to top 10 table

Best Collagen Powder

last updated Dec 28, 2018

Collagen is that amazing little building block that almost everyone knows is responsible at keeping your skin looking bright and healthy. However, did you know that is also has a myriad of other benefits that may keep you feeling at your best? Using collagen powder on a regular basis will help promote gut health by reducing inflammation from a poor diet, and it can also help ease joint pain and improve muscle growth. While your body produces this product naturally, it does slow down as you get older, or can even slow down due to diet. You can mitigate this loss with just a little daily supplement that is typically pretty affordable. In this guide, you will find some of the best collagen powder out there on the market to keep you looking and feeling your very best.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
Vital Proteins
88.8/100 our score
Use
89
Effectiveness
90
Potency
92
Product Purity
88
Value
85
Vital Proteins
Why is it better?

Peptides derived from free range and grass cows

20 grams per spoonful

Some past users have seen results in hair growth and relief from joint pain

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Vital Proteins
Test Winner: Vital Proteins
Interviewed Experts
2
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Total Readers
10,000
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
23
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Use Effectiveness Potency Product Purity Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Use
89%
Effectiveness
90%
Potency
92%
Product Purity
88%
Value
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.01.19)
$43.00
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Use
86%
Effectiveness
87%
Potency
84%
Product Purity
88%
Value
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.01.19)
$10.89
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Use
85%
Effectiveness
86%
Potency
89%
Product Purity
80%
Value
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.01.19)
$34.99
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Use
78%
Effectiveness
85%
Potency
84%
Product Purity
82%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.01.19)
$18.69
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Use
88%
Effectiveness
79%
Potency
72%
Product Purity
73%
Value
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.01.19)
$15.99
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.4
Use
74%
Effectiveness
84%
Potency
85%
Product Purity
79%
Value
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.01.19)
$19.99
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Use
76%
Effectiveness
85%
Potency
84%
Product Purity
88%
Value
72%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.01.19)
$43.95
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
Use
79%
Effectiveness
80%
Potency
81%
Product Purity
78%
Value
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.01.19)
$25.99
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Use
72%
Effectiveness
76%
Potency
80%
Product Purity
88%
Value
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.01.19)
$17.88
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Use
76%
Effectiveness
79%
Potency
92%
Product Purity
73%
Value
74%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.01.19)
$27.49
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Vital Proteins
  • Neocell
  • Code Age
  • Zint
  • Verisol
  • Giant Sports
  • Ancient Nutrition
  • BioOptimal
  • Root Vitality
  • Oxnutrition
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Vital Proteins

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Vital Proteins
Use
89
Effectiveness
90
Potency
92
Product Purity
88
Value
85
best offer for today
$43.00
Pros:

Peptides derived from free range and grass cows

20 grams per spoonful

Some past users have seen results in hair growth and relief from joint pain

Cons:

A little expensive

Some found that it is a little harder to mix into cold water

Vital Proteins landed in our number one spot because it is made from quality ingredients that users can feel good about, and it is also easy to take and very effective. While it does cost just a little bit more than some of the other designs out there, users feel that it is well worth the price tag.

Read more

Use

To take, simply dissolve one scoopful into a glass of water. Due to the fact that formula dissolves very easily, it can be mixed into just about anything- hot or cold. Mix this into your hot coffee of a cold glass of water, or you can even throw it into a smoothie or your morning scrambled eggs and the neutral tastes will not affect the flavor.

Effectiveness

Users discovered that this product has actually made a difference in not only how fast their hair grows, but also the smoothness of their skin when it is consumed on a daily basis. There were some users that also felt that they could tell a difference in the stiffness of their joints.

Potency

This formulal from Vital Proteins is one of the most potent out there on the market, packing a whopping 20 grams into every spoonful.

Product Purity

You can feel good about what is inside this product. It is made from 100 percent bovine hide college peptides, with no fillers or additional proteins. It is also derived from cows that are grass fed and free range.

Value

This option does cost a little bit more than some of the other options you will find out there on the market, but users feel that the purity of the this design as well as the potency makes it well worth the price tag.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is going to really pack a punch, this options from Vital Proteins is going to be one of your best options out there.

2. Neocell

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Neocell
Use
86
Effectiveness
87
Potency
84
Product Purity
88
Value
92
best offer for today
$10.89
Pros:

Affordable

Uses bovine ingredients from grass fed cows

Non GMO, gluten and soy free

Dissolves well with little to no taste

Cons:

One serving only contains about 10 grams

Few reports of improved joints

We liked Neocell because it is incredibly effective, it is made from ingredients that you can feel good about, and it comes in at an incredibly affordable price point. It might not be as potent as some of the others, but it is just as effective.

Read more

Use

Users will simply need to mix this product into a glass of water or into your hot coffee in the morning. This quick dissolving formula is perfect to mix into just about anything, whether it is hot or cold. Due to the fact that it has no taste, you can mix it into anything without affecting the flavor. Some users have reported that this formula does create froth on their coffee.

Effectiveness

Users have reported that using this product every day has yielded results on their hair as well as their skin. One user found taking this supplement after their chemotherapy made their hair thicker once it finally started to grow back. There were few reports of improved joint health, however.

Potency

This product uses 6,600 mg of NeoCell’s BioActive formula that pack about 10 grams into every serving. This is a little less than some of the higher concentrations out there on the market, so if you are looking for more of a punch, you might want to double up on your scoops.

Product Purity

Users can feel good about what is inside of this bottle. It uses peptides that are derived from grass-fed cows. It is also listed to be non GMO, paleo friendly, gluten and soy free.

Value

The cost of this product is one of the more affordable options out there on the market. Keep in mind, however, that it isn’t as powerful as some of the other options, so doubling up on scoops mean that you are going to work through a bottle quicker.

Overall

For those that need something that is going to work wonders on hair and nails, this option is going to be a really great choice that is offered at a very affordable price point.

3. Code Age

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Code Age
Use
85
Effectiveness
86
Potency
89
Product Purity
80
Value
81
best offer for today
$34.99
Pros:

Dissolves easily

Derived from various sources other than just cows

Cons:

Some users have reported that is leaves a bad taste and odor in food and drinks

This option from Code Age provides users with all of the ingredients that they will need to see the benefits on their skin and hair, as well as promote a gut health and relieve joint pain. Plus, it is derived from sources that users can feel good about.

Read more

Use

Simply take one or two scoops and place them into your morning coffee of glass of water. This tasteless and quick dissolving formula is perfect to add to just about anything. Some users even add it to their baked good to offer a healthy kick to their favorite treats!

Effectiveness

From what we have gathered, there are a lot of users that are quite pleased with the effectiveness of this product. There are quite a few users that find that they could tell a difference in their hair and skin, and there were also quite a few reports that found they could tell a reduction in joint pain, and improved digestion as well.

Potency

This is one of the weaker formulas that we have found, containing just 9 grams of their proprietary blend per serving. Each bottle contains about 63 servings, but if you double up on scoops for 18 grams, there is only about 31 servings per container.

Product Purity

You can feel good about the source of this product. It uses bovine peptides as its main ingredient, and it is derived from grass-fed beef. It also uses chicken bone broth, eggs, and bone broth from wild fish.

Value

The cost of this option, we found, runs about in the middle of the road. It isn’t the most expensive option out there on the market, but it is far from being the most expensive choice.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is going to be really effective, and you aren’t too concerned about a myriad of different ingredients from various sources, this option from Code Age is going to be one of your best options.

4. Zint

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Zint
Use
78
Effectiveness
85
Potency
84
Product Purity
82
Value
90
best offer for today
$18.69
Pros:

Affordable

Comes from grass fed beef

Mixes well

Cons:

Some users found they didn’t like the taste- it was a little salty, and sometimes tasted of beef

Zint is great because it boasts a simple and powerful formula that your body will thank you for. This option is really easy to take, and it will give you the requisite level of proteins needed to support your overall health. Keep in mind, however, that the majority of users found that this unit was perfect for their skin, and hair, and there were few reports regarding joint and digestive health.

Read more

Effectiveness

Most users report that they were really able to tell a difference in their skin and the hair with regular use of this product. While reports of joint and digestive health were not as common, there were a few users that reported back that tasks like gardening and yoga seemed to wear on their joints a little less.

Potency

One serving of this option will provide users with about 11 grams of protein peptides. This amount is just a little bit higher than average, but for some people, it isn’t enough for daily use. Therefore, to get a higher protein intake, you will need to use more than one scoop (which means you will go through the bag more quickly).

Product Purity

Users can rest assured that they are getting one simple ingredient in this supplement: hydrolyzed beef protein. This supplement is derived from grass-fed cows.

Value

We like that the cost of this option runs a little bit less than many of the other options out there. While it isn’t the most affordable option, it will save you a little bit of money initially. Plus, it is offered in 10, 16, and 32 ounce options.

Overall

We feel that this is an excellent option for those that are looking for a concentrated formula that comes from high-quality sources, and that is easy to take without breaking the bank.

5. Verisol

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Verisol
Use
88
Effectiveness
79
Potency
72
Product Purity
73
Value
89
best offer for today
$15.99
Pros:

Dissolves easily

Affordable

Users found that is is tasteless

Cons:

Not very potent

For those that are concerned about taking higher quantities of this product, and just want to start out with something that is of a lower dose, this option from Verisol is a great place to start. Plus, is it sold at local Whole Food Markets, so if you like it you have the option of running to the grocery store to pick up a container.

Read more

Use

To use, simply measure out one scoop and toss it into any hot or cold liquid such as a cup of coffee or a glass of water.

Effectiveness

While we didn’t notice that there were a lot of users that reported on the benefits of joint and digestive health, we did find that there were quite a few that found that with regular use, their hair grew a little faster, and the noticed a difference in their skin.

Potency

This is where this option falls short a bit. One serving has about 2,500 milligrams of peptides, but this only translates to about 2.5 grams per serving. To put that into perspective, the average brand offers about 9-11 grams per serving, and some of the higher end options offer up to 20 grams per serving. However, if you we looking to start out slow and build up to a higher dose- this option is going to be your best bet.

Product Purity

Unfortunately, there isn’t a whole lot to say about where this product comes from. The label states that it is composed of simple bioactive peptides, but is doesn’t indicate from where those peptides are derived. When information isn’t given, we like to assume that the peptides in this bottle are not gained from organic methods.

Value

What we liked most about this option is that it comes in at one of the most affordable price points of many of the other options out there on the market. Plus, because it is sold at Whole Foods, users will be able to pick this option up the next time they go to the grocery store.

Overall

This is an excellent option because it is very affordable and many users feel that it works. It is important to note, however, that the potency of this option is significantly less than many of the other brands you will find on this list.

6. Giant Sports

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.4
Giant Sports
Use
74
Effectiveness
84
Potency
85
Product Purity
79
Value
80
best offer for today
$19.99
Pros:

Affordable price point

Has no taste

Cons:

Some found it clumps together in hot coffee

Hitting the gym and looking for something that is designed to help you perform at your best? This option from Giant Sports is going to be one of the best options for your needs. While it is still made from pure sources of peptides that will promote bone and joint health but it also has a few ingredients to help athletes perform at their best.

Read more

Use

To use this product, simply add it to your morning coffee or a glass of water. A lot of users find that this tasteless product is the perfect companion to a great protein shake before hitting the gym.

Effectiveness

What we have found is that there are quite a few users that feel that this product works great at improving the health of their hair and skin, but it also improves joint and bone health. When you are lifting weights at the gym, your joints can really take a beating, and this product is great at easing that pain- according to previous users.

Potency

This brand runs about par for the course when it comes to how powerful of a punch each scoop packs. One scoop will offer users about 12 grams of peptides, which is just a tad higher than average.

Product Purity

Users can feel good about where Giant Sports derives their ingredients. This option uses bovine peptides that come from grass fed and pasture raised cows.

Value

Surprisingly, this unit comes in at a pretty affordable price point. While it isn’t the least expensive option out there, users will save quite a bit of money when they select this option, because each bottle has an impressive 44 servings per container.

Overall

We liked this option because it is designed with athletes in mind that want to protect their bones and joints, and also want to maintain healthy skin and hair in the process.

7. Ancient Nutrition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Ancient Nutrition
Use
76
Effectiveness
85
Potency
84
Product Purity
88
Value
72
best offer for today
$43.95
Pros:

Powerful formula for 4 different sources

Tasteless

Cons:

Expensive

Users found you have to stir for quite some time to get it to full dissolve

If you are looking for something that is really going to pack in a lot of various forms of beneficial peptides from a myriad of sources, this is an excellent option. It goes above and beyond what many other companies offer, and it reflects that in its higher price point.

Read more

Use

This is design to dissolve very easily in hot and cold beverages. Many users like to simply stir one scoop into their morning coffee, and the tasteless formula will make it so that you won’t even notice that it is in there.

Effectiveness

There are many users that find that this formula works great for making their hair grow faster and clearing up there skin, but the most impressive results we found were with users that found that it works great at helping their joints and bones feel better and less stiff.

Potency

This is where this product really shines. Most options out there on the market offer users collagen from types I and III, but Ancient Nutrition offers types I, II, III, IV, and V. One scoop provides users with 12 grams of peptides, which is just slightly more than average.

Product Purity

The source of these peptides comes from 4 different places- cows, chicken, fish, and eggshells. According to the brand description, the bovine ingredients are derived from grass-fed beef, but there isn’t any information to how the chicken and fish are procured.

Value

While this product offers a powerful peptide formula, this formula comes at a much higher price point. This is one of the most expensive options out there on the market, but it is also one of the more powerful blends.

Overall

If you need something that is powerful and potent, and you are willing to pay extra to get there, this option from Ancient Nutrition is going to be one of your better options in our option.

8. BioOptimal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
BioOptimal
Use
79
Effectiveness
80
Potency
81
Product Purity
78
Value
85
best offer for today
$25.99
Pros:

Dissolves easily

Affordable

Cons:

Taste is detectable

Will not last 30 days

If you have concerns about artificial ingredients and GMOs, and you don’t want to pay the higher price tag as some of the other higher end options, this formula from BioOptimal is going to be a great choice for your specific needs.

Read more

Use

This formula is tasteless and dissolves easily. To use, simply stir in a scoopful into your hot coffee in the morning, or just stir it into a cold glass of water. Some users like to use it in their smoothies, and can even be used in baking.

Effectiveness

While there are quite a few users that feel this product is great for hair and skin, there are a surprising amount of users that feel that this formula helps to reduce pain in their joints in problem areas such as wrists and knees.

Potency

One scoop of this product will give users 10 grams of peptides, which is about normal for these types of products. One bottle offers users a 30 day supply, so if you want a more powerful serving, you can opt for two scoops, but cut your supply in half.

Product Purity

Users can feel good about what is inside this option. It uses bovine ingredients that come from cows that are grass fed. It is also considered to be a non GMO product.

Value

The cost of this formula from BioOptimal runs to be a little less than some of the average priced options out there on the market. However, many brands offer tubs with about 40-45 servings, and this brand only offers 30 servings- and some users feel that one bottle won’t even last them that long.

Overall

For those that want something that boasts a simple but powerful formula at a reasonable price point, this option from BioOptimal is going to be a fine selection.

9. Root Vitality

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Root Vitality
Use
72
Effectiveness
76
Potency
80
Product Purity
88
Value
84
best offer for today
$17.88
Pros:

Grass fed, non GMO ingredients

No taste when mixed

Cons:

Users do not like the difficult to reseal package

What we liked most about this option from Root Vitality comes in its simplicity. This product doesn’t have any additives or additional supplements that they might night want or necessarily need. Plus, it comes in at a very affordable price point.

Read more

Use

To use this product, simply measure out a scoopful and toss it into your morning coffee. Some users feel they benefit most from this product when the put it into a nutrient rich smoothie. If you want, you can also simply stir it into a glass of water.

Effectiveness

From what we could gather, most users found there to be a big difference in their hair and nails when using this product every day. May found that their hair grew faster, and their nails were a lot stronger. There were few reports of improved joint health, however.

Potency

One scoop of this product offers users 10 grams of peptides, which is pretty par for the course. If you were looking for something that had a little bit more, you can always adjust the side of your scoop, but then your bag will not last for a full 30 days.

Product Purity

The peptides in this formula are derived from cows that are grass fed and pasture raised. This is also considered to be friendly for those on a keto or paleo diet, and it is also non GMO.

Value

What we liked most about this product is that it comes in at an affordable price point. Users will pay just a little bit less than some of the average priced options out there on the market, but it isn’t the least expensive option out there.

Overall

This product runs about in the middle of the road overall. It has the average dosage of peptides in one serving, it is made from simple natural ingredients from honest sources, and it comes in a a price tag that is just slightly more affordable than average.

10. Oxnutrition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Oxnutrition
Use
76
Effectiveness
79
Potency
92
Product Purity
73
Value
74
best offer for today
$27.49
Pros:

One serving offers 21 grams of peptides

Grass fed and pasture raised ingredients

Cons:

Users did not like non resealable packaging

This little package from OXNUTRITION really packs a punch. It has more peptides per serving than many of the others out there on the market, and it also contains a good deal of protein as well, making the overall calorie count a little higher than most- which is something important to keep in mind if you are counting your calories.

Read more

Use

Simply measure two spoonfuls of this formula into your morning beverage of choice- whether is it hot coffee, or a cold glass of orange juice or water. It is also a perfect companion for a nutrient rich smoothie as well.

Effectiveness

What we noticed about this product is that users rave about how well it works not only on their skin and hair, but it is also great for joint health as well as regulating gut health.

Potency

This is the most important takeaway when it comes to this product- the potency. It offers a whopping 21 grams of peptides per serving- which is the most we have seen of any of the other brands. It is also important to note that it also has 19 grams of protein, which is far more than most brands.

Product Purity

You can feel good that the bovine hyde used in this product comes from cows that are grass fed and pasture raised without the use of antibiotics or hormones. It is also considered to be non GMO and keto friendly.

Value

The cost of this option costs a little bit more than other options out there on the market, but it is far from being the most expensive.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is really going to be able to pack a punch, but still comes in at an affordable price point, this is a great choice.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

The benefit of powdered supplements is that they are generally easier to use.

There were two things that we made sure to keep an eye on when selecting products for our list. They needed to have no taste, and they needed to easily dissolve in both hot and cold liquids. From what we found, these types of supplements can suffer from two different problems- they clump together when trying to dissolve, and they have an unpleasant taste. Some users found that when the opened their container, they were met with an unpleasant odor, but once mixed into their drink or food, the odor disappears. So, keep in mind that smell does not always equate to taste. The ability to completely dissolve and disappear into your drinks is another important feature. We know, without a shadow of a doubt, that if you are met with a clumpy beverage- you will not drink it regularly enough to reap the benefits. That’s why selecting products that dissolve and had no taste were just so important.

Effectiveness

How well each supplement works and makes you feel is one of the most important things that we considered.

How are we to measure claims of better joint and bone health, and shiner hair and skin? Pretty much every company on our list is making the same claims about their products. How we determined how well each product performed was in the past users. We took the time to sort through a lot of users reviews- both the good and the bad- to determine just how well these supplements work. Through these reviews, we were able to determine which supplements favor skin and hair benefits, which favored joint and bone health, which benefited both, and the ones that really had no positive results at all. Without definitive substantial claims from places like the FDA, we could only determine the benefits of a product based solely on how well customers reacted to the product. Another way to determine how well a product would work is to look at the ingredients. If it had a small amount of peptides that were included in a laundry list of other supplements and vitamins, we could weed out that product as not being very effective at the end goal of improving skin, bone, joint, and gut health.

Potency

How powerful a serving is is indicative how well it is going to work inside of your body.

It was very easy to tell how potent these products were- we just looked at the back label! What we discovered is that many of the average priced options offer servings that have about 8-10 grams of beneficial peptides. On the higher end of the scale are products that offer up to 20 grams, with the highest options being OXNUTRITION that offers users a whopping 21 grams. So, how much does the average person need a day? Studies show that about 10 grams is considered to be average. However, if you are an athlete or lead a very active lifestyle, you can take up to about 30 grams a day. One thing that we discovered in our research is to beware of brands that market their peptide count in milligrams! While 6,600 milligrams might seem like a lot, it is only 6.6 grams- which is far less than the average intake needed. If you are unsure of how much that you need, we suggest starting out with a lower dosage and gauging how your body feels. If you feel alright, you can always up the serving until you start to see the results that you desire. We feel that it is always better to err on the side of too little rather than too much.

Product Purity

Where ingredients come from and how they are process is important to us, and we know that it is important to you as well.

The peptides found in these formulas use primarily the skin, joints, and bones from cows, so we wanted to make sure that they came from honest sources. One of the very first things that we search for was the words ‘grass fed’. You are using these supplements in your body, so whatever the cow ate to grow big and strong is going to be used in your body as well. We gravitated towards products that were non GMO, gluten free, and were friendly to those that are on keto and paleo diets. We also liked it when companies used cows that were also never fed antibiotics or hormones, because like we mentioned earlier, anything that the cow is fed will find its way into the supplements that you are taking. If you are a vegetarian, there are supplements on the market that use eggshells in lieu of animal products. These options typically are a little more expensive and often after considered to be as effective.

Value

And as always, we want to save you a little bit of money when we can.

What we found is that packaging is one way the companies are able to save the user a little bit of money while still having a quality product on the inside. Companies package their product in one of two ways- they opt for a plastic jaw with a screw on lid, or they place their product in a plastic bag. The bagged options are difficult to close, and users might need to employ the use of a tupperware container in order to keep their product fresh for the full 30-45 days of use. If you are willing to use your own containers, selecting products that are found in bags will save you a little bit of money in the long run. Most of these products carry a price tag that isn’t considered too shocking, especially when you considered all of the benefits taking this supplement can bring. Options on the higher end of the price scale may set you back about the same amount of money that you would spend filling up your car with gas, and the more affordable options will cost you the same amount as a couple of fruit smoothies.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
1
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
2
Potency
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
3
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Effectiveness

It is important to note that these products are not studied or tested by the FDA, so how well they work cannot be clinically determined. One way to determine if a product is effective is to consider what previous users had to say about the benefits that they experienced after using them on a continued basis.

Potency

The average human needs about 10 grams of these peptides in their body. For those that live a more active lifestyle, you can take up to 30 grams a day. Most supplements on the market have about 8-12 grams per serving, but you can add more or less in your scoop as you see fit.

Product Purity

THe basic rule of thumb here is that anything that the cow ate will go into this supplement. That's why you want to make sure that you select products that claim their cows were grass fed and pasture raised, and you also want to make sure that they also did not take any antibiotics or hormones. You want these supplements to be as pure as possible.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is this product derived from?
a:

While many companies don’t like to come out and tell you directly, this formula is derived from primarily the skin of cows, and sometimes uses the bone and muscles as well. For users that feel uncomfortable with this fact, there are also vegan options out there on the market that use ingredients such as green tea that is rich in vitamin C. For the companies that use animal products, we were drawn to companies that make a point to express that the cows used for their product were free range, grass fed, and antibiotic free. We want users to feel good about the supplements that they are taking, and the efforts that went into ensuring that they are healthy, natural, and humane.

q: Is this supplement simply for older users?
a:

This is one of the most common misconceptions when you think of this product. While it is true that the human body slows down the process of creating it naturally in the body, there are quite a few reasons why humans are lacking in this department. If you aren’t getting the right amount of nutrients and do not have a balanced diet, you also might find that your body isn’t producing enough. Also, if you are hitting the gym and trying to build muscle- this is a big part of that process. In the body, this amino acid is also responsible for creating powerful amounts of glycine, which is a big part of creating creatine. If you are a bodybuilder, you are no stranger knowing how much creatine you will need to enhance muscles growth. Creatine is something that is found naturally in proteins such as meats, so if you are also a vegetarian, you will also benefit a good deal from this supplement. In short, this product is great for those getting older, for body builders, vegetarians, or just anyone that wants to make sure that their body is running to the best of its ability when fresh fruits and vegetables aren’t readily available.

q: What is the benefit of using it in a powder form?
a:

Pill supplements are available, but many users prefer to use this form for a few reasons. The first reason is that is absorbs quicker into the system and more naturally than its pilled partner. Plus, users can adjust just how many grams that they are consuming by using either a half a scoop or a heaping scoop to fit their dietary needs. What we discovered that some users like to do is add their supplement to the food that they are eating, or tossing it into a smoothie. This is a great idea especially for vegetarians (be sure to select a vegetarian option!) to ensure that they are getting all of the nutrients that meat eaters would get in their meals. Lastly, some people just have a hard time swallowing pills, and the pill options can sometimes be a (literal) hard pill to swallow.

q: What are some of the health benefits?
a:

Most users already know that this supplement can do wonders for your skin, and some make claims that it actually helps to reduce cellulite. However, there are other benefits that seem to fly under the radar when people talk about the surface level benefits of this product. What we found to be the most impressive is that it can help build muscle. Of course, this feature will help older folks maintain muscle mass that they often lose when they age, but it can also help bodybuilders and weight trainers. This amino acid is actually quite beneficial in the development of creatine, which is one of the most important amino acids that help promote muscle growth. It can also help to normalize your digestive health.

q: Are there any side effects?
a:

From what we researched, the possible side effects that can occur are generally pretty mild. Some users found that this unit may cause fullness or heartburn, and some have reported that it may leave a bad taste in your mouth. If you have any concerns about how your body will react to any type of supplement, we suggest that you take it to your doctor first to be sure that it is going to be the right choice for you.

q: Are they safe?
a:

Since this is a product that occurs naturally in your body, it is completely safe to take as long as you follow the directions that are on the side of the bottle. One thing that we feel we must note, however, is that this type of supplement isn’t regulated by the FDA. So, what does that mean for you? This basically means that there is no guarantee from a government agency of what exactly is found within the packaging. However, this doesn’t mean that a product isn’t worth taking. Be sure that you selected a brand that is trusted in the industry, and has been tested by a third party. One big thing to keep in mind when selecting the right brand for you is to not fall victim to any wild claims. There is no magic tonic or pill out there on the planet that is magically going to make you lose weight without proper diet and exercise, and there is nothing that it going to make you look 20 years younger. If a product is making these types of claims, is is best to look at that product with a skeptical eye.

Sources

  1. Monica Lam-Feist, BS, A Vegetarian’s Guide to Collagen and Healthy Bones, Blog, Aug 31, 2018
  2. Dr. Josh Axe, DNM, DC, CNS, How Collagen Can Boost Your Body’s Skin, Muscle, and Gut , Blog, Jan 01, 2018