to top 10 table

Best Car Air Fresheners

last updated Jul 01, 2019

Who would not appreciate a nice smelling car? I just love the fresh, crisp scent that greets you when you open a car door and it smells fresh inside - a freshness that ensures, even over long rides. For those of us who use our car a lot, especially when it comes to transporting kids and pets, a not-so-fresh smell is something that can happen - but that doesn't mean we can't combat it. This is where car air fresheners come in. There are so many scents and types to choose from that it can be hard to know which one to choose. We have done the work for you and researched the best available on the market and reviewed our top picks below. Read on to freshen up your whip!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 14 hrs of research

icon
Anzazo
97.8/100 our score
Effectiveness
98
Potency
98
Size
98
Use
97
Anzazo
Why is it better?

The design is the number one selling point

It is natural and does not use chemicals

It is small and not distracting

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Anzazo
Test Winner: Anzazo
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
13
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
2.1k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
14
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Brian Price
By Brian Price:

This buying guide for car air fresheners has been put together to show you the best researched and reviewed products to help your car smell nice. A great air freshener to keep your eye on is the Arotags. We love this air freshener because it has a stylish wooden diffuser and l comes with a bottle of essential oil.

Sorting Options
Effectiveness Potency Size Use By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Effectiveness
98 %
Potency
98 %
Size
98 %
Use
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$33.30
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Effectiveness
97 %
Potency
96 %
Size
96 %
Use
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$22.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Effectiveness
95 %
Potency
94 %
Size
94 %
Use
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Effectiveness
93 %
Potency
92 %
Size
92 %
Use
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$6.47
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.5
Effectiveness
91 %
Potency
91 %
Size
90 %
Use
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$14.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.5
Effectiveness
90 %
Potency
90 %
Size
89 %
Use
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$21.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Effectiveness
88 %
Potency
87 %
Size
87 %
Use
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$19.45
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Effectiveness
85 %
Potency
84 %
Size
84 %
Use
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$10.90
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.5
Effectiveness
81 %
Potency
80 %
Size
79 %
Use
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$12.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.5
Effectiveness
79 %
Potency
78 %
Size
78 %
Use
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$12.12

10 Best Car Air Fresheners

1. Anzazo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Anzazo
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
98
Potency
98
Size
98
Use
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.30
Pros:

The design is the number one selling point

It is natural and does not use chemicals

It is small and not distracting

Cons:

It is expensive and the essential oil is sold separately

This product is the right choice for people who are concerned about chemicals and synthetic materials, this oil diffuser uses waterless diffusion technology using an essential oil that is good for aromatherapy.

Read more

Brand
This item is made by Anzazo.llc. A brand that is known to produce toy binoculars for kids.

Effectiveness
It is very effective in freshening your car because it uses essential oils that not only keeps your car smelling clean and fresh but also serves as aromatherapy; You can choose your own aromatherapy oil to help you to relax and relieve stress. A few drops can last for days.

Potency
It is very potent, you actually need just a few drops of the essential oil every couple of days. The pad is dense enough to keep the scent and diffuse it for a long period of time.

Size
The dimension is 1.5 x1.5 inches. It is designed to conveniently fit your dashboard using a sturdy magnet to attach it anywhere it’s convenient.

Use
It is designed for cars to keep it smelling fresh and clean using natural essential oils.

Weight
It is very lightweight with only 0.96 ounces so you don’t have to worry about it falling off because of its weight.

Materials
It is very important to look into the materials used for this item. The diffuser is made from jewelry-grade stainless steel so you have a very elegant looking locket. It also comes with diffusing pads that are thick and absorbs all the oil so you won’t have to worry about staining your dashboard.

2. Arotags

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Arotags
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
97
Potency
96
Size
96
Use
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.00
Pros:

The wooden diffuser looks very attractive

When you purchase it, it comes with a bottle of essential oil

It is very economical

Cons:

You can’t use the wooden diffuser for other scents

This is another one of those diffusers that are really economical and effective. It is made of 100% natural oils with no chemicals added to keep your car smelling fresh for a very long time!

Read more

Brand
This is 100% made in the USA by Arotags.

Effectiveness
Its pure essential oil has a long-lasting fragrance the keeps your car smelling crisp and clean for a very long time. Just a few drops will last you at least a week.

Potency
The essential oil is very potent that a few drops will keep your car smelling fresh for weeks. One bottle actually lasts you a year.

Size
It has a dimension of 4.6 x 2.4 x 3.4 inches so it’s unobtrusive even if you hand it in your rearview mirror.

Use
It is basically used for cars to eliminate odors and keep your car smelling fresh. You put the wooden pad in plastic and soak it in essential oil so it can absorb all the oil and then hang it in your car.

Weight
It weighs only 5.4 ounces.

Materials
This is made from natural materials that are environment-friendly. Firstly, the diffuser is made of wood that you can re-use and the essential oils are made from natural ingredients. It has no trace of phthalates, so it’s very safe to use.

3. Purggo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Purggo
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
95
Potency
94
Size
94
Use
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Environmentally friendly

Effective in eliminating bad odor and keeps your car smelling fresh

Very economical

Freshens your car naturally

Cons:

It is unscented

The size is an issue for some

This product is made from 100% activated bamboo charcoal. So, another one of our favorite because it is very friendly to our environment. This means it does not contain substances that can be harmful to the environment.

Read more

Brand
Designed and manufactured by Purggo.

Effectiveness
It is made of 100% activated bamboo charcoal so it is tested to be effective in eliminating bad odor.

Potency
The active charcoal is very effective in eliminating bad odors and it continues to purify the air. With continued use, you can be sure your car is left smelling clean all the time.

Size
It has a dimension of 13.6 x 5.3 x 1.6 inches. It’s a tad bigger than most air fresheners.

Use
It is an effective air freshener and it also helps eliminate bad odors and absorbs moisture.

Weight
It weighs 12.8 ounces.

Materials
This product is made from 100% activated bamboo charcoal and what it does is, the charcoal absorbs all the bad odor and excess moisture so your car smell clean and fresh. It is environment-friendly because it’s made from 100 % natural bamboo charcoal.

4. Meguiar’s

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Meguiar’s
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
93
Potency
92
Size
92
Use
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$6.47
Pros:

It is very effective you only have to use it once

Potent and will last for a long time so it's economical

You can choose from a lot of scents

Cons:

It may be too much for small cars

You have to carefully follow instructions when refreshing your car to make it really effective

This is a very effective product because it refreshes your car and eliminates odor on a molecular level. It removes the smell of cigarette smoke, sweat from work-out gear, food left-over, etc.

Read more

Brand
This product is made by Meguiar’s

Effectiveness
How it works is that the mist that eliminates odor will move through the vents and ducts of your car while the fan is turned on the full speed. This way it flushes out the unwanted smell and after a while, your car smells like brand new!

Potency
The odor eliminating mist is very effective in eliminating odor and keeps it that way.

Size
This brand has a dimension of 6.5 x 6.3 x 9.3 inches.

Use
It is used to remove bad odors in your car from pets, food left over, molds, cigarette smoke, and even sweat by connecting it to the air ducts and purifying the air that circulates in your car while flushing out the bad odor.

Weight
It weighs 2.4 pounds.

Materials
This item is an aerosol mist that effectively removes bad odor. It is quite simple to use and what makes it effective is that the mist goes through all nook and cranny of your car and flushes out the foul smell. Leaving your car smelling like new.

5. California Home Goods

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.5
California Home Goods
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
91
Potency
91
Size
90
Use
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.95
Pros:

It has no chemical ingredients

It is sold in 6 packs so you can use it for your homes as well

Safe for pets

It is hypoallergenic

Cons:

It is unscented

It does not work as fast with very strong odors

This product is another effective air freshener that does not only gives out a fresh, clean scent but also purifies the air by eliminating odor through its active carbon bamboo charcoal.

Read more

Brand
This product is made by California Home Goods.

Effectiveness
It is highly effective due to its specialized formula of active carbon in bamboo charcoal. The carbon eliminates the foul smell continuously.

Potency
It acts a moisture absorber and cleans the air by trapping them and absorbing moisture that causes molds and mildew formation.

Size
It has a dimension of 13.1x 8.6 x 3.3 inches.

Use
This deodorizing bag is used for eliminating bad odor for homes, refrigerators, cars and even bags and shoes. Just hang it wherever you want to purify the air.

Weight
It weighs 2.7 pounds.

Materials
This item has an especially formulated carbon activated charcoal that is effective yet safe and environmentally friendly.

6. Moso

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.5
Moso
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
90
Potency
90
Size
89
Use
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$21.99
Pros:

Safe to use and will not cause or trigger allergies.

It is 100% natural

Nice packaging

Cons:

It has no scent

This item is another natural air purifier that uses bamboo charcoal to absorb foul odor from your homes, car and even pet areas. It is non-toxic making it safe for everyone including your beloved pets.

Read more

Brand
This item is made by Moso Natural.

Effectiveness
It is very effective in eliminating bad odor because it absorbs excess moisture that becomes the breeding ground of molds and bacteria.

Potency
The bamboo charcoal is the active component in eliminating bad odor and it continues to purify for a long time.

Size
The product has a dimension of 6.5 x 1.5 x 6 inches.

Use
This product is used for purifying the air in your homes, pet area and cars.

Weight
It weighs 1.76 pounds.

Materials
It is made from natural ingredients of bamboo charcoal that absorbs and removes bad odor. It is an environmentally friendly alternative to chemical sprays that are harmful to humans and pets.

7. DollarScent

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
DollarScent
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
88
Potency
87
Size
87
Use
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.45
Pros:

There are a lot of scents to choose from

Comes in large packs

It is inexpensive so you can buy different scents at one time

Cons:

There are complains that it does not really last as long as they have promised

This air freshener is made from all natural materials which make it eco-friendly. It is a proud USA product that is both effective and looks fashionable at the same time.

Read more

Brand
This item is manufactured by DollarScent and 100% made in the USA.

Effectiveness
The product has a spicy and rich aroma that keeps your car smelling crisp and clean. To achieve better results, you can use more than one especially if you have a largely spaced car.

Potency
The vanilla scent and spicy aroma unleash vanillin and piperonal to continuously freshen the smell of your car. It gives a sweet and mild scent that will freshen up your ride.

Size
It has a dimension of 8.27 x 2.36 x 2.36 inches,

Use
The product is used to eliminate bad odors in your car and keeps it smelling fresh. You can easily hang it in your rearview mirror or place it under the seat.

Weight
It is lightweight in just 1.6 ounces. You can hang it from any place in the car without any fuzz.

Materials
This item is made from natural materials and makes little impact on our environment. The fact that it is environment-friendly is already a huge plus.

8. Air Spencer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Air Spencer
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
85
Potency
84
Size
84
Use
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.90
Pros:

It has a unique scent that effectively keeps bad odor at bay

It is very convenient to install

Very affordable

Cons:

Only comes in one scent

Air Spencer Cs-X3
This product is definitely one that tops the scent category. The squash scent is an all-time favorite for so many years.

Read more

Brand
It is manufactured by Air Spencer and made in Japan.

Effectiveness
The unique scent of squash is what makes this effective. It leaves a sweet fruity scent in your car and keeps it smelling fresh.

Potency
The scent is very potent that it leaves your car smelling fresh for a long time. Although it is best to be placed away from direct sunlight.

Size
The product has a dimension of 2.5 x 4.5 x 0.8 inches so it is quite easy to use.

Use
The item is used to keep the car smelling fresh and clean, you just have to place on your dashboard to spread the scent. It comes with double-sided tape to keep it in place

Weight
It only weighs 7 ounces so it will not fall off easily once mounted.

Materials
This item is made from sweet-smelling squash that gives off a very sweet natural scent. It comes with a double-sided tape that you can use to mount it on your dashboard.

9. Royaroma

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.5
Royaroma
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
81
Potency
80
Size
79
Use
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.99
Pros:

Looks very elegant

Comes with 2 extra felt pads that I can use if I want to use other scents

Lightweight but very effective

Cons:

It is more expensive because you have to buy a separate essential oil

This item does not just freshen your car but also gives out a relaxing effect that relieves stress. It is also uniquely designed to make it look appealing. It is designed to look good in your car or your office table while giving off its fresh and aromatic scent.

Read more

Brand
It is made RoyAroma.

Effectiveness
The product is very effective in keeping the car fresh and because it is made of essential oils, it doubles as an air freshener for your office or room as well. And, it also serves as aromatherapy which makes it very versatile. It can help you relax because of the therapeutic scent.

Potency
The essential oil is easily absorbed by the felt pads so that even with a few drops of oil, the scent will last a very long time.

Size
It has a dimension of 1.6 x 1.2 x 0.3 inches that fits into your vents easily.

Use
It is used to freshen your car and doubles as a form of aromatherapy. You just put 2 to 3 drops of essential oil and you are ready to go. No need to refill often because it can last for weeks.

Weight
It weighs 1.92 ounces so you don’t have to worry about breaking your vents.

Materials
This product made use of high-grade materials such as 3.16L stainless steel and thick felt pads for the essential oil. The overall appearance makes it look elegant.

10. Little Trees Black Ice

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.5
Little Trees Black Ice
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
79
Potency
78
Size
78
Use
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.12
Pros:

Can last for a couple of weeks

Comes in packs

Inexpensive

Cons:

It can’t be used as a deodorizer.

This item is your classic pine shaped car freshener that is very effective in keeping cars smelling fresh. It has been around for decades and continues to be a favorite of so many consumers.

Read more

Brand
This product is made by Car Freshener.

Effectiveness
This iconic air freshener has been around for a while now because it really does the job for a very cheap price. And, because one pack comes with 6 trees, you can afford to put more than one in your car and keep it smelling fresh.

Potency
Once you open the plastic wrap, you will immediately smell the crisp clean scent in your car and it stays that way for a long time as long as you do not place it directly under the heat of the sun.

Size
It has a dimension of 8 x 3 x 1 inches, so it’s very safe to hang in your rearview mirror.

Use
It is used to clear the air from the foul and moldy smell. You simply open one packaging and hang it on your rearview mirror or for better results don’t use just one, open one more and place it under the seat.

Weight
It weighs 2.24 ounces only.

Materials
This product offers a wide variety of scents on hard felt. It has no chemical components that are harmful to humans. It has been around for a while now and is quite common anywhere you go because although you have to change it frequently and use more than one to get the effect you want, it is very cheap so it’s easy on your pocket.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Effectiveness

In this criterion again, we will have to be very careful and patient because all products will promise good results and, in this case, all brands will promise the same thing to their consumers.

And we have tested and tried each and every one of these items to check which ones are truly effective and which ones are just good for a few days. Because not all air fresheners are just for scent purposes, we also have to see for ourselves if they can really deodorize, sanitize and keep away the bad odor. This is the only way to find out, we are saving you the hassle of buying one after the other until you find your perfect fit.

Potency

These fresheners make use of different essential oils to give out a certain scent as well as include some chemical or even natural ingredients to deodorize your car and keep it from smelling like garbage.

Some products promise a 100% content of certain ingredients for better results but some, unfortunately, are not as potent at the others. This is an important criterion because the ingredients are what makes it effective.

Size

You might think it’s overboard to factor in health, after all, it’s just a simple air freshener to keep your car smelling fresh and clean but It is also a big factor because some people are allergic to certain scents and ingredients.

Inhalation alone could be fatal. This is why some people are very careful with the contents of their fresheners because it can lead to a serious outcome. Still, there are others who often have a negative reaction towards certain scents, such as dizziness and nausea. Traveling in these conditions can be fatal, especially if you are driving. What’s even more serious is if you are not careful with these things and you or your passenger is not aware that you have an allergy or weird reaction to certain scents and you happen to use one while on the road with no immediate help available. So, it’s only logical to be meticulous about these small details.

Use

There are a variety of different reasons why people buy air fresheners for their cars. This is where the need comes in. While some just simply want a scent in the car to keep it smelling fresh and clean, some people have more complicated reasons for buying one. There are people who are pet lovers and their pets always go with them for a drive around town; pets can be very sensitive to scents too, so in this case, the pet owner can’t buy just any air freshener. It has to be something safe and appealing to their pets and at the same time, effectively eliminate the smell that pets leave behind. And because they have pets, they need a product that does not only freshen the car but also sanitizes it so that other passengers who are not as crazy about pets will also feel comfortable.

Still, some others carry not just people in their cars but use their vehicle for delivery of different goods that may leave some odor behind; so, they need to deodorize their car as well in order to prevent certain odors from settling in. I

Other people live a very active lifestyle, they are into sports and other physical activities and getting in your car with sweaty clothes and shoes can leave some odor behind. Over time this can stick to your car and passenger swho don’t usually ride with you will definitely notice.

While all these things make a lot of sense and are truly important, we on the other have our own criteria in evaluating the items we have listed as our best choice. We understand that people have different needs and preferences so we want to be very careful with our recommendations. We would like to make it really easy for you to pick out your next air freshener and just enjoy riding in a fresh and odor free car. To ensure that we only choose the best here are our criteria for evaluation;

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Potency
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Santize your car

Some of these items offer more than just simply freshening your car, they also promise to sanitize your car, take away the bad odor due to food, cigarette smoke, traffic congestion and everything else that can make your car stink over time.

Weight and size

These items will go to your dashboard or under your rear-view mirror and the size can be distracting if they are too big, not to mention the issue of weight. Size can also be deceiving at times - some packages are small but very potent while others come in larger packages but not as effective.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are these air fresheners safe for pets?

a:

A lot of these products are certified safe for pets and even babies. Be careful of the ones made of essential oils, as some of these are toxic to young children and pets.

q: Will a car air freshener be enough to keep my car smelling fresh all of the time?

a:

Of course, car fresheners will keep your car smelling fresh but there are other things that make your car develop a bad odor. You have to make sure that you clean your car on a regular basis. You also have to put trash and garbage inside the car to keep it from contaminating your car, especially food leftovers. Driving around with your windows open also helps to freshen your car. Air freshener will be a lot of help but you can also have a scented candle and coffee bean handy to help with very strong odors

q: I am very particular about the products that I use and I support environmentally friendly products. I have read that you can reuse and recharge charcoal. How does it work?

a:

The charcoal is a porous material that acts like a sponge; it absorbs excess moisture and bad odor. The excess moisture is the source of molds and bacteria. The presence of charcoal will keep your car clean and dry. You can reactivate the charcoal by placing it under the sun for at least one hour. This will dry up the charcoal and re-activate it again. Do this every month and your purifying bag will last you for more than 2 years, After the lifespan of your charcoal bag, instead of throwing it away, you can dump the charcoal into your garden to neutralize the soil. The materials used for the bag is also biodegradable so it’s very environment-friendly.

q: How can I get the best value for my money?

a:

We all want to get the best bang for our buck. In this case, because the investment is relatively small, the difference in price between the least and most expensive is not huge. The best advice we can give here is to check customer reviews for a few different products before you buy. Some brands offer a really nice deal for a for a reasonable price and there are others that are more expensive (or cheaper) with the same level of effectiveness.

Sources

  1. Scott Webb, Top 10 Best Car Air Fresheners of 2018,
  2. https://www.carbibles.com/best-car-air-fresheners/, Best Rated Car Air Freshener in 2018,