to top 10 table

Best Kayak Seats

last updated Nov 01, 2019

With summer right around the corner, you might start having dreams of getting out on the water in your kayak again. If you find your lovely dreams turn into a nightmare because of how uncomfortable you are floating along the water, have no fear because GearWeAre is here to help you ensure you have the most comfortable time you’ve ever had on a kayak this summer.

It’s not a secret that most kayaks are incredibly hard and the seats can be insanely uncomfortable. That’s why there’s a whole world of kayak seats out there that are designed specifically to provide kayakers with a much more comfortable experience on the water. You will find below the 10 best kayak seats on the market today and a comprehensive guide on what to look for as you begin your search for a much cozier (and pain-free) summer.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 3 hrs of research

icon
Cascade Mountain
98.6/100 our score
Versatility
99
Durability
98
Portability
99
Comfort
98
Materials
99
Cascade Mountain
Why is it better?

Has many different applications

Comfortable and sturdy construction

Will stand up by itself

Folds up nicely

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Cascade Mountain
Test Winner: Cascade Mountain
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
22
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
3
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
13
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Sami Kritz
By Sami Kritz:

An uncomfortable plastic seat can really take all of the fun out of kayaking. Covering up the factory seat with one of these great options will make your days on the water much more enjoyable. Our newest additions are the Pactrade Marine, Kerco Angler-X, and Leader Deluxe. To learn more about the benefits of these products and their versatility, check out the FAQ section!

Sorting Options
Versatility Durability Portability Comfort Materials By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Versatility
99 %
Durability
98 %
Portability
99 %
Comfort
98 %
Materials
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.11.19)
Amazon Link
$47.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Versatility
98 %
Durability
98 %
Portability
97 %
Comfort
96 %
Materials
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.11.19)
Amazon Link
$42.42
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Versatility
93 %
Durability
97 %
Portability
96 %
Comfort
96 %
Materials
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.11.19)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Versatility
94 %
Durability
95 %
Portability
94 %
Comfort
95 %
Materials
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.11.19)
Amazon Link
$85.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Versatility
93 %
Durability
93 %
Portability
93 %
Comfort
92 %
Materials
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.11.19)
Cabelas
$44.99
See Deal
Amazon Link
$49.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Versatility
92 %
Durability
90 %
Portability
92 %
Comfort
93 %
Materials
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.11.19)
Amazon Link
$58.19
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Versatility
90 %
Durability
89 %
Portability
89 %
Comfort
90 %
Materials
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.11.19)
Amazon Link
$59.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Versatility
84 %
Durability
89 %
Portability
87 %
Comfort
89 %
Materials
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.11.19)
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.4
Versatility
85 %
Durability
86 %
Portability
85 %
Comfort
82 %
Materials
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.11.19)
Amazon Link
$123.50
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
Versatility
82 %
Durability
83 %
Portability
84 %
Comfort
86 %
Materials
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.11.19)
Amazon Link
$79.00

Top 10 Picks

1. Cascade Mountain

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Cascade Mountain Kayak Seat
Cascade Mountain Kayak Seat
Cascade Mountain Kayak Seat
Amazon Link
Versatility
99
Durability
98
Portability
99
Comfort
98
Materials
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$47.99
Pros:

Has many different applications

Comfortable and sturdy construction

Will stand up by itself

Folds up nicely

Cons:

Some people thought it was too heavy

This is going to look a lot different than other options you’re going to see in our buying guide today. This is because this is actually designed for use in stadiums as a way of protecting your bottom from the uncomfortable seating at sporting events. Because this is a very versatile seat, however, it can be used in your kayak to bring you comfort during your kayaking tours. It should be noted that there are two versions of this product – one with a steel frame and an ultralight style that comes with a shoulder strap.

Read more

Versatility

If there is one thing that this product has going for it, it is its versatility. It is actually made for use in stadiums so you don’t need to sit on uncomfortable bleachers for hours on end. Don’t be fooled, even though ‘stadium’ is right in the product name. You can use this in your kayak or on the ground or even on a stand-up paddleboard.

Durability

Though this product is a bit heavier than other options you might see on our list, you should take this weightiness as a testament to the seat’s overall strength. This is a very durable and sturdy product. Many current users love that it’s not floppy like some other options and that it can stand on its own.

Portability

Some users found the steel to be a little on the heavier side, but it does fold down which makes it incredibly portable and worth the investment if you’re someone who spends a lot of time outdoors. The ultralight version does have a shoulder strap, however, so it may be worth considering that style if you prefer an even easier way to tote your chair.

Comfort

This product has an extra-large seat when comparing it to some of the other options on our list. It measures 20-inches wide, providing people with bigger bottoms some much-needed comfort.

Materials

The frame is made from high-quality steel which adds to its overall lifespan. The seat portion is made from a Cordova canvas for additional durability.

2. Ocean Kayak Comfort

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Ocean Kayak Comfort Kayak Seat
Amazon Link
Versatility
98
Durability
98
Portability
97
Comfort
96
Materials
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$42.42
Pros:

Easy to use

Dries quickly if it gets wet

Affordable price tag

Durable construction

Cons:

Not as padded on the bottom as some other options

Taking the number two spot on our list is this option from Ocean Kayak. This product has more of a traditional style than the first product on our list. It has a reinforced stay which is designed to provide users with even more back support and the straps on the sides of the seat are adjustable so you can find just the right fit for your water adventures.

Read more

Versatility

This seat has a number of different straps on the sides that will allow users to adjust and fine-tune the seat to just the right specifications. This adjustability not only provides versatility in the product but also allows users to find the custom fit that works for them.

Durability

This item is going to last you a long time. This is due in part to its UV-resistant construction that will ensure the sun isn’t going to fade the product or take a toll on its longevity.

Portability

This is a very lightweight option that is super simple to tote around with you wherever you need to take it.

Comfort

How much do you appreciate ‘back support’? Well, with this item from Ocean Kayak you sure will be able to. Thanks to its tall back, this item offers all users a generous amount of back support, making it perfect for anyone who is struggling with “yak back.” It features extra padding for even more cushioning than what you might expect.

Materials

Ocean Kayak designed this item to provide users a soft and padded ride. It’s made of a durable nylon material that has a built-in ventilation system in place to help add breathability.

3. Pactrade Marine

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Pactrade Marine Kayak Seat
Pactrade Marine Kayak Seat
Pactrade Marine Kayak Seat
Amazon Link
Versatility
93
Durability
97
Portability
96
Comfort
96
Materials
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

Lightweight

Easy to set up

Detachable day bag

Stays in place

Cons:

The bottom could use more cushioning

Not as versatile as other options

Our next addition is made from durable materials, is easy to install, and provides the user with great comfort. While it isn't a product that you would bring to the football game, it serves its purpose very well in almost all canoes and kayaks.

Read more

Versatility

The back of this item is not stiff enough to stand up on its own, making this a less than ideal product for paddleboarding or bleachers. However, it’s a great option for just about any sized kayak and canoes. There is also a detachable bag that hangs on the back of the chair. This bag measures 10” by 13” and is 4.5” wide. It’s a great place to store accessories and snacks.

Durability

Reviewers have been impressed by the overall durability of this item. It features snap hooks that make installing it simple. For some styles of watercraft, reviewers have made holes in the seat bottom to permanently attach it. The Pactrade Marine features snap hooks that make installing it a breeze.

Portability

While there is no specific included strap for carrying this product, it is still easy to transport. It weighs less than three pounds. Many reviewers leave it in their watercraft, but you could switch it between kayak and canoe if desired.

Comfort

As with most items, reviewers wish for slightly more padding under the butt, but for many, this is sufficient. The material is non-slip and the item tends to stay in place. The front and back have adjustable straps to get the right fit.

Materials

The exterior of this item is made of neoprene and 600D polyester. Inside the cushion, you’ll find EVA foam and polyethylene.

4. Kerco Angler-X

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Kerco Angler-X Kayak Seat
Kerco Angler-X Kayak Seat
Kerco Angler-X Kayak Seat
Amazon Link
Versatility
94
Durability
95
Portability
94
Comfort
95
Materials
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$85.00
Pros:

Great padding

Non-slip

High back

Anti-corroding clips

Cons:

Zipper on included pouch has a reputation for breaking

Questionable customer service

Even though this option is marketed towards anglers, there is no reason that someone else can't enjoy it for a long day out lounging on the water. The Kerco Angler-X is slightly more padded than similar styles on the market and features small grippy circles to keep you from sliding around. The high back and dura foam interior provide great comfort.

Read more

Versatility

This item is best used on the water. It is designed specifically for kayaks and canoes. It is not our most versatile option, but it excels in comfort. This item also comes with a removable pouch that sits on the back of the seat. This pouch is a great place to keep cellphones, sunscreen, snacks, or any other accessories that you need out on the water.

Durability

The strong straps, most likely made from nylon, are fully adjustable and provide a secure fit. The metal clips function well will not corrode. There have been no complaints about the durability of the seat, however, there have been some issues with the pouch. Multiple users have had the zipper of the pouch break. Despite Kerco’s claim of great customer service, it seems they are difficult to get ahold of.

Portability

This item is lightweight, weighing just about three pounds. There is no specific shoulder strap but it is not difficult to transport.

Comfort

This is where this product really shines. It offers great back and hip support and features slightly more padding than other models. The high back allows you to fully relax. The seat also has small grippy circles that make it non-slip.

Materials

The materials used to make this item are Kerco molded dura foam and nylon. The anti-corrosion clips are made from metal.

5. Leader Deluxe

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Leader Deluxe Kayak Seat
Leader Deluxe Kayak Seat
Leader Deluxe Kayak Seat
Amazon Link
Versatility
93
Durability
93
Portability
93
Comfort
92
Materials
93
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$49.99
Cabelas
$44.99
See Deal
Pros:

The high back provides great support

Marine-grade brass clips

Multiple style options available

Lightweight

Cons:

Does not have anything to keep from slipping out of the chair

The seat is not wide enough for some

If you are looking for a comfortable addition that gives the option to permanently attach it to your boat or to switch it between watercrafts, this is a great choice. The webbing and brass clips are made out of high quality and durable materials. There have been slight complaints campaigning for a wider seat, but not enough for us to keep this treasure from you.

Read more

Versatility

There are two front straps and two back straps that allow you to adjust this item to fit just about any kayak. You will be able to enjoy extra storage space with the back pouch. The back pouch attaches with plastic squeeze clips. As for color choices, there are a couple of combinations of black and gray, or all black, or even an option with built-in fishing rods.

Durability

The adjustable webbing straps are very strong and the marine-grade brass clips are durable and can handle themselves out on the water. There have been next to none complaints about the durability of this item.

Portability

Seeing as how this product is not as versatile as some of our other options, it does not feature a carrying strap. It weighs only about two pounds. If you wish you change it from boat to boat, it is very easy to install.

Comfort

The high back provides great back support. However, this makes the difficult when walking along your boat, if you need to straddle the seat. There have been some complaints about the cushion of the product not being soft or wide enough. The width of the bottom is fifteen inches wide.

Materials

This product from Leader is made from molded foam. The durable nylon webbing straps and marine-grade brass clips are high-quality. There is no specific non-slip agent, which may be a deal-breaker for some.

6. SKWOOSH Classic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
SKWOOSH Classic Kayak Seat
SKWOOSH Classic Kayak Seat
SKWOOSH Classic Kayak Seat
Amazon Link
Versatility
92
Durability
90
Portability
92
Comfort
93
Materials
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$58.19
Pros:

Comfortable

Great for bony butts

Dries quickly

Won’t slip around when you’re on it

Portable

Cons:

Not as thick as it could be

This option from SKWOOSH looks similar in style to other products we reviewed, but with some stark differences. Let’s take a peek at just what sets this product apart from others on our list.

Read more

Versatility

This product can be used in a number of different ways. Though it is designed for use in kayaks, you can use it anywhere you need a little extra support for your bottom – motorcycle, vehicle, home or even your office. Get creative!

Durability

The high-quality construction of the SKWOOSH Classic makes it a great choice for someone looking to get a lot of return on their investment. Though this product does require more of an investment than some of the other options on our list, you will fall in love with the fact that it is a durable product and will provide you with a lot of use for your money.

Portability

Have a small space you were hoping your new cushion will fit into? This product from SKWOOSH is actually foldable and compact so this will be the perfect companion for you.

Comfort

This item is designed to help reduce loading on your skeletal structure during use. It also will help with circulation and in relieving any pressure on your bottom. This will lead to a very comfortable ride for you.

Materials

SKWOOSH designed this product out of a special gel material that has no memory when any pressure is applied to it. This means that after you’ve been sitting on it for a while, it will go back to its regular shape. The fabric is non-skid as well which means you won’t be sliding around in your kayak or have to deal with an annoying seat that just won’t stay put.

7. Sea Eagle Deluxe Inflatable

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Sea Eagle Deluxe Inflatable Kayak Seat
Sea Eagle Deluxe Inflatable Kayak Seat
Sea Eagle Deluxe Inflatable Kayak Seat
Amazon Link
Versatility
90
Durability
89
Portability
89
Comfort
90
Materials
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.00
Pros:

Sturdy

Supportive

Easy to inflate

Portable

Cons:

Some complaints about the seat losing air

This product looks a lot different than any of the other options you’re going to see on our list. This product works great in Sea Eagle brand kayaks, but it can be used for other brand name kayaks as well.

Read more

Versatility

Though this item is designed specifically for use in kayaks, we suppose you could use it in other situations as well. If you have certain inflatable stand-up paddleboards, you can use the Sea Eagle Deluxe on it. We always recommend checking with the manufacturer and checking the measurements to ensure the product will work as you’re intending it to.

Durability

There were some questions as to the overall durability of this product. A few current users mentioned that the seat loses air gradually throughout the day.

Portability

This is an inflatable option. It folds down to be 14-inches by 9-inches by 4-inches, making it quite easy to stick into your bag and take with you to the water.

Comfort

If you’ve ever sat in an inflatable chair before, you’ll know what to expect with this product in terms of comfort. There isn’t much by way of strategic padding but it is still comfortable enough.

Materials

We were unable to find the exact materials used in the construction of this item. But if we had to guess, given that it is inflatable, we would say it’s made from vinyl.

8. Ascend Entry

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Versatility
84
Durability
89
Portability
87
Comfort
89
Materials
85
best offer for today
Pros:

Extremely comfortable for long paddles

Breathable construction

Non-slip bottom

Durable

Cons:

Can only be used in sit-on-top kayaks

This product from Ascend is designed for use in sit-on-top kayaks. It’s incredibly adjustable in design and we think anyone who owns a sit-on-top kayak is going to love this comfortable addition to their gear.

Read more

Versatility

As we mentioned above, this seat option is explicitly made for sit-on-top kayaks. This takes away from the overall versatility of the product, but we do think it is still a worthwhile seat to consider.

Durability

Everything about this product screams “HIGH QUALITY.” We love the heavy-duty materials used in the construction of this item, including the fabric, straps, and snaps.

Portability

Though there is no carrying bag for this product, we still think it’s easy to take it around with you.

Comfort

This option is incredibly comfortable. There are several different ways that users can adjust the position of the seat in order to ensure they are provided with a superior and customized fit for the ultimate comfort.

Materials

This product is made from a comfortable neoprene material that is water-repellant to help keep you comfortable as you kayak. The materials used are also non-slip so your seat won’t be sliding around while you paddle. The hardware of this seat is made of UTX Duraflex, one of the world leaders in the world of buckles and accessories for sporting goods.

9. Surf To Summit GTS Sport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.4
Surf To Summit GTS Sport Kayak Seat
Surf To Summit GTS Sport Kayak Seat
Amazon Link
Versatility
85
Durability
86
Portability
85
Comfort
82
Materials
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$123.50
Pros:

Great for people with back problems

Easy to adjust

Comes with a zipper pack for the back of the seat

Great value

Cons:

Could have additional cushioning on the bottom

Here we have another option designed for sit-on-top kayaks. Surf to Summit, the manufacturer behind this great product, is known for its outdoor gear accessories for kayakers, paddlers, motorcyclists, and cyclists alike. This particular seat is a great option for several different reasons. Let’s take a closer look.

Read more

Versatility

As mentioned above, this product is designed specifically for use in sit-on-top kayaks. It’s best used by kayakers who are a bit smaller in size.

Durability

The moment you use this product from Surf to Summit, you will be able to easily recognize how durable and sturdy it is. You won’t have a problem with this option wearing out on you anytime soon.

Portability

At just 12.5 inches tall, you will not have a problem toting around this product with you at all.

Comfort

If you struggle a lot with back pain while kayaking, this particular product is going to be a great option for you. The backrest on this seat has a ton of structural support, perfect for someone who needs some extra support for their lumbar spine. The foam panels of the seat will provide comfort for your bottom and will conform to fit your particular body shape.

Materials

This item is made from a durable 600 denier material in all the areas that need some extra protection (like the back of the seat). Surf to Summit also outfitted this product with an EVA foam for additional cushioning for your back and bottom.

10. iRocker

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
iRocker Kayak Seat
iRocker Kayak Seat
iRocker Kayak Seat
Amazon Link
Versatility
82
Durability
83
Portability
84
Comfort
86
Materials
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.00
Pros:

Intuitive to install

Comfortable

Great for people who want to convert their SUP into a makeshift kayak

Compact storage

Cons:

May not work with all paddleboards

The final product on our top ten list comes from iRocker, a company well known for its outdoor adventure gear like inflatable paddleboards and related gear. This particular option is a little different than all of our other products we’ve reviewed so far. We’ll tell you why below.

Read more

Versatility

This product is actually is not specifically designed for kayaks at all, although you can attach it to your kayak. It is designed in such a way that it allows people who use stand-up paddleboards to turn their SUP into a makeshift kayak. But we loved this product so much, we had to include it on our list anyway.

Durability

There are no concerns at all about the longevity of this product. It is made of high-quality materials that will not break if used properly.

Portability

This seat will fold down flat when not in use, making it incredibly easy to carry around with you.

Comfort

This item is designed to provide users with an exceptional amount of back support. If you find yourself aching after a day of paddling, you will want to get yourself the iRocker to help alleviate some of that back pain.

Materials

This product is made with a thick neoprene material for comfort and durability. Users will find that the hardware for this seat is impressive as well.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Versatility

Seats that can be used for more than just on your kayak provide more value.

Outdoor gear is expensive. A kayak can easily run you a few hundred dollars or even a few thousand if you’re looking for something on the higher end. It only makes sense that you would want to ensure the gear you’re buying for your adventures can be used in more than just one way. For example, some of the seats on our list are actually designed to be “stadium seats” for use in the bleachers at a baseball game, for example. You might ask yourself, “why would I buy a dedicated kayak seat to use only for kayaking a few times a year when I could buy a more versatile option that will get much more use?” That is the question, hypothetical GearWeAre reader. Many of the seats on our list can be used as much more than just a boating chair. If you have the means, however, you may wish to purchase an item that is designated for kayak use only and that’s fine too. We only wanted to provide our readers with a comprehensive list of a variety of different options.

Durability

Protect your investment by ensuring your new product has a long lifespan.

Durability is a huge concern with products these days. You don’t want to spend your money on a new seat for your already expensive kayak (or SUP) if the hardware is just going to break off after a couple of uses. In order to determine the overall durability of these seats, we scoured through thousands of reviews and educated ourselves on the importance of high-quality materials. The products that have scored a spot in our top ten list are all made with the best materials on the market and have been reviewed positively by thousands of current users. We are certain that you will love any of the options that you choose provided that it has a spot in our buying guide.

Portability

Give your back a break with a lighter and more portable kayak seat.

Portability is another consideration we gave a lot of thought to as we created this buying guide. As outdoor adventurists ourselves, we know how easy it can be to overpack for day or overnight trips. Once you start packing the essentials – flashlights, waterproof clothing, food, drinks, hatchets, knives, etc – it doesn’t take long for your pack to start to weigh you down. We wanted to provide our readers with a number of different styles of options that were not only supportive, comfortable and durable, but portable as well. We know how important your space is when you’re doing any kind of outdoor activity, so toting around a humongous unforgiving seat is probably the last thing you want to do. Many of the items on our list are designed to be space-saving. Some will fold down flat for easy storage in your vehicle or backpack while others have carrying straps or handles for easy toting. You must ask yourself how important it is to you that your new chair has straps for portability. If this is non-negotiable, it will greatly reduce the number of products you have to choose from.

Comfort

Protect your back - and bottom - with the most comfortable options on the market.

Gone are the times of long hours spent sitting uncomfortably in your kayak. Sure, you can still use your kayak without a seat attached to it, but why would you do that to yourself if you can enjoy the wonders of the outdoors AND be comfortable at the same time?

Comfort can be a tricky criterion to determine when you’re not physically able to sit on the seat and test it out like you would if you were shopping in a brick and mortar store, though. The good news is that there are a number of ways one can determine the comfort of a seat without being about to physically sit on it. We determined the comfort level based upon a few different factors.

First of all, we looked at the materials used in the construction of each product. You can learn more about this particular factor in the Materials section of our review. We also scoured through hundreds of customer reviews in order to determine the overall comfort level of each product on our list. Sure, you could be trustworthy and take the sellers word for it but we prefer to look through reviews from current customers to see if the seat lived up to their expectations in terms of comfort.

Another aspect that we took into consideration when looking at the overall comfort provided by each of the ten products was how supportive it was for your back. If you are one of the unlucky millions who suffer from chronic back pain, you know how important it is to set yourself up for a good day by ensuring you have an adequate amount of support wherever it is you will be sitting. Now, not all of these items on our list are great for back support, but there are a number of them that are phenomenal.

Materials

Generally speaking, the materials that your new kayak seat is made out of will determine just how comfortable the product is overall. Let’s take a closer look at some of the most common materials.

Nylon
Nylon is a great material choice for anything that is designed for outdoor pursuits (thinking clothing, backpacks, etc). Nylon is typically able to handle abrasions well and day-to-day wear and tear is no match for this fabric. It dries fast and is able to manage moisture quite well.

EVA
EVA stands for ethylene-vinyl acetate and it is a foam material. EVA is resistance to UV rays and can withstand a number of different weather effects. This foam is designed to recover quickly from compression which will help it bounce back to its original shape through repeated uses.

Elastomer Gel
Elastomer gels are often used in the construction of bicycle seats. If you’ve ever poked and prodded and squishy bike seat in the store before, chances are it was made with an elastomer gel.

Neoprene
Neoprene is a synthetic rubber material. It is often used in diving garments like wetsuits. This type of material is incredibly durable and resistant to solvents. Its water- and weather-resistant which makes it a great choice for use in a kayak seat.

Polyester
Polyester is a strong and flexible material that will dry quickly if it were to get wet. It’s also inexpensive to manufacture meaning that seats made with this material may not be as expensive as others.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Portability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Choose Adjustable If You Need It

Many of the kayak seats in our buying guide are completely adjustable to your specific size requirements. Getting used to adjusting the straps may take a bit at first, but once you get the hang of it, you’ll be able to adjust your seat on the fly in no time at all. Having an adjustable seat will help to ensure you get the most comfortable and supportive ride every time you get out on the water.

Extra Storage Space

Some of the options on our buying guide come with zippered pouches that attach to the back of the seat. These pouches will help provide you with some much needed additional storage space. You will be able to easily access the gear, food or beverages in the storage pouch as it is attached right to the backrest of your seat. Talk about convenience!

Other Factors to Consider

Support

One of the best reasons you may wish to invest in a kayak seat is to be able to reap the supportive benefits that they provide. Sitting in a kayak all day can be very hard on your back so if you’re one of the millions of people who struggle with chronic back pain, you may wish to consider a seat that provides some form of lumbar support. This is especially important if you spend quite a bit of your time on the water. Having support for your low back can help to take some of the pressure from your spine, making your kayaking experience much more comfortable and enjoyable. You want a cushion that will provide you with just enough support and padding for your bottom, too, though. There’s no reason you should get off your kayak at the end of a day on the water and not be able to feel your cheeks or deal with lingering hip and joint pain afterward.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How does this product work?

a:

Typically, the seat you purchase will come with the hardware required to attach the seat to your kayak. There is a multitude of different attachment styles that can be used, so your best bet is to do the research required beforehand to see how exactly your new cushion will attach to your kayak.

q: Can I use this on my stand-up paddleboard?

a:

In some cases, yes. The iROCKER Inflatable Paddle Board Seat, for example, is designed for use on stand-up paddleboards. You may be able to rig a regular seat for SUP use if fancy yourself a bit of MacGyver but that may be dangerous if it is executed incorrectly.

q: Will having a seat even make a difference at all?

a:

Yes! When kayakers hit the water, they often spend all day out there. Some people even go on kayak/camping trips where they spend their days on the water and only get out to set up camp for the evening. In situations like this, having a supportive and comfortable place to rest in is of vital importance. If you’re a bit skeptical about spending more money on another outdoor gear accessory, think about how different it feels to sit in a hard wooden chair and a softer, padded desk chair. Many of these products also provide users with extra storage compartments and breathability systems that will make sitting for long periods of time much more comfortable.

q: What is “Yak Back” and how do I avoid it?

a:

Yak Back is a common condition that frequent kayakers may have. Typical symptoms of Yak Back include numbness in the legs, leg cramps, discomfort in the hips, discomfort in the butt, and pressure or pain (or both) in the lumbar area of the back. You may be in the midst of your paddle and be overcome with the urge to change your position or stand up to relieve some of these symptoms.

Will having a kayak seat fix yak back? Probably not. But it can help to alleviate some of the symptoms and will sometimes help to defer the symptoms for a little while longer. The best way you can tackle yak back is by implementing an exercise and stretching regimen that is designed to help strengthen your core and low back muscles.