to top 10 table

Best Plant Stands

last updated Jan 12, 2019

Keeping plants inside of your home has a myriad of benefits, including keeping dust levels down, reducing carbon dioxide, and increasing humidity, which is a huge benefit in the middle of a cold and dry winter. Plus, a little bit of leafy growth in the middle of winter can also help to raise spirits while you wait for the ground to thaw before you can start your garden in the spring. The downside to growing things indoors is that they can create quite a mess, and often take up much-needed countertop space. Investing in a sleek plant stand will not only help mitigate the mess, but it also adds a lot of additional style to your indoor (or outdoor) space. In this guide, you will find some of the best options out there on the market to help you make it through this long winter.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
Thorne & Co
88.4/100 our score
Style
90
Ease of Use
87
Materials
91
Size
88
Value
86
Thorne & Co
Why is it better?

Simple and stylish design

Easy to assemble and take apart

Functional base design keeps water from backing up

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Thorne & Co
Test Winner: Thorne & Co
Interviewed Experts
2
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Total Readers
10,000
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
18
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Ease of Use Materials Size Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Style
90%
Ease of Use
87%
Materials
91%
Size
88%
Value
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.01.19)
$30.99
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Style
90%
Ease of Use
92%
Materials
85%
Size
86%
Value
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.01.19)
$45.00
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Style
84%
Ease of Use
90%
Materials
88%
Size
87%
Value
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.01.19)
$15.89
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Style
88%
Ease of Use
90%
Materials
85%
Size
83%
Value
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.01.19)
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.2
Style
85%
Ease of Use
78%
Materials
77%
Size
86%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.01.19)
$39.99
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Style
89%
Ease of Use
85%
Materials
80%
Size
86%
Value
74%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.01.19)
$59.99
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Style
83%
Ease of Use
87%
Materials
85%
Size
77%
Value
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.01.19)
$27.99
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Style
80%
Ease of Use
79%
Materials
76%
Size
81%
Value
78%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.01.19)
$38.99
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.2
Style
72%
Ease of Use
83%
Materials
90%
Size
69%
Value
67%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.01.19)
$38.20
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.4
Style
79%
Ease of Use
81%
Materials
77%
Size
67%
Value
73%
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.01.19)
$49.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Thorne & Co
  • Fox & Fern
  • Tosnail
  • Gifts & Decor
  • Ufine
  • Worth Garden
  • Dazone
  • Topeakmart
  • Achla Designs
  • C-Hopetree
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Thorne & Co

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Thorne & Co
Style
90
Ease of Use
87
Materials
91
Size
88
Value
86
best offer for today
$30.99
Pros:

Simple and stylish design

Easy to assemble and take apart

Functional base design keeps water from backing up

Cons:

A little pricey

Some users had difficulty getting the hole to line up with the legs

What we liked most about this design is that it is simple, sleek, and gives your greens a place to live up off of your floor without disrupting their well being. This option is made out of high-quality materials, and will not take up all that much room on your floor.

Read more

Style
Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this option. It has a solid black frame that that is very minimalistic. The base of this unit is also just wide enough to hold your pot, and it has holes in the bottom to promote water movement so that you do not have to remove your growth from the base in order to water it.

Ease of use

Users love that this unit is incredibly easy to assemble. To put it together, screw together the two leg pieces with the use of the Allen key that is included with purchase. Once the legs are in place, screw together the top base, and place the rubber grips on the feet.

Materials

There is no need to worry about how you are going to clean this unit, or how well it will hold up if it is exposed to water because it is made from high-quality metal with a black powder coated finish that makes it a cinch to wide down.

Size

Users will have the option to select the size that they need (and various price points). The smaller option measures to be 7 inches high, the medium option is 11 inches high, and the larger option is 15 inches high. All units weigh about the same, around 3 pounds.

Value

Considering that only one unit is only going to be able to hold one pot, the cost of this design is just a little bit higher than many of the others out there on the market. However, if you want something that is incredibly well made from high-quality materials, this is going to be well worth it.

Overall

We chose this to be our top pick because it has a sleek and smart design that will bring style as well as function to just about any room in your home. Plus, it is made from high-quality materials that will make this the only option you may ever need to purchase.

2. Fox & Fern

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Fox & Fern
Style
90
Ease of Use
92
Materials
85
Size
86
Value
88
best offer for today
$45.00
Pros:

Affordable

Incredibly easy to put together

Users can adjust the width of the base

Cons:

Raised size makes it difficult to work with various shapes of pots

Some found that when it is adjusted all the way to the end, it becomes a little shaky

This design from Fox & Fern is great because it offers an incredibly sleek and elegant design that will look great in any style indoor space, and the smart design will not negatively affect your pots in the slightest. Plus, it is incredibly easy to put together!

Read more

Style

What users respond to most about this option is that they love this slightly different take on a standard four-legged model. The legs extend up and over your pots, holding them firmly in place and while lifting it up off of the floor. Users can select from two color options that include a very light bamboo, or a very dark bamboo that almost looks black.

Ease of use

Putting this unit is a snap- quite literally. Simply snap the two legs in a place where there are cutouts in the wood. What we liked most about this option is that users will have the ability to adjust the depth of the base simple by pulling it out or in, so you are not limited by one once the size of the pot.

Materials

This unit is made out of 100 percent bamboo. Using this type of material gives it a solid foundation that users found did not wobble or tip when loaded up with a full pot.

Size

Users will receive two models that are just over 15 inches tall. The base is also able to adjust out to 12 inches in diameter. Weighing in at just over 2 pounds, this option is lightweight but also very sturdy.

Value

Considering that you get two when you select this design makes this unit set at a pretty great price point. This is one of the more affordable options to make our list that is made out of high quality and solid materials.

Overall

If you want something that is incredibly sleek and stylish, and you won’t want to pay the higher price tag of some of the more expensive designs, this option from Fox & Fern is going to be one of your better choices.

3. Tosnail

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Tosnail
Style
84
Ease of Use
90
Materials
88
Size
87
Value
91
best offer for today
$15.89
Pros:

Incredibly affordable

No assembly required

Comes in a pack of 3 with assorted colors

Cons:

Only sits 5 inches up off of the floor

Some found that they rust if left outside

Perhaps you are less interested in style, and more interested in function in the face of saving a little bit of money. If that’s the case, you might want to check out this three pack from Tosnail 3 Pack. It is made from high-quality materials that are incredibly strong, but it also comes in at one of the lowest price points we have seen.

Read more

Style

The look of this option is pretty simple, but it does have a decorative base that serves to give a nice look when not in use, and it also promotes water movement when loaded with a pot. Users can select to buy a solid set of white, or they can opt to get an assortment of colors that include white, black, and brown.

Ease of use

What users really like about this option is that there is absolutely no assembly required. All three pieces ship as one solid set that is ready to go right out of the box.

Materials

For those incredibly heavy pots, nothing is going to support them better than the solid metal that is used to create the base and the legs of this design.

Size

Each unit only stands up about 5 inches up off of the ground, which isn’t a lot. This set is mainly designed to keep your pots from making a mess over your floors while still promoting water movement.

Value

As we mentioned earlier, the cost of this unit is one of the more affordable options to make our list. Considering that you will receive a pack or three with purchase, this is one of the best deals that we found in our research.

Overall

They might not be the most stylish or flashy designs out there, but they serve to be incredibly functional at mitigating mess and promoting water movement while keeping most of your money in your wallet.

4. Gifts & Decor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Gifts & Decor
Style
88
Ease of Use
90
Materials
85
Size
83
Value
86
best offer for today
Pros:

Affordable

No assembly required

Painted apple design at the base

Cons:

Slender design not ideal for wider pots

We really liked this design from Koolekoo because we feel that it marries function with a little style in a very sharp way. Plus, it comes in at a price point that won’t break the bank.

Read more

Style

What we noticed first about this option is that it can hold up to three pots, and it has a clever painted apple design at the base that is perfect for and causal and country motif in your home.

Ease of use

The good news here is that there is absolutely no assembly required with this design. It ships as one solid piece, and all that if left for you to do is find a great place to display it and load it up with all of your favorite plants.

Materials

There won’t be any room for you to worry if this unit is going to be able to withstand the weight of your pots, because it is made out of very solid and sturdy metal material.

Size

From base to tip, this design measures to be 19 inches high, and weighs just over 6 pounds- which is slightly heavier than some of the other solid metal design we have seen on the market.

Value

The cost of this unit runs about in the middle of the road. It isn’t the most expensive out there, but it isn’t the least expensive as well. Considering that it can hold up to three pots, we find that it is a pretty great deal.

Overall

For those that love a warm country motif, you will love the look and design of these shiny painted metal apples at the base, as well as the strong and sturdy design that will easily hold all of your pots.

5. Ufine

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.2
Ufine
Style
85
Ease of Use
78
Materials
77
Size
86
Value
90
best offer for today
$39.99
Pros:

Easy to put together

Can hold quite a few pots

Made from solid and eco friendly fir wood

Cons:

Some found that it was a bit wobbly once assembled

If you have a ton of pots scattered throughout your home with no real place to display them, this option is going to be your best bet. We loved that it has a lot of great places to hold plants, and it comes in at a really affordable price point.

Read more

Style

Simplicity is the name of the game with the Ufine design. It only comes in one color option, which is a rich brown that looks like the same color as your morning cup of coffee. It has basic beams with a slatted base for easy water movement and a look that will not go out of style anytime soon.

Ease of use

You are going to need to set a little bit of time aside in order to put this piece together. Ufine states that it takes about 30 minutes to assemble their unit with the tools they provide, and many of the users found that it does take about 30 minutes. There were ever some users that reported they were able to assemble their unit in about 15 minutes.

Materials

This design is made to be incredibly sturdy to hold even some of your heaviest pots. It is made from 100 percent solid fir wood that as a plastic base designed to wick away moisture.

Size

This unit measures to be about 30 inches high, and about 30 inches wide- which is quite larger than many of the other designs that we have seen. It also weighs about 10 pounds, so you know it is going to hold strong, but still be easy enough to move.

Value

You can’t really beat the value of this design. It is able to hold quite a few pots on its three tiers and comes in at an affordable price point that is comparable to many of the higher end singular models.

Overall

If you need something that is going to be able to hold quite a few pots without draining your bank account, this is going to be an excellent choice. Plus, it boasts a simple and sleek look that won’t go out of style.

6. Worth Garden

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Worth Garden
Style
89
Ease of Use
85
Materials
80
Size
86
Value
74
best offer for today
$59.99
Pros:

Fits in a corner to save room

Can fold in on itself for easy storage

Strong and durable

Cons:

Slightly expensive

Does not come with instructions

If you are a little short on room but nowhere near short on pots- you might want to give this option from Worth Garden a look. What we liked about this design is that it fits perfectly in any corner, and it easily folds up when not in use.

Read more

Style

What stood out to us most about this option is that it is made to fit snugly into any corner- which is great for those that do not have a whole lot of space in their home. It has slender arms that look quite delicate, but are able to hold a good deal of weight. There are three tiers, with larger pots design to sit at the base, and small, lighter pots to go on the very top tier.

Ease of use

There is going to be a little bit of effort that is going to have to be put in to get this unit assembled. You will not need to employ the use of any tools- all you will need to do is slip the folding arms onto the bases, and you are ready to go. Plus, when you need to free up some space, the whole unit folds in on itself for easy storage.

Materials

While the legs and arms might look quite delicate, they are made from a very strong and heavy duty metal material.

Size

This unit measures to be 47 inches high (which is one of the tallest that we have seen), and 20 inches long. It also weighs about 12.9 pounds- which is pretty heavy, but not too heavy to be able to fold up and carry into storage.

Value

The cost of this unit is quite more expensive than many of the other options that we have looked at on this list, but we feel that the smart corner unit and foldable design is well worth the slightly padded price tag.

Overall

If you are short on space and need something that you can fold up and put away when you need more room, this is going to be well worth the slightly higher price point in our opinion.

7. Dazone

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Dazone
Style
83
Ease of Use
87
Materials
85
Size
77
Value
80
best offer for today
$27.99
Pros:

Easy to put together

Charming bridge design

Can work indoor and outdoor

Cons:

Some found that the paint finish scratches off easily

Closed off base limits users to certain sizes of pots

This option has a really great design appeal, but keep in mind that it is going to take up a lot of floor space. While other tiers options serve to be space efficient, this option is a little more decorative.

Read more

Style

The shape of this option is made to look like a bridge, and your pots will sit at either end of the bridge, and one at the top. While you are bound to get a ton of compliments on this clever design, there is one drawback in the base used to hold your plants. The base isn’t flat, which means that it is only going to be able to hold one size pot, and nothing more.

Ease of use

According to some previous users, you are going to need to whip out your trusty toolbox in order to put this unit together. Users employed the use of a set of pliers and a wrench to put it together. A set of instructions is included with purchase, but many users felt that it was simple enough to figure out how it fits together without reading them.

Materials

Feel free to load up this unit with some of your heavier pots, because the very strong metal materials that make up 100 percent of this design will be able to easily handle it.

Size

This unit is just over 26 inches long and stands up to be 9.7 inches up off of the ground. It also weighs just shy of 4 pounds- which is pretty standard for these type of metal options.

Value

The cost of this unit it just slightly lower than what many three tiered options run for. We find that the high-quality materials and the unique design make it well worth the price point.

Overall

If you are looking for something that it a little bit different, and you have a lot of room to space. We feel that this option from Lohoms is going to bring a lot of charm and function to your indoor space.

8. Topeakmart

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Topeakmart
Style
80
Ease of Use
79
Materials
76
Size
81
Value
78
best offer for today
$38.99
Pros:

Easy to assemble

Affordable

Sleek and stylish design

Cons:

Some found it to be a little wobbly

What we liked about this design is that it is simple and easy to put together, and gives your pots a great place to live without taking up all that much room in your home or patio. This unit is designed to look great indoors and outdoors and comes in at a pretty affordable price point.

Read more

Style

There aren’t any design flourishes or accents on this option. It has a simple and delicate design with the addition of a circle design at the side. It is only offered in solid black, but users can rest assured that this model is something that will work in just about any space and won’t go out of style.

Ease of use

While it comes in pieces, users have found that it is incredibly easy to put together. Working without any tools, most users were able to go from the box to completely assembled in just under 5 minutes.

Materials

This unit is composed of a very durable metal material. While the arms may appear to be delicate, they are actually able to withstand quite a bit of weight from heavy pots.

Size

Measuring in at just over 33 inches long and 31.9 inches high, the size is great for holding small to medium sized pots. It also weighs in at just over 12 pounds, making it a little heavier than most, but still easy to move when needed.

Value

We found that the price of this unit runs about in the middle of the road. It isn’t the most expensive design out there on the market, but it is far from being the least expensive. Considering the high-quality materials used and it’s sleek design, we think this is a great deal.

Overall

For those that want something simple and sleek that isn’t going to go out of style, and will look great in any indoor or outdoor space, this option from Topeakmart is going to fit your needs perfectly.

9. Achla Designs

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.2
Achla Designs
Style
72
Ease of Use
83
Materials
90
Size
69
Value
67
best offer for today
$38.20
Pros:

No assembly required

Made from high-quality iron

Wind will not knock it over

Cons:

Slightly expensive

Perhaps you are in the market for something that is built to be a little more heavy duty so that it will be able to withstand indoor and outdoor use all year round. For that, you are going to want an iron option, and that is precisely what this design from Achla Designs is composed of.

Read more

Style

This unit is designed to hold just one pot on its heavy duty and decorative base. It boasts a pretty simple design, and it is only offered in one color, which is a dark shade of brown.

Ease of use

You can put away your welder’s mask because this iron unit comes already assembled. Simple take it out of the box and load it up with the heaviest pot that you can find (that will still fit on the base, of course).

Materials

As we mentioned earlier, this unit is composed entirely of iron. What this means for you is that it is one of the strongest materials out there on the market and can hold some of your heaviest pots without batting an eye.

Size

This unit measures to be about 14 inches high, about 11 inches in diameter, and just over 10 inches deep. It weighs 8 pounds, so moving it around to find that perfect spot is going to be fair easy.

Value

This is one of the most expensive options to make our list. However, considering that it is made from a heavy-duty iron that is capable of holding quite a bit of weight, we think this is a really great value.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is built to be pretty tough for indoor and outdoor use, this iron unit from Achla Designs is going to be one of your better options.

10. C-Hopetree

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.4
C-Hopetree
Style
79
Ease of Use
81
Materials
77
Size
67
Value
73
best offer for today
$49.99
Pros:

Easy to assemble in under 10 minutes

Simple design

Offered in 2 or 3 tiered options

Cons:

A little expensive

Designed only for smaller pots

This option from C-Hopetree is designed to create a new home for smaller succulents and herbs. While it is made from sturdy and high-quality materials, this option is significantly smaller than most, making it perfect for all of those little loose pots that a little organization.

Read more

Style

We liked the design of this option because it is pretty straightforward and simple. It boasts two tiers were users can place their pots, and is also offered in a 3 tier design at an additional price point.

Ease of use

From what we have read from past users, putting this unit together is simple and easy, and will not need you to employ the use of any tools. Most users were able to go from the box to fully assembled in under 10 minutes.

Materials

This unit is made from tubular steel, which means that it is going to be able to effectively hold about 25 pounds of pots or gear.

Size

This unit weighs about 7 pounds, making it easy to move around as you see fit. It also measures in at 26 inches long and 24 inches high- perfect for smaller spaces.

Value

The cost of this unit is quite more expensive than some of the other options out there on the market, especially since it isn’t able to hold quite as much. However, we find that it's a simple design that high-quality materials make it well worth the price tag.

Overall

If you need something small and simple for your herbs or succulents, this is an excellent option that sports a simple design that will fit into almost any indoor or outdoor space.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

The things that you are growing inside of your home are probably there to be aesthetically pleasing, so we wanted to make sure to select styles that didn’t diminish the look that you are going for in your home.

The things that you are growing inside of your home are probably there to be aesthetically pleasing, so we wanted to make sure to select styles that didn’t diminish the look that you are going for in your home. The very first that thing that we looked at was the design of each unit, and if it was something that is going to age well over time. One way to ensure that a piece of furniture isn’t going to quickly become dated is to select options that have sleek and simple lines. Designs that don’t have overly ornate designs in the sides or on the base are not only going to age well over time, but they are going to look great in just about any home- no matter what style of decor you already have. However, we also wanted to make sure that the style of a product did not interfere with what you have growing inside of your pots. That’s why when we considered design, we also made sure that it had an open and airy base so that you would not run the risk of overwatering your plants, or that mold wouldn’t have a chance to develop on the bottom.

Ease of Use

We want these structures to be sound, and that means that they are going to need to be easy to put together.

Overly complicated instructions that make it difficult to put together correctly or a million little pieces were things that we shied away from. Ideally, you want something that is going to need absolutely no assembly whatsoever, so that you can know without a shadow of a doubt that it is secure. No assembly means that all of the corners have been reinforced by the manufacturer, which is typically another sign that it is going to be very secure and stable. For those that did require that you add a little bit of elbow grease to get, clear instructions and minimal tools were things that we looked for. What we discovered in the selections that we included on this list is that they were so easy to put together that most users didn’t even need to consult the instruction manual. We made sure to keep installation time on all of the designs that we chose to be at least under 30 minutes.

Materials

What a product is made from is going to be the key to gauging whether or not it is going to be able to hold heavy pots filled with water and soil.

There were three materials that we gravitate towards when it comes to these types of products, and they included metal, iron, and generally any type of solid wood that included bamboo or fir. We well liked bamboo options because bamboo is a great eco-friendly choice because bamboo can grow back pretty fast, plus is it usually offered at a very affordable price point. Metals are another great choice because they are pretty impervious to water damage, and they heavy duty and easy to clean. If you need something that is going to be incredibly heavy duty, iron is going to be the best way to go. The downside to iron is that it can rust easily when left outdoors, and it can be a pain to move if you ever decide to rearrange your furniture.

Size

The size was a big factor for us because not all homes are created equal.

While some might have a large home with tons of space, the sky’s the limit in terms of the size of unit that you need. However, for those that are working with smaller spaces, we wanted to offer some space conscious options that can also be packed away in the event that you need to create some additional space. While there were some options that lifted pots up off of the floor only a few inches, we felt that designs that sat higher up off the floor not only looked better, but they also position your flowers and herbs closer to the light coming from your windows. We tried to find designs that offered users a lot of choices when it came to the size that the needed because various sized pots need very specific sized bases. We also wanted to try and keep the weight limit under 15 pounds, because these products may be something that you are going to want to move around to try and find the perfect sun spot where your flowers are truly going to thrive.

Value

Of course, we are going to want to save you some money whenever we can.

The good news here is that most of the options are pretty affordable, and there are some really great deals that will hold quite a few heavy pots without batting an eye. One thing we must emphasize when it comes to these products is that it might not be in your best interest to opt for designs that seem too affordable. These options often aren’t made from strong enough materials that are going to be able to hold some of the heavier pots, and you might come home to a floor full of soil after one of the legs buckle on you. However, if you just want something that is going to hold a few pots of fresh herbs or lavender in your kitchen, strength isn’t going to be something that you necessarily need, and therefore can opt for something that is a little bit more affordable.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
1
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
2
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
3
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Style

It's important to not only take into consideration what your interior style is in your home for right now but also have a general idea of what it is going to be in the future. Since we all cannot look into a crystal ball and predict the next big decorating trend, selecting pieces that are timeless is the key to keeping all of your functional furniture for years to come. We liked to stick to design with clean and simple lines, as well as options that come in neutral and basic color tones like white and black that will never go out of style.

Materials

If you have ever tried to move a big pot filled with freshly watered soil from one end of the living room to the next- you know how heavy these items can get. Ensuring that you select items that utilize heavy duty materials such as metals and iron is going to be the key here. Wood is also an option, but be sure that you select solid wood options. While particle board is the more cost-effective choice, it isn't going to have the same level of strength as a solid wood option.

Size

Take into consideration how much room you are working within your home. If you have limited space, try selecting one of the taller options that have multiple tiers. This will allow you to stack more that one pot without using that much floor space.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What material is best for these types of products?
a:

The answer to this question lies in what you intend on using them for. If you want something that is going to be able to sit outside on your patio for 12 months out of the year, you are going to want something that is heavy duty. For this, we suggest metals that have a shiny, powder coated finish, or iron. These materials are made to withstand some pretty harsh elements, but they also bring a lot of style to indoor spaces as well. For those that want something that looks stylish and modern for their indoor space, we think that wood such as bamboo or fir to be a great choice.

q: Will it hurt my plants?
a:

Absolutely not! In fact, it might help breathe some new light to them. If your pots are on the floor, it is more than likely that they aren’t getting the proper amount of sunlight from your windows. Hoisting them up off of the ground will make them more even with the source of sunlight that they are going to need to thrive. Another benefit of these products is that they are actually going to help the circulation of water through the roots by allowing proper drainage when you water them. Not only will you love the look these designs can bring to your home, but your herbs and flowers will appreciate it as well!

q: Can I use them outdoors as well?
a:

Depending on the design that you select, most of these products can be used outside as well. If you opt for a wood design, these may not hold up very well when exposed to the elements throughout the year. We suggest for designs that can be used indoor and outdoor that you opt for a metal or iron design, although iron is more suited for outdoor use. If you know that it is going to be something that stays inside, a wood option might be your best bet at keeping your decor sleek and stylish.

q: Can they be used for anything else?
a:

If it has a need to be stored- these units are able to, for the most part, accommodate that need. What we noticed is that some of the smaller units that have long bases are perfect for holding small pots that grow things like herbs and lavender. These can be stored in the kitchen so that home cooks will always have access to the freshest herbs right at their disposal while they are cooking. In the summertime when you are growing your herbs outside, these long flat racks can be used to store other important kitchen gear such as canned spices, and cooking utensils.

q: Are they easy to clean?
a:

Anything that is designed to hold pots of soil is destined to get a little dirty, which is why most of these designs are made to be easily cleaned. The wooden options might give you a little bit more trouble wiping down than their metal or iron counterparts, but many the wooden options have design features that keep water away from the wooden base. For wooden options, simply wipe them down with a wet cloth. For metal or iron options, cleaning these are going to be even easier, and you might even notice that you rarely have to clean or wide them down at all. For these, simply wide them down with a damp cloth as well.

q: Are they difficult to assemble?
a:

The answer to this question lies in the style that you have selected. From what we could gather, even some of the multi-tiered and larger designs typically do not take a whole lot of time for the users to set up. There were a few options that required the user to employ the use of a few tools, such as a simple Allen wrench (that is typically provided with purchase), and can be completely assembled in about 10-15 minutes. Most come with instruction manuals, but most users feel that they do not need to read them in order to put them together. Even the biggest option that we found out there on the market took only about 30 minutes on average to completely put together.

Sources

  1. Garden Experiments, The Search for a Quality Plant Stand, Blog, Jan 05, 2019
  2. Bioadvanced.com, 5 Benefits of Houseplants, Blog, Jan 01, 2019