to top 10 table

Best Pot Rack

last updated Mar 26, 2019

It’s the middle of the night, and you want to boil up some buttered noodles, but you know that the rattle of all of the precariously placed pans in the cupboard is going to wake up everyone in the house. How can you remedy this dilemma? Investing in a sleek pot rack will not only make selecting the right pan for the job simple, easy, and silent, but it will also provide a sophisticated look to your kitchen. There are many different models out there on the market that will work for most kitchens, so even if you are working with very little space, there should be a great model out there for you. In this guide, we have selected some of the best designs out there that will expertly display all of your cooking gear so that you will be able to boil up some midnight noodles like a ninja.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 15 hrs of research

icon
Cooks Standard
89.6/100 our score
Capacity
88
Ease of Use
90
Materials
87
Size
91
Value
92
Cooks Standard
Why is it better?

Easy to install

Great amount of storage space

Affordable

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Cooks Standard
Test Winner: Cooks Standard
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
12
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
2.2k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
15
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
18
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Melissa Coleiro
By Melissa Coleiro:

This buying guide for pot racks has been put together to show you the best researched and reviewed products that help you keep your pots and pot lids organized in your kitchen. A great pot rack to keep your eye on is the DecorBros. We love this pot rack because it is known for being affordable, easy to install, and has a great amount of storage space.

Sorting Options
Capacity Ease of Use Materials Size Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Capacity
88 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Materials
87 %
Size
91 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$74.68
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Capacity
86 %
Ease of Use
89 %
Materials
85 %
Size
87 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$34.87
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Capacity
90 %
Ease of Use
85 %
Materials
86 %
Size
91 %
Value
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$37.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Capacity
89 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Materials
80 %
Size
85 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$36.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.6
Capacity
85 %
Ease of Use
84 %
Materials
90 %
Size
80 %
Value
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$74.55
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Capacity
91 %
Ease of Use
83 %
Materials
78 %
Size
85 %
Value
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$75.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Capacity
90 %
Ease of Use
82 %
Materials
78 %
Size
85 %
Value
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$56.13
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.4
Capacity
79 %
Ease of Use
80 %
Materials
79 %
Size
79 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$25.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.2
Capacity
79 %
Ease of Use
78 %
Materials
78 %
Size
78 %
Value
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$116.81
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.8
Capacity
78 %
Ease of Use
78 %
Materials
78 %
Size
77 %
Value
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$45.95

Top 10 Picks

1. Cooks Standard

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Cooks Standard
Amazon Link
Capacity
88
Ease of Use
90
Materials
87
Size
91
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$74.68
Pros:

Easy to install

Great amount of storage space

Affordable

Cons:

Some found that it isn’t deep enough for some styles of pans

The very first thing that caught our eye on this model was its sleek design that looks a little more elegant than some of the other utilitarian options on the market, and it comes in at a reasonable price point. Plus, users find that it is easy to place in their kitchen, which is a great advantage.

Read more

Capacity

The six planks that run along the top of the unit is great for holding various types of larger cooking gear that may not necessarily fit on the hooks below, as well as other off shaped tools or gadgets. The bottom of the unit has 6 hooks that can swivel 360 degrees to place all of your gear in the perfect position.

Ease of use

To mount this unit, users will simply need to secure the two L-shaped brackets to the wall in your kitchen simply by using a Phillips head screwdriver.

Materials

The base of the unit is constructed from 6 wooden planks that run the length of the unit. All of the brackets and hooks are constructed from a high-quality solid cast aluminum.

Size

This unit measures to be 36 inches long and is 8 inches deep. It comes with 6 aluminum hooks to hang your pans, and it can hold a maximum load of about 30 pounds.

Value

The cost of the unit runs about in the middle of the road in terms of price. It might set you back the same amount of money that you may have spent on your heavy cast iron pan.

Overall

The reason that we picked this design as our top pick is because it checks all of the boxes of what one would want from one of these products. It is offered at a reasonable price point, it is easy to install, it can hold a good deal of gear. And it has a stylish look that will look great in any kitchen.

2. DecoBros

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
DecoBros
Amazon Link
Capacity
86
Ease of Use
89
Materials
85
Size
87
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.87
Pros:

Affordable

Easy to install

Comes with 8 utility hooks that can be placed anywhere on the base

Cons:

A little short

Some users found that the hardware that was included did not work for them

What we liked about this option from DecoBros is that it is easy to install, and it has a frame that makes it perfect for cooks that are working with a smaller space in their kitchen. Users really like that it comes in at a really affordable price point as well.

Read more

Capacity

The base of this unit can be used to store a few pans, but because it is deeper than it is wide, it means that the base can only be used to hold a few select items. The bottom of this design comes with 8 standard utility hooks that user can place wherever they need to on the metal grid.

Ease of use

What users really like about this model is that installing in on your kitchen wall is incredibly easy. It has a simple bracket that is placed on hinges, and users will simply need to drill two small holes in their kitchen wall in order to property hang this unit.

Materials

Strength is something that this design has in spades, because the entirety of this design from the base to the brackets is composed solely of bronze gauge steel.

Size

This unit measures to be 24.4 inches long, and is 11.8 inches deep, which makes it a little on the short side, but it is deeper than some of the other designs out there.

Value

The cost of this unit runs just slightly below the average price of other similar designs out there on the market. Considering the high quality of materials used and the excellent carrying capacity, we feel this is offered at a really great value.

Overall

If you are working with little room in your kitchen, and are looking for something that cost just a little bit less than other similar steel designs out there on the market, this is going to be one of your best options.

3. Sorbus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Sorbus
Amazon Link
Capacity
90
Ease of Use
85
Materials
86
Size
91
Value
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$37.99
Pros:

Affordable

Easy to install

Comes with 10 hooks

Cons:

Some feel that it is a little wobbly

The sorbus option hangs off of the ceither rather than mounting it to a wall, so installation is going to be a little easier, but no all users will have a place to hang this unit if they have a kitchen that it a little on the small side.

Read more

Capacity

Users can elect to place cooking gear on the base of this unit, but because it hangs a bit higher than most, taking your gear down may be a bit of a hassle. It comes with an impressive 10 hooks that can be placed anywhere on the grid of the unit as well as on the outside lip.

Ease of use

Mounting this unit couldn’t be easier. Simply mount the twin hooks that are included with purchase to the ceiling in your kitchen where you would like this unit to be hung. Then, place the hooks from the unit that are suspended by metal chains onto the ceiling hooks, and your installation is complete.

Materials

The entirety of this unit is made from powder coated steel, and users can elect to opt for ponder coating colors that include chrome, black, bronze, white, or rustic at slightly higher or lower price points for some.

Size

This unit measure to be 31.5 inches long, and it is also 16.5 inches wide, making it one of the larger designs out there on the market.

Value

The cost of this unit runs pretty par for the course and depending upon the color option that you select, it could be just slightly more affordable than many of the other options out there on the market.

Overall

If you have a center island in your kitchen, or you have the extra space to hang one of these units from the ceiling, this is going to be your best bet because it is made from high-quality materials, and it is offered at an excellent price point.

4. Zesproka

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
 Zesproka
Amazon Link
Capacity
89
Ease of Use
86
Materials
80
Size
85
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$36.99
Pros:

Can hold a good deal of weight

Simple design

Very affordable

Cons:

Does not come with mounting hardware

According to past users, it will rust easily

The most notable feature about the ZESPROKA design is the sheer amount of cooking gear that it is able to hold. It has a pretty solid and straightforward design that will look great in any kitchen, and some users even use this option to store their cast iron pants.

Read more

Capacity

This is where this option really shines. From what we read, there are quite a few customers that actually use this unit to hold their very heavy cast iron pans on the top shelf of this design. It comes with 10 hooks that affix to the base to hold all of your favorite go-to pans to the sturdy metal grid.

Ease of use

The instructions that are included for this design are printed on one single sheet of paper, which means that mounting it to a wall could not be easier. The downside of this design that the mounting hardware- such as the screws and washers- are not included with purchase, which means you will have to take a trip to your local hardware store to install it properly.

Materials

The ZESPROKA design is made from solid metal materials from the mounting brackets down to the metal grid base. There are some users that found that this material will rust if subjected to humidity over a long period of time, but others find that this material is strong enough to hold all of their cast irons pans.

Size

Measuring in at 24.5 inches long and 10 inches wide, this is one of the smaller options out there on the market. However, the inclusion of 10 hooks means that it can comfortably hold at least 10 pans that will hang down from the base.

Value

Our favorite feature about this option is that it comes in at one of the most affordable price points of many of the options out there on the market. It may suffer a few hiccups in the durability and size department, but overall we find that this unit is well worth the price.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is really going to be able to hold a lot of weight without breaking the bank and still being easy to install, this is going to be one of your best options.

5. Kinetic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.6
Kinetic
Amazon Link
Capacity
85
Ease of Use
84
Materials
90
Size
80
Value
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$74.55
Pros:

Easy to hand

Rounded sides are great for hanging utensils

Made from wrought-iron

Cons:

A little expensive

Some feel that the hanging cord in not of good quality

What is different about the Kinetic design is that it has a unique base that can be used not only to hold your bigger cast iron and boiling pans, but it has an area along the outside rim to allow users to also hold their cooking utensils such as spatulas and ladles.

Read more

Capacity

This unit is capable of holding an impressive 40 pounds on the base and hanging from the bottom. It also comes with an impressive 12 hooks to hold pans as well as other kitchen utensils, and users have the option of buying additional hooks if they find that 12 is not enough.

Ease of use

This unit hangs from the ceiling, so there is going to be a good deal of measuring involved to ensure that this unit is mounted properly and items placed on the top will not slide off. Included with purchase is all of the hooks and chain that you will need to properly install this unit to the ceiling of your kitchen.

Materials

The Kinetic design is made from a wrought-iron, which makes it incredibly durable and sturdy, even for your heaviest kitchen gear. This iron construction also means it is a tad heavier than most, weighing in at a just over 10 pounds.

Ease of use

To hang this unit, you will have to mount two hooks on the ceiling where you want this unit to hang. Once the hooks are mounted, hang this unit from them, and snip the chain until it hangs down to your desired length.

Size

This unit measures to be an impressive 33 inches long and 17 inches wide. Keep in mind, however, that the 33-inch length isn’t solely for storing things on top, because there is only a square of grid at the top made for placing awkward pans.

Value

The price tag on this design is quite more expensive than others we have seen, but only be a little bit. Considering that this unit is made from a high-quality iron, we well that this price tag is well worth it.

Overall

For users that are looking for something that hangs down in their kitchen, and sports a slightly different look that makes it great for other kitchen utensils as well, this is an excellent choice.

6. Vdomus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Vdomus
Amazon Link
Capacity
91
Ease of Use
83
Materials
78
Size
85
Value
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$75.99
Pros:

Easy to install

Two tiers can hold twice as much

Wrought-iron will not bend or rust

Cons:

A little pricey

Needs to be assembled and some find that the instructions are a little unclear

If you have not one, but two cabinets filled with cooking tools and pans, this double-decker option from VDOMUS is going to be just the solution to your organization needs. Users love this option because it is easy to install, it is incredibly durable, and it is made to hold more pans than any home would ever need.

Read more

Capacity

This unit gets an A+ in the capacity department. This unit has two shelves to hold all of the kitchen gear, such as pans, blenders, plants, or tea kettles. The grid at the bottom is able to hold 10 pans with the 1- hooks that are included with purchase.

Ease of use

To hang this unit, all users will need to do it mount it with the screws and anchors that are included with purchase. What we discovered is that many users felt that this as incredibly easy to hang in their home, even if they didn’t have a lot of experience doing those types of things.

Materials

Users will not need to worry about this design bending under the wear of heavy gear, and it also will not rust in humid conditions because it is made from a high quality wrought-iron.

Size

This unit measures to be almost 30 inches long, a little over 10 inches high, and about 14 inches deep. It might not be the longest design out there on the market, but the addition of a second level can be very helpful in saving space.

Value

The price tag is just slightly higher than that over average priced designs, but those that are looking to clear up a lot of space in their cluttered kitchen cabinets feel that this design is well worth the slightly higher cost.

Overall

If saving space is the number one reason that you are considering one of these products, we feel that this design option from VDOMUS is going to be your best bet in keeping organized.

7. Old Dutch

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Old Dutch
Amazon Link
Capacity
90
Ease of Use
82
Materials
78
Size
85
Value
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$56.13
Pros:

Easy to install

Can hold up to 60 pounds

Made from high quality materials

Cons:

Some found that it can bend slightly under the weight

If simplicity is something that you want for your kitchen, than the Old Dutch is going to be the right choice for your needs. It has a simple frame that is a little thinner than some of the other options, but thin in this case doesn’t necessarily mean weak- because it can hold more weight than many of the other options out there on the market.

Read more

Capacity

Like we mentioned earlier, this little unit can hold up to an impressive 60 pounds- which is far more than any of the other designs we have seen previously. It comes with 12 high-quality hooks that users can place where they want on the grid found on the base.

Ease of use

This is another unit that you will have to hang from the ceiling, and thankfully all of the installation tools that you will need to hang this design are included with purchase.

Materials

To be able to hold up to 60 pounds of kitchen gear, you know that this design has to be made from some pretty stang materials. It is constructed from medium gauge powder coated steel, and everything from the base to the 12 metal hooks to the hanging chain is all made from the same durable materials.

Size

This unit measures to be 16 inches long, 18 inches wide, and stands to only be 3.25 inches deep. These impressive dimensions make it one of the larger options out there on the market.

Value

While it can hold more weight than others, is don’t have as large of a price tag, This unit is priced to sit just below some of the other standard options we have seen.

Overall

If you need something that has a simple shape, but it is also able to whole quite a bit of weight for all of your cast iron kitchen gear, we find that the Old Dutch design is going to be the best bang for your buck.

8. Love-Kankei

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.4
Love-Kankei
Amazon Link
Capacity
79
Ease of Use
80
Materials
79
Size
79
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$25.99
Pros:

Rustic look

Good brand

Incredibly affordable

Cons:

Cannot hold very much kitchen gear

The Love-KANKEI is another great option for those that aren’t necessarily looking for a high powered workhorse that can hold a few cabinets worth of kitchen gear, but instead are looking for something that will be able to store a few choice and ideal pieces while offering a sleek and stylish look. Our favorite feature about this option is that it comes in at one of the lowest price point on the market.

Read more

Capacity

Capacity is where this design falls short a little bit. It has 8 hooks that hang off of a dowel rod on the center, and the top of the unit is a narrow plank that is generally used for storing things such as spices or decorative plants and herbs.

Ease of use

What we really like about this options is that it is really easy to mount in your kitchen. Simply find a pace on your wall that will be able to accommodate the space needed to hang pans, and use the hardware that is included with purchase to mount it to your wall.

Materials

This unit it composed of a combination of both wood and metal. The exact type of wood in not specified in the item description, but upon first glance users can tell that it is made to look like a rustic and distressed wood like that found in an old farmhouse.

Size

Measuring in at 17 inches long and 7.3 inches high, this is one of the smaller options out there on the market. The top is not designed to hold any additional gear, but can be used to hold decorative items or smaller miscellaneous tools.

Value

This unit gets an A+ in value. It is one of the more affordable options out there on the market, and will likely set you back about the same amount that you would spend on a low and cast iron pan.

Overall

If you are looking to save a little bit of money, and you also want something that it a little more decorative- this is going to be your best bet. Just keep in mind that it will not be able to hold the same amount of gear as some of the iron and metal higher priced options can.

9. Elegant Designs

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.2
Elegant Designs
Amazon Link
Capacity
79
Ease of Use
78
Materials
78
Size
78
Value
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$116.81
Pros:

Light fixture built into base

Affordable

Made from high-quality materials

Cons:

ExpensiveMay need help with installation

If you are as serious about your cooking as you are at keeping your kitchen neat and organized, this option from Elegant Designs is going to be the perfect fit for your needs. It is made from high quality materials, and has a design that is made to hold a few cabinets worth of gear, but it comes in at a price point that almost doubles some of the others designs that we have selected for our list.

Read more

Capacity

This unit comes with a wide base that will allow users to place quite a few pans on top, and it also comes with 10 high-quality hooks to hang heavy pans from. Additional hooks can be purchased to hold even more gear.

Ease of use

Due to the fact that this unit has a light built into the base, the installation may be a little tricky because it requires a little bit of electrical work. Simply hang your unit form the ceiling where wires already run to an existing light, and hook the lines up to the base of this unit. For some, you may want to have this design professionally install to ensure that it is put in properly.

Materials

There will be little change of this unit bending under the pressure of heavy weight, because it is composed of a high-quality metal that sports a brushed nickel finish.

Size

This unit is a bit larger than most out there on the market, measuring in at 35.7 inches long, 18 inches long, and 13.4 inches deep.

Value

The downside to this design is that it comes in at a price point that almost doubles that of some of the other options out there on the market. However, if you take into consideration that this unit also doubles as a light fixture, the price tag suddenly seems very reasonable.

Overall

What we liked most about this option was the quality of the materials used, and the addition of a bright light fixture. The downside to this is that you may need a professional to install it for you, and it is also quite expensive.

10. HomeHarmony

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.8
HomeHarmony
Amazon Link
Capacity
78
Ease of Use
78
Materials
78
Size
77
Value
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$45.95
Pros:

Sleek, modern design

Easy to install

Affordable

Cons:

Does not hold that many pans

If you haven’t quite liked the look of many of these designs because they may not match the certain look of your kitchen, you might want to give the HomeHarmony design a look. This design has an art deco look to it that white different than many of the other options out there. Keep in mind, however, that this sleek design makes it a lot more difficult to hold a lot of kitchen gear.

Read more

Capacity

This is where this option falls a little short. The 9 hooks that are mounted in the base and cannot be moved. This makes it only able to hold up to 9 pans, and it does not have a flat base to hold anything on the top.

Ease of use

Due to the fact that it has such a simple design, it means that installation is going to be a snap. Simply hang it from the ceiling with the sturdy bolts that are included with purchase.

Materials

The base of this unit is made from natural wood, but the type of wood that it is composed of isn’t specified.

Size

This unit measures to be 28 inches long, 8 inches high, and 3 inches deep, making it one of the smallest designs out there on the market- perfect for those working with very little kitchen space.

Value

While this unit comes in at a price point that it slightly lower than many other options out there on the market, you are not getting a whole lot of bang for your buck considering that it can only hold 9 items at a time. However, if style is something that it important to you, this may be well worth the price tag.

Overall

For those that are looking for something that is both functional and stylish, and can organize your kitchen gear without running the risk of making your space look cluttered, the HomeHarmony is going to be your best bet.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Capacity

This was one of the most important features that we considered because the end end when it comes to products like these is to free up some much sought after cabinet real estate, and give your kitchen a clean and organized look.

To ensure that we picked items that were able to hold a good deal of gear, we first looked to see what the weight capacity of each unit was listed at. There were only a handful of brands what their products were able to handle, and we discovered that the average weight was about 40 pounds, with a few exceptions that were able to handle up to 60 pounds. Not all pans are created equal, and finding a place to store that heavy and cumbersome cast iron pan can be a real blessing. Weight capacity wasn’t the only thing that we considered, however. We also took a look at the depth of the grid that users were able to place their pans, and also considered the number of hooks that were included with purchase. For the most part, companies offered about 8 hooks included with their purchase, with others capping out at around 12. Of course, users will also have the option of purchasing extra hooks if they need it at a generally low price point.

Ease of Use

Users will want something that is found to be fairly easy to install, because it is of the utmost importance that these units be considered secure.

When you think about the fact that these are going to be holding upwards to 60 pounds, the idea of them falling off of where they were mounted can cause some real damage to your gear as well as whatever it falls on. That’s why we kept our eye on two the: the inclusion of mounting hardware, and what past users had to say about the installation process. Products that included mounting hardware with their designs typically jumped to the top of our list because it meant that the bolts and washers included are the excelt right side and of the right strength to get the job done. Problems often arise when users are sent to the hardware store to try and guess which types of bolts and washers are going to be right for the job. We also read what past users had to say, because they will be the first ones to detail a difficult and unclear installation process. For the most part, there weren’t a whole lot of negative installation accounts because these units typically have a solid design, and usually only need to employ a few bolts and hooks to affix them to a ceiling or a wall.

Materials

What a product is made from is super important to determine how well it is going to perform when under the pressure of your pan collection.

When we were researching the best products out there on the market, of the the first things that we looked at was the materials that it was made from. Generally, any type of metal was considered to be ideal, and iron was considered to be the strongest (but often can came at a much higher price points). We also considered wood to be a strong and sturdy material, as long as it was supplemented with metal hooks and mounting hardware. One word that could turn us off to an design almost immediately was the word bend. If we found that there was an overwhelming number of users that found that their design would bend under the weight, we would move on to the next option. Now, unless a unit is composed of the bones of Superman- there is going to be just a little bit of bending, especially when weighed down with heavy cast iron pans. When it becomes a problem is when users are claiming that pans are falling off due to the amount of bend in the unit. In summary- a little bit a bending is ok, but a lot of bending will quickly become a problem.

Size

The size of a unit determines just how much gear you will be able to place on its frame, so it was something important that we considered.

In this particular instance- size isn’t always better. Not all kitchen are created equal, and if you are working in a very small space, a lot of the larger units will not quite fit. That’s why we wanted to make sure that on our list that we also included some of the smaller options for all of those tiny little kitchens out there. To maximize space on the smaller options, we preferred to select innovative designs such as the VDOMUS option that had two shelves where users could place additional gear. The VDOMUS may not be the largest design out there on the market, but it’s smart design coupled with the quality of materials used to construct the base make it the perfect option for smaller spaces. Before you take the plunge on one of these options, be sure to measure the space that you wish to hang it. We found there were quite a few reviews out there of users discovering that the unit that they bought was just a little bit too big for their smaller kitchen space.

Value

As always, we want to save you a little bit of money while we can.

What we discovered throughout our research was that the average price of some of the good quality designs out there will likely run you about the same amount that you would spend on a microwave. We made sure to include some more affordable options that were priced just slightly below that average cost, and we also selected some higher end options that were priced a little above that average price. The most expensive units often came in at a higher price point due to the size of the unit, as well as the quality of materials used for the base as well as the mounting components. For designs that were on the more affordable side, companies often cut costs by using chains and hooks that weren’t of the same calibur of quality as the base of the unit. If you want the same quality as some of the higher end models, but don’t want to spend that kind of money, we feel that taking a trip to your local hardware store and spending a little bit of money on quality chains and bolts will give you the same quality as some of the higher end designs without paying the painful price tag.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Design

It's important to take into consideration the tools you have in your cupboard. Some home cooks like a wide arsenal of various tools when it comes to cooking up their favorite meals, while others have only a few trusted pieces that they use for almost anything. If you fall in the former category, you are going to want to select a design that has a lot of room up top as well as down below for all of your gear. If simplicity is what you are after, one of the smaller options may be better suited for your needs. Take a look at what each design is made from. You really want to make sure that these devices are incredibly sturdy, and the last thing that you want it something that is going to bend under the pressure. Materials such as iron are going to be your best bet in terms of stability, but wood and metal designs can be just as effective as well.

Other Factors to Consider

Adjustability

You might not think that this is very important- but proper installation is the only thing that stands between you and ripping your drywall right off of the frame of your kitchen. That's why you will look for designs that have simple and easy to understand mounts that either hang from the ceiling or your wall. If they are installed properly, the weight of the unit once loaded up could fall and really do some damage to your cooking gear as well as your kitchen!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why do I need one?

a:

Most home cooks have a cabinet where they keep all of their most important pans and boiling pots- and this cabinet often looks like it was hit by a earthquake. No matter how many times you pull out all of your tools and try and organize them, it always becomes a disorganized mess. That’s usually due in part to the fact that you stack them on top of each other, and the pan you would use to boil up some ramen is quite different than the pot you would use to boil potatoes for a family dinner. Stacking pans is a recipe for disaster, but using one of these products to hang them neatly is the solution. With these products, all of your tools are displayed neatly for you to pick from, and will clear up quite a bit of cabinet space.

q: Are they easy to install?

a:

For the most part, they are quite easy to install. For wall mounted options, they are typically mounted by an L-shaped bracket that it held in place by a pair of screws. If you have an electric drill handy, installing wall units will be nothing more than a bit of measuring and drilling two holes for your mount. The ceiling options are actually quite similar. Users will simply need to measure where they want their product, screw in two hooks, and then hang their unit. Depending upon where you want your unit to hang down, you may need to cut the chain that is included with purchase to achieve the right height.

q: Can they support cast iron pans?

a:

From what we gathered, these units should be strong enough to be able to hold at least one of your impossibly heavy cast iron pans. The average size cast iron pan weighs about 8 pounds. Many of the average racks out there on the market have the capability of holding up to 40 pounds. So, as long as you make sure to keep the weight evenly distributed on your unit, you should have no problem storing all of your heavy cast iron gear on one of these devices.

q: What else can I store on them?

a:

What we discovered is that customers are using these devices to hold quite a bit more than what they are designed to hold. For some, they use the top rack to place a decorative plant, fresh herbs, or spices. Other like to keep small kitchen appliances on the top rack such as tea kettles, blenders, or french presses. Some users even like to use the hooks to hang their most used kitchen utensils for quick and easy access, such as ladles, spatulas, or serving spoons. If you have a messy and unorganized drawer of cabinets in your kitchen, these products are made to bring a little bit of organization into your life.

q: How do I know what style is right for my kitchen?

a:

First, take a look around your kitchen. Do you have a center island with wasted ceiling space? If that is the case, you might benefit more from the designs that are made to be mounted from the ceiling. If you are worried about losing the light that is placed above your center island, there are some options out there on the market that come with the benefit of a light fixture built directly into the unit (at an additional cost). Do you have any wasted wall space in your kitchen that you use to hang decorative pictures, but wished that it served some practical purpose? If that is the case, the wall mounted options may be in your best interest.

q: How high should I hang it?

a:

The important thing to consider here is that you want it to be high enough so that it is out of the way, but not too high that you will not be able to reach some of the things that you placed on the top shelf. However, if you wish to hang it significantly higher so that it is out of the way and gives a cleaner look, you can always opt to forgo storing things on the base of the unit and simply using the hooks to store your kitchen gear. You will lose quite a bit of storage in doing this, but you will gain the benefit of a cleaner and more organized feel.

Sources

  1. Tara Summerville, Best Pot Rack, Buying Guide
  2. Iron Accents, Helpful Information on Choosing and Installing Kitchen Pot Racks, Educations Article
  3. Fante's Kitchen, Pot Rack Guide, Blog