to top 10 table

Best Hose Reels

last updated Feb 19, 2019

A garden hose is the key to keeping your landscaping perky and green even in those oppressively hot summer months, and it is also a great way to easily clean all of your outdoor surfaces such as your patio. The downside to these gadgets is that they take up quite a bit of room, and they can be annoying to wind up and put away yourself. Making a small investment in a hose reel will not only make putting it away a breeze, but a lot of these are designed to have additional storage or surfaces to store all of your important garden gear all in one place. In this buying guide, you will find some of our favorite picks that will make your life easier this summer, as well as adding a little bit of style to your outdoor space.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
 Suncast CPLSSM200B
88.6/100 our score
Capacity
89
Ease of Use
85
Materials
87
Style
90
Value
92
Suncast CPLSSM200B
Why is it better?

Swivel base and additional stakes keep it secured to the ground

Sleek design

Made from UV resistant materials

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Suncast CPLSSM200B
Test Winner: Suncast CPLSSM200B
Interviewed Experts
2
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
10
Researched Sources
Total Readers
10,000
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
16
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sami Kritz:

Enjoy this in-depth review of the top-rated garden hoses available today. As you may have noticed, we have remodeled our buying guides and added in an option to vote on which criterion is most important to you. In addition, we have added a section of "Other Factors to Consider." Scroll through the FAQ to learn more!

Sorting Options
Capacity Ease of Use Materials Style Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Capacity
89%
Ease of Use
85%
Materials
87%
Style
90%
Value
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$67.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Capacity
90%
Ease of Use
92%
Materials
86%
Style
85%
Value
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$93.01
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Capacity
88%
Ease of Use
89%
Materials
85%
Style
83%
Value
79%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Capacity
85%
Ease of Use
83%
Materials
86%
Style
89%
Value
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$82.66
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Capacity
85%
Ease of Use
84%
Materials
86%
Style
90%
Value
74%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Capacity
88%
Ease of Use
79%
Materials
75%
Style
77%
Value
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$49.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
Capacity
79%
Ease of Use
82%
Materials
85%
Style
87%
Value
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$134.04
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Capacity
72%
Ease of Use
84%
Materials
79%
Style
82%
Value
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$109.80
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.2
Capacity
80%
Ease of Use
79%
Materials
75%
Style
72%
Value
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$105.97
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.6
Capacity
84%
Ease of Use
75%
Materials
72%
Style
68%
Value
79%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.05.19)
$125.53
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Suncast CPLSSM200B
  • RL Flo-Master 65HR8
  • Rapid Reel
  • Suncast RSW125D Aquawinder
  • Liberty Garden Products 712
  • Suncast Hosemobile
  • Liberty 710 Navigator
  • Power Products USA
  • Tacklife
  • Goplus
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Suncast CPLSSM200B

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
 Suncast CPLSSM200B
Capacity
89
Ease of Use
85
Materials
87
Style
90
Value
92
best offer for today
$67.99
Pros:

Swivel base and additional stakes keep it secured to the ground

Sleek design

Made from UV resistant materials

Cons:

Some users feel it takes a lot of elbow grease to wind it up

Some feel that the hose connector is not long enough to place it where they wanted

This was one of our favorite options because it not only provides an excellent place to store your line, but it will also protect it from harmful UV rays. Plus, it is designed to stay in place while you unwind it, and wind it back up when you are done using it.

Read more

Capacity
One of the more impressive features about this product is that it is capable of holding an impressive 225 feet of line. It measures to be 26 inches long, 21 inches wide, and 24 inches high.

Ease of use
Just like using a fishing rod, users will simply need to turn the lever at the side of the unit to wind and unwind your line. It has a swivel base to keep the unit from moving as you use it, and it also as a set of stakes to secure it into the ground. The downside about these stakes that it means will also move around a bit if it is placed on a concrete patio.

Materials
The entirety of this unit, including all of the components, is made from a UV resistant plastic. This means that users will be able to leave this design out in all sorts of weather conditions and feel confident that it will hold firm.

Style
We love the boxed designs because it means that users will have a place to store all of their gardening tools such as pots, shovels, and bags of soil up off of the ground and in a place where they know they will not be misplaced.

Value
The cost of this unit runs about in the middle of the road. It isn’t the most expensive out there, but it isn’t the least expensive either. Considering the smart design of this option, we feel that it is a great deal.

Overall
This was one of our top picks because it has a sharp design that will be an excellent accent to any outdoor area, and it is made from materials that will keep your gardening gear safe and secure.

2. RL Flo-Master 65HR8

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
RL Flo-Master 65HR8
Capacity
90
Ease of Use
92
Materials
86
Style
85
Value
87
best offer for today
$93.01
Pros:

Doesn’t require a crank to wind it back up

Some users report their unit has lasted them for over 6 years without any complaints

Cons:

Some users report having a little bit of trouble getting their unit to retract

The hose that is included is a little skinnier than some users would expect

We loved this option because it is not only really easy to use and mount, but it also makes it perfect for those that are working with a limited amount of space in their backyard. Instead of using a crank to wind it back up, this unit is spring loaded so it will do all of the work for you.

Read more

Capacity
This unit can only hold about 65 feet of line, and users must use the line that is included with purchase. It is 20 inches long, 13 inches wide, and 23 inches long.

Ease of use
Our favorite part about this design is how simple it is to use. Initially, you will have to employ the use of some tools from your toolbox to mount the main bracket to a sturdy wall. Once the bracket is in place, simply place the unit on the base, and secure it with a metal rod. Pull your line out, and you are ready to spray. When you are done, give it a little tug like you would a seat belt, and it will roll itself back up.

Materials
The mount for this unit is made from quality metal, and the main unit is composed of a durable plastic that will hold up even in bad weather conditions.

Style
What users really love about this design is that it doesn’t take up a lot of space in their yard, and it has a simple and compact look. Plus, once mounted it can swivel 180 degrees making it perfect for every corner of your yard. When you are done for the season, simply pick it up from the base to store it in the garage.

Value
This unit has a little bit of a higher price tag than some of the more affordable options, but we feel that it is worth the added cost because it comes with a line and a nozzle with you purchase.

Overall
Hands down, this is our favorite choice because it requires very little work from the user. It is simple to install, it can swivel to fit your needs, and a simple tug on the line will bring it right back up where you found it.

3. Rapid Reel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Rapid Reel
Capacity
88
Ease of Use
89
Materials
85
Style
83
Value
79
best offer for today
Pros:

Made from high quality materials

Sports 10 inch never flat tires

Holds up to a lot of abuse

Comes with a 10 year warranty

Cons:

Expensive

There are some that found it a little difficult to assemble

Simplicity and functionality is the name of the game when it comes to this design. This unit may not have the sharp design appeal as some of the other options out there, but it is made from high-quality materials that are built to handle whatever you can throw at it.

Read more

Capacity
This unit can accommodate a line that is about 100 feet for ¾ inch thickness, or 150 feet for ⅝ inch thickness. It weighs about 33 pounds when empty.

Ease of use
Yes, you are going to bust out your trusty toolbox to put this unit together, but the good news is that users report that it is fairly easy. Once assembled, simply turn the crank at the front of the unit to wind and unwind your line. The tires at the base make it easy to travel around your yard with this unit without fearing getting stuck in muddy soil.

Materials
The one thing that we loved about this design is that it is made from high-quality materials that are made to stand the test of time. The frame is constructed with a high-quality powder coated metal. It also sports 10 inch flat free treaded tires. What is even better is that all of the line connections are made from metal.

Style
This unit struggles a little bit in the style department. While this will not add any style or character to your outdoor space, it will provide a mobile base that can easily be wheeled into the garage when you are having the family over for a cookout and need to clear up some yard space.

Value
HIgh-quality materials mean a higher price point, and that principle applies to this model. This is one of the more expensive designs out there on the market, and will likely set you back as much money as you spent on your gas leaf blower. However, if you need something that is made from high-quality materials and is easy to use, we feel that this is well worth the padded price tag.

Overall
It may be a little on the expensive side, but this unit is made built to last. From the easy of the metal crank wheel to the 10-inch tires, you will find little faults in this option. Plus, if you do happen to find any faults, it is backed up by an impressive 10-year warranty.

4. Suncast RSW125D Aquawinder

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Suncast RSW125D Aquawinder
Capacity
85
Ease of Use
83
Materials
86
Style
89
Value
80
best offer for today
$82.66
Pros:

Trusted brand

One touch to wind your line (no crank needed)

Narrow footprint

Sleek rattan resin frame

Cons:

Some users feel it is very hard to pull the line out

Users do not like that it uses 4-8 gallons of water simply to wind it up

Suncast is making our list yet again with their smart Aquawinder design. This box option has a sharp design that will look great on any patio, and it has an internal water-powered mechanism that will wind your line back by itself when you are done using it with just the flick of a button.

Read more

Capacity
This unit can hold a line that measures to be up to 125 feet if it is ⅝ inches in thickness. It stands to be about 24 inches tall and weighs just over 16 pounds when empty.

Ease of use
Using this design is one of the easiest products out there on the market. It arrives fully assembled, so it will be ready to go right out of the box. Simply hook it up to hour outdoor spigot, and pull the line out to your desired length. When you are ready to wind it back up, press flick the switch located on the side and a water-powered mechanism inside will wind it up for you.

Materials
We liked the exterior of this product is made from a dark brown rattan-style resin that might actually match some of your outdoor patio furniture.

Style
As we already mentioned, this unit has a rattan style to the exterior of the box that makes it look like just an ordinary table or piece of patio furniture. Instead of having a square box shape, this unit is a slimmer rectangle that makes it easier to fit into smaller spaces.

Value
What we liked about this option is that while it sports a crankless design, it still comes in at an affordable price point. While it isn’t the most affordable option out there on the market, we feel that it is offered at an excellent price point.

Overall
If you are looking for something that has a boxed footprint that is just a little more narrow than most, and has an automatic winder so that you can save your elbow crease for these deep-rooted weeds, this is an excellent option that comes in at a reasonable price.

5. Liberty Garden Products 712

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Liberty Garden Products 712
Capacity
85
Ease of Use
84
Materials
86
Style
90
Value
74
best offer for today
Pros:

Made from high quality materials

Easy to mount

Swivels 180 degrees

Wire storage basket is perfect for gloves and other gardening tools

Cons:

Does not come with mounting hardware

A little expensive

This option is great for those that don’t have a lot of outdoor space to work with. It mounts to an exterior wall, and has an easy to use crank that will make keeping your plants hydrated and your patio clear of clutter simple and easy.

Read more

Capacity
Just like many other standard options, this unit can hold up to 125 feet of a line that is ⅝ inches thick. It measures to be about 20 inches high, 19 inches wide and stands to be 22 inches high.

Ease of use
What we found from past users is that this unit is pretty easy to install. Simply mount the base to a flat surface somewhere in your backyard or a post. Once all of the lines are connected to the main water source, you can wind and unwind the line with the sturdy crank found on the side of the unit.

Materials
The entirety of this unit is made from high-quality powder coated metal that will hold up quite well throughout all 4 seasons. The crank is made from the same high-quality metal, but it has the addition of a soft rubber grip to make using it just a little easier.

Style
While this unit has a basic utilitarian design, we liked that it looks quite sharp and modern when mounted to a post or the side of a building. It also has the addition of a storage basket on the side to hold important gear such as gloves, shovels, and trowels.

Value
This isn’t the least expensive option out there on the market, but we feel that the slightly padded price tag is worth it considering the quality of materials used and innovative design.

Overall
For the price, this is a great option, and it is perfect for those that are working without much room in their backyard. It is just a little bit more expensive, but the addition of a storage basket as well as a rubber coated grip for the crank make it worth it in the long run.

6. Suncast Hosemobile

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Suncast Hosemobile
Capacity
88
Ease of Use
79
Materials
75
Style
77
Value
91
best offer for today
$49.99
Pros:

Incredibly affordable

Wheeled base makes it easy to move around and take in and out of storage

Can hold 175 feet of line

Cons:

Difficult to wind

All of the fittings are made from plastic

For those that are looking for something that is more affordable, but still comes from a trusted brand, this is going to be your best bet. It sports a small frame that it mobilized by wheels that makes it easy to travel to various parts of your yard.

Read more

Capacity
What is impressive about this unit is that it is able to whole quite a bit more line than some of the standard designs, with a capacity of 175 feet of line that is ⅝ of an inch thick. It weighs about 12 pounds and is 20 inches high.

Ease of use
There is no need to bust out that old toolbox because this unit comes fully assembled and ready to use right out of the box. All you will need to do it hook up the main line to your outdoor spigot and you are ready to go.

Materials
The material used to make up this model is lightweight plastic. This material is very durable in the cold winter months and the hot summer sun, but the lighter weight makes it more difficult to hold in place while you are winding you line up after you are finished working the yard.

Style
This unit has a simple design that serves more of a utilitarian function without bringing any additional style to your outdoor space. On the bright side, the wheels on the base make it easy to roll into storage when you are having company over for a cookout.

Value
The most impressive feature of this design is its price point. This is, by far, one of the most affordable options out there on the market.

Overall
This is a great choice for those that want to keep their tools nice and organized, but don’t want to spend the higher price points as some of the higher end models. The downside to this option, however, is that the lightweight material makes it a little difficult to wind and unwind.

7. Liberty 710 Navigator

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
Liberty 710 Navigator
Capacity
79
Ease of Use
82
Materials
85
Style
87
Value
75
best offer for today
$134.04
Pros:

Swivels 180 degrees, and it able to be easily locked in place

Table on the top is perfect for holding tools and potted plants

Decorative design

Easy to crank

Cons:

A little expensive

Some found that it will rust over time

What we loved most about this option is that it has a nice design that will add a lot of charm to any outdoor space, but it also is very functional and has a few extra features that you might not often see on other options out there on the market.

Read more

Capacity
Just like many of the other designs, this unit can hold about 125 feet of line that is ⅝ of an inch wide. It weighs 14 pounds and is 23.5 inches deep.

Ease of use
You will have to employ the use of some tools to mount this unit to the side of our house or to a post. The bad news here is that the mounting hardware is not included with purchase.

Materials
We like that this unit is made from a high quality steel that has a bronze powder coating to protect it from rusting out in the elements. The crank has a rubber handle to make it easier to wind up your line.

Style
The style of this unit is what we like most about it. It has a decorative wheel along the sides that make it look as well as a table on the top that is perfect for holding gardening tools or even a place to display potted flowers.

Value
The cost of this unit costs quite a bit more than many of the average priced options, but the higher price point is well worth it for a product that has a great design while also offering a high function frame that is easy to use.

Overall
We love this option because it will help store your tools while offering a lot of style and charm to your yard. Plus, because it mounts to a post or on the side of your house, it won’t take up any room on your patio.

8. Power Products USA

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Power Products USA
Capacity
72
Ease of Use
84
Materials
79
Style
82
Value
88
best offer for today
$109.80
Pros:

100% money back guarantee

Easy to roll up

Smaller footprint

Cons:

Only holds 50 feet of line

Plastic mount

Some had difficulty mounting it

Where this product really shines is in how easy it is to use. It comes with a hose that works only for this shell, so you will not be able to use your existing line. It mounts to the side of your house, and with a simple tug will roll itself back up into the shell with very little effort on the part of the user.

Read more

Capacity
The downside of this option is that it has a line that will only reach about 50 feet, which pales in comparison to standard options that can reach about 125 feet. It weighs about 20 pounds, and it 10 inches wide which makes it incredibly compact while not in use.

Ease of use
This is one of the things that we liked most about this product, and it makes it perfect for older users that may have trouble generating enough elbow grease to roll up their line with a crank. Once it is mounted to the side of your house, all you will need to do is pull out the line, and then give it a quick tug like you would a seatbelt when you are ready to roll it back up.

Materials
The shell of this unit is made from a good quality plastic that will hold up in all sorts of weather conditions. Unfortunately, this model uses a plastic mount as well to hold it in place. While this plastic will hold it securely in place, users have to make sure that they mount it perfectly evenly to avoid it losing strength over time.

Style
The gray shell of this unit is made to blend in with your surroundings and fit neatly against your house. We like that it can swivel 180 degrees and can fit snugly against your house when not in use.

Value
While the cost of this unit is just slightly higher than many of the averagely priced options, we feel that the slightly higher price point is well worth it based upon the innovative design, as well as the inclusion of a special 50-foot line.

Overall
This unit does have a few downsides, but for users that don’t need a long line, this unit will be an excellent addition to their gardening needs. We love that it is lightweight, easy to use, and comes in at a great price point.

9. Tacklife

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.2
Tacklife
Capacity
80
Ease of Use
79
Materials
75
Style
72
Value
85
best offer for today
$105.97
Pros:

Easy to mount- comes with mounting hardware

Unique black and orange shell

Retracts easily

Cons:

Over time, so users ran into trouble pulling the line out of the shell

What users really like about this design is that it has a bulkier black shell with orange accents that will mount to the side of your house or on a post for easy access without taking up any room on your patio.

Read more

Capacity
This unit can only hold up to 65 feet of line within the shell. While this might not seem like a lot, it is about 15 feet more line that users would normally get with designs that have the line included in the unit.

Ease of use
What we really liked about this unit is that the mounting hardware is included with purchase (which is something that a lot of companies do not include, surprisingly). Once it is properly mounted, users will simply pull out their needed amount of line, and then just give it a quick tug to roll it back into place.

Materials
While the shell is made from a high-quality black and orange plastic material, all of the connections and components are made from metal to ensure that they won’t break or snap on you, even when exposed to the elements for extended periods of time.

Style
While the style is something that may not match your rustic rattan patio furniture, it has a sharp style that has a look reminiscent of your lawn power tools such as a mower or leaf blower.

Value
The cost of this unit is just a little bit more than some of the more affordable options, but not by much. Considering that you will receive a warranty card in case anything goes wrong with your unit, we feel that this is an excellent deal for the price.

Overall
For those that are looking for something that is easy to use, and is made from high-quality materials that will stand the test of time without breaking the bank, this is a really great option.

10. Goplus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.6
Goplus
Capacity
84
Ease of Use
75
Materials
72
Style
68
Value
79
best offer for today
$125.53
Pros:

Can be placed on the ground or mounted

100 foot line included

Cons:

Slightly expensive

Included nozzle breaks easily

Some feel that the line is made from a flimsy material

What we really liked about the Goplus option is that it gives users the option to either mount it to their house, or place it on the ground. It has a style that it a little different than some of the other options out there on the market, and users love that it is very easy to use.

Read more

Capacity
This unit can hose about 100 feet of line within the casing, and users cannot use their own line inside of the unit. It stands about 18 inches tall and weighs in at just under 30 pounds- making it one of the heavier options out there on the market.

Ease of use
Users can opt to mount this unit to the side of their house or to a post (hardware is not included) or they can simply place it on the ground and the 360 swivel base will prevent the unit from being knocked over while in use.

Materials
The line is made out of 100 percent PVC, and the shell is made out of high-quality plastic. What users really appreciate in this model is that the connections are made from metal parts, so it means that there will be less of a chance of a leak from cracked plastic components.

Style
The style of this is just a little different. It uses white and gray plastic in a flat rectangular box that looks a lot like a closed off box window fan.

Value
The price of this unit is a little bit more than the averagely priced options on the market but we feel like it is well worth the cost. Users will have the option to select whether they want to mount it to their house, but it still has a swivel base so that they can place it on the ground and use it without fearing it will tip over.

Overall
If you are looking for a great house for a hose that you don’t have yet- this option is going to be your best bet because it comes with a 100-foot line already housed inside the high-quality plastic shell.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Capacity

Whether you have acres of rolling hills, or a little postage stamp of a yard, we have found products that will fit the needs of all.

The capacity of a unit determines how much line it can comfortably hold. From what we discovered, the average length of line is about 125 feet. Products that have over 125 feet of line are considered to be above average, and are typically used for very large yards. Products that have under 125 feet of line capacity are a little on the small side, and are ideal for smaller yards. Typically when we see products with a line capacity of under 125 feet, this is usually for the wall mounted options that come equipped with their special line that is included with purchase. We also checked the weight of each unit. When it comes to yard tools, lighter options typically mean that they are easier to use when working in the yard, but lighter isn’t exactly a good thing when it comes to these products. We wanted to make sure that we found products that had a little bit of weight to them- especially for the ground options- to ensure that they won’t topple over while you are trying to unwind or wind up your line. Lighter options were generally accepted for the designs that mount to the side of your house or on a post, but proceed with caution with lightweight wall mounted, because plastic mounts are a recipe for trouble in the long run.

Ease of Use

These products are designed to make you life easier, so we made sure to only select designs that were easy to use, as well as assemble.

This was the most important feature that we considered, because if it isn’t easy to use, then you are more than likely to continue to just leave your line on the ground after a long and tiring day of gardening. We want you to conserve all of your energy for pulling up stubborn weeds, and not waste it on a stubborn and sticky crank that always seems to get snagged. That’s why we made sure that select designs that an easy to use crank that had a smart design, or opted for products that could find themselves without the need of any effort on your part. While we included self-winding options on our list, they were necessarily our favorite. What we discovered is that these options were more prone to error and became less responsive over time, as seen by many users reviews that we had combed through. When an enclosed and self winding option becomes snagged, users will have to burn precious daylight prying open their product to find where the snag lies. With self cranking options, snags are easier to spot and there is less of a risk of it breaking down. Plus, some self winding options use over gallons of water just to wind it back up, and many users do not feel it is acceptable to them to waste that much water for something that they could do themselves.

Materials

These products are going to be left outside in the rain and snow, so we made sure that they were made from materials that could hold up to whatever mother nature could throw at it.

Just like any other outdoor lawn gear, you want to take a look at the materials that were used to make it. For the most part, products that were made from resin, plastic, or powder coated metal were generally considered acceptable. These types of materials are made to withstand cold temperatures, and some of the plastics can protect your line from damaging UV rays in the heat of the summer months. There is one thing that we made sure to consider, however, that could become a problem. When it comes to mounting hardware, brackets, and connections, you are going to want to ensure that you use metal materials. For mounting brackets, it is simply a matter of securely staying put. Plastic mounts can be used, but users will have to be extra careful to ensure that it is completely level and even or they run the risk of it falling. Metal line connections are important because these products are going to be outside all year in the elements. If they are made from plastic, they could crack and break either in the cold winter months, or become weak under hot UV rays in the summertime. If you have a leak where the water meets the connection line, your product will become useless (unless you run down to the hardware store and pick up a few replacement parts).

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Attachments

Blasting your plants with a heavy stream of water isn't always healthy. The addition of a nozzle or water wand can help disperse the water in a more manageable manner. These attachments will make it easier for you to give the right amount of water to each plant.

Avoid the Sunshine

Make sure that wherever you store your garden hose is not in the sun. The sun can either dry out the hose, if it is made from PVC, and cause it to crack or it can even melt the hose and leave residue on your hands.

Size

Making sure that you get the right size is going to not only help you get the most out of your line, but it is also going to make it a lot easier to use. Shorter lines are perfect fot smaller yards, but it is also great for older gardeners that might have a bit of trouble working with longer lines.

Other Factors to Consider

Style

While style isn’t something as imperative as ease of use or materials, it is still something that we considered. You no doubt take a lot of pride in your lawn, so it is only natural that you want to purchase something that will be as functional as it is stylish. What we found is that there are two schools of thought when it comes to these products. They are either designed to bring a little bit of style to your outdoor space, or they are made from materials that are made to blend in with the surroundings. The latter is typically composed of plastic in neutral colors such as tan and brown, so it may just blend right into the background. More stylish option include box models that are made to look like a simple storage box. Users typically place these options on their patio, and the rattan resin material may even match your existing patio furniture. We really liked the mounted options that had a table or storage basket on top. These models were not only incredibly functional and easy to use, but they also brought a little bit of old world charm to any outdoor space.

Value

We want to save you a little bit of money where we can, but not at the risk of sacrificing quality. From what we found, these products can get a little pricey, and even some of the more affordable options cost about the same amount that you would spend filling up your gas tank. So, be prepared to dish out more money than you may have intended to spend on one of these products. The good news is that the additional cost is going to be well worth it in the long run, because not only will these products last for a very long time, but it will also protect your line from sun damage or from deteriorating from laying on the ground all summer. When conducting our research, we made sure to select options that ran about in the middle of the road in terms of price. However, we also included a very affordable option for those looking to save a little bit of money, as well as higher priced options that have a lot of charm as well as superior functionality. It is up to you to determine how much you want to spend on one of these products, and any option on our list is going to be an excellent investment in your yard.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are they difficult to assemble?
a:

From what we discovered, many of these styles require absolutely no assembly when the arrive to you in the mail. Many of the free standing options will require the user to stake it into the ground if they are placing it on a soft surface. Designs that have wheels typically have a little bit of assembly, so keep that in mind if opting for a more mobile option. Styles that affix to the side of your house or a post require the use of tools to secure the bolts in place. It is worth noting that many of the options out there- even some of the higher end designs- do not come with a set of mounting hardware included with your purchase. Be sure to check the contents of each package to ensure that it comes with the right tools you will need for installation, or you are going to have to make an additional trip to the hardware store.

q: Should I purchase one with a crank, or one that retracts itself?
a:

Anything that claims to do all of the heavy lifting for you may initially seem like it is going to be the better option, but there are some drawbacks to the self retracting designs that you might want to consider first. Most of these options are spring loaded, and some have a water pressure operated system inside that uses water to wind your line. The downside to the water powered options is that they can be terribly wasteful, and on average waste between 4-7 gallons of water just to wind it back up. The downside to the spring loaded options is that they aren’t always reliable. Sometimes you line might wind up at just the wrong angle to cause it to get caught or tangled. If that happens, it means that you will have to take the casing off of your unit to sort out the tangled mess waiting for you inside. Opting for a design that you have to crank yourself may mean that you will have to do some manual labor, but it will also mean that you won’t have to worry about your line getting caught, or wasting any precious water.

q: Can I leave them outside all year?
a:

If you live in a part of the world with harsh and cold winters, you might be wondering whether or not you will be able to leave it outside during those cold months. You can, in fact, leave them outside during the winter, but there are a few steps you must take to ensure that your product does not become damaged. The first thing you need to do is turn off the water to the unit. Once the water has been shut off, lay your line out to ensure that no water will be left in the line. Water left in the line will freeze as the temperature plummet, and that means that it could cause your line to crack. With all of those precautions completed, it is perfectly safe to leave your line and your reel outside all year.

q: Will it work with my existing hose?
a:

The answer to this question lies with the style of product that you purchase. Many of the smaller, wall mounted options often come with their own line, and users will not be able to swap in their own design into the casing. If you already have a line that you love, we suggest selecting an option that doesn’t come with its own line. Installing your unit to the mount is fairly simple and straightforward. Simply connect the line to the outdoor water supply, and then connect your line to the base. We found that some users came across a little bit of difficulty when faulty connections, but they can often be purchased at your local hardware store.

q: What can the storage trays and baskets be used for?
a:

You might have noticed that many of the options on the market have additional trays or baskets located along the top. The box models have an entire flat surface that users can use for outdoor storage. While some users like to use their box designs as an additional table to display potted plants or lawn decorations, some like to take the more functional approach. Some users place all of their gardening tools on the top of the box or in the included basket, such as gardening gloves, spades, trowels, hoes, and even watering cans. If you keep all of your gear safely in one spot next to your water supply, taking care of your lawn this upcoming season will be a cinch.

q: What is the benefit of the caddy design?
a:

As you may have seen, there are three different styles on the market: the box design, the mounted design, and the caddy design. This option has a set of wheels on the back so that you can easily move it. Why would you want to opt for this design? Often, gardeners just want to use their line in a small space without the need to unravel the entire line. The addition of wheels along the back will allow users to access their water source without letting their line out. Plus, the mobile design makes it easier to roll it over into storage if you are having your family over for a cookout and you need the additional patio space.

Sources

  1. Wikipedia, Hose reel, Public entry
  2. Engineering 360, Hose Reel Information, Educational