to top 10 table

Best Power Tools

last updated Feb 08, 2019

A good collection of power tools at your disposal makes a huge difference in finally getting around to fixing all of those minor (or major) do-it-yourself projects in your home. Now that we are embarking on a new year, there is no better time than right now to start some projects around the house. When selecting the right item for the job, taking the brand into consideration is going to be very important to ensure that you select something that is going to last. In this guide, you will find a selection of some of the best power tools on the market that will ensure you will have everything you need for your next big project.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
BLACK+DECKER Lithium Drill/Driver
89.6/100 our score
Brand
90
Ease of Use
88
Features
91
Size
87
Value
92
BLACK+DECKER Lithium Drill/Driver
Why is it better?

Trusted brand

Affordable

Lightweight

Comes with 30 accessories

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
BLACK+DECKER Lithium Drill/Driver
Test Winner: BLACK+DECKER Lithium Drill/Driver
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
18
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Brand Ease of Use Features Size Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Brand
90 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Features
91 %
Size
87 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$59.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Brand
88 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Features
89 %
Size
86 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$49.88
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Brand
90 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Features
86 %
Size
87 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$75.79
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Brand
90 %
Ease of Use
85 %
Features
84 %
Size
86 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$29.49
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Brand
89 %
Ease of Use
78 %
Features
90 %
Size
79 %
Value
74 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$279.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.8
Brand
86 %
Ease of Use
85 %
Features
80 %
Size
81 %
Value
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$98.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Brand
88 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Features
72 %
Size
85 %
Value
73 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$92.79
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.4
Brand
90 %
Ease of Use
80 %
Features
75 %
Size
74 %
Value
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$69.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.6
Brand
71 %
Ease of Use
82 %
Features
84 %
Size
80 %
Value
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$69.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.4
Brand
75 %
Ease of Use
79 %
Features
73 %
Size
85 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.10.19)
Amazon Link
$53.82

Top 10 Picks

1. BLACK+DECKER Lithium Drill/Driver

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
BLACK+DECKER Lithium Drill/Driver
Amazon Link
Brand
90
Ease of Use
88
Features
91
Size
87
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

Trusted brand

Affordable

Lightweight

Comes with 30 accessories

Cons:

Some users had issues with the battery not staying charged over time

If you are planning on taking on any home improvement project, you are going to need a trusty drill at your side. These devices can come in handy from hanging photos, putting together furniture, or any small or large task that needs some proper support that can’t just be tightened by hand.

Read more

Brand

BLACK+DECKER is going to be one of the big brands that you are going to want to keep your eye on. They were founded back in 1910 in Maryland, and have a positive reputation for making high-quality home improvement gear and appliances that are durable and affordable.

Ease of use

What we like most about this option is that it is incredibly easy to use. The lithium battery snaps off at the base for easy charging and the device works with the simple pulling of a trigger. What’s great about the head of this unit is that it is clearly labels which type of drill bit will fit with each turn of the head.

Features

Included with this kit is an impressive 30 bits and accessories that are able to tackle surfaces such as wood, plastic, and even metal. It offers 20 volts and can operate at 0-750 RPM. Accessories include screwdriver and drill bits as well as nut drivers.

Size

This unit measures to be 8.9 long, 4 inches wide, and 7.8 inches tall. It also only weighs just over 4 pounds, so it isn’t going to be all that heavy and awkward even in smaller hands.

Value

What we love about BLACK+DECKER products is that they come with the knowledge that you are getting a superior quality product, but that also come in at a very reasonable price point that isn’t going to break the bank.

Overall

We feel that every homeowner needs one of these products in their belt when tackling projects, and this option from BLACK+DECKER is going to give you exactly what you need without weighing you down.

2. SKIL Circular Saw

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
SKIL Circular Saw
Amazon Link
Brand
88
Ease of Use
90
Features
89
Size
86
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.88
Pros:

Affordable

Laser guide

Lightweight and easy to use

Comes with carrying bag included with purchase

Cons:

Some users had trouble with the depth adjustment

Some users found that it shakes quite a bit when turned on

For bigger jobs, you are going to need some great and portable cutting strength. We liked this option because it has all of the force you will need to cut through wood and even drywall, but it comes in at a very reasonable price point that will still leave you enough in your budget for lumber for that deck you want to build this spring.

Read more

Brand

SKIL might not have the same brand gravitas as some of the more well-known names out there on the market, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t worth a look. In fact, they have been in the business of making great gear for homeowners since they were founded in 1924 in Illinois. Their products are a little more affordable than some of the heavier hitters, but they often don’t have all of the same bells and whistles.

Ease of use

What we liked most about this option is that it is incredibly easy to use. Simply plug it into an electric outlet, line up your blade on the surface you are cutting into, and press the power button. Comfortable hand grips along the top and sides will allow users to maintain control over the blades easily while it is in use.

Features

Users love the laser guide that is located on the front of the unit. This laser will ensure that each cut is crisp and even so there will be no wasted lumber. A guarded trigger located on the top of the unit will help reduce the risk of starting the device by accident, and a built-in blower will keep every surface you are working on clear of dust to further ensure that you get that perfect cut the first time.

Size

Size is a big factor when it comes to this device. It is built to be small, lightweight, and easy to carry- and it even comes with its own carrying case. It measures in at just over 14 inches long and weighs just over 14 pounds.

Value

One of the best features about this option is that it comes in at a really affordable price point. The cost of this unit cost just a little bit less than some of the heavier hitters out there on the market, and it still has all of the features that users need for the perfect cut.

Overall

You simply cannot beat the value or the features of this option. If you are looking to tackle a pretty extensive household project like building a deck or cutting some drywall, this option is going to be one of your best options without breaking the bank.

3. Dremel Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Dremel Kit
Amazon Link
Brand
90
Ease of Use
91
Features
86
Size
87
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$75.79
Pros:

Comes with many attachments designed for very specific jobs

Lightweight and easy to use

Great for crafting

Cons:

Some found the motor cut out after a few months of use

Every household should be equipped with one of these rotary products because it does just about everything. It is able to cut through metals to shorten longer screws, but it can also tackle smaller projects like engraving or shaving down edges. While most products tackle big issues, this Dremel is made for all of the little details.

Read more

Brand

Rotary devices and Dremel are almost synonymous among homeowners. If you were in the market for one of these products, this is the brand that you are going to want to choose. They have been in the market for making specific rotary devices since their founding in 1931 in Wisconsin.

Ease of use

Few products out there on the market are easier to use than the humble Dremel. Simply load up the bit that you intend to use for your job, and press the on button found at the base of the unit.

Features

This product comes with a heavy duty carrying case that will hold the main device as well as the myriad of attachments that are specifically designed for cutting, cleaning, sanding, and grinding.

Size

This unit is about 15 inches long, and it only weighs just shy of 5 pounds, making it incredibly lightweight and easy to use.

Value

The cost of this unit is slightly more expensive than some of the other devices we have seen out there on the market, but considering the myriad of jobs it is able to tackle, we find that it is offered at an excellent value.

Overall

If you are looking to start your collection of the bare necessities in your garage or shed, we feel that this rotary device from Dremel is an excellent place to start, and is well worth the slightly higher price point.

4. BLACK+DECKER Jig Saw

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
BLACK+DECKER Jig Saw
Amazon Link
Brand
90
Ease of Use
85
Features
84
Size
86
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.49
Pros:

Trusted brand

Easy to use

Very affordable

Cons:

Some users have had issues with the blade popping out even with light use

In addition to a circular saw, jigsaws are designed to complete various tasks. While circular saws are great for straight lines, jigsaws use a straight blade that works in an up and down motion that is perfect for circles lines and angles.

Read more

Brand

As always, BLACK+DECKER is going to be a really safe bet. They have been in the business of making great products for home use for over 100 years, and the quality of this jigsaw is no exception.

Ease of use

What users really like about this design is that it has a comfortable hand grip that makes maintaining ultimate control of the unit while it is in use simple and easy. To get to work, simply plug it into an electrical outlet, adjust upper blade by pulling the guided trigger, and pull back on the trigger to get to work.

Features

What makes this particular unit stand out from all of the rest is the inclusion of the Curve Control knob found on the side of the unit. Before you make your first cut, users can turn the dial to adjust the orbit of the blade to one of 4 different settings.

Size

This unit measures to be almost 12 inches long and 10 inches high and weighs just over 5 pounds- making it very light and compact for jobs at home or on the go.

Value

As with any BLACK+DECKER product, you are getting very high quality, and this instance you are also getting exceptional value. This is one of the more affordable selections making our list.

Overall

If you want something that is going to be able to cut through just about anything, and that comes from a trusted brand at a very affordable price point, this is going to be one of your better options.

5. BOSTITCH Portable Air Compressor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
BOSTITCH Portable Air Compressor
Amazon Link
Brand
89
Ease of Use
78
Features
90
Size
79
Value
74
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$279.00
Pros:

Can run with a full charge for a few days before needing to be plugged in

Runs quietly

Cons:

Very expensive

This beast is designed to take on some really challenging household projects. An air compressor is something that can really come in handy when you need to utilize a lot of force, and the addition of the smart point brad nailer kit makes this a must have for anyone looking to tackle some very extensive home improvement projects.

Read more

Brand

BOSTITCH might not be a name that everyone is familiar with, and it may be due in part that they only manufacture very specific fastening devices, such as this nailer. They were founded in 1896 in Rhode Island, and are one of the leading manufacturers of these devices. If you wanted something nailed down, BOSTITCH is the way to go.

Ease of use

This is going to be a little more complicated than many of the other options on our list, but it is well worth the time it will take to learn how to use it. Simply plug in the compressor and wait a few minutes until it is full of air. Once it has reached max, it is going to be able to work for a few days of work without the need of plugging it into a wall. Simply attach your accessory to the base, and you are ready to go.

Features

Air compressors are notorious for being noise hogs. When one is working, forget about having any casual conversations! However, that isn’t the case with this device. It runs at about 80 decibels, which is about the same as the dial tone of a telephone.

Size

This is one of the larger units to make our list as well. It weighs in at 43.7 pounds, and measures to be about 21 inches long and 18 inches high.

Value

The cost of this unit is one of the more expensive options to make our list but is it due to all of the extra accessories that come along with the air compressor. If you are simply looking for an air compressor, the base unit comes at a price tag that is more affordable.

Overall

It may be on the expensive side of things, but users feel that this is one product that makes long and arduous jobs a lot more easy, especially if you are doing something like building a fence and have a lot of nails to hammer.

6. PORTER-CABLE Oscillating Multi-Tool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.8
PORTER-CABLE Oscillating Multi-Tool
Amazon Link
Brand
86
Ease of Use
85
Features
80
Size
81
Value
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$98.99
Pros:

Easy to use

Adjustable attachments perfect for tight angles

Come with a heavy duty carrying case

Cons:

Unit gets very hot when used for extended periods of time

This is another option that all homeowners should have in the garage in the face of any project that they want to take on. This is the type of device that is great when it comes to all of the little details that make a job look sharp and professional.

Read more

Brand

PORTER-CABLE is another one of those brands that seem to fly under the radar, but they have been in the business of making great products since they were founded in 1906 in Syracuse, New York. They are primarily known for their belt sanders, which is why we chose them for this particular device.

Ease of use

What users like most about this option are that loads and unloading each individual attachment is simple and easy, and most importantly- it’s quick. Simple load up your attachment, press the on button and you are ready to get to work.

Features

One of the features that users like the most about this design are that once your attachment is loaded, you have the option of moving it from left to right to find the exact right angle for the job.

Size

This unit measures to be 15 inches long and 11 inches high, and it weighs in at just over 6 pounds. This makes it incredibly lightweight and compact which is perfect for all of those smaller and tedious jobs around the house.

Value

The cost of this unit is slightly higher than many of the average price options found on this list, but we still think it is a really great deal when you consider the myriad of jobs this one little device can accomplish.

Overall

We think that a device that can cut, grind, and sand is something that every homeowner is going to be able to get a lot of use from, and this option from PORTER-CABLE is going to be one of your better options.

7. Bosch Drill/Driver Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Bosch Drill/Driver Kit
Amazon Link
Brand
88
Ease of Use
86
Features
72
Size
85
Value
73
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$92.79
Pros:

Trusted brand

Easy to use

Small and compact

Cons:

Doesn’t come with drill bits

Some feel that the battery charger takes up too much space

What we liked most about this option from Bosch is that it is incredibly strong, but it is one of the lightest and easy to use options out there on the market, which means that you are going to be able to work longer without your hands getting tired. Plus, its design makes it ideal for smaller hands.

Read more

Brand

Bosch is one of those heavy-hitter brands that users recognized almost immediately. They have been in the market of bringing high-quality household products to consumers since they were founded in Germany in 1886.

Ease of use

This is where this option really shines. It has a small and compact frame that makes working for longer periods of time easier on your hands and arms. To use, simply attach the 18-volt battery to the base, attach the drill bit that you want to use for the job, and pull the trigger on the handle.

Features

One thing that we liked about this design that you don’t typically see on a lot of similar designs is that it has a light function near the base so even if you are working in places where lighting is less than ideal, you will have a light source built right into the product to ensure that you always drill in the right spot. The downside to this option, however, is that it doesn’t appear to come with the bits that you will need to use it right out of the box.

Size

This unit is small and compact. It measures in at 14 inches long and 11 inches high and weighs just over 6 pounds.

Value

This is one of the more expensive drills to make our list. However, for users that want something that is still going to be able to offer superior torque in a smaller unit, this is going to be well worth the slightly higher price point.

Overall

Users love that this little unit can drill through just about anything in a very small package, and it comes from a company that is trusted throughout the industry.

8. DEWALT Orbit Sander

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.4
DEWALT Orbit Sander
Amazon Link
Brand
90
Ease of Use
80
Features
75
Size
74
Value
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.00
Pros:

Smaller frame makes it easier to control

Lightweight

Trusted brand

Cons:

A little expensive

Users do not like the placement of the on and off switch

Some find that it vibrates too much

Working on projects around the house means that you are likely going to need to sand down some rough edges. While simply using a piece of sandpaper by hand is an option, getting some torque behind that sandpaper means that you are not only going to get the job significantly faster, but you are also going to save yourself the grief of sore muscles and hands at the end of the day.

Read more

Brand

DEWALT is one of those household names when it comes to any type of construction job, so it was clearly one of our top picks for sanding tools. They were founded in 1924 in Pennsylvania, and have a long line of satisfied customers in their wake over the years. In fact, you might already have one of their classic black and yellow devices already in your garage.

Ease of use

The shape of this design is what makes it so easy to use. It has a short stature which means there is less room between the sandpaper and your hand, which means you are going to be in more control of what you are working on. Simply load up your sandpaper on the base, turn it on and you are ready to get to work.

Features

What users really like most about this design is the addition of the dust bag. To work quickly and more efficiently, as well as mitigate messes, there is a container found on the rear of the unit that is designed to pick up all of the dust that gets kicked up from the sandpaper.

Size

This unit is pretty small and compact, and measures to be just 10 inches high and about 6 inches long. Plus, it weighs just 4 pounds, making it easy to control and take with you on the go.

Value

The price tag on this unit is a little bit higher than most, but that is going to be the cost of using high quality and reliable product from DEWALT. You might pay more now, but you will know that this unit is going to last you a very long time.

Overall

We liked this design because it is easy to use for just about anyone, and it comes from a trusted company that has been in the business of making high-quality products for over 100 years.

9. WORKPRO Oscillating Multi-Tool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.6
WORKPRO Oscillating Multi-Tool
Amazon Link
Brand
71
Ease of Use
82
Features
84
Size
80
Value
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.99
Pros:

Affordable

Comes with a wide range of accessories and an easy to carry storage bag

Cons:

Lesser known brand

Some found that is isn’t strong enough for heavier tasks

We feel that these handy little devices serve more than one spot on our list, so we are offering this more affordable options from a company that is a little lesser known. This lighter option is a little more approachable than some of the higher end options out there on the market.

Read more

Brand

WORKPRO doesn’t have quite the same clout as some of the higher end and household names, but this option is worth checking out. We found there is little known about this company, but based upon customer reviews this product is made from high-quality materials and it has a lower price point that makes them worth a shot.

Ease of use

Users will need to give the battery a full charge before they get to work. Once it is charged, snap it onto the base and attach the tip that you will need. There is a button on the side that allows users to adjust their speed level, and an on button when you are ready to go.

Features

What users really love about this unit is that it comes with a ton of attachments that are perfect for all sorts of tasks. Attachments include various sizes of cutting devices and quite a few sheets of perfect fitted sandpaper. Plus, it all comes in a really handy storage bag.

Size

This unit measures to be about 14 inches long and just over 5 inches high. It also weighs just over 4 pounds, making it one of the more lightweight and compact multi-options to make our list.

Value

What we liked most about this option is that it comes in at a more affordable price point considering all of the functions that it is able to pull off.

Overall

If you were looking for something that is going to be able to pull off a myriad of tasks in a compact device and is priced just slightly lower from a lesser known brand, this is an excellent option.

10. WORX Compact Circular Saw

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.4
WORX Compact Circular Saw
Amazon Link
Brand
75
Ease of Use
79
Features
73
Size
85
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$53.82
Pros:

Easy to use

Affordable

Lightweight and compact

Cons:

Some found that the lack of torque means that it cuts rather slowly

The thing that makes this circular saw stand out from others out there on the market is that it is able to be used with just one hand. While others require a hand to be placed on the side and top of the unit, this design is compact enough to work effectively with just one hand.

Read more

Brand

WORX might not exactly be a household name, but they are certainly worth a look. They got their start in 1994 by selling component parts to Black + Decker until they decided to set out on their own in 2004 with their own line of products.

Ease of use

What we liked most about this model is that it is incredibly easy to use, and you will be able to work much faster than you would with a two-handed model. Simply plug it in, set your blade level, and turn it on.

Features

Like me mentioned earlier, the design of this model is the thing that sets it apart from other circular saws. It offers a 4.5-inch carbide-tipped blade that is incredibly sharp for cutting through even very thick lumber.

Size

This unit measures to be 15 inches long, 5.8 inches high, and weighs in at just over 5 pounds.

Value

What users really like most about this design is that it comes in at an affordable price point. It might not come from a well-known company, but it has a long line of satisfied customers that find their products to be incredibly well made.

Overall

If you are looking for a circular saw that is a little bit more compact and affordable, we think that giving WORX a try is a great choice.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Brand

Considering the company that manufactures each product was one of the very first things that we looked at.

For some products, the brand isn’t that big of an issue. However, when you are shopping around for a new television, you are probably going to consider the set that comes from Sony rather than a set made by some unknown company. The same principles apply to these products. From what we gathered, many of the big hitters like Black + Decker, DEWALT, and BOSCH have been in the business of making these products for over 100 years, so you know that you are getting something of superior quality. What’s more, the big name companies also take more time crafting excellent design and safety features so that their products are considered to be safe and easy to use. They might come at a little bit of a higher price tag, but we feel that a higher price is worth it when it comes to your safety. The bigger names also have a reputation of crafting products that are made to hold up for a longer period of time, even when they are used on a daily basis, which is something that is also very important to us.

Ease of Use

We want everyone to be included and to be able to use these products, not just mountain men who built their own house.

Finding products that were accessible for everyone was something that we felt was very important. To achieve this, we looked at how each product was made and how it operated. One of the very first things that we searched for was safety features. While easy startup is nice, having multiple switches that need to be pressed in order to turn it on reduces the risk of accidentally bumping it and turning it on. We also made sure to include battery options as well as wired options. There is no definite answer to which unit is best because each option has its distinct advantages and disadvantages. Wired options are great because it means that you are never going to run out of juice in the middle of a job, but it also means that you are going to have something tethering you to an electrical outlet. Battery options are better for those that are engaging in casual jobs because you are untethered to an outlet, but it means that you run the risk of running out of juice.

Features

Everyone likes a lot of features when it comes to these types of devices because it means it's going to make your job that much easier!

We wanted to select devices that had a lot of additional features that would make working just a little bit easier. For instance, the Bosch drill has a light that is built right into the base of the unit that makes working in low lighting easier. When it came to products like drills, selecting products that came will all of the drill bits that you would need to get started, as well as a handy carrying case was something that we felt was pretty important. Basically, for any type of multi-purpose device, we wanted to ensure that all of the little components that you would need to get started were included with purchase. For products such as saws, features that would help the users create a straight line were beneficial. Design features such as lasers that would draw on the cutting surface, or measuring instruments mounted directly on the unit were things that would send a product right over the top to help you achieve perfect cuts for the task at hand.

Size

The size was an important feature to ensure that everyone would be able to use these products.

We wanted to make sure that the devices we selected were small enough so that any size hand and human would be able to operate it. We did keep in mind, however, that sometimes smaller size also meant less strength. While we considered the size and weight of each item, we also wanted to make sure that it didn’t skimp on the strength. One way we confirmed this was by considering the amp or wattage of each device. However, the proof is always in the pudding. Before we landed on one of the smaller options, we checked to see what past users had to say about the product. If there was an overwhelming number of users that felt that the unit was too weak or wasn’t able to cut through even the thinnest of surfaces, we moved on to the next option.

Value

We always want to make sure that we select brands that offer users the best value.

That doesn’t doesn’t necessarily mean that we select the lowest priced products. For the instance for these devices, we took into consideration the brand that made it, as well as all of the additional features that were included with purchase. Many of these products come with a pretty hefty price tag, but you also most consider the jobs that they will be able to accomplish. We felt that even higher priced products that came with a lot of accessories and that were able to complete a myriad of tasks were a far better value than products that were able to achieve significantly less. In our option, when it comes to these types of products, spending a little bit more money on a higher end brand will save you more money in the long run than opting for something less expensive that will not last you half as long.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Brand

Most of the household names found on of our list such as Black + Decker, DeWalt, and Bosch have been in the business of making great quality products for over 100 years, so you know that when you buy one of their products, you are getting the very best in terms of design and quality.

Ease of use

Designs that are easier to use are going to be more accessible to various types of users. Keep a lookout for things like safety features such as an automatic shut off, or on switches that need more than one button pressed to prevent accidentally bumping it and turning it on.

Features

If you are looking at a drill, be sure to check to see if it comes with additional drill bits that will allow you to use it right out of the box. For saws, you want to look for features that will help create perfect lines or angles, and for other multi-purpose devices- the more varied accessories that are included, the better.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: If I had to pick just one device to have on hand at all times, which one should it be?

a:

That’s a hard call because it all depends on the degree of projects that you like to work on around your home. If you simply like to take on simple projects, and you are someone that likes to craft, a Dremel might be something that you may get a lot of use out of. Not only are these rotary devices great and sanding down edges or removing grout, but they can also be used to clean object that you may have given up on using the standard cleaning methods. We also like multifunction devices that sand and cut for smaller household projects, because they are perfect for getting into small spaces. However, if you are someone that wants to take on bigger project likes woodworking or hanging drywall, investing in gear such as a circular saw or a drill is going to make those projects that seem insurmountable a little easier to tackle.

q: Are they difficult to use?

a:

Absolutely not! Many users that are familiar with their products often shy away from them and will opt for manual options like the traditional hammer and nail, or opt to sand a surface by hand. There is no reason to be afraid of these devices because many of them have a lot of safety features that will ensure that all of your fingers stay on your hand where they belong. That isn’t to say that you shouldn’t be careful when using these gadgets. Always be conscious and aware of the task that you are engaged in, and never split your focus.

q: Should I opt for battery powered or wired options?

a:

The answer to this question lies in what you intend to work on. Many users prefer to use wired options if they are planning to work on a project for multiple days at a time. Wired options will not lose speed and strength as you work, and a dead battery is going to leave you stranded in the middle of a job until you are able to fully recharge. The downside to wired options is that you are limited by the length of your cord (or extension cord) and that cord can also get in the way of your work- especially if you are working in tight spaces. Battery options leave the user free and untethered from an electrical outlet, but they will run the risk of losing a little bit of speed as the battery life drains. If you like the idea of a battery powered unit, we suggest buying an extra battery. That way, when your battery dies, you will have another one waiting in the wings.

q: What’s the difference between a circular saw and a jig saw?

a:

Both options perform the very same task- cutting through hard objects such as wood and metals- so what makes them different? A circular saw has a rounded blade that travels like a wheel through hard objects. This device is perfect for those that want to cut perfectly straight lines- which is ideal when you are cutting drywall or making planks for a new deck. The jigsaw, on the other hand, has a long and narrow blade that moves in an up and down motion. This blade is perfect for cutting right angles or curved lines. Let’s say you want to cut a little doggie door for your pooch to roam in and out of. For this task, you are going to want to employ a jigsaw in order to get those perfect 45-degree angles for the frame to fit nicely.

q: What is a great option for beginners?

a:

If you have decided to hang up your hammer and want to enter the world of the powered, there is no better place to start than the humble rotary device. What makes this option great for beginners is that it doesn’t offer as much raw power as, say, a circular saw. These devices are typically very small and fit nicely in one hand, and they are great options to have if you want to shave down and smooth edges, cleaning stubborn surfaces, or simply crafting and engraving. The possibilities are endless with one of these devices, and it will likely awaken the dormant Bob Vila that lives within all of us.