to top 10 table

Best Jump Boxes

last updated Jun 11, 2019

Success in any training regimen lies in those moments where we can push past our previous boundaries. Whether you shaved off a couple of seconds to your mile, or you were finally able to bench press a few more pounds than the previous week- those little moments are why we work so hard. For plyometrics, success can be found in being able to propel yourself off of the ground just a little bit higher. The best way to train and measure your success is with a great pair of jump boxes. These products are far safer to use than trying to use the stairs in your home (like many do) and many can be adjusted so that you can increase the intensity as well as the challenge. In this guide, you will find some of our favorite picks for jump boxes.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
Garage Fit
93/100 our score
Ease of Use
97
Materials
93
Durability
91
Size
94
Value
90
Garage Fit
Why is it better?

Rounded foam corners

Made from construction grade materials

Can hold up to 350 pounds

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Garage Fit
Test Winner: Garage Fit
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
24
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Ease of Use Materials Durability Size Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Ease of Use
97 %
Materials
93 %
Durability
91 %
Size
94 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$239.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Ease of Use
93 %
Materials
89 %
Durability
90 %
Size
91 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$228.51
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Ease of Use
89 %
Materials
90 %
Durability
87 %
Size
91 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$147.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Ease of Use
89 %
Materials
85 %
Durability
84 %
Size
87 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$89.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Ease of Use
85 %
Materials
84 %
Durability
89 %
Size
82 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$129.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Ease of Use
80 %
Materials
84 %
Durability
79 %
Size
81 %
Value
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$160.36
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.2
Ease of Use
79 %
Materials
81 %
Durability
75 %
Size
76 %
Value
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$169.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.2
Ease of Use
76 %
Materials
79 %
Durability
81 %
Size
77 %
Value
68 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$319.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.8
Ease of Use
76 %
Materials
70 %
Durability
72 %
Size
75 %
Value
71 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71.2
Ease of Use
70 %
Materials
71 %
Durability
74 %
Size
72 %
Value
69 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$120.22

Top 10 Picks

1. Garage Fit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Garage Fit
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
97
Materials
93
Durability
91
Size
94
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$239.95
Pros:

Rounded foam corners

Made from construction grade materials

Can hold up to 350 pounds

Cons:

A little expensive

The reason that we made this option from Garage Fit our number one choice is that it is made from strong, high-quality materials that are going to be able to take quite a beating, and it sports an innovative design that is going to keep your shins safe.

Read more

Ease of use

What users really like most about this option is the rounded edges feature. Not every rep is going to be a textbook, especially when your legs start to get tired. The rounded edges mean that less than ideal reps aren’t going to tear up your shins.

Materials

The base of this unit is made from a wood that measures to be a ¾ inch and is a construction grade material. The outside is lined with a soft foam that will provide you a soft surface to land.

Durability

Users can feel good that this unit is solid and is designed to hold quite a bit of weight. It as has a maximum weight capacity of an impressive 350 pounds.

Size

While you will only be able to select one size per purchase, there are other sizes to choose from as well. Users will have the option to select from three of the most popular sizes that include 30, 24, and 16 inches high.

Value

For the smaller options, the price tag is considered to be quite affordable. However, when you get up into the bigger options- such as the 30-inch model- the price tag is going to set you back quite a bit of money.

Overall

If you are serious about your training, and you are willing to pay a higher price point for something that is going to be safe to use and it made from high-quality materials- this option from Garage Fit is going to be one of your best options in our opinion.

2. j/fit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
j/fit
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
93
Materials
89
Durability
90
Size
91
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$228.51
Pros:

Affordable

Hollow frame makes for easy storage

Non-slip rubber surface

Cons:

Some found that its legs are a little wobbly

This option is great because it is strong and sturdy, and because it has a hollow frame means it is going to be a lot easier to store in your garage or home gym when not in use. The best part is that it comes in at a really affordable price point.

Read more

Ease of use

The bottom portion of this design may be composed of hard and sharp edges, but the top surface is what we liked most. The top is made from a material that is really going to grip the bottom of your shoe for a firm grip and will help you gain your footing even with less than ideal dismounts when your legs start to become fatigued.

Materials

The frame of this design is made from heavy-duty steel that can handle quite a bit of weight. However, we love that the bottom is composed of strong rubber grips so that it is going to stay securely in place, and the top surface is composed of a grooved rubber material for sure footing.

Durability

We could not find an exact weight capacity for this unit, but taking into consideration that it is composed of high-quality steel that is fused into one solid unit, and coupled with the tapered design for added stability, we feel that this unit is built to hold quite a bit of weight.

Size

What is great about this option is that users can select from some of the most popular and accessible sizes that include 12, 18, 24 and 30 inches, or for a higher price point you can buy all 4 and stack them under each other.

Value

The best part about this option is that it comes in at one of the most affordable price points of many of the other designs out there on the market, and the durable materials make it a really incredible value.

Overall

For those are limited on space as well as cash, this design from j/fit is going to save you on both. Plus, the innovative design makes it a really great training tool.

3. TITAN FITNESS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
TITAN FITNESS
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
89
Materials
90
Durability
87
Size
91
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$147.99
Pros:

3 units in one design

Clearly labeled sizes on the side

Incredibly sturdy base

Cons:

Expensive

Some users found the 30-inch setting to be a little wobbly

Versatility and stability are the two biggest takeaways when it comes to this design from TITAN FITNESS. The incredibly heavy frame is going to stay in position no matter how sloppy your dismounts get as you get tired, and the innovative design is three sets in just one package.

Read more

Ease of use

What is great about this design is that the sheer weight of the unit means that it isn’t going to shift around or wobble, which is going to prevent injuries, and the rounded soft edges are going to be perfect in protecting your shins.

Materials

The frame of this box is composed of an incredibly heavy wood material that is going to be able to stand up to quite the beating. To help promote safety and comfort, the exterior is coated in soft rubber.

Durability

There is no specification how many pounds that it is going to be able to withstand, but considering the design and materials that are used, we feel that weight is not going to be much of a problem.

Size

The one thing that we liked most about this design is that it is three sizes in one unit. If you lie it flat, it measures to be 20 inches up off of the ground. When it is time to graduate to a higher setting, simply flip it over to one clearly labeled size to increase it to 24 inches, and you can also flip it again for 30 inches.

Value

The cost of this design is one of the more expensive designs that we have seen out there on the market. However, if you take into consideration that this is 3 units built into one- it is actually a really great value.

Overall

It is important to note that the starting height of this unit is 20 inches- which may be a little too high for beginners. The weight of this unit (65 pounds) means that it is going to be incredibly sturdy, but it also means that it is going to be a little difficult to move around when you need to put it away.

4. Rep Fitness

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Rep Fitness
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
89
Materials
85
Durability
84
Size
87
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$89.99
Pros:

Affordable

Many size options offered

Incredibly strong and durable

Cons:

Sharp corner

Some users found it to be a little difficult to assemble

If you need something that is going to be versatile and easy to use, this design from Rep Fitness is made for exactly that. It is made from incredibly strong materials with an innovative design that is really able to take a beating, and the best part about it is that it comes in at a really affordable price point.

Read more

Ease of use

The great thing about this design is that it is simple and lightweight enough to be moved around the gym with the handles along the side (the handles also makes it great for dips). One of the downsides to this model is that the edges are a little sharp, so you might suffer some scuffed up shins if you aren’t careful.

Materials

This unit is made from simple and strong wood materials that are reinforced with interlocking sides and predrilled holes to increase the level of durability.

Durability

There isn’t any reference to maximum weight capacity, but past users have found that it is built to be incredibly strong. What makes this unit special is that there is a central framework that adds a higher level of security when under stress.

Size

No matter if you are just starting out, or you are a seasoned veteran, there are many sizes to fit your needs. There are three size options offered, and each unit offers 3 different highs. The smallest unit offers 12, 14, and 16 inches, and the larger units offer users an impressive 20, 24, and 30 inches.

Value

One thing that users liked the most is that each option is offered at an incredibly affordable price point. It is important to add that users will also have the option of selecting a unit that comes fully assembled at a slightly higher price point.

Overall

For those that are looking for something that is simple and affordable, this is going to be one of your better options. We do have to add that the sides aren’t as clearly labeled as some of the others that we have seen, and the edges are going to be just a little sharper than those coated with a rubber finish.

5. Bound

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Bound
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
85
Materials
84
Durability
89
Size
82
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$129.95
Pros:

Very affordable

Easy to assemble

Built to hold quite a bit of weight

Cons:

Some found it to be too small

Gets a little narrow and wobbly at higher heights

This is a product that is designed for users that are looking to save a little bit of money. If you are unsure about how well you will like using these products, this option from Bound is going to be an excellent place to start because it is offered at one of the lowest price points of any other out there on the market, and that includes even the taller models.

Read more

Ease of use

This design ships flat, which means that there is going to be a little bit of assembly required on your part. The good news, however, is that the sides are cut to fit together like puzzle pieces. You will simply need to fit the pieces together and reinforce it with the screws that are included. Users have found that it will take you about 15 minutes to completely assemble.

Materials

Made from plywood wood that measures to be ¾ of an inch thick, this unit is going to be incredibly secure.

Durability

Plywood may not sound like it is something that is going to be secure, but this unit is able to hold quite a bit of weight. While there isn’t a specific weight capacity listed on their product description, we did find a photo of a Jeep parked on top of their product.

Size

Users will have the option to select from three different size boxes that include 12, 14, and 16 for the smallest option, and 16, 20, and 24 for their largest option.

Value

The best part about this design is that it comes in at one of the most affordable price points of any of the other designs out there on the market. It might not have as many of the added features as some of the others, but the quality of craftsmanship makes it an excellent value.

Overall

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this design. It may not have all of the added features as some of the others, but it is built incredibly tough and will be a great addition to your workouts.

6. Stamina | X

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Stamina | X
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
80
Materials
84
Durability
79
Size
81
Value
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$160.36
Pros:

Easy to adjust

Comes completely assembled

Compact design makes it easy to store when not in use

Cons:

A little expensive

Some found it to be a little too heavy

This option form Stamina | X is a little bit different than many of the other options that we have seen. Instead of being a basic cube, this unit is designed more like a platform, giving users the option for more adjustments as well as being something that is going to be a lot easier to store.

Read more

Ease of use

There is going to be no need to worry about putting anything together because this unit comes totally assembled. To set various heights, simply pull down on the pins along the side, raise the base up to the desired height, and then push the pins back into place.

Materials

The frame is made from high-quality steel that is going to be able to take quite a beating. The base, as well as the surface, is coated in non-slip rubber surface so you can feel good about your landing to prevent injury.

Durability

One thing we really liked about this device is that it is able to handle quite a bit of weight. It is able to handle up to 300 pounds, making it a durable frame.

Size

Users will have the option to adjust the height in more way than your standard cubes. It is able to be adjusted to 12, 16, 20, and 24 inches. It is important to note that it isn’t able to reach quite the same heights as some of the other options.

Value

The price tag of this unit is slightly higher than many of the other cubed options out there on the market. However, when you consider the level of adjustments that you can make as well as how easy this unit is to store, we feel this is a really great value.

Overall

For those that are in the market for something that is really easy to adjust to accommodate various types of movements, this is going to be one of your better choices if you are willing to pay the higher price point.

7. Rep Foam

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.2
Rep Foam
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
79
Materials
81
Durability
75
Size
76
Value
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$169.99
Pros:

Soft and stackable design

Incredibly durable

Cons:

Very expensive

Using these devices can be a little intimidating because a botched dismount can lead to an injury or scraped shins on the edges of sharp wooden boxes. That’s why we wanted to include this design from Rep Foam with the incredibly soft edges.

Read more

Ease of use

As we mentioned before, the soft surface on the top as well as the sides is the best feature of this design. Even if you slip and fall, you won’t have to worry about scraping your shins on the side of a hard wooden surface. Plus, there is no assembly required because it ships as one solid unit.

Materials

The base of these products is very heavy which is going to provide a very stable surface. Users will then zip an incredibly thick foam mat over the top of the unit. This foam mat is going to not only provide a soft surface that protects shins, but it will also help joints by absorbing some of the impacts.

Durability

Even though they have a soft foam surface, this product is able to hold quite a bit of weight. The 20-inch model, for example, weighs a whopping 75 pounds, which means that it is going to be able to hold quite a lot of weight.

Size

Users will be able to select from sizes that include 4, 6, 12, 20, and 24 inches. The great thing about this options is that if you are looking for a real challenge, you can opt for a 20-inch base, and then buy smaller 4 or 6-inch sizes that can be stacked upon the base.

Value

The bad news about this design is that it comes in at a price point that is almost three times as much as some of the more expensive designs that we have seen out there on the market. However, if you are looking for something that is versatile and safe, this is going to be well worth the higher price.

Overall

We loved this option because it is incredibly durable and tough, but it has an exterior shell that is going to be incredibly kind to your shins as well as your joints.

8. MAT EXPERT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.2
MAT EXPERT
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
76
Materials
79
Durability
81
Size
77
Value
68
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$319.99
Pros:

Easy to use and adjust

Can handle up to 661 pounds

Cons:

Expensive

The thing that we liked most about this option was its tapered design. Landing on these products can sometimes be a little difficult because you are naturally going to move a little forward when engaging in the movement. However, this style of unit is going to compensate for that to prevent tripping.

Read more

Ease of use

These products come completely assembled, so you are going to be able to use them right out of the box. Plus, they are stackable, so you can remove or apply inches simply by adding more units to the base.

Materials

This option is a little bit different because it is made from PVC rather than your standard wood or steel option. It is also covered with a soft foam padding that will protect shins as well as joints.

Durability

The best feature about this option from MAT EXPERT is that it is able to handle quite a bit of weight. It is able to hold the weight of up to an impressive 661 pounds!

Size

Users will get a set of 3 trapezoids that can be stacked on top of each other. The base measures to be 12 inches and the top unit will create a base of an impressive 30 inches. This makes it perfect for beginners as well as experts.

Value

The downside to this unit is that it is one of the more expensive designs that we have found. However, when you take into consideration the high weight capacity as well as the versatility, this is actually a really great value.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is sturdy and easy to use and gives you the power to change up heights with ease, this is going to be a great choice if you are willing to pay the slightly higher price point.

9. Rage Fitness

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.8
Rage Fitness
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
76
Materials
70
Durability
72
Size
75
Value
71
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

Affordable

Simple design is lightweight and easy to store

Cons:

Some users found that is has a very strong chemical smell

Perhaps you are looking for something that is a little more simple that comes in at a really low price point. If that’s the case, this option from Rage Fitness is going to be a wonderful place to start. While it isn’t able to be adjusted to different heights, it is made to be sturdy and reliable and is a perfect addition to any plyometric routine.

Read more

Ease of use

It doesn’t get any easier to use than this model. It ships completely assembled, and it doesn’t require any adjustments to be made. SImply take it out of the box, and you are ready to go!

Materials

The frame of this design is made from a very strong tubular steel structure that is going to be able to handle quite a bit of weight. The base, on the other hand, is made from a layer of plywood that is coated with a layer of rubber to create a secure and soft landing.

Durability

While we couldn’t find an exact weight limit for this unit, we can assume that is it going to be able to handle well over 200 pounds based upon the quality of materials used in conjunction with the slightly tapered frame.

Size

Rage Fitness provides sizes that are ideal for novices as well as experts. Size options start at 12 inches and include 20, 24, and 30 inches.

Value

The best part about this design is that it is priced to be one of the most affordable options out there on the market. Keep in mind, however, that you aren’t going to have the option to adjust the height as you do with some of the more expensive options.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is simple and affordable, this option from Rage Fitness is going to be an excellent addition to your plyo routine.

10. Black Mountain

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71.2
Black Mountain
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
70
Materials
71
Durability
74
Size
72
Value
69
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$120.22
Pros:

Affordable

Folds up to 5 inches thick for easy storage

Cons:

Cannot get very tall

Some found it can get a little wobbly

If you are intrigued from the platform designs but don’t want to pay the higher price point, this option from Black Mountain will allow you to adjust the height simply and easily without breaking the bank.

Read more

Ease of use

This unit is going to come to you fully assembled, so there is no need to dig out your toolbox. To change the height, simply pull down on the pins along the side, raise or lower the platform, and then stick the pins back into place.

Materials

The frame of this design is made from a bright green powder-coated steel that is sturdy and dependable. The platform is covered in a thick layer of a neoprene-like material that is going to provide excellent traction.

Durability

There isn’t really anything listed on the product description on how much weight it is able to handle. However, we found there were no users that found this device wasn’t able to handle their weight, and the strong steel frame leads us to believe that it is quite secure.

Size

Users are going to be able to adjust the height of this device in three ways. The base height measures in at 12 inches, the middle height is 16 inches, and the highest setting is 22 inches- which is just a little shorter than most.

Value

What we liked most about this platform design is that it comes in at a really affordable price point. If you were curious about trying an adjustable platform option, this is going to be an excellent place to start.

Overall

Users love this option because it is easy to use, and allows for a myriad if exercises on its basic frame. It is important to note, however, that is isn’t able to reach the same heights as many of the others out there on the market.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Ease of Use

It may seem silly that something like a box could be difficult to use, but there is much more to these products than meets the eye.

One of the biggest things that we looked at was how easy it is to put together. While the designs that are made from PVC or steel typically come fully assembled, there are some wooden options that are going to require that you dust off your tool box. In those cases, we wanted to make sure that assembly was going to be at least under 30 minutes, and came with easy to read instructions. The biggest thing you want in these products is stability, and if you run into difficult putting it together- you run the risk of building a wobbly product. We also wanted to make sure that we selected products that were going to be easy to adjust. The platform models are typically adjusted using a set of pins in the base, so we made sure that users found that raising it and lowering their device was simple to do in a moment’s notice.

Materials

The quality of materials used is going to dictate how sturdy it is going to be, and how well it will treat your joints.

For the frame, you are going to want something that is a naturally strong material. We found that metal or steel bases were regarded at the most sturdy with few users complaining about them being uneven. Wooden options are another great option that is almost as strong as their steel counterparts. Wooden frames are usually composed of ¾ thick construction grade materials that are reinforced with beams on the inside of the cube for a good deal of additional support. As for the base- we wanted to select something that your shoes are really going to be able to grip to eliminate the possibility of slipping. We found that grooved rubber (or sometimes foam or neoprene) is the best material to ensure that you get a really good grip, and this material is also going to absorb some of the impacts to give a little bit of relief to your joints.

Durability

These products take a pounding- quite literally, so we wanted to make sure that we selected something that was durable.

Materials used to play a big part in how well it is going to wear, but weight capacity, as well as design, also play a big role. Some of the stability of design comes from simple engineering. If you look at the shape of most of these products you will notice that they are shaped more like a trapezoid and less like a cube. This simple design feature is going to eliminate a good deal of stress on the sides of the unit, and therefore give you a more sturdy and durable frame that isn’t going to crack under the pressure. We also made sure that we looked to find listings for weight capacity to ensure that it was going to be something that would work for everyone. From what we gathered, the minimal weight for most topped out at about 300 pounds, and there were some designs that were actually able to withstand over 660 pounds of pressure!

Size

How high it sits off of the ground dictates how high you can fling out body up off of the ground, so we wanted to select sizes for newbies as well as seasoned veterans.

From what we found, sizes typically start at around 12 inches (with a few shorter exceptions), and cap out at 30 inches. For inexperienced users, the 12-inch mark is a great place to start, and many products allow users to flip the cube over on its side to gain a few more inches when your skills start to improve. We liked products that would allow users to change the difficulty level when their skills improved. Most cubed designs would allow for this, but the platform designs were the best in adjusting the height. The metal stand options, unfortunately, do not allow for making height adjustments, but they compensate for this by coming in at a really affordable price point.

Value

It is always important to use to save you some money whenever we can, without sacrificing the quality of the product.

The price tag of these products is a little bit higher than you may expect, especially when it comes to designs that offer a high level of adjustability or added foam and padded features. If you are looking to save a little bit of money and give these products a try, we found that the steel frame hollow designs that do not allow users to adjust the height are going to be your most affordable option. We noticed that the price tag would make large jumps when various features were added, such as adjustable settings or padding. Keep in mind, however, that these products are very versatile, and there is quite a lot of compound exercises that you can engage in, which makes them well worth the slightly higher price point in our opinion.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Materials

Additional padding is something that isn't going to be for everyone. Some users find that a thick layer of padding is something that is going to hinder their ability to really grip the bottom of the platform, especially when reaching for heights above 24 inches. However, this layer of padding is actually going to take a good deal of pressure off of your knees and joints. If you are someone that is concerned about your knees, we think that will be in your best interest to spring for the extra padding. However, if this is something that doesn't concern you, save the money and opt for a simple padless design.

Durability

These products are going to take a beating over time. One thing that we noticed that made a product a little less prone to cracking than the others was the basic frame of the unit. Perfect cubes are great because they are going to allow you to simply adjust the heights by flipping it on its side, but they are a little lacking in durability. If you really want something that is going to stand the test of time without cracking, you are going to want to select something that is shaped more like a trapezoid. This design is going to take a lot of pressure off of the walls by placing more pressure at the bottom of the unit where it is strongest.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What are some of the benefits of using them?

a:

If you have ever engaged in any type of plyometric workout, you know that the goal is to spend as little time on the ground as possible. Any trainer will tell you that the higher than you can propel your body up off of the ground- the more benefits you will reap. Sometimes it’s hard to gauge just how high you are able to reach, because in your head you may feel like Michael Jordan, but in reality, you are barely clearing 6 inches. These products are a great way to gauge just how high you can travel, and it is also going to allow you to set new height goals to conquer. We know there is no better feeling than smashing past a previous barrier, and these products are going to help you achieve just that. Plus, as with any plyometric exercise, these products are great for compound movements- which means you are going to get your entire body engaged in just one simple movement.

q: What’s all this talk about scraped shins?

a:

You might have noticed that some brands go to great lengths to coat their products in a thick layer of rubber, or even shave down the edges to help protect your shins. Hopping up onto to simple surface may seem easy enough, but as you progress through your workout your legs are going to get pretty tired. As your legs get tired, your once perfect form is going to crumble a little bit- and this is typically where your shins suffer. If you fail to clear the surface on a launch, your shins are going to catch the edge of the device and scrape against it- and it’s not going to feel great. Products that have soft edges are great because they are going to prevent injury to your shins. Some users will even psych themselves out of launching at all because they are afraid that they don’t have the strength to clear the top.

q: Can they be used for other things?

a:

Absolutely! One of the biggest appeals of these products is that they can serve as a staple piece in your home gym because they can be used for so much. If you want to give your knees and joints a break from all of the hopping around, you can simply use them as a step up for a good cardio workout. Using it in this way will work all of the same muscles as plyo, but with less stress on your joints. Many users also like to use them for things like dips, elevated push-ups, or side to side step ups to work different areas of the leg and core.

q: How do I know what size I need?

a:

If you are just starting out, you are going to want to start with a height that is in the entry level, which is about 12 inches. However, if you stick with it to improve your speed and height, you are going to want to ensure that you select something that is going to be able to grow along with you. That’s why we recommend that you select a design that has multiple height settings in one device. You can either select a cube model that typically has various levels when to flip it over on its side or a platform design that will allow you to raise and lower the platform as progress in your training. The tallest design that we have seen out there on the market maxes out at 30 inches, so keep that number as a reference when deciding upon which style is going to work best for your training.

q: What muscle groups do they work?

a:

If you are looking to crack open walnuts using just your thighs- jump training is the way to go! These products are going to make your legs incredibly strong, because you are not only engaging in all of those large muscles in your legs such as your glutes, hamstrings, and quads, but you are also engaging all of those tiny little muscles that will need to be under tension to help you balance and generate enough force to lift you up off of the ground. This type of training doesn’t just stop at the legs, however. Plyometrics involves a lot of compound movements, which means that your whole body is going to need to get involved. When you generate enough force to lift yourself up off of the ground, you are naturally going to pump your arms and swing them to propel you up to the surface, and you are also going to engage your core a great deal for stabilization. Hands down, this is one of the best exercises out that that can burn calories while building some serious muscles!

q: Is it going to be hard on my knees and joints?

a:

Any type of training that has you bouncing around is going to be a little stressful on your joints- this is just a basic fact. However, there are some products out there on the market that are designed to mitigate this stress a bit. If you are worried about the state of your joints, we suggest that you select a design that has a pretty thick rubber or foam padding. These designs are going to be a little bit more expensive, but they can really help absorb some of the impact when you land up at the top.