to top 10 table

Best Pressure Cookers

last updated Sep 20, 2019

I don’t know anyone who doesn’t know how to appreciate good food. Dishes that are cooked to perfection. Tender meat that is mouthwatering, not to mention healthy. Every occasion is worth celebrating over good food. The invention of pressure ers is heaven sent! You can prepare home-cooked meals fast but without sacrificing the quality. You have heard of these products before but let us guide you on purchasing the best pressure cooker in the market. Yes, it is true that they have one purpose but the second-generation cookers are more elaborate.
Our list of the best ones will help you decide which brand to go for. But more than just a list of brands, this guide will also help you understand more about this product. So much bad publicity has been said about it. You will soon discover that these are far from the truth! Here is our 10-best pick.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 2,4 hrs of research

icon
Instant Pot DUO60
96.4/100 our score
Insulation
98
Capacity
97
Durability
96
Features
96
Versatility
95
Instant Pot DUO60
Why is it better?

It is very user-friendly.

You can control the amount of pressure you want with a low and high-pressure option.

The handle alerts you if it is not closed properly.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Instant Pot DUO60
Test Winner: Instant Pot DUO60
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
7
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
12
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
2,4
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
17
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Insulation Capacity Durability Features Versatility By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Insulation
98 %
Capacity
97 %
Durability
96 %
Features
96 %
Versatility
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$87.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Insulation
94 %
Capacity
94 %
Durability
93 %
Features
93 %
Versatility
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$218.97
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Insulation
91 %
Capacity
91 %
Durability
90 %
Features
90 %
Versatility
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$162.71
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Insulation
88 %
Capacity
87 %
Durability
86 %
Features
85 %
Versatility
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$99.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.2
Insulation
84 %
Capacity
84 %
Durability
83 %
Features
83 %
Versatility
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$49.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Insulation
81 %
Capacity
81 %
Durability
80 %
Features
79 %
Versatility
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$76.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77
Insulation
78 %
Capacity
78 %
Durability
77 %
Features
76 %
Versatility
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$249.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.2
Insulation
75 %
Capacity
75 %
Durability
74 %
Features
74 %
Versatility
73 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
70.8
Insulation
72 %
Capacity
72 %
Durability
71 %
Features
70 %
Versatility
69 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$69.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
67.2
Insulation
68 %
Capacity
68 %
Durability
67 %
Features
67 %
Versatility
66 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$57.22

Best Pressure Cookers

1. Instant Pot DUO60

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Instant Pot DUO60
Amazon Link
Insulation
98
Capacity
97
Durability
96
Features
96
Versatility
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$87.99
Pros:

It is very user-friendly.

You can control the amount of pressure you want with a low and high-pressure option.

The handle alerts you if it is not closed properly.

Cons:

The inner pot is narrow which is not ideal for cooking a whole chicken.

This second-generation electric top is a multi-cooker that feels like having a combination of 7 appliances in one. It cooks your dishes as much as 70% times faster.

Read more

Insulation
This is effectively insulated. It has an embedded microprocessor that allows you to monitor the temperature and the pressure level. You can also adjust the intensity of the heat, so you can control how your food is cooked.

Capacity
It is a 6-quart size pot that can cook up to 5 pounds of meat. It is just right for a regular sized family or group of people.

Durability
It is made of stainless steel that is food grade 304. The bottom is 3-ply to evenly distribute heat. It is UL and ULC certified for added assurance and avoid accidents associated with this product.

Features
It has 14 smart programs that let you cook different dish preparations. With just a touch of a button, you can cook your favorite meal easily. It also comes with an added safety mechanism to ensure safety.

Versatility
This is a multi-cooker that combines 7 cooking appliances in one. You can cook rice, steam meat, and vegetables, make yogurt, etc. You can use this, of course, and doubles as slow cooker as well.

Safety Hazards
This product uses the latest technology to ensure safety for the users. It comes with microprocessors you can monitor the temperature and the pressure level. You can easily let it cool before opening them so you won’t have to worry about getting burned. The lid is strategically placed so that when you open it you can safely keep your distance.

2. Fissler Vitaquick

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Fissler Vitaquick
Amazon Link
Insulation
94
Capacity
94
Durability
93
Features
93
Versatility
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$218.97
Pros:

It is very durable.

The stainless steel is resistant to dents.

This model gives you a lot of room for cooking different dishes.

It is easy to open and close the lid.

Cons:

It is a bit more expensive.

This product is compatible with all type of stoves, even induction cooker. The handle has a locking indicator for safety.

Read more

Insulation
This product has a locking indicator to ensure that the lid is closed shut. The insulation ensures that the cooker effectively pressurizes the food. The hyperthermic base also guarantees the even distribution and retention of heat.

Capacity
It is 8.5 quarts that are very suitable for large meals. No need to make use of other pots to complete your cooking.

Durability
It is made of stainless steel material that is durable. The base is also hyperthermic.

Features
It has a unique positioning aid, and speed settings to help you control how you cook your food. It has a locking indicator for safety also has an evaporation valve to that the steam is not concentrated on the handle.

Versatility
It is not suitable for slow cooking and rice. This is more ideal to pressurized cooking but what makes it versatile is that it is suited for all types of stoves, even induction stoves.

Safety Hazards
The most important criteria are the safety hazard and this passed with flying colors. It has a practical positioning aid so you can easily close and open the lid without worrying about your safety.

3. Calphalon Stainless

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Calphalon Stainless
Amazon Link
Insulation
91
Capacity
91
Durability
90
Features
90
Versatility
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$162.71
Pros:

It has a convenient open and lock button.

It has a pressure regulating controls.

It has a 10-year limited warranty.

Cons:

The insulation can be improved. Some users complain about making a mess while using it.

This product is a great choice, especially for busy weekdays. It reduces the cooking time in half and lets you enjoy delicious meals.

Read more

Insulation
It has a unique locking rim that ensures the lock with just a touch of a button. There is no fear of unaligned gaskets.

Capacity
This is a 6-quart pot that is ideal for a small to medium sized group of people. If you have family and friends over for meals, this is good enough for that purpose.

Durability
Because it is made of stainless steel material, it is made to last a long time. The design also contributes to its durability.

Features
It has a one-button locking system. It also has a pressure regulation button, to control the way you want your food to be cooked.

Versatility
This product is ideal for preparing not just meat but also works well with cooking rice, chili, and more. It can also be used on any stovetop or induction stoves.

Safety Hazards
The one-clock lock button is the biggest safety feature of this product. You are sure that while you are using it, it will not accidentally open.

4. Mealthy Multipot

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Mealthy Multipot
Amazon Link
Insulation
88
Capacity
87
Durability
86
Features
85
Versatility
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$99.95
Pros:

You have access to loads of recipes.

It has 9 functions.

It is very safe and easy to use.

Cons:

It is perfect for smaller groups and smaller kitchens.

This is another multi cooker in our list that impressed us. It is a 9-in-1 cooker that lets you cook in a few minutes. It also lets you access loads of recipes you can try.

Read more

Insulation
The insulation is ensured with silicone gaskets that keep the pressure inside for easy cooking.

Capacity
It has a 6-quart stainless steel pot ideal for a small to medium party.

Durability
It is made of stainless steel pots, steamer and trivet to last a long time. It includes spare silicone gaskets so you can continue to enjoy the benefits even if the original gasket has worn out.

Features
It has a 9-in-1 function that gives you a lot of value for your money. It has a bright red float to prompt you when the pressure is reached. It also has easy touch control so you can choose your cooking preference. It even has LCD control panels with progress indicators.

Versatility
This is truly versatile because it's a cooker with 9 multi-functions.

Safety Hazards
This product comes with a bright red float to alert you if the pressure is reached. It also has an extra-wide vent handle that lets you release steam safely. It underwent strict testing methods to ensure safety.

5. Presto 6 Quart

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.2
Presto 6 Quart
Amazon Link
Insulation
84
Capacity
84
Durability
83
Features
83
Versatility
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.00
Pros:

It is very easy to use.

It has modern safety mechanisms to ensure safety at all times.

It is made of stainless-steel materials.

Cons:

There are some issues on how customer service is handling warranty claims.

This is ideal for cooking any meat, fish, and vegetables. It comes with a 64-page instruction and recipe book that you can experiment on.

Read more

Insulation
This product comes with a lock indicator to ensure that there is pressure inside. This ensures that there is effective insulation otherwise it will not cook properly.

Capacity
This is a 6-quart pot that is ideal for a small to medium group of people. You can cook meals conveniently without having to switch pots.

Durability
It is made of stainless steel material that is made to last. It also has a heavy-duty lock.

Features
It has a pop-up pressure indicator, a steam release mechanism and a plug that you can use to release steam if too much pressure builds up. It is easy to clean.

Versatility
You can cook any form of meat and fish conveniently. It is also suitable for any stove top or inductive stoves.

Safety Hazards
This product has a very effective safety mechanism. It has a heavy-duty lid that keeps the cover sealed while cooking. It has an indicator to monitor the pressure level and a plug that you can use to release pressure it if builds too much pressure.

6. in-1 PressurePro 4quart

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
10-in-1 PressurePro 4quart
Amazon Link
Insulation
81
Capacity
81
Durability
80
Features
79
Versatility
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$76.99
Pros:

It has a 10-in-1 function which makes it very economical

It is easy to use.

It is made of food grade materials that won’t contaminate the food.

Cons:

It is only suitable as an electric top which might not be as effective in pressure cooking.

It is very easy to use a product with pre-programmed buttons to adjust the temperature and pressure levels automatically. It is really worth your investment because it has 10 cooking functions. It is small and ideal for small kitchens.

Read more

Insulation
This cooker has excess pressure protection, double lock protection, open lid protection, and a pressure control device. All these features are proof of a well-insulated pot that offers effective pressurized cooking method.

Capacity
This is a 4-quart pot and for small groups only. Ideal for single cooked meals or sharing for two.

Durability
It has a non-stick FDA approved inner pot with a stainless steel lock lid. Stainless steel materials are made to last a long time.

Features
It has a one-touch button for easy cooking. It has a 10-in-1 function. It is ETL certified with modern safety and security features to put your mind at ease.

Versatility
It has a 10-in-1 function that lets you cook rice, slow cook dishes, make yogurt, etc.

Safety Hazards
This product is made for safety and security with built-in safety features. It has pre-programmed buttons so you can adjust the temperature and pressure levels. It has a safety lock lid and keeps warm mode.

7. The Breville Electric

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77
The Breville Electric
Amazon Link
Insulation
78
Capacity
78
Durability
77
Features
76
Versatility
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$249.95
Pros:

You can clean it thoroughly with a removable lid and dishwasher safe parts.

It has automatic settings.

It has an interactive LCD screen

Cons:

The size of the cooker may be an issue because you may have to look for a big enough space to accommodate it.

This is definitely the cream of the crop and the price speaks for itself. It comes with manual control for timing and pressure levels.

Read more

Insulation
It has a very effective insulation system that it has a gauge at the lid and the base of the cooker. This allows you to monitor the heat and pressure and adjust accordingly. It also has a steam vent to release pressure in case of emergency or if you just want to lessen the pressure.

Capacity
This cooker has a 6-quart pot. Ideal for small to medium groups or two families at most.

Durability
It is made of brush stainless steel. The design also contributes to its effectiveness and durability. The easy touch buttons ensure that you can easily control it and care for it.

Features
It has dual sensors at the bottom and top so you can monitor your cooking accurately. It has an LCD display that is fully interactive.

Versatility
You can use this cooker to pressure cook, like a slow cooker, steam food, reduce, sautéed or sear. You can do all that with just a touch of a button.

Safety Hazards
This product has the capacity to automatically adjust the time, temperature and levels of pressure. You can easily control your cooking activities from its interactive LCD display.

8. Crock-Pot 6 quart 8-in-1

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.2
Crock-Pot 6 quart 8-in-1
Amazon Link
Insulation
75
Capacity
75
Durability
74
Features
74
Versatility
73
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

It has a delay start button, that lets you keep your food warm at a later time.

It has multi functions that effectively cooks food.

It is easy to clean with a 6-quart nonstick pot.

Cons:

The pot coating can be improved. It can scratch easily.

This is a product by the world leader in one-pot cooking, Crack-pot. This is an all-in-one slow cooker, pressure cooker and/or steamer.

Read more

Insulation
It has an airtight lid that locks the cooker to keep it sealed in order to effectively build pressure.

Capacity
This cooker is a 6-quart capacity, which is ideal for small to medium groups.

Durability
It is made of stainless-steel materials; it is built and designed for durability.

Features
It has a nonstick inner pot and is dishwasher safe. It has a delay start time so you can maintain the food temperature even if you serve it late.

Versatility
It can be used to cook different food such as meat, stew, beans, rice or risotto, yogurt, etc. All that can be done with one touch button.

Safety Hazards
The safety feature of this product is the safety locking lid. It ensures that the lid stays in place, so you won’t have to worry about it flying to your ceiling.

9. Power Pressure Cooker XL

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
70.8
Power Pressure Cooker XL
Amazon Link
Insulation
72
Capacity
72
Durability
71
Features
70
Versatility
69
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.99
Pros:

It is big enough for a large group of guests.

It can cook meals in minutes.

It is dishwasher safe.

Cons:

The inner pot which is made of non-stick material can be an issue for other people.

This product is very competitive because it has the same functions as other multi cookers at a cheaper price. It is a 6-in-1 cooker that has a Flavor Infusion Technology.

Read more

Insulation
The insulation system is supported by a safety lock lid to ensure that the pressure is trapped and sealed in.

Capacity
It is an 8-quart cooker that is ideal for large groups. It can cook different meat cuts, vegetables, fish and other food items.

Durability
It is made of stainless materials for durability. Its design is made as such to ensure that this cooker will last you a long time with easy to manage buttons and uncomplicated open and close lid.

Features
It can lock in the flavor of home-cooked meals and cooks in less the time required. It is one-touch cooking and it has a large capacity to feed a large group of people.

Versatility
This cooker can also be used as a canner, slow cooker, steamer, soup maker and rice cooker.

Safety Hazards
This cooker has a large arm handle that allows you to keep a safe distance when opening the lid. It also has a safety lock lid so you won’t have to worry about it popping open while cooking.

10. T-Fal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
67.2
T-Fal
Amazon Link
Insulation
68
Capacity
68
Durability
67
Features
67
Versatility
66
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$57.22
Pros:

It is suitable for any heat source.

It is very easy to use.

It has safety features that put your worries to rest.

Cons:

There can be issues with warranty claims.

This is one of our favorites because of its safety features and heavy-duty materials. There are only a few of this kind that can reach 15 PSI.

Read more

Insulation
It has a secure locking lid that ensures the pressure is sealed. It also features a steam release valve that lets you decrease the steam when needed. It is also effectively designed to keep the lid closed when in use and under pressure.

Capacity
It is 6.5 quarts and is ideal for a large group.

Durability
It is made durable with stainless steel materials. The handles are riveted for a secure grip.

Features
It is suitable for any type of heat source even induction. It cooks meals in almost 70% less time. It is easy to clean as well as maintain.

Versatility
You can use this to cook different dishes and food recipes. It is also suitable for any heat source.

Safety Hazards
The safety features are very impressive. It has a safety valve; a pressure indicator and it safely opens and closes. It has a secure locking lid and steam release valves.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Insulation

This is one of the criteria we considered because the effectiveness of the product depends on its insulation.

This item uses steam to pressurize food and tenderize them fast. The insulation plays an important role in how effective it is. With this, the lid is insulated to make sure that the heat is sealed. If the makers made use of modern technology to make efficient insulation to the cooker, you are sure that the item you are buying is not a waste of time and money.
The use of this kitchen item has become popular mainly because it is very time efficient. But it does not only save you time it also saves energy. With effective insulation, it raises the temperature of your pot efficiently. This is why we think it is a very important criterion to look into.

Capacity

When using cookers, we can’t fill them up to the brim. We need to leave some room for the pressure to build up.

If you fill it up, it can spill over while steaming vegetables and emit hot liquid that can be dangerous. So, we had to look into the capacity. If you are one that loves to cook for a good number of people, you must consider the capacity. Some look bulky but have very small capacity while some a lot bigger. You can easily check the capacity by checking the product dimension. Usually, how many liters it can accommodate will also be indicated in the product information or the box.

Durability

Each product cost a little more than ordinary pots, this is why we need to check the durability.

We need to make sure that what we’re buying is going to last. Once you have started using this, you will definitely be using it often. It is so convenient that you will not go back to conventional cooking. This being said, you will wear it down, so it is important to be durable.
When we say durable, it has to be made from high-quality materials. You can also check the workmanship of each product. If you learn how to look closely, the design and the way each item is crafted will reflect how well they were made. These subcategories all work into play to spell durability.

Features

Although these kitchen items have one purpose, there have been so many innovations since its invention.

It is only fitting to look into special features that differentiate one from the other. With so many products and brands available, you can only differentiate them from delving more into their features. Sometimes, this is what makes it worthier of your time and investment. Some items are priced just the same but some have more features that will make you think twice. We checked features like additional functions, whether it’s stainless steel or ceramic. We also considered if they have non-drip lids and easy touch button functions.

Versatility

For smart cooks like me, versatility is an important factor.

If you can have a pressure cooker that can cook more types of food recipes, it’s better! I don’t need a lot of cooking pots, just a few that I can use for so many other functions. The modern ones nowadays are designed for a lot more than just making those meat tender. Now there are stovetop and countertop or electric cookers that are so much more versatile. You can now cook so many dishes in half the time it normally takes to prepare them.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Safety Hazards
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Maintenance

These are quite pricey, so we want you to care for them properly in order for it last. One important thing to remember is that when cleaning your pressure-cooking pot, you have to be carefully clean the lid. You need to clean the gasket and valves properly to keep the stink away. You can do so by soaking them hot water with soap.

Keep Parts Handy

Another thing to remember is that you must keep a stock of parts such as gaskets handy. Silicone gaskets wear out over time and will result in ineffective performance. Order parts ahead of time, to avoid inconvenience in the future.

Safety

Lastly, but most importantly you have to read the safety hazards of this product to avoid untoward incidents. Especially for those who are new to this cooker, it can build up extreme heat to cook your food in no time. Once you open the lid stir clear from the pot, move your face as far as possible. Better yet, allow the steam to fully evaporate before you come close to it. If you are using the conventional pressure pot, make sure the hizzing has come to a silent hiss before you attempt to open it.

Other Factors to Consider

Ease of Use

These pots need not require a special skill to operate, the more complicated it is the riskier it will be for the users. We looked into control panels or switches to operate these products and went for the ones that are easy to use. Some products have a very complicated interface that it will not work well for people who are not tech savvy. While some products would require a superhero to operate because of the latches on the lid being too big and heavy.

Materials

Another important factor we took into consideration is the materials. Some pressure pots are made of Teflon, some are made of ceramic and others are stainless steel. We checked all the pros and cons of using these materials and we tried to weigh their consequences. The materials also affect the durability and effectiveness of each cooker. This is why we think this should not be overlooked.

Effectiveness

The effectiveness of each product is a very important factor for us to include the products in our top ten list. We want to make sure that what we recommend does the job it promises. So, we tested meat, beans, vegetables, brown rice, and other food items that take quite a while to cook. We were very happy to say that these products we tested are very effective.

Types

Electric Top
These are the multifunctional cookers where you can cook more types of dishes and food variants. It is easy to use because you just put everything into the pot and wait for it to cook. No need to babysit over the dish. It can also double as a slow cooker and yogurt maker. The only downside to this is that they are not as high pressured as stove top pressure cookers.

Stovetop
These are the conventional pressure cookers but has more advanced safety features and now comes with a pressure level option. It is still the one most preferred because of the high pressure it gives out. This allows you to cook meals in half the time yet preserving the nutrients. It also keeps all the flavor in, letting you enjoy delicious meals in no time!

Safety Hazards

This is the most important criteria because our main concern is safety. We have all heard about its scary tales, turning into kitchen bombs. These stories are for real and it’s not just these items exploding that is scary. There are tales of people being burned. We carefully checked the safety features of each product because we want to make sure it is safe. We checked the design of the lid; how it shuts close and the position when it is open. We also took into consideration the position of the vents. Once the pressure has built up; such as conventional types, it usually releases steam. The vents must be positioned strategically, like upwards so the steam shoots up and not at the direction of the cook. These are some of the safety hazards we looked into and more.

Advanced Features

Pressure cookers are very handy to have in the kitchen because they help you prepare meals so much quicker. Of course, nothing is wrong with using regular pots for cooking, however, it takes a long time. What I personally like about it, is that I can cook my favorite dishes and not have to worry about being late. Sometimes I have friends over for lunch or dinner because I like to cook. But I have a very busy schedule, so I always end up preparing quick meals that are a bit ordinary. Having an item like this has changed all that. I can whip up special menu in half the time!

I am quite excited for all of you to get your own cooker. But before you pick one, read through to the end so you too will be guided on your purchase. We have taken into consideration the kitchen expert’s opinion to come up with our criteria. We had to test each product personally so we can have a first-hand experience of each item’s performance. We asked our testers to cook different food recipes and give us first-hand feedback to help us decide the best in the market. With so many different brands and designs in the market, we had to make use of criteria to narrow our list and provide you with the 10 of the best ones.
We all have different preferences and it’s one of the major factors that affect our decision when making a purchase. However, it is more important to think about the purpose of each item and the reason why we need them. It is also the same thing when buying this product. We don’t just pick one because it is in the list of kitchen must-haves. These are very useful kitchen items but they are specialized so we must be careful in buying and using one.

There has been a lot of innovations because of the need for improvement. Although there have been reports of accidents happening; it is so useful that the demand remains high. We are happy to announce though that next generation cookers are safer! They have enhanced safety features and are now multifunctional.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is the difference between stovetop or countertop pressure cooker?

a:

Both are equally effective but just to point out a few differences. Stovetop pressure cookers offer more heating capacity because of the direct contact with the stove. It is also a known fact that when you sear darker meat on stove top it releases more flavors than when cooked on electric appliance. Electric tops are more versatile because they can be used for different dishes and cooking methods. If you have a busy life, the electric top pressure cooker is ideal for you. It requires no babysitting, you just put all the ingredients in, set it and wait.

q: I have heard of so many stories about pressure cookers exploding. How safe is it?

a:

You are right about so many stories of exploding pressure pots but that is a tale from long ago. The new generation of pressure cookers is safer because they have been innovated and improved. Each product now comes with more safety features. If you know how to follow instructions, accidents are not likely to happen. Nowadays pressure pots have pressure relief valves, where you can reduce the heat when the pressure rises. Most modern cookers have pressure indicators, so you can monitor the pressure. Nowadays the pressure pots being sold are very safe and easy to use.

q: Where can I buy extra gasket? I read from one review that I should get an extra gasket for my pressure cooker as this can wear out and not effectively pressurize food. Has anyone had the same problem?

a:

I think it is possible to order extra from Amazon but most people usually request for parts from the manufacturer themselves. This way you are assured of the quality and authenticity of the parts. It is possible to get substandard parts if you don’t get them directly from the manufacturer. And yes, I had to purchase another gasket because mine has worn out. It takes longer to cook meat since the lid is not a tightly sealed with a worn-out gasket. Mine is working just fine after the replacement.

q: There are reviews that say cooking with a pressure cooker is unhealthy, are there any truth to these?

a:

People believe that cooking food for a long time depletes food of its nutrients. All foods contain water and the longer you expose them to heat the more chances that the nutrients that go into the water will evaporate. This is not how it works with pressure cookers though. The food in a pressure pot is cooked in half the time it requires in a regular pot. The lid is pressurized so no evaporation takes place. All the nutrients are actually trapped into the broth or soup, making it tastier than ever.

q: Can you give me advices on how to use a pressure cooker properly?

a:

The modern-day pressure cookers now have safety features that old models lack. It is very safe and easy to use. If you are using a traditional pressure cooker, all you need to do is put enough water to cover the meat and put the lid on. Make sure that the gasket is completely locked in. Once it boils, you want to take the food out of the cooker or add more ingredient. Before you open it, you have to let the steam out and wait until it’s hissing silently. Then it would be safe to open. Just make sure to keep your hand and face as far away from the cooker as possible. You can also quick release it by letting it cool down under the faucet. As long as you let the pressure cool down before opening them, you will be safe.

q: What is the difference between a pressure canner and a pressure cooker?

a:

One of the differences is their size. Canners are a lot larger than cookers. Pressure canner are also less expensive and uses weighted gauges, while pressure pots use spring valves to keep the right pressure. However, these spring valves may soften affecting the pressure control mechanism of the cooker.