to top 10 table

Best Cashmere Scarf

last updated Feb 20, 2019

If you're looking to keep yourself warm and cozy this winter or looking to give a gift to someone that is impossible to shop for- you can’t go wrong with a cashmere scarf. So, what is cashmere and why is it popular? It is considered to be a type of wool, but in actuality, it is the super soft hair from a special breed of goat, or sometimes the hair from a camel. The reason that it makes an excellent piece of winter gear is that it is lightweight, feels soft against the skin, and is still incredibly warm even on those blustery cold winter days. In this guide, you will find some of our top picks for our favorite cashmere scarfs to keep you wrapped in warmth and comfort all winter.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
Rosemary Collections
88.4/100 our score
Fit
85
Materials
92
Size
87
Style
90
Value
88
Rosemary Collections
Why is it better?

Affordable

Made from 100% goat hair

Great variety of color options

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Rosemary Collections
Test Winner: Rosemary Collections
Amazon Link
Interviewed Experts
3
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
12
Researched Sources
Total Readers
10,000
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
25
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Sami Kritz
By Sami Kritz:

❄ Stay warm and cozy with one of these top-rated cashmere scarves. A scarf to keep your eye on is Anny's. This scarf features incredible length and is offered in unique color combinations. With our updated interactive format, you can now rearrange the product list based on what is most important to you! Don't forget to check out the FAQ to learn more about cashmere. ❄

Sorting Options
Fit Materials Size Style Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Fit
85 %
Materials
92 %
Size
87 %
Style
90 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$47.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Fit
85 %
Materials
89 %
Size
84 %
Style
88 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Fit
86 %
Materials
80 %
Size
90 %
Style
85 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$44.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Fit
84 %
Materials
83 %
Size
86 %
Style
90 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$78.90
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Fit
84 %
Materials
85 %
Size
79 %
Style
78 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$31.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Fit
80 %
Materials
79 %
Size
75 %
Style
84 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$34.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.4
Fit
79 %
Materials
87 %
Size
84 %
Style
85 %
Value
67 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$10.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Fit
79 %
Materials
75 %
Size
78 %
Style
82 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$23.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.6
Fit
80 %
Materials
89 %
Size
78 %
Style
82 %
Value
69 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$164.95
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Fit
83 %
Materials
84 %
Size
79 %
Style
76 %
Value
72 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$97.00
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Rosemary Collections Rosemary Collections
  • Lerdu Lerdu
  • Anny's Anny's
  • State Cashmere State Cashmere
  • Jasmine Jasmine
  • Andorra Andorra
  • Bilycat Bilycat
  • Qiyunxing Qiyunxing
  • Citizen Cashmere Citizen Cashmere
  • Unlabeled Unlabeled
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Rosemary Collections

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Rosemary Collections
Amazon Link
Fit
85
Materials
92
Size
87
Style
90
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$47.99
Pros:

Affordable

Made from 100% goat hair

Great variety of color options

Cons:

It is only offered in one color

Some users felt that it was a little too long for them

The Rosemarie Collections was our favorite pick because it checks all of the boxes of what users would want from one of these products. While it doesn’t come in a wide variety of colors to select from, it is made from high-quality materials that users feel is incredibly soft and easy to wear.

Read more

Fit
This unit has more of a traditional fit, and the narrower neck allows users to tie it around their neck in a few different ways without suffering from the extra bulk that can occur from shawl styles.

Materials
The good news here is that this unit is made from one hundred percent goat hair. It also comes in a sharp gift box, making it the perfect gift.

Size
This unit measures to be about 65 inches long, and 12 inches wide, which users have found to be long enough to wrap around their neck more than once.

Style
The bad news about this option is that it is only offered in one style. However, the plaid design that is accented in neutral beige, black, and green means that it will be able to go with just about anything.

Value
The cost of this unit runs about in the middle of the road. It isn’t the most expensive design out there, but it is one of the more affordable options that isn’t composed out of a blend of materials.

Overall
This is our favorite pick because users feel that it is just the right length, and it is made from one hundred percent goat hair. Plus, it comes in a sharp gift box and it is offered at a price point that won’t break the bank.

2. Lerdu

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Lerdu
Amazon Link
Fit
85
Materials
89
Size
84
Style
88
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

Affordable

Shipped in sleek gift box

Can be worn a myriad of different ways

Cons:

Some users felt that it was too thin

This was one of our favorite choices because it comes in at an affordable price point, and it is incredibly long and wide to ensure that it will keep you warm even on those blustery cold days. Plus, it comes in at an affordable price point to allow you to buy one in every color!

Read more

Fit
When laid out flat, this unit is incredibly wide and long. This means that users will be able to fold it up and wear it the traditional way wrapped around their neck, or they can also opt to wear it as a shawl draped over their shoulders.

Materials
The LERDU design users 30 percent camel hair, and 70 percent cotton. Even though this unit is primarily cotton, users report that it still has that classic soft feel from the camel hair.

Size
It measures to be about 82 inches long, and it is 23 inches wide.

Style
One of our favorite features about this design is that it not only comes in a wide variety of solid colors that users can select from such as black, beige, pink, red, and blue, but it is also offered in unique and interesting patterns color combinations that you might not see in other brands.

Value
What we love about this option is that it comes in at an affordable price point that allows users to be able to buy one for every member of their family. It also comes with a 90-day guarantee if this product does not meet your standards.

Overall
Users love the fact that this unit ships in a nice gift box that gives it a little extra polish when giving it as a gift. It is incredibly soft, versatile, and will keep you and your loved ones warm this winter.

3. Anny's

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Anny's
Amazon Link
Fit
86
Materials
80
Size
90
Style
85
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.99
Pros:

Made from 100% goat hair

Extra long

Unique color combinations and patterns

Cons:

Some feel that it is a little on the thin side

Some found that it sheds too much for them

What we loved about this option is that it is designed to be worn by either a man or a woman. It is made from high-quality materials that will keep you warm this winter, and users love that there is a wide variety of color options for with they can choose.

Read more

Fit
Given the extra length of this option and the narrow design, users will be able to wear this unit wrapped around their neck a few times while still having a good deal of fabric left over. Plus, the more narrow fit means you will be able to tie it in a knot without the extra bulk.

Materials
Our favorite feature about this design is that it is made from one hundred percent goat hair, and it is manufactured with German quality standards.

Size
This is one of the longer units on the market, measuring in at an impressive 72 inches long, and it is also 12 inches wide.

Style
Users can select from a wide variety of color choices and patterns that include classic designs such as red plaid, black and white checkered patterns, or camel plaid (similar to the classic Burberry pattern). It also has unique color options such as brightly colored pink and purple checks, or pink and gray plaid.

Value
The cost of this unit is about the average price of what users would come to expect from a design that is made from one hundred percent goat hair. While it isn’t the most expensive design out there on the market, it isn’t the least expensive either.

Overall
We liked this design because it is extra long, which means that it will keep you extra warm this winter. Plus, unisex designs make it a perfect gift for the man or woman in your life.

4. State Cashmere

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
State Cashmere
Amazon Link
Fit
84
Materials
83
Size
86
Style
90
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$78.90
Pros:

Casual design

Made from 100% inner Mongolian goat hair

Incredibly long

Cons:

Slighty more expensive than most

Some users claim that the edges roll up quite a bit

This option is a little bit different than some of the others because it has a more casual, sporty look to the design, while still maintaining all of the softness and warmth of traditional styles. If you were looking for a product that would work with your down ski jacket and jeans, this is going to be an excellent choice.

Read more

Fit
Due to the fact that it is extra long, users will be able to wrap this design multiple times around their neck while still having room to spare. Even if you are incredibly tall, this it unit will fit you quite well.

Materials
Users can rest assured that this design is made from one hundred percent inner Mongolian goat hair. Also, because it is more densely knitted, State Cashmere states that this unit will not become pilly the way some other brands can.

Size
This unit measures to be an impressive 80 inches long and is 13.5 inches wide- which is just a little bit thicker than the standard size of 12 inches wide.

Style
What initially attracted us to this option was a unique style that gives it a much more casual look. Users can select from wide striped color options that include black, burgundy, and navy blue.

Value
The cost of this unit will set you back a little bit more than you would spend on some of the average size styles, but you must take into consideration that this unit is quite a bit longer as well as wider than the average size options. For that, we feel this is well worth the elevated price point.

Overall
For those that want all of the comfort, warmth, and softness from one of these items, but they want something that is going to look a bit more casual and fun with your ski jacket and jeans- this is going to be an excellent choice for you.

5. Jasmine

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Jasmine
Amazon Link
Fit
84
Materials
85
Size
79
Style
78
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$31.99
Pros:

Affordable

Offered in many different colors and styles

Ships in a sleek gift box

Cons:

Some found it to be a little scratchy

Will shed upon first few uses

What stood out to us most about the Jasmine option is that it has that classic look that users have come to expect with these products, but it does not have the painful price tag to match. Users love that it feels incredibly soft to the touch, and it comes in a wide variety of color combinations.

Read more

Fit
This is going to fit just like any other standard design. It is a tad more narrow, so you will be able to get a neat knot at the neckline, or you will be able to wrap it around without covering your mouth.

Materials
This unit is composed of 100 percent goat hair. It is worth mentioning that according to the manufacturer this design will shed a little bit upon initial wear, but after a while, all of the loose bits of materials will work their way out.

Size
This unit measure to be 64 inches long- which is about standard for these designs, and 11.5 inches wide- which is a little more narrow than most, but some users actually prefer a more narrow option because it looks a bit more classy.

Style
Users can expect all of the classic plaid colors and patterns in this option. Colors include khaki, red and black (similar to the Burberry pattern), blue and grey, and solid colors such as red, white, black, and blue.

Value
What we liked most about this option is that while it is made from 100 percent goat hair, it still comes in at a very affordable price point. Plus, it ships in a sleek gift box, making it a perfect and affordable gift.

Overall
We loved this option because it sports that classic look with a wide variety of color and design options, but it is priced just slightly below the average cost of these products.

6. Andorra

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Andorra
Amazon Link
Fit
80
Materials
79
Size
75
Style
84
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.99
Pros:

Affordable

Offered in many color and patterns

Ships in a gift box

Cons:

Some find that the fabric is itchy

The most notable takeaway from the ANDORRA design is that it is offered in almost every color combination and color option so that even the most discerning of tastes will be able to find a style that will match their personal taste.

Read more

Fit
Users will be able to wear this like they would any other traditional model. It is made to be worn tied around the neck or looped around once or twice.

Materials
This design from ANDORRA is made from 100 percent goat hair, which users have claimed to be incredibly lightweight and warm.

Size
Measuring in at 63.5 inches long, and 11.5 inches wide, the dimensions of this model is pretty standard in comparison to other designs out there on the market.

Style
The most notable takeaway of this design is that the wide variety of colors and designs that are offered. Colors include solid gray, pink, white, blue, and green, as well as classic plaid options such as white and purple, red and black, and white and gray stripes.

Value
The price tag on this design is slightly lower than the averagely priced options and considering that it is made from 100 percent goat hair, this is a really great deal.

Overall
If you are looking for something that comes in a wide variety of colors and designs and is offered at a very low price point, the ANDORRA design is going to be an excellent choice.

7. Bilycat

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.4
Bilycat
Amazon Link
Fit
79
Materials
87
Size
84
Style
85
Value
67
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.99
Pros:

Affordable

Comes in many neutral colors

Wide enough to be worn as a shawl

Cons:

Is a little stiff

Made from a blend of materials

If you feel discouraged because all of these designs have quite the hefty price tag- this option from BILYCAT is going to be just the ticket. It is considered to be one of the most affordable options out there on the market, and it comes in a wide variety of colors that are sure to match everyone’s personal style.

Read more

Fit
What we liked about this option is that it can be tied at the neck or wrapped around for the traditional fit, or users can elect to drape it over their shoulders to create a shawl to wear over a thin coat on just on its own.

Materials
The BILYCAT design users a blend of materials to make their design. It consists of 70 percent goat (or camel) hair, 20 percent silk, and 10 percent cotton. This blend means that it will hold up a little better when it comes time to wash it.

Size
This unit measures to be 78.7 inches long- making it one of the longer options out there on the market. It is also 28 inches wide, making it a perfect option to also wear as a shawl.

Style
While there aren’t any patterns to select from, users can pick from a number of neutral colors that include black, white, yellow, purple, and blue.

Value
Hands down, the value of this option is its most attractive feature. It is one of the lowest priced options of any other design out there on the market, and it will likely set you back about the same amount that you would spend on a pepperoni pizza.

Overall
If you are looking to save quite a bit of money, this is going to be your best bet. Keep in mind that the blended textile will not have the same luxurious softness as some of the higher end designs, but users feel that this is a really great product for the price.

8. Qiyunxing

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Qiyunxing
Amazon Link
Fit
79
Materials
75
Size
78
Style
82
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.99
Pros:

Affordable

Large design

Great variety of colors

Cons:

Composed of a blended textile

Some found it to be thinner than expected

This is another really affordable option that users really like because it is large enough to wear a myriad of ways, and it comes in many fun colors that will be sure to match your personal style. Plus, it comes in at a really affordable price point. Just keep in mind, however, that this is made from a textile blend.

Read more

Fit
What users really like about this model is that it is large enough to wear in a myriad of ways. Users can elect to tie it or drape it at the neck for a classic look, or they can elect to hang it over their shoulders to wear as a shawl.

Materials
Like we mentioned earlier, this unit is composed of a blend of materials. 80 percent is composed of spring mongolian lamb hair, and 20 percent is composed of cotton.

Size
This unit measures to be an impressive 78 inches long, and it is 28 inches wide, making it one of the larger options to make our list.

Style
Users can select bright and fun color options that include black, white, gray, blue, yellow, pink, purple, green, and orange.

Value
What we really liked about this option is that it comes in at a really affordable price point. It isn’t the least expensive design out there on the market, but it comes in at a price that will allow users to buy more than one color if they prefer.

Overall
If you are looking for something soft that comes in bright colors, and you want to save a little bit of money by opting for a blended textile, we feel that Qiyunxing is going to be a really great fit for you this winter.

9. Citizen Cashmere

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.6
Citizen Cashmere
Amazon Link
Fit
80
Materials
89
Size
78
Style
82
Value
69
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$164.95
Pros:

Incredibly soft and comfortable

Can be worn around the neck or as a shawl

Cons:

Incredibly expensive

Some users found it to be a little too thin

We liked this option because it is the pinnacle of simplicity and style. It doesn’t have any extra design features such as fringe or complicated patterns, and it is made from a dense knit that makes it incredibly soft and warm. The only downside it that it comes at a very high price point that may rival the cost of your winter coat.

Read more

Fit
What users like about this option is that they are able to wear it in the traditional fashion as being wrapped around the neck, or they can also opt to drape it over their shoulders to wear as a shawl.

Materials
This unit is made from 100 percent hand combed Mongolian goat hair, and users feel that it is incredibly soft, lightweight, and warm.

Size
Measuring in at 72.8 inches long and 23.6 inches wide, this is one of the larger options out there on the market, and it makes it a perfect fit for both men and women.

Style
Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this option. It is offered in solid black, gray, white, camel, and blue.

Value
The cost of this design make it one of the most expensive options out there on the market, and it comes in at a price tag that may rival the amount that you spent on your winter coat. However, users feel that the softness and warmth that this unit possess makes it well worth the padded price tag.

Overall
If you can swing it, this is one of the most comfortable options to make our list. The downside, however, is that it costs about three times more than some of the average price options out there on the market.

10. Unlabeled

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Unlabeled
Amazon Link
Fit
83
Materials
84
Size
79
Style
76
Value
72
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$97.00
Pros:

Incredibly soft blend of goat hair and lambswool

Can be worn around the neck or draped over the shoulders

Cons:

Expensive

Wrinkles easily

Some have found that it sheds a lot

If you were looking for something that is just a little wider so that it could be worn as a shawl, or something that was able to cover your neck and jaw when wrapped, this is going to be a great option. Users feel that this is one of the softest and warmest options out there on the market, but it also comes at a pretty high price point.

Read more

Fit
The fit of this model is different than your classic cuts, because it is made to be a little bulkier than classic designs. The wider fit means that you can wear it traditionally wrapped around your neck, or you can also drape it over your shoulders like a shawl.

Materials
What is different about this option is that it is made from a blend of 50 percent goat hair, and 50 percent lambswool, which gives you an incredibly warm and soft product.

Size
This unit measures in at 74 inches long and 28 inches wide, which is quite a lot larger than many of the standard sizes out there on the market.

Style
Users love that this model is offered a few different neutral tones that include black, mustard yellow, camel, white, and two shade of gray. Unfortunately, it is not offered in any prints.

Value
We hope that you are sitting down, because the price tag on this design may knock you down. While it isn’t the most expensive design that you will find for sale, it nearly doubles the cost of many of the averagly priced options that are found on our list. However, if you are looking for something that is the ultimate in softness, this price will be worth it.

Overall
White it may be one of the more expensive designs out there on the market, it is also considered to be one of the more comfortable and warm designs thanks to the blend of goat hair and lambswool.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

The most important thing that we looked at was the type of materials that these designs were made from.

Of course, this is going to be our number one priority when conducting our research. The very first thing that we looked at was the percentage of camel or goat hair that was used to make the product. Of course, we gravitate more towards options that were composed of one hundred percent goat hair, but that wasn’t to say we discounted blends entirely. Some companies that crafted their products from a blend of cotton and goat hair mean that users will have some of the benefits of this rich textile without paying the extra price that these options often carry. We also considered blends that also used a percentage of lambswool, because it adds the benefit of an extra layer of richness that you wouldn't ordinarily get from straight goat or camel hair. When you are trying to decide on which style is right for you, you can’t go wrong with 100 percent goat hair. Just make sure that you read what some past users have to say about how it is manufactured. Just because it is listed as 100 percent goat hair doesn’t mean that it is going to have superb quality. Sometimes these textiles can lose a little bit of magic if they are improperly processed, or if they sport a loose knit. For these options, the tighter the knit means a warmer and higher quality product.

Style

We wanted to pick options that had a lot of color and patterns choices.

Of course, style is something that we considered. These garments can often be the accent of color needed to brighten up a dreary winter day, so we wanted to seek out companies that offered a lot of different colors and design choices. For the most part, companies landed on solid neutral colors such as blacks, whites, and grays, and also filled the entire color spectrum with interesting and innovative plaid color combinations. Selecting brands that had a lot of different color options that would work for pretty much any style was one of the very first things that we considered next to materials. We also wanted to be sure that we appeased both groups of users that preferred tassels at the end, and those that did not.

Value

Keeping costs low while still selecting high quality products was an important aspect.

There are other products out there on the market that might rival the cost of what you paid for your kitchen stove. So, why the big difference in price? From what we could gather, it depends on the type of textile that is gathered. Lower end options often user camel hair for their designs- which is just as lightweight, soft, and warm as goat hair, with one simple difference: it can be a little itchy. While we did select some brands that used camel hair, we also wanted to include some premium options that may cost quite a bit more, but were far from being the most expensive options out there on the market, such as the Citizen options that uses hand combed Mongolian goat hair, but comes in at a price tag that is slightly lower than other premium options.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Goat or Camel?

We wanted to take a moment to explain the difference between goat hair and camel hair. Camel's hair is a more affordable option that typically makes a design a little more affordable because camel hair is less rare than goat hair. The downside to this option is that some users find it to be just a tad itchy, but it is still considered as warm and soft as its goat counterpart.

Cold Water

While handwashing your scarf is best, make sure that you always wash it in cold water. Not only is this ideal for maintaining the color of the scarf but it will keep your scarf just as amazing as when you purchased it. Hot water, on the other hand, will shrink cashmere. Additionally, if for any reason, you put your cashmere scarf in the dryer, it will shed tremendously. It is best to airdry the scarf.

Other Factors to Consider

Fit

We wanted to make sure that we selected items that were able to be worn in a myriad of ways. Not everyone is going to be using these items for the same purpose. While some might want something big and bulky to add color and warmth to their favorite ski jacket and jeans, others might want something a little slimmer and understated to wear with a suit jacket to a conference or a job interview. For women, some prefer the longer and wider options that can be used to wear traditionally around the neck, or that can be draped over the shoulders to wear on warmer early spring or late fall days where they just need a little something extra on their arms. We wanted to make sure that we primality stuck to options that were unisex so that they could be worn by both men and women. That meant that the fit had to be a little bit more versatile than others that were made simply for men or for women. The more fit options that were offered for users, the better.

Size

Size was something that was pretty important because no one likes the idea of scarf that isn’t long enough and keeps slipping off of your shoulders. That’s why one of the more important features that we considered was whether they were long enough. From what we could gather, the standard length for most options out there on the market were about 65 inches, so we made sure never to select anything shorter than that. However, that didn’t stop us from selecting designs that were over 65 inches. Some users actually prefer the longer designs because it means that they can wrap them around their neck a couple of times while still maintaining a good deal of length in the front. Another thing that we also considered was the width. The average width of standard designs was about 11.5-12 inches, which is perfect for adult covering your neck and jaw. Shawl designs were typically a lot thicker- about 20 inches on average- and are made to fully cover the neck as well as the lower part of the face, and also can be draped over the shoulders as a shawl.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why is this material so popular?

a:

There are a few reasons why this type of fabric is so popular. The first reason can be answered simply by feeling the material. This type of knit goat hair is incredibly soft to the touch, and it feels like a bulkier silk. While it is incredibly soft and lightweight, what makes it perfect for use in the wintertime is because it is also significantly warmer than traditional textiles such as cotton or polyester. The special breed of goat that produces this product is only found in certain cold climate areas of the world, making it a textile that is rarer and more special than other wools, which is why it often comes at a much higher price point.

q: Is it easy to clean?

a:

We are going to be blunt- these are not easy to clean. For most, they are only able to be dry cleaned, but there are some designs out there on the market that will allow users to wash them at home, but only if they follow very precise instructions. To clean them at home, users have to make sure that the water that they are using in not hotter than 85 degrees fahrenheit, or they may run the risk of damaging the fabric. Many suggest using processional detergent, or a very gentle brand. Soak your unit for no more than 10 minutes, using your fingers to gently work out any stubborn stains. When you are finished, leave your design in a shaded but well ventilated area to dry. We feel, however, that these products can be terribly expensive, and it may not be worth the risk washing them at home. Our suggestion is that when you head to the dry cleans in the spring to wash all of your winter gear, simply bring your scarf along with you to be cleaned by the professionals.

q: Can I wear it in the rain?

a:

Yes, you can wear them outside in the rain. Getting them wet will have no negative effect on the fabric, as long as you make sure to take care of it once you are inside. If you hang your design up while it is still wet, you run the risk of stretching out the fabric and it make become misshapen. To ensure that it holds its shape, be sure to lie in on a dry, flat surface away from sunlight and heat to ensure that it dries properly and it continues to look good as new.

q: Where should I store it in the off season?

a:

Don’t worry, there isn’t any arduous rules in storing your gear, just be sure that you practice a little common sense. Users typically keep their goat hair apparel tucked neatly into a drawer that is free from dust and sunlight. If you really want to go the extra mile to ensure the integrity of your gear in the off season, some users like to place their garments into a breathable plastic container, and place it in a cool, dry place. It is important that the plastic bag that you select is breathable, because existing moisture that may already be present on your garment might create a moldy environment for bacteria to thrive when locked up in an airtight container for months at a time.

q: Does it pill easily?

a:

If you buy one of the more affordable options, or one of the expensive designs- they all share one thing in common: they will pill. So, how to you keep your design from looking like new? You may not like the sounds of this, but most users suggesting snipping off those annoying little balls one at a time. Often, when users try and employ handy little gadgets to remove pills, they often end up damaging the integrity of the fabric. Typically, users will just use their fingers to pick off the little balls, or employ the use of scissors to make it a little easier on their hands. We suggest curling up on the sofa after an end of a long day, putting on a classic movie and getting to work at de-pilling your outdoor gear when the time comes that it needs it!

q: Will it actually keep you warm?

a:

It makes sense that the thicker articles of clothing are typically warmer, and because thicker layer mean there is a bigger distance between your skin and the frigid air. This textile is known for being lightweight and soft, but does it serve any practical and functional purpose? It may be thin and lightweight, but many experts claim that this material (when tightly knit and properly manufactured) can actually be an astounding 8 times warmer than that thick and traditional wool. While it may be a bit of a pain in the neck to care for, the benefits of this lightweight and unbelievably warm material might well be worth the added expense and extra effort in our option.

Sources

  1. Tara Summerville, Best Cashmere Scarf, Buyer Guide
  2. Wikipedia, Cashmere wool, Free encyclopedia entry
  3. AISHA HARRIS, Why Is Cashmere More Expensive Than Other Kinds of Wool?, Luxury Explainer