to top 10 table

Best CrossFit Equipment

last updated Feb 08, 2019

CrossFit has been taking the world by storm since its introduction in 2000. With thousands of CrossFit gyms (or “boxes”) available all around the world, it was only a matter of time before companies enthusiastic about this methodology of working out began to manufacture equipment catering to the CrossFit crowd. If you’ve been attending WODs at your local box for a while and want to expand your home gym to include some of the best equipment to take your workouts home with you, we have you covered. Below is some of the best fitness accessories CrossFitters can invest in to give them the flexibility of performing their WODs in the comfort of their own home. Let’s take a closer look!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 6 hrs of research

icon
WOD Nation Speed Jump Rope
98.4/100 our score
Features
99
Effectiveness
99
Portability
99
Ease of Use
97
Use
98
WOD Nation Speed Jump Rope
Why is it better?

Lifetime guarantee

Arrives with extra cable

Handy carrying case

Customizable by design

Great for double unders

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
WOD Nation Speed Jump Rope
Test Winner: WOD Nation Speed Jump Rope
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
22
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
6
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Features Effectiveness Portability Ease of Use Use By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
Features
99 %
Effectiveness
99 %
Portability
99 %
Ease of Use
97 %
Use
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$17.93
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Features
97 %
Effectiveness
96 %
Portability
99 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Use
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$13.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Features
92 %
Effectiveness
97 %
Portability
98 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Use
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$33.95
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Features
95 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Portability
99 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Use
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$39.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Features
95 %
Effectiveness
97 %
Portability
84 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Use
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$109.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Features
92 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Portability
95 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Use
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$45.78
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Features
97 %
Effectiveness
97 %
Portability
80 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Use
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$471.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Features
85 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Portability
92 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Use
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$34.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Features
88 %
Effectiveness
87 %
Portability
90 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Use
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$26.97
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Features
80 %
Effectiveness
83 %
Portability
98 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Use
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.10.19)
Amazon Link
$24.00

Top 10 Picks

1. WOD Nation Speed Jump Rope

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
WOD Nation Speed Jump Rope
Amazon Link
Features
99
Effectiveness
99
Portability
99
Ease of Use
97
Use
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.93
Pros:

Lifetime guarantee

Arrives with extra cable

Handy carrying case

Customizable by design

Great for double unders

Cons:

Some might find the rope to be too light

As you might be able to tell from the title of the company that produces this skipping rope, it is made with CrossFitter’s in mind. It can help you to cut precious seconds (or, heck, even minutes) off of your WOD times as it is designed for speed.

Read more

Features

This jump rope is completely customizable with a simple snip of a wire cutter. This is a great feature to have in a jump rope as the length can either make your break your ability to skip properly and efficiently.

Effectiveness

Skipping rope is an incredibly effective form of exercise. It will get your heart pumping, leading to better cardiovascular health and a lot of calories burned in a short amount of time. It is scalable, meaning you can challenge yourself more as you get better at different variations of skipping. It can even improve your coordination as well as your bone density!

Portability

This product is one of the most portable options on our list. WOD Nation even throws in a free carrying bag for added portability.

Ease of Use

Skipping rope is an exercise that most people learn how to do in elementary school. Does anyone else have memories of playing Double Dutch? Though it might have been easier to learn to jump rope as a kid than it is as an adult, skipping is still a relatively simple exercise in theory. When you start to try to incorporate fancy skips or double unders is when it really starts to get difficult.

Use

Skipping ropes have more or less just one use – to jump rope with. That said, however, there are a number of different variations of skips that one can try once they master the simple versions. Athletes should find that a skipping rope will challenge them so long as they are adventurous enough to keep pushing themselves to try harder variations.

2. LuxFit Foam Roller

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
LuxFit Foam Roller
Amazon Link
Features
97
Effectiveness
96
Portability
99
Ease of Use
99
Use
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.95
Pros:

High-density foam won’t give too much

Great after a hard workout

Great for self-led massages

Affordably priced

Great to have the option of different sizes

Cons:

Some people found the density to be too hard for their needs

The benefits of foam roller are plentiful. People who are into working out will definitely see the benefits of performing movements on this foam equipment, especially if they are participating in hardcore workouts like CrossFit.

Read more

Features

This foam roller from LuxFit is made from a molded polypropylene material that boasts a two pounds per cubic foot density.

Effectiveness

Foam rollers are an incredibly effective tool that everyone, not even just folks who are serious about working out, should invest in. They are designed to reduce pain and help improve flexibility. If you love the feeling of massages but can’t afford to pay a masseuse every week, a foam roller is a great tool to have to give yourself effective self-led massages.

Portability

These foam rollers come in a few different size options – 36 inches being the biggest and 12 inches being the smallest. While these typically aren’t as portable as some of the other equipment on our list, the athlete who needs to foam roll on an everyday basis could definitely make it work fitting the smaller size roller in their luggage.

Ease of Use

Foam rollers are incredibly easy to use and become more functional and efficient as the user learns more about the process of using one of these and how best to move on it to maximize results.

Use

We go into the benefits of foam rolling more in-depth in our FAQ section below but those who invest in one of these pieces of equipment can expect increased blood flow, better movements during day-to-day life and during exercise, a decrease in their recovery time and the incredible feeling of a self-massage.

3. Rockay Sleeve

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Rockay Sleeve
Amazon Link
Features
92
Effectiveness
97
Portability
98
Ease of Use
98
Use
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.95
Pros:

Come in a number of different colors

Lifetime guarantee

Designed to prevent odors

Will wick moisture away

Durable construction

Cons:

The price tag might be shocking at first

Rockay is quickly becoming a recognizable brand name for athletes. With their compression sleeve, users can expect a scent and sweat-free experience that will keep sweat away while ensuring your calves remain compressed and comfortable during your workouts. These work extremely well during WODs that require running or sprints.

Read more

Features

This product is made from strong and durable materials that will help to extend the life of your new calf sleeve. It comes with a lifetime guarantee so even if you were to notice an issue with the product, the company believes so wholeheartedly in their offering that they have your back for life.

Effectiveness

Investing in compression gear like socks or sleeves can have a lot of benefits and some people believe that they can help you perform better. They are also effective in helping athletes to recover from their workouts faster as well.

Portability

These sleeves are just as portable as a pair of socks. They can be thrown into your purse or bag without any problems at all.

Ease of Use

Getting used to the feeling of wearing compression gear might be the most difficult thing about them. They are relatively easy to get on provided that you purchased the right size for your legs.

Use

Compression sleeves are designed to help improve your circulation and help you to feel less fatigued during your workouts as well.

4. JerkFit WOD Palm Protection

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
 JerkFit WOD Palm Protection
Amazon Link
Features
95
Effectiveness
94
Portability
99
Ease of Use
96
Use
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.95
Pros:

Number of different colors available

Offer a lot of protection for tough CrossFit workouts

Durable construction

Won’t slip off as you’re performing exercises

Cons:

Take some time to break in

These gloves are made from durable neoprene fabric that will provide wearers with an extra barrier of protection during their workouts. They have Grip-Ridge Technology that features little grooves on the gloves that will be able to hold chalk, providing even better grip for those tough exercises like pull-ups.

Read more

Features

One of the best features of these gloves is that they provide bonus wrist support. This is incredibly beneficial as this particular style will help to alleviate some (or all) of the wrist discomfort that sometimes occurs when you’re participating in hardcore workouts like CrossFit.

Effectiveness

These gloves from JerkFit are designed to give wearers a fit that will absorb any friction from the barbells or pull-up bars that are being used during their workout.

Portability

Just as with the Rockay sleeves we just reviewed above, these gloves (and any workout gloves, for that matter) are incredibly portable. Throw them in your gym bag and they will take up almost zero space.

Ease of Use
These gloves are as simple as slipping them onto your hands. Admittedly, however, some people may find that doing their WODs with gloves on far from easy. Some people prefer to workout without gloves.

Use

Some people don’t believe that anyone should be wearing gloves while they workout or lift weights. While we are firm believes of the old adage “to each their own”, there are some proven benefits that come from wearing workout gloves. First of all, they can help to improve your grip. This is especially important during workouts where you will need to grip the barbell or a pull-up bar. Workout gloves can provide a more comfortable workout experience. There are few things as painful during your workout as tearing up your hands during pull-ups or kettlebell swings.

5. Rep 3-in-1 Plyo Box

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Rep 3-in-1 Plyo Box
Amazon Link
Features
95
Effectiveness
97
Portability
84
Ease of Use
95
Use
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$109.99
Pros:

Comes pre-assembled

Sturdy construction

Great for scaling workout difficult

Won’t slide or skid across your floor

Cons:

Some people who bought the kits you have to put together yourself reported having missing pieces in their kits

We loved this plyometric box from Rep Fitness because it is a 3-in-1 product. By simply flipping the box around, you are able to use it at a number of different heights. The boxes are constructed with interlocking joints and are reinforced internally.

Read more

Features

This plyometric box comes in a number of different sizes. The one we are reviewing today is the 20/18/16 option which means that you will have three different heights available to use for your box jumps when you purchase this. Having a plyo box that is capable of offering differing heights means you are able to have control over the difficulty level. These boxes are rated to 400 pounds so if you weigh less than that, you can jump and step up on them without worrying about getting hurt.

Effectiveness

Plyo boxes are an incredibly effective exercise tool to add to your home gym. They provide a way for athletes to train their fast-twitch muscle fibers, strengthen your quads, stimulate your central nervous system, and assist with speed strength.

Portability

Sadly because these boxes are so large, they are definitely not portable. But, that is actually a good thing because if you had a portable plyo box, chances are it wouldn’t be as safe and stable as this one is from Rep Fitness.

Ease of Use

A really great feature of this plyo box from Rep Fitness is that it arrives at your door pre-assembled. You don’t need to worry about having the tools necessary to put it together. Thanks to the height indicators on the box, you’ll always know what height you’re using for your workouts.

Use

Plyo boxes have many uses in your home gym and for your CrossFit workouts. You can use them for box jumps, to help you train your fast-twitch muscle fibers and improve your cardiovascular health. They can be used for triceps dips, decline push-ups and split lunges for muscle growth.

6. j/fit Soft Wall Ball

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
 j/fit Soft Wall Ball
Amazon Link
Features
92
Effectiveness
94
Portability
95
Ease of Use
92
Use
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$45.78
Pros:

Great for both higher and lower impact exercises

Versatile

Available in a number of different weights

Well made

Cons:

Doesn’t double as a slam ball

This wall ball from j/fit is available in weights ranging from six pounds all the way up to 30 pounds. It is a great addition to any home gym as one can perform many different exercises with it. This particular ball is unique in that it will not lose its shape as you continue to use it and as such will allow you to perform exercises on it that require a balance component.

Read more

Features

The wall balls from j/fit are durable in construction, made from a soft-shell material that is specially designed to ensure that the product will maintain its shape, no matter what you do with it.

Effectiveness

This ball is an effective workout tool that will help you to strengthen nearly all of the muscles in your body. For example, take the wall ball exercise. When you perform this movement, you are working your quadriceps, glutes, calves, hamstrings, abdominals, chest, front delts, back delts, biceps, and triceps. And, that is just one of the many exercises you can perform with this equipment.

Portability

This product is about 14” in size so it’s not the most portable piece of equipment on our list by any stretch of the imagination. But if you’re dedicated to your workouts and are going someplace by car, it won’t take up too much space in your vehicle and you’ll be able to use it to get a full body workout on the go.

Ease of Use

While it might take some getting used to properly perform the movements that are possible with this wall ball, it is a pretty straightforward piece of equipment. It involves much cueing than exercises you might perform with a barbell and is less likely to hurt you because of that as well.

Use

As mentioned above, you can use your wall ball for a number of different full body exercises. Wall balls, lunges, squats, overhead presses, partner workouts, and a ton of different abdominal movements. This is a very versatile piece of equipment to add to your home gym.

7. XMark Lumberjack Olympic Bar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
 XMark Lumberjack Olympic Bar
Amazon Link
Features
97
Effectiveness
97
Portability
80
Ease of Use
86
Use
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$471.00
Pros:

The coating on barbell adds durability

Rust-resistant material

Bar finish and the knurling is flawless

An affordable price tag for what you’re getting

Great customer service

Cons:

Some reviews commented about the bad smell of this product

Everybody can benefit from adding some resistance training to their workout regimen. This barbell set from XMark will help introduce you to some of the most fundamental exercises that you will find in many CrossFit workouts.

Read more

Features

This set from XMark comes in a variety of different options from kits with the barbell only to kits with as little as 155 pounds in weight plates and up to as heavy as 365 pounds. The 7’ Olympic bar is designed with performance in mind. The shaft is 28 mm and users should find that it is durable. The weight plates are made of cast iron and covered in a recycle rubber casing to ensure further durability.

Effectiveness

There are a lot of benefits to training with a barbell and lifting weights in general. Resistance training can lead to more confidence, stronger muscles, improvements in bone density, positive changes in body composition, and, perhaps most importantly, a reduced risk of certain conditions and diseases.

Portability

As you can imagine, a 7-foot long barbell and hundreds of pounds of weights aren’t very portable. You will need a space in your house to store all of this equipment.

Ease of Use

When beginning a program with resistance training, you will definitely want to learn the ropes beforehand. We would recommend taking an Olympic lifting class at a local gym or watching videos on YouTube in order to learn the proper form required to perform the exercises you might find in a CrossFit workout. We wouldn’t say that barbell exercises are easy to use, or easy to learn for that matter, but they are incredibly effective and more than worth the time it takes to learn how to perform them properly.

Use

Barbells can be used for a ton of different upper and lower body exercises. You might see deadlifts in your CrossFit workout one day and snatches the next. You can use barbells for clean and jerks, lunges, shoulder presses, squats, rows, bicep curls, so on and so forth.

8. Kettle Gryp Kettlebell

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Kettle Gryp Kettlebell
Amazon Link
Features
85
Effectiveness
93
Portability
92
Ease of Use
93
Use
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.95
Pros:

Only weighs one pound

High-quality construction

Dumbbell doesn’t slip around once it is in place properly

Innovative and clever design

Cons:

May need to invest in arm guards to protect forearms

This uniquely designed equipment is a perfect addition to any home gym that is equipped with dumbbells already. It fits any standard dumbbell up to 55 pounds in weight.

Read more

Features

This piece of equipment from Kettle Gryp is very unique, versatile and portable. It’s an affordable solution for folks who don’t have the funds to invest in a lot of different sizes of kettlebells. Another great feature of this particular product is that the company offers a lifetime guarantee.

Effectiveness

Kettlebells are an incredibly effective tool to add to your fitness regimen. Typically, ballistic movements performed with kettlebells are easier to learn than Olympic lifts that need to be performed with barbells. Users are able to tap into strengthening and conditioning benefits when they begin to train with this equipment.

Portability

The Kettle Gryp is uniquely portable. If you are traveling somewhere with a gym, simply throw this equipment into your suitcase and take it with you to the fitness center. It is rare for hotels to have kettlebells in their equipment arsenal so the Kettlegyrp is a way for you to BYOK (Bring Your Own Kettlebell).

Ease of Use

The Kettle Gryp is very easy to use. Simply open the handles and put the dumbbell onto the piece of foam. Close the handles, ensure the latch is snapped shut and get your kettlebell swing on.

Use

Kettlebells are an incredibly versatile tool to include in your home gym. They provide users with a full body workout and can be used for popular exercises such as the kettlebell swing, snatches, cleans and jerks, squats, lunges and so much more.

9. Athlos Fitness Ab Mat

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Athlos Fitness Ab Mat
Amazon Link
Features
88
Effectiveness
87
Portability
90
Ease of Use
95
Use
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.97
Pros:

One-year warranty

Durable construction

Easy to store

Decreases tailbone discomfort during abdominal work

Cons:

May not work as effectively for folks with shorter torsos

There are plenty of benefits to investing in an ab mat and this particular option from Athlos Fitness is as durable as it is lightweight and portable. This equipment will help you to increase your range of motion during abdominal floor work effectively giving you a better workout.

Read more

Features

This product from Athlos Fitness is made with a high-density foam material that is designed to contour to your lower back. This contour helps to provide stability and a way to reach your full range of motion during your abdominal exercises.

Effectiveness

The contour feature on this ab mat is vital as this design provides users with a way to increase the effectiveness of their sit-ups and other abdominal exercises.

Portability

Since this mat is relatively small, it’s easily portable in your suitcase or vehicle for on-the-go workouts.

Ease of Use

The contour design of this mat makes it virtually impossible to use incorrectly. You simply lie down and ensure the contour is at your lower back and then you can begin your abdominal routine.

Use

While the obvious exercise to perform on your ab mat is crunches, the truth is that there are a number of different abdominal exercises you can perform with this equipment - twisting sit-ups, side and reverse crunches just to name a few.

10. Track Your WOD Journal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Track Your WOD Journal
Amazon Link
Features
80
Effectiveness
83
Portability
98
Ease of Use
95
Use
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.00
Pros:

Very organized for those Type A personality CrossFitters

Durable construction

Space to take notes on your Personal Records

Motivating

Cons:

The spaces to write are too small in some cases

While a journal might not be one of the first accessories that come to mind when you think of CrossFit equipment, it is incredibly important to keep track of your progress in order to continue to perform better in future workouts.

Read more

Features

This journal has nine different sections separated by tabs for quick access. It has a durable cover that can withstand being thrown around in your vehicle or gym back and coil binding for simple page turning.

Effectiveness

Keeping track of your workout results is an incredibly important part of CrossFit. If you know what workout you are going to be performing, you can flip back to your results from the last time you did the same workout to see what weights you were lifting. This provides you with a great jumping off point for your next workout and a way to see just how much you are progressing with your programming. Nothing is quite as motivating as seeing what you deadlifted last class and realizing you were able to perform a PR (Personal Record) this time.

Portability

Small enough to fit in your gym bag or the glove compartment of your car, this workout journal is incredibly portable.

Ease of Use

This journal is very easy to use. It lays everything out clearly and is intuitive. Simply keep track of the weight you lifted, the time you performed, date of the workout, etc in the appropriate boxes and you’ll have a record of your workout results.

Use

Users are able to quickly flip to sections on Benchmark workouts (WODs you consistently do to check your progress), “Girl” workouts (WODs named after women), “Hero” workouts (WODs named after military personnel) and more.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Features

Keep an eye out for the materials the equipment is made from, what it weighs and how it can help you reach your goals.

Since every product on our top ten list is vastly different from the next, the special features for each item were very different. We believe it is important to inform our readers about all of the great features of each of the products on our list. Some of the things you should look out for is the materials the items are made of, what the build quality is like, how much the item weighs, and how exactly it is going to help you on your path to fitness.

Effectiveness

There is no point in including fitness equipment that is not going to help you on your path to fitness.

You are curious about CrossFit and working out in general or else you wouldn’t have stumbled across our buying guide in the first place. We know that one of the best criteria we should use when evaluating the items on our list is just how effective they are. We wanted to be able to provide our readers with the best fitness equipment and accessories on the market that is designed to help you be able to reach your fitness goals faster and more efficiently. This is why we took product effectiveness into account as we did the research required to make our top ten list. If the item isn’t going to be effective in helping you reach your fitness goals, we didn’t even consider them as a possibility for our list. We had to weed through a lot of poorly made fitness equipment and exercise fads in order to provide you with these ten products but we firmly believe that you will find them to be more than efficient at helping you to become a stronger and fitter version of you. Each product is effective in its own way so be sure to pay close attention to this section in our top ten reviews in order to get a detailed example of how they will transform you into a fitter version of you in no time.

Portability

If you like to travel and want to make sure you stay on top of your fitness goals while you are traveling, then you will want to take portability into consideration.

While some of the options on our list are the opposite of portable (unless you want to be hauling around an Olympic barbell with hundreds of pounds of weights with you), a fair amount of the equipment on our list is actually easy to pack up and bring along with you. This might not be a huge consideration if you plan on predominantly working out from home only. However, if you like to travel and want to make sure you stay on top of your fitness goals while you are traveling, then you will want to take portability into consideration. Products like the foam roller, kettlebell, wall ball, ab mat, and the skipping rope are easy enough to take with you if you go on any road trips. While you might not want to pack the wall ball in your suitcase if you’re flying somewhere, the skipping rope is something that’ll take up next to no room in your suitcase and can provide you with a great way to start a calisthenics workout in your hotel room.

Ease of Use

Participating in CrossFit is hard enough, the equipment you’re using shouldn’t be complicated to figure out.

The process of completing a CrossFit workout is challenging enough on its own so we wanted to ensure that we included products on our best CrossFit equipment list that are easy to use. Fitness equipment can be extremely complicated, but we like to keep it simple. After all, CrossFit itself is based on functional fitness, performing exercises that will help you to be able to perform tasks easier and more efficiently in your day to day life. While a CrossFit workout is challenging, the equipment you should use and the items we included on our list are easy enough to figure out and use.

Use

How can you use this equipment to get you closer to your fitness goals?

Another big factor we took into consideration as we decided upon our top ten products for our buying guide is how the equipment or accessory is used. Is it something you will use for Olympic lifting exercises? Core exercises? Will it help you keep track of your progress? Protect your hands? Is it made to help improve your cardiovascular health or help you to get those muscle gains? Because every item on our list is vastly different, the use of the item will be different as well.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Portability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Give Yourself Time

It can be very exciting to dive head first into a new workout regimen but we recommend going slowly at first so your body can get acclimated to the forces you are subjecting it to. Give yourself time to get used to the proper form for your exercises to ensure you’re not going to end up injured after investing so much money in your home CrossFit gym.

Benefits of CrossFit

There are a lot of benefits to beginning a CrossFit workout regimen, whether you are attending classes at your local box or attempting to create your own at-home version. CrossFit workouts leave you on the floor in a pile of your own sweat. They are hard. Very hard, in fact. But you will always finish a workout glad that you pushed yourself so hard and proud of your accomplishments. CrossFit is a great way for former athletes from college or university to challenge themselves again. This is not even mentioning all of the benefits you will reap from lifting heavy weights, like cardiovascular health, better blood pressure, higher self-esteem, and improved muscle definition.

Other Factors to Consider

Durability

Investing in equipment for a home gym can get expensive very quickly. This is especially true if you are looking at purchasing something like dumbbells or an Olympic barbell and weight plates. You want to be able to protect your investment by ensuring that it is going to last you a long time. Nothing is worse than spending your hard-earned money on a product that breaks down before you’ve barely even gotten input together or had a chance to truly use it. Fitness equipment, especially the items on our list, should last you a long time. There is no reason that your Olympic barbell set can’t be passed down to your children. When we were deciding upon which products to include on our best list, we scoured through thousands of reviews to make sure the items we are recommending are actually durable in construction and will last you a long while.

Adjustability

While not every piece of equipment on our list has the ability to be adjusted, there are a number of products that you will need to make a decision about as you do your own research. For example, if you decide to add the Olympic bar to your home gym, how many pounds of weight plate are you going to purchase with it? What weight will you want your wall ball to be? The more options you have for weights, the more you will be able to progress within your fitness programming. This is definitely something you will want to keep in mind as you make your decision. It might seem daunting to buy a heavy weight set right out of the gate when you’re just starting out, but you will be thankful for the extra options in weight when you progress in your fitness level and need to start lifting heavier.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Is it safe to do CrossFit workouts at home?

a:

If you have never touched a dumbbell or barbell in your life, we would be inclined to say no. It is extremely important that you know how to perform the exercises in a CrossFit workout with proper form so as to avoid serious injury. Certain exercises, specifically the Olympic lifting movements, require a lot of skill and perfect form and without close attention to detail, you can get seriously hurt by performing them incorrectly. If you have attended a CrossFit class before or have experience with Olympic lifting, you can definitely perform these exercises and workouts at home with your own homemade CrossFit box. We would always suggest you mount a mirror in your exercise area so you are able to keep an eye on your form in order to prevent any possible injuries.

q: How much weight do I need?

a:

This depends entirely on your current fitness level and what your current goals are. If you are a seasoned lifter and have consistently been hitting the weights for the last year or so, you will need a variety of weights to start with. Investing in an adjustable dumbbell set will save you a lot of room in your house as these can typically go from 2 pounds to 55 pounds each. Another important piece of equipment you will need is an Olympic barbell and along with this, you will need a number of different weight plates. You may not progress closer to your fitness goals if you do not have a way of consistently challenging yourself with heavier weights.

q: Do I need to keep track of my workouts?

a:

While this isn’t an absolute necessity, it is always a great idea to keep track of your workouts and even your food intake, especially if you have serious fitness goals you are striving towards. Being able to compare your current workout results to the one you completed a few weeks ago is a huge self-esteem booster, especially if you are progressing in a positive way. There is a unique feeling of accomplishment that comes from seeing that your body is able to lift heavier and heavier weights with every single workout you complete. Plus, keeping track of what you are lifting in today’s workout will give you an idea of where to start for your next workout.

q: What are the benefits of foam rolling?

a:

A foam roller is an incredibly powerful little tool that literally everybody can benefit from. A foam roller can provide a little at-home mini massage that you are in charge of. We have all been to a massage therapist who is a little too rough (or, on the opposite end, a little too light handed) but with foam rollers, we are able to give ourselves massages and be able to control how much or how little pressure we want. Foam rollers help athletes (and regular ol’ folk, too) with myofascial release. This is when we use a low-intensity force on our soft tissues in an attempt at allowing our contracting muscles to relax. Myofascial release helps to improve blood flow and will help our muscles in operating smoothly. Using a foam roller will help keep your muscles looser and more hydrated, provide you with a better range of motion than you are used to, improve your recovery time and lower the change that you’ll get injured during your workouts. Not to mention, foam rolling feels so good!

q: How do I know what workouts to perform?

a:

A quick Google search of “CrossFit workouts” will give you thousands of ideas that you can incorporate in your own little at-home box. If you have some general idea of what a CrossFit workout should look like, you can create your own with the equipment you have. Typically a CrossFit class will consist of a few parts. The workout will begin with a dynamic warmup using your own body weight and movements or mobility work that will complement the upcoming exercises. After you’re feeling nice and warm, you may move onto either a skill-based or strength-based section. Strength days will typically focus on pure strength exercises like squats. Skill-based work will focus on a particular skill like muscle-ups. After this section is complete, the WOD (Workout of the Day) will begin. These change on a day-to-day basis, though sometimes the trainers may bring back a benchmark workout so you can compare your current results to what you achieved last time. After the WOD is done, cooldown and stretching can begin. Still stumped on how to make your own programming? The CrossFit website posts the daily WOD every day (for free) so you can always go on there if you are drawing a blank.

Sources

  1. Wikipedia, CrossFit,
  2. Nurd Fitness, A Beginner’s Guide to CrossFit,