to top 10 table

Best Canopy Tents

last updated Apr 06, 2019

With warmer weather quickly approaching, everyone’s focus begins to slowly shift from winter mode to summer mode. Visions of farmers markets, garage sales, camping and trips begin to fill our heads. With so many fun events and activities to check off of our summer bucket lists, sun safety can often fall to the way side. This is why we felt it was important to provide our readers with a list of the best canopy tents on the market today. These products will not only help to give you shelter from the sun, but will provide protection in the event of an unexpected summer rainfall, too. The canopy tent market can be rather saturated which is why we did the dirty work and found you all of the information you need to know prior to making your purchase. Let’s dive into the world of these specialized tents!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 4 hrs of research

icon
ABCCANOPY Pop-Up
98/100 our score
Size
94
Materials
99
Features
97
Portability
100
Water Resistance
100
ABCCANOPY Pop-Up
Why is it better?

1-year factory warranty

Many different color options to choose from

Serves many different purposes (sunshade, farmers markets, weddings)

Carrying bag is heavy-duty

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
ABCCANOPY Pop-Up
Test Winner: ABCCANOPY Pop-Up
Amazon Link
Sorting Options
Size Materials Features Portability Water Resistance By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Size
94 %
Materials
99 %
Features
97 %
Portability
100 %
Water Resistance
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$139.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Size
94 %
Materials
98 %
Features
97 %
Portability
98 %
Water Resistance
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$249.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Size
94 %
Materials
96 %
Features
95 %
Portability
99 %
Water Resistance
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$62.49
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Size
94 %
Materials
95 %
Features
97 %
Portability
92 %
Water Resistance
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$139.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Size
93 %
Materials
94 %
Features
92 %
Portability
97 %
Water Resistance
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$137.49
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Size
90 %
Materials
97 %
Features
91 %
Portability
95 %
Water Resistance
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$75.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Size
89 %
Materials
90 %
Features
92 %
Portability
95 %
Water Resistance
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$64.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Size
94 %
Materials
90 %
Features
89 %
Portability
87 %
Water Resistance
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$181.99
Cabelas
$229.99
See Deal
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Size
98 %
Materials
86 %
Features
89 %
Portability
80 %
Water Resistance
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$159.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
Size
80 %
Materials
83 %
Features
85 %
Portability
80 %
Water Resistance
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.06.19)
Amazon Link
$83.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • ABCCANOPY Pop-Up ABCCANOPY Pop-Up
  • Eurmax Ez Pop-Up Eurmax Ez Pop-Up
  • Z-Shade Z-Shade
  • Quictent Privacy Quictent Privacy
  • Core Pop-Up Core Pop-Up
  • Coleman Instant Coleman Instant
  • Oileus Oileus
  • Quik Shade™ Summit SX170 Quik Shade™ Summit SX170
  • Caravan Canopy Caravan Canopy
  • FDW FDW
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. ABCCANOPY Pop-Up

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
ABCCANOPY Pop-Up
Amazon Link
Size
94
Materials
99
Features
97
Portability
100
Water Resistance
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$139.95
Pros:

1-year factory warranty

Many different color options to choose from

Serves many different purposes (sunshade, farmers markets, weddings)

Carrying bag is heavy-duty

Cons:

May be difficult to set up alone

This pop-up style canopy took the number one spot on our list for a number of reasons. First, of it, it’s available in over thirty different colors which will come in handy if you’re buying a tent to try and fit your décor (think weddings). It’s very durable and has been widely praised for its quality and features. Let’s look a bit closer.

Read more

Size
This product provides 10 ft by 10 ft of protection and shade. It’s rated to cover up to 4 tables, 3 beach chairs and 10 points all at the same time. It weighs around 50 pounds and fits into a bag that is 66-inches long and 9-inches wide for easy carrying.

Materials
The ABCCANOPY is made of a heavy-duty material that has silver-coated polyurethane. The inside corners have been reinforced so they will provide a longer lifespan for this product.

Features
One of the best things about this product is that it sets up in seconds because of its pop-up design.

Portability
The product comes with a heavy-duty roller bag that will glide smoothly across most surfaces. The wheels are sturdy and well-made ensuring no frustration when you’re trying to wheel this from point A to point B. The bag has a rubber handle which will help to make transporting it even more comfortable.

Weather Resistance
The aforementioned polyurethane coated material makes this canopy not only 100% waterproof but able to provide UV protection of 50+ from the sun’s rays. The canopy attaches to the legs with a heavy-duty Velcro so you won’t have problems with the canopy blowing away on windy days.

2. Eurmax Ez Pop-Up

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Eurmax Ez Pop-Up
Amazon Link
Size
94
Materials
98
Features
97
Portability
98
Water Resistance
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$249.95
Pros:

Stable construction

Can withstand a lot of inclement weather

Easy to set up and take down

Affordable price tag

Durable

Cons:

Some reviewers mentioned the panels flap in the wind which can be annoying

This 3-walled option from Eurmax took the number two spot on our list because it provides consumers with a number of really great features. It’s available in nearly 30 different color and design options. Whether you’re looking for something in a deep purple, black, or bright yellow, or a tent with solid wall colors but a striped roof, Eurmax has you covered.

Read more

Size
The frame of this product is 10 feet by 10 feet. It weighs 68 pounds.

Materials
This tent is made from a durable 1680D polyester fabric that has been given a PVC coating to ensure the tent and all of its seams are waterproof.

Features
This tent is very easy to set up. The walls all attach individually so if you find yourself ever in need of a two walled tent, Eurmax has you covered. The best part is you need absolutely no tools at all to set up or take down the tent.

Portability
The case for this product is equipped with three heavy-duty X-stitched handles that help to make the tent even easier to tote around. The bag has large sturdy wheels that are able to resist any possible corrosion, further adding to the longevity of this tent.

Weather Resistance
As we’ve already mentioned, this option is completely waterproof. Even the seams are sealed so as to ensure no water will leak through. It provides protection from 99% of UV rays and is UPF50+ rated.

3. Z-Shade

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Z-Shade
Amazon Link
Size
94
Materials
96
Features
95
Portability
99
Water Resistance
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$62.49
Pros:

Sturdy

Easy to set up

Great way to provide shade at the beach or while camping

Affordable price tag

Cons:

Material may not be the strongest or most waterproof

This shelter from Z-Shade comes in six different color options – black, dark blue, navy, red, white and light blue. It doesn’t have walls like some of the other shades on our list, but it still is a product that is worthy of your consideration. Let’s see why.

Read more

Size
Just as with the other shelters on our list so far, the Z-Shade is 10 x 10 feet in size. It is designed to provide 64 square feet of protection. The weight of this shade is just 27.6 pounds, making it the lightest option (by far) in our buying guide so far.

Materials
This shade is made from a rust-resistant steel material. The steel is powder-coated to provide further durability and longevity. The canopy portion is made of 190D taffeta.

Features
The legs of this shade have an angled design which is meant to provide more stability.

Portability
This product does come with a carrying bag to make toting it around a breeze. As we mentioned already, this shade is very lightweight so it’ll be quite easy to carry around with you even if the bag has no wheels.

Weather Resistance
The Z-Shade does provide UV protection, just how much we were unable to determine.

4. Quictent Privacy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Quictent Privacy
Amazon Link
Size
94
Materials
95
Features
97
Portability
92
Water Resistance
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$139.99
Pros:

Sturdy frame

Quick release buttons mean no more pinched fingers

Height options

11 different color options

Cons:

Some concerns regarding quality control

This shelter from Quictent is a great option for campers who want a little extra privacy at their campsite this summer. It has two mesh windows on the sides to make sure things don’t get too stuffy inside the shelter.

Read more

Size
The Quictent is 10x10 feet. It weighs just 40 pounds, making it one of the lighter options on our list. One of the great things about this tent is that it has an adjustable height feature. You can choose from three different heights from 7.9’ to 8.5’ depending on your particular needs on any given day.

Materials
The frame of the Quictent is made from corrosion-resistant powder-coated steel and the fabric portion of the shade is 420D polyurethane coating.

Features
We really loved the fact that the frame of the Quictent has buttons on each leg that make folding and height adjustments a cinch. You don’t have to live in fear of getting your fingers pinched anymore. Thank you Quictent!

Portability
Because of its low weight, the Quictent is very easy to carry around with you. Couple this lightweight design with the convenient carrying bag and you’re set to have a tent toting experience that isn’t going to break your back.

Weather Resistance
Thanks to the fabrics polyurethane coating, this canopy has both waterproof capabilities and UP50+ protection from the sun. As mentioned above, the canopy also has mesh windows on the sides which will help to eliminate some humidity that may become a pain on a hot summer day.

5. Core Pop-Up

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Core Pop-Up
Amazon Link
Size
93
Materials
94
Features
92
Portability
97
Water Resistance
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$137.49
Pros:

Tall center height

Easy to tote around

Durable construction

Air vents help to ensure air circulation on hot days

Cons:

Tent is not waterproof

This shelter takes all of two minutes to set up but will provide you with a ton of protection and extra features. Let’s look deeper at what this tent from Core has to offer consumers.

Read more

Size
Just as the other tents on our list, this product is 10x10 feet in size. It provides 100 square feet of shade and weighs 43 pounds. The center has a height of 112 inches.

Materials
This shelter frame is made of steel in order to provide durability. The canopy itself is made from a high-quality 150D polyester material, further adding to the longevity of the tent.

Features
Pinch. Free. Buttons. Need we say more? One thing that is often a cause for frustration and, let’s be honest, aggression, when it comes to setting up things like canopy tents is the shock and betrayal that comes when you pinch your fingers as you’re trying to set it up. This tent is designed to prevent this from happening!

Portability
This tent comes with a heavy-duty wheeled carry bag for easy portability.

Weather Resistance
This shelter is designed to block up to 97% of UV rays from the sun. It is water-resistant (not waterproof) and consumers should find that the canopy and its seams repel water.

6. Coleman Instant

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Coleman Instant
Amazon Link
Size
90
Materials
97
Features
91
Portability
95
Water Resistance
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$75.99
Pros:

Super simple & fast set up

Great portability capabilities

1-year limited warranty

Vaulted ceiling

Cons:

Not waterproof

Is there a brand name that is better known in the world of tents than Coleman? We think not. Their Instant Canopy is certainly no exception to this rule, either. Let’s look a bit closer and see just what this reliable brand name has to offer in the world of canopy tents.

Read more

Size
This adorable canopy is quite a bit smaller than other options we have explored thus far. Measuring just 7-feet by 5-feet, this Coleman tent is a great choice for people who don’t need all the space that a 10x10 tent offers. It is able to provide users with 35 square feet of shelter in a product that weighs just 28 pounds.

Materials
The canopy is made using a durable 150D UVGuard material. It comes with steel stakes for use on softer ground and the welded steel feet help to make sure your tent stays sturdy on terrain like asphalt.

Features
In a hurry? This mini shelter has a 3-step installation process that only requires around 3 minutes of your time, total. Perfect for those people who hate fumbling around with complicated equipment for what feels like hours on end!

Portability
Thank goodness for the wheeled carrying bags of the world. Coleman knows that their customers love adventure and that portability of their products plays a big part in just how adventurous consumers can be on any given day. The included heavy-duty bag will surely help you get your mini tent from Point A to Point B quickly and efficiently.

Weather Resistance
The UVGuard material used in the construction of the canopy help this tent provide UPF 50+ protection from the sun. Consumers report this shelter stands up surprisingly well during bouts of strong winds. Some users reported water pooling on the canopy roof during a lot of rainfall, making this not the best option to take out if the weatherman is calling for rain.

7. Oileus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Oileus
Amazon Link
Size
89
Materials
90
Features
92
Portability
95
Water Resistance
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$64.99
Pros:

Compact size when folded up

Large size when set up

Comes with sandbags for anchoring on the beach

Blocks the sun well

Cons:

Only comes in one color

Now for something a little different. This option from Oileus is designed for use in the summer at the beach or lake to provide some shade for yourself and your family.

Read more

Size
Though it may not look like it at first glance, the Oileus is actually the biggest product on our list. It measures 16 feet by 16 feet, making it a perfect option for those of you who travel to the beach with a lot of gear (or a lot of kids). It conveniently folds down to be just 23x3x5 inches and weighs just six tiny little pounds.

Materials
This shade is made with 210T polyester fabric and it features a polyurethane coating.

Features
Calling all beach bums! This sun shade is perfect for use on the beach. It comes with three sandbags that will make it extra stable if the wind picks up a bit on the beach.

Portability
As we mentioned in our Size section, this product is extremely lightweight and tiny when folded up and put into its bag. This makes it the easiest option in our buying guide, at least when portability is concerned.

Weather Resistance
The fabric of this tent makes it water-resistant, but not waterproof. Oileus suggests not setting this tent up any day when high winds may be expected. Though they do suggest using the included sandbags (you get three of them) on days when the winds are stronger than 10 miles per hour.

8. Quik Shade™ Summit SX170

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Quik Shade™ Summit SX170
Amazon Link
Size
94
Materials
90
Features
89
Portability
87
Water Resistance
87
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$181.99
Cabelas
$229.99
See Deal
Pros:

Side shades can become great side canopies

Very durable construction

Provides a lot of protection from the sun

Easy to assemble and tear down

Cons:

Very heavy, can be difficult to transport unless you have muscles

May not be able to withstand a lot of wind

This snazzy little number from Quik Shade is a great investment for people who want a canopy that is at least somewhat adjustable. This option has half awnings that are adjustable to how you like them. The legs can be one of three different height options as well.

Read more

Size
This tent is the ol’ standard - 10-foot by 10-foot in size. It provides 170 square feet of total shade and protection. The peak height of this canopy is 10 feet, meanwhile, the eave height is 6’5”. The total weight is whopping 68 pounds, making this product an absolute beast.

Materials
Quik Shade outfitted the canopy with a polyester material with an Aluminex backing. The choice to use Aluminex helps make the canopy able to block 99% of the sun’s UV rays. The frame is made from a powder-coated steel material which will help to ensure the overall longevity of this canopy.

Features
Because Quik Shade used their Quik Latch technology you can expect this canopy to be easy to assemble. In fact, it’s so easy that it can be set up by just one person. The tent has push and pull sliders and push pin leg extenders so you can easily put it together and adjust the height as necessary.

Portability
Thankfully, this product comes with a roller bag. It is very heavy – 68 pounds – and it would be difficult to tote it around without the heavy-duty carrying bag.

Weather Resistance
Thanks to the decision to use Aluminex fabric, users should find that the Quik Shade Summit SX170 is able to provide a whopping 99% protection level from UV rays. It is just water-resistant (not waterproof), but because of its dual awning design, it does provide a lot of shade.

9. Caravan Canopy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Caravan Canopy
Amazon Link
Size
98
Materials
86
Features
89
Portability
80
Water Resistance
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$159.99
Pros:

1-year limited warranty

Can be MacGyver’ed into being more wind resistant

Affordable than other car ports on the market

Provides an ample amount of shade for parties

Cons:

May not be as effective as a permanent structure in areas with extreme weather

Not waterproof

Do you need something a little bigger than the standard 10x10 frames we’ve included on our list so far? Well, look no further than this big boy from Caravan Canopy. This rectangular tent is perfect for use in a number of different applications – vehicle protection, backyard parties, weddings, you name it.

Read more

Size
We felt it was only fair to include at least one canopy tent on our list that was bigger than the standard square 10x10. This option is a whopping 10 x 20 feet in size, making it a great option to use if you’re looking for an easy to set-up car port. It provides 200 square feet of protection and coverage in a 52-pound package. The tent, at its highest, is 103 inches. The interior peak is slightly shorter at 98 inches.

Materials
The frame of this canopy is made of steel to ensure durability. It utilizes a compression lock system for added stability and sturdiness. The canopy portion is made using a heat-sealed polyethylene material.

Features
This canopy has extra large footpads which help to provide a stable foundation. Because of its rectangular shape, this tent has six legs in total instead of the usual four.

Portability
This product is a lot less portable than the other options on our list. The reason for this is that it’s designed for use as a carport. It does not come with a carrying bag sadly.

Weather Resistance
The heat-sealed polyethylene material used on the canopy portion of this product has been UV-treated both inside and out. This treatment should help aid in the tent's ability to resist fading and premature aging. This is another water-resistant option. Reviews from current users lead us to believe that this tent is not able to withstand certain types of weather events very well such as heavy thunderstorms or snowfalls.

10. FDW

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
FDW
Amazon Link
Size
80
Materials
83
Features
85
Portability
80
Water Resistance
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$83.99
Pros:

Beautiful look

Assembly can be tackled solo once you know what you’re doing

Humongous size is perfect for larger sized parties

Windows are a nice touch

Cons:

May not be as weatherproof as other options on our list

If the Caravan Canopy is the Big Mama of all of the options on our list, this product from FDW is the Big Poppa. This canopy tent is perfect for anyone who wants to host a big party outdoors. But it provides far more benefits than just a shelter. Let’s take a closer look at just what it has to offer,

Read more

Size
FDW makes canopy tents in a few different sizes but the option we are looking at today is the biggest one that made the cut for our buying guide. This tent is a whopping 10 feet by 30 feet by 8.5 feet. This canopy is designed to hold up to fifty people, perfect for a small backyard wedding.

Materials
The frame of this canopy is made from powder-coated steel for durability. The connectors that hold the tent together are made of high-quality materials that ensure stability so your wedding or party guests aren’t going to have to hold down the tent in the event of a big gust of wind. The canopy portion is made of 100g polyethylene.

Features
Honestly, this is just a really nice-looking canopy that would be a great investment for folks who plan on having a lot of backyard bashes in the summertime. It has five side walls all equipped with elegant-looking windows.

Portability
Unfortunately, due to the size of this tent, there is no handy storage bag for toting it around. Though you can easily keep it in the box it came in so long as you’re able to MacGyver it back into the box when you’re done with it.

Weather Resistance
Though this tent is labeled as waterproof, the manufacturer does not recommend setting it up during times when you know there will be inclement weather. In fact, some reviews suggested that even during light rainfalls, the water pooled on top of the canopy and created a hazard.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Water Resistance

How well the shelter can stand up to wind and rain are important considerations to take into account.

When we’re looking at the weather resistance of the tents, we have a few different elements we’re judging the products on. First of all, is the tents ability to resist water. This was a big one. We wanted to make sure the products on our list are deemed waterproof in order to protect you and whatever it is you’re protecting under the canopy. The next weather event we took into account was the wind and how wind-proof the products were. Some options were limited in this regard due to the weight, design and stability level. Typically, beach style canopy tents are more likely to be able to resist wind as they manufacturers design them for use on beaches – where the wind can get out of hand quickly. Canopies that are more or less designed for commercial use, however, rely more on their overall weight in order to keep them stable and are meant to be used in situations where the weather won’t get out of control.

Size

You need to know the exact measurements in order to ensure the item is the right size for what you're using it for.

When we look at the size of these items, there are a few different measurements we should take into account. First of all, and perhaps the most obvious, is the actual physical size of the canopy. Most of the options on our list follow the standard 10x10 style. Another size concern you might want to do your research on is what the headspace is like inside of the tent. Some options have a limited height in the middle of the canopy simply due to the design of the frame. Other options have more of a peak in the center which will provide more space and headroom.

Materials

High-quality and durable materials are of utmost importance.

The canopy you choose will only be as strong as the materials used in its construction. The good news is that a lot of the canopy manufacturers on the market realize this, so you’re going to see a lot of the same types of materials used in making these shelters. The legs need to be strong enough to stand and provide a stable shelter. This typically means that manufacturers are going to use steel in the construction of the frame. Though steel tends to be quite heavy, it is a good choice for frame material as it’ll extend the lifespan of your tent. One thing you’ve probably already noticed is the overuse of the word ‘polyurethane’ in our review. This is a popular coating choice that will help provide protection from harsh weather elements and corrosion. When it comes to the canopy fabric, one you’re going to commonly see is polyester.

Portability

Carrying bag, roller bag, or neither? It's your choice

We’re not going to lie, some of these canopy tents are heavy. There are a lot of factors that play into the weight of the shelter – what material is used to make the frame, what the canopy is made from, how many walls it has, etc. If your plan is to be toting your tent around with you, you’re going to want to make sure the option you choose has a wheeled bag. The bags aren’t perfect but they certainly make transporting your canopy tent a lot easier.

Features

Different tents have different special features that set them apart.

Every canopy that you have read about in our buying guide provides consumers with unique features. Some have an easy set-up/tear down installation process. Some come with extra features like sandbags or wide legs to provide further stability. We really loved that some of the shelters had quick release buttons designed to save precious sensitive finger skin from getting pinched. You can rest assured, though, whichever tent you ultimately decide upon, if it has made our list, you will be happy with the features it provides.

expert tips icon
Be Realistic

Are you planning on purchasing a canopy tent that you can set up by yourself lickety split? Chances are this isn’t going to work out in your favor then. At least not at first. Many of the products on our list are capable of being set up by one person, but give yourself time to learn the ropes before you set out on tackling this task solo. Try setting it up a few times with a second person first, just so you can get a feel for what the process looks like.

Lifespan Expectations

There are a lot of factors that can contribute to the overall lifespan of your canopy tent. Some of these factors relate directly towards you as the owner. How often are you using it? How are you storing it? Are you cleaning it properly? Other factors relate to the conditions you are subjecting your tent to. What is the weather like when the tent is set up? Are you leaving it in the middle of storms to fend for itself? Do you let the sun beat down on it all day? If you properly take care of your tent, there is no reason why it shouldn’t last you for years and years of use.

Other Factors to Consider

Stability

How much stability your new shelter will provide should play a huge part in your decision-making process. This might be something you need to do a little more research on prior to making your decision. You can look at the design of the legs of the canopies to get an idea of how sturdy it is going to be when it’s set up. Also perusing through reviews from current users is a great way to gain an understanding of the overall sturdiness of the tent. You don’t want to purchase something that is going to buckle the moment a breeze touches it, especially if you’re using the tent to cover your loved ones or your hard work and handiwork at a craft show or farmer’s market.

Ease of Use

Many of the options on our list utilize a ‘pop-up’ style. Though it’s not as simple as the name would suggest, these styles of tents really are quite easy to set up. Many of the options are able to be set up by just one person, though the process would be faster with two. Some products may be more difficult to set up simply because of their size and weight. These are the ones that would be best set up with two people, at least at first until you get an idea of how to set it up if you decide to go at it solo.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What’s the difference between water-resistant and waterproof?

a:

There are three levels of protection that products are able to provide consumers. It’s important to familiarize yourself with the three levels so you know exactly what it is you’re spending your money on and how much protection it is going to provide you with.

First of all, products that are labeled ‘water-resistant’ will provide the least amount of protection. This typically means that the shelter is built in a way that makes it hard for water to get inside. Sometimes the canopy fabric will have a light coating that is supposed to help the tent survive any encounters with rain or water.

Leveling up a bit, tents labeled as ‘water-repelling’ are equipped with properties that are meant to repel water. These will have some kind of film on the canopy that will make it have a better chance at standing up to rain or water than other less protected options.

The third level of protection comes in the form of ‘waterproof’ products. There really is no current industry standard that manufacturers must abide by in order to have their products labeled as waterproof. It is also important to note that even though the items may be marked ‘waterproof’, this does not necessarily mean the product will remain waterproof indefinitely. As time passes, fabric materials change and eventually the tent that once was 100% waterproof may only end up being 80% or so.

q: How easy are these to set up and take down?

a:

Ultimately, this comes down to the specific product you have chosen to invest in. Some are easier to assemble and disassemble than others. Some products are able to be set up by just one person, while others will require much more of a time investment if just one person were to try and set it up. The more walls your canopy has, the longer it will take you to set it up. Generally speaking, you will not need any additional tools than what is provided in the canopy tent kit to set up your shelter.

q: What should I do if I have my canopy tent set up for the day and the weatherman is forecasting a storm?

a:

This may come down to which tent you have purchased, how well it rated in our Weather Resistance section of our review and what type of weather the meteorologist is calling for. Some options have better protection capabilities when it comes to water and windproofing. If your weatherman is predicting strong thunderstorms and you have a chance to take down your canopy, we highly recommend doing so in order to protect not only your investment, but your property as well. A tent that catches wind can do a lot of damage if it gets caught up in a storm.

q: How should I clean my new tent?

a:

If you notice the fabric of your canopy getting dirty, you can manually clean it. We recommend taking the tent apart first and laying a drop sheet down on the ground. The drop sheet will protect your canopy from catching on any sharp rocks or objects on the ground that could damage the fabric. Using warm soapy water, wash down the fabric of the canopy. If it is extra muddy, you can use a brush that has extra soft bristles to work out the dirt. Make sure you let it dry completely before you put it back into its carrying bag.