to top 10 table

Best Pool Fences

last updated Mar 31, 2019

Owning a backyard pool is the dream of nearly every child. Those children who grow up to install pools in their backyards may learn very quickly, however, that there are some fairly weighty responsibilities that come with pool ownership. Ensuring the water is safe (chemically) to swim in is one thing, but when you have small children or pets, ensuring they’re kept safe from potential drownings is even more important. Aside from installing a pool alarm, you can further ensure safety by surrounding your pool with a fence. There are a number of different styles on the market today so we took it upon ourselves to do the hard research for you. Below are the ten best currently available to pool owners.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
Life Saver Pool Fence
98/100 our score
Connectivity
99
Materials
97
Style
96
Size
99
Features
99
Life Saver Pool Fence
Why is it better?

Comes with a lifetime warranty (limited)

Great customer service

Can be removed easily if children aren’t always around

Durable construction

Not bad looking

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Life Saver Pool Fence
Test Winner: Life Saver Pool Fence
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
6
Researched Sources
Total Readers
11k
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
13k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Connectivity Materials Style Size Features By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Connectivity
99 %
Materials
97 %
Style
96 %
Size
99 %
Features
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$124.04
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Connectivity
97 %
Materials
97 %
Style
98 %
Size
94 %
Features
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$124.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Connectivity
94 %
Materials
95 %
Style
93 %
Size
96 %
Features
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$129.78
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Connectivity
95 %
Materials
93 %
Style
92 %
Size
89 %
Features
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$184.74
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Connectivity
89 %
Materials
92 %
Style
87 %
Size
87 %
Features
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$166.98
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Connectivity
89 %
Materials
86 %
Style
90 %
Size
89 %
Features
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$339.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Connectivity
82 %
Materials
89 %
Style
86 %
Size
90 %
Features
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$109.78
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Connectivity
86 %
Materials
89 %
Style
82 %
Size
83 %
Features
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$200.98
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Connectivity
84 %
Materials
83 %
Style
86 %
Size
84 %
Features
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$91.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Connectivity
80 %
Materials
82 %
Style
79 %
Size
80 %
Features
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$129.78

Top 10 Picks

1. Life Saver Pool Fence

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Life Saver Pool Fence
Amazon Link
Connectivity
99
Materials
97
Style
96
Size
99
Features
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$124.04
Pros:

Comes with a lifetime warranty (limited)

Great customer service

Can be removed easily if children aren’t always around

Durable construction

Not bad looking

Cons:

Can be a complicated install

This fence from Life Saver Pool Fence took the number one spot on our list for a number of reasons you’ll read about more below. It is a highly-praised and high-rated product that will provide a safe and aesthetic way to protect the littlest loved ones in your life.

Read more

Connectivity
Each of the sections of the fence is connected with a durable stainless-steel safety latch and spring system.

Materials
This fence is constructed out of industrial-strength Textilene mesh material. Each of the five poles that come with each 12-foot section of fence is made from a heavy-gauge aluminum to ensure durability and stability. This product provides over 270 pounds of strength per square inch of the fence.

Style
This is a customizable fence style. You order as many or as few fence sections as you need. It can easily be installed onto pavement, stone, wood or even into the dirt and loose surfaces. Though this fence is easy enough to take down when not needed, it is quite nice looking and wouldn’t be a terrible thing to have in your backyard necessarily.

Size
This product is available in several different options. Pool owners can choose to order a single section (which is 12 feet), 4 sections with a gate, 6 sections with a gate or just 6 sections without a gate. Each 12-foot long section is four feet high.

Features
If you’re a grandparent with a backyard pool, there might not be a need to have your fence up all year round if your grandchildren don’t live nearby. One of the great things about this product is that it easy to take down if there are no children present.

2. Water Warden NE180F

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Water Warden NE180F
Amazon Link
Connectivity
97
Materials
97
Style
98
Size
94
Features
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$124.95
Pros:

5-year warranty

Heavy-duty construction

Easy to install

Posts won’t rust

Cons:

Rotary hammer drill necessary for installation

This is the first of two fences from Water Warden. This particular product took the number two space on our list because of its protective features.

Read more

Connectivity
The posts for this fence are made of a heavy-duty and reinforced 1/2 -inch stainless steel pins. The product arrives with polymer sleeves that will make for a consistent installation as well as protection for your pool deck.

Materials
The mesh of this fence is uniquely constructed to be climb-resistant with no toe or finger holds for little ones to grab onto. The posts and screws are made from a stainless steel material that is resistant to rust and corrosion.

Style
You will need to measure the area around your pool in order to ensure you’re getting the right amount of fence sections. This particular fence does not include the gate, it will need to be purchased separately. This product is easy to install and quick to remove when it is not required.

Size
This fence comes in sections that are 12 feet wide by four feet tall.

Features
This product comes with all the hardware you’ll require for installation, a template to ensure accurate measuring, instructions, and an installation video that should help to make putting this fence up a breeze. You will require a rotary hammer drill for installation.

3. Sentry Safety Pool Fence

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Sentry Safety Pool Fence
Amazon Link
Connectivity
94
Materials
95
Style
93
Size
96
Features
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$129.78
Pros:

Lifetime warranty (limited)

Very simple installation process

Fully assembled

Easy to remove if required

Cons:

Some users suggested the fence didn’t come with instructions

Here we have our first product from Sentry Safety Pool Fence. This company is well-known in the world of pool safety and Visiguard is one of the best options on the market.

Read more

Connectivity
Each section of this fence has support poles every three feet, making installation a more streamlined process because you will not have to measure and cut it to whatever length you require.

Materials
The poles for this fence are made of a stainless-steel core, PVC insert, and a finished aluminum that is powder coated for durability. The stainless-steel rod will not only help to keep your fence in the ground, but it won’t break if you are removing your fence for storage purposes. The PVC piping provides a strong, but lightweight frame.

Style
This product is very similar in style to the previous options on our list. The mesh is more transparent, however, which allows for a more aesthetic look to your backyard.

Size
This fence comes pre-assembled in four foot high 12-foot wide sections.

Features
The mesh used in the construction of this fence is some of the most transparent on the market. This material not only helps to keep your pool looking good as you’re able to see through the fence easily, but it helps to add an extra layer of protection as you’ll be able to keep an eye on the children easier as well.

4. GLI Base Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
GLI Base Kit
Amazon Link
Connectivity
95
Materials
93
Style
92
Size
89
Features
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$184.74
Pros:

5-year warranty

Looks great

Inexpensive

Relatively easy to assemble

Cons:

Instructions are not adequate

You may notice right off the bat that this fence looks a lot different than other options we’ve covered in our buying guide so far. This is because this particular product is designed for use in above-ground pools. Let’s take a closer look at what else it has to offer.

Read more

Connectivity
The mounting brackets have rounded edges that make it easy to attach to your pool’s upright supports.

Materials
This fence is made from a rigid vinyl material that keeps it maintenance-free and protected from the UV rays of the sun. The mounting brackets that come with the fence are made of strong, durable material.

Style
Because this particular product is designed for use in above-ground pools, it looks a lot different than the rest of the options on our list. The fence looks like a white picket fence and is very aesthetically appealing.

Size
This fence from GLI is available in three different kits – 2-sections, 3-sections or 8-sections. Each section is 64.5-inches wide and 24-inches high.

Features
Some materials that other fence options are made from are not designed to be resistant to UV rays. This product from GLI, however, is meant to be UV-resistant. This means that the fence will look good regardless of how many hours it spends in the direct sunshine.

5. Vinyl Works

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Vinyl Works
Amazon Link
Connectivity
89
Materials
92
Style
87
Size
87
Features
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$166.98
Pros:

Affordable price tag

Looks attractive

Easy to install

Will satisfy insurance requirements

Cons:

May not be as secure as other options

This option from Vinyl Works is another fence kit for those who have above-ground backyard pools. There are some stark differences in this product and the one above, so let’s take a look at what benefits this product provides.

Read more

Connectivity
This fence connects via the vertical upright posts of your pool.

Materials
This kit is made of a round resin picket fence. It comes with blow-molded brackets for mounting that is not adjustable and the hardware made of stainless steel will help provide a secure installation.

Style
This product looks a lot like the previous option on our list. We think above-ground pool owners will like the aesthetic appeal this fence adds to their property.

Size
This kit comes with eight sections of fence that can be cut to fit the requirements of your pool. Each section is 64.5” long and 24-inches tall. In order to determine how many fence sections you’ll need, you can count the number of vertical upright beam supports that are on the outside of your pool.

Features
We loved that this fence is able to add both safety and style to your pool. A lot of fence options on the market aren’t very nice to look at, but with this product from Vinyl Works, you can ensure a nice-looking addition to your pool.

6. Giantex

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Giantex
Amazon Link
Connectivity
89
Materials
86
Style
90
Size
89
Features
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$339.99
Pros:

Great quality

Solid steel poles

Sturdy construction

Simple to install

Cons:

Cannot be used on grass unless you use cement blocks as posts

We’re going back to in-ground pool fences with this product from Giantex. It features a very durable, easy-to-install construction. It is a perfect choice for folks who do not have small children or pets around their pool all the time and will only need a safety solution when they have visitors.

Read more

Connectivity
Each section of fence clips together with durable eye hooks.

Materials
This fence is made from a lightweight and durable aluminum tubing. The mesh is 1000D Textilene and climb-resistant so your more adventurous little ones won’t be climbing over.

Style
This easy to erect and easy to take down in-ground pol option from Giantex is simple to operate as a single person.

Size
This fence arrives in 12-foot sections that are all four feet high.

Features
As mentioned, this fence is very easy to put up and take down. A bonus feature is when it comes time to store the fence when it’s not in use, it can easily be rolled up to be space saving.

7. Sentry Safety Pool Fence EZ- Guard

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Sentry Safety Pool Fence EZ- Guard
Amazon Link
Connectivity
82
Materials
89
Style
86
Size
90
Features
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$109.78
Pros:

Easy to install and remove

Comes with caps for when the fence is not being used

Transparent mesh

Fence comes with drill bit and drilling guide

Cons:

Cannot be installed on grass

Here we have our second product from Sentry on our list. This one is vastly different from the previous option in a few major ways. This fence is the only 5-foot option that you’re going to see in our buying guide. This makes it a great choice for people who prefer a little more protection and privacy for their pool deck.

Read more

Connectivity
Each section of the fence connects together with a hook and eye closure.

Materials
This fence is made with a UV-resistant fiberglass material that will not fade, even in direct sunlight. This material is also able to resist chlorine and other harsh pool chemicals without any fading. The poles' core is composed of stainless steel, an insert made of PVC and aluminum.
Style
The EZ-Guard system is designed to be able to fit the contours of most pool shapes. The poles can be moved closer together (or further apart if necessary).
Size
Each section of this safety fence is 5-feet tall and 10-feet wide.

Features
Each of the poles for this fence come pre-assembled with the mesh fabric and with the stainless-steel hook and eye clips.

8. Protect-A-Pool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Protect-A-Pool
Amazon Link
Connectivity
86
Materials
89
Style
82
Size
83
Features
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$200.98
Pros:

Easy to install

Attractive looking

Near-universal design

Cons:

Hard to find product dimensions online

This kit from Protect-A-Pool is designed for use in above-ground pools. It is an attractive solution for all of your pool safety needs.

Read more

Connectivity
The brackets for this fence are designed to be installed on the beams of your above-ground steel walled pool.

Materials
This option is designed from sturdy and lightweight resin materials. It is rustproof by nature.

Style
As with the other above ground pool options on our list, the Protect-A-Pool has white picket fence vibes. It’s a very attractive way of protecting your little ones from the dangers of an unsupervised pool.

Size
This fence is made to fit most conventional above-ground pools.

Features
The manufacturers of this fence boast that it is an easy-to-install system that you can do yourself with little to no help.

9. GLI 30-0410-BLK

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
GLI 30-0410-BLK
Amazon Link
Connectivity
84
Materials
83
Style
86
Size
84
Features
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$91.99
Pros:

Climb-resistant surface

5-year limited warranty

Easy to put up and tear down

No gate required

Cons:

Some users suggested the instructions were unclear

Here we are with another product from GLI, this time for in-ground pools. This product looks a lot like other similar products in our buying guide, but there are some differences. The fence comes in 10-foot wide sections while most others come in 12-foot, for example.

Read more

Connectivity
The sections will latch together very quickly. In only a matter of seconds, an adult will be able to gain access to the pool while ensuring little hands cannot.

Materials
This fence is made from a climb-resistant mesh material that won’t allow even the most curious little one a foot or handhold to climb.

Style
This fence looks a lot like the other in-ground pool fence options on our list. While some other options require the use of a gate, this product from GLI does not necessarily.

Size
This fence is available in 10-foot length sections that are the standard 4-feet high.

Features
We loved that this fence is easy to remove when it is not in use. The poles will slide right out of the cement and with the discs that come in your kit, you can cover the holes so they’re not as noticeable.

10. Sentry Safety Pool Fence Classic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Sentry Safety Pool Fence Classic
Amazon Link
Connectivity
80
Materials
82
Style
79
Size
80
Features
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$129.78
Pros:

Weather resistant construction

Easy to install

Can be used on a number of different pool shapes

Durable

Cons:

Need a large drill to install it

Finally, we have reached the final spot in our top ten list. This is another option from the Sentry Safety brand, which has carved quite a name for themselves in this pool fence business. Let’s see what this fence has to offer.

Read more

Connectivity
As with the other Sentry Safety products on our list, the mesh panels connect via a hook and eye closure.

Materials
The materials used in the construction of this fence are all UV and tear resistant. They’re also bordered on all sides by a special lining that is designed to stop fraying in its tracks. The aluminum poles are black powder coated for durability that is meant to withstand all sorts of inclement weather without corroding or rusting.

Style
This fence is designed specifically for use in in-ground pools. It’s a slick looking design that will not clutter the view of your backyard too much.

Size
The sections of this product are 4-feet tall and 12-feet long.

Features
This product is customizable as the backing of the poles is easily removable. This allows for consumers to modify the size of the fence they need.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Connectivity

How your fence sections connect is vital to know.

Though most of the pool fences on our list connect in the same way, there are a few options that connect differently so we felt this was an important criterion to look at. Most of the options on our list connect via a hook and eye closure at the top of the mesh panels. This type of closure is easy for adults to operate but will not be easily accessible to a small child. If you want to spend the extra money, we suggest looking at purchasing a gate separately. None of the fences on our list come with a gate automatically and it is usually quite an investment to purchase one. The gates add an extra layer of security and they look snazzy, too.

Materials

Your pool fence should be made of durable materials for extra safety and protection.

The most common materials you’re going to see on our list are mesh and aluminum. Many of the pool fences are made with a high-quality mesh material that resistant to tiny climbers. These mesh panels have no foot or handholds that little limbs can get into to help them climb up the fence. This material is also UV-resistant in many cases, which will help to keep your pool fence looking brand new as time goes on. Often times the suns UV rays will damage and fade things that are kept in direct sunlight, but the construction of the mesh on some of these fences will resist that fading.

Powder-coated aluminum is another popular material type in pool fences. This is because powder-coated aluminum is durable and more likely to resist the elements than other types of materials. Aluminum doesn’t need as much upkeep to stay looking nice.

Style

Above ground or in-ground pools will require different fence styles.

The style of fence you will buy will depend on whether or not you are the owner of an above-ground or in-ground pool. The above-ground pool fence options are going to look much different than the in-ground fence options. This is simply due to the design of the pool. It is much less likely for your child to fall into an above-ground pool because it is a few feet off of the ground, to begin with. The above-ground pool fences then are much shorter by design. Whereas an in-ground pool fence is typically going to be at minimum four feet high, your above ground pool fence is only going to be around half of that (if that).

Size

Know the law regarding the height of your pool fence.

Height is a huge consideration to take into account as you begin your hunt for the best pool fence. Typically, it is recommended that all fences be at least four feet high but there may be special considerations in some situations. You should ask yourself a few questions to decide which height will be best for your needs. Do you live somewhere where it is windy? The taller your fence is, the more likely it is to be damaged by the wind. How many children/grandchildren are you planning to protect with your pool? One child could easily be intimidated by a 48” fence. But put a couple of crafty children together unsupervised and they may be brave enough to try and get over it. How well do your children/grandchildren listen? A well-behaved and compliant child might be able to be unsupervised around a 4’ tall fence, where more boisterous kiddos might not fear going against your wishes. Do you care a lot about the look of your fence? Most people like the way a 4’ fence looks over higher options. A 5’ fence may be right in your line of sight and could become an eyesore.

Features

Read through the special features to find out which fence is right for your needs.

Each fence comes equipped with its own special features. You will want to pay extra close attention to the ‘features’ section of our reviews to see which pool fence provides the best features for your particular requirements.
Some options are easy to roll up, take down and put up. These products are a great choice for people who don’t always need to have their pool protected year-round with a safety fence. Grandparents will appreciate being able to have their backyard fence-less when the grandchildren aren’t around, but safe and secure in a jiffy when they’re on their way to visit.
Some options, such as the Sentry Safety Pool Fence EZ- Guard, will not only come with all of the hardware required to install the fence but other necessary accessories like drill bits as well.
We already talked a bit about the UV-resistant materials in our Materials section, but this may be a special feature worth considering if you live in an area that sees a lot of sunshine throughout the year. While a sun-faded pool fence may not be a deal break necessarily as it will still do its job of protecting your loved ones, why not purchase a fence that is going to look good, too? The fences made from UV-resistant materials will not become damaged or faded from the sun, ensuring your backyard looks good and is safe, too.

expert tips icon
Caution

Accidental child drownings are the second leading cause of death around the home for kids who are under five years old. In some of the warmer U.S. states, drowning is the number one cause of death for children under five. The truth is that many of these could be prevented if homeowners put forth an effort in safeguarding their homes with pool alarms and fences.

Know the Law

We recommend becoming familiar with the laws in your area regarding pool fences and overall safety requirements before committing to purchasing one of these products. There are some states that require safety fences be a minimum of five feet, while others only require a four-foot minimum. Familiarizing yourself with the local laws will avoid disappointment when it comes time for the insurance company to come and check out the safety features of your pool.

Other Factors to Consider

Ease of Use

How easy it is to install your new pool fence may be an area of concern for some consumers. If you have problems following instructions or have the attention span of a goldfish, you may not like the amount of effort and time that goes into erecting some of the options on our list. Of course, no matter how long it takes to install your new pool fence, you’ll end up with potentially life-saving protection. But we do understand that some people lack the construction skills necessary to put things together. In this case, we recommend hiring a handyman or two to help you get the job done. It’s better to have to shell out a few extra dollars to have professional help installing your new fence than to half-heartedly do it yourself, cutting corners to save time.

Durability

When it comes to the safety of the loved ones in your life, you can’t take any chances. This is why the pool fence you ultimately choose will need to be crafted out of reliable and durable materials. We have already talked about the importance of proper materials in our Materials section above, but it bears repeated. A high-quality pool fence should not be scalable by small children. There should be no where for little ones to put their hands and feet so they can climb up. The fence needs to be made with durable poles so that if your little child were to run at the fence full speed or ram into it with their Barbie Jeep, the fence will stay standing.

Overall Fit

You want your pool fence to fit around your pool. In order to ensure you’re getting a proper fit, you will need to know the dimensions of your pool and take as accurate measurements as possible in order to avoid disappointment. In some cases, you may need to purchase more than one pool fence set in order to have a proper fit around your pool. All of your fence pieces should connect together so there is no gap anywhere for little children or pets to sneak through.

Portability

Do you plan on keeping your pool fence up all season long? Or do you only need it when the grandkids come to visit? Many of the options on our list are easy to set up and even easier to take down. Some even come with caps that will fit into the holes that the fence will leave behind when it is not installed so your pool deck is hole-free and snazzy looking at all times. Some fences will roll up when not in use, taking up less of your precious storage space.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: I don’t always need a fence installed around my pool, only when my grandchildren come to visit. Are these easy to remove?

a:

The answer to this question depends on what type of pool you have and what kind of fence you’ve decided to purchase. Some of the options are relatively easy to remove and store away until they’re needed. Some require a lengthy installation process and are meant to serve as more of a permanent fixture in your backyard.

q: How long will this product last me?

a:

If you take proper care of your new pool fence, it should be able to provide you with many years of protection and peace of mind.

q: What is the recommended height for the fence?

a:

You may need to refer to your particular state or city’s laws in order to find out what the regulations are for where you live as there is no federal law in the United States. Recommendations tend to begin at 48” but your insurance company will likely request an even taller barrier. We like the old adage “better safe than sorry” so we would recommend sticking with that 4-foot minimum.

q: Will my pets wreck the fence?

a:

You know your pets best so only you can truthfully answer this question. Some dogs who are chewers or scratchers may get at mesh fencing. Cats may also try to climb the mesh. If your pets do damage your fence, manufacturers will typically have replacement parts that you can purchase.

q: What can I do to keep my fence looking its best?

a:

We recommend establishing a cleaning schedule and aiming to clean it at least quarterly. Mesh fences can be washed with cold water to keep it from deteriorating with the harsh pool chemicals it may come into contact with. If you clean your pool deck with chemicals, you should take care to not let it come into contact with your fence.

q: I have a problem with deer coming into my yard. Can I use a pool fence to deter them?

a:

We can’t tell you what to do, but we can make suggestions. We would not recommend this. Most pool fences are designed to deter five-year-old children. A 300-pound male deer can do a lot more damage than a 50-pound child.

q: What kind of tools will I need to install my fence?

a:

This may depend entirely on which fence you have decided to purchase. Generally speaking, however, you will probably want to have the following as a bare minimum – hammer, tape measure, and a marking pencil. In most situations, you will also require the use of a rotary hammer drill also.

q: Aside form having a secure pool fence, what are some other ways I can keep my pool safe?

a:

There are a few layers of protection you should always have for your backyard pool. First of all, constant adult supervision is the most important. Tragedy can strike in a second where water is concerned, so pool owners must be prepared to always provide constant supervision when children or pets are around the pool. Another layer of protection you should have in place is a high-quality pool alarm. These can be installed on doors or gates around your home and will alert you if someone is leaving your house to access your pool deck. There are also in-pool alarm options that are designed to float in the water of your pool or rest on the side of it. These styles are designed to sense when there is a submersion in the water and will alert you with a high-volume alarm. The final way to keep your children safe around your pool is to instill in them earlier the importance of proper pool safety equipment (life jackets) and enroll them in swimming lessons. Many recreation centers have swimming lessons that begin for children as young as a year old. It is never too early.