to top 10 table

Best Fishing Rod Holders Reviewed

last updated Dec 08, 2018

Having your hands free when fishing is really important. Keeping your rod secure while you are busy doing other things is equally important. The best fishing rod holders will not only secure your rods but, they can also help you catch fish. Some rod holders just keep your rod out of the way, while others can pivot and swivel. You can use some of these holders to troll at just the right angle to get a better grip. With the rocking of a boat or kayak and the help of a rod holder, you can even use them to jig for bottom fishing. Using a rod holder also allows you to rotate while fishing avoiding wear and tear on the fishing rod when a large fish strikes. Adjustable rod holders that rotate, tilt or lock into position offer good value with a lot of convenience for small or large boats. Finding the right rod holder can be a challenge due to the available variety; luckily this buying guide will get you on your way to making an informed decision.

Researched Sources
12
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
13k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
8
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
12
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Melissa Coleiro:

This buying guide of the top ten fishing rod holders has been put together to show you the best researched and reviewed products to help you maintain control of your fishing rod while you are fishing. A great fishing rod holder to keep your eye on is the Cannon Downrigger. We love this fishing rod holder because it has a 360 degree swivel, spring loaded knob, and easy to unlock.

Sorting Options
Style Materials Effectiveness Brand By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Style
98%
Materials
97%
Effectiveness
98%
Brand
99%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$15.41
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Style
97%
Materials
95%
Effectiveness
96%
Brand
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$41.25
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Style
94%
Materials
93%
Effectiveness
94%
Brand
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$23.14
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Style
92%
Materials
91%
Effectiveness
90%
Brand
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$17.65
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Style
90%
Materials
89%
Effectiveness
88%
Brand
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$20.27
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Style
87%
Materials
87%
Effectiveness
88%
Brand
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$12.86
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
Style
85%
Materials
86%
Effectiveness
85%
Brand
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$19.80
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.3
Style
84%
Materials
84%
Effectiveness
85%
Brand
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$16.04
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.5
Style
83%
Materials
82%
Effectiveness
83%
Brand
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$295.45
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.5
Style
79%
Materials
80%
Effectiveness
80%
Brand
79%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$18.51
11
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.3
Style
78%
Materials
79%
Effectiveness
78%
Brand
78%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$29.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Scotty #265
  • Amarine-Made
  • Scotty 284-BK
  • Scotty 279 BK
  • CE Smith Tournament
  • SeaSense
  • Attwood
  • Eagle Claw
  • Cannon Downrigger
  • Scotty #230 Powerlock
  • Stealth Quick-Release
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Scotty #265

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Scotty #265
Style
98
Materials
97
Effectiveness
98
Brand
99
best offer for today
$15.41
Pros:

Fully adjustable

Includes a safety strap

Hands free trolling with a fly rod

Cons:

Is a bit heavy

This is one of the best rod holders out there since it is so versatile. It has an innovative compact design and allows hands free trolling with a fly rod.

Read more

Take it anywhere

Versatility is key when you are fishing. That’s why I love this rod holder. It is fully adjustable and even comes with a safety strap No. 411 Locking Post is also included.

Good for flyfishing

If you like to use spinning outfits and conventional and fly fishing, but don’t want a different rod holder for each different type of rod, then you are in luck. You don’t have to swap out your rod holder since this one can be used with any of those. And it’s easy to lock any of those types of rods in place.

Decision Time

You could easily pay more for a rod holder and get less than what you get with the Scotty 265 rod holder. Having so many options for use makes this a great tool to have. Lots of us fisherman can end up with too many tools since some of them are only good for one task. I love any product that can multitask for me so I don’t need to spend so much on gear and have to carry too many things with me.

2. Amarine-Made

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Amarine-Made
Style
97
Materials
95
Effectiveness
96
Brand
95
best offer for today
$41.25
Pros:

Made with marine grade stainless steel

Adjustable to 32 different position

Rubber insert protects your rod

Hole lets water out of rod holder

Nice looking chrome plating

Cons:

No lock for rod

Use a rubber backing for tighter fit

This is one solid rod holder! I love the chrome plating on the stainless steel. It looks great, but more importantly, you know it won’t be corroding anytime soon no matter where you fish.

Read more

Marine Grade Material

You won’t be spending a lot of money on this rod holder, but, that doesn’t mean that you don’t want it to last. You will get many seasons of use out of the Amarine rod holder. It’s made with marine grade chrome plating over marine grade stainless steel. All the hardware is also made with the same material.

You can mount this on any rail either horizontally or vertically. In addition, there are 32 positions to choose from to get exactly the right angle. If you want your rod to be out over the water, then that is an option. Or it can stand straight up.

Lack of space is no longer an issue

Whatever sized boat you have, sometimes space can be limited. Luckily this rod holder can mount on the rail of your boat. If you have a guest on your boat and previously didn’t have enough rod holders, this solves that problem perfectly. Of course, it might not be a guest that needs the rod holder. If you are like many of us, you are always thinking you need “Just one more rod”!

Decision time

Form is not usually thought too much of when looking for a rod holder. Consider how this will complement the decor of just about any boat while still handling its duties. It looks great and also works great.

Little details that add up, like the rubber insert to prevent damage to your rod and the hole inside to let water out, really make this a great rod holder. Not much thought goes into something as little as a rod holder. Getting one that makes your life easier is a bonus.

3. Scotty 284-BK

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Scotty 284-BK
Style
94
Materials
93
Effectiveness
94
Brand
93
best offer for today
$23.14
Pros:

Fits on square rails

For use with both conventional and spinning rods

Fits trigger grips

Rotates 360 degrees

Easy to install

Cons:

Low quality rubber strap

Scotty is the leader in rod holders and for good reason. They cover all the bases with their designs. If you are looking for a great rod holder for your pontoon boat, look no further!

Read more

Square rail mount

Many pontoon boats have square rails. That makes it a bit difficult to mount a rod holder since so many of them have round rail mounts. Pontoon boat owners can now have a superior rod holder mounted on their rail. This Scotty rod holder is great for either a conventional, baitcaster or spinning rod. Even pistol grip rod holders fit perfectly in this holder. This is one of the very few one size fits all types of rod holder. No matter what type of rod you have, it will be securely mounted on your boat.

Decision Time

If you have a pontoon boat with square railings and want to be able to mount a rod, there is no reason to not get this Scotty rod holder.

Unless you are a fly fisherman, you are covered no matter what type of outfit you are fishing with. You might even want a few of these to place at various positions around your boat.

4. Scotty 279 BK

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Scotty 279 BK
Style
92
Materials
91
Effectiveness
90
Brand
90
best offer for today
$17.65
Pros:

Fits trigger grips

Fits on square rails

Rotates 360 degrees

Easy to open snap latch

Cons:

Doesn't fit in the mounter

In the unlikely event that your Scotty rod holder breaks there is hope. You don’t have to buy a whole new set up. You can easily buy just this replacement rod holder that attaches to any Scotty mount. Whether it’s a flush mount, or rail mount. Whether it’s on your kayak or boat. You only need to buy this part.

Read more

Scotty rod holders are made with high quality and very durable plastic. Maybe you didn’t break it. If you lost it or even just want a couple just in case, this is a great option with all of the benefits just mentioned.

Decision Time

Obviously only for Scotty rod holder users.

5. CE Smith Tournament

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
CE Smith Tournament
Style
90
Materials
89
Effectiveness
88
Brand
88
best offer for today
$20.27
Pros:

3 rod holders in one

Great price

Holds lures and knife

Cons:

Easy to break

Getting organized when fishing is essential. Make sure you are taking care of your rods by keeping them in rod holders like this one.

Read more

Easy Access

There is always a way to find more room for more rods. That’s why this is such a great set of rod holders on our best fishing rod holders list. Get 3 more rods on board and have easy access. Many mounting holes mean it’s easy to attach to your boat, truck rack or even milk crate on your kayak.

A nice, unexpected feature is the holes for your lures and even a slot for a knife. Now you can have your rods locked and loaded and ready to go by keeping them in these rod holders lures and all.

Decision Time

Just when you think you can’t bring any more rods out with you, you see this rod holder that fits 3 rods with lures, knife and even pliers. Now you can make some room for a few more rods without too much effort.

Great for your pontoon boat, kayak, boat or truck.

6. SeaSense

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
SeaSense
Style
87
Materials
87
Effectiveness
88
Brand
87
best offer for today
$12.86
Pros:

Great price

Side slots for reels

Easy to mount

Holes for lures

Slot for knife

Cons:

Plastic is a bit thin

Keep your rods out of the way and organized with this 3-rod holder. Your hooks and lures will stay safely tucked away thanks to the slots to secure them. You can even hold a couple of filet knives and a pair of pliers freeing up even more space in your tackle bag. Now you can bring even more lures with you!

Read more

Easy to mount

With easy mounting, it’s easy to find a place for 3 more rods. I’ve seen these rod holders on everything from a milk crate on a kayak to a cooler on a boat and back of a truck.

Decision Time

You can’t beat the price with this set of 3-rod holders. It pays off when you have your rods and other gear safely secured and organized. If it can be strapped or be screwed to something, then there is space for it. You might need to be creative as to where you attach it, but you will find a spot for sure.

7. Attwood

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
Attwood
Style
85
Materials
86
Effectiveness
85
Brand
86
best offer for today
$19.80
Pros:

Rapid release latch

Fits conventional and spinning rods

Sturdy plastic doesn’t corrode

Cons:

Only works with larger reels

Keep your rod secure and easy to get to with this great rod holder. A slim profile is very discreet and does not get in your way when you are fighting the fish.

Read more

Easy access and secure

I love how small this rod holder is. It isn’t bulky so it is very easy to get your rod in and out. It locks in very easily with a swivel lock. Unlocking can be done even if you have your eyes focused somewhere else. There is a notch underneath that you can feel and simply slide the lock open. When you’re fishing, things happen quickly so it’s nice to be able to easily get access to your rod while you are distracted.

One size fits all

You can use this rod holder whether you use a conventional or spinning rod. Maybe you will be using both on your outing. It’s extremely convenient to be able to switch rods without needing to also switch your rod holder. Either type fits in easily and securely.

8. Eagle Claw

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.3
Eagle Claw
Style
84
Materials
84
Effectiveness
85
Brand
84
best offer for today
$16.04
Pros:

Great price

Sturdy heavy duty plastic doesn’t corrode

360 degree adjustment

Easy grip adjuster

Cons:

Wide clamp can get loose

Got a john boat and nowhere to secure your rod? Think again. Eagle Claw has you covered with this clamp on rod holder.

Read more

Gunwale, transom or railing

The size of the clamp is large enough to fit on most gunwales, or transoms. You can easily find a spot to keep your rod out of the way on your john boat thanks to Eagle Claw. You might find that the clamp is actually too big depending on the width of your rail or gunwale. In that case, you can use a piece of wood to fill in the gaps and hold it very securely.

Decision Time

Stop stepping all over your rods in your canoe or john boat. Now you have the option to secure your rod.

It’s much easier to troll when you have your hands free to do other things. The Eagle Claw rod holder will give you many angles for your rod tip to get it right where you want it in the water.

9. Cannon Downrigger

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.5
Cannon Downrigger
Style
83
Materials
82
Effectiveness
83
Brand
82
best offer for today
$295.45
Pros:

360 degree swivel

3 different rod tip angles

Spring loaded knob

Easy to lock

Cons:

High price<

Speed is of the essence when fishing. You need to get your rod ready for action at a moment’s notice. That’s why this rod holder is so ideal.

Read more

Spring loaded knob

This is the only rod holder that I know of with a spring loaded knob. It might not sound like a big feature, but it is. Usually, you have to unscrew the knob and screw it back in to tighten. With this, you can open it and close it in a second. Getting your rod tip angle to any of the 3 positions is as easy as can be this way.

In addition to that feature, the rod holder can swivel up to 360 degrees and has an easy to secure lock. You can use either a conventional or spinning rod with this holder. The base can be mounted horizontally or vertically if you choose to mount it in the side of your boat. It has a hole on either side to accommodate the rod holder.

Decision Time

Yes, the price is a bit higher than most other items on our best fishing rod holders list. This will last you quite a long time. I do see it as a value because of that and the unique spring-loaded knob.

I do a lot of kayak fishing and love the ability to react on the fly. This rod holder gives that ability and works like a charm.

10. Scotty #230 Powerlock

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.5
Scotty #230 Powerlock
Style
79
Materials
80
Effectiveness
80
Brand
79
best offer for today
$18.51
Pros:

Holder is easy to detach from mount

360 degrees of horizontal rotation

Cons:

Mount must be bolted down

With a full 360 degrees of horizontal rotation and an easy to use lock, the Scotty #230 Powerlock Rod Holder will not only keep your rod secure but allow you access to it at a moment's notice.

Read more

Ease of Access:

The powerlock is easy to use, and depending on your circumstances you can leave it disengaged to improve ease of access when you hook a fish. Unless you're using a very heavy rod, you won't have an issue with it falling out of the holder with the lock off. It features a full 360 degrees of horizontal rotation, though it may not rotate as smoothly with heavier rods. The mount is designed to work well with most sizes of kayaks, and the holder itself is easy to detach from the mount.

Decision Time:

This rod holder is a bit on the expensive side, but that comes with added stability, quick access to the rod, and the ability to be mounted on most any size kayak. This new addition is one of the best rod holders on our list, and we suggest you check it out for yourself!

11. Stealth Quick-Release

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.3
Stealth Quick-Release
Style
78
Materials
79
Effectiveness
78
Brand
78
best offer for today
$29.99
Pros:

Quick-release system

Optional locking strap

Cons:

Expensive

As the name implies, the Stealth Quick-Release Rod Holder is designed to offer you maximum control over your rod. It releases from the holder almost instantly, which is important when setting a hook or fighting a difficult catch.

Read more

Ease of Access:

This rod holder offers a strong grip, designed to prevent unnecessary vibrations or rattling when trolling or reeling with the rod in the holder. Even with this strong grip, it features a unique quick-release system so you can keep optimal control over your rod when it counts the most. And as I'm sure you know, control is very important when fishing. It can be used anywhere the base can be mounted: a kayak, a boat, or even a dock.

Decision Time:

One of the newer brands in the industry, Stealth has made a high-quality rod holder with features that set it apart from the rest. The quick-release system means maximum control when you need it the most, and the optional locking strap will ensure the rod stays secure.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

For freshwater: rod holders made out of fiberglass or nylon are usually good enough when fishing in freshwater. They’re good for those on a budget as they are usually low-cost options. They don’t corrode but also aren’t as sturdy as metal rod holders.

For saltwater: when it comes to fishing in saltwater, look for stainless steel, aluminum zinc or brass material. Stainless steel and chrome brass are ideal since they are less likely to corrode than the other metal materials that are often used in rod holders.

Clamp-on Mounts, Flush Swivel: flush mount holders are inserted into existing holders to keep the rod at a 30 degrees angle or vertical. You can also drill holes into your boat or kayak to fit the rod holders wherever you like them.

If you fish for big game fish, it is better to choose a pivoting base as these enable the rod to move and rotate, lowering the chance of a fishing line that frays or pins that shear off. Obviously, these are used just for boats and not kayaks or pontoon boats.

Clamp-on rod holders are very versatile and the best if you aren’t sure where you want to mount your rod holder. You can clamp it on where you think you will like it and if it doesn’t work out then it can be moved.

For flush mounted rod holders, you can drill a circle that the rod holder drops into. It’s sealed with marine silicone and then drilled into place. When done properly there should be no leaks.

Deck mounted rod holders are the easiest to mount as you only need to drill a couple of holes where you wish to put your rod holder. They are also the most popular because you get a wide range of different types of rod holders.

Not all rod holders for kayaks or boats need to be mounted. There are others that can be installed right into your chair or even on a milk crate. Those are not only economical but easy to use.

Before you mount any rod holders it is a good idea to go out and do a trial run. Bring a rod with you and pretend to fish and paddle. That way you can see where the rod holder will be in easy reach or if it might end up in the way.

Materials

We pay high attention to the kind of material that is used in the rod holder. First of all, the quality of the material is one of the most important things which determines the longevity of the fishing rod holders. Our rating is based on the quality of the material to a great extent. We base our recommendation based on the quality of the plastic or steel. We believe it is necessary to test the product before recommending it to you. On your behalf, we go ahead and test the products personally so that we can provide you with the best recommendations and help you make the better and healthier choices. Various products come with various claims, however, it is difficult to find out how true the products are to their claims. We thoroughly test these products to see how well they fit their descriptions and how effective they really are. For example, our product testing helped us discover that the material used in the SeaSense Single Piece 3 is too thin for regular use.

Effectiveness

We believe it is necessary to test the product before recommending it to you. On your behalf, we go ahead and test the products personally so that we can provide you with the best recommendations and help you make the better and healthier choices. Various products come with various claims, however, it is difficult to find out how true the products are to their claims. We thoroughly test these products to see how well they fit their descriptions and how effective they really are. For example, our product testing helped us discover that the material used in the SeaSense Single Piece 3 is too thin for regular use.

Brand

One of the most important factors kept in mind while formulating this list has been to look into the reputation of the manufacturers. Most of the product in this list are by well reputed and highly trusted manufacturers who have a good reputation of providing quality fishing rod holders in the market. Most of these manufacturers specialize in trading fishing related equipment, and thus their specialization makes them more reliable. These products do not have any major drawbacks. However, there are certain areas of improvements of minor significance. For example, some of the materials used in these products are too thin. Therefore, those rod holders may not be suitable for regular heavy use. Also, some rod holders are heavier than the others; carrying them over long distance may become a burden at times.

Control your fishing rod

It is important to look for features in fishing rod holders that you would need out on the boat. Many of the rod holders offer a strong grip, designed to prevent unnecessary vibrations or rattling when trolling or reeling with the rod in the holder. Another good feature to keep your eye on is the unique quick-release system so you can keep optimal control over your rod when it counts the most. And as I'm sure you know, control is very important when fishing. All of these rods can used anywhere as the base can be mounted on a kayak, a boat, or even a dock.

Other Factors to Consider

Safety Hazards

From the overwhelming vast majority of options available out in the market, it might be difficult for you to decide which would be the best option for you. To make the process much easier and convenient for you, we have compiled this list based on various important factors. All these products are safe to use and have no direct potential threat to the users. However, these products are not to be used by the children as they may not be able to determine their correct usage. Also, since some of these fishing rod holders are heavy, they may even cause injuries to children.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are fishing rod holders important while fishing?
a:

The importance of fishing rod holders can only be determined by the fisherman. For one thing, having a fishing rod holders make the process of fishing much easier. You can rest your rod in the holder when you want to take a break and easily pick up the rod from the holder. You surely do not want to put your valuable fishing rod in the ground and have it get scratched and disfigured from the rough surface of the ground. Also, you want to avoid getting dirt into it, as cleaning it can be difficult at the time.

q: What kind of fishing rod to use?
a:

There are many different kinds of fishing rods. While some rods can hold up to 3 fishing rods, some are specialized to hold only one rod. The kind of rod that is best for you to use depends on the kind of fishing trips you go to. If you go on fishing trips with family or friends, you might need to buy a rod holder which can hold multiple rods at the same time.

q: Who should use fishing rod holders?
a:

Any person who engages in fishing should use fishing rod holders. Also, even if you do not engage in fishing yourself but have a house by a lake, it might be a good idea to have a fishing rod holder stacked in your storeroom. You never know when you might need it!

q: Where can I buy one?
a:

You can easily buy fishing rod holders online or physically. You can look for the products in our published review guide and easily find them online. It is better to place an order in well-reputed websites, as there will be a greater assurance of quality.

q: Can I use the fishing rod holder on a boat?
a:

You can easily place your fishing rod holder on a number of places and surfaces. Be it on the ground, boat or a chair, you can place the holder in any place that is suitable for you. However, for that, you will have to be mindful of the design of the holder that you are purchasing. While some holders will remain more stable on shaking surfaces such as that of a boat, others might not.

Sources

  1. Jessica Macdonald, The 8 Best Fishing Rod Holders to Buy in 2018, Article, Nov 24, 2018