to top 10 table

Best Canopy Tents

last updated Nov 14, 2019

With warmer weather quickly approaching, everyone’s focus begins to slowly shift from winter mode to summer mode. Visions of farmer's markets, garage sales, camping, and trips begin to fill our heads. With so many fun events and activities to check off of our summer bucket lists, sun safety can often fall to the wayside. This is why we felt it was important to provide our readers with a list of the best canopy tents on the market today.

These products will not only help to give you shelter from the sun but will provide protection in the event of unexpected summer rainfall, too. This market can be rather saturated which is why we did the dirty work and found you all of the information you need to know prior to making your purchase. Let’s dive into the world of these specialized shelters!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
ABCCANOPY Pop-Up
98/100 our score
Size
94
Materials
99
Features
97
Portability
100
Weather Resistance
100
ABCCANOPY Pop-Up
Why is it better?

1-year factory warranty

Many different color options to choose from

Serves many different purposes (sunshade, farmers markets, weddings)

Carrying bag is heavy-duty

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
ABCCANOPY Pop-Up
Test Winner: ABCCANOPY Pop-Up
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
8
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
10k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
13
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Sami Kritz
By Sami Kritz:

Finding a shaded when the sun is blazing can seem impossible. Instead of hovering together underneath a small area, bring your own shade! Our newest additions include the Quick Set, Cool-Off, and Crown Shade. We have also added additional photos of each product to give you a better idea of how each canopy works.

Sorting Options
Size Materials Features Portability Weather Resistance By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Size
94 %
Materials
99 %
Features
97 %
Portability
100 %
Weather Resistance
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$159.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Size
94 %
Materials
98 %
Features
97 %
Portability
98 %
Weather Resistance
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$228.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Size
94 %
Materials
96 %
Features
95 %
Portability
99 %
Weather Resistance
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$69.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Size
94 %
Materials
95 %
Features
97 %
Portability
92 %
Weather Resistance
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$254.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Size
93 %
Materials
94 %
Features
92 %
Portability
97 %
Weather Resistance
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$137.49
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Size
90 %
Materials
97 %
Features
91 %
Portability
95 %
Weather Resistance
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$75.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Size
89 %
Materials
90 %
Features
92 %
Portability
95 %
Weather Resistance
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$59.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Size
94 %
Materials
87 %
Features
94 %
Portability
85 %
Weather Resistance
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Cabelas
$229.99
See Deal
Amazon Link
$575.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Size
98 %
Materials
86 %
Features
89 %
Portability
80 %
Weather Resistance
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$199.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
Size
80 %
Materials
80 %
Features
83 %
Portability
85 %
Weather Resistance
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$79.99

Top 10 Picks

1. ABCCANOPY Pop-Up

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
ABCCANOPY Pop-Up Canopy Tent
ABCCANOPY Pop-Up Canopy Tent
ABCCANOPY Pop-Up Canopy Tent
Amazon Link
Size
94
Materials
99
Features
97
Portability
100
Weather Resistance
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$159.95
Pros:

1-year factory warranty

Many different color options to choose from

Serves many different purposes (sunshade, farmers markets, weddings)

Carrying bag is heavy-duty

Cons:

May be difficult to set up alone

This pop-up style canopy tent took the number one spot on our list for a number of reasons. First, of it, it’s available in over thirty different colors which will come in handy if you’re buying a tent to try and fit your décor (think weddings). It’s very durable and has been widely praised for its quality and features. Let’s look a bit closer.

Read more

Size

This product provides 10 ft by 10 ft of protection and shade. It’s rated to cover up to 4 tables, 3 beach chairs and 10 points all at the same time. It weighs around 50 pounds and fits into a bag that is 66-inches long and 9-inches wide for easy carrying.

Materials

The ABCCANOPY is made of a heavy-duty material that has silver-coated polyurethane. The inside corners have been reinforced so they will provide a longer lifespan for this product.

Features

One of the best things about this product is that it sets up in seconds because of its pop-up design.

Portability

The product comes with a heavy-duty roller bag that will glide smoothly across most surfaces. The wheels are sturdy and well-made ensuring no frustration when you’re trying to wheel this from point A to point B. The bag has a rubber handle which will help to make transporting it even more comfortable.

Weather Resistance

The aforementioned polyurethane-coated material makes this canopy not only 100% waterproof but able to provide UV protection of 50+ from the sun’s rays. The canopy attaches to the legs with a heavy-duty Velcro so you won’t have problems with the canopy blowing away on windy days.

2. Eurmax Ez Pop-Up

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Eurmax Ez Pop-Up Canopy Tent
Eurmax Ez Pop-Up Canopy Tent
Eurmax Ez Pop-Up Canopy Tent
Amazon Link
Size
94
Materials
98
Features
97
Portability
98
Weather Resistance
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$228.95
Pros:

Stable construction

Can withstand a lot of inclement weather

Easy to set up and take down

Affordable price tag

Durable

Cons:

Some reviewers mentioned the panels flap in the wind which can be annoying

This 3-walled option from Eurmax took the number two spot on our list because it provides consumers with a number of really great features. It’s available in nearly 30 different color and design options. Whether you’re looking for something in a deep purple, black, or bright yellow, or a tent with solid wall colors but a striped roof, Eurmax has you covered.

Read more

Size

The frame of this product is 10 feet by 10 feet. It weighs 68 pounds.

Materials

This tent is made from a durable 1680D polyester fabric that has been given a PVC coating to ensure the tent and all of its seams are waterproof.

Features

This tent is very easy to set up. The walls all attach individually so if you find yourself ever in need of a two walled tent, Eurmax has you covered. The best part is you need absolutely no tools at all to set up or take down the tent.

Portability

The case for this product is equipped with three heavy-duty X-stitched handles that help to make the tent even easier to tote around. The bag has large sturdy wheels that are able to resist any possible corrosion, further adding to the longevity of this tent.

Weather Resistance

As we’ve already mentioned, this option is completely waterproof. Even the seams are sealed so as to ensure no water will leak through. It provides protection from 99% of UV rays and is UPF50+ rated.

3. Z-Shade

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Z-Shade Canopy Tent
Z-Shade Canopy Tent
Z-Shade Canopy Tent
Amazon Link
Size
94
Materials
96
Features
95
Portability
99
Weather Resistance
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.99
Pros:

Sturdy

Easy to set up

Great way to provide shade at the beach or while camping

Affordable price tag

Cons:

Material may not be the strongest or most waterproof

This shelter from Z-Shade comes in six different color options – black, dark blue, navy, red, white and light blue. It doesn’t have walls like some of the other shades on our list, but it still is a product that is worthy of your consideration. Let’s see why.

Read more

Size

Just as with the other shelters on our list so far, the Z-Shade is 10 x 10 feet in size. It is designed to provide 64 square feet of protection. The weight of this shade is just 27.6 pounds, making it the lightest option (by far) in our buying guide so far.

Materials

This shade is made from rust-resistant steel material. The steel is powder-coated to provide further durability and longevity. The canopy portion is made of 190D taffeta.

Features

The legs of this shade have an angled design which is meant to provide more stability.

Portability

This product does come with a carrying bag to make toting it around a breeze. As we mentioned already, this shade is very lightweight so it’ll be quite easy to carry around with you even if the bag has no wheels.

Weather Resistance

The Z-Shade does provide UV protection, just how much we were unable to determine.

4. Quick Set 9878 Escape Shelter

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Quick Set 9879 Escape Shelter Canopy Tent
Quick Set 9879 Escape Shelter Canopy Tent
Quick Set 9879 Escape Shelter Canopy Tent
Amazon Link
Size
94
Materials
95
Features
97
Portability
92
Weather Resistance
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$254.99
Pros:

Four color choices

Very easy set-up

Versatile

Included carrying bag

Cons:

Height is not adjustable

Iffy customer service

This versatile option is a great accessory to bring camping, to the beach, or even to have in your backyard. It is incredibly simple to set up and reviewers have been impressed by the durability of the product. It provides enough room for six to eight adults and is available in four colors.

Read more

Size

In total, this option from Quick Set gives you 94 square feet of internal space. If your mind works better in inches, the dimensions are 140” by 140” by 90”. The dead center height is 90-inches tall. All in all, you could fit about six to eight people in here with plenty of elbow room.

Materials

Many reviewers have been impressed with the overall construction and durability of this product. It is made from 210 denier fabric, with 600 denier fabric at the center of the roof where there is the most stress. Where there is no denier, there is mesh fabric that is tight enough to keep out those pesky no-see-ums. The structural aspect is made from 11mm fiberglass poles. There are also six stakes and tie-down ropes included.

Features

The most admired feature of this product is the quick and easy setup. The manufacturer claims that it takes just forty-five seconds. While some reviewers say that is a bit of an exaggeration, it is possible. You can choose between four different colors- brown, camouflage, green, or tan.

Portability

When packed down, this item fits nicely into the included carrying bag and measures 74” by 8” by 8”. It weighs 37-pounds.

Water Resistance

The roof of this item is waterproof and the seams are taped. If you desire more weather resistance, you can also purchase additional rain and wind flaps. To keep you safe from the sun, you can count on the 50+ UV guard built-in.

5. Core Pop-Up

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Core Pop-Up Canopy Tent
Core Pop-Up Canopy Tent
Core Pop-Up Canopy Tent
Amazon Link
Size
93
Materials
94
Features
92
Portability
97
Weather Resistance
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$137.49
Pros:

Tall center height

Easy to tote around

Durable construction

Air vents help to ensure air circulation on hot days

Cons:

The tent is not waterproof

This shelter takes all of two minutes to set up but will provide you with a ton of protection and extra features. Let’s look deeper at what this tent from Core has to offer consumers.

Read more

Size

Just like the other tents on our list, this product is 10x10 feet in size. It provides 100 square feet of shade and weighs 43 pounds. The center has a height of 112 inches.

Materials

This shelter frame is made of steel in order to provide durability. The canopy itself is made from a high-quality 150D polyester material, further adding to the longevity of the tent.

Features

Pinch. Free. Buttons. Need we say more? One thing that is often a cause for frustration and, let’s be honest, aggression, when it comes to setting up things like canopy tents is the shock and betrayal that comes when you pinch your fingers as you’re trying to set it up. This tent is designed to prevent this from happening!

Portability

This tent comes with a heavy-duty wheeled carry bag for easy portability.

Weather Resistance

This shelter is designed to block up to 97% of UV rays from the sun. It is water-resistant (not waterproof) and consumers should find that the canopy and its seams repel water.

6. Coleman Instant

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Coleman Instant Canopy Tent
Amazon Link
Size
90
Materials
97
Features
91
Portability
95
Weather Resistance
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$75.99
Pros:

Super simple & fast set up

Great portability capabilities

1-year limited warranty

Vaulted ceiling

Cons:

Not waterproof

Is there a brand name that is better known in the world of tents than Coleman? We think not. Their Instant Canopy is certainly no exception to this rule, either. Let’s look a bit closer and see just what this reliable brand name has to offer in the world of canopy tents.

Read more

Size

This adorable canopy is quite a bit smaller than other options we have explored thus far. Measuring just 7-feet by 5-feet, this Coleman tent is a great choice for people who don’t need all the space that a 10x10 tent offers. It is able to provide users with 35 square feet of shelter in a product that weighs just 28 pounds.

Materials

The canopy is made using a durable 150D UVGuard material. It comes with steel stakes for use on softer ground and the welded steel feet help to make sure your tent stays sturdy on terrain like asphalt.

Features

In a hurry? This mini shelter has a 3-step installation process that only requires around 3 minutes of your time, total. Perfect for those people who hate fumbling around with complicated equipment for what feels like hours on end!

Portability

Thank goodness for the wheeled carrying bags of the world. Coleman knows that their customers love adventure and that portability of their products plays a big part in just how adventurous consumers can be on any given day. The included heavy-duty bag will surely help you get your mini tent from Point A to Point B quickly and efficiently.

Weather Resistance

The UVGuard material used in the construction of the canopy help this tent to provide UPF 50+ protection from the sun. Consumers report this shelter stands up surprisingly well during bouts of strong winds. Some users reported water pooling on the canopy roof during a lot of rainfall, making this not the best option to take out if the weatherman is calling for rain.

7. Oileus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Oileus Canopy Tent
Oileus Canopy Tent
Oileus Canopy Tent
Amazon Link
Size
89
Materials
90
Features
92
Portability
95
Weather Resistance
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

Compact size when folded up

Large size when set up

Comes with sandbags for anchoring on the beach

Blocks the sun well

Cons:

Only comes in one color

Now for something a little different. This option from Oileus is designed for use in the summer at the beach or lake to provide some shade for yourself and your family.

Read more

Size

Though it may not look like it at first glance, the Oileus is actually the biggest product on our list. It measures 16 feet by 16 feet, making it a perfect option for those of you who travel to the beach with a lot of gear (or a lot of kids). It conveniently folds down to be just 23x3x5 inches and weighs just six tiny little pounds.

Materials

This shade is made with 210T polyester fabric and it features a polyurethane coating.

Features

Calling all beach bums! This sunshade is perfect for use on the beach. It comes with three sandbags that will make it extra stable if the wind picks up a bit on the beach.

Portability

As we mentioned in our Size section, this product is extremely lightweight and tiny when folded up and put into its bag. This makes it the easiest option in our buying guide, at least when portability is concerned.

Weather Resistance

The fabric of this tent makes it water-resistant, but not waterproof. Oileus suggests not setting this tent up any day when high winds may be expected. Though they do suggest using the included sandbags (you get three of them) on days when the winds are stronger than 10 miles per hour.

8. Cool-Off

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Cool-Off Mid Pressure Misting Canopy Tents
Cool-Off Mid Pressure Misting Canopy Tents
Amazon Link
Size
94
Materials
87
Features
94
Portability
85
Weather Resistance
87
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$575.00
Cabelas
$229.99
See Deal
Pros:

Built-in misters for cooling off

Compact storage

Quick set-up

Can lower the feels-like temperature by 10-30 degrees

Cons:

Must be connected to a power source and garden hose to take advantage of the misters

For all of you warm-weather dwellers, this may be the shelter for you. The Cool-Off features mid-pressure misters built into the interior perimeter. It is large enough to set up over a four-person table and is a great addition to an outdoor patio.

Read more

Size

This cool and spacious addition measures 10’ by 10’. It provides ample space for a gathering of people or even enough to set a four-person table comfortably. Although the height is not listed, it is clear that there is ample headroom as well.

Materials

This is a durable set up that features a steel frame that is made to withstand many different weather conditions and environments. The fabric and structure both come with a two-year warranty from the manufacturer.

Features

The most notable feature present here is the misters. The built-in refreshment has the ability to lower the feels-like temperature by ten to thirty degrees. The misters are planted every two feet. They are easily adjustable and you can choose which ones to turn off or on. As for aesthetics, you can choose from three colors, blue, red, or white.

Portability

While most people use this product in a stationary setting, it does fold down compactly. The weight is not listed, but reviewers guess that it is about thirty pounds. You can set up this shelter anywhere you desire, but to take advantage of its cooling features, you will need a garden hose and power source nearby.

Water Resistance

This is a great addition to warm and dry environments. The steel poles are strong enough to hold up against wind and water. It should be noted, however, that there are no sides. If the wind and water combine forces, you will most likely be experiencing that same weather underneath the shelter.

9. Caravan Canopy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Caravan Canopy Canopy Tent
Caravan Canopy Canopy Tent
Caravan Canopy Canopy Tent
Amazon Link
Size
98
Materials
86
Features
89
Portability
80
Weather Resistance
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$199.99
Pros:

1-year limited warranty

Can be MacGyver’ed into being more wind resistant

Affordable than other carports on the market

Provides an ample amount of shade for parties

Cons:

May not be as effective as a permanent structure in areas with extreme weather

Not waterproof

Do you need something a little bigger than the standard 10x10 frames we’ve included on our list so far? Well, look no further than this big boy from Caravan Canopy. This rectangular tent is perfect for use in a number of different applications – vehicle protection, backyard parties, weddings, you name it.

Read more

Size

We felt it was only fair to include at least one canopy tent on our list that was bigger than the standard square 10x10. This option is a whopping 10 x 20 feet in size, making it a great option to use if you’re looking for an easy to set-up carport. It provides 200 square feet of protection and coverage in a 52-pound package. The tent, at its highest, is 103 inches. The interior peak is slightly shorter at 98 inches.

Materials

The frame of this canopy is made of steel to ensure durability. It utilizes a compression lock system for added stability and sturdiness. The canopy portion is made using a heat-sealed polyethylene material.

Features

This canopy has extra-large footpads which help to provide a stable foundation. Because of its rectangular shape, this tent has six legs in total instead of the usual four.

Portability

This product is a lot less portable than the other options on our list. The reason for this is that it’s designed for use as a carport. It does not come with a carrying bag sadly.

Weather Resistance

The heat-sealed polyethylene material used on the canopy portion of this product has been UV-treated both inside and out. This treatment should help aid in the tent's ability to resist fading and premature aging. This is another water-resistant option. Reviews from current users lead us to believe that this tent is not able to withstand certain types of weather events very well such as heavy thunderstorms or snowfalls.

10. Crown Shades

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
Crown Shades Canopy Tent
Crown Shades Canopy Tent
Crown Shades Canopy Tent
Amazon Link
Size
80
Materials
80
Features
83
Portability
85
Weather Resistance
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.99
Pros:

Shade panel on one side

Lightweight

Backpack-style carrying case

Rust and corrosion-resistant

Cons:

Durability concerns

Shade panel can not be moved

This addition from Crown Shades is highly portable and weighs less than twenty pounds. Improved durability during inclement weather would make this a much more desirable product, but if you are looking for a shelter for the beach, backyard, or farmer's market, this one is definitely worth checking out.

Read more

Size

This is one of the smaller options but still offers spacious shade for up to four people. The top fabric measures 6’ by 6’ but the slanted legs provide a shaded space of 8’ by 8’. The tallest point at the center has a height of 6.89-feet.

Materials

The tarp is made from 190T polyester. The frame is made from steel with a powder finish making it resistant to rust and corrosion. Four stakes are also included to help it stay in place in windy environments. The manufacturer offers a one year warranty for this item.

Features

The manufacturer claims that this can be set up by one person in just two minutes. However, reviewers say that the first few times take a bit longer, but it is an easy feat. There are four different heights that you can adjust the shelter to. There is also a shade panel which is great for keeping the sun from beating in. The one downside is that the panel can not be moved. If you wish to shade a different panel, you will need to rotate the whole item.

Portability

The Crown Shade is very portable. It weighs only 18.3-pounds and comes with a backpack-style carrying case. When stored, it measures 32.28” by 6.30” by 6.30”.

Water Resistance

The tarp of this item is water-resistant and has a UPF rating of 50+. Some reviewers have commented that the frame functions well in good weather, but becomes flimsy in high winds.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Size

You need to know the exact measurements in order to ensure the canopy tent is the right size for what you're using it for.

When we look at the size, there are a few different measurements we should take into account. First of all, and perhaps the most obvious, is the actual physical size of the product. Most of the options on our list follow the standard 10x10 style. Another size concern you might want to do your research on is what the headspace is like inside of the shelter. Some options have limited height in the middle of the canopy simply due to the design of the frame. Other options have more of a peak in the center which will provide more space and headroom.

Materials

High-quality and durable materials are of the utmost importance.

The shelter you choose will only be as strong as the materials used in its construction. The good news is that a lot of the manufacturers on the market realize this, so you’re going to see a lot of the same types of materials used in making these shelters. The legs need to be strong enough to stand and provide a stable shelter. This typically means that manufacturers are going to use steel in the construction of the frame. Though steel tends to be quite heavy, it is a good choice for frame material as it’ll extend the lifespan of your shelter. One thing you’ve probably already noticed is the overuse of the word ‘polyurethane’ in our review. This is a popular coating choice that will help provide protection from harsh weather elements and corrosion. When it comes to the canopy tent fabric, one you’re going to commonly see is polyester.

Features

Different shelters have different special features that set them apart.

Every tent that you have read about in our buying guide provides consumers with unique features. Some have an easy set-up/tear-down process. Some come with extra features like sandbags or wide legs to provide further stability. We really loved that some of the shelters had quick-release buttons designed to save precious sensitive finger skin from getting pinched. You can rest assured, though, whichever product you ultimately decide upon, if it has made our list, you will be happy with the features it provides.

Portability

Carrying bag, roller bag, or neither? It's your choice

We’re not going to lie, some of these are heavy. There are a lot of factors that play into the weight of the shelter – what material is used to make the frame, what the shelter is made from, how many walls it has, etc. If your plan is to be toting your item around with you, you’re going to want to make sure the option you choose has a wheeled bag. The bags aren’t perfect but they certainly make transporting it a lot easier.

Weather Resistance

How well the shelter can stand up to wind and rain are important considerations to take into account.

When we’re looking at the weather resistance of canopy tents, we have a few different elements we’re judging the products on. First of all, is the shelter's ability to resist water. This was a big one. We wanted to make sure the products on our list are deemed waterproof in order to protect you and whatever it is you’re protecting under the canopy.

The next weather event we took into account was the wind and how wind-proof the products were. Some options were limited in this regard due to the weight, design and stability level. Typically, beach style canopy tents are more likely to be able to resist wind as they manufacturers design them for use on beaches – where the wind can get out of hand quickly. Canopies that are more or less designed for commercial use, however, rely more on their overall weight in order to keep them stable and are meant to be used in situations where the weather won’t get out of control.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Portability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Weather Resistance
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Be Realistic

Are you planning on purchasing a shelter that you can set up by yourself lickety-split? Chances are this isn’t going to work out in your favor then. At least not at first. Many of the products on our list are capable of being set up by one person, but give yourself time to learn the ropes before you set out on tackling this task solo. Try setting it up a few times with a second person first, just so you can get a feel for what the process looks like.

Lifespan Expectations

There are a lot of factors that can contribute to the overall lifespan of this product. Some of these factors relate directly to you as the owner. How often are you using it? How are you storing it? Are you cleaning it properly? Other factors relate to the conditions you are subjecting your tent to. What is the weather like when the tent is set up? Are you leaving it in the middle of storms to fend for itself? Do you let the sun beat down on it all day? If you properly take care of your shelter, there is no reason why it shouldn’t last you for years and years of use.

Other Factors to Consider

Stability

How much stability your new shelter will provide should play a huge part in your decision-making process. This might be something that may require a little more research prior to making your decision. You can look at the design of the legs of the canopies to get an idea of how sturdy it is going to be when it’s set up. Also perusing through reviews from current users is a great way to gain an understanding of the overall sturdiness of the tent. You don’t want to purchase something that is going to buckle the moment a breeze touches it, especially if you’re using the shelter to cover your loved ones or your hard work and handiwork at a craft show or farmer’s market.

Ease of Use

Many of the options on our list utilize a ‘pop-up’ style. Though it’s not as simple as the name would suggest, these styles of shelters really are quite easy to set up. Many of the options are able to be set up by just one person, though the process would be faster with two. Some canopy tents may be more difficult to set up simply because of their size and weight. These are the ones that would be best set up with two people, at least at first until you get an idea of how to set it up if you decide to go at it solo.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What’s the difference between water-resistant and waterproof?

a:

There are three levels of protection that products are able to provide consumers. It’s important to familiarize yourself with the three levels so you know exactly what it is you’re spending your money on and how much protection it is going to provide you with.

First of all, products that are labeled ‘water-resistant’ will provide the least amount of protection. This typically means that the shelter is built in a way that makes it hard for water to get inside. Sometimes the shelter fabric will have a light coating that is supposed to help the tent survive any encounters with rain or water.

Leveling up a bit, tents labeled as ‘water-repelling’ are equipped with properties that are meant to repel water. These will have some kind of film on the fabric that will make it have a better chance of standing up to rain or water than other less protected options.

The third level of protection comes in the form of ‘waterproof’ products. There really is no current industry standard that manufacturers must abide by in order to have their products labeled as waterproof. It is also important to note that even though the items may be marked ‘waterproof’, this does not necessarily mean the product will remain waterproof indefinitely. As time passes, fabric materials change and eventually the tent that once was 100% waterproof may only end up being 80% or so.

q: How easy are these to set up and take down?

a:

Ultimately, this comes down to the specific product you have chosen to invest in. Some are easier to assemble and disassemble than others. Some products are able to be set up by just one person, while others will require much more of a time investment if just one person were to try and set it up. The more walls your shelter has, the longer it will take you to set it up. Generally speaking, you will not need any additional tools than what is provided in the canopy tent kit to set up your shelter.

q: What should I do if I have my shelter set up for the day and the weatherman is forecasting a storm?

a:

This may come down to which tent you have purchased, how well it rated in our Weather Resistance section of our review and what type of weather the meteorologist is calling for. Some options have better protection capabilities when it comes to water and windproof. If your weatherman is predicting strong thunderstorms and you have a chance to take down your shelter, we highly recommend doing so in order to protect not only your investment but your property as well. A tent that catches wind can do a lot of damage if it gets caught up in a storm.

q: How should I clean my new tent?

a:

If you notice the fabric of your shelter getting dirty, you can manually clean it. We recommend taking the tent apart first and laying a drop sheet down on the ground. The drop sheet will protect your shelter from catching on any sharp rocks or objects on the ground that could damage the fabric. Using warm soapy water, wash down the fabric of the shelter. If it is extra muddy, you can use a brush that has extra soft bristles to work out the dirt. Make sure you let it dry completely before you put it back into its carrying bag.