to top 10 table

Best Electric Skateboards

last updated May 01, 2019

It’s 2019 and we have finally found a way to make using a personal transportation device less difficult and taxing on our bodies. With bicycles now being equipped with motors to make cycling easier, it was only a matter of time before technology caught up and made electric skateboards to ease the difficulty of getting around on board. We have caught up and made this guide to best electric skateboards.

But between motors, deck material choices and weight restrictions, how can you know which e-board is going to be the best for you? Below we have reviewed ten of the best options that are on the market today, taking materials used in the construction, speed, motors, weight and battery life into account.

Read on to see which one is best for you, your needs and your budget.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
Teamgee H5
99/100 our score
Materials
99
Power Source
100
Battery Life
99
Speed
98
Weight
99
Teamgee H5
Why is it better?

Just 2 hours to a full charge

Rides impressively well

Fun to ride

Great customer service

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Teamgee H5
Test Winner: Teamgee H5
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
34
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
26k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
14
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Power Source Battery Life Speed Weight By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Materials
99 %
Power Source
100 %
Battery Life
99 %
Speed
98 %
Weight
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$469.50
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Materials
97 %
Power Source
99 %
Battery Life
99 %
Speed
98 %
Weight
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$1,499.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Materials
95 %
Power Source
97 %
Battery Life
96 %
Speed
98 %
Weight
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$484.49
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Materials
95 %
Power Source
96 %
Battery Life
94 %
Speed
95 %
Weight
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$279.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Materials
95 %
Power Source
94 %
Battery Life
94 %
Speed
92 %
Weight
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$479.89
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Materials
92 %
Power Source
94 %
Battery Life
93 %
Speed
92 %
Weight
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$289.00
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Materials
93 %
Power Source
90 %
Battery Life
92 %
Speed
91 %
Weight
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$254.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Materials
88 %
Power Source
93 %
Battery Life
87 %
Speed
93 %
Weight
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$2,159.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Materials
87 %
Power Source
86 %
Battery Life
86 %
Speed
84 %
Weight
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$150.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
Materials
83 %
Power Source
84 %
Battery Life
85 %
Speed
82 %
Weight
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$169.13

Top 10 Picks

1. Teamgee H5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Teamgee H5
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Power Source
100
Battery Life
99
Speed
98
Weight
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$469.50
Pros:

Just 2 hours to a full charge

Rides impressively well

Fun to ride

Great customer service

Cons:

Some concerns about the board not being able to last as long as advertised

Some complaints regarding it not being able to hold a charge

Taking the number one spot in our buying guide for very good reasons is this 37-inch long and 8.7-inch wide option from Teamgee. We think you’re going to love how sleek this board is and at just over half an inch thick, you’ll love how much control and stability you’ll have to ride it. This slick looking e-skateboard has a lot of value to provide to consumers. Let’s see what put it at the top of our list.

Read more

Materials

The Teamgee board is made from 10-ply Canadian maple and one ply fiberglass. This combination provides both stability and smoothness, making for a fun board to take riding.

Power Source

This board is run by two high performing 380-watt motors.

Battery Life

Thanks to the two motors on this beast, you should find that you’re able to go around nine to 11 miles before needing to charge.

Speed

You will be able to reach speeds of up to 22 miles per hour with the Teamgee.

Weight

This board is just 14.5 pounds in weight and is rated to hold up to 200 pounds.

2. Boosted 2nd Generation Dual +

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Boosted 2nd Generation Dual +
Amazon Link
Materials
97
Power Source
99
Battery Life
99
Speed
98
Weight
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,499.00
Pros:

Grip tape on the deck for extra traction

Smooth ride

Quick to charge

Strong and flexible

Cons:

Not much in terms of shock absorption

Taking the coveted second place spot is this option from the brand Boosted. If you’re in the market for a smooth and powerful ride, this is going to be the one for you. Climbing hills ain’t nothing with this on your side (or should we say ‘underfoot’?). Let’s see what else it has to provide in terms of benefits.

Read more

Materials

The deck is made of bamboo, which provides a more rigid feeling board. This material is great to hold up to more pressure and speed (especially on hills) but some people might not find it as comfortable or cushioned as other options on our list.

Power Source

The motor on this board provides 2000 watts of power.

Battery Life

The standard range for this board is around six to seven miles. If you find that this isn’t enough juice for you, the company does make an optional battery that will last 12 to 14 miles!

Speed

The top speed you will be able to reach on this bad boy is 22 miles per hour.

Weight

The weight of the board is around 15 pounds. Though we were not able to get an exact answer from the company regarding the weight capacity, we were able to determine that this board is designed for riders between 150 and 200+ pounds.

3. SKATEBOLT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
SKATEBOLT
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Power Source
97
Battery Life
96
Speed
98
Weight
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$484.49
Pros:

6 months of free maintenance included

Durable construction

Great for larger sized riders

Great for use on hills

Cons:

Some users report battery problems

Rounding out the top three we have this longboard option from SKATEBOLT. There are a lot of great benefits to investing in this board including its inclusion of taillights for additional security and safety when riding on dark streets. It comes with a finger ring remote control that helps you access the speed modes, tail light power, and battery life.

Read more

Materials

The SKATEBOLT is made of 8-ply northeast maple, providing users with a sturdy and supportive ride.

Power Source

The SKATBOLT is powered by two 500-watt hub motors, making it an incredibly powerful board you can take with you anywhere.

Battery Life

Do you have places to go and people to see? You’ll love that the battery for the SKATEBOLT will allow you to take your board a whopping 15 to 20 miles per charge!

Speed

Do you want to go fast a la Ricky Bobby? You’re definitely going to want to check the specs on this product. It has two ride modes – normal & sport. In normal mode, you can expect to top out at around 13.75 miles per hour, while sports mode can see you reach a whopping 25 miles per hour!

Weight

The weight capacity of this board is 280 pounds, making it one of the heavier duty options in our buying guide. One should keep in mind, however, that the heavier you are, the less likely it is you will be able to reach peak speeds. The actual weight of this product is 19.5 pounds.

4. BLITZART Tornado 38”

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
BLITZART Tornado 38”
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Power Source
96
Battery Life
94
Speed
95
Weight
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$279.00
Pros:

Sturdy & well-built construction

Quick charge

Great for beginners

Great battery life

Cons:

There seems to have been some issues with quality control in the past that the company has since addressed and remedied

Do you like your skateboard to really POP with color? This option from BLITZART comes in four different options for wheel colors – lime green, orange, red or black. If you want to stand out in the crowd, we suggest the lime green! This board comes with an easy-to-use (and hold) ergonomic wireless remote among other great features listed below.

Read more

Materials

Thanks to the 6-ply maple wood and 2-ply bamboo deck construction, users will find this board provides plenty of flexibility while remaining sturdy and stable. The concave deck also features grip tape to help provide additional traction.

Power Source

The BLITZART Tornado is equipped with a 350-watt brushless hub-motor providing a more reliable ride that’ll give you less of a headache than if it were belt-oriented. Not only is the hub motor quieter than belt motors, but it can also be used as a regular skateboard without battery if the mood strikes.

Battery Life

This board is equipped with a 36V and 4.4 Ah Li-ion battery that will charge to full in 2.5 hours. You will be able to go up to ten miles on just one charge!

Speed

The max speed that can be reached on this board is over 17 miles per hour.

Weight

On the heavier side? That’s okay! This board can hold up to 250 pounds of weight. This product is quite a bit heavier than other options on our list, however, weighing in at 38 pounds.

5. Spadger D5X

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
 Spadger D5X
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Power Source
94
Battery Life
94
Speed
92
Weight
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$479.89
Pros:

Includes one-year manufacturer warranty

Deliciously futuristic design

Built-in safety lights

Durable construction

Cons:

Seems to be some issues concerning quality control

Are you in the market for something a little different looking, something a little more futuristic, perhaps? Then look no further than the longboard from Spadger. This funky looking board is great for both beginners and advanced riders and provides a host of unique features that aren’t seen in any other options on our list. Take, for example, the built-in LED lamp (with 30 different light modes!) and Bluetooth speaker! How cool is that? Let’s see what else this item has to provide consumers.

Read more

Materials

This board is perhaps one of the most durably constructed options on our list. It’s made using the same materials you would find in combat aircraft (polycarbonate) and is explosion-proof. The board itself is uniquely flexible, providing riders with a turning radius of 1.5 meters.

Power Source

With two 450-watt superpower motors, you can expect some serious power behind this beast!

Battery Life

You can expect to go around 12 miles on one single charge.

Speed

Would you believe me if I told you this item has four different speed modes? Well, it does! The beginner mode can have you reaching speeds up to 9 mph, eco mode up to 15 mph, expert up to 19 mph and pro mode all the way to 23 mph.

Weight

This product is rated to hold up to 264 pounds (could they be any more exact with that number?). It weighs just 17.6 pounds.

6. BLIZTART Huracane

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
BLIZTART Huracane
Amazon Link
Materials
92
Power Source
94
Battery Life
93
Speed
92
Weight
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$289.00
Pros:

Comes already assembled

Quick charge time (2.5 hours)

Wireless remote

Performs as expected

Cons:

Some concerns about the deck’s overall strength

Here we have another e-board from BLITZART – the Huracane. This is one of the more affordable options you’re going to see in our buying guide. We loved it for a number of reasons. Just like the Tornado we reviewed above, this board is available in four different color choices for the wheels – lime, black, red or orange. It comes with a wireless remote that is as easy-to-use as it is comfortable to grip.

Read more

Materials

These boards are made from 7 layers of maple wood alongside two of bamboo found on the bottom side. The construction of this adds an adequate amount of flexibility and stability to your riding experience. The deck is lined with a gripping tape that will provide an adequate amount of traction.

Power Source

There is a 350W motor on this bad boy.

Battery Life

You should find that you will have no problems going around six to eight miles while riding this board thanks to the 36V and 4.4Ah li-ion battery.

Speed

The maximum speed of the Huracane is 17 miles per hour.

Weight

This longboard is rated to hold a maximum weight of 250 pounds, while the unit itself weighs just 13 pounds.

7. Alouette Phoenix Ryders

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Alouette Phoenix Ryders
Amazon Link
Materials
93
Power Source
90
Battery Life
92
Speed
91
Weight
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$254.99
Pros:

6 months warranty

Affordable price tag

Solid construction

Can climb some hills without any problems

Cons:

Some concerns regarding the longevity of this device

Brakes are touchy

This e-board from Alouette is not only slick in appearance but affordable in price as well. It comes with a smart remote control that allows you to switch it from low to high speed, accelerate and break, turn on/off the LED light or choose which direction you’re going to move.

Read more

Materials

This board is very strong and provides users with a lot of durabilities, thanks to its 6-ply maple construction. Alouette also outfitted the Phoenix Ryders with one extra layer of bamboo to provide some flexibility and stability.

Power Source

The Phoenix Ryders is equipped with dual 250W hub motors.

Battery Life

You’re going to get around 9.3 miles on one charge thanks to the 25.2 lithium battery that Alouette has included on this board.

Speed

The top speed you’re going to get on this is 16 miles per hour.

Weight

The maximum load that this board can bear is 220 pounds. The board itself weighs just 9.9 pounds, making it one the of the lightest options on our list.

8. Evolve Carbon GT Series 2-In-1

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Evolve Carbon GT Series 2-In-1
Amazon Link
Materials
88
Power Source
93
Battery Life
87
Speed
93
Weight
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$2,159.99
Pros:

6-month warranty

Fun to ride

Great customer service

Comes fully assembled

Cons:

Some riders have complained about the board turning off while riding it

Evolve is a rather big name in the world of skateboards so it should surprise no one that they have some great, albeit expensive, e-board options. This particular option is priced much higher than other products on our list, but it is also able to boast a feature that no other board can – it’s a 2-in-1. This means you can take it on the streets or on more difficult terrain without any problem. Let’s see what else sets this board apart.

Read more

Materials

Ready for something a little different? The deck of this board is made from carbon fiber. The electronic components are all built-in so you have a wonderful aesthetic ride with a low-profile look.

Power Source

The twin brushless motors that are on this board can work together to provide an incredible 3000w of power!

Battery Life

Do you have an extra long commute or just enjoy being outside on your board for long stretches of time? This model from Evolve Skateboards is going to take you a whopping 31 miles on streets or 18.5 miles if you’re taking it on more difficult terrain.

Speed

You can expect to get up to 26 miles per hour when you’re using the street version or up to 25 miles per hour on the all-terrain option.

Weight

If you’re using this in street set-up, it weighs just 17 pounds. If you’re going to hit some more difficult trails and want the all-terrain mode, you’ll be looking at 21 pounds. The maximum load of this boards is 200 pounds.

9. RazorX Cruiser

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
RazorX Cruiser
Amazon Link
Materials
87
Power Source
86
Battery Life
86
Speed
84
Weight
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$150.00
Pros:

Lightweight

No assembly necessary

Affordable price tag

Good starter option for beginners

Cons:

Some concerns regarding the lifespan

Are you on a pretty tight budget but still want to dabble in the world of e-boards? This option from RazorX will allow you to dip your toes into e-boarding without requiring too much of an investment right out the gate. Let’s see what else, aside from a smaller price point, this board has to offer.

Read more

Materials

This deck is made from 5-ply maple. This is considerably less than other options on our list, but it helps to add an air of light weightedness while also providing a rather responsive ride as well.

Power Source

This board features a kickstart 125-watt RWD motor.

Battery Life

You should expect to receive just around 40 minutes of use from each charge.

Speed

You will be able to reach speeds of 10 miles per hour while riding the Cruiser.

Weight

This board can hold up to 220 pounds and weighs just 9.7 pounds.

10. Swagtron SwagBoard NG-1

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
Swagtron SwagBoard NG-1
Amazon Link
Materials
83
Power Source
84
Battery Life
85
Speed
82
Weight
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$169.13
Pros:

Good choice for beginners

Lightweight

Comfortable to ride

Meets all safety requirements

Grip tape for extra stability

Cons:

Some complaints about the battery not lasting as long as advertised

Bringing up the rear, we have this option from Swagtron. In case you can’t tell by the name of this brand and the board (we’ve never heard a grown adult use the word ‘swag’), it’s designed for use specifically by youth. Of course, if you fit within the weight specifications listed below, you can use it as well. This is an affordable option, great for beginners. Let’s see what else it offers.

Read more

Materials

The deck is made with 7-ply Canadian maple, providing a smooth ride with an enhanced amount of stability for safety.

Power Source

We were not able to find information regarding the motor on this board.

Battery Life

The 24V li-ion battery takes around 3 hours to charge fully and will be able to provide riders with a distance of around 10 miles.

Speed

You can expect to reach maximum speed at 11 miles per hour.

Weight

This board is able to support riders up to 176 pounds. It weighs just 9.5 pounds.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

Deck materials can make or break your riding experience.

There are a number of different materials used in the construction of the boards that made our buying guide. It can be hard to navigate which material type will be best for your particular needs but it is very important for you to become versed in the world of skateboard decks. The material you choose can greatly affect the durability of the board and also how easy it is to ride. Let’s take a bit of a closer look at some of the most common materials used in the construction of the board decks.

Maple. This is perhaps the most common deck material today because it is not only flexible but durable as well. This is a great dense wood that will provide an ample amount of strength and pop needed for your ride. It is important to note that not all maple wood is the same. The qualities of the wood really depend on where it is grown. Maples grown in Canada, for example, are growing at a higher elevation and will have more dense fibers than maples grown in other countries. Maple is a renewable resource when it is managed responsibly and requires a non-toxic process which makes it a better choice for the environmentally-conscious.

Bamboo. This is a great choice for deck material as it is quite responsive and will spring back easily. It’s also firm which can provide ample sturdiness. Bamboo boards are typically lighter and stronger than boards made from maple. They also provide an ample amount of shock absorption. Bamboo is less durable than maple, however, and is known to lose its flexibility over time. Bamboo grows fast, especially when we compare it to the time it takes for a maple tree to grow to maturity. Because of this, some people believe that bamboo is a more environmentally-friendly material choice.

Polycarbonate. Though we only have one product on our list with a polycarbonate construction, we should still look over this material type. This is a lightweight thermoplastic material that is really easy to ride (and carry if you need a break). Polycarbonate provides UV protection naturally, effectively boosting the lifespan of the board.

Carbon Fiber. Carbon fiber is a strong material type that will rival the strength of polycarbonate. Boards made with this material are designed to last (and last….and last…) so the price tag often reflects this quality. Carbon fiber is often lighter than wood and is more aesthetically appealing. That said, it is open to receive more vibrations which can greatly affect your ride.

Power Source

What kind of power is your board capable of?

Motors are a vitally important part of an electric skateboard. Without a motor, the skateboard isn’t going to take you anywhere unless you power it with your legs and isn’t the point of an e-board to avoid having to do extra work? We took a look at the motors of all of the options on our buying guide in order to provide you with the vital information you need to know about the capability of the e-board. The most common motor type you’ll see is the hub motor. These are a great choice because you’ll find that they don’t provide you with any (or much) resistance if you try and use your board once the battery is dead.

Battery Life

How far can you go on one charge?

Knowing the battery life of your skateboard is important. You don’t want to be caught 5 miles away from your destination with a dead battery, forced to lug your dead e-board with you the rest of the way. You need to know how far you can go on our board before needing to return home to your charger, plain and simple. The battery life for the options on our list varies greatly. Some manufacturers provided the number of miles you can expect to go on your skateboard before it dies on you, others provided a time period. If you have miles to make, the furthest you can go on any of the boards on our list is (up to) 30 miles with the Evolve Carbon GT Series 2-In-1.

It is important to note that battery life is dependent on the weight of the rider. A heavier rider may not be able to go as far because the motor is working harder to hold their weight.

Speed

You need to know how fast you can go!

Isn’t this what it’s all about? Of course, speed would be an important consideration to take into account as you begin your hunt for the best e-skateboard for your needs. You want to know what the max speed of your new board will be so we were sure to include this for each of the ten products you will find above. The speed is either controlled by a throttle that you hold in your hand or via weight shifting. Many of the options on our list can reach up to 20 miles per hour with some even getting closer to 30 miles per hour! If you’re a beginner, however, these speeds might be a little excessive for you. In that case, might we suggest considering the Swagtron or RazorX options in our buying guide? These are designed to be for beginners and provide the slowest maximum speed of all the options in our list.

Weight

Weight capacity and weight of the board are important to be aware of.

Weight is an important factor to consider when you’re searching for the best e-skateboard for your needs. We looked at not only the weight of the item itself but also the weight capacity that the board is able to hold. These are both important things to know in advance of investing in an electric skateboard. If you plan on traveling a lot with your board, you aren’t going to want to tote around something that’s excessive in weight. It’s also important to know what the weight capacity is of each board because you’ll be able to find out if you’re within the right weight range to safely operate the skateboard without injuring yourself or others in the process. It would be very disheartening to invest in one of these only for it to arrive at your door and get broken on your first time out with it.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Battery Life
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Power Source
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Speed
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Don’t Cheap Out

We get it. An electric skateboard is an expensive investment. You may be tempted by cheaper products on the market but we have to firmly advise against this. Untrustworthy brands often create poorly constructed products and these badly designed boards have been known to catch fire. Trusted brand names, like the ones you’ll see in our buying guide, have passed numerous safety tests before being released to the market!

Determine Your Footedness Naturally

You grab a pen and start writing without even thinking about which hand you’re going to write with. You automatically just go to work with the hand that feels the most comfortable. You may find the same goes with your feet as your skateboard. Don’t overthink it, just go with what feels most natural.

Other Factors to Consider

Stability

This is a given. You don’t want to purchase a product, especially something as expensive as an electric skateboard, that isn’t going to provide you with the stability necessary to stay safe while riding it. You need a strong and stable base in order to ride safely and efficiently on your new investment. There are a few factors that come into play when considering the stability of the skateboard. The deck size, ply, and wheels can make or break your riding experience. Generally speaking, though, here are some great tips on how to ensure your new skateboard is providing you with the most about of stability.

- Maple wood is particularly stable as a deck material.
- The longer your deck is, the smoother your ride will be and the more stability it will provide
- A deck with a slight curvature will provide an ample amount of stability (but will also hinder the agility you are able to tap into).
- A deck featuring an 8-ply construction will provide more stability than a 7-ply option.

Value

E-skateboards are not cheap and if you find one that is super cheap, you should steer clear immediately. Slightly higher price tags often mean the product has gone through more rigorous tests and is going to be safer to operate. When we critiqued each product on their Value, we weren’t only looking at the price tag, however. We took all of the above criteria into account in order to provide an overall score that will give you an idea of the value that you will receive in purchasing any of the ten of these options on our list.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can I bring this on a plane with me?

a:

The answer to this may depend entirely on the size of the battery of your skateboard. Many airlines will not allow lithium batteries larger than 100-watt-hours on their planes. We recommend calling the airline in advance to avoid disappointment at the airport. If you’re set on bringing your board with you while you travel, you may want to consider other options just in case. You can always send it ahead of time so it’s at your destination when you arrive.

q: Can I use this inclement weather?

a:

We would not suggest taking your new e-board out during weather that is (or will be) inclement. These boards are not waterproof and rain can quickly destroy your investment.

q: What kind of terrain can I take my board out on?

a:

This may depend on the board that you end up purchasing. Generally speaking, though, you’ll find that most electric skateboards work fantastic on hard surfaces like concrete or asphalt. We would not recommend using your e-board on grass, dirt or roads that are especially gravelly, though, unless you’ve decided to invest in the Evolve Carbon GT Series 2-In-1, which is made for all terrain purposes.

q: Is this an ok investment for a first timer?

a:

We think that an e-board would be a great investment for someone just getting into skateboarding under just the right circumstances. Certain options, particularly ones that don’t reach crazy high speeds, would make good starter boards. If you’re on the fence even a little bit, though, we would recommend trying your hand at a regular skateboard a few times beforehand. E-boards can be a great investment and if you’re working with a tight budget, you want to make sure you are spending your money on something you’re going to use and keep on using as time goes on.

q: Will it be hard for me to keep my balance?

a:

Core strength is a definite plus in the word of electric skateboarding. It’s hard to keep your balance on these, especially if you’ve never been on a skateboard at all before and it’s even harder to stay balanced when your board is moving. That said, practice makes perfect and you should go into electric skateboard ownership knowing that you’re probably not going to absolutely kill it right out of the box (unless you’re some sort of weird outlier, in which case…go on with your bad self!).

q: Can I use my e-board at the skate park?

a:

We wouldn’t recommend this. These boards have a motor (in some situations, motors) that can become damaged quite easily if you’re using it to grind at the skatepark. Plus, there are hundreds of electric components to these boards that can explode if damaged in just the right way. So, to avoid becoming a flaming human on a board, we would recommend not using them for fancy tricks, at least not until you’re really familiar with how the board feels and your skills as a rider.

q: Will my e-board last a long time?

a:

This may vary from product to product but we tried to make sure we included options in our buying guide that are durable and designed to last the rider – you – a long while. Aside from purchasing a high-quality and durable product from the get-go, there are things that you, the owner, can do to ensure your e-skateboard operates as it should for a long time. First of all, don’t leave I tout in the rain. Water + electronics notoriously do not mix well. Second, take care not to drop it too often from too high. You wouldn’t casually drop your phone on the ground so you should treat your investment the same way, after all, they’re both made from electric components.