to top 10 table

Best Pool Chemicals

last updated Oct 11, 2019

Owning a swimming pool was every kid’s dream growing up. Images of infinite hours spent playing games in the pool with friends and sun-kissed skin from summers spent outside filled our heads as we dreamed of how we’d be the coolest kid on the block because we had a swimming pool. Unfortunately, for the adults who own a swimming pool, there comes a lot more work than just deciding which pool toys or sunscreen to use. There is a science to owning a pool and ensuring you have the right chemicals to get the job done is of utmost importance. Thankfully we’ve put together this buying guide to help you decide which chemicals you’ll need to keep your pool a safe and fun environment all summer long.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 3 hrs of research

icon
Natural Chemistry 05131 Pool Perfect+
99/100 our score
Use
99
Materials
98
Size
100
Ease of Use
100
Value
98
Natural Chemistry 05131 Pool Perfect+
Why is it better?

Works effectively against algae

Very easy to use

Lasts a long time

Keeps the water crystal clear

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Natural Chemistry 05131 Pool Perfect+
Test Winner: Natural Chemistry 05131 Pool Perfect+
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
32
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
3
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
22
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Use Materials Size Ease of Use Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Use
99 %
Materials
98 %
Size
100 %
Ease of Use
100 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$33.49
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Use
97 %
Materials
96 %
Size
99 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$119.98
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Use
94 %
Materials
97 %
Size
97 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$22.27
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Use
93 %
Materials
97 %
Size
95 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$28.75
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Use
92 %
Materials
94 %
Size
93 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$9.94
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Use
90 %
Materials
91 %
Size
93 %
Ease of Use
89 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$17.25
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Use
87 %
Materials
87 %
Size
93 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$8.50
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Use
86 %
Materials
87 %
Size
85 %
Ease of Use
89 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$24.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Use
83 %
Materials
84 %
Size
90 %
Ease of Use
84 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$14.95
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Use
86 %
Materials
83 %
Size
80 %
Ease of Use
82 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$39.96

Top 10 Picks

1. Natural Chemistry 05131 Pool Perfect+

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Natural Chemistry 05131 Pool Perfect+
Amazon Link
Use
99
Materials
98
Size
100
Ease of Use
100
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.49
Pros:

Works effectively against algae

Very easy to use

Lasts a long time

Keeps the water crystal clear

Cons:

Seems to be some quality control issues

This product from Natural Chemistry took our number one spot on our list not only because it has nearly 850 four star and up reviews on Amazon, but simply because it works. The company has outfitted this necessary pool companion with natural ingredients that you can feel good about using in your precious pool.

Read more

Use
This chemical from Natural Chemistry is designed to be a completely natural pool cleaner additive. It is meant to be used to further enhance the sanitizer program you have in place.

Materials
Natural Chemistry used their SMARTZyme technology in this manufacturing of this product. It contains thousands of enzymes that are designed to break down the waste you don’t want in your pool.

Size
This product comes in a 3-liter bottle. It can be purchased as a one-off or a two or four pack.

Ease of Use
This product is designed to be used weekly to help pool owners keep their phosphate levels near zero. Using it is as simple as shaking the bottle and adding one capful of the product per 8,000 gallons of water into the skimmer while the circulation system is going.

Value
This product is well-priced, especially considering how effective it is at making the water in your pool feel soft and looking clear.

2. In the Swim 3-Inch Chlorine Tablets

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
In the Swim 3-Inch Chlorine Tablets
Amazon Link
Use
97
Materials
96
Size
99
Ease of Use
98
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$119.98
Pros:

Help to maintain a good level of chlorine 24/7

Easy to use

Huge supply to last a long time

Slow release

Won’t throw off pH

Cons:

Some users thought the individually wrapped tablets were a pain to deal with

This is the first In the Swim product you will find in our buying guide, but definitely not the last. There is a reason for this as this company focuses mostly on providing consumers with high-quality pool accessories. This particular product comes a powerful and long-lasting chlorine tablet.

Read more

Use
These slow-dissolving tablets will provide a daily dose of chlorine to the water in your pool so as to help maintain a consistent level. Typically they will need to be replaced once every five to seven days.

Materials
These tablets are made from 99% trichloro-s-triazinetrione which is a dry solid that has the highest chlorine content of any pool sanitizing chemical (aside from gaseous chlorine).

Size
This huge pail weighs 50 pounds. It houses around 115 individually wrapped chlorine tablets that are 8-ounces each. Most pools will use one of these tablets for every 5000 gallons of water.

Ease of Use
These are very effective and easy to use in your pool. In the Swim recommends not putting the tablets into your skimmer basket unless your pool pump runs everyday all day. They instead recommend putting this product into a chlorine floater or an automatic feeder.

Value
The cost of this product might come as a bit of a shock at first, but it is important to note that you are receiving 50 pounds worth of chemicals with this item. If you use one tablet per week, it can last you as long as 115 weeks.

3. Leisure Time Spa Shock Renew

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Leisure Time Spa Shock Renew
Amazon Link
Use
94
Materials
97
Size
97
Ease of Use
94
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.27
Pros:

Easy to use

Keeps the water stabilized

Minimizes the need for other chemicals

Affordable

Effective

Cons:

Some complaints about this product having a weak formulation

Leisure Time Spa Shock Renew is a great product designed for use in hot tubs. Hot tub contaminants will build up over time and can be easily eliminated through regularly shocking the water inside.

Read more

Use
This product from Leisure Time is designed to clear any cloudy water that you have in your hot tub while also reducing the odor and any contaminants that might be present as well. It can safely be used with both chlorine and bromine purification systems.

Materials
The active ingredient in this product is potassium peroxymonosulfate, a widely used oxidizing agent.

Size
Leisure Time Renew comes in a 2.2-pound container.

Ease of Use
This product is very easy to use. If you’re using it as a shock oxidizer, Leisure Time suggests adding 2 ounces of this product for every 250 gallons of water in your pool. It is important to not that this product is not a disinfectant and you will still need to use your sanitizing treatment in order to treat your water.

Value
This product is fairly priced and is about the same price as other similar products on our list. We loved that it's designed for use in hot tubs and that it’s a non-chlorine method to shock your water.

4. Dicalite Minerals Diatomaceous Earth

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Dicalite Minerals Diatomaceous Earth
Amazon Link
Use
93
Materials
97
Size
95
Ease of Use
93
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$28.75
Pros:

Can be used in a sand filter

Produces clear water

Can help with maintaining chlorine levels

Easy to use

Cons:

Paper bag can be a pain to deal with

This product from Dicalite Minerals is a filtering media that’s meant to be used for DE pool filters in above and in-ground DE filter systems. It’s used to take away impurities from your pool at a high filtration flow rate.

Read more

Use
This powder is designed to provide outstanding filtration results for your swimming pool, especially when you compare it to the results achieved by sand or cartridge filter systems.

Materials
Diatomaceous earth is comprised of fossilized remains of diatoms. Diatoms are a type of single-celled algae.

Size
This product arrives in a 25-pound bag.

Ease of Use
This product is simple to use. The amount of powder you use in your pool will depend on whether or not you have an above or in ground DE filter.

Value
This product is priced quite high, but it produces admirable results that make the price tag more than worth it.

5. hth Pool Balance Alkalinity Increaser

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
hth Pool Balance Alkalinity Increaser
Amazon Link
Use
92
Materials
94
Size
93
Ease of Use
90
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.94
Pros:

Works as advertised

Large container

Easy to use

Can be used with salt systems

Cons:

Need to be careful with measurements

It is very important as a pool owner that you are on top of balancing the pH levels. If the alkalinity is too low, for example, the pH levels of your water will fluctuate a lot. Pools with too high of a pH level can cause red eyes, dry skin and premature wearing of your swim clothes. Pools that have a low pH level can easily corrode your pool ladders, railings, and pumps. Low pH is also known to cause dried out hair, skin and excessive itching.

Read more

Use
This product is designed to raise the total alkalinity in the water in your swimming pool. You will want to aim for an alkalinity level of 60-120 ppm for best results. This product will help the sanitizer in your pool work more effectively.

Materials
This product contains sodium bicarbonate.

Size
This product from hth is available in a number of different pack options. You can purchase one 5-pound container or otherwise it is also available in packs where you will receive anywhere from two to five containers.

Ease of Use
The first step prior to using this product is measuring the alkalinity of your pool with test strips. If you find that it is below 60 ppm, you can add this product by applying it evenly over the surface of your pool.

Value
This product is priced fairly. It is vitally important to ensure the alkalinity in your pool is balanced so investing in this product is worth more than the price tag.

6. Leisure Time Spa Up

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Leisure Time Spa Up
Amazon Link
Use
90
Materials
91
Size
93
Ease of Use
89
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.25
Pros:

Comes as granules or in liquid form

Works as advertised

Instructions are easy to follow

Helps to control pH

Cons:

May need to use more of this product than advertised

Here we have another product from Leisure Time aimed towards use in hot tubs. This fast-dissolving granule product is compatible with both chlorine and biguanide sanitizing systems.

Read more

Use
Spa Up is designed to help you maintain the pH of your hot tub water if the levels have fallen too low. If your pH levels are too low (below 7.2), you may find that your equipment will begin to corrode and that scale may start to form.

Materials
The active ingredient in this product is sodium bicarbonate.

Size
Spa Up comes in a two-pound bottle.

Ease of Use
This product is easy to use. You’ll first need to ensure that all of your equipment is turned off. Next is to decide how much of this product to use. Don’t worry, the label on the bottle will guide you. You’ll then add the amount of Spa Up necessary to raise your pH level to your hot tub water. The circulation system will then need to be turned on for anywhere between one and three hours. After this point, you can retest the water and see if Spa Up helped.

Value
This is one of the most affordable options on our list of pool chemicals.

7. Clorox Pool & Spa pH Up

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Clorox Pool & Spa pH Up
Amazon Link
Use
87
Materials
87
Size
93
Ease of Use
90
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$8.50
Pros:

Fine powder dissolves easily

Easy to use

Leaves skin feeling soft

Works as described

Cons:

Container doesn’t come full to the top

Clorox is a household name in many homes across the country. The brand has carved a name for themselves in the world of household cleaners and although you may not initially think of them when it comes time to consider chemicals for your pool, the Clorox Pool & Spa pH Up product is a worthwhile product to consider.

Read more

Use
This product is designed to help raise low pH levels in order to protect your sensitive and expensive hot tub and pool equipment. It is also designed to help optimize the efficiency of the sanitizer you’re using in your pool. It is compatible with both salt and chlorine pools.

Materials
One of the main ingredients in this product is sodium carbonate. This is more commonly known as soda ash and is an additive that is commonly used in pools to help raise both the pH and alkalinity levels.

Size
This product arrives in a four-pound container.

Ease of Use
This product is as simple to use as other options on our list. What we really liked about it, though, is that you can use the Clorox Pool App to determine accurate dosage for your water needs.

Value
This product from Clorox is the most affordable option on our top ten list. Considering that you’re still receiving a fair amount of product – four pounds worth – we think this is a chemical that provides a lot of value.

8. In the Swim Basic Chemical Start-Up Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
In the Swim Basic Chemical Start-Up Kit
Amazon Link
Use
86
Materials
87
Size
85
Ease of Use
89
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.99
Pros:

Good packaging

Everything you need to maintain the safety of your pool

Good start-up kit

Convenient

Cons:

Instructions left something to be desired

Here we have another product from In the Swim. This is actually a full kit that will serve well for first-time pool owners as it contains everything you need to make sure your pool is a safe place to be.

Read more

Use
This product contains a number of different chemicals that are pre-measured and designed to act as a start-up kit for pools that are up to 7500 gallons in size. It contains chemicals for pool shocking, for keeping stains away, for controlling algae and a clarifier that is meant to help clear cloudy water and increase the efficiency of your filter. It also comes with pool and hot tub test strips so you can test the pH and alkalinity of your water.

Materials
Each of the chemicals in this kit will be comprised of a unique list of active ingredients. You can expect the pool shock to include calcium hypochlorite, a chemical used to kill germs. The active ingredient in the Algaecide chemical is 10% quaternary compound which is designed to treat and prevent algae growth.
Size
The Stain Away, Algaecide and Clarifier all come in a one-pint bottle. There are ten test strips. The Pool Shock container provides one pound of chemicals.

Ease of Use
Because this is a basic start-up kit for pool owners, it contains everything you need to maintain the safety of your water.

Value
This product is priced very well considering all of the items you are receiving in your kit.

9. Clorox Pool & Spa pH Down

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Clorox Pool & Spa pH Down
Amazon Link
Use
83
Materials
84
Size
90
Ease of Use
84
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.95
Pros:

Affordable

Easy to use

Easy to measure

Fast results

Cons:

May need to use a lot of the product to see results

Similar to the other Clorox product in our buying guide, we have the Pool & Spa pH Down. Whereas the other item from Clorox is designed to bring the pH levels up, this one is made to be used if the pH levels are too high, to begin with.

Read more

Use
This product will be handy for use if you notice that the pH levels in your pool or hot tub are too high. It is designed to help reduce the likelihood of skin irritations and will help to prevent the formation of scale in your pool or spa. It can be used in both chlorine and salt chlorine pools.

Materials
One of the main ingredients in this product is sodium bisulfate. This chemical is also known as dry acid and is often used as a food additive and in cleaning supplies. When it comes to the health of your pool, sodium bisulfate is helpful to lower pH balance and total alkalinity.

Size
Clorox Pool & Spa pH Down comes in a five-pound container.

Ease of Use
This product is very easy to use and is made even easier if you download the Clorox app to help determine how much of it to use.

Value
This is the most affordable option on our top ten list. It provides pool owners with an affordable way to reduce the pH balance of their pool and spa.

10. Rx Clear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Rx Clear
Amazon Link
Use
86
Materials
83
Size
80
Ease of Use
82
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.96
Pros:

Can be used on saltwater pools

Crystal clear waters

Comes with everything you need

Easy to use

Cons:

Some reports of the Algaecide making pools foamy

Finally, we have reached the final product in our ten best pool chemical list. This kit from Rx Clear comes with everything you need for your above or in-ground swimming pool.

Read more

Use
This kit is designed to provide pool owners with every chemical they need in order to get their pool up and operating this spring. You can expect to receive pool shock chemicals, algaecide, stabilizing chemicals, a multi-purpose cleaner, test strips as well as instructions on how to open your pool when the nice weather returns.

Materials
Each product in this kit will have its own list of active ingredients. The Super Shock chemical, for example, is comprised of calcium hypochlorite, the best pool shock ingredient there is.

Size
This product is available in kits for pools of different sizes. You can purchase for 7500, 15000 or 30000-gallon pools depending upon your personal needs.

Ease of Use
Each bottle or package of chemicals will have instructions on how to use it on the back of the product. This kit is fairly straightforward, however, and most pool owners should find it very easy to use.

Value
This kit is priced very well considering all of the chemicals you receive. If you’re looking for a one-stop shop in order to get your pool up and going this spring, Rx Clear has you covered with this kit.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

There are many different chemical types that are useful for healthy pools.

Many of the chemicals in our buying guide are designed for different purposes. Some are meant to aid you when it comes time to shock your pool. This is an important step to having a pool as it will help to kill any algae that have developed. Some products on our list are designed to help you balance the pH and alkalinity of your pool or hot tub. It is important to keep a balanced pH because it often means the difference between cloudy or crystal-clear water. Having a balanced pH will also help keep your pools operational components working as they should. Low pH levels can cause irritation to your skin and eyes. If the pH levels are too high, your chlorine won’t be as effective. Two of the options on our list come as kits, full of every chemical you’ll need to get your pool ready for use in the spring. We felt it was important to list a kit or two in our buying guide as some people will no doubt be faced with the often-overwhelming task of preparing their pools for the first time and we felt these kits were a comprehensive option for those folks.

Materials

Biologically active ingredients will produce different results.

Each chemical type has an active ingredient in it. An active ingredient is an ingredient in the chemical that is biologically active. It will vary from chemical to chemical. Some common active ingredients you’re going to see in our buying guide are potassium peroxymonosulfate, sodium bicarbonate, sodium bisulfate, and calcium hypochlorite.
Potassium peroxymonosulfate – this chemical does not contain any chlorine and is a great choice for pool owners to use as a pool shock. It is used to oxidize any contaminants that may have made their way into your pool water.
Sodium bicarbonate – this is also more commonly known as baking soda. Its main purpose in home pools is to help increase the alkalinity of the pool or hot tub.
Sodium bisulfate – this is sometimes also known as dry acid. When it comes to the health of your pool, some pool owners choose to use sodium bisulfate to help lower the overall pH balance and alkalinity if they happen to get too high.
Calcium hypochlorite – this chemical is often added to pool water in order to kill germs that can often make swimmers ill such as diarrhea and swimmer’s ear. It’s used in developing countries to help disinfect the water in their water systems.

Size

Know what you’re going to receive before it arrives on your door step.

The size of the product you are considering to use as a pool chemical is important. Without being able to hold the product in your hands as you would in a brick and mortar storefront, it can be hard to imagine just how big (or small) the product you’re considering is. The product size is not always blatantly obvious in the description of the item so we made sure to do our research in order to bring you an accurate idea of the size for each of these products. Some come in containers as small as 2 pounds while others will arrive at your doorstep in a 50-pound tub. In order to prevent disappointment and to ensure you’re getting a great value, it is always a good idea to pay close attention to the product size.

Ease of Use

Instructions are necessary for the proper application.

The most difficult part of having a backyard pool is keeping it clean and safe for use. The science of pool keeping can be a little overwhelming at first. The last thing you want to do is feel like you need a high school chemistry refresher in order to keep your pool operating and safe. This is why we took ease of use into consideration as we decided which products to include on our top ten list. The products on our list all come with instructions on how to use them and as long as you know how many gallons your pool is, we believe you will find it easy to use all of the chemicals we listed above.

Value

Well-performing chemicals provide more value.

Value is important, regardless of what you’re going to purchase. If consumers don’t feel like their hard-earned money is being spent on something that is bringing them value in return, it can lead to a very disappointing shopping experience. We wanted to provide our readers not only with only the best pool chemicals available on the market but the chemicals that are going to bring them the most value as well. Having a pool put in is an expensive investment and upkeeping it year after year can get expensive as well. This is why ensuring you’re getting the best bang for your buck, but also not wasting your money on poor performing chemicals is so important. You can feel comfortable knowing that we have already done all of the research for you on the topic of pool chemicals.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Chlorine Levels to Watch For

Pool science is very real. If you’re considering investing in a swimming pool for your backyard, you need to at least familiarize yourself with the process of keeping your pool clean and safe for use. If you choose to use chlorine to keep your pool sanitized, you should be looking for a level of 3 parts per million, though some suggest that 1-3 ppm will be safe. If you go above this level, you’re running the risk of having red eyes or swimmers itch.

Biguanide Levels to Watch For

Biguanide is a great chemical to use in your pool if you’re trying to forgo the use of chlorine for whatever reason. If you choose to use biguanide to sanitize your pool, you’re going to watch to keep it in the 30 to 50 parts per million range.

Other Factors to Consider

Side Effects

Anytime you’re using chemicals for, well, anything, you run the risk of experiencing side effects. This is especially true if you’ve not taken the time to educate yourself on how to properly use the chemicals. Some pool owners suggest that using biguanide in their pool as a sanitizer there is a unique smell in the water after prolonged use. Another complaint from biguanide users is that after using this chemical for a while in their pool, they need to keep using more and more of it as time goes on in order to achieve the desired result. When you use biguanide as your sanitizer, you may need to use hydrogen peroxide to shock your pool if you come into issues with pink slime or white mold growing in your pool. So long as you’re using the recommended amount of peroxide, you’re not going to have unfortunate side effects like unintentional platinum blonde hair.
There are definite side effects if you happen to use too much chlorine in your swimming pool. If you add too much, you can experience skin irritation that can cause a burning sensation. Though this is very rare, chlorine poisoning is something that all pool owner should familiarize themselves with so they’re able to recognize the signs. Chest pain, difficulty breathing, burning in the throat, and red skin are all telltale signs of this ailment and should be taken seriously.

Potency

Similar to nearly any other product on the market, the chemicals you’re considering for your pool will eventually lose potency over time. It’s important to educate yourself on the approximate shelf life of your pool chemicals so you don’t have a chemical closet filled with expired and inactive chemicals. Tablet chlorine and pool shock provided they are being stored under the right conditions can last for over five years. Chlorine stabilizers can be potent indefinitely as long as it's stored properly. Algaecides and clarifiers can also maintain they’re potency to around the five-year mark as long as they are kept in a cool and dry place. pH increases can be kept for that five-year mark as well, provided they’re stored properly. When it comes to pH decreases, a longer shelf life could affect the potency of the product. It is best to use these before that five-year mark.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What kind of maintenance does owning a pool entail?

a:

Perhaps the most obvious bit of pool maintenance is keeping the water clean, clear and balanced. Not only will this protect you and your family, but it will also protect your investment by ensuring that pool repairs are kept to a minimum. The interior walls of your pool are another area that will need to be maintained. You will want to make sure that the liner is algae and mold free. You’re going to also need to invest in a high-quality filtration system. The pump's job is to keep the water circulating in your pool, while the filter will help to clear dirt and any other contaminants from the water. If you cheap out on your filtration system, it won’t be long before your pool clouds up and becomes dangerous to swim in.

q: What is the reason we need pool chemicals in the first place?

a:

In order to keep your pool a safe place to spend any amount of time, you’re going to want to invest in a chemical sanitizer. This chemical will help to destroy any bacteria or algae that might try and take home in your pool. If your pool has bacteria in it, the chances of you getting sick from swimming are astronomical. Bacteria and algae are also responsible for making your water cloudy and green, not a situation anyone would want to find themselves swimming in.

q: What kinds of pool sanitizers are available?

a:

Chlorine, that distinctly-smelling chemical that has probably been burned into all of our memories from time spent at the indoor swimming pool, is the most popular pool sanitizer. It should be tested every single day to make sure that you’re at the proper disinfection level. You might also find pool sanitizers called bromine and biguanide. Bromine works in certain situations and tends to be used mores so for hot tubs and indoor pools because it doesn’t have that same distinct scent as chlorine. We don’t recommend using it in outdoor pools, especially not if the pool is located in direct sunshine as the sunlight will destroy the chemical quickly. Biguanide is a chlorine alternative that works well for sanitizing pools and has been said to make the water feel even smoother.

q: Will using chlorine prevent water illnesses?

a:

Using chlorine will definitely help to kill some of the bacteria that is known to make people sick when they’re swimming. It may take a period of time for the chemical to kill certain kinds of bacteria, however. Some germs like cryptosporidium, which can cause water diarrhea and a persistent cough, are able to survive for a number of days in a pool that has been properly disinfected. It is important to note that you must always be diligent in checking the chlorine levels in your pool as there are some factors that can reduce the level. Sunlight, debris and dirt are all things that can reduce the amount of chlorine in your pool.

q: How long should I wait before entering my pool after I’ve given it a chemical treatment?

a:

We would suggest waiting at least fifteen to sixty minutes before entering your pool after using chemicals in it. If you are shocking the pool, however, it’s important to be checking those chlorine levels to ensure that they’re safe before entering.

q: What does it mean to “shock” the pool?

a:

Shocking your pool means using a powdered form of chlorine to produce a desired result in your pool Some people choose to shock their pools to remove chloramines from it. You can also choose to shock your pool to remove waste and bacteria that may have contaminated it. If you see algae floating in your water, you may want to consider shocking it as well. One may want to shock their pool after bouts of heavy rain. This is because when it rains, airborne particles can fall with the rain water into your pool. Things like air pollution and pollen can change the color of your water, eat up all of the chlorine in it and negatively affect the sensitive water chemistry. Accidents by bathers will require a strong shocking as well.