to top 10 table

Best Keto Bars

last updated Mar 04, 2019

The ketogenic diet has taken the world by storm. If you haven’t already tried it yourself, you’ve surely seen your Facebook friends talking about it or caught a segment on your local news about the pros, cons and dangers of following the keto diet. While we’re not here to tell you that you should be following this regimen, if you already are you know that its sometimes hard to find a keto-friendly snack if you’re always on the go. This is where keto bars come in handy. They provide dieters with a way to ensure they stick to their diet while also satisfying cravings and keeping them fuller until their next meal. We have compiled a list of the ten best keto bars on the market today to help make shopping easier for you.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 4 hrs of research

icon
Stoka Bar
98.2/100 our score
Flavors
98
Materials
99
Size
97
Effectiveness
98
Value
99
Stoka Bar
Why is it better?

Tastes like you’re cheating on your diet

Nutty flavor

Can last an entire day

Filling

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Stoka Bar
Test Winner: Stoka Bar
Amazon Link
Sorting Options
Flavors Materials Size Effectiveness Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Flavors
98 %
Materials
99 %
Size
97 %
Effectiveness
98 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.19)
Amazon Link
$23.92
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Flavors
95 %
Materials
97 %
Size
98 %
Effectiveness
98 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.19)
Amazon Link
$39.97
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Flavors
98 %
Materials
95 %
Size
96 %
Effectiveness
95 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.19)
Amazon Link
$47.49
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Flavors
96 %
Materials
94 %
Size
96 %
Effectiveness
91 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.19)
Amazon Link
$17.94
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Flavors
94 %
Materials
96 %
Size
92 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.19)
Amazon Link
$29.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Flavors
96 %
Materials
94 %
Size
91 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.19)
Amazon Link
$49.55
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Flavors
92 %
Materials
95 %
Size
91 %
Effectiveness
90 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.19)
Amazon Link
$18.80
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Flavors
89 %
Materials
85 %
Size
87 %
Effectiveness
87 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.19)
Amazon Link
$33.20
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Flavors
90 %
Materials
84 %
Size
82 %
Effectiveness
86 %
Value
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.19)
Amazon Link
$14.10
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Flavors
85 %
Materials
83 %
Size
86 %
Effectiveness
81 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.19)
Amazon Link
$26.49

Top 10 Picks

1. Stoka Bar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Stoka Bar
Amazon Link
Flavors
98
Materials
99
Size
97
Effectiveness
98
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.92
Pros:

Tastes like you’re cheating on your diet

Nutty flavor

Can last an entire day

Filling

Cons:

Not very appealing appearance wise

With over 400 fantastic customer reviews, these bars from Stoka Nutrition are a great addition to any ketogenic dieters nutrition plan. With just four grams of net carbs per bar and two yummy flavors to choose from, these bars are a delicious way to help get your body into ketosis.

Read more

Flavors
These bars from Stoka Nutrition come in either Coco Almond or Vanilla Almond flavors. There is an option to have a mix of both flavors as well.

Materials
The materials your bar is made of will depend on the flavor you choose. Both feature nearly the exact same ingredients with almonds, erythritol, and inulin as their predominant ingredients. Vanilla Almond uses vanilla extract and Coco Almond has cocoa powder. Other than those two differences, the ingredients are the exact same.

Size
The bars are 51 grams (1.8 ounces) each. They arrive in a box of eight.

Effectiveness
The carb counts will change depending on the flavor you choose. Vanilla Almond has 17 grams of carbs with 4 grams of net carbs. Coco Almond has 18 grams of carbohydrates, also with four grams of net carbs as it has more sugar alcohol than the previous flavor.

Value
These bars are very affordable and are actually one of the cheapest options on our list. Many of the reviewers who tried and loved these bars mentioned that they found they were able to make their bar last an entire day because they’re so creamy and filling. Though you only receive eight bars in your box, we still believe this product has a great amount of value that warrants its top spot on our list.

2. Zenwise Health

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Zenwise Health
Amazon Link
Flavors
95
Materials
97
Size
98
Effectiveness
98
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.97
Pros:

Source of MCT to help ketone production

Provides an energy boost

Great for craving killing

Good texture

Cons:

Expensive

The Keto-Crave bars from Zenwise Health are a great way to conquer cravings while you’re on a ketogenic diet. Though they do require a bit of an investment, they are a convenient way to ensure you’re staying on track while dieting.

Read more

Flavors
These bars come in one flavor – Cacao Almond.

Materials
The first three ingredients in these bars are: grass fed whey protein concentrate, chicory root fiber and cacao butter. The addition of the chicory root fiber will help you to feel more satiated after eating one of these bars.

Size
Each bar is 42 grams. They come in a box of 12.

Effectiveness
The total carbs in each bar is just 13 grams. They contain five grams of net carbs.

Value
The cost of these might be a little shocking at first. But one must remember that this product comes in a box of 12. With just 5 grams of net carbs and a lot of very satisfied customers, you have to consider the return you will get from your investment as well.

3. Quest Nutrition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Quest Nutrition
Amazon Link
Flavors
98
Materials
95
Size
96
Effectiveness
95
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$47.49
Pros:

Lots of flavors to choose from

High in protein

Taste great microwaved

Low sugar

Cons:

The texture of these bars is not for everyone

Quest bars have long been a favorite of dieters all around the world. They come in a ton of different flavor options and provide a nutritional profile that other bars on the market can only gawk at.

Read more

Flavors
Quest bars come in a ton of different flavors. So many that we couldn’t possibly name all of them here. Some of the more popular flavor options are: cookies and cream, chocolate chip cookie dough, strawberry cheesecake and s’mores.

Materials
The first three ingredients are a protein blend (consisted of milk and whey protein isolate), soluble corn fiber and almonds. The use of soluble corn fiber allows Quest Nutrition to provide users with a bar that has a lower sugar content will still providing a great source of dietary fiber.

Size
Each Quest bar is 60 grams (or 2.12 ounces). They come in boxes of 12.

Effectiveness
The exact nutritional information ranges from flavor to flavor. The chocolate chip cookie dough flavor has 21 grams of carbs but just 4 grams of net carbs thanks to the bars naturally high fiber content.

Value
You are getting a great deal when you purchase a box of 12 Quest bars. With so many different flavor options to choose from, as long as you find yourself liking the texture of these bars, you won’t get sick of them. Pro tip: Microwave your bar to make it a bit softer and less gritty to eat.

4. DNX

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
DNX
Amazon Link
Flavors
96
Materials
94
Size
96
Effectiveness
91
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.94
Pros:

Reasonably high in protein

Uses organic fruits and vegetables

Source of Omega-3s

Filling

Cons:

Not every flavor is positively received

If you’ve been waiting for something a little more beefy on our list of best keto bars, here we have this product from DNX. These are made with organic grass fed beef and with a ton of different flavors to choose from, there is sure to be something that suits your fancy.

Read more

Flavors
These bars come in a number different flavor profiles – bacon jalapeno, sweet potato and pecan, dark cacao cherry coconut, fennel and sweet potato just to name a few. There are also sampler packs available to purchase so you can try more than one flavor at a time.

Materials
The first three ingredients in the Fennel Sweet Potato flavor are grass fed beef, medjool dates and powdered egg whites. The use of dates in these bars adds a touch of sweetness that compliments the meat flavor in many of the flavors.

Size
The bars are 43 grams (or 1.5 ounces) each. There are a few different box size options depending on the flavor or if you’ve decided to choose a sampler pack. In many cases, you can pick between 6, 8, 10 or 12 bars per box.

Effectiveness
The nutritional information will change from flavor to flavor. The Fennel Sweet Potato bar has just 7 grams of carbs and 6 net carbs.

Value
The price of this product depends on what size box you have decided to purchase. You should expect to pay a reasonable price regardless. This product will not break the bank.

5. Keto Bars

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Keto Bars
Amazon Link
Flavors
94
Materials
96
Size
92
Effectiveness
93
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.95
Pros:

Won’t spike blood sugar

Taste more natural than other bars on the market

100% keto ingredients

Great tasting

Cons:

Expensive

Keto Bars is a company that supplies users with, well, keto bars. These particular bars are perfect for chocoholics and because the company uses only wholesome ingredients in the construction of their bars, these are definitely something we feel good about recommending to our keto dieting readers.

Read more

Flavors
These bars come in three different flavor options – Chocolate Peanut Butter, Dark Chocolate Coconut Almond or Mint Chocolate. Perfect for the chocolate lover.

Materials
The main ingredients in the Chocolate Peanut Butter flavor are peanut butter, chocolate, and coconut. In the Dark Chocolate Coconut Almond and Chocolate Mint flavors, they are chocolate, almonds, and coconut. Each of these flavors has only 7 to 9 ingredients which are great to see in a snack bar. Often times they are pumped full of extra ingredients and preservatives that aren’t very beneficial to overall health.

Size
These bars are around 42 grams each. They come in boxes of ten.

Effectiveness
Each flavor of these bars from Keto Bars has just three grams of net carbs.

Value
These aren’t the most expensive option on our top ten list, but they’re definitely not the cheapest either. We loved that they are made with fewer ingredients than some of the other options we have showcased here, though, so that earned them a spot on our top ten list.

6. MariGold Bars

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
MariGold Bars
Amazon Link
Flavors
96
Materials
94
Size
91
Effectiveness
92
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.55
Pros:

Non-GMO ingredients

No artificial sweeteners

Great tasting

Great texture

Cons:

Wrapper can be hard to open

Though these bars come with a slightly higher price tag, they’re something you can feel good about adding to your keto diet simply because not only are they delicious and full of flavor, but they are made with wholesome ingredients you can feel good about fueling your body with.

Read more

Flavors
Chocolate lovers rejoice! The Keto-friendly MariGold bars come in six different flavor options – Ginger Spice Pecan, Chocolate Squared, Chocolate Mint, Chocolate Praline, ChocoNut and Pure Joy.

Materials
The ingredients vary from flavor to flavor. Though we don’t have the time to break down each flavor individually, let’s take a look at two options. The first three ingredients in the Ginger Spice Pecan flavor are whey isolate from grass fed cows, organic pecans and filtered water. The first three in the Chocolate Praline bar are cold processed isolate from grass fed cows, organic pecans and organic 100% chocolate. These bars have ingredients in them you can feel good about putting into your body.

Size
We were not able to find information on the exact size of these bars. They ship in boxes of 12.

Effectiveness
The carbohydrate levels vary slightly from flavor to flavor. You can expect there to be just 2 or 3 grams of net carbs per bar, regardless of flavor.

Value
Considering these bars are made fresh and from ethically sourced ingredients, one can expect to pay a little more for these than other options on our list. We loved the Mom and Pop feel of this company, like you can feel every ounce of love the manufacturer’s poured into each bar. This alone makes the higher price tag worth it.

7. NuGo Smarte Carb

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
NuGo Smarte Carb
Amazon Link
Flavors
92
Materials
95
Size
91
Effectiveness
90
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.80
Pros:

Satisfies cravings

Keeps you satiated

Nice texture

Doesn’t taste overly sweet

Cons:

Some reviewers found them to be dry

The NuGo brand has a number of dieter-friendly products on their Amazon storefront. From slim protein bars to protein cookies and egg white protein, this company has you covered. Their Smarte Carb bars are no exception. These bars are great tasting little treats that will keep you satiated in between meals.

Read more

Flavors
These bars from NuGo come in either Chocolate Black Cherry or Peanut Butter Crunch flavors.

Materials
The first three ingredients for both flavors are soy crisp, sugar-free milk chocolate, and maltitol syrup. The use of maltitol syrup in the construction of these bars allows NuGo to provide consumers with a bar that tastes like it was sweetened with white sugar without the calories.

Size
These bars are 50 grams (or 1.76 ounces) each. They come in boxes of 12.

Effectiveness
Because both flavors of these bars from NuGo have been sweetened with a sugar alternative they have no sugar and just 2 grams of net carbs.

Value
These bars are among some of the cheapest we have on our top ten list. With their keto-friendly construction and two yummy flavors to choose from, we think that the sweets lover in all of us will be able to appreciate adding these to their diet.

8. DANG

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
DANG
Amazon Link
Flavors
89
Materials
85
Size
87
Effectiveness
87
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.20
Pros:

Dairy-free

No artificial sweeteners

Interesting flavor options

Satiating

Variety box allows consumers to test all flavors

Cons:

Not all flavors are well-received

Not into sweet or beefy keto bars? How about trying something a little more refined sounding? Cardamom Chai, maybe? Or Saigon Cinnamon Chocolate will tickle your fancy? These bars from DANG provide consumers with unique flavor profiles and wholesome vegan ingredients.

Read more

Flavors
These bars are a great option for folks who don’t necessarily get excited about sweet or savory flavors. They come in eight different flavors ranging from Cardamom Chai to Chocolate Sea Salt to Lemon Matcha and Toasted Coconut. They even have an option to purchase a 3 or 6 flavor variety pack.

Materials
For most of the flavors, the first three ingredients are almonds, chicory root fiber, and cocoa butter. The exceptions to this rule are Saigon Cinnamon Chocolate and Chocolate Sea Salt whose third ingredient is chocolate instead of cocoa butter. These bars are plant-based, making them a great option for the vegan keto dieter.

Size
Each bar is 40 grams (or 1.4 ounces). They come in boxes of 12.

Effectiveness
Each bar has five grams of net carbs with the exception of the Chocolate Sea Salt flavor which has just 4 grams.

Value
You can expect to pay a reasonable price for 12 plant-based keto bars. Typically, when there are products on the market with certain ‘buzzwords’ such as “keto” or “vegan”, you should expect to pay a premium for the product. These are reasonably priced despite being the bearer of two very ‘in’ buzzwords right now.

9. ZenoBar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
ZenoBar
Amazon Link
Flavors
90
Materials
84
Size
82
Effectiveness
86
Value
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.10
Pros:

No blood sugar spike

Great mouthfeel

Allulose is a natural sweetener

Natural ingredients

Cons:

Some may not like the aftertaste

Do you prefer to snack on foods that are a little more natural than what you would typically find in the protein bar aisle? These bars just may check all of the necessary boxes for you – plant-based, soy-free, a good source of omega-3s and non-GMO.

Read more

Flavors
These keto bars from ZenoBar come in three different flavor options – Almond Hemp, Cocoa Hemp or Strawberry Hemp.

Materials
The first three ingredients for all three flavors are almonds, allulose, and organic soluble tapioca fiber. Allulose is a rare sugar that provides sweetness without any of the icky aftertastes that many other sweeteners have.

Size
Each bar is 45 grams. The bars are available in 3, 6 or 12 packs. There is even a variety pack for those of you who can’t choose between the three flavor options.

Effectiveness
The Almond Hemp and Cocoa Hemp flavors have just 2 grams of net carbs, while the Strawberry Hemp has 4 grams.

Value
These bars are priced similarly to many of the other options on our list. They won’t necessarily break the bank, but if you’re eating them like their candy you might want to reconsider whether or not keto snack bars are right for you.

10. Epic Provisions

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Epic Provisions
Amazon Link
Flavors
85
Materials
83
Size
86
Effectiveness
81
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.49
Pros:

Unique flavor options

Good protein content

Low calorie

Great tasting

Cons:

Some reviews suggest recent (2016) formula changes make them less desirable

You didn’t think we would end our top ten list without another meat-based keto bar option, did you? These bars from Epic Provisions are a fantastic source of meat protein in a convenient grab-and-go package.

Read more

Flavors
With 11 different flavor and meat options, Epic Provisions has the meat lover in all of us covered. From Chicken Sriracha to Beef, Apple & Bacon to Lamb Currant and Mint, there is likely a meat and flavor combination that will satisfy your cravings for a savory snack.

Materials
The ingredients will vary from flavor to flavor and we don’t have the space on our website to list all of the main ingredients for each flavor. You can rest assured that the first ingredient in all of the bars is the animal from which the main source of protein is coming. That is to say that chicken bars will have chicken as the main ingredient, lamb bars will have lamb, bison bars will have bison and so on and so forth. Epic Provisions has a “Whole Animal Project” initiative whereby they promise to use more of the animals they’re using for their products so less goes to waste and so the animals will be honored more.

Size
Each bar is 43 grams (or 1.1 ounces). They come in boxes of 12.

Effectiveness
Because there are so many different flavor varieties, we cannot list each one’s net carbs. We can say that not all of the flavors are as keto-friendly as others. We recommend the Chicken Sriracha, Venison Sea Salt Pepper or Smoked Salmon Maple flavors which have 1, 2 and 4 net grams of carbs respectively.

Value
We expected these to cost more than they do. They’re competitively priced with other options on our list. We believe that these bars from Epic Provisions are worth the price tag for people who find themselves craving meat while following a keto diet.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Flavors

Sweet tooth? Savory lover? There are options for you.

Flavor may be one of the biggest deciding factors for you when it comes time for choosing which keto bar you would like to purchase. Some of the options on our list are available in more than one flavor. Of course, the product you choose will depend entirely on your taste buds and which flavor sounds the best to you. All we can do in our guide is to provide you with the available flavor options to help aid with your decision-making process. If you have a sweet tooth, you will find plenty of options for you in our top ten list. If you prefer something saltier or savory, there will be keto bar options that will appeal to you as well.

Materials

Ensuring your bar contains keto-friendly ingredients is of utmost importance.

Ingredient choices are of utmost importance, especially in a bar that is supposed to be keto-friendly. We wanted to ensure that all of the options on our list are indeed going to aid you on your path to ketosis so we took a look at the ingredients on all of the products we reviewed. Whether you’re trying to perform your absolute best during athletic endeavors or if you’re just trying to lose some extra weight, the ingredients in the food you’re eating is incredibly important. You simply are not going to feel your best during your workouts if you’re fueling your body with absolute garbage. Similarly, you aren’t going to be helping your weight loss journey at all if you’re spiking your blood sugar with poor food choices. As you peruse our buying guide, you’ll note that we took the first few ingredients of each of the products into consideration. You are probably already aware of this, but it bears repeating – the ingredients list of all products, keto bars or not, are listed in order of predominance. This means that the first ingredient on the list is the one that is used in the greatest amount. The first few ingredients on the packaging, then, are the most prevalent in your food. Therefore, we focused mostly on these important ingredients as we did our research to ensure that you will receive.

Size

Keep bar and box size in mind to avoid disappointment.

Online shopping for nearly anything can be a tricky and slippery slope. Nothing is worse than forgetting to check the product dimensions of an item before you place it in your car and check out. You may wind up purchasing a doll house sized chair instead of the chair you intended to purchase for your dining room table. This is the same when you’re purchasing food items online as well. Without being able to physically hold the bar in your hand, you don’t know what size to expect in the mail when you receive your package of keto bars. Therefore, we took size into consideration as we compiled our list. We wanted to be able to inform you, our readers, just how big the bar is you are going to be receiving in the mail. We didn’t only take the size of each individual bar into account, but also the number of bars you will receive. Most protein and keto bars come in boxes of 12 but this isn’t always the case so it’s good to pay attention to box size in order to avoid disappointment.

Effectiveness

Keep your eye on the carbohydrate level in your bar to avoid unfortunate side effects.

Watching for carbohydrate and net carb levels is an important feature of following a ketogenic diet. If you’re accidentally ingesting more carbs than intended, you can pull your body out of ketosis and mess your progress and experience a host of uncomfortable side effects. You may find yourself being more tired or sluggish than usual. You may get bloated and feel foggy. The best way to avoid all of these unfortunate side effects of slipping up on your keto diet is to avoid slipping up in the first place. Of course, this is easier said than done for some people but having a grasp on what kind of carbs you’re ingesting is a great way to avoid these slip ups.

Value

Diet foods often come with a high price tag. Make it worth your while.

Whether we like it or not, cost and value is an important factor when it comes time to making any money-related decisions. We don’t want to spend our hard-earned money on products that aren’t going to be worth our while. That’s why we have our website, in the first place. We do all the research so you don’t have to. Value was an important factor when we were choosing the best keto bars to put on our list because dieting is expensive as it is. It can get even more expensive if you are following a specific diet with certain foods you can and can’t eat. Some of the options on are list do require a shocking investment. In cases like this, one must weight the pros and cons of investing in something that will eventually just be excreted from our bodies anyway. Do you feel like you need a keto bar to stay on top of your diet? It will probably be worth the investment for you, then. A good way at looking at spending your money on something like a keto bar is that it takes the guesswork out of your nutrition – at least for one snack/meal of your day. To some people that makes the investment more than worthwhile.

expert tips icon
Stay Hydrated

Hydration is key whether you’re following a ketogenic diet or not. Some children who follow a keto diet as a means of treating their epilepsy will find that they quickly become dehydrated. It’s important to stay on top of your hydration in order to prevent dehydration. Contrary to popular belief, your urine should not be totally clear but instead a light yellow color.

Watch Your Electrolytes

Typically, people who are following a ketogenic diet will need more salt and electrolytes. If you notice that you’re suffering from muscle cramps more often, that’s a telltale sign you need to add more electrolytes into your diet. Feel free to salt your food. Bouillon cubes are another easy way to add more salt into your diet. There are even electrolyte drink mixes at running-specific stores and even some grocery stores that you can add to your regular water to up your electrolyte levels.

Other Factors to Consider

Versatility

Keto bars are an extremely convenient way to make sure you’re able to stick to your keto diet while you’re on the go. While it is always preferable to have your diet consist of mostly whole foods and fewer things you can find in the middle aisles of your grocery store, sometimes it’s just more convenient to have a quick and easy snack to reach for if a craving hits. That’s when things like keto bars come in handy. If you know you’ll be running errands somewhere amidst glowing McDonald’s arches and will be tempted by a Big Mac, having a keto bar in your car or your bag makes you less likely to find yourself in the drive-thru. While we wouldn’t suggest digging into a keto bar every day, having them as a versatile snack option is a great way to make sure you have your bases covered if you’re easily tempted by fast food.

Features

While not all of the options on our list are able to boast that they’re keto AND vegan-friendly, we have options that are both. There are also products that we reviewed that are non-GMO, dairy-free and are comprised of only a handful of ingredients, all of which you can pronounce. These are typically great signs that you have chosen a healthier keto bar. There are tons of protein bars on the market that are just glorified chocolate bars so, naturally, there are keto bar options that teeter dangerously close to that designation as well. We were sure to include bars that are comprised mostly of wholesome ingredients so as to aid you better in your keto diet endeavors.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I know if a ketogenic diet is for me?

a:

This comes down to your personal preference and what types of foods you like to eat. It is important to note also that the keto diet is able to help treat or reduce the severity of certain conditions like type two diabetes and heart disease. If you know that you like carbohydrates and won’t be able to give them up, you might be setting yourself up for failure. It’s always important to remember that just because your Aunt, best friend or cubicle buddy had great success with the ketogenic diet doesn’t mean that you will see the same results. Whatever diet you choose to implement into your life will not be healthy for your body (or mind) if it is not sustainable or designed in a way that will meet your specific nutritional needs.

q: What other kinds of foods would one eat on a ketogenic diet?

a:

Because the ketogenic diet is comprised mostly of fats and proteins, you can expect to eat a lot fewer carbohydrates than you may be used to. The keto diet is designed to provide around 90% of your total daily calories from fat. This differs from other low carb diets that focus mostly on increasing your protein levels. Saturated fats are a component of the keto diet These are fats that become solid when stored at room temperature. Your body will need these fats in order to help sustain your immune system. Look for foods like coconut oil, beef that has been grass-fed and whole milk. You will also be eating a lot of the “good” fats while following a keto diet. These are monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats and you can identify them by them becoming liquid when stored at room temperatures. Some examples of the “good” fats you should try to purchase are different types of oils (almond, olive), pumpkin seeds, and wild salmon. It is important to note that this is not a high protein diet. Much of the protein you will be eating when you follow a ketogenic diet will be the same foods that will provide you with the healthy fats you need. You can also expect to be eating nuts, seeds and eggs as well as certain low-carb shellfish (like shrimp or crab). Moving into the vegetable aisle, it is required that you stay away from starchy veggies. These would be things like potatoes, kidney beans, lentils and butternut squash.

q: How will I know if I am in ketosis?

a:

There are a number of different signs and symptoms to look for in determining whether or not your body is in ketosis. Some of the most common signs to watch for include bad breath (caused by high ketone levels), suppressed appetite (may be due in part to the increase in protein and vegetables that people following a keto diet eat), increase in energy (can take a while for the “keto flu” to wear off when you first start the diet but it may eventually lead to an increase in overall energy levels) and insomnia (may improve after a few weeks of following a keto diet). Of course, if you really want to be able to measure whether your body is truly in ketosis, you can check the ketone levels in your blood or urine weekly.

q: How should I store my keto bars?

a:

As with most snack bars, the best place to store them is in a pantry or other cool space away from any heat source (like your oven). You can even freeze most of these bars if you find that they’re nearing their expiry date and you would like to extend their lifespan a bit. Some folks may find that they prefer to eat their bars cold, which in that case they can be store in the refrigerator. If you live in a warmer climate and take your bars with you in your bag while you’re out running errands, you will likely find that most of the bars on our list with soften and some may even release oils with the warmer temperatures.

q: Is there a difference between a low carbohydrate diet and the ketogenic diet?

a:

Technically speaking, a keto diet is a subset of low-carb diets. Typically, you are considered to be on a restricted-carb diet if you are ingesting less than 150 grams of carbs per day. If you’re aiming to reach ketosis, however, you will be expected to eat around 50 or less grams of carbs every day. This number can change depending on the individual, though. There are several ways to check your individual net carb limit found easily with a quick Google search online.

q: How can I keep track of my macros?

a:

Keeping track of the carbohydrates you are ingesting is important when you’re on a ketogenic diet. Especially at the beginning when you’re learning the ins and outs of this diet, you will want to know how many carbs you’re eating with each meal. If you’re a bit of a perfectionist and want to know exact numbers, you will likely find yourself needing to invest in a kitchen scale. These can be purchased for very cheap online or at your local department store. Weighing your food to an exact gram will then give you insight to how many carbs you’re eating with each meal. You can log your meals into any of the number of food tracking applications for your smartphone, various websites or if you prefer the tried and true pen and paper option, you can purchase a book with nutritional information in it and keep track of your carbs in a journal. If the thought of tracking all of your food sounds exhausting, that’s because it is. Not everyone likes the idea of logging everything they eat. You will find that not every person on the keto diet is obsessively weighing every gram of food they put into their mouths. Some folks find that if they are prioritizing keto-friendly foods, they still get all of the benefits without the exhaustive work of tracking everything.