to top 10 table

Best Kids’ Bike Helmets

last updated Feb 08, 2019

Summer is prime time for playing with your kids - whether it be through enjoying a game of catch together in the backyard or hitting the beach, many of your children’s most cherished memories will likely be made during their summers. Why not encourage more memory making by investing in a bicycle and a solid helmet so your family can go for bike rides during the nicer months of the year? You need to ensure that you’re purchasing the best helmet that will not only protect your little one, but keep them comfortable during your bike rides as well.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 6 hrs of research

icon
 Schwinn Thrasher Microshell
98.4/100 our score
Protection
99
Adjustability
98
Comfort
98
Style
99
Breathability
98
Schwinn Thrasher Microshell
Why is it better?

Stands up well during crashes

Lightweight

Comfortable to wear

Easy to fit over a ponytail

Affordable

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Schwinn Thrasher Microshell
Test Winner: Schwinn Thrasher Microshell
Researched Sources
12
Researched Sources
Total Readers
12000
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
13000
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
6
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Protection Adjustability Comfort Style Breathability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
Protection
99%
Adjustability
98%
Comfort
98%
Style
99%
Breathability
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.04.19)
$22.87
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Protection
98%
Adjustability
95%
Comfort
96%
Style
97%
Breathability
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.04.19)
$19.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Protection
97%
Adjustability
94%
Comfort
96%
Style
97%
Breathability
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.04.19)
$20.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Protection
96%
Adjustability
95%
Comfort
90%
Style
93%
Breathability
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.04.19)
$16.42
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Protection
92%
Adjustability
93%
Comfort
96%
Style
92%
Breathability
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.04.19)
$29.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Protection
93%
Adjustability
90%
Comfort
90%
Style
95%
Breathability
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.04.19)
$19.96
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Protection
94%
Adjustability
90%
Comfort
89%
Style
92%
Breathability
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.04.19)
$34.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Protection
93%
Adjustability
94%
Comfort
85%
Style
87%
Breathability
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.04.19)
$17.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Protection
89%
Adjustability
90%
Comfort
84%
Style
87%
Breathability
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.04.19)
$29.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Protection
87%
Adjustability
89%
Comfort
90%
Style
86%
Breathability
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.04.19)
$46.63
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Schwinn Thrasher Microshell
  • Razor V-17 Youth Multi-Sport
  • Raskullz Mohawk
  • Schwinn Toddler Classic
  • Joovy Noodle
  • Raskullz Unicorn
  • Giro Scamp
  • Bell Rally
  • Flybar
  • Bern Summer
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Schwinn Thrasher Microshell

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
 Schwinn Thrasher Microshell
Protection
99
Adjustability
98
Comfort
98
Style
99
Breathability
98
best offer for today
$22.87
Pros:

Stands up well during crashes

Lightweight

Comfortable to wear

Easy to fit over a ponytail

Affordable

Cons:

Some concerns regarding long term durability

Schwinn is one of the most widely recognizable names in the cycling industry and for good reason. This helmet comes with thousands of positive reviews attesting to the product’s ability to do its job of protecting little one's heads well.

Read more

Protection

This helmet from Schwinn provides little ones with full-shell coverage to ensure the ultimate in protection. It features a snap-on visor that allows your kiddo to decide whether or not they want to have sun protection on their bike ride.

Adjustability
This helmet features a 360-degree adjustable system that allows the helmet to be adjustable quickly and easily. There are side strap adjustments in place that help to ensure that you always get the right fit.

Comfort

The pads in the helmet are heat-sealed which helps to add an element of comfort for your little one. The adequate padding inside the helmet will help to keep them comfortable as well.

Style

Available in thirteen different color options, there is sure to be something in the Schwinn Thrasher line-up that appeals to your little one. Whether or not they love flames or something more whimsical like swirls, they are sure to find something in their favorite color.

Breathability

Perfect for warmer climates, the Schwinn Thrasher has twenty vents on the helmet to help keep your little one cool during those, particularly toasty summer days.

2. Razor V-17 Youth Multi-Sport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Razor V-17 Youth Multi-Sport
Protection
98
Adjustability
95
Comfort
96
Style
97
Breathability
97
best offer for today
$19.99
Pros:

Kids love the color and design options

Simple to adjust

Nice shiny finish

Great for multiple uses

Cons:

Extra padding included has no way to attach it to the helmet

As its name suggests, this helmet is useful in a variety of different sports applications from cycling to skating and will protect your little one’s head efficiently no matter what they are participating in.

Read more

Protection

Through reading many of the reviews of this helmet, we found that a number of parents attribute this helmet to saving their little one’s lives. It’s always nice to hear some reinforcement from parents who have unfortunately had the experience of seeing just how protective the helmet is.

Adjustability

There are side release buckles on this helmet that make it easy to adjust and get the chin strap properly fastened.

Comfort

Made with an ergonomic padding system on the interior of the helmet, your little one is likely to find this style incredibly comfortable to wear for long days bike riding or at the skate park.

Style

Available in thirteen different color options from geometric blue/grey/black to glossy pink to purple peace sign hearts and anything in between, there is sure to be a style here that appeal to your little one.

Breathability

Equipped with seventeen top and side vents, the Razor V-17 helmet will help to keep your little ones head cool even on the hottest of days.

3. Raskullz Mohawk

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Raskullz Mohawk
Protection
97
Adjustability
94
Comfort
96
Style
97
Breathability
90
best offer for today
$20.99
Pros:

LED style is fun for little ones

Straps are easy to adjust

Kids love the mohawk style

Meets all safety requirements

Cons:

Plastic outer layer melts if left out in hot weather

This helmet from Raskullz is actually part of the Bell company, which has been a big name in the cycling community for over 60 years. It’s not just a cool looking helmet (though it totally is) but it’s also incredibly efficient at doing its job of protecting your little one’s melon as well.

Read more

Protection

These helmets from Raskyllz pass both CPSC and ASTM requirements for safety. They feature an expanded polystyrene inner shell that is present to help absorb any impacts in the event of an accident.

Adjustability

The helmet features an adjustable strap system that helps to ensure that every child is able to get the right fit for their particular head shape and size.

Comfort

There are soft pads inside of this helmet to help add extra cushioning and comfort for little melons.

Style

This helmet will definitely appeal to the kids who prefer a little more of a ‘hardcore’ look with its 3D mohawk style. Available in ten different color options and styles, this tough-looking helmet is as cool looking as it is protective. Some of the style options even used LED lights for an added cool-guy (or gal) style. If you have a little girl who loves the look of the Mohawk helmet but still loves girly colors, Raskullz has a cute purple and pink zebra style with black and pink spikes that will likely appeal to her.

Breathability

We were able to count four venting holes on this helmet from Raskullz. While this is definitely lower than other options on our list so far, we are of the mind that some venting is better than none at all.

4. Schwinn Toddler Classic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Schwinn Toddler Classic
Protection
96
Adjustability
95
Comfort
90
Style
93
Breathability
95
best offer for today
$16.42
Pros:

Adjustment dial is easy to operate to ensure a snug fit

Fun color and style options appeal to toddlers

Affordable price tag

Sufficient number of air flow vents

Cons:

Sizing is small, more likely to fit babies than toddlers

Here we have another option from Schwinn. This time we’re looking at a helmet that is designed for even smaller heads with the Toddler Classic, made for kids younger than three.

Read more

Protection

This helmet from Schwinn features a low molded and extended microshell that will provide the necessary durability required to provide protection from bumps and potential accidents. It also has a built-in visor to help protect eyes from the harsh rays of the sun.

Adjustability

The helmet features Schwinn’s Dial-Fit Retention System that allows parents to quickly adjust the help to the proper fit required for their little one’s head.

Comfort
Our research suggests that most little ones find this helmet to be comfortable and don’t mind wearing it for extended bike rides at all.

Style

This helmet is adorable and its cute styles are perfect for the little toddler in your family. Available in four different color options – pink/blue/purple polka dots, purple with owls, blue with a pink hippo or red/white/blue with rocket ships, there is a style here that will likely appeal to most toddlers.

Breathability

There are ten flow vents featured on this helmet to help provide your child with a cool and comfortable ride.

5. Joovy Noodle

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Joovy Noodle
Protection
92
Adjustability
93
Comfort
96
Style
92
Breathability
90
best offer for today
$29.99
Pros:

Properly fitted, it fully covers the skull and upper neck

Cushioned padding inside for comfort

Sun visor is a nice touch

Fun, bright color options appeal to young kids

Cons:

Runs small, measuring is imperative

A relatively unknown name in the bicycling industry, Joovy is here to blow our socks off with their high-quality and protective children’s helmets. With hundreds of positive reviews under their belt, parents should take solace in knowing that their kids are equipped with a great, protective helmet when they’re wearing one from Joovy.

Read more

Protection

The helmet features an extended sun visor to help protect young eyes from the sun. This is sure to be a hit especially for young kids who can’t seem to keep sunglasses on their heads. At least they will be a bit protected from the helmet visor. Joov has ensured that this product meets all CPSC standards for safety.

Adjustability

The helmet uses an adjustable fit dial to ensure that parents are able to find a fit that is right for their child. It arrives with extra pads in the box so you are able to adjust it to fit just right.

Comfort

No more annoying strap irritation! This helmet features a padded chin strap that will help to keep your child comfortable during long (or, heck, even short) bike rides.

Style

This helmet is available in ‘small’ or ‘medium’ sizes, so it is important to make sure you take proper measurements of your child’s head to ensure you’re getting the right size for them. It is available in six fun and bright colors from orange to berry to lime green and blue.

Breathability

Joovy equipped this helmet with 14 air vents throughout. The front vents actually feature an integrated bug mesh to help protect your little one from those pesky summer mosquitoes, too, a definite bonus for those bug-hating little ones in your family.

6. Raskullz Unicorn

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Raskullz Unicorn
Protection
93
Adjustability
90
Comfort
90
Style
95
Breathability
88
best offer for today
$19.96
Pros:

Vibrant colors

Cute unicorn design

Durable construction

Kids won’t put up a fight when it comes time to put their helmet on

Cons:

Fits small

Here we are with another product from Raskullz. This one is more or less going to just appeal to the unicorn lover in your family.

Read more

Protection

Parents can rest easy knowing that this helmet meets both CPSC and ASTM standards for safety. As with the previous Raskullz option on our list, this unicorn helmet features a shock-absorbing shell that is designed to absorb any impacts that it may encounter.

Adjustability

Similar to the other Raskullz helmet on our top ten list, this one uses an adjustable strap system that allows parents to adjust the fit so it is perfect for their child’s head.

Comfort

This helmet features a nylon chin strap that most children will find to be quite comfortable. Our research indicates that most children love the fit of this helmet and won’t be fighting with their parents when it comes time to keep them safe during bike rides.

Style

This helmet has an adorable fluffy mohawk that your little one is going to absolutely adore. Available in three different color options – dark pink with a blue fluffy mohawk, electric pink with a plastic blue mohawk or purple with a yellow mohawk, this Raskullz helmet is going to be a hit with the little unicorn lover in your life.

Breathability

There are a number of cooling vents on this helmet that will help to keep your little one cool during those hot summer days.

7. Giro Scamp

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Giro Scamp
Protection
94
Adjustability
90
Comfort
89
Style
92
Breathability
89
best offer for today
$34.95
Pros:

Solid construction

Cute color options kids love

Lightweight

Dial in the back makes it a cinch to adjust

Cons:

Some felt the interior padding wasn’t sufficient enough

Priced quite a bit higher than other options on our list, we had to include a Giro anyway as this is a fairly well-recognized brand name in the world of protective headgear.

Read more

Protection

We all remember the fear that comes with clipping in the chin strap after being nicked a time or two in our childhood. Thankfully, this helmet features a buckle with a pinch-guard so maybe we don’t have to pass that fear onto our little ones. It also has a built-in visor that will help to protect little eyes from the harmful sun rays often present during those hot summer days.

Adjustability
Little girls with long hair no longer need to worry about their ponytail fitting with their bike helmet. This Giro product is proudly ponytail compatible!

Comfort

Kids will love the way that this helmet feels on their head. Because it’s so stylish and comfortable, you won’t need to bribe your kids to wear this helmet on their bike rides.

Style

Available in 12 different color options, there is something here that will appeal to most children. Purple flowers, blue flowers, lime green, bubbles, orange/blue/yellow geometric designs, and plain solid colors are just some of the styles available with this helmet from Giro.

Breathability

The Scamp helmet features eight vents to help aid in the breathability of the helmet. Though 8 is on the lower end in comparison to some of the other products on our list, we think that your child will find that there is plenty of enough airflow allowed here regardless.

8. Bell Rally

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Bell Rally
Protection
93
Adjustability
94
Comfort
85
Style
87
Breathability
92
best offer for today
$17.99
Pros:

Bell’s True Fit system makes fitting it simple and fast

Affordable price tag

Kids love the color and look of the helmet

Cons:

There were some questions about the durability of this product

Here we have another product from Bell, one of the most widely recognized brand news in terms of cycling gear. This helmet comes with a very low price tag and parents should find that their children love the comfortable fit and unique style it offers.

Read more

Protection

This helmet is equipped with a pinch guard buckle so as to ensure your little ones aren’t getting pinched by the clasp. It is CPSC Certified and provides the right amount of protection for your child’s melon. It is also equipped with reflectors as well to provide protection during the evening.

Adjustability

We all know that a better fitting helmet means a safer helmet overall and that is the case with this option from Bell. The company’s True Fit system is designed to eliminate the need for strap adjustments that can often time be frustrating and confusing. Bell’s True Fit system is made to fit right every single time with one single easy adjustment.

Comfort
Kids love the way that this helmet feels on. The padding inside the helmet helps to ensure a comfortable fit.

Style

Available in eight different color and style options, the Belly Rally helmet will likely have a color combination that makes your child excited to put on their helmet. There is a black/yellow lightning design, a pink/blue/purple splatter design, a purple butterfly option, and a dark titanium/white option, just to name a few.

Breathability

There are 11 vents on the Bell Rally, making it a great option for kids who are known to overheat in warm weather. The vents will allow for sufficient air flow in and out of the helmet and will help to prevent overheating.

9. Flybar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Flybar
Protection
89
Adjustability
90
Comfort
84
Style
87
Breathability
87
best offer for today
$29.99
Pros:

Great customer service

Lightweight

Simple adjustment system

Older kids can make adjustments themselves easily

Cons:

Might not fit the greatest if your child has a larger head

This multi-use helmet from Flybar is approved for use for cycling, roller skating, skateboarding, scootering and even for pogoing. It isn’t the cheapest option on our list, but considering all of the use your little one can possibly get out of this product, we think it’s more than worth the price tag.

Read more

Protection

This helmet has a dual certification which means it is both CPSC and ASTM certified for safety. It has a strong outer shell construction as well as the typical foam lining on the inside to help protect your child’s head from any impacts they might endure while participating in any of the approved activities with this helmet.

Adjustability

This helmet uses an adjustable dial on the back side of the helmet to help parents get the right fit for their child.

Comfort

The chin strap for the Flybar is soft and padded to ensure additional comfort. This is a nice touch as the chin straps for helmets are often irritating and bothersome to little ones. The Flybar utilizes foam inserts that not only added extra protection for your child but will provide additional comfort as well.

Style

Available in nine different color and design options, there is a style here that your little one will love. From camouflage to clouds to hot pink and plain black, there is a design here that will likely suit the personality of each of your children.

Breathability

Designed with 12 vents, the Flybar not only looks super rad, but it provides children with adequate airflow to help keep them cool during hot weather or sweaty activities.

10. Bern Summer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Bern Summer
Protection
87
Adjustability
89
Comfort
90
Style
86
Breathability
81
best offer for today
$46.63
Pros:

Easy to clean

Stylish

Fits as intended

Shell fits nice and close to the head

Cons:

Seems to be some issues with the colors of the helmet

This slick looking helmet from Bern is sure to be a hit with the little one in your family. Not only does it provide all the protection required, but it is also comfortable, breathable and stylish looking to boot.

Read more

Protection

This helmet is equipped with Bern’s Sink Fit technology. This is a design choice by the company that sees the helmet extend far, to cover the entire back of the head. This helps to provide even further protection that typical biking helmets. It is also equipped with a flip visor that will allow our child to choose when he or she would like to utilize the visor’s sun protection capabilities.

Adjustability

As with many of the helmets on our list, this option from Bern is adjusted through the use of straps under the chin.

Comfort

Your child is going to find this helmet to be well padded and comfortable for everyday use. Many children who are resistant to helmets found this option from Bern to be comfortable enough that they put up a fight when it came time to put the helmet on.

Style

Available in eight different design options, the Bern Summer helmet is a great option for the little dude in your life. They will be psyched over the style options available here- from matte black or blue to army green with planes, white with panda bears, a grey shark or black camouflage, there is certainly going to be a style here that appeals to your child.

Breathability

There are seven vents featured on this helmet. While this is lower than what the average seems to be based upon our research and the ten products we’ve looked at during this buying guide, we still think that your child will find the seven here to offer adequate enough ventilation.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Protection

The entire reason we wear helmets is to protect our noggins from dangerous falls and accidents that unfortunately do happen when we’re out cycling.

Perhaps the most important criteria you should take into consideration when you’re in the market for a children’s bike helmet is the amount of protection that it provides. The entire reason we wear helmets is to protect our noggins from dangerous falls and accidents that unfortunately do happen when we’re out cycling. The first thing you should look for is a seal from the CPSC (Consumer Product Safety Commission) that states that the helmet passes these tests. All helmets that are sold in the United States already comply with the CPSC standards but it is worth noting anyway just to be on the safe side, especially when you are doing shopping online and aren’t necessarily buying from the US.

Adjustability

Adjustability options include chin straps, dials, and adjustable padding.

Helmets these days are more adjustable than they used to be. When we were younger, often the only way to make a custom fit for your helmet was to adjust the band that went under our chins. Nowadays, the chin strap is still adjustable but there are often dials on the back and other ways to adjust the helmet so it fits just right for each individual head. There is often an internal plastic cage inside modern helmets that allow parents to adjust the fit just right. With a dial adjustment, the internal cage will shrink or grow to fit the head inside of the helmet. While this is a great new way to ensure that the helmet fits perfectly on your little one’s head, it must be noted that these dials are limited in the amount that they can adjust. This is why it’s important to make sure you are starting off on the right foot and getting the right sized helmet to begin with. Helmets with adjustable padding inside offer parents a way to adjust the interior size of the helmet. They often arrive with different width of padding so that parents can switch it out for the size necessary to properly protect their child.

Comfort

If your child doesn’t find the helmet to fit comfortably on their head, they aren’t going to want to wear it.

If you’re a parent of a small child you know how important comfort is when it comes to dressing them. For example, if a sock so much as one loose thread that rubs on the ankle in just the right (or wrong, perhaps) way, it can result in a terrible day had by everyone in the family. This is why comfort is a very important criterion to use when choosing a helmet that your little one is going to wear. If they don’t find the helmet to fit comfortably on their head, they aren’t going to want to wear it. The goal with purchasing a helmet is to keep those fragile little heads safe and if your child flat out refuses to wear a helmet because they don’t find it to be comfortable, they aren’t going to be protected during their bike rides.

Style

Kids like to show off their individual style in whatever they choose to wear and why should their protective head gear be any different?

Helmet manufacturers these days get children. They know that they don’t want to wear anything that they deem “uncool” or not stylish so that’s why a lot of helmets that are on the market these days are so fun, bright and colorful. Kids, heck, even adults, like to show off their individual style in whatever they choose to wear and why should their protective headgear be any different? If you have a little girl who loves all things pink and unicorns, the Raskullz unicorn helmet might be the exact thing she will feel proud wearing on her bike rides. If you have a little one who wants to look as tough as they feel, the Raskullz mohawk helmet will probably be something they will love wearing. Most of the other options on our top ten list look like a classic bicycle helmet with the added bonus that most of them are available in a number of different colors. Your little one can express themselves through the choice of a color that best suits their personality.

Breathability

The less air flow that is happening in the helmet, the sweatier your little one’s head is going to get and no one likes to feel sweat building up.

An uncomfortable child is a miserable child. Heck, this phrase even applies to adults. Building upon the comfort criteria we already mentioned, if your child is uncomfortable in anything their wearing (helmet or not), they’re not going to be very happy campers. This is why breathability is another important aspect to consider when you’re shopping for cycling helmets. There should be a number of vents on your child’s helmet in order to let air flow in and out. The less air flow that is happening in the helmet, the sweatier your little one’s head is going to get and no one likes to feel sweat building up. In order to keep cycling fun and enjoyable activity for the entire family, it is important to make sure everyone is comfortable during their bike rides.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Protection
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
More Safety Tricks

Watch for the 'V' under your child's ears after you've buckled up their helmet. The straps should form a V shape underneath their ears if the helmet is fit properly. Another great tip that will provide further safety precautions for your little one is to invest in some reflective stickers you can place on their helmet. This will help to make your child more visible to motorists, especially during the darker hours of the day.

Not All Helmets Are The Same

With the exception of a few of the products on our list being approved as "multi-sport" options, not all helmets are built the same. We do not recommend using helmets made for other sports like football or skateboarding during your bike rides. This is because other types of helmets are not designed to protect against impacts in the way that bicycle helmets are.

Other Factors to Consider

Brand

You likely recognize some of the brand names on our top ten list – Schwinn and Bell are popular in the world of cycling. Brand recognition often plays a huge part for consumers when it comes time to purchase something. We often feel drawn to brand names that we recognize because we equate their names with safety. While Schwinn and Bell are fantastic companies (we did include them on our list for a reason), that doesn’t mean that any of the lesser known brands are poorer in quality. In fact, all of the brand names on our top ten list provide consumers with a fantastic, high-quality helmet. They made our list for a reason! It’s okay to feel nervous about stepping outside of the norm and trying a lesser known brand but if you feel more comfortable going with what you know, Bell and Schwinn are here for you to try, too.

Value

Thankfully, most of the options on our list are incredibly affordable. Though we know that parents would pay a lot of money if it meant the safety and protection of their children, it is nice to know that helmet manufacturers are in the business to provide that necessary protection and not just to make a quick buck. The options on our list mostly all fall below the $30 price range which is affordable enough considering the value that is provided by the products. The really great news is that shelling money out on a more expensive helmet won’t necessarily provide your child with more protection. The results from this study prove that the performance between these helmets, despite a wide range in the cost of the product themselves, was actually quite similar. This is great news for parents knowing that they can purchase an affordable helmet and know that the protection is going to be the same between it and its more expensive counterpart.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I know if I need to replace my child’s helmet?
a:

It is important to note that if your helmet has ever been involved in an accident where your head was hit, it will need to be replaced. The foam section of the helmet is designed to take impact once only and will never provide an adequate amount of protection again after taking a hit. Chances are your child will grow out of their helmet before the helmet hits the 10 years old mark, but after that, it should be replaced. And if you happen to notice that it’s not fitting as good as it used to, it will need to be replaced. Your child’s helmet will not protect them as they’re meant to if they are ill-fitting so it’s important to always check and make sure that it fits the way it’s supposed to.

q: Does my child need to wear a helmet?
a:

Yes. Despite that fact that just 21 states have mandatory helmet laws for children, your little ones absolutely do need to wear a helmet whenever they are out on their bike. A study published in 2016 found that wearing a helmet will reduce the probability of a head injury by a whopping 50% and reduces the chances of a serious head injury by nearly 70%. While your little one may not get into an accident while they’re riding their bike, the helmet will be there to protect them from devastating injuries in case it was to ever happen.

q: Can my child use their bike helmet for snowboarding, too?
a:

Typically, no. Winter sports helmets are designed a little bit differently to protect little ones from the dangers they can face while on the slopes. Wearing a bike helmet while you’re skiing might provide adequate enough protection but we would suggest either investing in a snowsport-specific helmet or else renting one when you get to the slopes just to be on the safe side. These helmets are typically warmer for the cold weather you will encounter and your little ones might find the ventilation from their bike helmet to be too chilly to wear in snowy weather.

q: How do I know if my child’s helmet fits them properly?
a:

A properly fitting helmet can mean the difference between a head injury and safety so it is of utmost importance that the helmet fits properly. There are some things you can check for as a parent to ensure that the helmet fits right

-The helmet should fit snug but not be too tight that it’s uncomfortable
-If you were to grab the helmet and move it around, it should stay put. It should not move
more than an inch in any direction
-The helmet should sit straight and not be tilted back or forward
-The bottom edge should sit around one or two finger widths above your little one’s
eyebrow to ensure it’s not down too far over their face. The helmet should cover most of
the forehead
-You shouldn’t be able to slip a finger between your child’s chin and their chin strap

Sources

  1. Cleveland Clinic, How to Pick the Best Bicycle Helmet for Your Child, Jan 11, 2019
  2. wikipedia, Bicycle helmets in the United States, Jan 18, 2019
  3. wikipedia, Bicycle helmet laws,