to top 10 table

Best Ice Scrapers

last updated Feb 21, 2019

It is that time of the year once again and although we all welcome crisp snow and dreamlike ambiance wherever we look, we all share the same predicament during this cold season. The pile of snow in our front yard, not to mention the ones that cover the car, can be a huge task to deal with.

We all have very busy schedules and we all have to scrape tons of snow almost every single morning just to get to work during the winter season. We all need a good old hand in accomplishing this task and because we understand your worries, we have reviewed and chose ten top of the line ice scrapers on Amazon that you can choose from.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 13 hrs of research

icon
SC Cone Scraper
97.6/100 our score
Style
98
Advanced Features
98
Materials
98
Size
97
Ease of Use
97
SC Cone Scraper
Why is it better?

Easy to use

It saves you a lot of time because the cone shape scrapes more ice

Comfortable to grasp

It doubles as a funnel if you ever need one

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
SC Cone Scraper
Test Winner: SC Cone Scraper
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1,877
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
13
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
17
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Sami Kritz:

Face the snow this year with one of these top-rated ice scrapers. We have updated a few links to enhance your buying experience. Additionally, we have overhauled the FAQ section to clarify any concerns you may have. Don't forget to vote and tell us which criterion is most important to you!

Sorting Options
Style Advanced Features Materials Size Ease of Use Features By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Style
98%
Advanced Features
98%
Materials
98%
Size
97%
Ease of Use
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$8.55
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Style
96%
Advanced Features
95%
Materials
94%
Size
93%
Ease of Use
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$9.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Style
91%
Advanced Features
90%
Materials
89%
Size
88%
Ease of Use
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$8.93
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Style
86%
Features
85%
Materials
84%
Size
83%
Ease of Use
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$11.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Style
81%
Advanced Features
80%
Materials
79%
Size
78%
Ease of Use
77%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$9.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74
Style
76%
Advanced Features
75%
Materials
74%
Size
73%
Ease of Use
72%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$7.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
69
Style
71%
Advanced Features
70%
Materials
69%
Size
68%
Ease of Use
67%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$9.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
66.6
Style
67%
Advanced Features
67%
Materials
67%
Size
66%
Ease of Use
66%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$12.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
66.2
Style
66%
Advanced Features
67%
Materials
65%
Size
66%
Ease of Use
67%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$7.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
65
Style
65%
Advanced Features
65%
Materials
65%
Size
65%
Ease of Use
65%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.03.19)
$7.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • SC Cone Scraper
  • Dragon Squama Mitt
  • Hopkins
  • Desired Tools
  • Matcc
  • Revheads
  • Snowlion
  • Better Stuff
  • Black Canyon
  • Aikesi
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Best Ice Scrapers

1. SC Cone Scraper

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
SC Cone Scraper
Style
98
Advanced Features
98
Materials
98
Size
97
Ease of Use
97
best offer for today
$8.55
Pros:

Easy to use

It saves you a lot of time because the cone shape scrapes more ice

Comfortable to grasp

It doubles as a funnel if you ever need one

Cons:

You can’t choose the color even though there are different colors available.

This ice scrapping item is cone shaped for your convenience. It is easy to grab on the other end and all you have to do is place it against your window and scrape away! It's very easy to use and also very time-consuming. Because of its design, you get the job done in half the time.

Read more

Style
This amazing product is 100% made in the U.S scraper with a cone shape to allow you to get the task done in less time. It is designed to conform to the curvature of your windows so you won’t miss a mark.

Features
It has 18” scraping surface lets you cover more area so it saves you time. It is lightweight so it’s very easy to use and it doesn’t take much effort holding onto it. It is also comfortable to grip and it saves you not just time but also money because you don’t have to start your engine just to thaw the frost or ice. You can directly scrape all the ice off with just this scraper cone.

Materials
This product comes in different colors and it is made of soft plastic that doesn’t scratch or damages your windshield.

Size
Its dimension is 8x8x7 inches and weighs 1.44 ounces.

Ease of use
Its cone shape makes it easy to scrape the ice and the other end makes it easy to grip. It has" spikes" in the other end of the cone so you can break the ice or frost that has hardened overnight; that way, you can easily sink the scraper in.

2. Dragon Squama Mitt

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Dragon Squama Mitt
Style
96
Advanced Features
95
Materials
94
Size
93
Ease of Use
92
best offer for today
$9.95
Pros:

It is water-proof and the cover keeps your hand warm

It has an elastic band that keeps the ice from getting in

The ice chisel is sturdy and durable

Comfortable to use

Cons:

The scraper itself has a tendency to pop out of the fleece cover

This product is made not just for usability but also for comfort. It is made with a fleece cover that is soft and warm but waterproof so you can do the scraping without freezing your hands. It even has an elastic band so it snugly fits your arm. It is one size fits all. It has a thick and durable blade that effectively scrapes off the ice from your windshield.

Read more

Style
It is an amazing item that is lined with thick fleece cover to keep your hands warm and comfortable. It is also waterproof to keep your hands from getting wet. The scraper itself is made of durable plastic that will scrape off the ice without scratching your windshield.

Features
This product is one size fits all and can be worn either with your right or left hand. It allows you to conveniently grip the scrapers from inside the cover so you won’t have to miss a spot.

Materials
The cover of this item is made of fleece and is waterproof. The blade is made of durable plastic that will cut through the ice without damaging the glass surface.

Size
The height of this item is 14.5 inches and 6.5 inches wide. It also weighs 5 ounces.

Ease of Use
This is very easy to use and comfortable too because it has a fleece cover to protect your hands while scraping. All you have to do is sink the blade into the ice and scrape it out.

3. Hopkins

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Hopkins
Style
91
Advanced Features
90
Materials
89
Size
88
Ease of Use
87
best offer for today
$8.93
Pros:

More value for your money because of the cheap price and it comes in two

The flat design makes it easy to store away

The claw-like design makes it easy to cut through the ice

Allows for good grip despite the size

Cons:

The handle has a tendency to come off

You can’t choose the color of your scraper

This ice scraper is really worth every penny. It comes in 2 for a set. It has wide and powerful blades that are perfect for scraping ice especially those that have hardened overnight. It is very dependable and will last you a long time!

Read more

Style
It is made of wide powerful blades to cut through ice. It has a compact design so you can store it easily. Each set has 2 ice scrapers in it so you get more value for your money.

Features
The flat, compact design is very suitable for chiseling frost or ice that has hardened on your windshields.

Materials
This item is made of hard plastic but safe enough not to scratch your windshield.

Size
Its dimension is 10x4x1 inches and weighs 5.4 ounces.

Ease of use
It is very easy to use. The handle is short enough to give you a good grip. The wide blade lets you cover more area so you save more time.

4. Desired Tools

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Desired Tools
Style
86
Features
85
Materials
84
Size
83
Ease of Use
82
best offer for today
$11.95
Pros:

You are ensured of top quality

It has a 1-year warranty

When you purchase you are ensured of fast and secure transactions

Cons:

The results may vary for some types of windshields

This item is really heavy-duty for the toughest ice scraping job. The blades are sharp enough to cut through the ice but safe enough to protect your windshield. It comes in two in red and black and the handle is very easy to grip. It is lined so it won’t slip through your hands while scraping.

Read more

Style
It is durable but light-weight with extra thick foam over the handle for easy grip. It comes in 2 colors.

Features
It is made of sharp yet non-abrasive plastic material. It has a stylish design that is suitable for any household.

Materials
This is made of solid ABS plastic and comes in two colors; red and blue.

Size
It is 11.4 inches long with a blade that is 3.7 inches wide. The circumference of the handle is 5.6”.

Ease of use
This must have product is very easy to use. The thick foam over the handle makes it easy to perform the task

5. Matcc

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Matcc
Style
81
Advanced Features
80
Materials
79
Size
78
Ease of Use
77
best offer for today
$9.95
Pros:

It has a textured handle for easy grip

The cloth material of the mitt keeps droplets from entering the mitt

The inside of the mitt is lined with fleece to keep your hands warm

Lightweight

Cons:

The cloth may be a little flimsy for their preference

This is another one with a mitt to protect your hands and keep you warm. It is very comfortable and it helps to keep ice off your hands while working. The blade is made of sharp plastic that is good enough to break through the ice but not leave a scratch on your windows.

Read more

Style
This item is another one of those that thinks about not just getting the job done but also ensures your comfort. The scraper is covered with a mitt made of waterproof material that keeps your hands warm and dry while scraping ice. It also has a sharp blade that scrapes ice without much effort.

Features
This is lined with a mitt that is made of thick fleece and is waterproof. It also has an elastic band to keep your hand warm and keep the ice from getting in. The blade is lightweight and sharp, with an easy grip handle.

Material
The mitt cover is made of Oxford waterproof material and lined with fleece for more comfort. The blade with a Novel flute design is made from lightweight ABS plastic.

Size
This item has dimensions of 9.8x4.7x0.4 inches and it weighs 5.6 ounces.

Ease of use
This product is easy to use and convenient too because of its mitt cover.

6. Revheads

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74
Revheads
Style
76
Advanced Features
75
Materials
74
Size
73
Ease of Use
72
best offer for today
$7.99
Pros:

The two blades make the job of scraping a lot easier

It is easy to stow or hang because of its size and design

It is made for very harsh winter season

Durable material

Cons:

The handle may be a little too short for other people

This scraper is not only heavy duty, but it is also designed to attack the toughest ice with its double blade; one side is smooth while the other side is claw-like. You will spend less time scraping ice with this tough looking, tough performing ice scraper!

Read more

Style
The handle of this product is designed just long enough for scraping ice on your sedan or small truck. It has a soft foam over the grip for easy handling and the sharp blade lets you get the job done fast enough so you won’t have to freeze outside.

Features
This item is designed for the harshest winter. It has a claw-like blade for cutting through thick snow and a sharp smooth blade for scraping. The handle is lined with foam for easy grip. And although it is very sharp, it won’t damage your windshield.

Materials
This is made of hard plastic and foam lined grip.

Size
Its dimension is 9x2x4 inches and weighs 3.2 ounces.

Ease of use
The foam-lined handle of this item makes it easy to grip it and the sharp claw-like blade on the one side and smooth sharp blade on the other side make it very easy for you to scrape the ice on your car in a very short time.

7. Snowlion

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
69
Snowlion
Style
71
Advanced Features
70
Materials
69
Size
68
Ease of Use
67
best offer for today
$9.99
Pros:

It is waterproof

The handle is easy to grip

With money back guarantee

Cons:

It is lightweight and may need more force from the user

Another mitt covered ice scraper, this latest model is not just waterproof to keep your hand dry it is also line with thick fleece to keep your hand warm. It has an elastic band that snugs to your arm to keep the cold from entering and it also helps the mitt from coming off. The blade is made of hard plastic and with a grid on the grip for easy handling,

Read more

Style
This mitt is made of waterproof material and the inside is lined with fleece to keep your hand warm.

Features
This item is waterproof and fits all hand sizes. It can be worn on the left or right hand comfortably. It is made of a sturdy blade to scrape off ice easily. This offers a 100% money back guarantee.

Materials
This item is made of plastic material on the inside and waterproof material on the mitt to protect the hand.

Size
Its dimension is 14x6x0.5 inches and weighs 4 ounces.

Ease of use
The grip of this product is lined so it won’t slip your hand and the mitt has an elastic band to keep it from coming off. It is also designed to keep your hand dry and warm.

8. Better Stuff

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
66.6
Better Stuff
Style
67
Advanced Features
67
Materials
67
Size
66
Ease of Use
66
best offer for today
$12.99
Pros:

It gets the job done in less time

It is designed using modern technology

Easy to use and store

Designed for easy grip

Cons:

Because of the design, it may cause some issues for shorter people since it doesn’t have a handle

This ice scraper by Better Stuff is another one of those innovative designs that help you accomplish the task faster and with less effort. Its dual blade is very ideal for frosted ice on car windows and windshields. The teeth-like blade breaks through the ice and the smoother plane scrapes it clean.

Read more

Style
This is ergonomically designed for better grip and fluid motion. It is compact so it’s easy to stow away and bring anywhere with you.

Features
It used a “Shape-shifting Technology” to enable you to cover every inch of the windshield by conforming to its curve. The ergonomically design puts less strain on the wrist and hands. It lets you chip and scrapes the ice with one quick swipe because of its split edges, one has a teeth-like edge and the other a smooth one.

Materials
It is designed by Better Stuff LLC. It is made from ABS polymer and is recyclable. The blade is locked in by a plastic that completely covers the blade. It has a silicone grip that can also be recycled.

Size
It has a 4.2x5.1x2.5 inch dimension and weighs 2.56 ounces.

Ease of use
This is ergonomically designed for easy grip and use. You can stow away easily as well and all parts are recyclable so it’s environmentally friendly.

9. Black Canyon

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
66.2
Black Canyon
Style
66
Advanced Features
67
Materials
65
Size
66
Ease of Use
67
best offer for today
$7.99

This is one scraper that will last you for a long time. It has a very sleek design and the brass blade gets the job of scraping ice done in less time.

Read more

Style
This brass scraper cuts through ice easily and has an easy grip handle. The brass blade is safe to use on glass surfaces without leaving scratch marks.

Features
The main feature of this item is the brass blade that cuts through ice easily. It has a long handle that lets you reach the edges of the windshield without much effort. It has a sleek design.

Materials
This is made by a good company with the use of brass blades. The handle is made from hard plastic that is sturdy and durable.

Size
This has a 9 inch long handle with a 2 3/4 wide blade.

Ease of use
This is easy to grip handle so you don’t get tired easily. Long handle helps you reach window edges.

10. Aikesi

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
65
Aikesi
Style
65
Advanced Features
65
Materials
65
Size
65
Ease of Use
65
best offer for today
$7.99
Pros:

It is made from quality materials that are durable and long lasting

It is a genuine product made for frost and ice removal

It is light-weight and you can easily store and bring with you anywhere because of its portable size

Cons:

The size might be an issue for some

This ice scraper is one of the top choices because it is designed to get the job done with leverage points on the handle and blade that cuts through ice without much effort.

Read more

Style
It can be used for any type of car or vehicle. It is lightweight with a combination of plastic and stainless steel material designed for cruel winter months.

Features
It is durable and sturdy. The handle of the product is frost proof and the small enough for easy storage. It comes with a 1-year warranty. The handle has a leverage point for the thumb and palm so you can easily scrape through the ice. It has a 1-year warranty.

Materials
The brand of this scraper is made from a combination of lightweight ABS plastic material, TRP wiper and stainless steel attached to the blade.

Size
This product is compact with a dimension of 9.5x5.5x1.5 inches and weighs 5.8 ounces.

Ease of use
It is lightweight and compact. It is frost-proof so you can finish your task without freezing your hand.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Advanced Features

Once all things are considered and you’ve made a purchase, a buyer would think, ”That was it?!”

But when you are buying a product no matter how small or cheap, you have to be critical about the manufacturer or the suppliers after purchase services. At some point, you may have a need for customer support with the product that you bought.

A very good supplier will not just lure you into buying their products; they will make sure that during the purchase you will the best service possible with assistance in purchasing and delivery that is prompt and courteous. After that, they also ensure you of customer support in case there are some issues or concerns with the purchased item. And lastly, you have to check for the warranty of the item. Most products offer a certain warranty like item replacement or repair or a money-back guarantee in case you are not satisfied with your purchase. A lot of people overlook this feature and end up throwing away not just items but good money out the window because they failed to look into these matters prior to making the order.

Materials

There are so many brands out there offering the same item and their prices vary, depending on the features and materials.

However, technically these products are made for one purpose alone, what the manufacturers do is add some features so it can add more value to your money and at the same time afford them an edge over their competitors. But then again, why would you pay for extra features and get the same results as the others. Here we have to carefully look into the purpose of the items and the materials the product is made of.

We have to make sure that even with the most basic features it can deliver the purpose for which it was bought. In some cases, you can also find products that offer the same price but some of them are made from plastic and others from harder to break materials. Y

When we say high-quality materials, we want to make sure that you are not only getting what you paid for, you will also get something from the investment. For example, products with quality materials and can get the work done in half the time will help you to attend to other important business, not let you miss important meetings, or be productive on other tasks. This also means they'll last you for a long time and you get to save on re-purchasing a new item or saving your time and effort on making a complaint and claims from the manufacturer. Having to attend to these things can cost you time and money as well and by all means, we want to avoid that. So make the right choice with a product that helps you maximize your time and investment.

Ease of Use

Not everyone is gifted with technical skills and the ability to figure out complicated things.

And because we all live busy lives and have tons of things in our to-do list every day, it is very important for us to buy things that will accomplish what it was made for without us having to figure out its complexities. It should be easy to figure out and use so we save time and energy.

Products that are no non-sense and user-friendly is on top of our list because we know how frustrating it can be to buy something and expecting the results, only to be faced with loads of instructions to accomplish before you can actually get the job done.

With this criterion, we also took into consideration products that not only intends to do the job of scraping but also took into account the circumstances of the user while doing the task. Like products with mitt; they are very innovative and they were concerned about the possibility of freezing your hands and such that they designed these scrapers with mitt cover.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Advanced Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Durability

We want to make sure that it will last for long and it will deliver what it has promised. Imagine how frustrating it would be for us to buy something for a certain purpose, in this case, an ice scraper and end up disappointed because it was not effective or it broke even before you were able to finish the task? The time it will cost you to file a complaint, request for a refund or a replacement is just too much. So making a wise choice is of utmost importance before you actually pay for it.

Shop or order online?

We know that buying these types of products can be time-consuming because let’s face it, all these products promise the same thing. This is the beauty of buying online, you can choose from several different products with just a click of your finger. You can even get first-hand information from people who have actually bought and tried using it for themselves. You no longer have to run to your favorite depot to get what these products; it can be delivered to your doorstep. Often times, it is so easy to get lost trying to decide which product to buy. If you do your research, choosing the one that will not only give value to your money but also make your life easier will not be that troublesome!

Other Factors to Consider

Size

Yes, definitely size matters! There are so many products that are made to look very attractive in the sense that the size is compromised, more so the design just to make it look nice.

And because people tend to be superficial, we always get tricked into buying the nice looking items since it promises to do the same thing. In the end, we have a product that is nothing but garbage and an addition to a mountain load of failed purchases.

We have to take into consideration the size because of the task at hand. Scraping ice from your car is a manual job aided with a device to make the task easier. If you have a product that is too light, you will end up having to exert more effort to get the job done. Some products would be too heavy; you will end up hurting yourself or damaging your car. We have to choose the size carefully so that we can get the job done without much effort and still achieve the purpose of buying the scrapers in the first place.

Style

Again if you are thinking of buying something as some sort of a necessity you have to be prepared with the numerous options made available to you.

There are so many different brands out there and they have one purpose. An ice scraper is a must-have for areas that are notorious for snowfall during winter and even on places that have moderate snow fall and frost.

The light snow or ice that accumulates over time, while you are sleeping or at work can be difficult to remove. A lot of people have to resort to spending and consuming precious gas to start their engines and slowly thaw the ice just to be able to get on the road home. Others have resorted to using certain solutions that can eventually damage the glass surface of the window or is harmful to the user itself. Choosing the best scraper that will do the job efficiently is also very important in choosing the brands we have recommended.

A cut above the rest means looking into the materials used to create the product. There are many variations of the scraper, some are made of plastic, others with a combination of stainless steel and plastic, others use brass. While they all promise to cut through ice and frost you have to know which of these materials is effective. You also have to know which of these materials can potentially damage your property or can be a safety hazard for you and your family members. There are certain types of plastic that are non-abrasive to glass surfaces so we have to look into this carefully.

Then again we also must take into consideration the design because there have been so many improvements and innovation on these products since it was first developed. While it is logical to be open to change we must be critical of the end result; some may just want to look modern and in-fashion but not necessarily deliver.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Will an ice scraper damage my windshield?
a:

Typically, no. A good rule of thumb to remember is that something that is stronger than glass can scratch glass. For this reason, most ice scrapers are made out of plastic. If they were made of metal, you would have to proceed with caution because metal is stronger than glass and could damage your windshield.

q: Can I use it for cleaning the body of my car?
a:

Although it is made of plastic we suggest you don’t use it for the body. If used with too much force, it could damage the paint or might cause a few scratches on the body or mirrors.

q: What is the difference between a snow brush and an ice scraper?
a:

Some models come with a snow brush on the opposite end or as a whole separate tool. The snow brush is used to brush away the loose snow. Depending on the consistency of the snow, you can use the brush before or after. For the most part, you will use the brush to discard of the loose snow and expose the caked on snow. Then you can use the ice scraper to find your windshield once again and carry on.

q: Can I use an ice scraper for anything else?
a:

Absolutely! Ice and frost doesn't only build up on your car. It can also happen in your freezer. Just the same, this tool will work wonders in your refrigerator. As you may have noticed in the name, you can also use an ice scraper as a scrape tool. You can use this to scrape paint off of the floor or any other surface that you weren't expecting to paint. Additionally, if you are filling in holes in wood, you can use the ice scaper to smooth the surface over. Really, the possabilities are endless.

Sources

  1. M. W. BYRNE, DE-FROSTED: THE 6 BEST ICE SCRAPERS, Mar 19, 2019
  2. Tim Heffernan, The Best Ice Scraper and Snow Brush, Oct 22, 2018