to top 10 table

Best Heated Gloves

last updated Feb 08, 2019

When engaging in any outdoor activity, keeping your hands and fingers warm is going to be important. Whether you are hiking, hunting, or fishing, warm hands is going to be the key to a great and productive day. While we wanted to select designs that are going to leave your hands thinking you are spending a day at a hot beach, we also wanted them to be functional so that you will still be able to have the same finger agility that you would have with just your standard pair. In this guide, you will find some of the best products out there on the market to keep your hands warm so that you can endure the elements for longer periods of time.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
SAVIOR
89.6/100 our score
Style
91
Battery Life
90
Materials
92
Fit
88
Value
87
SAVIOR
Why is it better?

Made from high-quality materials

Can hold a charge for multiple hours

Users feel they fit perfectly

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
SAVIOR
Test Winner: SAVIOR
Amazon Link
Interviewed Experts
2
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Total Readers
10,000
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
19
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Battery Life Materials Fit Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Style
91 %
Battery Life
90 %
Materials
92 %
Fit
88 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$139.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Style
90 %
Battery Life
92 %
Materials
87 %
Fit
86 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$85.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Style
90 %
Battery Life
85 %
Materials
86 %
Fit
89 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Style
86 %
Battery Life
89 %
Materials
81 %
Fit
87 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$76.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
Style
84 %
Battery Life
80 %
Materials
75 %
Fit
79 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.4
Style
89 %
Battery Life
79 %
Materials
81 %
Fit
73 %
Value
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$65.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.2
Style
78 %
Battery Life
74 %
Materials
83 %
Fit
70 %
Value
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$70.98
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76
Style
80 %
Battery Life
76 %
Materials
75 %
Fit
71 %
Value
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$69.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.5
Style
78 %
Battery Life
69 %
Materials
76 %
Value
67 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$99.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
69.8
Style
75 %
Battery Life
67 %
Materials
69 %
Fit
70 %
Value
68 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$75.59

Top 10 Picks

1. SAVIOR

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
SAVIOR
Amazon Link
Style
91
Battery Life
90
Materials
92
Fit
88
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$139.99
Pros:

Made from high-quality materials

Can hold a charge for multiple hours

Users feel they fit perfectly

Cons:

Expensive

This is easily one of the best options that we have found out there on the market. While it does come in at a pretty steep price tag, you aren’t going to be able to beat the quality of materials users, as well as the smart design and additional features. If you can swing the extra money, this is going to be one of your best options.

Read more

Style

This option comes in a solid black design with white lines running down the top of the hand and fingers. We really like about this design is that it has a strap the sits just the bottom of the palm that can be tightened to keep cold air out, and it also runs up your wrist and has a drawstring there as well.

Battery life

Once the battery is fully charged, it can provide consistent heat between 2.5-6 hours. It delivers heat via carbon fiber heating elements that run over the top of the hand, fingers, and thumb.

Materials

Not only does this design have a heating element the runs for hours, but it also is made from high-quality materials that will keep your hands warm even if the heat it off. It composed of three layers of materials. The first layer is lined with high-quality fleece, followed by the heated liner, and topped off with a soft layer of insulating cotton.

Fit

The fit of this design lies somewhere between a very fitted leather glove, and a more bulkier option. It is offered in sizes that start with extra small, and fun all the way up to an impressive XXX-large. While there isn’t a sizing chart, many users felt that these fit their hands perfectly.

Value

The bad news here is that they are offered at an incredibly high price point, and can cost at least double of what many of the other options on our list run for. However, we feel that this price point is well worth it based upon the quality of materials that are used in addition to what past users have to say about this design.

Overall

If you need something that is going to be the best quality and will be incredibly effective at keeping your hands warm and your fingers agile, this is going to be one of the best choices if you can swing the pretty high price point.

2. Kamlif

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Kamlif
Amazon Link
Style
90
Battery Life
92
Materials
87
Fit
86
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$85.99
Pros:

Batteries will keep a charge for 3-7 hours

Different styles available

24-month warranty offered

Cons:

A little expensive

Some users noticed a buzzing noise when placed on the highest setting

What we liked most about this design is that it is offered in a wide variety of styles, and many of them are designed to promote the flexibility of your fingers. If you want to keep your hands warm, but you still need the use of your fingers to tie off lines, this options from Kamlif is going to be one of your better choices.

Read more

Style

As we mentioned earlier, we really like the style of this design. Users can elect for a more bulkier version (that is going to offer a lot more insulation and heat distribution), but if they want something that is a little thinner to promote finger agility, there are thinner options that are available at a slightly lower price point.

Battery life

Using 2600mA rechargeable batteries, a full charge can provide users between about 3-7 hours of continuous warmth that runs through the top and fingers of each unit. When up and running, this battery is able to achieve temperatures of about 150 degrees.

Materials

While the palms of your hand are constructed of high quality leather, the tops are made from a durable and waterproof polyester so that you can ensure that no water will be able to penetrate the surface. The inside is lined with a velvety soft lining that is going to leave your hands very happy.

Fit

There may be a little issue with how they are going to fit because each design is one size fits all. However, there are differences in the women and men’s styles, where the men’s option is a little bit bigger than the women's.

Value

The cost of this design is pretty pricey, but it is more affordable than the Saviour option. What we liked about this option is that Kamlif offers a 24-month warranty that they will replace your unit if anything goes wrong, and they will refund your money upon request if you are displeased within 12 months of use.

Overall

While they are a little expensive, users feel that the higher price point is well worth it based upon comfort, design, and superior heat that will last for hours.

3. Qilove Shop

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Qilove Shop
Amazon Link
Style
90
Battery Life
85
Materials
86
Fit
89
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

Affordable

Incredibly padded and comfortable

Battery will hold a charge for up to 5 hours on lowest setting

Cons:

One size fits all

Some users have had difficulty getting the batteries to completely charge

For those that don’t necessarily need dexterous fingers while outdoors this winter, this bulkier option from Qilove Shop is going to give you superior heat, and users find that they are incredibly comfortable as well. Plus, they come in at a more affordable price point than some of the higher end options.

Read more

Style

The style of this option is simple and sleek. It has a lot of bulk in the hands and in the fingers, and they are only offered in black. What users like about this option is that they run pretty far up the wrist, and they have a drawstring that will cut off any air and moisture from penetrating your hands.

Battery life

There are three heat intensities that users can select from- low, medium, and high. On the lowest setting, the fully-charged battery will last about 5 hours. At medium, it will last about 3.5 hours. At the highest setting, the battery will last around 3 hours.

Materials

The materials used to make this option are considered to be windproof and waterproof. It uses a blend of polyester and spandex for the lining, and the bulk of the product comes from the soft cotton insulation that will keep hands nice and warm.

Fit

Due to the fact that the exterior of the unit is made from a blend that includes elastic, this is made to be a one size fits all product- and that includes men and women. They are about 13 inches long and run about 6 inches wide.

Value

What we liked most about this option is that they come in at one of the more affordable price points. While it does have a few setbacks concerning the size, we find that these are offered at a pretty fair deal.

Overall

If you want something that is going to be a little bit more padded and bulky to create a great distance from your hands and the weather and has a battery pack that will keep heat coursing through the fabric for hours at a time- this is a great choice.

4. Autocastle

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Autocastle
Amazon Link
Style
86
Battery Life
89
Materials
81
Fit
87
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$76.99
Pros:

Users a layer of comfortable and insulating sponge

Incredibly comfortable

Users found that they heat up very quickly

Cons:

A little expensive

Some users feel that they are a little too bulky

This option from Autocastle is pretty great because it is able to achieve some pretty high temperatures off of one charge, and it is made from high-quality materials that are expertly assembled so that you are going to be able to actually use your hands while still keeping them incredibly warm.

Read more

Style

The style is pretty simple and straightforward with this option. It is only offered in solid black, and it has grey stitching along the top of the palm and fingers. It has a buckle that cinches right at the palm on the hand, and there is also a fabric that runs pretty far up the wrist that can be closed tight via a drawstring.

Battery life

Users can select from three temperature settings that include low, medium, and high. At the lowest setting, it can hold a charge for about 4-5 hours. At medium, it can stay warm for up to 3-5 hours, and at the highest setting, it will stay warm for only about 2-2.5 hours- which is slightly lower than some of the other options that we have seen.

Materials

What’s different about this design is that it uses a layer of sponge that conforms to your hand but also helps to insulate heat. It has a waterproof coating on the exterior polyester, and the inside is also line with a thick layer of cotton.

Fit

Users will have the option to either select from a large or an extra large size. From what we gathered, there are few previous users that felt that it did not fit them well.

Value

The cost of this unit is slightly higher than some of the more affordable options, but it is nowhere near some of the higher end designs. If you want something that is going to be effective and comfortable, we feel these are an excellent value.

Overall

For those that want something that is going to put a good deal of distance between your hands and the elements, while offering a great heating element that runs over the top and fingers on your hand, this is a really great choice.

5. fibee

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
fibee
Amazon Link
Style
84
Battery Life
80
Materials
75
Fit
79
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

Affordable

Holds a charge for up to 9 hours

Sleek PU leather materials

Cons:

Some feel that the material has a tendency to bunch up on their arms

What is most notable about this option from fibee is that it is probably one of the most waterproof options we have seen out there on the market. If you know that you are going to be working or playing in some pretty wet and cold condition, and want something that is still going to be able to deliver a lot of heat, this is going to be one of your better options.

Read more

Style

What users like about this design are that it isn’t as bulky as some of the other designs that we have seen out there on the market. It runs a little bit up your wrist to keep a good distance of fabric between you and your coat sleeve, and it is able to be cinched in place with a drawstring to keep the wind and water from infiltrating.

Battery life

What we found impressive about this design is that the battery is made to last for hours and hours on a single charge. On the lowest setting, it can stay warm for up to 9 hours, and on a higher setting, it can stay warm for up to 4 hours. The lower setting is one of the longer battery life we have seen with any other brand.

Materials

The reason that these look so sleek and sophisticated is that they are made from PU leather, which means that they are going to be incredibly resistant to wind and water, and they are going to be excellent at insulating heat.

Fit

Due to the fact that this item has a bit of a stretchy exterior, the ‘one size fits all’ sizing options doesn’t seem to be much of an issue with most. Many users, from what we could tell, are quite pleased with how they fit their hands.

Value

What we liked most about this design is that it comes in at one of the most affordable price points of many of the other designs on our list.

Overall

If you want something that has that sleek James Bond look of leather, but it also has a series of coils running through the top to leave your hands nice and toasty, we feel this is an excellent choice that won’t break the bank.

6. Gmayoo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.4
Gmayoo
Amazon Link
Style
89
Battery Life
79
Materials
81
Fit
73
Value
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$65.99
Pros:

Made from sheep leather

Sleek design

Fleece interior

Cons:

A little expensive

Some feel that the leather makes it a little too slick to grip surfaces

We may have made some claims about designs having a lower profile that makes it easier to move your fingers, but no other design delivers on that quite the way that this option from Gmayoo does. While it has a sleek and simple exterior, powerful insides work to keep your hands nice and warm.

Read more

Style

This design gets an A+ in the style department. We like that it looks a lot like a traditional pair of isotoners, but it has the guts of a battery powered option. It has an adjustable strap to hold it tightly against your skin, and the battery pack is hidden behind a zippered on the front of the palm that stays tucked and out of the way.

Battery life

There is only one power setting, and these options can deliver warmth to your hands for about 3-4 hours, which is slightly lower than some of the other designs that we have seen. However, it is able to reach temperatures of about 131 degrees, which is pretty warm.

Materials

The Gmayoo is made from high-quality sheep leather which means it is going to be great at wicking away wind and water. It also has a thin fleece lining which feels great against your hands.

Fit

While there are no size options offered with this design, users will have the option to pick a size that is made for a man or one that is made for a woman. We have found that most users are generally pleased without their selection fits their hand.

Value

Due to the fact that Gmayoo uses high-quality materials such as sheep leather for their design, the cost is just a little bit more than many of the other options out there. However, if you find that you are not happy with your purchase for any reason, you will have the option to return it for a refund after 30 days.

Overall

We loved this option because it doesn’t look likes something that you would wear on a business outing, or to church. It has a sleek and sophisticated outer shell with a powerful battery pack pumping warmth to your hands

7. Rabbitroom

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.2
Rabbitroom
Amazon Link
Style
78
Battery Life
74
Materials
83
Fit
70
Value
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$70.98
Pros:

PU leather palm offers superior grip

Incredibly warm materials

Cons:

Heat does is not distributed to thumbs

Some find that they are a little too bulky

For those that like to engage in a little cold weather hiking, fishing, or hunting, this option from Rabbitroom is going to be an excellent addition to keeping you warm. While it is going to be a little bit bulkier than some of the other options, smart design in grip and finger construction still make it great if you need to work with your hands.

Read more

Style

Simplicity is that name of the game with this design. It comes in a simple solid black with a waterproof top that has reflective strips running. It runs pretty far past your wrist, with a strapped cinch at the bottom of your palm and a zippered pocket for your battery.

Battery life

This product has two distinct power settings, a low and a high setting. The average lifespan of a fully charged battery is about 5 hours- which is pretty impressive. Plus, it is able to achieve temperatures of about 150 degrees when on its highest setting.

Materials

Multiple layers of high-quality materials mean that your hands are going to be just that much warmer- even when the battery dies. It has a waterproof polyester lining on the top of the hand, a layer of extra heavy cotton, and an invisibility heat chip that sends warmth throughout your hand. Plus, the grip is composed of a PU leather with makes working with your hands easier.

Fit

Users can select from one of two size options that include large and extra large. The elastic top layer means that it is going to be able to fit comfortably on most hands. From what we could gather from past users, there are few that were displeased with how they fit their hand.

Value

The cost of this options runs just a tad over what the average units seem to sell for. We find that this slightly higher price point is well worth it due to the high quality of materials used both in the construction as well as the battery.

Overall

If you want something that is going to be heavy duty and deliver heat to your hands for hours, but also as a sturdy grip that is perfect for riding or fishing, this design is well worth the slightly higher price tag.

8. GLOBAL VASION

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76
GLOBAL VASION
Amazon Link
Style
80
Battery Life
76
Materials
75
Fit
71
Value
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.99
Pros:

Can reach temperatures of 150 degrees

Users love that it has a great grip that is perfect for riding their motorcycle in cold weather

Cons:

Some users experiences tears at the seams with light use

Heat does not reach the fingers

Immediately, we noticed that this option is able to get a lot hotter than many of the other options that are found on the market. They might be a little on the bulky side, so gripping surfaces may be a little bit difficult, but they will keep your hands warm for hours, even on one of the higher settings.

Read more

Style

At first glance, the style of this unit is pretty bulky. It means that you are going to have a harder time using your digits when you are wearing them. It has a high cuff that reaches up and over your wrist and has a zippered pocket where you place your battery. The wrist cuff can be cinched with a strap to ensure that no cold air or moisture will reach your hands.

Battery life

Users will have the option to adjust the heat settings from low, medium, and high. On the highest setting, temperatures can reach an impressive 150 degrees- which is far hotter than anything else we have seen. On the medium setting, one charge will give the users about 3 hours of use.

Materials

This unit is composed of three separate levels designed to keep your hands nice and toasty. The top layer is made from a wind and waterproof coated polyester, and beneath that is a layer of sponge that is designed to hold heat against your hand. The last layer is composed of light and fluffy cotton.

Fit

What we liked about this design is that users can select the right size for them. Choices include large, extra large, and XX-L. We like that they offer a chart so that users can measure their hand and find the right size that will fit perfectly.

Value

The cost of these is just a little bit higher than some of the more modestly priced options, but we feel that considering what past users have to say about this product that it is offered at a fair price point.

Overall

We liked this option because the battery is able to reach temperatures that we don’t really see in a lot of other designs. If you are looking for something that is a little bulkier than most, and can get pretty hot, this is going to be one of your better choices.

9. HEAT WARMER

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.5
HEAT WARMER
Amazon Link
Style
78
Battery Life
69
Materials
76
Value
67
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$99.99
Pros:

Sends heat to all fingers and thumbs

Leather palm for superior grip

Cons:

A little expensive

Users found that the heat does not extend all the way to the tips of the fingers

This option is great for those that want something that is just a little less bulky than some of the other options but still offers a good deal of cotton padding to keep hands warm and comfortable. It might not get as hot as some of the other designs, but we think you will be pleased with the battery life.

Read more

Style

This option is only offered in a solid black design that has some reflective details along the top. The wrist is able to be cinched in place via a buckle, and there is a zippered pocket along the top to conceal the battery pack.

Battery life

On the highest setting, this design can reach temperatures that are about 144 degrees and can run for just about 2 hours on this highest setting, Users can also elect to set it to a lower setting so that it will be able to run continuously for about 5 to 6 hours.

Materials

This unit utilizes a water-resistant coated top lining with fluffy cotton insulation and lining to keep hands nice and comfortable. It also has a leather palm so that you can be assured that you can get a good grip on the things that you are working on.

Fit

Users can select from a size free option, or they can select a larger size for those that have particularly larger hands than most. The elastic lining makes it perfect for almost any size hand, and there are few users that found it did not fit them well.

Value

The bad news here is that the cost of this design is quite a bit more than most of the other designs out there on the market. We feel that the quality of materials users makes it a pretty fair deal.

Overall

For those that want something that isn’t going to be as restricted to their fingers as some of the other more bulkier options out there on the market, but can still deliver a good deal of heat, we think that this design is worth a look.

10. MMlove

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
69.8
MMlove
Amazon Link
Style
75
Battery Life
67
Materials
69
Fit
70
Value
68
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$75.59
Pros:

Heat up quickly

PU leather palm for an excellent grip

Adjustable wrist

Cons:

Battery takes about 6 hours to fully charge

Some found that it does not warm up evenly

We liked this option from MMlove because it is made from high-quality materials, and it offers batteries that are easy to charge up at home and take with you on the go. It may not get as hot as some of the other designs, but we really liked the even heat distribution that comes from this design.

Read more

Style

This is another basic black model that has a brand of reflective strips running along the top so you can be easily spotted in low light. The wrist can be cinched with the buckle on the side of the hand, and the battery pack sits inside a zippered pocket at the top of the wrist so that there is no risk of it falling out.

Battery life

It takes these batteries about 6 hours to reach a full charge- which is a little bit longer than most. Once fully charged, the lowest setting can provide heat for about 5-6 hours, while the highest setting can offer heat for about 2-3 hours.

Materials

The top layer is composed of a waterproof nylon material that will wick away any moisture from penetrating. Beneath that is a layer of 80 percent cotton, 20 percent sponge layer, and then a PU leather layer on the palm for a superior grip.

Fit

Users can select from a large or an extra large size option with this design. What we liked about this option is that they offer a detailed sizing chart so that you can make sure that your hand is going to fit perfectly.

Value

The cost of this design runs about in the middle of the road. While it isn’t the most expensive design out there on the market, it is far from being the least expensive.

Overall

For those looking for a great companion to keep their hands warm while hiking, skiing, fishing, or hunting in incredibly cold winter months, this is going to be an excellent choice.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

As with any type of gear that you are going to be wearing, you want it to look good.

In this case, we not only wanted it to look good, but we also wanted it to be safe and durable. One of the things that we looked at to ensure it was safe was the placement of the battery pack. The best place to put these battery packs so that they are out of the way is in a tightly zippered pocket up by your wrist. Working or adventuring outdoor in the low light of winter can also be a little bit dangerous, so we wanted to select models that had little flairs of reflective details on the front to give it character but to also make you safer. We also took a look at the materials that were used on the palm that would increase your grip. We were drawn to design that utilized either leather or PU leather with detailed stitchings to help you work with your hands.

Battery Life

How long the battery is going to last is going to determine how long your hands will be toasty while outside.

Generally, even the weakest options in terms of battery life could offer users about 2 hours of warmth, which is just fine if you are purchasing them for tasks such as sitting at a football game or shoveling the driveway. From what we could gather, there are typically three power settings for most designs that offer users a low, medium, or high heat setting. Lower settings will offer users about 100 degrees of warmth, and many options out there can provide an impressive 6-8 hours of power on a single charge. Higher settings such as medium and high will provide users with about 2-4 hours of power, and can reach max temperatures of about 150 degrees when running at a full charge. One thing that is worth noting is that we found that for some of these designs, charging the batteries fully is something that can take upwards of 6 hours. We recommend popping them onto the charger before going to bed that night so you know that you have a pair of batteries that are ready to go.

Materials

Sometimes you are going to be out in the elements for much longer than a single set of charged batteries can take you, so you want to make sure that these gloves can hold up on their own without the need of using the juice.

One of the most important things that we looked at was to make sure that the materials used were waterproof. For the most part, these units had an outer shell that was composed of nylon or polyester that was treated with and water and wind resistant coating. This type of material is not only going to keep your hands from getting cold, but it is also going to protect the heat coils that are inside. We liked options that also used cotton as an insulator because they kept each unit lightweight and comfortable- which are two features that users really like in this type of gear. The leather is also a great material for these products because it is lightweight, waterproof and windproof, and it is great and holding in heat. The only downside to leather options is that they often come at a higher price point.

Fit

The fit was something important because a set of gear isn’t going to keep you very warm if it keeping falling off of your hands.

From what we discovered, most options are only offered in men and women sizes, or they are a one size fits all scenario. This may seem like it could be a problematic design feature, but most users felt that their options fit their hands quite well. Two things make this one size fits all design feature actually work. One reason is that a lot of companies add elastic to their exterior shells to make it fit like, well, a glove, on most hands. Another reason is that almost every option that we found had two sets of clasps to keep in on your hand. The first set was usually located right down at the bottom of your palm. For most, it had a buckle or a snap that would allow the users to adjust it to their shaped hand. The other clasp was at the end of the garment up above the wrist and was usually cinched with a drawstring.

Value

Last but not least- saving money while still investing in quality is something that is important.

When selecting a product, we first considered the value. We were often skeptical of products that had a price tag that seemed to be incredibly high, but we were also suspicious of products that had a price tag that was much lower than many of their competitors. We tried to select designs that had a price tag that ran about in the middle of the road that had a long line of satisfied reviews, and that had the benefit of offering users some type of warranty of money back guarantee. When it comes to battery powered products, sometimes it is a real possibility that you will get a battery that has run out of juice, so selecting a company that stands behind their product is incredibly important.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Battery Life
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Fit
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Battery Life

One important piece of advice we can pass along is don't get swayed by companies that claim that their products can get hotter than 150 degrees. These products are operating on a low voltage battery (for your safety), so temperatures higher than that are either not true, or they are true and it makes their product not very safe.

Materials

The truth of the matter is that you are going to be outside shoveling snow or skiing, and the battery is going to die on you because they typically aren't designed to hold a charge longer than about 6 hours. When this happens, you want to make sure that you have backup materials that are going to keep your hands warm. The number one thing that you are going to want to consider is that the material needs to be waterproof and windproof in order to keep your hands warm.

Fit

If they can't stay on your hands, they aren't going to do a very good job at keeping your hands warm. Keep an eye out for features such as buckles and drawstrings that are design to keep these units on your hands, and are designed to keep the cold are and snow out.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do they work?

a:

Almost all of the styles that we have seen use a battery pack that is located in a zippered pocket of each unit. What you will need to do before you head outdoors is to make sure that each battery is fully charged. Once that step is completed, hook each battery into the wiring located on the inside of each glove, and then press the power button. Power from the battery travels through a set of (typically) carbon fiber heating elements that run across the top of the hand for the cost-effective models, and down the fingers and the thumbs for some of the higher end brands.

q: Will they keep my hands warm even after the battery dies?

a:

The great thing about these models is that while they have a series of coils that run warmth throughout the unit through a set of coils, they are also made with high-quality materials that are functional in their own right. Materials such as waterproof nylon and polyester with cotton padding and leather grips are great materials for wicking away water and wind. So, if you happen to leave the house without your batteries or your batteries happen to die in the middle of your fishing trip, your hands will still stay nice and warm inside.

q: How hot can they get?

a:

Since they are running off of a battery, you don’t need to worry about roasted fingers at the end of the day. It provides just enough heat to keep your hands nice and toasty, but not enough that you are going to need to worry about any second-degree burns. From what we found, lower settings on most models offer temperatures that reach about 100 degrees, and higher settings can reach temperatures that range from about 120-150 degrees.

q: Will they be so bulky that I can’t move my fingers?

a:

The answer to this question depends upon what style you select. Many of the standard designs are going to be a little bulky, so if you are in the business of intricate work while you are outside, these cotton padded options are not going to be of much assistance. Also, from what we found, almost every option that claimed to be touch screen friendly was found out not to work at all when it came to the user reviews. If you want something that is going to keep your hands warm but you are still going to have access to your digits, selecting a sleek and slender leather option is going to be your best best. These options typically aren’t as warm as their cotton-stuffer counterparts, but they are going to allow you to engage in more detailed work while outdoors.

q: Is the battery rechargeable?

a:

Yes, almost every option that we found out there for sale came with a set of batteries that were able to be recharged. Most came with a charging dock that plugged directly into the outlet in your home. There were a few companies that offered an additional pair of batteries, but from what we saw, those batteries often came at an unreasonably higher price point.

q: Are they safe?

a:

We know, the idea of wearing heated clothing might seem to be a little worrisome, especially if you are someone that is afraid of catching on fire. The good news is that it just isn’t going to happen. At the end of the day, you aren’t really working with a whole lot of power, and you are especially not working with enough power that it going to be able to generate a spark. These aren’t going to reach temperatures that are going to make you concerned that your hands are going to catch on fire. When it comes to being exposed to water, almost all designs have a waterproof membrane around the coils, and if water does come into contact with them, the worst thing that is going to happen is that it is going to damage the battery.

q: How can I clean them?

a:

The best way to get these garments clean is to spot clean them or wash them by hand. Be sure that before you bring them into contact with any type of detergent or soap water that you make sure that the battery is removed from the zippered pocket. Once it is removed, wash them with cold water, and be sure not to wring them dry for that could damage the coils in the inside. When it comes to drying, simply lay them flat or hang them up on a line. It is very important that you never put them in the washing machine or dryer because that could damage the delicate coils on the inside.