to top 10 table

Best Dog Sweaters

last updated Mar 03, 2019

There are more benefits for clothing your pooch in outerwear other than the fact that it makes them took absolutely adorable. As the temperatures continue to fall, older pooches or those with issues such a kidney problems can really benefit from an additional layer of clothing to ward off hypothermia. When you are shopping around for the perfect fit for your pooch, it is important that you ensure that you get the absolute perfect size. For some reason, most animals are not a big fan of wearing clothing, so if it is too loose they will try and disrobe before you even leave the house, and if it is too tight they may plop down like a overburdened mule and refuse to leave. In this guide you will find some of our favorite picks for dog sweaters to keep your pooch warm on walks this winter.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
Kuoser
91.4/100 our score
Style
97
Materials
89
Features
90
Size
93
Value
88
Kuoser
Why is it better?

Detachable lining

Easy to put on

Waterproof

Affordable

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Kuoser
Test Winner: Kuoser
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
18
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Materials Features Size Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Style
97%
Materials
89%
Features
90%
Size
93%
Value
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$13.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Style
89%
Materials
91%
Features
90%
Size
88%
Value
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$20.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Style
89%
Materials
85%
Features
86%
Size
94%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$13.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Style
89%
Materials
91%
Features
87%
Size
85%
Value
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$26.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Style
87%
Materials
88%
Features
84%
Size
79%
Value
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$9.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Style
84%
Materials
80%
Features
81%
Size
76%
Value
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$12.50
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Style
85%
Materials
79%
Features
75%
Size
82%
Value
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$12.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.4
Style
85%
Materials
76%
Features
83%
Size
70%
Value
73%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.2
Style
79%
Materials
76%
Features
78%
Size
70%
Value
73%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$24.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71
Style
72%
Materials
73%
Features
70%
Size
65%
Value
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$9.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Kuoser
  • Blueberry Cable Knit
  • KOOLTAIL
  • Chilly Dog
  • CHBORLESS
  • Gooby
  • BINGPET
  • TPZSY
  • Blueberry Nordic Snowflake
  • EXPAWLORER
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Kuoser

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Kuoser
Style
97
Materials
89
Features
90
Size
93
Value
88
best offer for today
$13.99
Pros:

Detachable lining

Easy to put on

Waterproof

Affordable

Cons:

Some users found that the velcro doesn’t stay stitched with prolonged use

Runs a little small

This design was one of our favorite options because it offers users to change up their look with ease, and it is easy on you to take on and off of your pet. The quality of materials and the functionality of this design make it worth checking out.

Read more

Style

What we really liked about this option is that it is more than one layer just like your winter coat to keep your pooch nice and warm. Color options include beige, black, and blue, and each color option has a soft plaid coordinated lining on the inside.

Materials

The outside layer or this design is made from a completely waterproof polyester material with a polyester filler. The plaid interior lining is also made from polyester, but it looks and feels a lot likea soft and comfortable fleece.

Features

Taking this unit on and off of your pooch is incredibly easy. Instead of threading it through reluctant legs, you will simply drape it over the back of your pooch and cinch it with the flap over their stomach. The biggest feature about this option is that the waterproof top layer and the fleece lining are able to be detached and worn independently.

Size

This is a great option no matter the size of your hiking companion. Size options start out at extra small, and run all the way up to 3XL. Kuoser uses the measurements of the back, neck, and chest, so be sure you measure your furry friend before picking out the proper size.

Value

The cost of this design is an excellent value that comes in at a very affordable price point. Considering that you can detach both layers to wear them independently depending on the weather outside, this is a really great value.

Overall

Hands down, this is our favorite style out there on the market because it comes in at a really great value, and it is made from high-quality materials that are going to be easy to pop on your pooch and it will keep them nice and warm.

2. Blueberry Cable Knit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Blueberry Cable Knit
Style
89
Materials
91
Features
90
Size
88
Value
87
best offer for today
$20.99
Pros:

Trusted brand

Offered in a wide variety of colors and sizes

Made from a wool blend

Cons:

Runs large

Blueberry Pet is one of the more popular brands that makes high quality gear and accessories for all of your pets. What we loved about this option is that it comes in a sharp cable knit design that is offered in a ton of fun colors and will keep your pooch nice and warm on those long morning walks.

Read more

Style

This option comes in a sharp cable knit design with ribbing along the waistline, paw cuffs, and neckline. It is offered in a ton of different colors that include yellow, pink, blue, gray, purple, black, and red.

Materials

What we found interesting about this style is that it is actually made from a wool blend. This means that even without a lining, it is going to be able to keep your pooch incredibly warm. The downside of this material is that it isn’t going to be ideal to wear in the rain since it isn’t waterproof.

Features

Ribbing around the legs and neck not only give this style a sharp finish, but it will also feel nice and soft against your pooch’s skin. Another feature that pet owners will appreciate is that there is a cut out in the back of the neck that will allow users to gain access to their collar when they need to attach a leash.

Size

Users can select sizes based upon back measurements. Sizes start at back that measures to be 8 inches long, and run all the way to 20 inches long. Blueberry Pet also provides users with a size chart to ensure that it will also fit their pet’s neck and chest as well.

Value

The cost of this unit is just slightly higher than most, but not by much. Considering that it comes from a trusted brand and is made from a high-quality wool blend, we feel that this is offered at an excellent value.

Overall

For those pet owners that want their pooches to look as sharp as they do, this is going to be an excellent choice. It is made from high-quality materials to keep your furry friends warm, and it comes from a trusted brand.

3. KOOLTAIL

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
KOOLTAIL
Style
89
Materials
85
Features
86
Size
94
Value
90
best offer for today
$13.99
Pros:

Easy to care for

Adorable hoodie design

Affordable

Cons:

Runs a little small

Limited size options

The great part about this design from KOOLTAIL is that it looks so comfortable and warm you may wish that you were small enough to fit into it. It sports a casual hooded design that runs all the way down to the end of the tail to keep your furry friend nice and warm.

Read more

Style

This plaid design is offered in two colors- red and blue. Users love the comfortable ribbing around the leg cuffs and waist that give it that classic hoodie look. You are sure to get a few laughs and a lot of compliments with this design!

Materials

The inside and outside of this design is made from a blend of 65 percent polyester and 35 percent cotton. This means washing it is going to be as simple as tossing it into the washing machine, and it will not affect the integrity of the fabric.

Features

One of the things that we noticed right off the bat is that it has a kangaroo pocket at the base much like all of your hoodies. This is a perfect place for your pooch to stash a few extra milk bones and sticks for the long walk. It also has a cut out in the back of the neck to allow users easily attach a leash to their collar.

Size

Users can select from sizes that start out at extra small and run all the way up to extra-extra large. Sizing is just a little bit more limited than what we have seen with other brands, so be sure that you consult their sizing chart and take measurements of your pooch before making your purchase.

Value

The price of this design is one of the more affordable options out there on the market. Considering the easy to care for materials and adorable styling, we feel it is offered at a great price.

Overall

We love this option because it has a unique and affordable design, but it is also made from practical materials that are going to be a cinch to care for the next time your furry friend rolls in something the were not supposed to.

4. Chilly Dog

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Chilly Dog
Style
89
Materials
91
Features
87
Size
85
Value
86
best offer for today
$26.99
Pros:

Stylish design

Runs to the base of the tail

Perfect fit for toy pigs up to great danes

Cons:

Some feel the fabric is a little rough

Hand wash only

It’s hard not to love just about everything about this brand- from the adorable name to the style of the shirt to the quality of materials used. It’s important to note that this design does cost a tiny bit more than some of the others that we have seen, but we feel it is well worth the price point.

Read more

Style

While there aren’t any colors or various styles to select from, we don’t think that matters too much. We love the fun grandpa sweater style of this design, as well as the colors used. It comes in an ash gray color with a white neck collar with a red stripe running down the middle. It also has a similar white and red pattern running along the waist.

Materials

The great part about this option is that it is made from 100 percent wool which means that it is going to keep your pooch nice and warm when the temperatures begin to drop. It’s important to note that due to the use of this material, it is going to be just a tad heavier than most, which could be a problem for sensitive pets.

Features

One of the things that users love most about this option is that it is incredibly long- even for bigger pets. It isn’t going to stop just past their front legs like some of the other designs. This model will run right to the base of their tail- which is going to also keep them a lot warmer than most.

Size

Chilly Dog suggests that rather than measuring your pet, you are going to be better off selecting the right size based upon weight. Sizes offered for this design start off at extra-extra small and run all the way up to XXX-Large.

Value

While the price tag may be slightly more expensive than some of the others out there on the market, we feel that it is well worth it, considering the quality of materials used and the positive reactions from pet owners.

Overall

If you are looking for something that offers a lot of style while still keeping your pooch happy and warm, this option from Chilly Dog is going to be one of your better choices.

5. CHBORLESS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
CHBORLESS
Style
87
Materials
88
Features
84
Size
79
Value
85
best offer for today
$9.99
Pros:

Affordable

Comes in many fun colors

Very warm material

Cons:

Not made for bigger pets

Many users found that it runs small

For a more business casual look, this design from CHBORLESS is going to be a great choice. It is made to fit a little tighter and more form fitted than most, and is made more for smaller pets.

Read more

Style

This model has a basic and solid color design that has sharp ribber around the cuffs and collar for a comfortable fit. Color options include light gray, red, beige, purple, pink, blue, and black.

Materials

Made from a woolen blend, this unit is going to keep your pets nice and toasty. From what we have read from what previous users have had to say, this materials is a little stiff, but it feels very thick and it seems it would be excellent at keeping pets warm.

Features

Ribbing around the cuffs and waist not only mean that it looks great, but it is also going to keep it from moving around with your pets to prevent rubbing and chaffing. It also has a lower neckline that will allow you to easily attach a leash to the collar.

Size

Users can select from sizes that start out at extra-extra small and run up to extra large. We suggest that you consult the sizing chart that suggests you measure your pet’s chest, neck, and body to find the perfect fit.

Value

What we liked most about this design that it comes in at one of the most affordable price points out there on the market. We feel that this is a great value because it uses high-quality materials that will keep them warm.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is going to be incredibly affordable in case you are worried that your furry friend refused to wear clothes, this is an excellent place to start.

6. Gooby

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Gooby
Style
84
Materials
80
Features
81
Size
76
Value
86
best offer for today
$12.50
Pros:

Easy to wash

Affordable

Made from warm and high quality fleece

Cons:

Not for bigger pets

If you have never tried to get your pooch to wear clothes, it can sometimes be a bit of a struggle if they aren’t used to it. This option from Gooby is simple in its design, and incredibly soft and lightweight so that your pooch may be more willing to wear it.

Read more

Style

As we mentioned earlier, the styling of this option is incredibly simple. It is offered in a lot of bright and fun colors that include red, green, black, yellow, purple, pink, blue, gray, and orange.

Materials

What users really liked most about this design is that it is made from thick, high-quality fleece material that feels soft, but will keep your furry friend nice and warm. Plus, this material is a little more heavy duty than most, and can be cleaned by throwing it into the washing machine.

Features

One thing that we noticed right off of the bat is that this design has a hook built right into the back of the design. This means that you can hook up a leash to the back of it without worrying about fishing out the collar hook via a hole in the back. This is going to make going for a walk a lot easier, especially if you don’t typically have your pet wear a collar.

Size

Size options are just slightly more limited than others that we have seen, and seems to be tailored more towards smaller pets. Sizes start out at extra small, and runs all the way up to extra large.

Value

The best part about this option is that it comes in at a very affordable price point that is just slightly more than what you may have spent on your morning cup of coffee.

Overall

If you were considering buying something for a pet that has never worn clothes before, this is an excellent option that comes in at a really affordable price point, and it is also easy to care for as well.

7. BINGPET

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
BINGPET
Style
85
Materials
79
Features
75
Size
82
Value
80
best offer for today
$12.99
Pros:

Affordable

Cute styling includes turtleneck and paw print on back

Cons:

Imitation wool can be a little itchy

Runs small

The styling on this design is something that we haven’t seen yet, and it is incredibly adorable. While it isn’t offered in any different color or design styles, we feel that this is a universal palate and style that will look great on any pet. Plus, it comes in at a really affordable price point.

Read more

Style

This option comes in a beige color with a brown fleck in the fabric. It has chocolate brown ribbed accents along the cuffs and collar. One thing that users really love about this design is the embroidered brown paw print on the back that just adds a little pop of character.

Materials

BINGPET uses acrylic textiles to make their product. This type of material has a look and feel of wool, and will keep your pet just as warm as wool, and it comes in at a much lower price point. The only downside to this material is that some find it to be a little scratchy on bare skin.

Features

Ribbed cuffs at the neck and the waist will keep the unit from shiting around with your pet, and it will also keep it from rubbing and chaffing. One of the things that we liked most about this option was the turtleneck collar. This feature will allow users to adjust the height of the neckline to add a little extra warmth where needed.

Size

Users can select from sizes that start out at extra small and run up to large. From what we gathered, this design isn’t really made for bigger pets, and will only worth for those that fall into the small to medium-sized category.

Value

If you were looking to save a little bit of money, this is your chance. The price tag on this unit is one of the more affordable options out there on the market. Just keep in mind that the imitation wool can be a little itchy against bare skin.

Overall

What we loved most about this option is that it has an affordable style that is sure to gain you plenty of compliments at the dog park, and it is made from a material that will keep your pooch warm on those cool walks.

8. TPZSY

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.4
TPZSY
Style
85
Materials
76
Features
83
Size
70
Value
73
best offer for today
Pros:

Affordable

Reversible

Easy to take on and off

Cons:

Runs very small

Some found velcro comes undone when running

If you and your trail buddy are not held back be a little bad weather, this is going to be an excellent option. It is made from high quality material that is going to keep your furry friend high and dry, and it is really easy to take on and off. Plus, it is offered at an incredible price point.

Read more

Style

There are a few different color options that users can select from. The lining of each unit is offered in a few flannel color options that include green, red, and blue. Users can also select an exterior shell that is either beige or black.

Materials

What we like about this option is that it is made from incredibly durable and high-quality materials that are made for pets that like to get dirty. The exterior shell is made from waterproof nylon, and the flannel is made from cotton with a padded cotton filling.

Features

For rainy weather, you have the option of turning this inside out and allowing the waterproof quilted exterior be on the outside. For warmer days, you can then turn it back around the other way to have the flannel on the outside. We also like that this unit cinches in place under the belly with velcro, making it easy to take on and off.

Size

This unit is offered in sizes that start off as XX-small, and run all the way up to an impressive XXX-large. This means it is perfect for tiny poodles and as well as great danes.

Value

This is easily one of the more affordable options out there on the market, and it will likely cost you just a little bit more than what you spent on your morning cup of coffee. Considering the innovative design and high-quality materials, we feel this is an excellent value.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is going to be incredibly easy to care for, and will keep your pooch high and dry no matter what the climate, this option from TPZSY is going to be a great and affordable choice.

9. Blueberry Nordic Snowflake

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.2
Blueberry Nordic Snowflake
Style
79
Materials
76
Features
78
Size
70
Value
73
best offer for today
$24.99
Pros:

Trusted brand

Warm material

Users have option to purchase matching shirt

Cons:

Runs small

Shrinks when washed

If you are in the market for something that is going to be a little more flashy and comes in sharp designs that are bound to draw attention, this design from Blueberry Pet is worth a look. Plus, if you get too jealous of the attention your pooch gets, you can actually purchase a matching shirt at a slightly higher price point.

Read more

Style

Users can select a few different Nordic pattern choices that are offered in cool tones such as blue, gray, and green, and some have bright orange or red accents. Unlike most, this option doesn’t have sleeves so it may be a little more comfortable for your pet.

Materials

The entirety of this unit is made from acrylic material. This means that it is going to feel like actual wool and keep your pet warm, but it doesn’t come with the wool price tag.

Features

The biggest take away when it comes to this design is that it actually offers users the option to buy a shirt that matches their pooches at a pretty affordable price point. The design for your pet is long and will likely come to the base of their tail to keep their body nice and warm.

Size

To find the right size. Blueberry Pet measures the length of your pooches back. This means that it is offered in sizes that start out at 10 inches and include 12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 inches in length.

Value

The cost of this design runs about par for the course. It isn’t the most expensive design that we have seen out there on the market, but it is far from being the least expensive.

Overall

For those that often get jealous that their pet is dressed better than they are, you will be pleased that you will have the option to buy a matching style if you find that your pooch is getting more compliments than you are!

10. EXPAWLORER

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71
EXPAWLORER
Style
72
Materials
73
Features
70
Size
65
Value
75
best offer for today
$9.99
Pros:

Affordable

Leash hook on back of neck

Offered in fun colors

Cons:

Stiff material is hard to get on pet

Runs small

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this design from EXPAWLORER. We liked it because it has a few really smart features that make it stand out from the rest, and it comes in a lot of fun colors that are almost as happy as your pooch.

Read more

Style

This design offers a simple frame that is going to sit low on your pet’s neck, but comes down to about the base of their tail. Color options include colors such as green, purple, gray, pink, blue, and red.

Materials

Made from 100 percent polyester fleece, this is going to keep your pooch incredibly warm when the temperature plunge. Plus, because it is made from polyester, it means that it is going to be incredibly easy to toss into the washing machine when it starts to smell a little ripe.

Features

One thing that we noted about this design is that is has a hook on the back to make hooking a leash on quick and easy. Plus, it has an added bonus of a kangaroo pocket on the back so that Rover can toss in some extra milk bones for the road.

Size

Users can select sizes that start at extra small and run all the way up to extra large. We suggest using the sizing chart that it offered to ensure that you get the right fit by measuring the chest and neck.

Value

The price of this design is one of the more affordable options out there on the market. We feel this is a great value based upon the quality of materials that were used.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is going to be incredibly warm, offer a simple style that comes in fun colors, and won’t break the bank- this option form EXPAWLORER is a great choice.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

Let’s face it, upping your pets style is the real reason that you are here.

When you shop for outdoor gear to dress yourself, style is always something that you look at right off the bat, so it’s no wonder you are going to do the same thing for all of your furry family members. When we were selecting designs to place on our list, style was one of the very first things that we looked at. One of the most important aspects was brands offers a lot of colors options that pet owners can select from. We were drawn to companies that not only had a lot of different color options offered for users, but also had a lot of patterns and designs as well. How is your pooch going to get complimented at the park if he’s dressed in drab colors like Friar Tuck? We also wanted to select styles that were going to be long enough to keep your pet warm, and also make it easier to take it off and on when the time came.

Materials

What type of materials are used for a product are going to dictate how long it is going to last, how warm it is going to keep your pooch, and how easy it is going to be to clean.

We love our pets, but they can smell pretty ripe from time to time. If your pooch is notoriously smelly, or you often find them rolling around in things that they shouldn’t, you are going to want to select materials that are easy to clean. Hands down, polyester and cotton are going to be your best option. These materials can be tossed into the washing machine and clean up really well. If you are simply selecting a style so that you pooch can come into work with you and chat it up with your coworkers, you might not need something that is going ot be as easy to clean. Wool is a great material that will keep your pooch warm and looking sharp, but it is a little bit more difficult to clean. Users that opt for wool will need to hand wash these garments in cool water with mild detergent, so that is something that you are going to want to keep in mind when considering wool.

Features

Your pets are going to need different features on their clothing than you do, so we made sure to select styles with smart accents to make your life easier.

One of the biggest accents that we noticed on most of these designs were holes in the back of the neck that would allow users to gain access to collars to clip a leash for easy walks without the need to take off their entire top. Ribbed cuffs and collars are also something that your furry friends will appreciate, because it means it is going to be less likely to dig into their skin or cause chaffing. Surprisingly, pockets were something that we found on many of the styles out there. While there is no practical function for a pocket, we couldn’t resist how charming they were. If you are someone that like to go on muddy adventures on the trails with your companion, you might want to opt for a design that has a waterproof coating to ensure that it will keep your pets fur from getting too wet (and smelly).

Size

To ensure that everyone is happy, making sure that you get the right size is incredibly vital.

If you select a size that is too small, your pet is going to be incredibly uncomfortable and you run the fist of restricting blood flow to their paws. Plus, a tight fit is going to be a struggle to get on and off, which means they are less likely to want to wear it. A size too big may be more comfortable, but it means that the moment your pooch doesn’t want to wear it anymore, they can easily wriggle out of it like Houdini. This can also be a big problem if you leash is hooked directly to the garment, because that means that they will be able to escape while you are out on your walk. Many companies offer a sizing chart that users three measurements to ensure you get the right fit chest, neck, and body. Make sure that you pooch fits into all three categories for a particular size to make sure you get the exact right one.

Value

As always, we want to save you a little bit of money when we can.

From what we have gathered, these garments are incredibly affordable, and even many of the trusted brand names come in at an affordable price point. This means that you can buy more than one so that you can limit the frequency that you will have to wash them! On the lower end of the price scale were products that were made from acrylic fibers. This material has a similar look and feel as your traditional wool, but it comes in at a much lower price point. If you are considering acrylic to save some money, keep in mind that users found that they don’t hold up quite as long as wool or cotton. Polyester and cottons make up the middle of the price scale. These materials are simple and easy to care for, but they aren’t as warm. At the top of the not-so-steep price scale is your traditional wool. This material may cost more, but it is going to hold up longer and keep your pooch warm.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Style

Bright and happy colors serve more than one purpose than just looking sharp and happy. Bright colors are going to make you and your pooch more visible to people on the road so they can see you at all times. Drivers sometimes can spot you, but they might not see your pet. If you ensure that they are dressed flashy, drivers will certainly be able to spot your pet.

Materials

If warmth is something that you are looking for above all else, wool is the way to go. This material is going to be breathable enough that it won't (most likely) upset your pet's skin, and it is the best of the best in holding in body heat on those really cold days.

Size

We cannot stress it enough- get the right size! Companies make it very easy and simple for users to compare measurements of their pet to their sizing chart to ensure that you get a size that will fit your pet perfectly. It only takes a moment to dig out the tape measure and get the proper chest, neck, and body measurements that you will need.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are they really necessary?

a:

For most, the purchase of these products is simply for fun- because there is nothing cuter than a pet wearing people clothes. However, for some pets that live in cooler climates, these products are actually going to benefit them a great deal. For pet owners that have an older pooch that doesn’t quite have the thick coat like they used to, or suffer from kidney issues, keeping them warm is going to be the key to keeping them healthy. If you have a puppy that hasn’t quite grown in their full coat, or an older dog that needs a little help staying warm- these products are going to make you and your furry friend very happy on your morning walks when the temperatures are less than ideal.

q: Can I put them on my cat?

a:

No, you cannot. There is a unspoken agreement between the human and feline world that dictates that humans shall not put clothing on their feline friends. Non compliance with this rule may result initial claw marks on your person, and a possible hairball in your slippers in the future.

q: How do I know what size to get?

a:

From what we have seem from most companies, size options are of the traditional small, medium, and large variety. However, many offer sizing charts that will allow you to take measurements to ensure that you are getting the right size. We suggest that you make sure that you take all of the measurements suggested- which include neck, chest, and length. It is going to be better if you get a size that it just slightly larger than an option that is too small. If you find that a size fits perfectly on the chest but is too tight on the neck, be sure to go a size up. If your pooch is notorious for squirming when you are trying to get their paws inside, you might want to opt for a velcro options that will be much faster and easier to put on and take off.

q: Are they easy to clean?

a:

The answer to this question depends upon the fabric that you select. Fabrics such as cotton and polyester are going to be the easiest to clean. They may not be the warmest materials that are out there on the market, but they are considered the most resilient. When you are dealing with adventurous pooches, easy to clean is going to be the most important feature. Designs that use materials such as wool or wool blends are going to be a little more difficult to clean, but it can be done. To was wool, simply soak it in a tub with cool water and mild detergent, and slowly work the fabric. Then, rinse it until all of the soap rinses off, and let it air dry in a cool place. The most important thing when it comes to wool is that you cannot expose it to heat or it will shrink.

q: Are they offered for bigger pets?

a:

When you think of these products, you may conjure an image of a little teacup poodle hanging out in someone's purse- but they are made for far more than just the tiny pets! Most companies offer sizing options that work great for even your bigger pets as well. We even saw some users bundle up their great danes! Small pets aren’t the only ones that get cold, because they aren’t the only ones with a thinner coat. If you shave your pet often so that they don’t have much of a coat to keep them warm, they can get a lot of use out of these products no matter how big or small they may be.

q: What if my pooch doesn't want to wear it?

a:

Most users like to get their pets acclimated to wearing clothes when the are puppies so they they are used to wearing clothes once they hit adulthood. However, if you try and place of of these products on the shoulders of an older pet, you might be met with a little push back. This doesn’t mean that it is going to be an impossible task, it just means that it is going to be a little more difficult and take a little more time. What we suggest is that you take it very slowly, and be sure to praise them once it is on. When you have put it on them and they haven’t immediately taken it off, praise them verbally and give them some treats. After a few days of this positive consideration, they may actually look forward to the moment that you put it on them, because it means they are about to get some tasty treats!

q: Do they serve any other benefits

a:

As a matter of fact, they do! What we discovered is that some users feel that wearing these items actually calmed their pets a bit. For high strung animals that want to jump out of their skin every time there is a clap of thunder, these products may be a safe a natural way to calm their nerves. Much like humans are calmed with weighted blankets, these product can act like a compress on the central nervous system, and make your pooch feel comforted. While calmness might be an slight added benefit for these products, they will only work slightly. If your main reason for selecting one of these options is to calm you pooch, you might be better off checking out something called a ‘thunder vest’. These products are specifically designed and property weighed to help calm your pooch down in times of stress.

Sources