to top 10 table

Best Koozies

last updated Apr 23, 2019

Koozies, Coolies, Coolers, Cozies. Whatever name you give them, they’re very useful little accessories, aren’t they? If you’re looking for the best koozies for your needs, read on!

Drink coolers have come a long way from only being available as floppy novelty items given out for free at local businesses or the county fair. If you haven’t searched for them recently, you might picture them in your mind’s eye having some sort of business slogan or tacky graphic.

You can find drink coolers in stainless steel, neoprene, and even leather and wood. They’re designed for more than cans, too and come in a variety of sizes to fit bottles, tall cans, coffee cups, and more.

We’ve made your search much easier by compiling a detailed list full of all the information you’ll need to choose the best product for you. Check out our thoroughly researched top 10 list below!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Joe Jacket
97.2/100 our score
Materials
98
Effectiveness
98
Versatility
96
Durability
97
Style
97
Joe Jacket
Why is it better?

Easy to store or take in a bag purse, etc.

Fits a wide variety of shapes and sizes

Very effective at keeping drinks hot, cold, and condensation-free

A huge variety of styles to choose from

Kid-friendly

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Joe Jacket
Test Winner: Joe Jacket
Researched Sources
34
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
24k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Effectiveness Versatility Durability Style By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Materials
98%
Effectiveness
98%
Versatility
96%
Durability
97%
Style
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$29.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Materials
98%
Effectiveness
97%
Versatility
96%
Durability
96%
Style
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$24.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Materials
97%
Effectiveness
97%
Durability
96%
Versatility
95%
Style
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$11.85
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Materials
96%
Effectiveness
96%
Durability
95%
Versatility
94%
Style
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$7.97
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Materials
95%
Effectiveness
95%
Versatility
94%
Durability
94%
Style
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$24.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Materials
94%
Effectiveness
95%
Versatility
93%
Durability
93%
Style
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$10.97
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Materials
94%
Effectiveness
94%
Versatility
93%
Durability
91%
Style
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$18.94
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Materials
93%
Effectiveness
93%
Versatility
91%
Durability
92%
Style
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$7.19
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Materials
93%
Effectiveness
92%
Versatility
90%
Durability
91%
Style
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$33.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Materials
93%
Effectiveness
91%
Versatility
91%
Durability
90%
Style
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$13.49
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Joe Jacket
  • BrüMate HOPSULATOR TRíO 3-in-1
  • Coleman Lounger
  • TahoeBay
  • YETI Rambler
  • KelvZ
  • Metric USA Party Huggies
  • Thermos
  • Coolie Junction
  • RTIC
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Joe Jacket

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Joe Jacket
Materials
98
Effectiveness
98
Versatility
96
Durability
97
Style
97
best offer for today
$29.99
Pros:

Easy to store or take in a bag purse, etc.

Fits a wide variety of shapes and sizes

Very effective at keeping drinks hot, cold, and condensation-free

A huge variety of styles to choose from

Kid-friendly

Cons:

Some users complain of a chemical odor at first use

Might not be a snug fit for all 12 oz Cans

Marketed as primarily a cup insulator, our top choice is the Joe Jacket Insulator. It is made of a stretchy, easy-to-clean material and fits a wide selection of beverage holders from cups to mason jars. It even fits wine glasses! It sits at a really affordable price point but we rated it higher than much pricier options with way fewer benefits.

Read more

Material

The Joe Jacket Insulator is made of neoprene. Neoprene is a type of latex-free rubber material that is durable and flexible which gives this insulator its bonus points for versatility.

Effectiveness

From hot to cold, this is a really effective insulator! It’ll keep your homemade coffee hot on your commute, or your iced coffee cool and condensation-free.

Versatility

Users have used the Joe Jacket to keep their drinks warm or cold in paper cups, ceramic cups (the faux coffee cup style), steel water bottles, wine glasses, soda bottles of various sizes, plastic thermoses, and even Mason jars!

Durability

Most users feel like this is a pretty good inexpensive investment as this product lasts and lasts for years. It’s not recommended to put them through a dishwasher but users have accidentally done so once or twice with no issue. We just mention this as a testament to their durability, though! We like this soft, flexible grippy cozy because of its lack of shatter risk! This makes it perfect for kids or bumpy car rides.

Style

The most popular option is the black easy-to-recognize Joe Jacket with the white brand text but we found a lot of really cool designs to choose from, too! They come in fun, bright colors, neutrals, and all sorts of designs and prints. The best part? Pet lover? They have a ton of animal prints you’ll want to check out.

Value

Just because this one made our number one spot, doesn’t mean it’s expensive. It’s actually really affordable and perfect for buying multiples for the whole family or guests. The versatility, durability, and price point make it a great overall value with very little risk.

2. BrüMate HOPSULATOR TRíO 3-in-1

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
BrüMate HOPSULATOR TRíO 3-in-1
Materials
98
Effectiveness
97
Versatility
96
Durability
96
Style
96
best offer for today
$24.99
Pros:

Three products in one

Freezable adaptor can keep cans chilled for hours

Sleek style with lots of color choices

Can be used as a pint glass

Cons:

Not quite as effective without the adaptor

Only for 12 oz and 16 oz cans and similarly sized bottles

This is a very, very close second to our first choice. It was not an easy decision. The Hopsulator was originally created with beer cans in mind, hence the name, but users find it useful for any drink that comes in a can and needs to stay frosty cold. This choice has a lot of features and is actually 3 products in one!

Read more

Material

This is stainless steel, a double-walled insulator with a copper lining between the walls. Included is a freezable gel-filled adaptor that sits at the bottom of your can while in the insulator. The adaptor also works to make a 12-oz can fit into the insulator by giving it a little platform to sit on and raising it up a bit.

Effectiveness

The Hopsulator keeps drinks cold for hours and hours. If the frozen gel adaptor hockey-puck like the piece is used, the drink will obviously be colder and for longer. Even without the puck being frozen, the double-walled insulator will keep a chilled drink cold for quite a while.

Versatility

This product is designed for 12 and 16-ounce cans and works best with those options. However, users have found that they can also use it for 12-ounce bottles or most water bottles. The best part? You can even use the insulator itself as a glass by pouring liquid directly into it.

Durability

It’s a fairly thick stainless steel insulator so with proper use it should hold up pretty well, certainly more so than glass bottles without a cooler! The company, Brumate, really stands behind the long-lasting quality of their products.

Style

So far we’ve found metallic versions of the Hopsulator in matte, shiny, and even glittery finishes. The colors range quite a bit, too. Black, army green, rose gold, and even wood grain are some examples of color choices so you can most likely find something to fit your personal style.

Value

Since you’re basically getting three products in one with the Hopsulator, this is a great value. It sits in a price range lower than most beverage holders. Plus, you’re going to be less likely to waste money on unfinished cans, especially when you use that freezable adapter. It’ll pay for itself in that respect many times over.

3. Coleman Lounger

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
 Coleman Lounger
Materials
97
Effectiveness
97
Durability
96
Versatility
95
Style
95
best offer for today
$11.85
Pros:

Keeps drinks cold for hours

Can be personalized with HTV

Gripper fins keep drink in place

Rubber bottom minimizes loud clanking on surfaces and spills

Cons:

Must be hand washed

Can’t be frozen

Coleman is obviously a well-known brand name when it comes to keeping things cool so it’s no surprise that their cooler made our list. The Lounger is a stainless steel can insulator that’s especially great for spill-resistant drinking due to its rubberized gripping.

Read more

Material

The Lounger insulator is made of 18/8 stainless steel so it’s quite durable and rust-resistant. The inner rim has angled gripper fins to keep your drink in place and the rubberized bottom keeps your insulator from sliding around on wet surfaces. It has a double-walled design to keep drinks cool for hours. We’re giving it bonus points for being 100% BPA free!

Effectiveness

The double-walled stainless steel keeps drinks cold for hours. It greatly limits the cold-feeling of handling the chilled drink and will allow for next to no condensation.

Versatility

Works for cans and bottles of various sizes. Rather slim bottles might not have as much grip, though. Users have found that you can still use it for these thinner bottles but it comes with a decrease in cooling time but can be remedied by inserting a paper towel or similar in with the bottle.

Durability

The rubberize bottom really helps with the durability on the Coleman insulator. With less knocking over and slipping off of surfaces, there will be less damage done to the outer steel. Don’t put it through the dishwasher and don’t freeze it and you should have a pretty long-lasting drink cooler.

Style

The style of the insulator is very Coleman-ish. That’s not a bad thing! They come in colors like sandstone, red, dark green, and black. Some users have personalized theirs with HTV vinyl for extra style.

Value

This is a pretty inexpensive choice. We’re talking less than a 24 pack of the cans or bottles you’re going to want to chill in it. We think this option is worth it, even if you aren’t going to use it every day, at this price range.

4. TahoeBay

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
TahoeBay
Materials
96
Effectiveness
96
Durability
95
Versatility
94
Style
95
best offer for today
$7.97
Pros:

Inexpensive multipacks

Built-in coaster bottom

Easy to personalize

Kid-friendly

Easy to store

Cons:

Primarily for 12 oz Cans

We’re going to switch gears here for a bit because our fourth choice is a polyurethane foam coolie like the ones you’ve probably been using for ages. Hear us out, though.

First of all, they work. TahoeBay makes coolies that are effective and inexpensive. These are absolutely perfect for anyone who needs a large number of coolies for teams, family members, business marketing, etc. They’re exactly what you want for a wedding party or guest favor, too. They come in tons of fun color choices and are easy to customize.

Read more

Material

These coolies are made of polyester (think scuba gear material) on a polyurethane foam insulation. They’re slightly stretchier than their neoprene cousins.

Effectiveness

These will keep your cans cool and your hands dry. They also have a covered bottom to use as a coaster and protect your surfaces.

Durability

Hand Wash for cleaning and lay out to dry. They’re also durable enough for iron-on and heat transfer vinyl. You certainly don’t have to worry about them breaking if you drop them, either! Even if you did, which you don’t, they come in multipacks for less than the price of a fancy coffee most times.

Style

These get an A+ for style, even though they have a fairly simple design. If you buy them and use them as made, you can choose from a stunning variety of colors. Most users like to buy these for the ability to personalize them for themselves or gift-giving, though so that’s where they really shine when it comes to style.

Versatility

These are designed to fit standard 12 oz cans but users have used them for bottles as well. They have a bit of stretch to them due to their polyurethane material.

Value

These are seriously one of the best buys for your buck you can get if you need multiple coolers at a good price that will do the job with a fun look.

5. YETI Rambler

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
YETI Rambler
Materials
95
Effectiveness
95
Versatility
94
Durability
94
Style
93
best offer for today
$24.99
Pros:

Locking gasket for extra secure placement

Super durable

Dishwasher safe

Classic Yeti style

Multiple colors to choose from

Cons:

Feels heavy and makes drink fill fuller than it is

If you’re the type of person who buys accessories for their beverages then you take beverage optimization seriously. If you take beverage optimization seriously, you’ve most likely heard of Yeti and already know it’s a huge brand with a giant cult following. It’s hardly a surprise that a Yeti cooler made our list.

Read more

Material

The Rambler is made of 18/8 stainless steel so it’s very durable and rust-resistant. The outer finish is duracoat, an industrial finish that gives it a nice feel in your hand and provides resistance to rust and chipping.

Effectiveness

The Rambler is going to keep your can or bottle cold from first to the last sip, even if it takes you a long while to finish it. This cooler is double walled and vacuum insulated for extra temp stability and a sweat-proof surface. It works for hot drinks, too.

Durability

Yeti claims the Rambler is chip resistant and dishwasher friendly and we believe it. This is a sturdy can cooler that should last you a long time.

Versatility

The rambler is designed to perfectly fit cans and bottles. It comes with an inner can that fits around your beverage bottle or can to keep it extra comfy and secure, along with the locking gasket ring.

Style

If you’re a Yeti fan already, you’ll love having a cooler that matches the rest of your containers. These come in typical Yeti colors from Seafoam to Charcoal and many choices in between.

Value

While you might be buying the Yeti name with this one, you’re also getting a really good quality drink cooler that’s going to last. The fact that it is dishwasher safe definitely increases its value in our eyes.

6. KelvZ

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
KelvZ
Materials
94
Effectiveness
95
Versatility
93
Durability
93
Style
92
best offer for today
$10.97
Pros:

Rust-resistant stainless steel

Low center of gravity for fewer tips and spills

Comes with two extra koozies for optimal insulation and fit

Keeps drinks cold for hours

Cons:

Does not offer a lot of color options

The Kelvz is a modern, minimalist-style stainless steel cooler. It’s designed to hold 12 oz cans and bottles. It also comes with two neoprene koozies to use on their own or to place around your drink, inside of the stainless steel insulator, for extra security and temperature control. Users really like how this cooler feels in their hand due to its intentionally ergonomic design. After reading about this product, you might be surprised to learn that it usually sits at one of the lower price points compared to most others of its kind.

Read more

Material

This cooler is made of 18/8 stainless steel. It also comes with two additional neoprene koozies that can be placed on the inside of the insulator and around the can or bottle for an extra secure fit and superior temperature control. Users like the shiny stainless steel outer finish and some personalize with stickers, as there aren’t a ton of color choices for this one.

Effectiveness

The KelvZ cooler lives up to the companies promises of crisp, cold drinks hours after they leave the fridge. Even without the extra insulation of the inner neoprene insulator, users have found that their drinks stay cool in the direct hot sun for much longer than without the cooler. With the insulator, users have found their cans or bottles cold the next morning after leaving them out overnight.

Durability

It’s made of strong stainless steel and has a nice low center of gravity so it’s a pretty sturdy little holder. We don’t recommend putting it through the dishwasher, though some users have had no issue with doing so.

Versatility

It’s designed to fit 12 oz cans and bottles. The extra insulation can help secure some thinner cans or bottles, though.

Style

We love the simple, moder, stainless steel finish on this product. If you’re looking for a lot of color choices you’ll be better off with one of our other choices in this list. However, you can personalize with stickers!

Value

We think this is a risk-free purchase. The company stands behind their brand and products and even if it’s not everything you dreamed of (unlikely), it’s fairly inexpensive and has better features and user reviews than many coolers that cost upwards of three and four times more than the KelvZ.

7. Metric USA Party Huggies

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Metric USA Party Huggies
Materials
94
Effectiveness
94
Versatility
93
Durability
91
Style
92
best offer for today
$18.94
Pros:

Collapsible

Lots of different colors

Reversible

Convenient handle

Cons:

Mostly for 12 oz cans and bottles

These are adorable, cushy, collapsible drink coolers. We love their unique look, multiple color choices, and ease of storage. Of course, they also keep your drinks really cool or hot. If you’re looking for something to keep your coffee or tea nice and cozy, this is the choice for you. They even look cozy.

Read more

Material

The material is referred to as Metric 66, a Metric USA specialty. It’s a really soft material that is collapsible, has a handle, and a bottom that works as a coaster. It’s also reversible for a different color. The shape of the surface really makes this one comfortable in your hand.

Effectiveness

This will keep your drink cold and your hands dry. More a hot drink person? This will keep your coffee or tea warm, too. We love the cozy aesthetic of the holder for warm drinks because, on a freezing cold day, you might not want a cold steel mug in your hand.

Durability

It would be hard to break these as they’re so soft and durable. They also come with a handle that doubles as a strap to hold it in its collapsed state for safe storage and long-lasting use.

Versatility

This product works for cans or bottles and has a bit of stretch for slightly wider styles.

Style

We love the color options for this choice. Not only do you get multiple colors, but each cooler is also reversible with a different color-way inside-out.

Value

You get a multi-pack of easy-to-care-for coolers with a cool handle and collapsible design for a really fair price. These are a good overall value for users.

8. Thermos

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Thermos
Materials
93
Effectiveness
93
Versatility
91
Durability
92
Style
92
best offer for today
$7.19
Pros:

Hours of cold or hot beverage temperature control

Sleek, shiny design

Vacuum seal

Fits most vehicle cup-holders

Cons:

Mostly for 12 oz cans or similarly sized cups

Thermos is like the Kleenex of temperature control for beverages. Even non-thermoses are referred to by the brand’s name most of the time because they’re an old, trusted brand that everyone recognizes. The Thermos Stainless Steel Insulator deserves the same trust as you would expect. Thermos claims the insulator keeps drinks cold for hours and we believe it based on our research.

Read more

Material

The bulk of the insulator is durable stainless steel inside and out. The collar of the product is rubberized. This gives you good hand-grippage and helps keep your can or bottle in place at the rim.

Effectiveness

Simply put, this will keep your can or bottle cold for hours. Chill the insulator in the fridge before use for extra cooling. The design allows for a vacuum seal optimal effectiveness.

Durability

The stainless steel is very durable but we also like the thick rubber collar because it takes the bulk of the shock and impact if the insulator is dropped.

Versatility

The Thermos insulator is designed for 12 oz cans but some users have no issue with bottles or even 16 oz cans.

Style

There are some color choices that mostly fall in the silver to gunmetal range and with varying logo colors. They look nice and sturdy in any color.

Value

Fun fact: one user did a school science experiment on different can insulators and the Thermos insulator beat out several other brands that were over twice the price. These usually come in a 2-pack, increasing the value.

9. Coolie Junction

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Coolie Junction
Materials
93
Effectiveness
92
Versatility
90
Durability
91
Style
92
best offer for today
$33.99
Pros:

Magnetic - stick to any metal surface to keep it nearby

Variety of color choices

Built-in coaster

Cons:

Primarily just for 12 oz Cans

Yes, that says magnetic. At first glance, the Coolie Junction might look like any old foam cooler but if you look closer you’ll see it's anything but usual. The black strip is actually a leather-like material that’s covering a very strong magnet inside!

Read more

Material

This is a neoprene can cooler with two strong magnets in a strip that allow you to snap your beverage onto any metal surface nearby while you work on the car, walk by the fridge, or hang out in the workshop.

Effectiveness

The cushy neoprene fabric will keep your beverage hot or cold and keep your hands dry from condensation. The bottom strip works as a coaster to protect your surfaces, too. Though, you might be too entertained sticking it to vertical surfaces to even try putting it on a tabletop.

Versatility

These are designed to work perfectly with 12 oz cans and bottles and some users have luck with larger plastic bottles because it does have a bit of stretch, though not much.

Style

This choice comes in several vivid colors as well as black and camo.

Value

These are pretty affordable and you can get multi-packs. We think the heart of their value comes from the ability to stick them to metal surfaces, though. How many times have you been working on something and not had a safe place to sit your drink?

10. RTIC

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
RTIC
Materials
93
Effectiveness
91
Versatility
91
Durability
90
Style
92
best offer for today
$13.49
Pros:

Screw top to keep cold longer and keep bugs out

Hours of chilled liquid

Rubberized bottom for sturdiness and surface protection

Cons:

Primarily for 12 oz cans and bottles only

The RTIC cooler is a stainless steel 12 oz can holder with a rubberized bottom and a screw on top for extra drink protection and temperature control.

Read more

Material

The cooler is made of 18/8 stainless steel an is BPA free. It’s free of toxins and chemicals that can leach into your beverage. The bottom is a rubberized material for sturdy use and fewer tips and slips. It’s also good for the office because it doesn’t make loud clanking noises every time you set it down on a hard desk.

Effectiveness

If you put a cold can in and close the screw top lid onto the Rtic you’ll likely have a chilled drink waiting for you in up to and possibly beyond three hours.

Durability

The rubberized bottom lends a lot to durability because it keeps it from being knocked over as often as lightweight holders might be. The strong 18/8 stainless steel is very rust-resistant.

Versatility

This is designed for 12 oz cans or bottles of cold beverages

Style

We really like the stainless steel finish but you can also choose from a variety of other shiny colors and even a few matte options.

Value

The Rtic is slightly higher in price than some of the non-metal coolers but the strong steel and screw top, as well as the rubberized bottom, add a lot of extra value for the price to this choice.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Effectiveness

What's the point of a holder that doesn't do its job?

The whole point of a koozie, coolie, holder, etc. is temperature control, right? Along with temperature control comes the comfort because you don’t have to worry about slick condensation. So if a holder isn’t effective, there’s really no point. We tested and researched for 10 products choosing only the ones that will give you excellent temperature control.

Materials

The right materials make a huge difference.

Different materials will provide different features and benefits for drink coolers and holders. Some like the soft neoprene type of cooler while others want a bulkier, sturdy metal surface to hold on to.

We also considered the bottom material of each option because we know you’re going to want to sit that drink down somewhere to enjoy the full benefit of long-lasting temperature control. Some containers have fabric coaster straps on the bottom, others have simple metal bottoms, while some of our favorites have rubber bottoms. The rubberized bottoms keep the holder sturdy and free from frequent tipping and slipping while also protecting your surfaces.

Versatility

Get the most out of your product.

We all have different go-to beverages so we tried to include options that covered a range of vessel sizes. While most coolers will work primarily for 12 oz cans and bottles, plenty of our picks work for options beyond those two basics like wine glasses, coffee cups, and even mason jars!

Style

It doesn't hurt to look cool!

There are very few options out there that don’t allow some sort of personal style to shine through. Even the options that don’t come in a lot of colorways are stylish on their own or allow for personalizations after purchase.

Value

The bottom line. Is it worth it?

With the recent trend of higher end, new-tech thermoses, water bottles, and tumblers, it’s not surprising that people want good quality coolers and accessories for their beverage investments. Not to mention, using your own reusable wrap or cooler can reduce the amount of waste in the form of paper or cardboard sleeves or extra napkins for soaking up condensation. You’ll also end up with much fewer half-consumed cans at gatherings when drinks get warm or people forget which was theirs. Speaking of gatherings, adding a sleeve of some sort to drinks is a good way to keep kids from accidentally grabbing a sip from the grownup drinks!

We considered all of these factors as well as price range when determining the overall value for each pick. We only included options that we sincerely believe are well worth the investment.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Help guests out!

If you often have big get-togethers, team events, or just have a larger family, consider getting neoprene coolers that come in a large variety of colors. You’ll save money on beverage purchases because you won’t have several unfinished drinks lying around after people lose theirs or forget which one was theirs to begin with.

If you have kids, this is especially important because it will help keep the kids from accidentally getting a sip of an adult beverage.

Consider use

Before you choose a cooler, consider what type of drinks you mostly have. If you want an option for 12 oz cans or 12 oz bottles, you’re in luck because most options are designed for those sizes and styles. Don’t fret though if you drink out of tall, thin cans or faux paper cups, wine glasses or mason jars, there are options for you, some of which are included in our list.

Other Factors to Consider

Brand

A lot of users have their favorite brands when it comes to beverage holders, especially metal and glass water bottles or coffee containers. There are obviously some big names out there that are instantly recognized in this market. If you already have several items of a brand, it might make sense for you to get coolers of the same because the styles are often coordinating and to some people, that’s especially important. Look for brands that use similar accessories designed to work together as a set.

During our research, we have learned that the brand you love for your water bottle or other drink holders might not transfer to a cooler that you’ll be happy with, though. When you’re searching for the right cooler, try to suspend your brand loyalty at first and make sure the cooler is actually effective for your needs and other users think it stands up to the name of its brand. If you find that the brand you love has everything you need in a cooler, go for it. Get that complete set! But, don’t be afraid to expand your cooler horizons and try a different maker. You might end up finding a brand you love even more than your old standby.

If you’re new to these kinds of purchases and are not yet loyal to any brand, you might still be aware of the most popular brands in this market. Don’t let that knowledge skew your search or purchase, though. We’ve found some products in this research that we had never, ever heard of and fell in love.

That being said, some of those big name brands are popular for a reason. Just make sure that reason works for you, too!

Size

As we tried to be very clear about in each of our ten selections, different coolers are designed for different sizes of beverage holders such as 12 oz cans, bottles, wine glasses, etc. Obviously, you need to consider this in your decision.

Another size aspect to consider is where you’re going to be sitting the holder. If you want something that will fit in your cup holders in your car, your lounge chair, or your pool floaty, check the measurements and compare to the measurements of the holder.

Comfort

Somewhat related to the size tip above, it’s important to consider who will be holding the product and in what situation. If it’s a small child, you might want to go with a softer option like the neoprene or collapsible choices. A larger, harder metal cooler might be harder for them to keep hold of.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are koozies the same as cozies/coolies/huggies/etc.?

a:

Yes, from what we can tell, they are all commonly referred to by these names in various regions but typically mean the container you put around your drink to keep it cool or warm. Koozie and cozie seem to be used slightly more often when referring to the softer neoprene or foam products but we think it’s safe to use them pretty interchangeably.

q: Are these just for beer?

a:

Absolutely not! You’re probably thinking of the foam liners that people give out that do often have beer or alcohol phrases, graphics, or images on them. Every item on our top 10 list in this review can be used for non-alcoholic drinks and none of them explicitly advertise beer or alcohol. They work great for beer cans and bottles, and you might see a lot of languages referencing beer in the descriptions at purchase, but that’s simply because beer is something they can be used for.

If you do want your product to have some sort of graphic, choose one from our list where we point out you can personalize with stickers or HTV vinyl designs!

q: Which products work best with die cut personalization for crafting or gifting?

a:

This is a really popular question with the rising popularity of cutting machines and DIY personalized gifting. We highly recommend the multi-packs of neoprene (or similar material) options because they’re a great price for bulk buying, you can choose from a ton of different colors, and they’re easy to use with heat transfer vinyl.

If you’re looking for a slightly fancier gift, the stainless steel options can be personalized with HTV decoration as well.

For example, someone who is getting married might decorate stainless steel coolers for their bridal party and then get several bulk packages of neoprene products to be decorated and used for wedding guest favors.

Sources

  1. Mark Elliot, Science Behind the Beer Koozie, Article
  2. Site staff, Awesome Koozie on the Awesomer, Review
  3. Kevin, Do Beer Koozies Work?, Article