to top 10 table

Best Laptop Stands

last updated Feb 08, 2019

Inefficiently using your laptop can be a pain in the neck – literally. You are setting yourself up for disaster if you’re consistently using your laptop in a set-up that is not designed ergonomically. Physiotherapists and massage therapists have been noting the rise in the neck, back and shoulder issues amongst their patients over the last decade or so. When we’re not using a laptop configuration that is set-up ergonomically, we become susceptible to a variety of aches and pains. This is why having a laptop stand is so important. Being able to adjust the height of your laptop is beneficial for people who live on their computers and having a high-quality stand upon which to set your laptop is going to save you money (and pain) in the long run. We have compiled a list of the best laptop stands currently on the market so let’s take a closer look and see what these can do to alleviate the chance that you’ll become best friends with your physiotherapist one day.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 7 hrs of research

icon
C-color
97.4/100 our score
Materials
98
Comfort
97
Advanced Features
98
Stability
95
Adjustability
99
C-color
Why is it better?

Arrives well packaged

Cooling fans are a nice touch

Affordable price tag

Cooling fans are quiet

Endless adjustable capabilities

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
C-color
Test Winner: C-color
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
18
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
32
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
7
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Comfort Advanced Features Stability Adjustability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Materials
98 %
Comfort
97 %
Advanced Features
98 %
Stability
95 %
Adjustability
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$41.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Materials
99 %
Comfort
98 %
Advanced Features
95 %
Stability
97 %
Adjustability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Materials
98 %
Comfort
97 %
Advanced Features
96 %
Stability
94 %
Adjustability
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$44.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Materials
92 %
Comfort
96 %
Advanced Features
97 %
Stability
94 %
Adjustability
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Materials
92 %
Comfort
94 %
Advanced Features
94 %
Stability
97 %
Adjustability
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$34.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Materials
94 %
Comfort
90 %
Advanced Features
93 %
Stability
89 %
Adjustability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$43.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Materials
90 %
Comfort
94 %
Advanced Features
92 %
Stability
93 %
Adjustability
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$74.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Materials
93 %
Comfort
95 %
Advanced Features
89 %
Stability
92 %
Adjustability
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Materials
90 %
Comfort
87 %
Advanced Features
85 %
Stability
93 %
Adjustability
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$38.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Materials
87 %
Comfort
90 %
Advanced Features
80 %
Stability
92 %
Adjustability
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$62.91

Top 10 Picks

1. C-color

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
C-color
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Comfort
97
Advanced Features
98
Stability
95
Adjustability
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$41.99
Pros:

Arrives well packaged

Cooling fans are a nice touch

Affordable price tag

Cooling fans are quiet

Endless adjustable capabilities

Cons:

Cooling fans may be cold on your lap

Ridge that is meant to hold your laptop may be too short

This laptop stand from C-color is an incredibly versatile and adjustable option and is a great choice for people who like to take their workstation with them wherever they want. Because it’s so adjustable, it’s easy to make this stand work for you in a number of different places or situations.

Read more

Materials
This laptop stand is about as easy to use and operate as they come. There is absolutely no assembly required. Its high-quality aluminum tray and construction ensure that this stand is lightweight and durable.

Comfort
Because this stand is so versatile and adjustable, users should find that it is no problem at all to find a configuration that is comfortable and ergonomic for their usage. Its collapsible frame allows even further comfort capabilities.

Advanced Features
A great feature of this stand from C-color is that it has two built-in cooling fans. They’re silent when they operate and are run through USB ports. They are designed to take the hot air that is present from under your laptop and dissipate it in order to keep everything cool and running efficiently.

Stability
This laptop stand is designed to provide stability no matter what configuration you have it set up in. The general consensus among current users is that it provides more than enough stability for everyday use.

Adjustability
When it comes to adjustability, this stand from C-color really overperforms. Its legs are fully adjustable and have the ability to be locked in in a number of different angles. The legs can be rotated 360 degrees in order to allow users to fix it to any height. This stand also has a removable mouse board so you are able to use your mouse attached to the stand.

2. Rain Design mStand

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Rain Design mStand
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Comfort
98
Advanced Features
95
Stability
97
Adjustability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

Very solid feeling

Affordable

Great companion for Apple products

Room underneath the stand perfect for storage or a keyboard

Sleek design looks great

Cons:

Rubber bumpers are known to fall off

This sleek looking design from Rain is a perfect laptop stand choice for people who are looking for something stylish upon which to set their laptop.

Read more

Materials
This laptop stand is made from aluminum. Aluminum is known for its lightweight properties as well as it’s chic look. It features a silver-anodized finish for an even further elegant look.

Comfort
This stand has the ability to raise your screen to nearly 6 inches which will help make sure that your laptop is closer to eye level, keeping you in a more ergonomically beneficial position during your workdays or gaming sessions.

Advanced Features
Thanks to the aluminum construction of this stand, users should find that this material allows their laptops to remain cool. Overheating is a big issue that laptops can sometimes suffer from so this feature is a definite plus. There is also a hole in the back that will allow users a way to reduce cord clutter.

Stability
Because this stand utilizes a single piece design, it is able to provide users with a great amount of stability. The bottom portion of the stand comes into full contact with the surface you’re placing it on and will provide more than enough stability.

Adjustability
This stand is compatible with a number of different laptop types including MacBook Pros and Air. It works best for laptops that have depths that are less than 10.4 inches.

3. Avantree Neeto

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Avantree Neeto
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Comfort
97
Advanced Features
96
Stability
94
Adjustability
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.99
Pros:

Different colour and size options

Great customer service

Very versatile

Folds flat for easy storage

Stylish in design

Cons:

Not made for people who use their left hands

This laptop stand from Avantree is a beautiful and stylish option with a ton of adjustability capabilities that make it simple to use in an number of different situations – in bed, at a table, as a standing desk just to name a few.

Read more

Materials
This great looking product from Avantree is made with high-quality engineered wood material. It’s faux wood but it maintains a realistic wood look to it. The stand is available in “American Cherry” or “Honeydew” colors.

Comfort
Because this stand has adjustable legs that can be raised, it would work great as a standing desk. It also functions well for use in bed, on the couch or anywhere you want to take your laptop. This makes it a great ergonomic option for people who are looking for an incredibly versatile laptop stand.

Advanced Features
This stand is quite large in size and will easily fit a 17” (or larger) laptop while still being able to provide extra space for your mouse. There is also a wrist rest on the laptop for a comfortable place to place your wrist while you’re working away.

Stability
The lower you have this product to the surface you’re using it on, the more stable it will be. Reviews suggest that in full extension, there is a little bit of a wobble.

Adjustability
This stand is incredibly adjustable. Users are able to choose different heights for their stand, making it anywhere between 9.4” and 12.6” tall. Users are also able to choose the angle at which they would like the stand to face. It can be adjusted up to 30 degrees.

4. Executive Office Solutions

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Executive Office Solutions
Amazon Link
Materials
92
Comfort
96
Advanced Features
97
Stability
94
Adjustability
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

No worries about your laptop overheating

Simple to adjust

Great for use in bed or on the couch

Mouse platform is a nice touch

Cons:

The product is a little wobbly to use as a standing desk

Instructions leave a little to be desired

This product is incredibly similar to the previously reviewed stand, but there are a number of differences that set them apart. First and foremost, this product has a lip that extends the length of the stand in order to keep your laptop

Read more

Materials
This laptop stand is made from aluminum. This material choice makes this product incredibly lightweight and durable.

Comfort
Because this stand is so incredibly adjustable, users should find that they are able to find a comfortable position no matter where they choose to use their stand – on the couch, in bed, as a standing desk or even as a dinner tray.

Advanced Features
A great feature that this stand has is it’s two CPU cooling fans on the bottom of the tray. These fans are run by a USB cord and will help to keep your laptop cool and running as it should.

Stability
This stand has a non-slip rubber material on the bottoms of the feet so that it will not slip around or wobble while you’re using it. The sturdy construction of the stand itself will ensure that users aren’t being held back by any wobble.

Adjustability
Similar to the previous product on our list, this laptop stand features legs that are fully adjustable. They are able to be rotated 360 degrees so that you can find a configuration that works with you.

5. Seville Classics

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Seville Classics
Amazon Link
Materials
92
Comfort
94
Advanced Features
94
Stability
97
Adjustability
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.99
Pros:

Table top can be tilted or flat

Wheels are removable if you prefer

Simple to put together and adjust

Sturdy construction

Great welding

Cons:

Not great instructions

Small surface area

This laptop stand from Seville Classics is different than most of the other options on our top ten list. This product is a standalone desk meaning you will need a place in your home to place it as it won’t necessarily slide under a desk or your couch as many of the other stands on our list will.

Read more

Materials
The base of this stand is made from steel. This heavy-duty material ensures that users will experience no wobble at all from their laptop stand.

Comfort
Because the surface upon which you will place your laptop is adjustable, users should find that they are able to find a position that works best for them, whether they are using this desk seated or standing.

Advanced Features
As far as laptop stands go, this option from Seville Classics is pretty standard. Because it is a standalone desk that will require space in your home to store, the rolling casters on the bottom are a nice feature. They allow you to move the desk around easily if you wish to take it from room to room.

Stability
The base of this stand is constructed from a heavy-duty steel material. This ensures that the laptop stand won’t wobble at all when you’re using it or even transporting it. The welded metal construction of this stand will help to ensure that it is not only stable but lightweight as well for easy transportation.

Adjustability
The surface of this stand is adjustable. Users are able to raise or lower it to a height they see fit, making it able to be used while in a seated or standing position. The surface is also able to be tilted to a number of different angles.

6. TaoTronics

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
TaoTronics
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Comfort
90
Advanced Features
93
Stability
89
Adjustability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$43.99
Pros:

Made of sturdy materials

Adjustments are easy to make

Tabletop is spacious

Wrist rest is comfortable

Cons:

Shortest setting is tall for some applications

Though the faux wood table top of this laptop stand leaves a little to be desired, the overall capabilites of this product have been well-received by current users.

Read more

Materials
This stand features a polished “wooden” surface that we believe is actually a faux wood, possibly laminate coating. The legs are metal which adds to the overall stability and aesthetics of the stand.

Comfort
With its five different elevation levels, users should find that there is a height option with this TaoTronics stand that will provide them with the level of comfort they seek during their workday.

Advanced Features
This stand features a wrist rest that is made of soft materials. Wrist rests have been shown to help alleviate strains that are sometimes prevalent with office workers or freelancers who are on their computers a lot. It also has other beneficial features like a mouse stopper, to prevent the mouse from slipping off of the stand, and a laptop fix clip to ensure your laptop stays put as well.

Stability
The legs of this stand feature an anti-slip material that helps to ensure the stand stays stable on the surface you’re placing it on. It has a lock on the tabletop so that you are able to lock the top in place once it is tilted to the right degree for your use.

Adjustability
As previously mentioned, this stand has five different height options from 9.5 inches all the way to 12.6 inches. The surface of the stand is capable of tilting 35 degrees.

7. Roost

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Roost
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Comfort
94
Advanced Features
92
Stability
93
Adjustability
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$74.95
Pros:

Made in the USA

Incredibly portable

Three different height settings

Can hold most laptops securely

Lightweight design

Cons:

Not really useful as a standing desk

This laptop stand from Roost was originally found on Kickstarter as a way to raise funds to begin production on this product. Once bringing in nearly $800,000, the product was able to come to life and is now available for purchase on Amazon.

Read more

Materials
Made in the United States, this laptop stand is made of premium materials and features high-quality construction. We were unable to find the exact materials that this stand is made from but our research suggests it is of the highest quality.

Comfort
Because this laptop stand is so incredibly lightweight, it is very easy to tote around. It comes with a handy carrying case that is comfortable to use and makes transportation a breeze. It is very ergonomic and a perfect option for people who need something that is easy to transport.

Advanced Features
What really sets this laptop stand apart from others on the list is how portable it is. It is collapsible and can fold up extremely small, making it easy to pop into your backpack or laptop back to transport with you to your business meetings or library.

Stability
The Roost stand has rubber padding on the legs that are designed to stop it from wobbling or moving around. We found that our laptops were locked into place once they were properly set into the stands.

Adjustability
This stand will allow users to adjust their laptop height from 6 inches to 12 inches, providing a better viewing experience.

8. Lamicall

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Lamicall
Amazon Link
Materials
93
Comfort
95
Advanced Features
89
Stability
92
Adjustability
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

Easy to put together

Arrives with all necessary hardware

Top platform rotates easily

Very sturdy

Minimalist design

Cons:

Some reviews suggest that this stand doesn’t work for the laptops its marketed towards

Lamicall has created a laptop stand that is made to extend the life of your laptop. It will protect your precious equipment from scratches and from potential falls as well.

Read more

Materials
This stand from Lamicall is made of a premium alloy material. This material choice makes the stand not only sturdy and lightweight but sleek in design and appearance as well.

Comfort
This stand will help you to raise your laptop screen so it is at eye level. It features a smooth edge that will prevent any possible scratches.

Advanced Features
There are rubber pads on the surface of the stand that will raise your laptop ever so slightly. This acts as a way to cool the components of your laptop as they will no longer be flat against the top of the surface of the stand.

Stability
It has rubber pads on the portion of the stand where you will place your laptop as well as on the front lip that will help to ensure your laptop not only stays in place but that it won’t get scratched up.

Adjustability
This stand is designed to fit laptops and tablets that are up to 17 inches in size. The area on the stand where the rod connects to the base is able to rotate. This 360-degrees of rotation will allow users to find the best configuration for their needs.

9. Bestand

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Bestand
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Comfort
87
Advanced Features
85
Stability
93
Adjustability
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$38.99
Pros:

Matches Apple products nicely

Aesthetically appealing

Cable management system

High-quality construction

Great customer service

Cons:

Seems to be some issues with quality control

This sleek-looking minimalist laptop stands from Bestand is a great option for folks who know they don’t need a highly adjustable stand. This product a one-piece option making fine tuning the height and tilt impossible.

Read more

Materials
This stand from Bestand is made from premium aluminum material. This material choice helps to act like a heat sink that will stop your laptop from overheating quickly. 4

Comfort
The stand is designed to raise your laptop screen so that it is at an optimal level for use.
4
Advanced Features
Thanks to a hole in the back of this laptop stand, users should find that their cords are more easily managed. Just string your cables through the hole in the stand and your cords will be out of your way, leading to a much more organized workspace. 4

Stability
This stand features an anti-skid silicone pad that is designed to keep your laptop or tablet firmly in place. Our research indicates that the laptop stand itself is very stable as well so you will not experience any of the wobbles that are sometimes present in some laptop stands.

Adjustability
As far as we were able to tell through our research this stand doesn’t offer much in terms of adjustability. Because it is a solid single-piece design, there are no ways to adjust the height or tilt.

10. Rain Design 12031

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Rain Design 12031
Amazon Link
Materials
87
Comfort
90
Advanced Features
80
Stability
92
Adjustability
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$62.91
Pros:

Very sturdy

Easy to use sliding mechanism for adjusting the height

Sleek design

Outstanding build quality

Can be used at a sit/stand desk

Cons:

Some users mentioned the aluminum material gives off an unpleasant odor

Here we have another product from Rain Design. This sleek looking laptop stand should be compatible with all laptops, but it’s made to match Apple MacBooks so Apple lovers will rejoice over the compatibility provided here for their devices.

Read more

Materials
This option, similar to the other laptop stand from Rain Designs on our list, is made using anodized aluminum. This is a great material choice as it is not only incredibly sleek looking, it is also created to match Apple MacBooks.

Comfort
The tilting design of this laptop stand allows users to bring their computers closer to eye level, making them more comfortable and ergonomic to use.

Advanced Features
There are rubber pads on this product that are present to help not only to protect your laptop but also the surface that you’re placing this stand on.

Stability
When it comes to stability, this design really shines. It is a solidly made stand that will provide more than enough stability for a variety of applications.

Adjustability
It is easy to adjust the height of this laptop stand with the sliding mechanism found on the front of the device. This will allow users to raise or lower the height of the laptop according to their needs.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

Different materials offer different pros and cons that can either make or break the stand

The materials that your new laptop stand is made out of are important. This is because different materials offer different pros and cons that can either make or break the stand. Aluminum is a great material as it’s a lightweight metal that won’t be a pain to move around the house. Wood is a bit heavier of an option, but it looks sleek and is easy to clean. Steel is another durable metal that will provide a lot of stability for your laptop stand. The alloy is another lightweight metal material option that is durable.

Comfort

We invest in laptop stands in order to feel more comfortable and in order to use our computing device in a more ergonomic way

The entire reason you may want to purchase a laptop stand is so that you are able to use your laptop more ergonomically. The problem with leaving your laptop on a surface like a computer desk is that when it’s on a flat surface such as this, it’s not set up in a way that is great for your body. We get into this a little more in our Frequently Asked Questions section, but the general idea is that we invest in laptop stands in order to feel more comfortable and in order to use our computing device in a more ergonomic way. Comfort, therefore, is a very important criteria to take into account when deciding which product is best for you and your needs. You don’t want to purchase something that is going to leave your body in a worse state than it might already be by just using your laptop on a flat surface.

Advanced Features

Cooling features, cable management systems, infinite adjustments, oh my!

Some of the laptop stands on our top ten list offer far more in terms of features aside from just a stand upon which to place your laptop. Some offer cooling features as a means of keeping your laptop from overheating. Some provide cable management systems so that you are able to work at your new laptop stand free from the clutter that cables can sometimes encourage. Some are able to be used as more than just for your work and computing needs. Though none of the stands on our list are excessively priced, it’s always nice to know that your investment can provide more use than just the sole reason you purchased it for.

Stability

Protecting your expensive investment is of utmost importance.

Stability is an incredibly important feature to have in a laptop stand as you will be placing your expensive laptop on top of it. If your stand doesn’t provide much in terms of stability, the chance of your expensive equipment being knocked off and destroyed is a very real possibility. The best stands will have stable legs that can easily withstand the weight of your devices.

Adjustability

Having a way to adjust your laptop stand leads to an incredibly customized and versatile experience.

The ability to adjust your laptop stand to your desired height is of utmost importance, especially when we are considering ergonomics. Many of the options on our top ten list are considered portable stands as they can be placed on top of any stable surface and used that way. Being able to adjust the height of the stand is beneficial as you are then able to truly customize the way you use your new laptop stand. Some of the options on our list also offer different ways to adjust your user experience aside from making changes in the height, such as having the option of being able to adjust the degree of tilt you want from the tabletop of your stand.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Stability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Advanced Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Pain in the Neck (and Back!)

‘Text neck’ is a very real and painful condition that can occur thanks to using smartphones and laptops in our everyday lives. This happens because we are often looking down at our phones or computers which causes us to become chronically tight in our shoulders, neck and back. There are a lot of exercises one can do to help alleviate some of the pains that come with text neck but we recommend investing in things like laptop stands to stop it in its tracks.

Benefits of Standing Desks

While none of these laptop stands are necessarily marketed as a standing desk per se, they can definitely be made to be so by simply having a higher surface upon which to place your new laptop stand. The benefits to using a stand desk are plentiful. Research shows that people who sit a lot throughout the day have an increased risk for some pretty serious diseases like diabetes and heart disease. Sitting throughout the entire day also burns very few calories, especially when compared to standing.

Other Factors to Consider

Value

Thankfully, all of the options on our top ten list are within an affordable price range. None of the stands on our list are over $100. When you consider that investing in a high-quality laptop stand can save you money in the long run on massages and physiotherapy appointments, the relatively low price tags attached to these products become more than worthwhile.

Durability

No one wants to spend their hard-earned money on a product only to have it break down within a few weeks. This is why we took longevity and durability into account when we decided upon each of the ten products on our best laptop stands list. We performed extensive research on each of the products and combed through thousands of reviews to bring you the ten best options available on the market today that will not breakdown within months (or years) of you purchasing them. We looked at the materials used to construct each of the products on our list as well as took into account reviews from people who have actually purchased these stands and have been using them for some time.

Breathability

Cooling fans or venting holes are a great addition to have in your laptop stand. This is because the hardware components on your laptop are likely on the bottom. If you’re using your laptop all day long, it can become overheated easily. Without a proper set-up in place where you can cool the components, your laptop can overheat and damage to the hardware, shell of the laptop or even your laptop stand can become an issue.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Will these laptop stands work as a standing desk?

a:

The answer is yes, provided you have a raised surface upon which to place your new laptop stand. Some of our options, like the Executive Office Solutions, stand, have adjustable legs which would make them less likely to require a raised surface as you can use a regular desk or table and adjust the legs to make the laptop tall enough to use as a standing desk.

q: How does having a laptop stand benefit me?

a:

Because laptops are becoming more and more popular versus desktop computers, it has become increasingly more important to ensure that these uses are being used ergonomically. Since you cannot adjust the height of your laptop keyboard and its screen separately like you can with a desktop computer, it becomes really easy to use poor form while working away at your laptop. Having a laptop stand will allow you to adjust the height of your laptop so you are able to use better form and posture while you’re working. This will help to prevent any eyestrain and/or neck pain that can often result from poor posture being hunched over a laptop.

q: Does my laptop stand need to have a cooling fan?

a:

This isn’t an absolute necessity but it is a nice feature to have. Laptops are prone to overheating because the hardware components are close to one another and often times there isn’t much room for air circulation. If your laptop overheats, it can do a lot of damage to the hardware as well as you if you happen to be using the laptop on your laptop. Not to mention there were studies done where overusing a laptop in your lap can cause male infertility, something that males definitely want to avoid in this day and age when fertility issues are on the rise anyway.

q: Is it safe for me to use my laptop in bed?

a:

The idea of using a laptop in bed is extremely tempting. After all, our beds are one of the most comfortable places in our homes. Why wouldn’t we want to snuggle in with our blankets in bed with our work or Netflix if given the chances? The truth of the matter is, it’s not really a safe idea to use your laptop in bed without also using a laptop stand. Without a stand to prop the laptop to the right height, it can be hard on your neck and back to lie in bed and use your computer. It’s also dangerous to have your laptop laying right on top of your comforter. If you pair your device with a laptop stand, however, it becomes both more ergonomic and safer to use in bed.

q: What is the benefit of using a table top stand versus a freestanding option?

a:

A freestanding laptop desk is akin to having a dedicated computer desk for your desktop. If you have the space in your house, a freestanding option is a great investment. If you prefer a more streamlined look to your home, you can instead opt for a tabletop laptop stand. These can be stowed away more easily if you have visitors come over and it doesn’t need to become a staple in your home décor unless you want it to be.

q: How do I know what height to use?

a:

When you’re using a computer, be it a desktop or a laptop, the most ergonomically beneficial height to have your screen is so that the top of it is just above your eye level and the keyboard should be just below your elbow. This way of setting up your computer will minimize the likelihood of neck and back strains thanks to no longer having to hunch over excessively.