to top 10 table

Best Prescription Goggles

last updated Oct 18, 2019

It is important to see where you are going, and that includes swimming in the pool. You might think that you can get away with leaving your glasses in the locker room for a few laps, but going fuzzy in the pool could lead to lower lap times and even a bumped head. In this guide, we have compiled a list of some of the best prescription goggles. When things are a bit fuzzy, you aren’t going to have a sharp understanding of where the wall is, which means you are going to be swimming a little more reluctantly than if you had your glasses on. The good news here is that a good pair of specialized goggles are going to be the key to clear things up, and they often come in at a very affordable price point that is going to make them worth a shot.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
View+
93/100 our score
Style
91
Effectiveness
97
Comfort
95
Features
92
Value
90
View+
Why is it better?

Many strengths of lenses to select from

Simple design

Fog resistant

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
View+
Test Winner: View+
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
25
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
25
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Sami Kritz
By Sami Kritz:

Can you imagine trying to fit your glasses under your goggles? Nearly impossible. Our newest additions include the TYR and Aguaphile lenses. Each of these products provides a comfortable fit, a great range of diopters, and great customer service. We have also added additional photos of each product and added Durability as another factor to consider.

Sorting Options
Style Effectiveness Comfort Features Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Style
91 %
Effectiveness
97 %
Comfort
95 %
Features
92 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$33.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Style
97 %
Effectiveness
89 %
Comfort
91 %
Features
92 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$20.18
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Style
89 %
Effectiveness
91 %
Comfort
90 %
Features
87 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$25.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Style
86 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Comfort
94 %
Features
82 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$16.59
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Style
91 %
Effectiveness
87 %
Comfort
88 %
Features
90 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$22.05
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.2
Style
92 %
Effectiveness
80 %
Comfort
87 %
Features
81 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Style
79 %
Effectiveness
81 %
Comfort
84 %
Features
84 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$19.98
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Style
78 %
Effectiveness
77 %
Comfort
80 %
Features
81 %
Value
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$15.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.2
Style
77 %
Effectiveness
76 %
Comfort
79 %
Features
80 %
Value
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$20.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.6
Style
74 %
Effectiveness
70 %
Comfort
79 %
Features
77 %
Value
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$13.88

Top 10 Picks

1. View+

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
View+ RX Optical Prescription Goggles
View+ RX Optical Prescription Goggles
View+ RX Optical Prescription Goggles
Amazon Link
Style
91
Effectiveness
97
Comfort
95
Features
92
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.95
Pros:

Many strengths of lenses to select from

Simple design

Fog resistant

Cons:

Some users have found that the detachable nose piece can fall out while swimming

What we liked about this design from View+ is that it hits all of the marks that a swimmer would want. It is comfortable, affordable, and offered in quite a few strength options that are going to work for everyone.

Read more

Style

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this design. It is offered in a basic black color option with an accented gray clip along the side. If you are looking for something that is simple and isn’t flashy, this is going to be the ticket.

Effectiveness

One thing that users really liked about this design is that is has a wide range of strengths that will work for most. Strengths start out at +/- 2.0 and run all the way up to 10, and the best part is that you can mix and match strengths for different eyes.

Comfort

A dual rubber strap that runs along the back of your head is going to evenly disperse the weight so that it feels light and comfortable, and won’t dig into your scalp the way singular bands can. Plus, it comes with three different sized nose bridges for all shapes and sizes of faces.

Features

All of the lenses for this model are treated to protect your eyes from UV damage and have a slight tint to them. They come with a hypo-allergenic TPE seal along with the sockets, and they are considered to be fog-resistant.

Value

The cost of this design runs about in the middle of the road. It isn’t the most expensive pair out there, but it is far from being the most expensive. It is important to note that higher intensity lenses come in at a slightly higher price point than weaker lenses.

Overall

For users that are looking for something that offers a myriad of lenses while offering a simple and comfortable frame, we feel that this option is going to be one of your best choices.

2. Speedo Vanquisher

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Speedo Vanquisher Prescription Goggle
Speedo Vanquisher Prescription Goggle
Speedo Vanquisher Prescription Goggle
Amazon Link
Style
97
Effectiveness
89
Comfort
91
Features
92
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$20.18
Pros:

Trusted brand

Made from incredibly durable materials

Tinted lenses are available

Cons:

Some users feel that the strap is a little on the thin side

Speedo is a brand that really needs no introduction. If you are an avid swimmer, you likely have a piece of Speedo gear in your arsenal. We liked this design because it comes in at an affordable price point, and it gives you all of the quality and reliability you would expect from a Speedo product.

Read more

Design

This option is only offered in a basic black frame, but users will have the ability to select frames that offer a small level of tint. If you primarily swim indoors, tinted frames may not be something that you would need.

Effectiveness

Users are going to have the option to select from strengths that start out at a 1.5 and run all the way up to 8, with a few half steps in between some options (such as 4.5 and 5.5).

Comfort

One of the things that users really liked about this design was that they found it had an excellent inner eye fit. This means that it is going to sit comfortably on top of the eye socket without digging into the soft part of your eye (which is responsible for leaking).

Features

The biggest takeaway for this design is that it is made from polycarbonate. This material is great for these frames because the material is considered to be virtually indestructible. Saltwater or pool chemicals can be harsh on materials over time, but polycarbonate will be able to get in and out of the water hundreds of times without breaking down or becoming weak.

Value

You may expect one of the big brands to come in at a much higher price point, but that simply isn’t the case here. This option is offered at a price point that runs about in the middle of the road. In fact, some of the weaker lenses are actually priced to be one of the more affordable options out there on the market.

Overall

For those that want something that is going to last for quite some time, even if you are hitting the pool every day, this design is going to be able to keep up with you, and it has a wide variety of lenses that are going to be a great match for everyone.

3. Zionor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Zionor RX Prescription Goggles
Zionor RX Prescription Goggles
Zionor RX Prescription Goggles
Amazon Link
Style
89
Effectiveness
91
Comfort
90
Features
87
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$25.99
Pros:

Comfortable to wear

Affordable

May strengths offered for nearsighted and farsighted swimmers

Cons:

A user found that the lenses scratch easily

We loved this option from Zionor because it is offered at a static price no matter if you are getting weak or strong lenses, and it has all of the features that avid swimmers look for to keep their eyes protected in a myriad of ways.

Read more

Style

One thing that we noticed right off the bat with this option is that it is available in many different color options that include red, black, white, silver, and basic black. Users will also have the option to select between clear or tinted lenses as well.

Effectiveness

The strength of these lenses range from 2.0 up to 9.0, and there are half sizes offered in some of the weaker lenses. These are made for those that are short-sighted or nearsighted.

Comfort

A dual strap along the backside is going to really help keep your scalp comfortable by evenly distributing the weight to reduce pressure on the back of your head. Plus, it has an optimized cushion along with all points of contact on your face.

Features

The lenses are really built to keep your eyes as safe and protected a possible. Multiple layers on the lenses not only help sharpen your vision, but it also has a fog-resistant layer, as well as a layer to protect your eyes from UV damage. We also liked that it comes with a sharp mesh carrying case to make it easy to toss in with the rest of your gear after getting out of the water.

Value

The price tag on this design is just slightly higher than some of the other designs out there, but the good news is that there isn’t going to be any surprises at checkout. The price tag for the weaker lenses is just the same as those that are stronger.

Overall

This is going to be a really great option for someone that is looking for something that is going to be comfortable to wear while offering really great protection and strong lenses.

4. TYR

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
TYR Prescription Goggles
TYR Prescription Goggles
Amazon Link
Style
86
Effectiveness
93
Comfort
94
Features
82
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.59
Pros:

Available in .5 increments

Comfortable fit

Great seal

Easily adjusted

Cons:

Anti-fog coating breaks down quicker than expected

This pair from TYR offers a comfortable fit and leakproof protection. The diopter is available in increments of .5, from -2 to -8. They are affordable and the polycarbonate lenses feature UVA/UVB protection. Aside from one minor issue, these are just about perfect.

Read more

Style

This pair has a sleek design and is available in two different colors. You can choose from clear or smoke. The only real difference is that the smoke color has darker frames around the lenses, the lenses are still clear. The adjustable elastic band allows you to find the fit that feels best for you.

Effectiveness

Reviewers rave about how great these are! They are available in .5 increments of diopters -2 to -8. They feature a wide-angle lens that makes it easy to see in all directions. If each of your eyes has two different prescriptions, you can order two pairs and pop out the lenses and interchange them.

Comfort

The universal socket frame sits well on just about every face and isn’t too close to the eyes. The nose bridge is adjustable and the snap-lock side clips allow you to personalize the fit. Across the board, reviewers agree that this is a comfortable pair with no issues of leaking.

Features

Aside from great durability, the polycarbonate lenses also feature UVA/UVB protection. There is also an anti-fog treatment on the inside of the lenses, but this seems to be one of the downsides to this product. Many reviewers claim that this product was perfect for a couple of months until the anti-fog treatment began to disintegrate. However, many swimmers say that this is an easy fix and don’t see this as a deal-breaker.

Value

Depending on your diopter, the price varies. However, even at their highest, this item is priced affordably.

Overall

For the most part, these have proven to be a great pair. If you can handle the anti-fog treatment dying out and finding a new way to prevent fog, you’ll be more than pleased with these. There are plenty of great features that overshine this minor inconvenience.

5. IST

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
IST RX Prescription Goggles
IST RX Prescription Goggles
IST RX Prescription Goggles
Amazon Link
Style
91
Effectiveness
87
Comfort
88
Features
90
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.05
Pros:

Very comfortable

Comes with a hard plastic case

Shatterproof lenses

Cons:

Lenses scratch easily

Some found that they are prone to leaking

What we liked about this option is that it comes in a sturdy plastic case for easy travel even when wet, and it is offered in a wide variety of strengths to accommodate almost any swimmer.

Read more

Style

There isn’t much to write home about when it comes to this styling of this product. It is as minimal as you are going to get, and is perfect for someone that wants something that is going to be slimmer and less bulky. It is only offered in black frames and is only offered with clear frames.

Effectiveness

The real star of this show is the power of the lenses. Users are going to be able to select from far or nearsighted options that range from 1 to 10- which is pretty impressive compared to other limited designs we have seen.

Comfort

The split silicone strap is something that is going to stay in place, and because of its smart design, it means that it isn’t going to squeeze your head and be terribly uncomfortable. Plus, it comes with additional nose bridges to ensure that you will find the fit that is perfect for your face.

Features

While the lenses may not be tinted, it doesn't mean that they don’t offer substantial UV protection. One of our favorite features of this product is that it comes with a hard plastic case, which means that you won’t need to dry them off before throwing them back into your gym bag to go home.

Value

The cost of this option is priced to be pretty average. There is going to be a little bit of a difference in cost between weaker and stronger lenses, but that cost is going to be pretty minimal.

Overall

For those that want something simple and understated that is offered in a wide variety of lenses and is incredibly comfortable to wear, this is going to be an excellent choice.

6. F&C

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.2
F&C Prescription Goggle
F&C Prescription Goggle
F&C Prescription Goggle
Amazon Link
Style
92
Effectiveness
80
Comfort
87
Features
81
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Comfortable fit

Affordable

Offer superior UV protection

Cons:

Some found that they fog up pretty fast when in use

Lenses are a little too dark for some

This design from F&C means serious business. It offers a thick a bulky style that is designed to fasten to your head and stay firmly in place, and it comes with a set of attached earplugs to protect your ears when you are in the water as well.

Read more

Style

As we mentioned earlier, the styling of this design is a little bit on the bulky side, but that is due in part to the high-quality buckle on the back to provide comfortable adjustments. Users will also have the option to select from a basic black design, or a clear aqua blue option as well.

Effectiveness

Lenses start out at a basic 2.0 (anything less than 2.0 is not available) and run all the way up to an impressive 8.0. The downside to this design is that it is only made for those that are nearsighted.

Comfort

The innovative buckle along the back is going to sit comfortably on the back of your head without running the risk of pulling at your hair. Users also like the feel of the rubber grips along the eye line that feel comfortable but prevent leaks.

Features

One thing that users really like about this design is the additional nose bridges that you can affix to the front to ensure that you get a comfortable, leak-free fit. This design also comes with a set of earplugs that is attached to the side to keep water out of your ears as well.

Value

The good news about this design is that it is priced to be slightly lower than many of the other options out there on the market, and we feel that this is a great value considering the quality and style of this design.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is going to offer powerful lenses in a sporty frame that will keep up with you lap after lap, this is going to be a really great choice.

7. Aguaphile

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Aguaphile Prescription Goggles
Aguaphile Prescription Goggles
Amazon Link
Style
79
Effectiveness
81
Comfort
84
Features
84
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.98
Pros:

Leakproof

Good customer service

Lifetime refund or replacement guarantee

Comfortable fit

Cons:

Some have received broken pieces upon delivery

Lenses are not interchangeable- only one diopter

The Aguaphiles are a simple, effective pair of lenses that are durable and come with a lifetime guarantee. They offer leakproof protection, anti-fog, and UVA/UVB protection. If there was an option to request different prescriptions in each eye or to change out the lenses, these would be much higher on our list.

Read more

Style

You can choose between two different colors, black or blue. Both styles have crystal clear polycarbonate lenses and a silicone strap.

Effectiveness

You can choose between diopters -2 to -8, with a couple of options of .5 increments. The lenses are wide and do not obstruct your peripheral vision. One fact that disappointed us is the fact that the lenses do not pop out, and therefore are not interchangeable. If there is a great difference between the strength of your eyes, this pair will not suit you.

Comfort

Just about every reviewer can agree that the Aguaphiles are comfortable. The soft silicone eyecups and head strap fit the face well and do not chafe. There are three nose bridges included and the strap is fully adjustable, allowing you to get a perfect fit.

Features

The anti-fog treatment of the Aguaphiles seems to be of better quality than others we have seen. There are still a handful of complaints about it failing, but even then, it’s a simple fix. These lenses also feature protection from UVA and UVB rays.

Value

Considering the price stays the same, no matter the diopter, this is a great deal. To make it even better, Aguaphile proves their confidence behind their product by offering a lifetime refund or replacement guarantee. For the customers who have experienced issues, they have reported that the customer service paid great attention to detail.

Overall

This is a simple pair that works well. We would have liked to see more variation in diopters and interchangeable lenses, but we still think it’s an overall great investment. Even though some reviewers had issues with pieces arriving broken, the lifetime guarantee takes our worries away.

8. Promate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Promate Rx Prescription Goggle
Promate Rx Prescription Goggle
Promate Rx Prescription Goggle
Amazon Link
Style
78
Effectiveness
77
Comfort
80
Features
81
Value
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.95
Pros:

A slim and sleek frame

Offered in a wide range of strengths

Affordable

Cons:

Users found them to be a little leaky

Swimming glasses aren't something that looks good on even the most attractive people, but this design option from Promate is trying to make them a little more stylish. We liked the design of the very simple and slender frames, and users love the wide variety of lens strengths.

Read more

Style

As we mentioned before, this product gets high marks from us in the style department. It offers a very slim and frame that is offered in basic black or aqua blue.

Effectiveness

No matter if you need something that is a little on the weak side, or you are going to need something that is pretty strong- Promate has you covered. Lenses start out at a modest 1.5 and work all the way up to 8, which a few half steps in between.

Comfort

Thinner straps may lead you to believe that this option isn’t going to be very comfortable, but that actually isn’t the case at all. From what we have learned from past users, this style fits very comfortably and snugly on their head, and the secure fit limits leakage and fogged up lenses.

Features

With your purchase, you will receive a pair of earplugs, a nose clip to keep water out of your nose, and a set of nose bridge adjustments to ensure that your frames fit perfectly on your face.

Value

From the weak lens option to the strongest, the price of this design is one of the most affordable designs out there on the market. Considering that it comes with a lot of extra features, we feel that this is a really great value.

Overall

If you want something that has a slimmer and more discrete frame while still providing a myriad of lenses to sharpen your vision while in the water, we feel that this design from Promate is going to be a great fit.

9. Dr. B Optica

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.2
Dr. B Prescription Goggle
Dr. B Prescription Goggle
Amazon Link
Style
77
Effectiveness
76
Comfort
79
Features
80
Value
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$20.00
Pros:

Sleek frame design

Users can put different strength of lenses in different eyes

Cons:

A little more expensive than most

What we noticed immediately about this option is that it has really sleek frames that are going to look great on any face. Then, we noticed that it is offered in a wide variety of lens strengths and users will have the option to customize each lens.

Read more

Style

As we mentioned earlier, the style of these frames is something that we noticed right away. The frames are offered in a basic black frame, or you can select a unique frosted white design that doesn’t look like anything we have seen previously.

Effectiveness

The great thing about this product is that it is offered in a wide range of strengths that start off at zero and run all the way up to 8.0. Plus, if you need a stronger lens in your left eye and a weaker lens in your right, you can custom order to make that happen.

Comfort

From what we have read from previous users, they feel that the fit of this design is incredibly comfortable. The TPR seal along the sockets is going to prevent raccoon eyes while also working to keep water out.

Features

These lenses are not only designed to improve your vision in the water, but they are also made to protect your eyes. Even though the lenses are not tinted, they are going to be able to offer superior UV protection from the sun. Plus, the lenses are coated with a material that is going to help prevent them from fogging up.

Value

The cost of this design is just slightly higher than the average price that we have seen thus far, but we feel that the quality of materials used and its versatility make it well worth the slightly higher price tag.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is really going to be quite effective when in the water and you are willing to pay just a little bit more, we feel this is going to be a pretty great choice.

10. JumpStar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.6
JumpStar Prescription Goggle
JumpStar Prescription Goggle
JumpStar Prescription Goggle
Amazon Link
Style
74
Effectiveness
70
Comfort
79
Features
77
Value
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.88
Pros:

Very comfortable

Affordable

Cons:

Lenses scratch easily

Some found them to be a little leaky

If you don’t quite know if these products are going to work for you, we suggest giving this design from JumpStar a try because they are offered at one of the lowest price points of any of the other designs currently out there on the market.

Read more

Style

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to the style of this design. It is offered in a basic black frame with pretty dark tinted lenses.

Effectiveness

We found that the strengths of lenses for this design are a little lacking when you compare it to some of the others. Users can select from strengths that start at -2.0 and run up to -6.0. There is nothing above -6.0 offered, and there is no -1.0 design offered as well.

Comfort

The wide-set frames with the addition of a split strap that runs along the back look like it would be something that is comfortable to wear, and a lot of reviews confirm this assumption. We found that users were quite pleased with how comfortable this pair felt while wearing it in the water.

Features

The high-quality polycarbonate lens is going to work to do three things. First, the lenses are going to help improve your vision in the water. They are also coated with a film that is going to prevent them from fogging up and will protect your eyes from harmful UV rays as well.

Value

One of the things that we liked most about this option is that it comes in at one of the most affordable price-points out there on the market, with a slight variance between the different strengths of lenses.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is simple and affordable, and comfortable to boot- this design from JumpStar is going to be a really great option.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

Whenever it comes to gear that you wear, we always take style into consideration of income capacity.

When it comes to swimwear, we always want to select designs that are sleek and compact so that they will not run the risk of slowing down your times. We were drawn to designs that offered users a lot of different color options to be able to express your personal style. However, color and design weren’t the only things that we looked at when considering a certain style. A well-structured pair is not only going to look great, but it is also going to do things like limit leaking as well as keep them from fogging up as much. One of the features that we really liked that were offered for some designs were tinted lenses. If you are someone that does a lot of outdoor swimming in the summer and you have sensitive eyes, tinted lenses are going to be the way to go. Other users may not be such a fan of tinted lenses, because they can cause things to be a little too dark when they are swimming under the water.

Effectiveness

The biggest feature that we considered was the strength of the lenses.

Not all eyes are created equal, and some swimmers are going to need something that is slightly stronger or slightly weaker to really sharpen their vision. From what we gathered, the general range of these lenses start at 0 and max out at +/- 10.0. With that being said, we wanted to try and select designs that offered a good range of strengths, and they got bonus points from us if they offered anything in half sizes as well (such as 4.5). It is important to note that not all brands offer such a wide range, and the norm seems to be 1.0-6.0 because those are generally the more popular options. For some users, you might have one eye that is stronger than the other, and that means that you are going to need a weaker lens for one of your eyes. Some brands we found were able to offer customizable lenses that allowed users to pick different strengths for different eyes. Keep in mind, however, that selecting this customized option is going to make your delivery time just a tad longer.

Comfort

No one likes frames that squeeze the life out of their heads, so we kept an eye on the comfort level of different options.

We determined if a pair was going to be comfortable looking at two separate things. The first thing that we did was simply look at the style and the materials used. Generally, split straps that run along the back of your head are going to help distribute tension to different parts of your head, which is going to limit the tension on the back of your head. On the front of each unit, we like brands that offered various sizes of nose bridges that you can swap out to find the perfect fit for your face. The last thing that we looked at to determine if they were actually going to be comfortable to wear was to look at what previous users had to say about the fit. If a design had an overwhelming number of users that felt that it dug into their face or the back of their head, we would typically just move on to the next design.

Features

We liked to select designs that could offer users more than just sharper vision underwater.

While it is great to actually be able to see when you are in the water, many companies offer a lot of additional features in their products to make your next time in the water a pleasant visit. We noticed that many brands offer a lot of additional protection to their lenses rather than just magnification. We were drawn to brands that offered a good deal of UV protection to your eyes, and that includes lenses that are tinted that those that are not. Additional nose bridges offered is another great feature because it will allow you to select a size that is going to feel great on your face. Of course, we were also drawn to designs that offered a lot of extra features such as earplugs, nose plugs, and cases. Hard plastic cases are ideal because it will allow users to toss wet gear into their gym bag without getting the rest of their clothes wet.

Value

Of course, we want to be able to save you a little bit of money whenever we can without compromising quality.

From our research, these products generally don’t seem to be much more expensive than their non-magnified counterparts. Even some of the more complicated designs come in at a price point that is considered comparable to standard options. This means that you will be able to get the same quality, style, and durability that you would get with standard options without paying all that much more. One thing that we feel we need to point out, however, is that some brands have a range of prices for their product, and the stronger lenses sometimes come in at a much higher price point. Be sure that you double-check the price only after you select the strength of your lens! This higher uptick in price doesn’t apply to all of the different brands out there on the market. Some designs offer the same price no matter how strong the lens is, and others only offer a very small uptick in price as you head for the stronger designs.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Effectiveness

This is one of the most important features to consider when looking at these products. The general range is between 0-10.0 from weakest to strongest, and many designs offer a range of about 1.0-6.0. Be sure that you know your exact strength before making a purchase, and there are many online tools that are available to help you determine the strength that you need.

Comfort

One of the more important features to consider is how comfortable that it is because thinner straps are really going to dig into your head. Split straps along the back are going to be great at distributing tension across the back of your head to prevent it from pulling at your hair.

Features

Things like earplugs and plastic cases are great, but one of the best additional features that we have found that users really like are snap-on nose bridges. These bridges will not only help it be more comfortable, but they will keep water from leaking in and keeping them from fogging up.

Other Factors to Consider

Durability

We are not all perfect. Keeping our valuables in perfect shape seems next to impossible as well. For that reason, it is always important to take time to check out the durability of a product. When determining the durability of swimming lenses, it is important to investigate the materials used to make them. After an hour of laps, you may be feeling lazy and just throw your lenses into your gym bag, right next to your keys, which could cause scratches. While we definitely don’t recommend not taking the time to properly store the lenses, a durable pair should be able to withstand a few bumps and scratches. Many of the lenses are made from a strong plastic material called polycarbonate. This material is up to ten times stronger than a traditional lens and many feature a scratch-resistant coating. For the strap, the most popular option is silicone. This is an impressively durable and flexible material that is a great option for a head strap. The straps tend to be a one-size-fits-all with different ridges to adjust the size. Silicone rubber is not indestructible, but you can count on it to survive quite a few years in the pool with you.

Additionally, you’ll see that some of these options offer a warranty. You’ll find warranties ranging from six months up to a lifetime. We always appreciate the confidence of a company that offers this, it shows that they believe in their product. A warranty is always a comfort to have, knowing that if something does break or fail to function to its potential, you can return or replace the item.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How well are these going to help improve my vision?

a:

When you are buying these designs, imagine you are buying a pair of frames from the drugstore. They are listed to correct nearsightedness or farsightedness on a scale of around +/- 1.0 and cap out at around +/- 10.0. If you aren’t quite sure what intensity you are going to need and want to try some on first, we suggest heading to your local drugstore and try on different intensities of their reading glasses. Once you find the number that works for you, you can then buy a style of these products that is going to work for your needs (and won’t have to worry about returning a product that is too weak or too strong).

q: Can I wear them out of the water?

a:

Due to the fact that these are going to be something that hasn’t been specifically crafted for your eyes, it isn’t going to be something that is going to be great to wear full time when you are out of the water. While they are going to help your vision a great deal when you are underwater, we found that many users found that it took a little bit to get their eyes to adjust to the new set of frames. The reason for this is because these lenses are made to accommodate a wider range of users, which means that they are going to lack the nuisance that your full-time frames can offer you.

q: Are they going to be expensive?

a:

We know- you hear the word ‘prescription’ and your wallet reflexively whimpers. The good news, though, is that the price tag on these products is comparable to those without corrective lenses. Plus, you won’t have to worry about the quality of the frames suffering either. We found that the quality of the frames for these products is still made from the same quality of materials (such as polycarbonate), so you aren’t going to be sacrificing quality in order to opt for special lenses. It is important to make a note, however, that some companies have a higher price point for the stronger lens options. For most companies, this difference in price is very minimal and may not even be noticeable, but for other brands, the shift in price may sting a bit. We suggest that you make sure that you double-check the price tag after you select the strength of the lens that you need to prevent any unpleasant surprises when it comes time to check out!

q: How do I know what strength that I will need?

a:

There are two ways that you can select a lens that is going to fit your needs. The first way is to head down to your local drug store and try on all of the different strengths of readers that they have on display. When you find that style that works best, write down the strength of the lens, and you know what style that, you will need. The second way that you can determine what strength you will need requires that you have access to your prescription numbers from your optometrist, and also requires that you engage in a little bit of math. For those that are still reading and not heading to the drugstore to avoid doing a math problem, the formula is pretty simple and there are tools out there to help. Using your numbers on your regular glasses, calculate 1/2 of the cylinder + sphere, and this is going to give you your diopter strength. If your eyes just glazed over, we have found a site that is going to allow you to plug in your information to get a proper number (free of math mistakes!). That site can be found here: https://www.deepbluegear.com/rx-lens-info/

q: What do I do if one eye is weaker than another eye?

a:

This is a common occurrence with most users that need to wear corrective lenses, and a lot of companies out there take this into consideration. When dealing with the more affordable options out there, the lenses are built into the frame and cannot be removed. However, some of the well-known companies out there not only offer designs with pop-out lenses, but they will allow you to purchase a frame that has two different strengths of lenses in each eye. It is important to note that when ordering a pair that is customized to your needs, the shipping and handling time is going to take just a little bit longer than it would take if you just bought a standard pair off of a shelf.

q: What is the purpose of a detachable nose plate?

a:

Ensuring that these products fit well to your face is not only going to offer you better comfort, but the better that they fit your face means there will be less of a chance that water is going to leak into the sockets, or that they will fog up. Many companies offer users a few additional nose plates that can easily be popped off and on so that you will be able to find a fit that feels easy and natural on your face so you will be willing to wear them for longer periods of time without them digging into your face.

Sources

  1. SwimOutlet.com , How to Choose Prescription Swim Goggles , Blog
  2. Unknown, Rx Lens Info, Blog