to top 10 table

Best Kayak Seats

last updated Apr 12, 2019

With summer right around the corner, you might start having dreams at night of getting out on the water in your kayak again. If you find your lovely dreams turn into a nightmare because of how uncomfortable and in pain you are on the water, have no fear because GearWeAre is here to help you ensure you have the most comfortable time you’ve ever had on a kayak this summer. It’s not a secret that most kayaks are incredibly hard and uncomfortable. That’s why there’s a whole world of kayak seats out there that are designed specifically to provide kayakers with a much more comfortable experience on the water. You will find below the 10 best kayak seats on the market today and a comprehensive guide on what to look for as you begin your search for a much cozier (and pain-free) summer.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 3 hrs of research

icon
Cascade Mountain
98.6/100 our score
Versatility
99
Durability
98
Portability
99
Comfort
98
Materials
99
Cascade Mountain
Why is it better?

Has many different applications

Comfortable and sturdy construction

Will stand up by itself

Folds up nicely

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Cascade Mountain
Test Winner: Cascade Mountain
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
22
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
3
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
13
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Versatility Durability Portability Comfort Materials By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Versatility
99 %
Durability
98 %
Portability
99 %
Comfort
98 %
Materials
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$47.88
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Versatility
98 %
Durability
98 %
Portability
97 %
Comfort
96 %
Materials
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$42.42
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Versatility
96 %
Durability
97 %
Portability
95 %
Comfort
96 %
Materials
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$39.88
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Versatility
95 %
Durability
94 %
Portability
96 %
Comfort
96 %
Materials
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$39.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Versatility
94 %
Durability
93 %
Portability
93 %
Comfort
95 %
Materials
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Versatility
92 %
Durability
90 %
Portability
92 %
Comfort
93 %
Materials
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$58.19
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Versatility
90 %
Durability
89 %
Portability
89 %
Comfort
90 %
Materials
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$59.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Versatility
84 %
Durability
89 %
Portability
87 %
Comfort
89 %
Materials
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.4
Versatility
85 %
Durability
86 %
Portability
85 %
Comfort
82 %
Materials
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$123.50
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
Versatility
82 %
Durability
83 %
Portability
84 %
Comfort
86 %
Materials
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$79.00
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Cascade Mountain Cascade Mountain
  • Ocean Kayak Comfort Ocean Kayak Comfort
  • iGuerburn Adjustable iGuerburn Adjustable
  • Yakpads Cushioned Yakpads Cushioned
  • Bass Pro Shops Bass Pro Shops
  • SKWOOSH Classic SKWOOSH Classic
  • Sea Eagle Deluxe Inflatable Sea Eagle Deluxe Inflatable
  • Ascend Entry Ascend Entry
  • Surf To Summit GTS Sport Surf To Summit GTS Sport
  • iRocker iRocker
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Cascade Mountain

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Cascade Mountain
Amazon Link
Versatility
99
Durability
98
Portability
99
Comfort
98
Materials
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$47.88
Pros:

Has many different applications

Comfortable and sturdy construction

Will stand up by itself

Folds up nicely

Cons:

Some people thought it was too heavy

This seat is going to look a lot different than other options you’re going to see in our buying guide today. This is because this is actually designed for use in stadiums as a way of protecting your bottom from the uncomfortable seating at sporting events. Because this is a very versatile seat, however, it can be used in your kayak to bring you comfort during your kayaking tours. It should be noted that there are two versions of this seat – one with a steel frame and an ultralight style that comes with a shoulder strap.

Read more

Versatility
If there is one thing that this product has going for it, it is its versatility. This seat is actually made for use in stadiums so you don’t need to sit on uncomfortable bleachers for hours on end. Don’t be fooled, even though ‘stadium’ is right in the product name. You can use this seat in your kayak or on the ground or even on a stand-up paddleboard.

Durability
Though this product is a bit heavier than other options you might see on our list, you should take this weightiness as a testament to the seat’s overall strength. This is a very durable and sturdy product. Many current users love that it’s not floppy like some other options and that it can stand on its own.

Portability
Some users found the steel seat to be a little on the heavier side, but it does fold down which makes it incredibly portable and worth the investment if you’re someone who spends a lot of time outdoors. The ultralight version does have a shoulder strap, however, so it may be worth considering that style if you prefer an even easier way to tote your chair.

Comfort
This product has an extra large seat when comparing it to some of the other options on our list. The seat measures 20-inches wide, providing people with bigger bottoms some much-needed comfort.

Materials
The frame is made from high-quality steel which adds to the seat’s overall lifespan. The seat portion is made from a cordova canvas for additional durability.

2. Ocean Kayak Comfort

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Ocean Kayak Comfort
Amazon Link
Versatility
98
Durability
98
Portability
97
Comfort
96
Materials
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$42.42
Pros:

Easy to use

Dries quickly if it gets wet

Affordable price tag

Durable construction

Cons:

Not as padded on the bottom as some other options

Taking the number two spot on our list is this option from Ocean Kayak. This product has more of a traditional kayak seat vibe than the first product on our list. It has a reinforced stay which is designed to provide users with even more back support and the straps on the sides of the seat are adjustable so you can find just the right fit for your kayak.

Read more

Versatility
This seat has a number of different straps on the sides that will allow users to adjust and fine tune the seat to just the right specifications. This adjustability not only provides versatility in the seat but also allows users to find the custom fit that works for them.

Durability
This seat is going to last you a long time. This is due in part to its UV-resistant construction that will ensure the sun isn’t going to fade the seat or take a toll on its longevity.

Portability
This is a very lightweight option that is super simple to tote around with you wherever you need to take it.

Comfort
How much do you appreciate ‘back support’? Well, with this item from Ocean Kayak you sure will be able to. Thanks to its tall back, this seat offers all users a generous amount of back support, making it perfect for anyone who is struggling with “yak back.” The seat features extra padding for even more cushioning than what you might expect.

Materials
Ocean Kayak designed this seat to provide users a soft and padded ride. It’s made of a durable nylon material that has a built-in ventilation system in place to help add breathability.

3. iGuerburn Adjustable

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
iGuerburn Adjustable
Amazon Link
Versatility
96
Durability
97
Portability
95
Comfort
96
Materials
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.88
Pros:

Quality construction

Easy to install

Rear pouch for storage is a great bonus

Great customer service

Warranty

Cons:

Some questions concerning quality control

Here we have another adjustable option, this time from iGuerburn. This product took the coveted third place spot in our buying guide for several reasons. We really love its slick almost racecar-esque look. Let’s see what else it has to offer.

Read more

Versatility
Thanks to the adjustable straps on this chair, you can use it however you see fit so long as you’re able to attach the straps in a safe manner. Some users have used this seat on their inflatable stand-up paddleboards as well as in their kayaks.

Durability
This is a very durable product. We loved that it comes with a 100% 30-day money back guarantee and a one-year warranty in case something was to happen to the seat. Current users report that customer service is easy to deal with and friendly.

Portability
This lightweight seat is just as portable as any other option on our list. Though it doesn’t come with a carrying bag to tote it around in, it does have a detachable bag that goes on the back of the seat for additional storage purposes. We loved that!

Comfort
The seat features a high back design, great for people who need the extra support for their backs while they’re kayaking. The back and seat portion are well cushioned for additional comfort.

Materials
This seat is made from nylon, EVA and metal snap hooks.

4. Yakpads Cushioned

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Yakpads Cushioned
Amazon Link
Versatility
95
Durability
94
Portability
96
Comfort
96
Materials
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.95
Pros:

Gel won’t bunch up

Versatile

Will dry quickly if it gets wet

Adjustable

Cons:

May not be as protective on bonier butts

Here is another different looking option. Instead of providing a full cushion with a back, this gel seat is meant to just provide comfort for your bottom. It’s a great choice for folks who don’t need the extra support and stability that a full seat would provide. If you love the idea of the Yakpad product, however, they do provide a high and low back option as well.

Read more

Versatility
Though this seat is made for use in a kayak, you can use it in a number of different applications as well – in a canoe, on your motorcycle or wherever else your creative and adventurous brain may take you.

Durability
This gel seat is going to last you a long time. The materials used in the construction of this seat and the stitching that holds it all together are very high-quality and durable.

Portability
This is one of the most portable options you’re going to find on our list. Because it doesn’t have the back support of other seats, this product is much smaller and easier to carry around with you.

Comfort
The Yakpad is made with elastomer gel, the same type of material you would find in a bicycle seat for ultimate comfort. The gel will help to eliminate any pressure points that arise in your bottom when you’re spending hours on it all day in your kayak.

Materials
As mentioned above, the seat is made with an elastomer gel. Ever burn your butt when you go to sit in a kayak that has been left out in the sun on a hot summer day? The Yakpad is designed to provide protection against overly hot (or cold!) seats.

5. Bass Pro Shops

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Versatility
94
Durability
93
Portability
93
Comfort
95
Materials
93
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

The built-in cup holder is a bonus

Reclining back-rest

Seat folds nicely

Carrying strap

Cons:

Some users found the seat to be too narrow

Here we have another seat that is designed for use in other applications than kayaking but still holds up really well regardless. This product from Bass Pro Shops is actually meant for use during canoe trips or while you’re at a ball game, but it can be used in your kayak provided it fits.

Read more

Versatility
As we already talked about above, this option from Bass Pro Shops is incredibly versatile. You can attach it to your kayak if it fits, take it with you on a canoeing trip, use it while camping or even tote it along with you to your next ball game so you can stay comfortable in the bleachers.

Durability
This seat is a great option if you’re looking for something that is going to last you a long time. Bass Pro Shops is a reputable name in the world of outdoor gear and this product is no exception to that rule.

Portability
This seat will fold flat when not in use and will stay flat thanks to the closure strap. This product also boasts an adjustable shoulder strap so you can carry it with you hands-free.

Comfort
Back pain? Could you handle some extra lumbar support and, heck, maybe even a reclining backrest? Bass Pro Shops has you covered with this seat! The thick seat bottom is also padded for further comfort. You can choose from four different positions for the backrest to be in so you’ll always stay comfortable, no matter how long you’re kayaking (or canoeing or game-watching) for.

Materials
This seat is made with PVC backed polyester material that adds to the overall longevity of this product. The frame is made from 19mm powder-coated steel, furthering the durability of the seat.

6. SKWOOSH Classic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
SKWOOSH Classic
Amazon Link
Versatility
92
Durability
90
Portability
92
Comfort
93
Materials
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$58.19
Pros:

Comfortable

Great for bony butts

Dries quickly

Won’t slip around when you’re on it

Portable

Cons:

Not as thick as it could be

This option from SKWOOSH looks similar in style to the Yakpads product we reviewed above, but with some stark differences. Let’s take a peek at just what sets this product apart from others on our list.

Read more

Versatility
This seat can be used in a number of different ways. Though it is designed for use in kayaks, you can use it anywhere you need a little extra support for your bottom – motorcycle, vehicle, home or even your office. Get creative!

Durability
The high-quality construction of the SKWOOSH Classic makes it a great choice for someone looking to get a lot of return on their investment. Though this product does require more of an investment than some of the other options on our list, you will fall in love with the fact that it is a durable product and will provide you with a lot of use for your money.

Portability
Have a small space you were hoping your new kayak seat will fit into? This product from SKWOOSH is actually foldable and compact so this will be the perfect companion for you.

Comfort
This seat is designed to help reduce loading on your skeletal structure during use. It also will help with circulation and in reliving any pressure on your bottom. This will lead to a very comfortable kayak ride for you.

Materials
SKWOOSH designed this seat out of a special gel material that has no memory when any pressure is applied to it. This means that after you’ve been sitting on it for a while, it will go back to its regular shape. The fabric is non-skid as well which means you won’t be sliding around in your kayak or have to deal with an annoying seat that just won’t stay put.

7. Sea Eagle Deluxe Inflatable

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Sea Eagle Deluxe Inflatable
Amazon Link
Versatility
90
Durability
89
Portability
89
Comfort
90
Materials
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.00
Pros:

Sturdy

Supportive

Easy to inflate

Portable

Cons:

Some complaints about the seat losing air

This product looks a lot different than any of the other options you’re going to see on our list. This product works great in Sea Eagle brand kayaks, but it can be used for other brand name kayaks as well.

Read more

Versatility
Though this seat is designed specifically for use in kayaks, we suppose you could use it in other situations as well. If you have certain inflatable stand-up paddleboards, you can use the Sea Eagle Deluxe on it. We always recommend checking with the manufacturer and checking the measurements to ensure the product will work as you’re intending it to.

Durability
There were some questions as to the overall durability of this product. A few current users mentioned that the seat loses air gradually throughout the day.

Portability
This is an inflatable option. It folds down to be 14-inches by 9-inches by 4-inches, making it quite easy to stick into your bag and take with you to the water.

Comfort
If you’ve ever sat in an inflatable chair before, you’ll know what to expect with this product in terms of comfort. There isn’t much by way of strategic padding but it is still comfortable enough.

Materials
We were unable to find the exact materials used in the construction of this seat. But if we had to guess, given that it is inflatable, we would say it’s made from vinyl.

8. Ascend Entry

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Versatility
84
Durability
89
Portability
87
Comfort
89
Materials
85
best offer for today
Pros:

Extremely comfortable for long paddles

Breathable construction

Non-slip bottom

Durable

Cons:

Can only be used in sit-on-top kayaks

This product from Ascend is designed for use in sit-on-top kayaks. It’s incredibly adjustable in design and we think anyone who owns a sit-on-top kayak is going to love this comfortable addition to their gear.

Read more

Versatility
As we mentioned above, this seat option is explicitly made for sit-on-top kayaks. This takes away from the overall versatility of the product, but we do think it is still a worthwhile seat to consider.

Durability
Everything about this product screams “HIGH QUALITY.” We love the heavy-duty materials used in the construction of this seat, including the fabric, straps, and snaps.

Portability
Though there is no carrying bag for this seat, we still think it’s easy to take it around with you.

Comfort
This kayak seat is incredibly comfortable. There are several different ways that users can adjust the position of the seat in order to ensure they are provided with a superior and customized fit for the ultimate comfort.

Materials
This product is made from a comfortable neoprene material that is water-repellant to help keep you comfortable as you kayak. The materials used are also non-slip so your seat won’t be sliding around while you paddle. The hardware of this seat is made of UTX Duraflex, one of the world leaders in the world of buckles and accessories for sporting goods.

9. Surf To Summit GTS Sport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.4
Surf To Summit GTS Sport
Amazon Link
Versatility
85
Durability
86
Portability
85
Comfort
82
Materials
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$123.50
Pros:

Great for people with back problems

Easy to adjust

Comes with a zipper pack for the back of the seat

Great value

Cons:

Could have additional cushioning on the bottom

Here we have another kayak seat option designed for sit-on-top kayaks. Surf to Summit, the manufacturer behind this great product, is known for their outdoor gear accessories for kayakers, paddlers, motorcyclists and cyclers alike. This particular seat is a great option for several different reasons. Let’s take a closer look.

Read more

Versatility
As mentioned above, this seat is designed specifically for use in sit-on-top kayaks. It’s best used by kayakers who are a bit smaller in size.

Durability
The moment you use this product from Surf to Summit, you will be able to easily recognize how durable and sturdy it is. You won’t have a problem with this option wearing out on you anytime soon.

Portability
At just 12.5 inches tall, you will not have a problem toting around this seat with you at all.

Comfort
If you struggle a lot with back pain while kayaking, this particular product is going to be a great option for you. The backrest on this seat has a ton of structural support, perfect for someone who needs some extra support for their lumbar spine. The foam panels of the seat will provide comfort for your bottom and will conform to fit your particular body shape.

Materials
This seat is made from a durable 600 denier material in all the areas that need some extra protection (like the back of the seat). Surf to Summit also outfitted this product with an EVA foam for additional cushioning for your back and bottom.

10. iRocker

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
iRocker
Amazon Link
Versatility
82
Durability
83
Portability
84
Comfort
86
Materials
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.00
Pros:

Intuitive to install

Comfortable

Great for people who want to convert their SUP into a makeshift kayak

Compact storage

Cons:

May not work with all paddleboards

The final product on our top ten list comes from iRocker, a company well known for their outdoor adventure gear like inflatable paddleboards and related gear. This particular option is a little different than all of our other products we’ve reviewed so far. We’ll tell you why below.

Read more

Versatility
This seat is actually is not specifically designed for kayaks at all, although you can attach it to your kayak. It is designed in such a way that allows people who use stand-up paddleboards to turn their SUP into a makeshift kayak. But we loved this product so much, we had to include it on our list anyway.

Durability
There are no concerns at all about the longevity of this product. It is made of high-quality materials that will not break if used properly.

Portability
This seat will fold down flat when not in use, making it incredibly easy to carry around with you.

Comfort
This seat is designed to provide users with an exceptional amount of back support. If you find yourself aching after a day of paddling, you will want to get yourself the iRocker to help alleviate some of that back pain.

Materials
This product is made with a thick neoprene material for comfort and durability. Users will find that the hardware for this seat is impressive as well.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Versatility

Seats that can be used for more than just on your kayak provide more value.

Outdoor gear is expensive. A kayak can easily run you a few hundred dollars or even a few thousand if you’re looking for something on the higher end. It only makes sense that you would want to ensure the gear you’re buying for your adventures can be used in more than just one way. For example, some of the seats on our list are actually designed to be “stadium seats” for use in the bleachers at a baseball game, for example. You might ask yourself, “why would I buy a dedicated kayak seat to use only for kayaking a few times a year when I could buy a more versatile option that will get much more use?” That is the question, hypothetical GearWeAre reader. Many of the seats on our list can be used as much more than just a kayak seat. If you have the means, however, you may wish to purchase an item that is designated for kayak use only and that’s fine too. We only wanted to provide our readers with a comprehensive list of a variety of different kayak seats.

Durability

Protect your investment by ensuring your new product has a long lifspan.

Durability is a huge concern with products these days. You don’t want to spend your money on a new seat for your already expensive kayak (or SUP) if the hardware is just going to break off after a couple of uses. In order to determine the overall durability of these seats, we scoured through thousands of reviews and educated ourselves on the importance of high-quality materials. The seats that have scored a spot in our top ten list are all made with the best materials on the market and have been reviewed positively by thousands of current users. We are certain that you will love any of the kayak seats that you choose provided that it has a spot in our buying guide.

Portability

Give your back a break with a lighter and more portable kayak seat.

Portability is another consideration we gave a lot of thought to as we created this buying guide. As outdoor adventurists ourselves, we know how easy it can be to overpack for day or overnight trips. Once you start packing the essentials – flashlights, waterproof clothing, food, drinks, hatchets, knives, etc – it doesn’t take long for your pack to start to weigh you down. We wanted to provide our readers with a number of different styles of kayak seats that were not only supportive, comfortable and durable, but portable as well. We know how important your space is when you’re doing any kind of outdoor activity, so toting around a humongous unforgiving seat is probably the last thing you want to do. Many of the items on our list are designed to be space-saving. Some will fold down flat for easy storage in your vehicle or backpack while others have carrying straps or handles for easy toting. You must ask yourself how important it is to you that your new kayak seat has straps for portability. If this is a non-negotiable, it will greatly reduce the number of products you have to choose from.

Comfort

Protect your back - and bottom - with the most comfortable options on the market.

Gone are the times of long hours spent sitting uncomfortably in your kayak. Sure, you can still use your kayak without a seat attached to it, but why would you do that to yourself if you can enjoy the wonders of the outdoors AND be comfortable at the same time?

Comfort can be a tricky criterion to determine when you’re not physically able to sit on the seat and test it out like you would if you were shopping in a brick and mortar store, though. The good news is that there are a number of ways one can determine the comfort of a seat without being about to physically sit on it. We determined comfort level based upon a few different factors.

First of all, we looked at the materials used in the construction of each seat. You can learn more about this particular factor in the Materials section of our review. We also scoured through hundreds of customer reviews in order to determine the overall comfort level of each seat on our list. Sure, you could be trustworthy and take the sellers word for it but we prefer to look through reviews from current customers to see if the seat lived up to their expectations in terms of comfort.

Another aspect that we took into consideration when looking at the overall comfort provided by each of the ten products was how supportive it was for your back. If you are one of the unlucky millions who suffer with chronic back pain, you know how important it is to set yourself up for a good day by ensuring you have adequate amount of support wherever it is you will be sitting. Now, not all of these items on our list are great for back support, but there are a number of them that are phenomenal.

We are happy to say that if you were to choose any of the ten products in our buying guide, you will be happy with the level of comfort they provide.

Materials

Generally speaking, the materials that your new kayak seat is made out of will determine just how comfortable the product is overall. Let’s take a closer look at some of the most common materials.

Nylon
Nylon is a great material choice for anything that is designed for outdoor pursuits (thinking clothing, backpacks, etc). Nylon is typically able to handle abrasions well and day-to-day wear and tear is no match for this fabric. It dries fast and is able to manage moisture quite well.

EVA
EVA stands for ethylene vinyl acetate and it is a foam material. EVA is resistance to UV rays and can withstand a number of different weather effects. This foam is designed to recover quickly from compression which will help it bounce back to its original shape through repeated uses.

Elastomer Gel
Elastomer gels are often used in the construction of bicycle seats. If you’ve ever poked and prodded and squishy bike seat in the store before, chances are it was made with elastomer gel.

Neoprene
Neoprene is a synthetic rubber material. It is often used in diving garments like wetsuits. This type of material is incredibly durable and resistant to solvents. Its water- and weather-resistant which makes it a great choice for use in a kayak seat.

Polyester
Polyester is a strong and flexible material that will dry quickly if it were to get wet. It’s also inexpensive to manufacture meaning that seats made with this material may not be as expensive as others.

expert tips icon
Choose Adjustable If You Need It

Many of the kayak seats in our buying guide are completely adjustable to your specific size requirements. Getting used to adjusting the straps may take a bit at first, but once you get the hang of it, you’ll be able to adjust your seat on the fly in no time at all. Having an adjustable seat will help to ensure you get the most comfortable and supportive ride every time you get out on the water.

Extra Storage Space

Some of the options on our buying guide come with zippered pouches that attach to the back of the seat. These pouches will help provide you with some much needed additional storage space. You will be able to easily access the gear, food or beverages in the storage pouch as it is attached right to the backrest of your seat. Talk about convenience!

Other Factors to Consider

Support

One of the best reasons you may wish to invest in a kayak seat is to be able to reap the supportive benefits that they provide. Sitting in a kayak all day can be very hard on your back so if you’re one of the millions of people who struggle with chronic back pain, you may wish to consider a seat that provides some form of lumbar support. This is especially important if you spend quite a bit of your time on the water. Have support for your low back can help to take some of the pressure from your spine, making your kayaking experience much more comfortable and enjoyable. You want a cushion that will provide you with just enough support and padding for your bottom, too, though. There’s no reason you should get off your kayak at the end of a day on the water and not be able to feel your cheeks or deal with lingering hip and joint pain afterward.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do kayak seats work?

a:

Typically, the seat you purchase will come with the hardware required to attach the seat to your kayak. There is a multitude of different attachment styles that can be used in the world of kayak seats so your best bet is to do the research required beforehand to see how exactly your new cushion will attach to your kayak.

q: Can I use this on my stand-up paddleboard?

a:

In some cases, yes. The iROCKER Inflatable Paddle Board Kayak Seat, for example, is designed for use on stand-up paddleboards. You may be able to rig a regular seat for SUP use if fancy yourself a bit of MacGyver but that may be dangerous if it is executed incorrectly.

q: Will having a seat even make a difference at all?

a:

Yes! When kayakers hit the water, they often spend all day out there. Some people even go on kayak/camping trips where they spend their days on the water and only get out to set up camp for the evening. In situations like this, having a supportive and comfortable seat to rest in is of vital importance. If you’re a bit skeptical about spending more money on another outdoor gear accessory, think about how much different it feels to sit in a hard wooden chair and a softer, padded desk chair. Many kayak seats also provide users with extra storage compartments and breathability systems that will make sitting for longer periods of times much more comfortable.

q: What is “Yak Back” and how do I avoid it?

a:

Yak Back is a common condition that frequent kayakers may have. Typical symptoms of Yak Back include numbness in the legs, leg cramps, discomfort in the hips, discomfort in the butt, and pressure or pain (or both) in the lumbar area of the back. You may be in the midst of your paddle and be overcome with the urge to change your position or stand up to relieve some of these symptoms. Will having a kayak seat fix yak back? Probably not. But it can help to alleviate some of the symptoms and will sometimes help to defer the symptoms for a little while longer. The best way you can tackle yak back is by implementing an exercise and stretching regimen that is designed to help strengthen your core and low back muscles.