to top 10 table

Best Portable Garage

last updated Mar 29, 2019

No matter where you go or how far you travel, the birds will find you- and they will use your car as target practice. You could resign your life to an endless circle of trips to the car wash, or your could just invest a little bit on money in a portable garage. These options are great because they can be shipped right to your door, and with a little time and skill they can be set up and are great to go, and taken down just as easily. Plus, because they are just a series of canvas and poles, they aren’t going to take up that much room in storage. In this guide, you will find some of our favorite picks for portable garages to keep your car (or boat) safe from the elements no matter where you go.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
Abba Patio Direct
93/100 our score
Ease of Use
91
Durability
97
Materials
95
Size
90
Value
92
Abba Patio Direct
Why is it better?

Easy to assemble

Made from high quality materials

Can open up on both sides

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Abba Patio Direct
Test Winner: Abba Patio Direct
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
19
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Ease of Use Durability Materials Size Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Ease of Use
91 %
Durability
97 %
Materials
95 %
Size
90 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$369.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Ease of Use
90 %
Durability
91 %
Materials
89 %
Size
88 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$249.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Ease of Use
90 %
Durability
84 %
Materials
87 %
Size
89 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$349.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Ease of Use
88 %
Durability
85 %
Materials
90 %
Size
86 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$139.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Ease of Use
89 %
Durability
83 %
Materials
85 %
Size
84 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$369.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Ease of Use
83 %
Durability
86 %
Materials
85 %
Size
82 %
Value
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$399.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Ease of Use
83 %
Durability
80 %
Materials
81 %
Size
78 %
Value
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Ease of Use
80 %
Durability
81 %
Materials
85 %
Size
75 %
Value
73 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$399.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76
Ease of Use
76 %
Durability
78 %
Materials
79 %
Size
73 %
Value
74 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$935.74
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74
Ease of Use
76 %
Durability
78 %
Materials
73 %
Size
72 %
Value
71 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$249.99

Top 10 Picks

1. Abba Patio Direct

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Abba Patio Direct
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
91
Durability
97
Materials
95
Size
90
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$369.99
Pros:

Easy to assemble

Made from high quality materials

Can open up on both sides

Cons:

Some users found the high winds or heavy snowfall (5-6 inches) can put too much pressure on connections

What we liked most about this design from Abba Patio Direct is that it is made from really durable and high-quality materials that is going to leave your car safe and protected, but is it also incredibly easy to put up and take down.

Read more

Ease of use

From what we have read from previous users, this style is incredibly easy to put together and took most about 2.5 hours. It comes with detailed installation instructions, and potential buyers can even download a PDF copy of the instructions to determine if it is going to be something they will actually be able to assemble.

Durability

The quality of materials used means that this product is really going to be able to hold up during even the harshest weather conditions. There were a few users that felt that this unit was even able to hold up quite well during brutal Michigan winters.

Materials

The canopy that is going to keep the rain and debris off of your car is made from a polyethylene material that is considered to be rain, wind, and snow proof, and it is UV resistant as well. The poles are made from a very strong white powder coated steel that measures to be 1.5 inches.

Size

Once assembled, this design measures to be 12 feet wide, and 20 feet long. The inside without the pitched tent measures to be 6.7 feet, and with the canopy is measures to be 9 feet high.

Value

What we liked most about this design is that it comes in at a price point that runs in the middle of the road. It isn’t the most expensive design out there, but it isn’t the least expensive either.

Overall

If you are in the market for something strong and sturdy to get you through the winter storage months, and you aren’t willing to pay the price tag of some of the higher end options, this design is going to be your best bet.

2. Quictent

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Quictent
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
90
Durability
91
Materials
89
Size
88
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$249.99
Pros:

One year replacement warranty on most parts

Affordable

Versatile design will make a great tent for events and parties as well

Cons:

Users found that stakes that are included with kit do not keep it put in windy conditions

This option from Quictent is great because it is incredibly versatile, and it is made from high-quality materials that are going to hold up quite well even in bad weather. Users find that it is quite easy to put together, and its versatile style makes it perfect for more things that just vehicle storage.

Read more

Ease of use

From what we could gather, there were some users that found this design can be a little difficult to assemble. Spring-loaded poles can sometimes be a little tricky to pull back and get into place, so you might need to employ the help of a friend to get this unit assembled before the weather changes.

Durability

While the quality of the materials are great and will keep the wind, snow, rain, and damaging UV rays off of your vehicle, some users have had a little bit of trouble keeping it from blowing away in high winds with the materials provided. If you opt for this design, be sure that you take a little extra time to ensure that it is really staked into the ground!

Materials

The canvas used for the canopy is made from incredibly thick and durable polyethylene that is going to be perfect for keeping all of the elements on the outside. The poles, as well as the connectors, are made from a high-quality white powder coated steel that will not bend and break.

Size

This unit is just a little bit more narrow than some of the others that we have seen, so you might have issues with larger vehicles or boats. The front measures to be 10 feet wide (which is a little more narrow than most, and runs about 20 feet long- which is pretty standard.

Value

One of the things that we liked about this design is that it comes in at a more affordable price point than the Abba Patio Direct design. Plus, it comes with a pretty robust warranty on many of the pieces and parts that hold this design together, so if something fails on you within the first year, Quictent will send you a replacement part free of charge.

Overall

For users that want something simple and more affordable than most, this is going to be one of your better options. Just keep in mind that it is narrower than most, and it will require just a little more effort keeping it staked to the ground.

3. Topcamp

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Topcamp
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
90
Durability
84
Materials
87
Size
89
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$349.99
Pros:

Easy to assemble and take down

Stylish color and design

Detachable walls can also serve as a party canopy

Simple storage with wheeled bag

Cons:

Not very durable in harsh weather conditions

Does not come with stakes to secure it to the ground

This design from Topcamp gets an A+ in portability. It is incredibly easy to put together, and it also comes with a carrying case with a wheeled bag that makes it easy to travel or even put away in storage in the off season.

Read more

Ease of use

What users really liked about this model is that it is incredibly easy to assemble. Instead of fumbling with a bunch of loose poles, this unit has a spring loaded frame that unfolds much like an umbrella. This means that users will only need to employ the use of their time (and a few tools) staking it to the ground.

Durability

This design is a little bit more delicate than most, and may not be ideal for extremely high winds or heavy snowfall. The good news though is that it can fold up pretty quickly if you notice that it is struggling.

Materials

This unit users 1 ¼ inch steel tubes for the canopy frame, and it uses thinner legs to hold it down to the ground. The canopy is made from high quality and sturdy nylon that is UV resistant.

Size

Measuring in at 10 feet wide and 20 feet long, this unit is the standard size out there that will be able to fit most average size boats or cars, but it may be a little tighter for larger SUVs.

Value

The cost of this option runs about in the middle of the road in terms of price. While it isn’t the most expensive design that we have seen, it isn’t going to be one of your more affordable options either.

Overall

One of the things that users really liked about this option is that it comes in in beige color, which is a little unconventional considering that most designs are either white or black. This makes it a great place for storage, but it also provides a little bit of style as well.

4. Caravan Canopy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Caravan Canopy
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
88
Durability
85
Materials
90
Size
86
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$139.99
Pros:

Incredibly affordable

Canvas is made from the same high quality material as some of the higher end designs

Cons:

Not very durable

Thin frame

Does not have side or read walls

If you have been a little gobsmacked by the price tag on these designs, you might be pleased to find that this simple option from Caravan Canopy is going to give you protection from the sun and rain, and it is offered at one of the lowest price points of most of the other designs out there on the market.

Read more

Ease of use

Due to the fact that this unit has such a simple design, it means that it is also going to be fairly easy to assemble. All of the poles fit together quite nicely, but it is going to take you some time and patience to find a place for all of the shapes and sizes of poles.

Durability

The bad news here is that durability is a bit of an issue. While the canopy is going to be great at keeping rain and debris off of your car or boat, a heavy gust of wind may cause you troubles at keeping the fabric attached to the frame.

Materials

Using 1.375-inch steel tubing, the frame is going to be a little on the thin side when you compare it to some of the more expensive designs. The good news here is that it uses a heat sealed polyethylene canvas material (the same material you will find in the higher end models) that will protect the contents from harmful UV rays.

Size

The side of this unit is pretty standard, and measures to be 10 feet long and 20 feet wide.

Value

Sure, this unit has a few problems, but these problems may be excusable to you when you notice the price tag of this design. It carries a price tag that is almost ⅓ of the price of some of the averagely priced options, and it still uses some of the same materials as the higher end designs.

Overall

Sure, this design has a few shortcomings that might not make it ideal for harsh climates, but if you consider the incredibly affordable price tag, you might consider giving this design a try to save a little bit of money.

5. kdgarden

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
kdgarden
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
89
Durability
83
Materials
85
Size
84
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$369.99
Pros:

Offers superior protection from the elements

Made from high quality materials

Cons:

A little difficult to assemble

Not very aesthetically pleasing

While this design from kdgarden isn’t going to have the same aesthetic appeal as some of the other options that we have seen, it is going to make up for it’s looks with superior quality and durability.

Read more

Ease of use

If you are working alone, most users found that set up takes them about 4 hours, and can drain a lot of their patience. A good way to sidestep this potentially frustrating experience is to have a friend come help you, and it should cut this time in half.

Durability

As far as being able to withstand some pretty harsh climates, this product really shines. It is made from some really high-quality materials from the canopy to the metal frame that is going to stay put no matter how harsh the weather can get.

Materials

The frame is constructed from some really high-quality 1.5-inch steel tubes that simply screw together by hand. The canopy is made from a very high-quality triple stitched polyethylene material that is waterproof, windproof, snow proof, and offers superior UV protection. Plus, the darker material is going to leave your vehicle nice and comfortable in the shade at all times.

Size

This unit comes in the standard size of 10 feet wide and 20 feet long. The pitched canopy also measures to be 8 feet high from the base to the tip.

Value

The cost of this unit is going to set you back about the same amount that you would spend one of other average priced, high-quality designs that we have seen.

Overall

The only downside that we have seen with this design is that it is a little less attractive than some of the higher end designs that we have seen, but in exchange, it offers a lot more protection from the elements than most, which may be more important to some users.

6. Outsunny

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Outsunny
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
83
Durability
86
Materials
85
Size
82
Value
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$399.99
Pros:

Holds up well against harsh weather

A little wider than most

Cons:

A little more expensive than other similar designs

White powder coated tubes chip easily

What we liked most about this option from Outsunny is that is made from high-quality materials that are going to be able to withstand the elements, and it is also made to be just a tad wider to accommodate most size SUVs and boats.

Read more

Ease of use

Shipping in two separate boxes, there are quite a few pieces and parts that users will have to assemble, which can take quite some time, and could deplete your patience a bit. We feel the best way to assemble this unit is to have a friend or family member come help to make the process a little faster and easier.

Durability

This unit really shines when it comes to holding up in the elements. It is made from high-quality materials that are going to work great at keeping the rain, wind, debris, and snow off of your gear while away in storage for the season.

Materials

Outsunny uses the highest quality materials to make their products. This design is constructed from white powder-coated steel tubes for the frame, and the canopy is made from water-resistant polyethylene that also provides a UV barrier.

Size

What we liked most about this design is that it is built to be just a bit bigger than your average size, which means you can fit more gear inside. It measures to be 12 feet wide (two feet more than your standard size) and 20 feet long.

Value

The cost of this unit is just a little bit more expensive than most- if you decide to select the grey design. The beige option is actually quite more affordable, and has a price tag that is in line with many of the other similar designs out there on the market that is made from the same types of materials.

Overall

For users that want to marry function with design, this option from Outsunny is going to be one of your better options without breaking the bank.

7. ShelterLogic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
ShelterLogic
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
83
Durability
80
Materials
81
Size
78
Value
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Easy to assemble

Made from high quality materials

Cons:

Some users found that it isn’t very tolerant to windy conditions

What users really like about this design from ShelterLogic is that it has a sleek exterior that will look nice on a campsite or in your backyard, and users found it to be very easy to put together and take down.

Read more

Ease of use

From what we have read, many users found this design to be quite easy to assemble and take down. Included with purchase is a set of very easy to decipher step by step instructions that are going to make it much easier to set up, even when you are working alone.

Durability

While this unit may look pleasing on the outside, it comes at the cost of durability. There were quite a few users that felt that this design didn’t really hold up all that well in windy conditions, and the thickness of the frame is a little thinner than most.

Materials

The frame is constructed from powder-coated steel tubes that measure to be about 1.375 inches thick. The canopy is made from a triple layer of ripstop nylon that is considered to be waterproof, tearproof, and offers superior UV protection.

Size

The size of this unit varies slightly from the standard options that we have seen. While it is just as wide as many of the standard designs- measuring in at 10 feet wide- it is just a little shallower than most, measuring in at just 15 feet deep.

Value

The cost of this design runs pretty par for the course. While it isn’t the most affordable option out there on the market, it is far from being the most expensive.

Overall

The size of this design isn’t going to take up that much room in your yard as some of the other designs that we have seen, but it also means that it isn’t going to be able to house all style and sizes of boats and automobiles.

8. SORARA

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
SORARA
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
80
Durability
81
Materials
85
Size
75
Value
73
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$399.99
Pros:

Easy to assemble

Uses 2 inch thick steel tubes for frame

Front and back door are removable to create cross ventilation

Cons:

Expensive

This design from SORARA is a little more expensive than some of the other designs that we have seen, but the additional features built into the frame of this unit makes it well worth the slightly added price point in our opinion.

Read more

Ease of use

From what we have gathered from what past users have had to say, this unit is fairly easy to assemble. It comes with a set of instructions that is quite easy to read, and many users will be able to put it together on their own.

Durability

One of the things that we noticed about this design is that it is made to withstand some pretty hard climates. SORARA states that each piece that makes up their product has been tested to ensure that it will be able to withstand some pretty nasty weather conditions.

Materials

The frame is constructed from steel tubes that measure to be an impressive 2 inches thick- which is about .5 inches thicker than some of the higher end designs). The canopy is made from polyethylene, which is going to protect your gear from rain, wind, snow, debris, and harmful UV rays, as well as control the temperature on the inside.

Size

The measurements of this option are pretty standard from the other options we have seen out there on the market. It measures to be 10 feet wide and 20 feet deep.

Value

The downside about this design is that it comes in at a price tag that is a little bit more than some of the higher end designs that we have seen. However, we feel that the use of high-quality materials and craftsmanship makes it an excellent value.

Overall

If you are looking for something that has a great exterior appeal, but is also made from high-quality components that are going to keep your gear safe, this is going to be a great option if you are willing to pay the slightly higher price point.

9. DELTA

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76
DELTA
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
76
Durability
78
Materials
79
Size
73
Value
74
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$935.74
Pros:

Double the size of singular units

Easy to assemble and take down

Cons:

Connections are made from aluminum and will rust over time

If you are looking to store a lot more gear than a singular car or boat, this double wide option from DELTA is going to be one of your better options. However, because it is twice as big means that it comes in at a price point that is twice as much as well.

Read more

Ease of use

From what we could gather from previous uses, putting this unit up in very simple and easy. It comes with a set of instructions that are easy to read, and it also comes with a care manual to ensure that you get the most out of this product.

Durability

The materials used are of high quality and will withstand high winds and rain, but due to the pitch of the roof you may run into some issues with heavy snowfall. Due to the fact that this unit is a lot wider than most, it means that the roof pitch is a little shallower, which could lead to problems when the snow starts to pile up.

Materials

The frame is constructed from durable galvanized steel poles, but the connections are made from aluminum- which some users found would rust over the years. The canopy is made from high-quality polyethylene, which will protect your gear from UV rays, as well as water, and wind.

Size

What makes this design stand out from the rest is the size. It measures to be 20 feet wide and 22 feet long, which is double the size of many of the average units we have seen out there on the market.

Value

The cost of this design comes in at a price tag that is almost double the price of many of the smaller designs we have seen. However, if you take into consideration that this design can hold twice as much, it is actually a really great value.

Overall

For those that need something that can store a lot of gear in the off months, this design from DELTA is going to be one of your better options.

10. Peaktop

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74
Peaktop
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
76
Durability
78
Materials
73
Size
72
Value
71
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$249.99
Pros:

Easy to assemble

Dual zippered doors for cross ventilation

Affordable

Cons:

Not ideal for heavy snowfall

Some found the poles to be a little small

This design from Peaktop is great because it offers users a lot of style to their outdoor space, while also protecting their gear from the elements. It has a lot of features such as windows and cross ventilation that will keep your car comfortable, and it comes in at a really affordable price point.

Read more

Ease of use

According to the reports of previous users, this design is quite easy to put together, and you might not even have to bribe a family member to come and help. It is shipped in two boxes, and the instructions that are included are simple and easy to follow.

Durability

The quality of the materials that were used as well as the reviews that we read from previous users make this design one durable unit. There were quite a few users that felt that this was able to withstand some pretty high winds and still remain intact.

Materials

This unit uses powder-coated steel tubes for the framework, and comes with the necessary assemble parts to hold it in place. The canopy is made from a high-quality polyethylene that will keep the wind, rain, and snow off of your gear, as well as protect it from harmful UV rays.

Size

The size of this unit is pretty standard. It measures to 10 be feet wide, and 20 feet long.

Value

One of the things that we liked most about this design is that it is priced just slightly below many of the similar designs that we have seen out there on the market.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is easy to put up, and it going to look quite nice storing all of your gear until the weather breaks, this is a really great option that isn’t going to break the bank.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Ease of Use

Putting together larger outdoor structures can be a real pain, so we wanted to ensure that we selected designs that were going to be easy to put together and tear down when needed.

One simple way to tell if putting it together is going to be a nightmare was to consult the reviews of previous users. They are going to be the very first one to detail the account of how difficult or easy it was to assemble, so we made sure that we selected designs that got high marks in ease of assembly. Another thing that we kept our eye on was the availability of the instructional manual. We noticed that some companies allow users to download a PDF scanned document of the instructions so that you can see what you are getting yourself into before you make your purchase. It’s important to note that none of these designs are going to be able to pop up easily on your first try. You should go in expecting it to take about 2-4 hours if you are working alone, and that time should decrease the more times to put it up and take it back down.

Durability

This was one of the most important features that we looked at, because no one wants to chase down their gear as it blows down the street on a very windy afternoon.

To ensure that we selected design that were going to be able to stand up to harsh weather, we looked at the materials that were used. Steel tubing that measured to be about 1.5-2 inches thick is going to be one of your better options for frames that are going to need to hold up a good deal of snow if you live in a snowy area. Frames that have steel tubing under 1.5 inches are still going to be sturdy, but they just won’t be able to hold up the weight of heavy snowfall. Another thing that we looked at was how well they were going to be able to be staked into the ground. There were some options out there that provided users with great staking systems, but we noticed that some of the others were a little lacking. This doesn’t necessarily mean that the product is bad, it just means that you might have to take a little extra time and buy some extra materials to keep it in place on those windy days.

Materials

In order for a product to be able to withstand some pretty nasty weather, it is going to need to be made from high quality materials and components.

For the canopy, you are going to want something that is not only waterproof and windproof, but you are also going to want something that is going to offer a good deal of UV protection, because it is most likely going to be set up in a place where it gets direct sunlight. We found that the very best material that is going to be able to accomplish these tasks is polyethylene, or more commonly known as PE. Hands down, this is the best material for the job, and it is used by a majority of companies because it is affordable but it is also incredibly durable and easy to care for. For the frame on the inside, steel tubing is the way to go. Be sure that you steer clear of PVC pipes for interior frames. While this may save you a little bit of money initially, PVC is notorious for bending and becoming unreliable in high-pressure conditions such as high wind or heavy snow.

Size

The size of each design is going to determine two things- how much room it is going to take up in your outdoor space, and how much gear you will be able to hold inside.

From what we found, the standard size of most designs out there on the market is 10 feet wide and 20 feet long. These dimensions are going to give you just enough room to park a modest sized sedan or boat, but it may not be ideal for larger vehicles such as SUVs. For those that are looking to store away a larger vehicle, we recommend selecting a size that measures to be at 12 feet wide. This is going to give you just enough room without it feeling too cramped. If you need a ton of storage, there are also styles that measure to be double the the standard- 20 feet wide and 22 feet long. These are going to be great for storing two vehicles, but they come in at a price point that will double the price of the standard 10 feet by 20 feet, and they are often a little weaker due to the shallow pitch of the canopy.

Value

At the end of the day, we want to save you a little bit of money when we can without sacrificing quality.

We wanted to select a wide variety of pricing options for those that don’t have a lot of money to spend, to those that are looking to spare no expense. Designs that are on the more affordable end of the pricing scale often don’t have the same level of features that higher end options have- such as cross ventilation of even side panels. It is important to note, however, that even the more affordable options are typically made from the same high quality materials such as polyethylene and steel tubing. Higher priced options are typically priced that way because they have a lot of additional features such as zippered panels for cross ventilation and thicker 1.5-2 inch steel tubing to withstand more harsh climates. Plus, bigger designs that can hold more than one car are going to cost you significantly more as well.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Ease of Use

It is important to keep in mind that these are going to take you a little bit of time and patience to put together. The average time it will take to set up right out of the box is anywhere from 2-4 hours, so to make that process just a little easier, you might want to bribe one of your friends to help!

Durability

Depending on where you live in the world, not all designs are make to withstand harsh winters or high winds. If you are looking for something that is going to be able to stay up all year, look for poles that are between 1.5-2 inches in diameter to ensure that you have an incredibly strong frame.

Materials

For canopies, polyethylene (PE) is going to be the best material to keep your gear high and dry. It is a very sturdy material that is impervious to tears, and it is considered to be waterproof, wind proof, and will protect your gear from harmful UV rays.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are they going to be easy to put up and take down?

a:

Sadly, there are no designs that we found that are going to be able to pop up with the flick of a button like an umbrella. From what we could gather, most of these designs are shipped in boxes of two- one for the fabrics, and one for the poles. If you have even put up a camping tent, you know what goes into setting up these products. First, you are going to need to construct the frame to place the canopy. The frame is a system of steel tubes that are fastened together. Many simple slide together, but with some other designs you many need to employ the use of some tools to tighten them together. Once the frame is in place, you will need to fasten the canopy to the top using the tools that are provided in your kit. If you are working alone, it can take you anywhere between 2-4 hours from start to finish, but as you learn how it fits together you can cut that time in half.

q: What is polyethylene?

a:

You might have noticed that almost every design that is found on our list uses polyethylene for the canopy cover. So, what exactly is this material? It is a synthetic resin that is used in products such as plastic grocery bags or food containers. What makes this material ideal for these canopies is that they are completely nonporous, which means that they are going to create a watertight seal. You won’t have to worry about rain or snow bleeding through the fabric, and you also won’t need to worry about tears because it is an incredibly durable material. What also makes it great for this purpose is that it is also UV resistant, which means that no harmful UV rays will be able to penetrate the surface.

q: Can I leave it up all year?

a:

The answer to this question depends upon the type of product you selected, as well as the part of the world you live in. If you have opted for a style that uses anything less than 1.5 inch steel poles, or a product that has aluminum components, you might want to pack it up for your harsh winter. Aluminum components typically aren’t ideal to leave up all year round for extended periods of time because they are prone to rusting, which will weaken your structure a great deal. However, if you have invested in a design that has steel tubes that measure to be 1.5-2 inches, these are going to be ideal for holding up through harsh climates, which means that you will be able to keep them up all year round. If you live in a temperate climate, we really can’t find a reason that you wouldn’t be able to leave these designs up all year round.

q: Will it take up a lot of room in storage?

a:

Absolutely not! These products typically arrive at your door in two boxes, which means that when you pack them back up they should be able to fit back into those boxes. The pieces and parts that make up these structures are small and simple. The poles are long and thin enough that they can be tucked into a corner in your garage, and the canopy may be a little on the thick side, but it can also be folded up neatly when not in use. Some companies even offer storage containers to put your structure away when not in use.

q: How do I know what size that I need to purchase?

a:

The size that you need will depend upon what you intend on storing. If you have a small to modest sized car like a sedan, you will be able to purchase one of the standard size options that measure to be 10 feet wide and 20 feet long. However, if you have a vehicle that is bigger than your average sedan, it may be in your best interest to invest in a style that measures to be 12 feet long. If you want to store multiple vehicles- such as cars, motorcycles and boats- under one structure, the best option for you will be a structure that measures to be 20 feet wide and 22 feet long.

q: Can they be used for anything else?

a:

Of course! Not only can they be used to store anything that you don’t want to be left out in oppressive weather such as boats, kayaks, cars, bikes, and motorcycles, certain styles can also be used as a type of shelter. What we found is that there were quite a few users that used these products for shelter for outdoor events. If your 4th of July party gets rained out, you will have the option of using one of these products to be able to keep the party going while all of your guests remain dry until the rain passes.

q: How do I care for them in the off season?

a:

Before you pack it up for the season, you first want to clean off the top of the canopy. The best way to go about this is to simply lie it flat in the yard, and use a garden hose or pressure washer to rinse off all of the dirt and debris. You are going to want to make sure that before you fold it up to put in storage that it needs to be completely dry. If it isn’t dry when put away in storage, you run the risk of developing mold on the surface.

Sources