to top 10 table

Best Dog Shampoo

last updated Feb 08, 2019

Our dogs are just as demanding of our attention as that of our children but we love every bit of them. We look forward to walks in the neighborhood and playing in the park with them in tow. But more often these escapades mean one thing, we need to get them cleaned right after. Not that we have to bathe them every day, but because of their outdoor activities, we need to make sure they have a regular bath or else you will soon notice a certain smell walking around your house.

Using the right shampoo for your dogs is not that easy mainly because we need to be very careful so we can assure our furry friends that they smell clean and fresh and most of all healthy.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 4 hrs of research

icon
Earthbath All Natural Pet
97.6/100 our score
Brand
98
Compatibility
98
Materials
98
Size
97
Weight
97
Earthbath All Natural Pet
Why is it better?

It made of natural ingredients.

It is very effective for dry, itchy skin.

It promotes healing.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Earthbath All Natural Pet
Test Winner: Earthbath All Natural Pet
Amazon Link
Sorting Options
Brand Compatibility Materials Size Weight By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Brand
98 %
Compatibility
98 %
Materials
98 %
Size
97 %
Weight
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.12.19)
Amazon Link
$19.00
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Brand
96 %
Compatibility
96 %
Materials
95 %
Size
95 %
Weight
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.12.19)
Amazon Link
$11.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Brand
93 %
Compatibility
93 %
Materials
92 %
Size
92 %
Weight
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.12.19)
Amazon Link
$4.49
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Brand
90 %
Compatibility
90 %
Materials
89 %
Size
88 %
Weight
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.12.19)
Amazon Link
$5.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Brand
87 %
Compatibility
86 %
Materials
86 %
Size
85 %
Weight
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.12.19)
Amazon Link
$15.89
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.2
Brand
84 %
Compatibility
84 %
Materials
83 %
Size
83 %
Weight
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.12.19)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Brand
81 %
Compatibility
81 %
Materials
80 %
Size
80 %
Weight
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.12.19)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77
Brand
78 %
Compatibility
78 %
Materials
77 %
Size
76 %
Weight
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.12.19)
Amazon Link
$10.68
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.2
Brand
75 %
Compatibility
75 %
Materials
74 %
Size
74 %
Weight
73 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.12.19)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
70
Brand
72 %
Compatibility
71 %
Materials
70 %
Size
69 %
Weight
68 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.12.19)
Amazon Link
$29.74

Best Dog Shampoos

1. Earthbath All Natural Pet

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Earthbath All Natural Pet
Amazon Link
Brand
98
Compatibility
98
Materials
98
Size
97
Weight
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.00
Pros:

It made of natural ingredients.

It is very effective for dry, itchy skin.

It promotes healing.

Cons:

Does not produce much lather.

This is one of the best products you can find for your furry friends. It’s made of 100% biodegradable material and it is soap free. It is very effective in making your pets smelling clean and deodorized as well.

Read more

Brand
It is manufactured by Earthbath a well-known company that produces products intended for pets. They are known to advocate on the use of all natural products as materials for the products they manufacture.

Compatibility
It is compatible with all types of dogs. You just have to adjust accordingly based on your dog’s size and coat.

Ingredients/Materials
It made of 100% purely natural ingredients such as oatmeal and aloe vera. Oatmeal is known to have an exfoliating effect and can rid of skin irritations while aloe vera has a cool soothing and healing effect.

Size
It is 16.8 ounces or 472 ml. With a product dimension of 4.5 x 2 x 8 inches.

Weight
It weighs 1.2 pounds. Shipping weight is 2 pounds.

Potency
The mixture of oatmeal and aloe vera is a brilliant idea indeed. It has the right amount of oatmeal too and aloe vera to promote healing of dry itchy skin.

Comfort
It is completely 100% natural and can be used by any dog breed. It is gentle for your pets so you can be assured that they will enjoy being lathered.

Use
It is best for fighting skin irritation and helps with healing dry skin.

Effectiveness
It is very effective for pets with itchy skin caused by dryness. It fights against skin irritation, heals skin rashes and effectively moisturizes it. It also leaves your dogs to coat not just clean but smelling good because it has a deodorizing factor that kills bad odors.

2. Paw & Pals Oatmeal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Paw & Pals Oatmeal
Amazon Link
Brand
96
Compatibility
96
Materials
95
Size
95
Weight
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.95
Pros:

It is all natural and environmentally friendly.

It is very effective for dry sensitive skin.

It is soap free.

Cons:

The shampoo does not create much lather.

This product is just what you need if you are a fan of all natural products. It is made of Aloe Vera and Jojoba oils that are specially formulated to repair and moisturize dry, sensitive skin.

Read more

Brand.
This product is made and manufactured by Paws & Pals. This company is widely known for producing vegan products especially for pet consumption and use.

Compatibility.
It compatible with all type and breed of dogs.

Materials.
It is made of 100% pure ingredients. Combining the powers of aloe vera, oatmeal, rosemary, jojoba and coconut oils. It is definitely a vegan shampoo.

Size.
Each bottle has a product dimension of 9 x 3 x 3 inches. 15.8 ounces.

Weight.
It has a shipping weight of 1.4 pounds.

Potency.
The combination of natural ingredients is very effective. It is formulated in such a way that the ingredients are well balanced to address the needs of your pets without aggravating their skin condition.

Comfort.
It is very comfortable to use because it is soap-free and has no added chemicals that can be irritating to the eyes. Giving your fur babies a bath will be a very enjoyable experience.

Use.
This product is very suitable for dogs with dry sensitive skin because of its soothing formula. It can be used for any dog breed.

Effectiveness.
With a combination of specially chosen natural ingredients such as aloe vera, rosemary, and oatmeal it is very effective in healing and moisturizing dry sensitive skin. The combination of essential oils such as coconut, aloe, and jojoba help in keeping the coat shiny and smelling clean.

3. Lambert Kay Fresh’n Clean Scented

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Lambert Kay Fresh’n Clean Scented
Amazon Link
Brand
93
Compatibility
93
Materials
92
Size
92
Weight
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$4.49
Pros:

It leaves your dog’s coat smelling fresh and fragrant.

It keeps their coat mat and tangle-free.

Cons:

It is not 100% made from natural ingredients.

This shampoo is highly recommended for your dogs to keep them smelling fresh. The scent lasts for a long time, you don’t have to worry about giving them a bath every so often.

Read more

Brand.
This product is made by Lambert Kay, a company that creates products for pets. They make use of specially formulated products to address common pet problems such as odors.

Compatibility.
It is compatible with any dog type, breed, and size. You will appreciate it even more with long coated dogs but get the same results with short coated dogs too.

Ingredients/Materials.
It is made of a combination of ingredients such as pet-friendly chemicals and natural ingredients like aloe vera gel to create a scent that would be long-lasting.

Size.
It has a product dimension of 9 x 3.5 x 1.5 inches in height.

Weight.
It weighs 1.2 pounds

Potency.
It is very effective in cleaning your dog’s coat and the anti-static agents in the formula help keep your dog’s coat mat and tangle-free. If you want to keep them smelling fresh and clean, just wipe their coat with a wet towel and instantly they will smell like new! Without having to bathe them as often

Comfort.
It is very easy to apply to your pets so they too won’t feel too stressed being cleaned and bathe. And because it has a very nice smell, the dog would not be averse to the scent; we have to remember they have a very sensitive smell.

Use.
It is very easy to use, just use warm water and lather it up on your dog’s coat. It is suitable for any type of dog and very effective in cleaning their coats plus keeping it unmated and tangle free.

Effectiveness.
It is very effective in keeping your dogs smelling clean and fresh. It is also very effective in maintaining a mat-free coat because it contains anti-static agents that leave your dog's coat manageable.

4. Wahl’s Flea and Tick

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Wahl’s Flea and Tick
Amazon Link
Brand
90
Compatibility
90
Materials
89
Size
88
Weight
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$5.99
Pros:

It is PEG-80 free.

It has effective in repelling ticks and fleas.

It is plant derived.

Cons:

It is specially formulated to repel ticks and fleas alone. Can’t use a regular dog shampoo.

This shampoo made use of rosemary and mint to repel ticks and fleas as well as other parasites that stick to your dog's skin. It is also a medicated shampoo but does not contain chemicals that are toxic.

Read more

Brand.
It is made by Wahl’s a manufacturer of pet products that are quite popular in the industry.

Compatibility.
It is compatible with any type and breed with tick and flea problems.

Ingredients/Materials.
It is 100% plant derived. It is hypoallergenic and contains mint, rosemary and cedar oils.

Size.
It has a product dimension of 2.5 x 3.5 x 9 inches. It is 24 ounces

Weight.
It weighs 1.66 pounds.

Potency.
It is very potent because it specially formulated to effectively repel fleas, ticks, and parasites with the right combination of rosemary and mint.

Comfort.
It is very comfortable for you and your pets to use because it has a very pleasant smell and it is non-toxic so it is not irritating to the eyes and skin. It also has a pleasant smell so your pets won’t be unhappy with it.

Use.
It is best for repelling ticks, fleas and other parasites that can be infesting your pets.

Effectiveness.
It is made very effective by combing the rosemary, cedar oils and mint to help resolve issues of itching, caused by parasites and fleas. It repels them for a week so you need to bathe your dog on a regular basis to completely keep the ticks and fleas permanently.

5. Pro-Pet Works Natural Oatmeal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Pro-Pet Works Natural Oatmeal
Amazon Link
Brand
87
Compatibility
86
Materials
86
Size
85
Weight
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.89
Pros:

It is best for pets who are highly sensitive and has allergic reactions to grass and parasites.

It has no added color and is soap-free.

It is safe for frequent use.

Cons:

It doesn’t create much lather.

This is an organic blend product, the ones we are really supporting. It is Vet recommended because it is hypoallergenic and very effective for allergies and other skin problems.

Read more

Brand.
It’s made by Pro Pet Works, a company popularly known to produce products for your pets that are of high quality and highly effective.

Compatibility.
It is compatible with any dog breed, size, and coat.

Ingredients/Materials.
They made use of organic and natural ingredients such as aloe and almond oil to soothe your pet’s skin it also has oatmeal to ensure that your pets will not have any allergic reactions especially if you have very sensitive pets.

Size.
It has a product dimension of 9 x 3 x 3 inches. Each bottle is 17 ounces.

Weight.
It weighs 1 pound.

Potency.
They made use of the right combination of organic extracts and oils and added vitamins to ensure that it doesn’t harm your dogs. It also helps soothe itchy and dry skin due to irritants and allergic reactions to other products and elements.

Comfort.
It is very comforting for your pets to use because it has a very pleasant smell, it doesn’t have irritants so they will have a pleasurable experience bathing. It will also be very convenient for you because you will not have a hard time bathing them.

Use.
It best suited for pets who have very sensitive skin. You can use often as they are not irritating and is very gentle on your dog's skin.

Effectiveness.
The right combination of natural oils makes this product very effective. They made use of natural ingredients to subtly address common skin allergies of your pets.

6. Furminator deShedding Ultra Premium

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.2
Furminator deShedding Ultra Premium
Amazon Link
Brand
84
Compatibility
84
Materials
83
Size
83
Weight
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

It is infused with minerals and nutrients.

It works to reduce shedding effectively.

Cons:

It is not for every day or regular use.

This shampoo works best for dogs that shed a lot. By using it regularly it also helps keep the skin and coat healthy resulting to less shedding.

Read more

Brand.
This is made by Furminator, a company that manufactures products specially made for specific pet needs. They are very aggressive in developing new products with the latest technology to keep your pets and you happy.

Compatibility.
It is compatible with all types of dog breed, size, and coat.

Materials.
It made of natural extracts such as calendula and papaya leaves. It is also infused with Omega 3 and 6 plus fatty acids to provide more nutrients to your pet’s skin, leaving it moisturized and healthy.

Size.
It has a product dimension of 3.1 x 2 x 9 .5 inches. 16-ounce size.

Weight.
It weighs 1.15 pounds.

Potency.
This product made use of natural extracts as well as essential vitamins that the skin and coat need to stay healthy. Use monthly and on a regular basis and you won’t have to worry about shedding anymore.

Comfort.
Giving your dogs a bath using this product will make them feel refreshed and comfortable because their skin won’t be as dry and itchy. There will be less shedding in no time, so it is also a good break for you to keep cleaning up after your dogs.

Use.
It is very effective for dogs that shed a lot. Use it monthly and with a combination of the conditioner to keep your pet’s coat shiny and healthy.

Effectiveness.
It is very effective in addressing shedding problems of your pets. What is does it made use of vitamins and minerals to solve the root cause of shedding which is unhealthy skin.

7. Zodiac Oatmeal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Zodiac Oatmeal
Amazon Link
Brand
81
Compatibility
81
Materials
80
Size
80
Weight
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

It has a 100% money back guaranty.

It made from natural ingredients.

Cons:

May not be able to address problems with tick and flea.

This oatmeal shampoo for your pet is the same bath you have always enjoyed as a kid. It helps relieve dry itchy skin. It heals dry skin without any chemical to further irritate them

Read more

Brand.
This product is made by Zodiac, a company committed to making sure your pets and you are happy.

Compatibility.
It is compatible with all types of dog breed, size, and coat.

Ingredients/Materials.
It is made of natural materials such as coconut and palm oil, it also contains aloe and oatmeal. It has no chemicals or detergent that are often irritants.

Size.
It is 6XL in size.

Weight.
It weighs 1.12 ounces

Potency.
It is made with a combination of plant extracts to help soothe and moisturize the skin and leave the coat smelling fresh. Regular use also eliminates dog odors.

Comfort.
It is plant-based shampoo so it is very comfortable to use. It has no irritants so your dog will enjoy his bathing experience.

Use.
It is best for any skin condition but most importantly it can be used on a regular basis to maintain healthy skin and coat for your fur babies.

Effectiveness.
It is highly effective in helping your pets feel relief from itch due to dryness and skin irritation. The company even offers a money-back guaranty if you are not satisfied with it.

8. Adams Flea and Tick Cleansing

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77
Adams Flea and Tick Cleansing
Amazon Link
Brand
78
Compatibility
78
Materials
77
Size
76
Weight
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.68
Pros:

It is very effective

It can last for up to 4 weeks.

Cons:

Should be used sparingly to avoid irritation.

This formula is specially formulated to kills fleas and its eggs as well as other ticks common to dogs. It can be used for pet cats as well.

Read more

Brand.
It is made by Adams.

Compatibility.
It is compatible with any dog type, it is also safe to use for puppies, kittens and your cats.

Materials.
It is made of potent materials that are strong enough to protect your pets from fleas for 1 month as well as disrupt its life cycle but gentle enough for your dogs.

Size.
It has a product dimension of 2.3 x 2.3 x 7.1 inches.

Weight.
It weighs 13 ounces.

Potency.
It is highly potent because in just one application you can already see results. Plus, it does not dry your pet’s coat and it has no foul smell either.

Comfort.
It offers comfort for your dogs after use because he will no longer have to endure itching and pesky parasites because with just one application this shampoo is sure to do its job.

Use.
It is best for pets with tick and flea problems. Once applied and lathered, keep it for about 5 minutes before rinsing to ensure that the formula has settled and done its job.

Effectiveness.
It is very effective in killing different types of ticks and fleas as well as their eggs to keep them from propagating. It works up to 3 to 4 weeks upon use or application.

9. Miracle Coat

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.2
Miracle Coat
Amazon Link
Brand
75
Compatibility
75
Materials
74
Size
74
Weight
73
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

It is very easy to use.

It cuts the job of bathing your dogs.

Cons:

It can’t be used continually without still giving your dog a proper bath.

‘This is the ultimate solution for fur parents who have a hard time bathing their fur babies. This waterless shampoo for your dogs will solve your problems! No rinse shampoo will keep you and your pet happy!

Read more

Brand.
This product is made by Miracle coat.

Compatibility.
It is compatible for dog and pets who are averse to water but can be used with all types of dog breed, size, and coat.

Materials.
It contains pharmaceutical grade components that are safe for all types of pet. It is gentle for them to use and is not harmful to their health.

Size.
It has a product dimension of 3.5 x 3.5 x 10.8 inches. 32 oz.

Weight.
It weighs 2.2 pounds.

Potency.
It is highly effective in keeping your dogs smelling clean and fresh without having to bathe them every so often. Especially useful for indoor dogs.

Comfort.
It is very comfortable for your pet because they won’t stress over bathing. You can keep them smelling fresh and clean without having to terrorize them with water.

Use.
It is very easy to use. You can just spray it on your dog’s coat, lather it and towel it dry.

Effectiveness.
It is highly effective in keeping your pets smelling clean and fresh without the usual water wrestling. You just spray it on and towel them dry and see the results.

10. Cloud Star Buddy Wash

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
70
Cloud Star Buddy Wash
Amazon Link
Brand
72
Compatibility
71
Materials
70
Size
69
Weight
68
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.74
Pros:

It is made with natural extracts from herbs and organic oil.

It is gentle to use every day.

Cons:

May not address problems with the parasite and other forms of ticks and fleas.

This is just the perfect scent to have on your snuggle buddies. This shampoo is made of natural extracts that help keep your dog smelling good and their skin and coat moisturized.

Read more

Brand.
It is made by Cloud Star, a company that manufactures a whole line of natural products for your pets.

Compatibility.
It is compatible with all types of dogs and different types of coat.

Ingredients/Materials.
It is made from natural herbs that keeps your precious dogs smelling fresh. It is soap free and has no harmful ingredients so the bath is mostly a relaxing experience for them.

Size.
It has a product dimension of 2.4 x 2.4 x 8.2 inches. 16 ounces.

Weight.
It weighs 1 pound.

Potency.
It is specially formulated to moisturize and keep your dog's skin free from dryness and itching. The right combination of natural oils and herbs keeps your dog smelling fresh and clean.

Comfort.
This product has no harmful ingredients so your dog will have a wonderful experience bathing. It has no irritants so it's quite comfortable to put on your pets, they will love the smell and you will love the results!

Use.
This product is plant based so it’s safe to use often or on a regular basis.

Effectiveness.
It effectively soothes you dogs dry itchy skin. It is formulated to help your dog’s coat moisturized while smelling good and fresh.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Brand

This is important because we need to make sure that the product we are using is manufactured and distributed by trustworthy and reliable companies who have the ability to provide consumer warranty and guarantee.

Since we are going to use this item for our beloved fur babies, we have to make sure that the company will support us when we have concerns such as refund and the like. The brand will also be our guarantee of whether or not this product is reliable.

Compatibility

This is an important criterion because not all dogs have the same breed, size, coat, and skin.

We have all agreed that they have different needs from that of humans but like dogs, they differ in other aspects as well. Choosing the best shampoo would have to mean taking into account their dog type and their specific needs. For example, small dogs with shorter coat don’t need a shampoo with much lather. Some dogs are more sensitive than some so they need a special brand and the ingredients have to be considered too.

Materials

In relation to the other criteria, it is important to consider the materials used to create this product.

Once again, our dogs are very sensitive and they are very prone to allergens and skin irritation not mention their coat manifests any irritation they might have. We have to choose products that as much as possible to make use of less or no chemical at all. So, if you will notice most of the items we have listed are made from all natural or organic materials. They are gentler for your pets but gives the same if not better results. What’s even better is that your pet’s health is protected as well. The use of natural and organic materials has less to zero allergic reactions, making your dog happier and smelling great!

Size

This is also taken into consideration because we want to offer you products that are not just effective and safe but also great value for your money.

The cost of each shampoo must not just be for the brand and its result but must also be worth the purchase in terms of the size so you can use it for a longer period of time which is economical for your pocket.

Weight

This is in line with the size but more importantly, we have to consider this for shipping purposes.

You have to be aware of the weight to make sure that you are paying the right fees and you are also informed of the tariffs if any about buying more than one item.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Compatibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Weight
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Brand

Some products are sold at very cheap prices and would seem very appealing but if it comes from unknown brands or manufacturers you must think twice about using it on your pets.

Compatibility

Dogs are more prone to allergens and it manifests easily on their skin and coat because they absorb allergens through their skin. So, you need to make sure that the product you’re using for your pets is compatible with them and their needs.

Ingredients

Now that you have an idea of how we chose our best pick, you can also start thinking about what you actually want for your pets. As we have reiterated, each dog has their own special need. You are the one who can best judge what product is the best for your dog. We each have our own preferences and some of these preferences are influenced by so many factors. One of them could be peer pressure, we hear our friends talk about products they have tried and we would be encouraged to use it as well not taking into consideration that the direct effect of our impulse buying would be on our fur babies. Before we jump on the bandwagon, we have to take time to think about what our dogs actually need. This will be the best criteria you can start on.

Other Factors to Consider

Comfort

This is something we can’t overlook because we want to make sure that the bathing experience of your dogs is an enjoyable one. Not all dogs are water babies and so choosing the right shampoo can add a happier experience or a not so enjoyable one for them. We made sure that the products don’t have chemicals that might irritate your fur babies and that the materials used will not sting their eyes or nose. It is also important to make sure that it will not be harmful to the handler as well. We, the pet owners also come in contact with the product so we also have to consider that it will not inconvenience you in any way, so you too can enjoy bathing your dogs.
Use. The use is an important criterion because once again, our pets have different needs not just apart from humans but as dogs in general, they each differ in needs. As we all know, there are so many different breeds and sizes and we can’t have general use shampoo in the house if we have different dog breeds. Short-coated dogs have different needs from dogs with longer thicker coats. This also goes for the size and often times breeds. There are also dogs who are prone to ticks and fleas and some are most often outdoors which would require a different shampoo to kill parasites and bacteria that they attract from the outdoors. We have listed the products and specified their use for easy reference.

Potency

We thought this was an important criterion because all products that fall in the same category will promise the same results but in reality, we know this is not the case. We have to look into the materials used and check the reviews of people who have tried it out for themselves if they are able to achieve the same results. We also looked into the number of materials or chemicals mixed into the product and make our own research if such is enough to get the desired results or which is too much for our pets. The right mixture will give your pets the desired results while the reverse may happen it the mixture is not correct. This can lead to more problems and even health issues for your fur babies so we have to be careful in recommending you these products.

Effectiveness

There are numerous dog shampoos in the market and each one of them promise almost the same exact thing and its effect. You can get lost in their promises and just pick one out of frustration. We think that looking into the effectiveness is very important to ensure that you are not getting a crappy product and let your fur babies suffer from your trial and error shopping. We checked the effectiveness of these items not only by trying it out but also by looking into reviews and getting customer feedback on the results of using these items.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: If I keep my dogs inside my house, do I still need to give them a bath?

a:

Regardless of where you keep your dogs, they need to be given regular baths. First of all, if you keep your pets inside your house, it is all the more reason for you to give them a regular bath because they are in your house. No matter how clean your dogs are, over time they will develop a certain odor. A regular bath will keep them smelling clean not to mention make them feel fresh and comfortable as well. Another thing, although dogs live indoors, our house can pose health hazards to our pets. They have a tendency to play and explore and our homes are not bacteria or parasite proof. You have to keep in mind that they are not like us, while we absorb allergens through our nose, they get it on their skin. So, they are prone to skin irritation and allergies. It is also for your own safety, to keep your dogs clean as they can pose as a threat to your health as well if they attract bacteria and parasites, they can pass it on to you since you share a living space.

q: There are dogs that doesn’t like bathing and bath time for them would mean chasing and carrying them and putting a leash. Can you recommend an alternative so owners with these types of dogs can keep their pets clean but not have to bathe them as often?

a:

There are dogs who are naturally attracted to water but there are those that hate it. Some dogs that are naturally attracted to water are hounds and terriers. But the breed doesn’t always determine whether they are attracted to water or not. The good news for you is that there are shampoos that made for dogs such as yours. You and your dog's nightmare are over with a dry shampoo. All you have to do is spray it on your dog’s coat, lather it up and towel it dry. Much like the carpet cleaning process but this time this product is made for dogs. You don’t have to worry about irritants, as this product is specially made for your pets and are safe for their use. This will definitely be more suitable for your dog and will likely mean less trouble for you.

q: I heard about people using dishwashing soap on their dogs. According to them it kills parasites and leaves their dog’s coat soft and shiny. How true is this?

a:

First of all, yes, there are a lot of people who are experimenting on a lot of things to try to address problems they have with their pets, some of which are ticks, fleas, and parasites as well as dry coat. We strongly advise against this practice. First, your dogs are very sensitive to allergens especially those products that are used directly on their coat and skin, which in this case is a dishwashing soap used to replace dog shampoo. While I can’t argue that some dogs do have softer and shinier coat after using it on them, however, these products have chemicals that are not good for your dog's health. Second, over time it can develop to underlying health problems that may eventually take a serious turn. There is really not much of a difference in terms of price and value of buying a dishwashing liquid and a dog shampoo. With buying the right product for your pets you are sure to get the same or even better results without compromising your dog's health.

q: I make use of products with organic and natural ingredients for my hair and body. Can I use them on my dogs too?

a:

There are reasons why we strongly advise using human products on dogs or pets. First of all, the animal skin and human skin have a different PH level. Human products are designed to keep the PH in our hair and skin balance. This is also true for pet products. The human PH level is around 5.2 to 6.2 while that of our pets is around 7.5. While human shampoos tend to be acidic so it can effectively clean our skin. Using these human shampoos on our dogs will cause skin outbreak as a reaction to too much acid. In such cases, they become more susceptible to parasites and bacteria. The second reason is that dogs have more sensitive skin than humans. They have thinner skin layers than humans. Technically speaking our skin can endure more battering than that of our pets. Their skin is more like to develop irritations when exposed to certain chemicals that we can otherwise tolerate. Even though you use organic and natural products since these are not made for pet’s use, this can still pose an underlying threat for your pets so try to avoid using it on them.