
Style
90 %
Breathability
92 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$21.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Materials
91 %
Water Resistance
82 %
Style
90 %
Breathability
89 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$14.78
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Materials
87 %
Water Resistance
90 %
Style
90 %
Breathability
85 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$32.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Materials
88 %
Water Resistance
80 %
Style
86 %
Breathability
85 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$44.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Materials
85 %
Water Resistance
80 %
Style
84 %
Breathability
83 %
Value
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$11.98
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
Materials
82 %
Water Resistance
80 %
Style
83 %
Breathability
81 %
Value
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$14.89

Top 10 Picks

1. Ergodyne N-Ferno 6823

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Ergodyne N-Ferno 6823
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Water Resistance
90
Style
99
Breathability
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.13
Pros:

Long length

Not bulky

Lightweight but still provides a lot of warmth

Great for freezing temperatures

Cons:

Some report that the mask squishes their nose

This highly-praised product from Ergodyne is a great option for skiers or people who work outdoors in the winter months. It has a one-size-fits-most design that provides a wind-resistant and warm wearing experience.

Read more

Materials

This product is constructed out of high-quality thermal fleece that will keep the wearer warm and protected from the harsh winter elements. Four-way stretch polyester fabric coupled with the length of this mask will ensure that it fits most heads to provide the best protection.

Breathability

Thanks to the mesh panel over the mouth of this mask, any exhaled breaths will be filtered out of the mask instead of fogging up your ski mask or goggles.

Water-Resistance
Some people were unhappy with the amount of water-resistance that this product has. Others mentioned that they didn’t notice whether or not it was waterproof because the materials kept them warm regardless.

Style

This mask has a balaclava style. It completely covers your entire head. It can be worn in other ways to suit different situations, such as a neck gaiter. It comes in either black, camouflage, grey or lime green.

Value
This product is priced similarly to the other products on our list. We liked that it came in a number of different colors and that it is a versatile option for different applications.

2. Self Pro Balaclava

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Self Pro Balaclava
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Water Resistance
82
Style
97
Breathability
98
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.90
Pros:

Works well for a multitude of applications

Inside is lined with a soft material

Comfortable fit

Provides wind protection

Cons:

May fog glasses

This product from Self Pro is a great option for a number of different uses – as a motorcycle mask, for skiing and even just for wearing to walk your dog. It’s made with CoolMax material to provide wearers with a breathable, absorbent and warm experience.

Read more

Materials

This product is made from a polyester fiber that is designed to take moisture away from your skin.

Breathability

The mesh panel in front of the mouth area on this mask makes it a breathable option. The fabric in the nose and mouth area makes it easier to breath and it will stay dry, even if you are a mouth breather.

Water-Resistance

Though the manufacturer doesn’t mention that this product is waterproof or water-resistant, reviews from current users suggest that they have worn it in inclement weather and it has done an admirable job of keeping their face warm.

Style

This balaclava will protect wearers not only from the cold and wind, but also from dust particles and the UV rays of the sun. It has a unisex design that can be worn in a number of ways – as a balaclava, neck gaiter, to cover just the lower portion of your face or even as a hat. It comes in two different options – “Extra Warmth Polar Fleece” which costs a dollar more than the traditional option.

Value

Price similarly to other options on our list, this mask from Self-Pro is an affordable addition to your winter outerwear collection.

3. Tough Headwear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Tough Headwear
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Water Resistance
82
Style
95
Breathability
96
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.95
Pros:

Lifetime guarantee from the company

Reflective logos make it easy to see you in the dark

Lightweight

Can be worn in many different ways

Cons:

Expensive

Though this product is the most expensive (by far) on our top ten list, we had to include it because of the lifetime warranty that Tough Headwear provides its customers.

Read more

Materials

This ski mask is made from a stretchy and breathable fabric that will not only protect your face from the harsh elements but will wick away moisture as well to help you stay comfortable during your excursions. It is 89% polyester and 11% spandex for stretch and comfort.

Breathability

As mentioned above, this product has moisture-wicking capabilities that will help it stay breathable while you are wearing it. There is a mesh panel over the mouth area of the balaclava that will keep you comfortable while ensuring increased airflow.

Water-Resistance

Though the listing for this product doesn’t mention that it’s waterproof, there are reviews from current owners that suggest it held up well in wet weather.

Style

This mask has a balaclava style. It is helmet-friendly so you can feel free to wear this underneath your ski, bicycle or even motorcycle helmet for protection from the elements.

Value

Though this is the most expensive ski mask on our list by quite a lot, there is a lot of value provided here and it might be worth the investment for you if you are a serious winter sports fanatic.

4. Aegend

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Aegend
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Water Resistance
80
Style
93
Breathability
94
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.99
Pros:

Different colors to choose from

High-quality construction

Wind-proof

Works well in extremely inclement weather

Cons:

Some complaints that this product fit small

Here we have yet another balaclava style option, this one from Aegend. This product is going to help keep you warm during all of your cold weather activities, providing protection from wind, dust, extreme cold and even the rays of the sun.

Read more

Materials

This balaclava is made from 88% polyester and 12% spandex which will provide a comfortable, soft and well-performing ski mask that will be pill-proof as well. Fleece lining is used not only to help block the wind while you’re outdoors but to provide you with warmth as well.

Breathability

The materials on this ski mask ensure that it is a breathable product. It’s also absorbent and durable as well.

Water-Resistance

Though this ski mask is not waterproof, it does dry very quickly if it happens to get wet while you are outdoors.

Style

This ski mask also has a balaclava style, like many of the others on our list. It is available in either black, grey, white or pink.

Value

The Aegend balaclava is the cheapest product on our top ten list. Don’t let its incredibly affordable price tag fool you though, this is still a high-quality and well-received item and should remain a contender on your list.

5. Under Armour ColdGear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Under Armour ColdGear
Amazon Link
Materials
92
Water Resistance
83
Style
90
Breathability
92
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$21.99
Pros:

Dries quickly when wet

Material feels nice to the touch

Stretches well

Comfortable to wear all day

Cons:

Some found that it fit loosely

This might be the first ski mask on our list from a brand name that you’ve heard of. The Under Armour balaclava is a highly-praised product that will keep your face warm during all of your winter outdoor adventures.

Read more

Materials

This product from Under Armour is made with a thermo-conductive inner layer that will help to absorb and keep in your body heat, providing exceptional warmth in cold temperatures. It is made of 87% polyester and 13% elastane fabrics.

Breathability

The fabric used in the construction of this balaclava is designed to be anti-odor. It will not allow the growth of odor-causing microbes to ensure your apparel stays fresh even after you’ve worn it all day.

Water-Resistance

The materials used on the UA balaclava is designed to wick sweat away quickly and will try very quickly if it were to get wet.

Style

This ski mask uses a balaclava style. It’s form-fitting and will provide users with full facial protection during inclement weather.

Value

With a name brand product such as this, you can expect to pay a little more. We were actually surprised, however, at how affordably priced this high-quality, well-respected name brand product is.

6. GearTOP

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
GearTOP
Amazon Link
Materials
91
Water Resistance
82
Style
90
Breathability
89
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.78
Pros:

Good for milder temperatures

Can be used during winter sports or even motorcycling

Great wind protection

Nice contours for facing covering

Cons:

Not as warm as other options

Fits a bit tight at first

This product from GearTOP might not be your first choice if you live where the temperatures can reach frigid levels in the winter, but it is still a worthwhile contender you should consider on your hunt for the best ski mask.

Read more

Materials

This balaclava is made from Super Roubaix fabric. This material is designed for use in winter and has an interlocking knit that fits similarly to spandex. It will help to keep your ski mask feeling insulated by using your own body heat.

Breathability

The Super Roubaix fabric helps aid in the overall breathability of this balaclava. There is no mesh panel over the mouth, however, so that might be a concern for some people.

Water-Resistance

This balaclava is not marketed as waterproof. That said, some current users still found it comfortable to wear even if it did get a little wet during use.

Style

This mask is a balaclava style. It is available in a number of different package options (two packs, ten packs, etc) and can be purchased in either white or black. This mask dips over the top of your nose, ensuring that it’s covered for utmost protection. This product is also a bit longer in length that will help to protect your neck from the cold and wind.

Value

With a lifetime satisfaction guarantee, you have nothing to lose when you invest the pennies necessary to purchase this ski mask from GearTOP.

7. Beardski

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Beardski
Amazon Link
Materials
87
Water Resistance
90
Style
90
Breathability
85
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$32.95
Pros:

Unique style will get you noticed

Works well in cold weather

Water-resistant

High-quality silk backing

Cons:

Handwash only

Beard can blow around if it is windy

Are you sick of seeing all of the same looking balaclavas on our list? How about this...unique….product from Beardski? You’ll be the talk of the ski slopes when you wear this one!

Read more

Materials

The neck of this ski mask is made with a thermal fleece material to ensure you’ll stay warm while you’re on the slopes. The mouth has a neoprene material construction to ensure comfort.

Breathability

Thanks to the vented neoprene material in the mouth area of this ski mask, wearers will find this mask to be decently breathable.

Water-Resistance

Here it is, folks. The first ski mask on our list that is labeled in the listing as water-resistant.

Style

There is a lot to say about the style of this ski mask. It won’t be for everybody but anyone who likes to stand out in a crowd, the Beardski will be right up your alley. With 14 different colors and styles to choose from, there is sure to be a beard style that suits your fancy.

Value

This product is priced a bit higher than most of the other options on our list. That’s understandable considering the novelty style of the Beardski. If you’re the clown in your group of friends, surely they will get a kick out of this ski mask which may make the slightly higher price tag worth it for you.

8. Nike Pro Combat Hyperwarm

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Nike Pro Combat Hyperwarm
Amazon Link
Materials
88
Water Resistance
80
Style
86
Breathability
85
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.99
Pros:

Can be used as a neck gaiter

Doesn’t fog up glasses

Warm for winter temperatures

Soft material

Cons:

Can feel restricting for some users

Here’s another brand name you are probably going to recognize. This hood from Nike is a great ski mask designed for use by athletes but usable by regular folk like us as well.

Read more

Materials

This ski mask is constructed from Nike’s Therma-Fit material. This fabric is a microfiber fleece that is designed to retain energy and resist heat loss. It will protect users from extreme temperatures and wind without adding too much bulk.

Breathability

Some current users suggest that this hood is quite restricting. If you are exercising hard while wearing it, you may find it hard to breathe in.

Water-Resistance
This product is not necessarily water-resistant, but it does have materials that help keep you dry.
Style

This product looks like your standard run-of-the-mill balaclava. With the Nike logo emblazoned on the side, of course.

Value

This is the second most expensive option on our top ten list. With a brand name like Nike attached to it, though, you can see why.

9. Tahbilk

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Tahbilk
Amazon Link
Materials
85
Water Resistance
80
Style
84
Breathability
83
Value
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.98
Pros:

Affordable price tag

Folds easily

Different color options

Can cinch the cords for extra coverage

Cons:

Will fog up glasses or goggles

Has a strong scent

This affordable ski mask from Tahbilk is a great option for outdoor adventurers on a budget. It is a toasty warm mask that will keep you comfortable while you traverse the slopes.

Read more

Materials

This ski mask is made from polar fleece material. This fabric choice will help to ensure that you will stay warm in extreme temperatures and high winds.

Breathability

There doesn’t seem to be a mesh panel by the mouth area of this balaclava so that might be an area of concern for some people. Some reviewers mentioned that this ski mask was very toasty, perhaps too toasty in some cases.

Water-Resistance

This product is not water-resistant, though it will dry fast if it were to get wet.

Style

This product is in a balaclava style. It is available in four different color options, however, which helps to set it apart from many of the other options on our list. You can choose between a black/grey, black/red, grey/black and grey/rose. The second color is in the inside of the hood as well as on the fabric that covers your mouth.

Value

This is the second most affordable option on our top ten list. Considering all of the benefits you get with this ski mask, we consider it to definitely be worth the price tag.

10. KINGBIKE

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
KINGBIKE
Amazon Link
Materials
82
Water Resistance
80
Style
83
Breathability
81
Value
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.89
Pros:

Comes in different sizes for a more accurate fit

Great for use during winter runs

Great for freezing temperatures

Works for folks with bigger heads

Cons:

May not be the best for people with glasses

Finally, we have made it to the last ski mask on our list. This option from KINGBIKE is both water and windproof, making it a must-have for folks who live in climates with harsh winter weather.

Read more

Materials

This ski mask is made from a micro-polar fleece material that will keep you both comfortable and warm when you hit the slopes.

Breathability

This product has mesh breathing panels that will help to add airflow in your mask for utmost comfort. This feature will also help to ensure the amount of condensation you experience on your goggles or sunglasses is kept to a minimum.

Water-Resistance

Yes! This ski mask is waterproof. Well, it’s waterproof in vulnerable areas which is a lot more than some of the other options on our list.

Style

Why break tradition? This ski mask, like most of the options on our list, is a balaclava style to ensure that your entire face and warm are kept warm when you’re outside facing inclement weather.

Value

This is an affordably priced ski mask option. It is priced around the same as most of the options on our list but we loved that it has waterproof features, something many of the other products lacked.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

Warmth is of utmost importance.

If you’re wearing your new mask on the ski slopes, you’re going to want it to be warm. This is true even if you’re using this mask for cycling or motorcycling and won’t be getting anywhere near a mountain. Wind can be a tough force to deal with, and having a ski mask made from the right kind of material will be of utmost importance. The material in your ski mask should be able to protect you from the elements. You’ll want something that is made with a soft fabric to avoid irritating the sensitive skin on your face or neck. You’ll also want a material that is going to help keep some of that damaging wind off of your face.

The most common material you’re going to see on our list is fleece. This is because this type of fabric provides a soft, plush feeling that is excellent at providing warmth. Polyester fleece is a type of fleece that provides a smooth outside on your ski mask while ensuring the inside is warm and plush for additional comfort.

Water Resistance

Wet skin is unhappy skin.

A ski masks ability to resist water may be an important box you want to be able to check off. Though not all of the products on our list are completely waterproof, some are water-resistant and all of them will dry quickly once they’re wet. Nothing is quite as uncomfortable as dealing with a wet, cold face during your adventures on the ski slopes. Especially if you’re stuck dealing with that unbearable cold for an entire day. If you’re looking for something that is waterproof, you’ll want to look at product number 10 from KINGBIKE. Though this ski mask is not entirely waterproof, the vulnerable areas of the mask are fitted with waterproof fabric to ensure you stay comfortable. Product number seven from Beardski is also listed as water-resistant.

Style

You don't have to sacrifice style for warmth.

Most of the ski mask options on our list employ a balaclava style. This is the most popular design of ski masks because it is going to keep your entire face and neck warm. The balaclava is a close-fitting garment that is designed to only expose your eyes (and sometimes nose). The design of this mask makes it perfect to wear in climates with very cold winter temperatures as it will keep parts of your body that your winter coat and snow pants cannot cover warm. Some of the ski masks are available in different size and color options. If you’re a wild and crazy kind of guy, you might want to pay extra close attention to product number seven from Beardski. This particular mask is very unique in design and will definitely set you apart from other people on the slopes.

Value

You don't have to break the bank to protect yourself.

You work hard for your money. It’s fair to not want to spend an exorbitant amount of it on something that you might only use a few times a year. We have some great news for you, though. The majority of the products on our list are less than $20 – a fair price to pay for protection from the harsh, inclement winter weather that you’re likely to experience on the slopes. There are a couple of options on our list that go above that $20 price point, but the point we’re trying to make here is that you don’t have to spend a lot of money on a ski mask if you’re on a budget. The lower priced products have just as much protection as the more expensive ones.

Breathability

Breathability is an important factor in outdoor apparel for several reasons. If you want to stay comfortable while you’re participating in outdoor sports like skiing, breathability should be an area you want to pay close attention to. The amount of breathability in a ski mask, or any type of apparel, often comes down to the materials the garment is constructed out of. When a ski mask is breathable, air can circulate under and over it, allowing sweat and wetness to quickly dry to prevent any potential bacteria build up. When you’re wearing wet clothes for an extended period of time, you will begin to sweat. When you have a lot of moisture sitting on your skin for any length of time, you make yourself more susceptible to fungal infections. Having a ski mask that is breathable will allow you to have healthier, dryer and much less smelly skin.
Many of the ski masks on our list have mesh panels over the mouth area of the garment. This will allow your breath in and out of the mask instead of keeping all of that inside, increasing the likelihood of overheating and restricted airflow.

expert tips icon
You Need Protection

Forgoing a ski mask when you’re going skiing or snowboarding can be a devastating mistake. You can easily get frostbite without adequate protection. Exposure to the elements can cause the top layers of your skin and even the tissues underneath it to freeze. Frostbite most often happens to people’s fingers, toes, nose, and ears. While a ski mask obviously can’t help keep your toes and fingers safe, it will surely cover your nose and ears.

Test It Out First

We get it. You’re excited to use your new ski mask and can’t wait to take it out on the slopes. The thing is, though, you need to test it out before you get to the top of the mountain. Whether or not you’re wearing it while shoveling the snow in your driveway or when you’re out for a chilly winter walk, you should test out just how warm your ski mask is BEFORE you’re strapping on your skis. This will ensure that you’ve found a garment that will keep you warm enough and will protect you from the dangers of frostbite. It would be quite a tragedy to be ready to go down your first hill of the day only to find out that your ski mask isn’t effective at cutting wind.

Don’t Forget Your Eyes

Now that we have the delicate skin of your face and neck covered with your balaclava, the only other part of your body that is exposed to the elements is your eyes. We can’t very well cover your eyes with your ski mask, so that’s when purchasing an effective pair of ski goggles comes in handy. Do not underestimate the importance of eye protection. Most goggles will be able to fit over the top of your balaclava so you do not need to choose one or the other.

Other Factors to Consider

Color

While this might not be a huge deciding factor for some folks, the more fashion-conscious skiers may want to consider the color of their mask prior to purchasing. Though most of the options on our top ten list come in black only, there are a few options that come in other colors as well. The mask from Tahbilk, for example, comes in either black with grey, black with red, grey with black or grey and pink. The Beardski mask comes in a number of different colors and styles of beard (i.e., Rasta, Merlin, Santa) so that users are able to choose the style and color that best suits their personality.

Protection

This is a very important box that you want to ensure that your new ski mask can check off. There is no point in purchasing a ski mask if it isn’t going to provide you with any sort of protection from the elements. When it comes to the amount of protection provided, you’ll want to look at whether or not the item is waterproof to determine if it will keep you dry on the mountain and what material it is made out of to keep you warm during your adventures. Other factors to consider are where the mask is going to protect. Some options on the market might not protect the sensitive skin of the neck, whereas most of the options on our list are extra long to ensure the best protection possible.

Versatility

Maybe you’re a skier in the winter and a motorcyclist or bicyclist in the other months of the year. If you live somewhere that has all four seasons, you know how chilly those early spring and late autumn mornings and evenings can be. You may find yourself wishing you had something to wear around your neck to keep your neck warm during those rides, but you know your ski mask would be overkill. That’s when the versatility comes in handy. Some of the products on our top ten list can be worn as neck gaiters, hats, balaclavas, open masks, dust masks, and closed masks.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How will I clean my new ski mask?

a:

When you spend all day on the slopes, you may find that it doesn’t take long for your balaclava to get smelly with your sweat. Naturally, you are going to eventually want to clean your ski mask. Some can be thrown in your washing machine and dried with your regular clothing. Others, like the Beardski, require handwashing only. You will want to refer to the manufacturer’s instructions on the particular ski mask you choose to order. When in doubt, handwash.

q: Are they waterproof?

a:

The answer to this will depend entirely on which product you choose. Some are labeled as waterproof right in their product listing, while others say they are only water-resistant or that they have moisture-wicking properties. All of the options on our top ten list are made from quick-drying fabrics so even if your ski mask does get wet, it will dry quickly.

q: Can I wear my ski goggles with this mask?

a:

Yes. All of the options on our list are compatible with ski goggles. It is worth noting, however, that some current users of some of the masks on our list mention that the nature of the mask makes it so when they breathe, their goggles fog up.

q: What is a balaclava?

a:

You may have come across the word ‘balaclava’ for the first time ever while reading our ski mask buying guide. That’s ok. We didn’t know what they were at first either. A balaclava is a piece of cloth headgear that will only expose part of the face, usually just the eyes and nose. The name of this apparel comes from its use at the Battle of Balaclava in 1984 during the Crimean War. When balaclavas were first being constructed, they were typically made from wool. Nowadays they can be made from other materials like silk, neoprene, and polar fleece. These are commonly seen on the slopes as they do a great job in protecting skiers and snowboarders from the harsh winter elements. Motorcyclists and cyclists also wear balaclavas when riding in inclement weather to protect their face and neck.

q: Can I wear my ski mask all year?

a:

While this might seem like a silly question – why would you want to wear a ski mask in September when there’s no snow? – the actual answer is, with some of these products on our list, yes, you can wear them all year. There are some ski mask options above that are versatile in use. They can be worn as neck gaiters, skull caps, ninja-style or in any other way that your creative mind can come up with. Some people have worn their ski masks as neck gaiters for bicycling in the cooler months of the year.

q: Do I really need to wear a ski mask?

a:

Do you want to get frostbite? That might seem extreme, but it is a very real possibility, especially if you find yourself on the mountain for an extended period of time. Frostbite can cause long-lasting or permanent damage that can result in chronic pain and a sensitivity to cold. The recovery for frostbite can be extremely painful, not to mention long. It can sometimes take up to three months before doctors are even able to determine how much tissue damage occurred as a result of your frostbite. Aside from your fingers and toes, your nose, lips, and ears are some of the more commonly affected parts of the body. Wearing a properly fitting ski mask will protect three of the five commonly frostbitten areas. You then only need to worry about proper ski gloves and warm socks.

Sources

  1. Giordana Cycling, Fabrics,
  2. Tennis Warehouse, Nike Therma-FIT,
  3. Anatol, Understanding Different Types of Fleece,
  4. Healthline, Frostbite Stages,
  5. Wikipedia, Balaclava (clothing),