to top 10 table

Best Earbuds Reviewed and Rated in 2019

last updated Apr 22, 2019

We have come quite a long way from the days of Walkman’s and stiff sound devices covered in itchy foam! If you are someone that always has some type of podcast, audiobook, or music playlist streaming into your brain, you are long overdue for a new pair of earbuds. We love the design of some the newest wireless devices because they sync via Bluetooth with your phone, and many of them offer a superior sound that is going to make you want to throw your old wired options right into the garbage. Plus, wireless options are going to travel better without being tangled, and they are going to allow a better range of motion and movement during workouts. In this guide, we have found some of the best earbuds out on the market to take your listening to a new level.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 6 hrs of research

icon
Pasonomi
94/100 our score
Style
97
Sound Quality
93
Battery Life
95
Power Source
94
Value
91
Pasonomi
Why is it better?

Water resistant

Holds a charge for a long time

Comfortable design

Affordable

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Pasonomi
Test Winner: Pasonomi
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
35
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
25
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
6
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
12
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Sound Quality Battery Life Power Source Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Style
97 %
Sound Quality
93 %
Battery Life
95 %
Power Source
94 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.06.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Style
94 %
Sound Quality
89 %
Battery Life
91 %
Power Source
92 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.06.19)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Style
90 %
Sound Quality
91 %
Battery Life
88 %
Power Source
89 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.06.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Style
93 %
Sound Quality
95 %
Battery Life
84 %
Power Source
85 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.06.19)
Amazon Link
$350.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Style
85 %
Sound Quality
86 %
Battery Life
84 %
Power Source
88 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.06.19)
Amazon Link
$48.98
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Style
86 %
Sound Quality
80 %
Battery Life
79 %
Power Source
84 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.06.19)
Amazon Link
$46.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Style
77 %
Sound Quality
84 %
Battery Life
80 %
Power Source
85 %
Value
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.06.19)
Amazon Link
$47.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.6
Style
79 %
Sound Quality
81 %
Battery Life
76 %
Power Source
77 %
Value
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.06.19)
Amazon Link
$169.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.8
Style
74 %
Sound Quality
82 %
Battery Life
75 %
Power Source
77 %
Value
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.06.19)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.8
Style
75 %
Sound Quality
72 %
Battery Life
70 %
Power Source
71 %
Value
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.06.19)
Amazon Link
$44.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Pasonomi Pasonomi
  • Netspower Netspower
  • SPOLEY SPOLEY
  • Bang & Olufsen Bang & Olufsen
  • G-WACK G-WACK
  • MEES MEES
  • TBI PRO TBI PRO
  • Jabra Elite Jabra Elite
  • HELM Audio HELM Audio
  • Letscom Letscom
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Pasonomi

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Pasonomi
Amazon Link
Style
97
Sound Quality
93
Battery Life
95
Power Source
94
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

Water resistant

Holds a charge for a long time

Comfortable design

Affordable

Cons:

Users found that bass levels are a little weak

The reason that we picked the Pasonomi design as our top pick is because it is going to be able to travel with you anywhere- even in the shower! They are made to fit comfortably and securely on your head and offer a great sound as well.

Read more

Style

At first glance, these seem a little bit bulkier than most. They have the standard rubber grip as you find in most designs, and the frame is a bit more rounded and will stick out a more than slimmer options. However, that bulkier design is because it is able to offer a really great sound from such a little device.

Sound quality

The lossless HD rendering found within this unit is going to provide you with incredibly crisp treble sound. The high-quality speaker in conjunction with the tight fitting headpiece is going to be a great way to block out exterior noise, even in really loud environments. One downside users discovered with this design is that the bass isn’t very powerful.

Battery life

One full charge is going to provide users with about 3-4 hours of continuous music.

Power source

When you need to charge them back up, simply place them back into the cradle of their case. This case is able to hold about 60 hours of battery life, so you will find that you will need to charge the case very infrequently. When you do need to charge the case, simply plug the USB cable into an external power source. You can even plug it into your phone for a quick charge!

Value

What we liked about this design is that it comes in at a price that is pretty average. It isn’t the most expensive design out there on the market, but it is far from the least expensive.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is simple, durable, and will keep up with you even during your most intense workout, this design is going to be one of your better options.

2. Netspower

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Netspower
Amazon Link
Style
94
Sound Quality
89
Battery Life
91
Power Source
92
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

Can hold a charge for up to 5 hours

Water resistant

Affordable

Cons:

Some users found that the top volume isn’t very loud

The biggest thing to note about this design from Netspower is that it is going to provide you with hours and hours of continuous playback before needing a charge, and it is built to be tough enough to stand strong during even some of your most intense workouts.

Read more

Style

If you want something that is going to be compact (in both the device and the case), this is going to be one of your better options. These have an exterior design that is going to fit easily in your ear without sticking out too much, but it is still able to deliver some serious sound.

Sound quality

This unit communicates with your phone witBluetoothest 5.0 Bluetooth tech for optional connectivity, and the speakers provide crisp treble and rich bass via the Binaural and bi-directional communication which is a technology that is found in most hearing aids.

Battery life

The great thing about this option is that one single charge on the cradle will offer users up to 4-5 hours of continuous streaming before you need to pop them back on the cradle for a charge.

Power source

The 600mAh battery in the charging case is able to hold enough juice to recharge your device on the go 4-5 times before it also will need to be charged. Charging the cradle is simple- you will just need to plug it into an external power source via a USB cable that is included with purchase.

Value

The cost of this design runs a little lower than average and therefore makes it one of the more affordable wireless options currently out there on the market that still offers superior sound.

Overall

This is a great option for those that are looking to buy something that is going to be reliable and can deliver superior sound without breaking the bank.

3. SPOLEY

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
SPOLEY
Amazon Link
Style
90
Sound Quality
91
Battery Life
88
Power Source
89
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

Holds a charge for up to 4 hours

Bright color options

Charge indicator on case

Cons:

Sound users found that they fit too loosely in their ears

If you want a change from the boring old black designs with simple black cases, this option from SPOLEY is going to be a great choice. It is offered in a few fun and bright colors to match your personal style, while still offered superior sound.

Read more

Style

Users will have the option to select from bold colors that include red, blue, or black. The case for each option is small and compact and has a clear protective lid so that you can gauge how close they are to be fully charged at a glance.

Sound quality

Like all quality devices, the unit offers HD rendering sound. It is also able to be adjusted to offer mono stereo if you wish to share your music or your audiobook with a friend. We found that users have reported that the sound quality is rich and full, even when the volume is turned up.

Battery life

One full charge is going to provide users with about 4 hours of continuous streaming, and the case is able to charge the device 4 times before it, too, will need to be charged.

Power source

One thing that we loved about this design is that it has a screen in the center of the case that will give users an indication on a scale of 1-100 on how much longer it needs to charge. When you need to charge the case, simply plug it into a power source via a USB cable.

Value

The cost of this designs runs about in the middle of the road in terms of price and will cost you about the same amount you would spend to fill up your gas tank before hitting the road on your next road trip.

Overall

If you are looking for something that has a little bit of spunk and style, this design is going to be one of your better options. Plus, the device, as well as the case, are small and compact which make them a lot easier to travel.

4. Bang & Olufsen

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Bang & Olufsen
Amazon Link
Style
93
Sound Quality
95
Battery Life
84
Power Source
85
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$350.00
Pros:

Unmatched sound quality

Neutral colors options available

Small and compact

Comes with a variety of different sizes rubber grips to ensure a perfect fit

Cons:

Incredibly expensive

For all of the audiophiles out there that will only settle for the absolute best even when on the go- you may be impressed by this option from Bang & Olufsen. Keep in mind, however, that the price tag of this design cost about 6 times as much as many of the average priced designs out there on the market.

Read more

Style

One of the things that we noticed right away about this design is that it is offered in a few neutral flesh tones that will make you look like you aren’t wearing anything at all. If that doesn’t seem appealing to you (because everyone is going to wonder why you are ignoring them), it is also offered in a rich indigo blue and black.

Sound quality

Many will tell you that superior sound just isn’t possible with earbuds, but we found that just isn’t the case with this design. These little devices have been expertly tuned by sound engineers from Bang & Olufsen to provide the best sound possible, and based upon insanely glowing reviews from previous customers- they really deliver.

Battery life

The battery life of this design is very similar to many of the average priced options. It can offer continuous play for about 4 hours, and the charging dock can recharge each unit up to 4 times before it will also need a charge.

Power source

The small and compact carrying case is also a battery as well. Users can charge their device using the case up to 4 times. When the case needs to be charged, simply plug it into an external power source using a USB cable.

Value

We mentioned it before, but the price tag on this option is pretty steep and costs about 6 times what your average pair would sell for. However, if you are willing to spare no expense to receive something that is the top of the line- this is going to be well worth the price point.

Overall

For all of those audiophiles out there that simply will not settle for anything less than the best, this option from Bang & Olufsen is going to be one of your best options if you can get past the incredibly steep price point.

5. G-WACK

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
G-WACK
Amazon Link
Style
85
Sound Quality
86
Battery Life
84
Power Source
88
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$48.98
Pros:

Small and compact

Digital screen indicates charge level

Offered in fun colors

Cons:

Pulsing lights while in use can be distracting to others

Some users struggled to get it to connect to their phone

This option from G-WACK is a little more flashy than some of the others that we have seen. The exterior has a ring of light around the edges that lights up while in use so that everyone around you knows that you cannot hear them.

Read more

Style

Users are going to be able to select from two fun colors that include red and blue, but also opt for basic black as well. One of the best features that users loved about these designs is that it is incredibly small- it runs about the same size as a quarter. Plus, it is water resistant so you can wear them worry-free during some of your most intense workouts.

Sound quality

This unit offers hi-fi stereo sound, but it also has a setting for mono sound if you wish to just use one or share your music with a friend. From what we have read from previous users, the sound is quite clear and it is able to reach some pretty high volumes.

Battery life

With one charge, this device is able to deliver about 4 hours of continuous sound- which is pretty standard. The case is able to hold about 16 hours of juice, which equates to about 4 extra charges.

Power source

One of the things that we loved about this design is that the case has a screen in the center to let users know how charged their device is, and it can go from completely dead to fully charged in just one hour.

Value

The cost of this unit runs pretty par for the course. It isn’t the most expensive design that we have seen, but it isn’t the least expensive design out there either.

Overall

What we really like about this design is that it is made for people on the go. The case can offer a quick charge in about an hour, and it is made to be incredibly small and compact which makes it a great travel companion.

6. MEES

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
MEES
Amazon Link
Style
86
Sound Quality
80
Battery Life
79
Power Source
84
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$46.99
Pros:

Very small

Comes with additional rubbers to ensure a proper fit for noise cancellation and comfort

Indicator screen to show how charged it is

Cons:

Does not hold a charge as long

Some users have reported sound spontaneously dropping out from time to time

This design from MEES is made for traveling. It is one of the slimmest and compact options out there on the market, and it is still able to deliver some really serious noise canceling sound through such a small device.

Read more

Style

Users will have the option to select from two colors that include black and navy blue. What we found to be most impressive about this option is that it is one of the smaller options that we have seen, and it comes in a sleek tube-like carrying case that couples as a charger that can easily fit right in your pocket.

Sound quality

One of the things that makes the sound so great is that materials used on the inside of the device. High purity graphene and rubidium iron boron are going to help conduct crisp treble and really rich bass. Based on what past users have had to say, the sound of this option is really great.

Battery life

The battery life for this smaller option is a little bit lacking compared to some of the other designs. A full charge will offer users about 3 hours of continuous sound, and the case can recharge each device up to 3 times.

Power source

The case for this unit is able to be charged via a micro USB cable that is included with purchase. The case also has a screen along the front what will indicate how close your device it to be completely charged.

Value

This is another option that is priced in the middle of the road. It isn’t the most expensive design out there on the market, but it isn’t the least expensive as well.

Overall

This design from MEES is going to be one of your best options if you are looking for something that is small and discrete. It might not be able to hold a charge for as long as some of the other designs, but its small frame will make for a great travel companion.

7. TBI PRO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
TBI PRO
Amazon Link
Style
77
Sound Quality
84
Battery Life
80
Power Source
85
Value
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$47.95
Pros:

Holds a charge for up to 6 hours

Light display on case lets to know when it is fully charged

Cons:

A little bulky

Some found that the rubber grips are a little wide and can be uncomfortable

This option from TBI PRO is going to be a little bulkier and stick out a bit more than some of the others we have seen, but that little extra bulk is going to be worth it when you consider what these can do.

Read more

Style

As we mentioned before, these are going to stick out from your head more than some of the slimmer options. They have a long, black oval frame that is accented with a bright red ring around the edges. One thing that it does a little different than most users love is that instead of rubber grips, it uses memory foam that will conform to the shape of your ear with prolonged use.

Sound quality

Offering hi-fi stereo sound, this unit isn’t lacking in sound quality. It also connects to your phone via 5.0 Bluetooth, so connecting will be easy and you won’t want to worry about dropping your connection. Plus, it has quite an impressive range of about 33 feet, so you won’t feel so tethered to your phone.

Battery life

One of the best features of this design is that it is able to hold a charge for quite a bit longer than the norm. One full charge can provide impressive 4-6 hours of continuous music.

Power source

The case for this unit also doubles as a portable charger. The battery in the charge can lend an additional full charge up to three times, and it has indicator lights on the inside to show when you have reached a full charge.

Value

As with all of these similar designs, the cost of this unit runs about in the middle of the road in terms of price. If you are looking for something that isn’t the most or least expensive option, this is going to be a great option.

Overall

Where this option from TBI PRO really shines is in its battery capacity. It is able to hold a charge for much longer than many of the standard options, but it does this at the cost of being a little bulkier and heavier than the slimmer options.

8. Jabra Elite

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.6
Jabra Elite
Amazon Link
Style
79
Sound Quality
81
Battery Life
76
Power Source
77
Value
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$169.99
Pros:

Connects to Alexa

Comes with different size rubber grips for a comfort fit

Active noise cancellation

Cons:

Expensive

Some users report that the microphone is a little less than reliable

We loved this design from Jabra Elite because it fuses modern tech with a simple design. Using voice recognition with Amazon Alexa, you can press the button along the side to have Alexa change up your music playlist while keeping your phone in your pocket and your hands-free.

Read more

Style

This design is going to be a little on the bulkier side compared to some of the slimmer designs. We like that users can select from a few different color options that include basic black, copper, gold, and blue.

Sound quality

One of the things that we noticed that this unit offers is a steady background noise filter that you often have seen in many of the higher end noise canceling devices that is able to drown out the sounds in the background so that you can be fully immersed in your music.

Battery life

Another thing that we liked about this option is that it offers up to 5 hours of continuous music, which is just slightly better than other designs out there on the market.

Power source

The case for this design also serves as an external battery to give you a boost when you are far from a permanent power source. This battery can take your device from dead to a full charge up to three times, providing about 15 hours of mobile power.

Value

The downside to this design is that it comes in at a price point that is almost three times as much as many of the standard designs. However, if you take into consideration the convenience of being able to sync to Alexa to keep you hands-free, this is a really great value.

Overall

We think that this design is a really great option for those that are looking for something that is powerful, and the connection to Alexa is a great way to interact with your phone without the need of taking it out of your pocket.

9. HELM Audio

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.8
HELM Audio
Amazon Link
Style
74
Sound Quality
82
Battery Life
75
Power Source
77
Value
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Water resistant

Excellent sound quality

Comes with additional rubber grips to ensure a comfortable grip for all users

Cons:

A little more expensive than most

Doesn’t hold a charge as long

If you are looking for something that is priced slightly above the average but that isn’t going to break the bank, this is going to be one of your better options. It offers superior sound and style, and its tight design makes it perfect for high impact exercises.

Read more

Style

The style of this design is a little bigger than most, but it is designed to fit perfectly into your ear to promote noise cancellation. It comes with three pairs of different size non-slip rubber grips to ensure that you get the perfect fit that is going to stay securely in place even when you are engaging in some intense physical activities.

Sound quality

This unit offers hi-fi sound quality, which is going to give you that sharp treble and rich bass. Based on what have read from previous users, the sound is really quite good.

Battery life

One full charge is going to provide users with about 3.5 hours of continuous play, which is a little less than the norm. The charging case is able to provide three full charges before it too, will need a charge.

Power source

The case for this option also serves as a mobile charging station. When the base needs to be charged, simply plug the micro USB into an outlet.

Value

The cost of this unit is just slightly higher than the norm that we have seen out there on the market. It may not hold a charge as long, but the superior design that excellent sound quality makes it well worth the slightly padded price tag.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is just slightly more expensive than the norm that provides excellent quality and sound, this option from HELM Audio is going to be an excellent choice.

10. Letscom

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.8
Letscom
Amazon Link
Style
75
Sound Quality
72
Battery Life
70
Power Source
71
Value
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.99
Pros:

Case can charge device in just one hour

Small and compact design

Cons:

USB cable is a little on the short side

Not great for small ears

What we liked about this design from Letscom is that it is something that is simple in its design, but incredibly durable, and it comes in at a really affordable price point that is worth checking out.

Read more

Style

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this design. These devices are small and sleek and do not stick too much. Plus, to ensure that you get a secure and comfortable grip, it also comes with rubber grips in small, medium, and large sizes.

Sound quality

Sound is offered in both stereo mode for when you are alone, and mono mode for when you want to share your music with a friend. From what we have gathered from previous users, the sound quality is good but isn’t something that is going to blow you away.

Battery life

One of the best features of this design is the battery life. A single charge is going to provide you with almost 5 hours of continuous music. The best part is that the portable charger will recharge your device up to 8 times!

Power source

As we mentioned above, the carrying case also serves as the charging port. It will take just 1 hour to completely charge your device from completely dead. When your case needs to be charged, simply use the USB charging cable the comes with the purchase.

Value

The cost of this design is just slightly more affordable than many of the averaged priced options out there on the market. If you are looking for something that is going to save you a little bit of money, this is going to be one of your better options.

Overall

For those that are looking to save a little bit of money on a more affordable option, but still want superior sound, this option from Letscom is worth a look!

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

Just like hats and glasses, these devices are going to accent your head- so you want to make sure that they look good!

We wanted to make a point of selecting slimmer and more compact designs that are going to look like you aren’t wearing anything at all. However, we were also drawn to options that came in a variety of different colors that offered a little bit of character. Some users do not like the styles that look like they aren’t wearing anything at all, because it leaves coworkers and friends hurt and offended when you ignore them when you ask them a question! How these devices look to others one thing that we considered, but style and design are also going to play a big part in how they feel. A comfortable fit is going to be a big factor in whether these become something that you can wear every day. One thing that we looked for was companies that offered various sizes of rubber grips. Not all heads are built exactly the same, so there shouldn’t just be one size rubber grip. Users typically provided higher marks in the category of comfort and fit to those companies that offered various size options to select from, to help users find the right size for them.

Sound Quality

Hands down, sound quality was one of the most important things that we considered.

Sure, they need to be comfortable and durable, but nothing is going to inspire a great workout than a song that really has a pumping bass and sharp trebles. Realistically speaking these devices aren’t going to give you the same level of quality (especially bass) than standard bulky devices, that slip over your head. Devices need room to create the proper vibrations, and devices that are stuck into your ear just don’t have enough space. However, that isn’t to say that there aren’t designs out there that can do some amazing things. One of the biggest features that we looked for was a noise-canceling option. Because these devices create an airtight seal, they are perfect for blocking out any and all distractions. We also made sure that we found designs that offered hi-fi stereo sound that provides a very immersive soundscape. If you are a bit of an audiophile and are looking for something that is really going to be comparable to standard options, the design from Bang & Olufsen is going to be as close as you are going to get- but it comes in at a pretty hefty price tag.

Battery Life

The absolute worst thing that can happen in the middle of an intense workout is having your music cut out, so we made sure to select designs that had a battery that can keep up with you.

From what we could gather, the average lifespan of a fully charged device is about 3-4 hours, which is pretty impressive considering that is 3-4 hours of constant streaming. We do have to note that if you are using these devices to talk on the phone, that lifespan will be cut in half to about 2-2.5 hours. On the higher end of the battery life scale is designs that will last you up to 6 hours, but those styles tend to be a little bulky and heavy and can prove to be a little uncomfortable when worn for a longer period of time. So, you are going to have to make a decision to determine which is more important to you - battery life or comfort.

Power Source

All of these devices out there on the market come in a sleek and compact carrying case that also serves as a portable power source.

What we looked for in these cases was not only how many charges could be conducted off of a single charge, but also how long it took for them to charge from dead to full charge. We found that almost all cases were able to conduct at least 2 charges on the low end, and up to 8 charges on the high end. The average number of charges, however, for most designs landed at about 4, which equates to about 16-20 hours of use right in your pocket. We were drawn to designs that had a screen on the inside that would indicate just how charged your design was on a scale of 1 to 100. For the most part, charging up these units is pretty fast and won’t require you to wait around all day, with most being able to portability charge each device in just an hour. Each portable charger typically comes with a USB charging cable so that you can charge up your case by plugging into a power outlet at home, or you can even plug it directly into your phone while you are on the go.

Value

As always, it is important to save you a little bit of money without sacrificing quality.

We found that the price tags on these devices were pretty consistent, and there were very few instances where prices varied. If you aren’t exactly an audiophile and you simply want a device that is able to stream your favorite music and podcasts directly into your brain, you are likely going to need to spend as much money as it will take to fill up your gas tank before a big road trip. However, for all of the audiophiles out there, get ready to crack open that wallet pretty wide. Products that are made by some of the big names such as Bang & Olufsen bring their top of the line research into the science of sound to their devices, and their high-quality designs come in at a price point that can cost up to 6 times as much as many of the more affordable options. If you want something that is going to have smart features such as connectivity to Amazon Alexa, you are going to pay about 2-3 times as much as the average pair.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Sound Quality
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Battery Life
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Sound Quality

If you go into this purchase not expecting the same level of quality as over the head options, you won't be disappointed. The over the head options are able to produce deeper tones because of the way vibrations travel through the air. When you have a device that is pressed up against your head, it just isn't going to have the same amount of room to send vibrations.

Style

Finding a size that fits you perfectly is going to be the difference between good sound and amazing sound. Be sure that you select a design that comes with various sizes of rubber grips. If you have a rubber grip that doesn't fit your ear properly, not only is your comfort going to suffer, but the sound quality will suffer as well.

Battery Life

A shortened battery life can be a real dealbreaker for some. If you need something that is going to have a much longer battery life (around 6 hours), you are going to need to buy something that is a lot bulkier than most. This means that it isn't going to be as comfortable as some of the slimmer options, but you aren't going to need to worry about your song cutting off in the middle of a set.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Will they fall out of my ears?

a:

This is one of the most common questions when it comes to these devices, and for good reason. By simply looking at these, they don’t look like something that is going to stay put. However, innovative designs and smart material choices mean they are going to stay put- even when engaging in some pretty intense workout. The rubber on the inside of these devices is made from a non-slip material, which means that it is really going to grip the inside of your ear. Plus, many designs come with multiple rubber grips, so you can ensure that you equip the right size that is going to fit your head perfectly.

q: Is it going to be something that is difficult to pair to my phone?

a:

We know- the thought of arguing with yet another device to pair to your phone may not seem appealing, especially when wired options simply need to be popped into the audio port. However, all of these devices that we have selected for our list use 5.0 Bluetooth tech, which means it is going to be a snap to pair it- and you are only going to need to do it once! To pair, go into the settings on your phone and look for the Bluetooth category. Once you open this setting, search for your device on the drop-down list. Once you pair it, every time you turn on your device, they will automatically communicate with your phone. In essence, this way is actually going to be a little more simple than plugging them into a headphone jack, and you won’t have to deal with wire wires!

q: If they don’t have wires, won’t it make them easy to become lost?

a:

This is another concern that we hear quite frequently. Sure, these devices are small, and if you are someone that is prone to misplace things frequently, you may be a little hesitant to take the plunge away from wires. The good news here is that the inclusion of the small cases that also serve as a portable battery work hand in hand with these devices, which is going to lessen the possibility that you lose them (or worse- lose just one of them!). Users typically bring their case along with them when they are on the go because it also serves as a portable battery. This means that when you are done using them, you are more inclined to pop them back into the case to charge them rather than just toss them onto the kitchen counter when you get home.

q: Do they really offer decent sound?

a:

Audiophiles have been saying it for years- earbuds just don’t offer the same audio quality as traditional over the head options. These styles are typically better for bass tones, because of the way that the sound is able to travel over the hairs inside of your head. However, as technology improves, these little gadgets are providing better and better sound quality. We found that there were some brands out there on the market that got the sound stamp of approval from some very discerning audiophiles. For instance, the option from Bang & Olufsen has been rated to be one of the best designs out there on the market, and some even compare them to the quality from some of the heavy hitters such as Bose. The downside to these innovative options is that they come in at an incredibly high price tag that costs almost six times as much as many of the more affordable options.

q: Can I use them to talk on the phone?

a:

Absolutely! Almost all designs that we have seen out there on the market have a microphone as well as a button built into the side that will allow you to answer calls. It is important to note, however, that using them to talk on the phone is going to drain more of your battery than if you were just streaming music. If a device has a battery life of about 4-5 hours when streaming music, you can generally expect that battery life to last about 2-2.5 hours if you are using it to exclusively talk on the phone.

q: Will I be able to just use one at a time?

a:

Sometimes with certain activities such as biking, you want to be able to listen to your favorite podcast, but you still want to be able to hear what is going on around you in order to stay safe. The great thing about these devices is that not only are you able to just listen to one at a time, but they also offer mono stereo that blends the left and right speaker into one. Not only is this a perfect feature for those that only want to use one at a time, but it also makes it ideal if you are waiting for a flight with a friend and you both want to listen to an audiobook off of your phone without being tethered by a short wire.

q: Are they water resistant?

a:

We mentioned how these devices are really going to stay put when engaging in some pretty intense workouts, but how are they going to fare when your plyo routine has created a heavy sweat that pools in your ears? The good news is that all of these devices on our list are considered to be water resistant. That means that if you are sweating a lot or you get caught in the rain, it isn’t going to affect your device. There are even some options out there on the market that are so water resistant that you are even able to wear them in the shower!