to top 10 table

Best Kayak Storage

last updated Oct 29, 2019

Kayaking is one of the most beloved spring and summer watersports there is. If you’ve decided to bite the bullet and invest in one instead of renting every time you want to hit the water, there are some vital accessories you’re going to need to look into. One of the most important accessories you’ll need to put some money into is a way to store your boat. There are a number of different styles and options on the market so it can be a bit overwhelming at first. Our helpful and thoroughly researched buying guide will help to provide you with the insight you need to choose which storage option is the best for your particular needs. Keep reading to see our top ten picks and other tips you’ll need to decide which kayak storage solution is the best.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 15 hrs of research

icon
Suspenz Big EZ
99.6/100 our score
Style
100
Adjustability
99
Weight
100
Features
100
Value
99
Suspenz Big EZ
Why is it better?

Can be used on a number of different watercrafts

Lightweight design

Easy to install

Wall-mount design helps to save space

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Suspenz Big EZ
Test Winner: Suspenz Big EZ
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
35
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
23k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
15
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
12
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Sami Kritz
By Sami Kritz:

For children and adults alike, finding a place to store your toys can be a real headache! Clear up some space in your garage or shed with one of these top-rated systems. Our newest additions include a system from Best Marine and Surf to Summit. We have also added additional photos of each product and added an expert tip.

Sorting Options
Style Adjustability Weight Features Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.6
Style
100 %
Adjustability
99 %
Weight
100 %
Features
100 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (08.12.19)
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Style
98 %
Adjustability
99 %
Weight
97 %
Features
97 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (08.12.19)
Amazon Link
$215.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Style
96 %
Adjustability
95 %
Weight
94 %
Features
94 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (08.12.19)
Amazon Link
$23.21
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Style
95 %
Adjustability
96 %
Weight
96 %
Features
94 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (08.12.19)
Amazon Link
$145.93
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Style
93 %
Adjustability
94 %
Weight
93 %
Features
92 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (08.12.19)
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Style
92 %
Adjustability
91 %
Weight
94 %
Features
92 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (08.12.19)
Amazon Link
$69.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Style
89 %
Adjustability
90 %
Weight
88 %
Features
89 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (08.12.19)
Amazon Link
$24.42
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Style
90 %
Adjustability
92 %
Weight
90 %
Features
84 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (08.12.19)
Amazon Link
$60.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Style
86 %
Adjustability
85 %
Weight
85 %
Features
86 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (08.12.19)
Amazon Link
$55.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.4
Style
89 %
Adjustability
83 %
Weight
82 %
Features
84 %
Value
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (08.12.19)
Amazon Link
$784.99

Top 10 Picks

1. Suspenz Big EZ

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.6
Suspenz Big EZ Kayak Storage
Suspenz Big EZ Kayak Storage
Suspenz Big EZ Kayak Storage
Amazon Link
Style
100
Adjustability
99
Weight
100
Features
100
Value
99
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$79.95
Pros:

Can be used on a number of different watercrafts

Lightweight design

Easy to install

Wall-mount design helps to save space

Cons:

May need to purchase heavier duty steel bolts if you wish to mount this outside

The Suspenz Big EZ took the coveted number one place in our buying guide for several reasons we will get into in our review. First of all, this incredibly versatile storage rack can be used for a kayak, canoe or even a stand-up paddleboard if you so wish. It comes with an affordable price tag and is really highly recommended by current users.

Read more

Style

The Suspenz Big EZ is designed to store your watercraft on its side at its strongest point. It has arms that are foam padded for added protection. This helps to cut back on the risk of wrecking your kayak by improperly storing it.

Adjustability

This rack can be mounted right to your garage wall or to the side of your deck if you wish to store it outside. You can purchase the compatible freestanding frame from Suspenz separately if you don’t like the idea of making holes in your walls for the rack.

Weight

The weight capacity of this storage rack is 150 pounds.

Features

The foam and nylon padding used on the arms of this rack is made from top-notch materials. The 600D nylon will not fade if it’s stored in the sun and is strong and durable so it will be resistant to damage as well.

Value

This item rings in around the middle of the line in terms of cost. When you consider the high-quality nature of this storage rack and how highly praised it is, you will see that the small investment required to purchase it is more than worth it.

2. Malone Auto Racks

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Malone Auto Racks Kayak Storage
Malone Auto Racks Kayak Storage
Amazon Link
Style
98
Adjustability
99
Weight
97
Features
97
Value
96
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$215.95
Pros:

Easy to put together

Rock-solid construction

Sturdy

Cons:

Foam pads pop off occasionally

Next, up on our list, we have this snazzy option from Malone Auto Racks. Don’t let the company name fool you, they definitely manufacture more than just auto racks. This particular storage system is designed to hold three kayaks. Let’s see just what else it has to offer you, though.

Read more

Style

As mentioned above, this rack is meant to hold up to three kayaks. It is a freestanding style, so if you have space in your garage or your backyard and a couple of extra kayaks kicking around, this might be the right pick for you.

Adjustability

You can choose where to install the ‘arms’ of this rack to ensure you’re getting the right fit for your kayaks.

Weight

The weight capacity for this storage rack is 250 pounds.

Features

This rack has been powder coated which will help it to maintain its look whether you choose to keep it indoors or outdoors.

Value

This is one of the pricier options that you’re going to find in our buying guide. The good news is that because it is meant to hold three kayaks and not just one, you’re going to be able to store all of your boats with it making the price tag much more reasonable.

3. RAD Sportz Lift

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
RAD Sportz Kayak Lift Kayak Storage
RAD Sportz Kayak Lift Kayak Storage
RAD Sportz Kayak Lift Kayak Storage
Amazon Link
Style
96
Adjustability
95
Weight
94
Features
94
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.21
Pros:

Includes an unconditional lifetime warranty

Simple to install and operate

Hardware included is high-quality

Can be used on more than just kayaks

Cons:

May not work as desired on shorter ceilings

Taking the third place on our buying guide is this option from RAD Sportz. It looks a little (okay, a lot) different than the other options on our list so far but it stole the third-place spot for very good reasons. With over 825 five-star reviews, you can rest assured that you’re buying a high-quality storage solution for your watercraft.

Read more

Style

As you may have noticed already by looking at the photo of this storage system, it looks a lot different than the other two we’ve reviewed so far. This is because this product from RAD Sportz is actually a hoist lift. This simply means that your kayak (or canoe) will be stored near the roof of your garage.

Adjustability

This product is adjustable in that it can host a number of different items up and out of the way, freeing up your precious garage floor space. Whether it's your kayak, a canoe, a ladder or your bicycle, this hoist can tackle it all.

Weight

The weight capacity of this hoist is 125 pounds.

Features

The hooks on the hoist feature a rubber coating on them so they will not scratch the surface of your kayak. It has a locking mechanism that will prevent the hoist from accidentally releasing your equipment on top of unsuspecting vehicles or humans.

Value

Get ready for a surprise. This incredibly high-quality, space-saving hoist is one of the cheapest options in our buying guide. We loved that it allows consumers to store their equipment up and off of the ground, freeing up precious space.

4. RAD Sportz Deluxe Freestanding

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
RAD Sportz Deluxe Freestanding Kayak Storage
RAD Sportz Deluxe Freestanding Kayak Storage
RAD Sportz Deluxe Freestanding Kayak Storage
Amazon Link
Style
95
Adjustability
96
Weight
96
Features
94
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$145.93
Pros:

Dual tripod base makes this rack extremely sturdy, even in inclement weather

Includes one-year warranty

Padded sleeves protect your kayak from scratches

Sleeves are made from a UV-resistant material for added product longevity

Cons:

Some reports of the instructions being hard to follow, unclear or missing altogether

No, you’re not having déjà vu, we are reviewing another product from RAD Sportz. What can we say? This company just knows what they’re doing! This storage option looks drastically different from the previous one we have from this brand. Let’s see what it is that sets it apart.

Read more

Style

This storage system has a freestanding style. This works great for people who have space in their garage to store a unit like this on their floor or it works well for outdoor storage solutions as well.

Adjustability

You can choose where on the rack you would like to install the padded arms, making this rack adjustable to your specific needs.

Weight

The weight capacity for this product is a whopping 175 pounds, making it one of the strongest options on our list.

Features

Even though this rack is extremely sturdy as is, RAD Sportz does include hold down anchors in the package so you can secure this storage system to the floor, dock or deck.

Value

This is one of the pricier options you’ll see in our buying guide. Though, you must take into account the fact that this rack is designed to hold two kayaks so the value is definitely there.

5. Seattle Sports Wall Cradle Hooks

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Seattle Sports Wall Cradle Hooks Kayak Storage
Seattle Sports Wall Cradle Hooks Kayak Storage
Amazon Link
Style
93
Adjustability
94
Weight
93
Features
92
Value
94
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$35.75
Pros:

Can be used outdoors with no problems

Durable construction

Easy installation process

Can hold a lot of weight

Cons:

Included mounting hardware is not the most trustworthy

If you’re in the market for a basic storage solution for your kayak or paddleboard, look no further than this option here from Seattle Sports. No frills, heavy-duty and durable are all words that can be used to describe this storage solution. Let’s look a little closer, though, and see what else this product has to offer.

Read more

Style

This is the most basic, no-frills storage solution you’re going to see in our buying guide. It’s great for people who just want something easy to install that’ll keep their kayaks off of the ground.

Adjustability

There isn’t much in terms of adjustability with this storage solution.

Weight

Don’t let the simple look of this storage solution fool you. Surprisingly enough, these hooks are designed to hold up to 200 pounds. It shocked us, too!

Features

If you want the fastest storage solution on the market, you’re going to love this product from Seattle Sports. It is the easiest option on our list to install and can be done so in a jiffy.

Value

This product is one of the most budget-friendly options on our list. We loved its simplicity, how strong and durable it is and how quick the installation process is.

6. StoreYourBoard

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
StoreYourBoard Kayak Storage
StoreYourBoard Kayak Storage
StoreYourBoard Kayak Storage
Amazon Link
Style
92
Adjustability
91
Weight
94
Features
92
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.99
Pros:

Easy to install

Frees up valuable floor space

Works great for garages with lower ceilings

Durable construction

Cons:

Included hardware needs improvement

As you may be able to guess from the brand name of the company, this manufacturer specializes in ways to store your adventure gear. Whether you need bike, stand-up paddleboard, broom or skateboard storage, they have your back! Being that this company is so well-versed in the world of storage equipment, you can expect this particular product to be top of the line.

Read more

Style

This is a style we haven’t yet seen in our buying guide. StoreYourBoard has created a ceiling storage solution designed to be able to store two kayaks (or stand-up paddleboards).

Adjustability

Consumers are able to adjust the length of the bars to accommodate the size of whatever it is they are storing.

Weight

This ceiling rack is able to support up to 150 pounds.

Features

This product comes with four padded support arms to protect your gear from scratches or damage.

Value

This storage solution is very simplistic in design so we were a bit surprised to see the higher price tag attached to this product. Despite it requiring a slightly higher investment than other similar options on the market, we still think the StoreYourBoard adjustable mount is a worthwhile consideration.

7. Extreme Max Hoist

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Extreme Max Hoist Kayak Storage
Extreme Max Hoist Kayak Storage
Extreme Max Hoist Kayak Storage
Amazon Link
Style
89
Adjustability
90
Weight
88
Features
89
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.42
Pros:

Safe to use

Can be operated by one person

Includes all necessary hardware

Can be used for more than just kayaks

Cons:

May not work for all ceiling heights

Up next, we have this hoist option from Extreme Max. This product is designed for a number of different uses other than kayaks. Canoes, bicycles, ladders or shop equipment, you name it, this item can hoist it.

Read more

Style

This is another hoist style storage system. It is a one-person operation that makes grabbing your gear for an impromptu kayaking trip an absolute breeze.

Adjustability

The straps of this hoist are adjustable to suit the size of the item you will be storing.

Weight

The weight capacity of this unit is 120 pounds.

Features

The pulley system of this hoist features a locking mechanism that will provide safety and protection to the users of the system. It is a simple operation that will lower (or elevate) each strap at the same time to make getting your kayak up or down a cinch.

Value

This system from Extreme Max is one of the most affordable options you’re going to see in our buying guide. We love that it is simple to operate and all of its added safety features were a big bonus.

8. Best Marine

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Best Marine Kayak Storage
Best Marine Kayak Storage
Amazon Link
Style
90
Adjustability
92
Weight
90
Features
84
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$60.00
Pros:

Very durable

Easy to set-up

Can be mounted just about anywhere

Risk-free purchase

Padded foam arms

Cons:

Only holds one item

Longer straps would be helpful

Having the name “Best” in the brand name is no happy accident. Many reviewers believe that this is actually one of the best solutions to storing a watercraft. This system can safely hold one item up to 100-pounds. It can be mounted just about anywhere, inside or outside.

Read more

Style

This option from Best Marine is a great choice for anyone who is short on space. The “arms” of this system are easily screwed into the wall and securely hold your watercraft on its side. Each system only holds one accessory. If you have multiple excursion devices, you may want to invest in more than one order. Each piece is 22-inches tall and sticks out 19.5-inches from the wall.

Adjustability

Thanks to the durable materials and life-extending features, you can choose to hang the Best Marine wall hooks indoors or outdoors. They are made from powder-coated steel which is rust-resistant. You can use this system indoors, in the garage, shed, or even set it up on the dock. There strap used to hold the watercraft in place is adjustable, allowing you to easily secure it. Another great feature is that you can choose how far apart to mount the arms. If you have a very small boat, this system will still work for you.

Weight

The weight capacity of this product is 100-pounds. Considering that it is built to hold only one item, you are not very limited in terms of weight. As for the weight of the product itself, each arm weighs three pounds each.

Features

To prevent your boat from getting dinged, the arms feature nylon coated foam. This same system also works well for stand up paddleboards and surfboards. Reviewers love how easy this system is to set up and use. However, there have been a few mentions that it would be easier to use with larger watercraft if the straps were longer.

Value

For such a secure and well-loved product, this is actually quite affordable. However, if you are looking for a product to hold multiple boats, this would not be ideal, unless you order multiple sets. Besides all of the great features and durability, Best Marina also offers a risk-free purchase. You can return or replace the product without hassle.

9. Surf to Summit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Surf to Summit Kayak Storage
Surf to Summit Kayak Storage
Surf to Summit Kayak Storage
Amazon Link
Style
86
Adjustability
85
Weight
85
Features
86
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$55.00
Pros:

Affordable

Holds two boats and two paddles

Space-saving

Cons:

Can be difficult to mount boats alone

Some reviewers didn't receive all of the pieces they should have

This simple method from Surf to Summit is straight-forward and easy to use. It uses webbing straps that are secured to the wall with screws. It can hold two boats or boards and two paddles.

Read more

Style

Perhaps one of our least space using options is this. This kit from Surf to Summit holds your boats almost horizontally on the wall. The system is made from webbing straps which are secured to the wall using the included mounting screws, or molly screws for concrete walls. Your boats or boards are held in place by straps and side-squeeze buckles. This style has the ability to hold two watercrafts.

Adjustability

The webbing straps can be adjusted to fit a wide range of different items that you would want to hang. Also, when you are first mounting this system to your wall, you can decide how far apart to hang the straps. A minimum of 48-inches is recommended, but it is best to measure your boats and decide what will work best for you.

Weight

Oddly enough, the maximum capacity weight is not listed. However, reviewers have mentioned that they have two 100-pounds boats hanging from the Surf to Summit system without issue.

Features

Another great feature of this system is that there are specific loops to hold two paddles. Mounting the webbing system to the wall is fairly simple. The best advice that reviewers have given us is to make sure you measure the distance that will be best for you. Dismounting doesn’t seem to be an issue, but getting the boats back into the straps takes a team effort unless it is a small and lightweight boat.

Value

This is a great value. The product is priced affordably and holds two boats and two paddles securely. If you often venture out to the water alone, you may need to enlist help when re-mounting your watercraft, however, we don’t necessarily see that as a deal-breaker.

10. Log Kayak Rack

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.4
Log Kayak Rack Kayak Storage
Log Kayak Rack Kayak Storage
Log Kayak Rack Kayak Storage
Amazon Link
Style
89
Adjustability
83
Weight
82
Features
84
Value
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$784.99
Pros:

Handmade with love

Beautiful aesthetic

Assembly is easy

Very strong

Cons:

Expensive

If you have a little (or, well, a lot) of extra cash to spend, this storage solution from Log Kayak Rack is going to catch your eye right away. Not only is this beautiful rack able to store four kayaks with ease, but it will also double as an art installation for your home.

Read more

Style

This is a freestanding kayak storage solution. It is not small by any means, so you will need to ensure you have the space necessary to display this.

Adjustability

This is not an adjustable kayak rack by any stretch of the imagination. What you see is what you get.

Weight

Because this kayak rack is made with American Northern White Cedar, you can expect it to be a bit more durable than the other options on our list. It can hold four kayaks, each weighing up to 100 pounds, making the overall weight capacity of this rack a whopping 400 pounds.

Features

This rack is available in three different color options – natural, canyon brown or unfinished. If you choose the ‘unfinished’ style, you may wish to finish it yourself when you receive it, making it feel like more of a custom rack.

Value

This is an expensive storage solution; we’re not going to lie to you. But, dangit, it is beautiful. Is it worth the humongous price tag? This is a well-constructed, handmade product that doubles as an art piece. We think it’s worth the price tag if you have the extra funds to invest in it.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

There are plenty of style options sure to suit your specific needs.

There are a few different storage system styles available on the market and, in order to provide you with an accurate idea of what to expect as you embark on your hunt to find the best option for you, we felt it was important to include the most popular styles in our buying guide. Let’s look a little more in-depth at the types you’ll see on our list.

Freestanding Racks: This style of kayak storage has legs that will stand on their own once assembled. These styles will typically hold more than one kayak, making them a perfect choice for families who own more than one boat. They are typically quite easy to put together and, once unloaded, easy to move around if you choose to place it somewhere else around your home.

Wall Mounted: This style works well for people who need to free up some of the space on the floor of their garage, though it can also be mounted outside on the side of your deck or home if you prefer to not have your garage wall space compromised. They typically look like hooks with arm cradles that are often padded to help protect your kayak.

Hoist/Ceiling Mount - If you like the idea of freeing up your floor space but aren’t in love with the horizontal room that a wall-mounted storage system takes up, you may want to consider a hoist option. These usually use a pulley system to keep your boat up by the roof of your garage or shed keeping it out of sight and off the floor and wall. They are easy to operate and make getting your device down off the ceiling a cinch. The ceiling mount option is similar to a hoist style but only in that, your boat will be kept on the ceiling. These do not have pulleys and may require more strength to get your boat in and out of them.

Adjustability

Adjustable storage systems mean you can get the right fit every time.

Being able to adjust your storage system to your specific needs is important. Not every kayak is made to be the same size, shape and weight, so having some leeway in terms of adjustability with your storage solution is going to help make sure you get the right fit for your particular boat. Each style of storage is going to offer different ways to adjust it to fit your needs. Some have adjustable ropes and pulleys that can be lengthened or shortened to fit around your boat. Some have hooks that can be moved up or down in order to make room for your boat.

Weight

Will the rack be able to support the weight of your kayak?

When we’re referring to the ‘weight’ of the storage solution, we’re not necessarily talking about how much the product itself weighs. We’re referring to how much weight the storage solution is capable of holding. This is important to know because if you purchase a rack that is not rated to hold the weight of your kayak, you’re going to wind up wasting time and money on a solution that just isn’t going to work for you.

Features

Different storage solutions provide different special features that set them apart.

Every storage solution in our buying guide is different from the next one. We wanted to be able to provide our readers with a variety of styles and options so that they can get a feel for what is out there in the world of storage systems for kayaks. Some have padded support arms to protect your boat. Some feature UV-resistant materials for storing outside. Some of the hoist systems have locking mechanisms in place to prevent your boat from falling on top of your vehicle in your garage. Some are incredibly basic in design, not providing much in terms of features aside from their simplicity. Regardless of which item you choose, if it has a spot on our top ten list, it is there for a reason. These are the best kayak storage systems you can buy on the market today and we stand behind our reasons for including them on our list.

Value

You will receive a lot of value for your investment.

Sometimes it feels necessary to ensure you’re getting the best bang for your buck. When it comes to storage systems, you’ve already likely spent a fair bit of money on your kayak in the first place. You don’t want to buy a storage unit for your boat that costs more than the boat itself. The great news is, that most of the options on our list are priced very fairly and many of the options that are higher priced offer things like guarantees and warranties so you can feel protected in your investment.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Weight
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Benefits of Storing Your Kayak Properly

Properly storing your kayak is crucial to expanding its lifespan. If you choose to forgo a storage system, you may be looking at a warped hull or even a critter-ridden cockpit or storage compartments which can be quite the pain to deal with.

“Don’ts” of Kayak Storage

Do not use the carrying straps of your kayak to store it. This can warp the shape of your boat. Don’t store it on a flat ground unless you want to deal with the possibility of critters getting inside and making themselves a home.

Ease of Use

Taking time to determine how easy each system is to use is important. There are some that require at least two people to safely lower the boat. If you typically kayak alone or live alone, these types of systems may not be ideal for you. The weight of a kayak can be anywhere between thirty and two-hundred pounds. Trying to lower this from an overhead system alone could end tragically, for you and the kayak.

Other Factors to Consider

Stability

Wobble is not a friend of the storage rack. Regardless of which style of storage you choose to invest in, you want it to be stable. If it is not, the chance of the storage failing is much higher. You don’t want to ever feel like your kayak is balancing precariously. Improperly storing your boat in such a way can result in a destroyed boat and storage and can result in injuries to yourself or your nearby loved ones.

Safety Hazards

This may not be as big of a concern for freestanding storage solutions, but for options where your boat will be stored high or overhead, it becomes a bigger issue. We were sure to include products in our buying guide that have been thoroughly tested and reviewed to ensure we were offering our readers the best and safest options on the market. It would be a shame to spend your hard-earned money on a product that will drop your expensive kayak from the ceiling the first night it’s installed. If you are worried about the overall safety of ceiling hoists and you have the room for a freestanding storage unit, we suggest going that route. That said, if you are tight on space, the ceiling is one of the most underutilized spaces in our homes and garages. The ceiling hoists on our list have all been rigorously tested for safety so you can rest assured that the item you’re getting isn’t going to spontaneously drop your kayak, but we do understand if that is a concern of yours.

Weather Resistance

If you plan on storing your boat outdoors, you need to look at the weather resistance capabilities of the storage solution you plan on purchasing. You will want something that is going to be stable to be able to withstand strong winds. UV-resistant fabrics or materials are a bonus so that your storage solution won’t prematurely wear out from constant exposure to the sun. You may also wish to consider where you’re planning on installing or standing your new rack outdoors. Repeat exposure to extreme temperatures (hot or cold) may cause damage to your rack, not to mention your kayaks.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Where should I store my kayak?

a:

We recommend storing your kayak indoors if you have space for it. Of course, we understand that not everybody has access to a garage so if you must store your boat outdoors, that is fine but you may need to do some extra work to prevent your kayak from being destroyed by the weather. If you have an outdoor space where you can tuck your kayak away from the elements, like under your roof eaves or under a tarp, that would be most ideal for outdoor storage purposes.

It is really important that you store your kayak away from where the elements can get to it. Sunlight can destroy the hull material of nearly any type of kayak. If it is consistently exposed to moisture from rainfall and snow, you can expect the hull of your kayak to gradually degrade as time goes by. Extreme heat and cold temperatures can do a number on the material of the hull as well. Do not store it in direct sunlight during the summer months. When your kayak is outdoors in the winter, repeatedly freezing and thawing can cause damage to it as well. This is especially true if your boat is made of fiberglass.

q: Is there anything I need to do to my kayak prior to storing it?

a:

Yes. Just as you would need to winterize your yard come the colder months of the year, you need to do the same to your kayak. Prior to storing your boat for the season, you should do a thorough once (or twice) over to make sure everything is in good shape. Check your deck rigging. See if any bungees are losing their stretchiness. Check the rudder. Clean the cockpit. Take out the seat and thoroughly clean it to make sure there is no sand or other debris that has accumulated over repeated use. You may wish to spray the kayak down and clean it with a 303 Protectant to help ensure the plastic will not dull. Tighten the hardware. Cover the cockpit so no pesky critters will find their way inside in the offseason.

q: How can I ensure longevity on my huge investment in the Log Kayak Rack?

a:

We get it. The Log Kayak Rack was by far the most expensive option on our list and you want to be able to protect your investment. The manufacturer recommends that consumers do not place the feet of this rack directly on the ground. Instead, use a landscaping block or something similar in size and build to place the feet of the rack onto. If you choose the ‘Unfinished’ version of this kayak rack, you may choose to finish it yourself. We recommend ensuring you’re following the directions on the can of finish to avoid ruining your expensive investment. The best type of finish for this product is a breathable one. Try to let the wood of your rack age a while before finishing it in order to help the stain soak in the way it is meant to.

q: Can’t I just place my kayak on the ground and store it that way?

a:

You could, but you might be comprising the integrity of your boat by storing it that way. Storing it flat may damage the structure of your boat and can even warp or disfigure the shape of it. Not to mention, storing it directly on the ground makes it very easy for the neighborhood critters and crawlers (think raccoons, spiders, etc) to get into your boat and make themselves a lovely new home.

q: How can I keep my kayak clean?

a:

Before stowing your boat for the winter months, we recommend rinsing it off with fresh water in order to get rid of any debris or salt that may have accumulated over the last few months of use. Don’t forget the rudder, cables and foot braces as well. You may want to get at it with a mild soap and water a few times a year to give it a good washing. We don’t recommend using any strong chemicals as they may damage your boat. Allow it to air dry before stowing it.

Sources

  1. rei.com, Kayak Storage,
  2. Under Currents, It’s time to WINTERIZE your kayak!,
  3. Water Outfitters, Kayak Storage Guide,