to top 10 table

Best Boot Socks

last updated Apr 22, 2019

Boot socks are a very versatile garment that is designed to be worn with a variety of footwear styles. Skiing this weekend? Pair your ski boots with one of the socks on our list. Wanting to make a fashion statement? Wear a pair of our fashionable boot socks below to compliment your outfit. Planning to become a winter hiker? You’ll definitely want a pair of for your hiking boots.

Whether you’re searching for something that is going to provide you with ample warmth, comfort, or bonus fashion points, we have you covered. We’ve compiled a list of the ten best options currently on the market. Read below to find the right one for you and your particular needs. Be sure to check out what criteria we used in evaluation these socks and the Frequently Asked Questions section to see if we’ve answered any of your burning questions. Read on!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 8 hrs of research

icon
Darn Tough
98.8/100 our score
Style
99
Materials
98
Comfort
98
Features
99
Use
100
Darn Tough
Why is it better?

Form-fitting for support and a custom feeling fit

Won’t bunch up or cause blisters

Moisture-wicking

Durable construction

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Darn Tough
Test Winner: Darn Tough
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
34
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
26
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
8
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Materials Comfort Features Use By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.8
Style
99 %
Materials
98 %
Comfort
98 %
Features
99 %
Use
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$23.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Style
98 %
Materials
97 %
Comfort
98 %
Features
96 %
Use
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Style
97 %
Materials
97 %
Comfort
98 %
Features
94 %
Use
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$33.74
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Style
97 %
Materials
96 %
Comfort
96 %
Features
95 %
Use
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$17.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Style
94 %
Materials
96 %
Comfort
95 %
Features
95 %
Use
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$15.77
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Style
97 %
Materials
92 %
Comfort
93 %
Features
94 %
Use
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$15.77
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Style
95 %
Materials
91 %
Comfort
93 %
Features
93 %
Use
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$11.90
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Style
92 %
Materials
90 %
Comfort
93 %
Features
90 %
Use
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$4.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Style
86 %
Materials
92 %
Comfort
91 %
Features
89 %
Use
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Style
88 %
Materials
87 %
Comfort
89 %
Features
87 %
Use
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.08.19)
Amazon Link
$15.95

Top 10 Picks

1. Darn Tough

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.8
Darn Tough
Amazon Link
Style
99
Materials
98
Comfort
98
Features
99
Use
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.95
Pros:

Form-fitting for support and a custom feeling fit

Won’t bunch up or cause blisters

Moisture-wicking

Durable construction

Cons:

Some users noted premature piling of the material

First up on our list of the best boot socks on the market is this great option from Darn Tough. This company has been around for 40 years and is one of the leaders in the world of socks, so it’s not surprising that Darn Tough Vermont took the number one spot in our buying guide.

Read more

Style

These come in a variety of color options from black with lime green accents to oatmeal with brown accents, there is sure to be a style that appeals to you. The heel and toe box of these socks have an accent color and the top of the foot is emblazoned with the Darn Tough logo. These are designed to sit mid-calf.

Materials

This product is made from 64% merino wool and 33% nylon with spandex and lycra making up the remaining 3%. Merino is a great material choice for hiking socks as it is breathable and comfortable in whatever situation you may find yourself in on the trails.

Comfort

Thanks to the cushioning on the bottom of these, wearers should find that they provide an ample amount of support for whatever outdoor adventuring they’re going to get into while wearing these. They have no seams which help provide a more comfortable and smooth fit. Merino wool is, by nature, antimicrobial and antibacterial which will ultimately lead to a more comfortable feeling.

Features

Darn Tough claims these socks to be resistant to slipping and bunching which can be the bane of your existence if you’re in the middle of a hike and have to keep stopping to adjust your socks.

Use

These socks practically beg to be worn by the adventurer in all of us. They are designed for hiking and will withstand the rigors of any trail, providing all wearers with a comfortable fit!

2. Danish Endurance

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Danish Endurance
Amazon Link
Style
98
Materials
97
Comfort
98
Features
96
Use
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99
Pros:

Animal cruelty-free construction

Great for keeping your feet warm

Will help prevent blisters

Comfortable fit

Cons:

Some complaints about the socks bunching up while in use

The Danish Endurance crew sock stole the second place spot in our buying guide for several reasons. First of all, they come with hundreds of five-star reviews from current users on Amazon. They are more affordable than other similar options on the market. Plus, the company provides great customer service. What else can you ask for? Well, let’s take a closer look and see what else these have to offer.

Read more

Style

This option from Danish Endurance is designed to be a crew sock, fitting right in the middle of your calf. They come in five different color options – green, maroon, yellow, brown or gray – and can be purchased in a few different package options.

Materials

These are made from an equal mix of merino wool, acrylic and polyamide materials. The use of acrylic helps to make these socks form-fitting, durable and able to wick away sweat.

Comfort

Since these socks are made with merino wool, wearers can expect a comfortable experience wearing these in both the summer and winter months. During the warmer times of the year, these will help to keep your feet cool and fresh feeling. When it’s colder out, they will help to keep you warm.

Features

Thanks to the strategically placed ventilation lanes, wearers can expect these to feel temperature controlled no matter what time of year they’re wearing them.

Use

Danish Endurance recommends wearing this product for nearly any outdoor activity you find yourself participating in. They’ll work well for hikers, trekkers, walkers and backpackers alike.

3. Carhartt All-Terrain

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Carhartt All-Terrain
Amazon Link
Style
97
Materials
97
Comfort
98
Features
94
Use
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.74
Pros:

American made

Odor-resisting properties

Comfortable and thick

Anti-blister technology

Cons:

Need to be careful when washing these as they can shrink if washed improperly

Though Carhartt may not be the brand name you first think of when it comes to quality adventure socks, you may change your mind after seeing what these all-terrain socks can provide wearers.

Read more

Style

There are three different color options to choose from – grey with brown accents, grey with navy accents or brown with orange accents. They are designed to fit like a crew sock, on your mid-calf.

Materials

This option from Carhartt is mostly made of polyester material. Though acrylic, wool, nylon, and spandex all are a part of the construction as well.

Comfort

These have NanoGLIDE technology that will help to prevent the formation of blisters while increasing the lifespan of these socks. They also have cooling panels that will help provide airflow to ensure you stay comfortable while you are wearing them.

Features

Do you sweat a lot when participating in activities outdoors? If so, we have good news for you! These are designed to dry quickly if they get sweaty. They will quickly whisk away moisture to help you stay cool, dry and comfortable.

Use

These socks are made to handle any terrain you choose to conquer while we’re them. They’re made for use throughout all four seasons and will provide you with a boost in performance and comfort no matter how or where you wear them.

4. Henny Rue Annie

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Henny Rue Annie
Amazon Link
Style
97
Materials
96
Comfort
96
Features
95
Use
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.99
Pros:

Wash well

Great for ladies with thicker calves

Soft and comfortable

Trendy color options

Cons:

Some questions about the company not disclosing all of the materials used in the construction of these socks

Ladies! This one is for you. These cute socks from Henny Rue are not only trendy in both design and color, but they’re also going to look great when you wear them. Let’s see what else makes these a great pair of fashion socks.

Read more

Style

The Henny Rue Annie socks are designed to be knee-high in length. They come in numerous color options (black, navy, grey, maroon, brown) and pack choices. Love maroon, but not sold on the brown color? You can choose a package that suits your preferences!

Materials

These are made predominantly from cotton. There were some complaints in the review section about the manufacturer not disclosing the other materials used in the construction of these socks. Aside from cotton, they’re also made with acrylic and polyester.

Comfort

These have just the right amount of elasticity to keep them where they belong without becoming too uncomfortable after a long day of wearing them.

Features

One thing we loved about these is that they’re great for women who are a little thicker in the calves!

Use

These are designed more for fashion than for anything else. You probably would not want to wear these while hiking or performing any other strenuous outdoor activity. They’re great for wearing with your winter boots and to the office, though.

5. Smartwool PhD

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Smartwool PhD
Amazon Link
Style
94
Materials
96
Comfort
95
Features
95
Use
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.77
Pros:

Made in America

Great for cold temperatures

Fit well inside boots

Keeps feet dry

Cons:

Some color options may not be available in all sizes

These uniquely designed socks from SmartWool are the first option on our list to be designed specifically for winter activities. They are meant to be used on the ski hills and have been created to provide wearers with the warmth needed on the coldest winter days.

Read more

Style

These socks have an overall height of 14 inches, fitting around the mid-calf on most people. They are available in a few different color options – grey with black/red accents, black with red/grey accents or black with lime/grey accents.

Materials

These ski socks are made of 57% Merino, 41% Nylon and just 2% Elastane materials.

Comfort

There are no seams in the toe area of these socks which will help boost the overall comfort level that they can provide wearers. They are designed to offer skiers with the perfect amount of cushioning for their feet where they need it the most on the ski hills. No more painful shin bang or freezing feet, these socks will help to banish those annoying, often day-ruining ailments.

Features

Smart Wool outfitted this product with their 4 Degree Elite Fit technology. This tech provides wearers with a fit that helps to boost their performance.

Use

These are designed for use on ski hills. They’re designed to keep wearers feet warm and dry no matter the temperature outside. Don’t banish these to your ‘skiing’ pile only, though. They can be used while winter hiking for added breathability and warmth when you’re on the trails.

6. Heat Holders

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Heat Holders
Amazon Link
Style
97
Materials
92
Comfort
93
Features
94
Use
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.77
Pros:

Great quality

Toasty warm

Soft and comfortable interior

Great for lounging around in

Cons:

May not be as tight around the calf as they could be

Just one look at this option from Heat Holders and you can tell that these are made with durability and warmth in mind. Would you expect anything else from a brand named Heat Holders?

Read more

Style

This product is available in nearly 30 different color options from navy to bright orange and everything in between. These socks are meant to sit around the mid-calf.

Materials

Heat Holders constructed these socks mostly out of acrylic material (91%). The other nine percent is made of nylon, polyester, and elastane in that order of prominence.

Comfort

The innovative design of the knit in these socks is meant to provide wearers with warm user experience. The brushed inner is partly to thank for this warm interior that is said to be seven times warmer than your average cotton sock.

Features

The brushing process on the interior of these socks helps to make the inside exceptionally soft while ensuring whoever is wearing these aren’t going to get cold even in the coldest climate.

Use

With a brand name like Heat Holders, you would expect this product to be designed for use in colder temperatures and you would be right! These are a great option to wear if you’re going to be out adventuring during the winter months.

7. STYLEGAGA

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
STYLEGAGA
Amazon Link
Style
95
Materials
91
Comfort
93
Features
93
Use
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.90
Pros:

Aesthetic colors and design

Nice thickness

Work great with leggings

Warm

Cons:

Poor quality control

Need to be hand washed

Are you looking for a more fashionable option to wear with your winter boots? Then look no further than this product from STYLEGAGA. These cute socks will compliment any outfit you pair with them.

Read more

Style

These adorable socks are designed to fit much higher than any of the other products on our list, coming in a few inches above the knee. They are available in three different color options – grey, ivory or black.

Materials

This product is made predominately from an acrylic and wool blend, with spandex and nylon making up the rest of the materials required to produce these.

Comfort

Reviews from current users suggest that these socks are very comfortable to wear. There are some concerns about whether or not they’ll fit properly on women with slightly larger legs, however.

Features

Acrylic is a very versatile fabric that makes it a great choice for use in socks. It will provide wearers with an adequate amount of cushioning and will dry reasonably fast.

Use

These socks are more for fashion than function. They will pair nicely with many different outfits in your closet but aren’t made for use on the trails or slopes.

8. Ambielly

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Ambielly
Amazon Link
Style
92
Materials
90
Comfort
93
Features
90
Use
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$4.99
Pros:

Cozy fit

Many bright and beautiful color options

Great for use in the colder months

Stay up well

Cons:

Some concerns over quality control

This boot sock option from Ambielly is another great choice for the fashion-conscious woman. Unlike some of the other products for women on our list, this option is functional and fashionable.

Read more

Style

These socks come in a number of different colors and design options. Solids? Check! Stripes? Check! Hearts? You bet! They are meant to fit just above the ankle.

Materials

These are made from a blend of wool, cotton, polyester, and spandex.

Comfort

Thanks to the jacquard weave used in the construction of these socks, users will find that they’re not only comfortable but breathable and non-itchy as well.

Features

These are made from a material blend that is soft and breathable. You will not have to worry about your feet getting hot and sweaty while you’re wearing these.

Use

These socks can be used in a variety of ways. Because they’re so colorful and come in a variety of unique designs, you can wear these as fashion socks. Due to their durable construction and warmth properties, they can also be worn during outdoor activities as well.

9. TeeHee Socks

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
TeeHee Socks
Amazon Link
Style
86
Materials
92
Comfort
91
Features
89
Use
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99
Pros:

Warm

Affordable price tag

Won’t slip off

Cons:

Seems to be some concerns over quality control

If you're an environmentally-conscious person, you're going to want to read a little further to see what this option from TeeHee Socks is all about. They are made partially from recycled materials and have a lot of other benefits to offer wearers as well.

Read more

Style

These are designed to fit around the mid-calf of the wearer. They come in a few different color block options as well as a number of different pack sizes to choose from.

Materials

These socks are made from mostly polyester along with recycled cotton material and spandex.

Comfort

The foot and leg areas of these socks are fully cushioned to help provide comfort to the wearer.

Features

Since these are partially made from a recycling cotton material, you can feel good about purchasing something that is environmentally friendly.

Use

These thermal socks are great for use during many different outdoor adventures. They’re warm and cozy, making them a perfect companion for winter activities.

10. Stance Joven

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Stance Joven
Amazon Link
Style
88
Materials
87
Comfort
89
Features
87
Use
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.95
Pros:

Machine washable

Durable construction

Reinforced heel and toe

Arch support

Cons:

Some reviews state that these socks got holes in them very easily

Finishing up our top ten list, we have the Joven by Stance. These socks are a great versatile choice for folks who are looking for a sock that can handle most outdoor activities. Let’s see what else sets them apart from other similar options on the market.

Read more

Style

Available in over 15 different color options, this boot sock option from Stance is a great option for people who want a little pop of color in their lives. They are designed to fit up to the mid-calf of wearers, providing ample warmth and comfort for their wearers.

Materials

These are made from combed cotton, polyester and nylon materials.

Comfort

The Stance Joven provides users with arch support providing wearers with an ample amount of comfort.

Features

For additional durability, these socks have reinforced heel and toe zones.

Use

There are many different situations where you can wear these socks. Because of their durable construction, they can easily be worn in different outdoor adventure activities without any problems at all.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

You don't need to settle for something that doesn't appeal to you.

There were a few considerations we looked at as we reviewed the overall style of each of the products that took a spot on our list. First of all, we looked at what color options are available. While this may not be a deal breaker for some folks, we know those people are out there who like to have control over the color of all of their garments, socks included.

After looking at the available color options, we checked out the length of the sock and how high it reaches on your leg. While the average person may think that all socks are made the same, the truth of the matter is that there are many different lengths of socks and choosing the wrong length can make (or break) your experience. Most of the options on our list fall in the mid-calf area, providing an ample amount of warmth and comfort for whoever is wearing them. Crew length is the most common length for socks. They are versatile in that they are able to be worn every day.

The fashion boot socks in our buying guide tend to fall a bit higher on the leg. We have thigh high (and higher!) options on our list which will add a bit of fun to any outfit you choose to pair them with.

Materials

The material your socks are made of can drastically affect how they perform

There are a few material types you’re going to see quite often in our buying guide. Let’s take a look at some of the most common boot sock materials and their benefits.

Cotton. Cotton is a very lightweight fabric that is breathable and incredibly easy to care for. It’s probably the most common material used in the construction of socks. It’s very good at absorbing moisture and is often blended with nylon to help wick away any wetness from the foot.

Lycra/Elastane/Spandex. This is a type of synthetic fiber made from polyurethane. It’s quite elastic in nature, helping to provide elasticity and a nice, close fit for the wearer.

Nylon. Nylon is an incredibly strong fiber. It is typically used in a blend with other fibers to add some elasticity and stretch to the boot socks.

Wool. Wool is a fabric that is very easy to take care of. It recovers its shape quickly and will breathe with your body. Merino wool is a fine grade that adds an element of luxuriousness.

Comfort

Staying comfortable during your adventures is essential.

Comfort is a very important consideration to think about as you begin your hunt for the best boot socks for you and your needs. You don’t want to spend your money on a product that is going to be scratchy or uncomfortable on your feet all day. This is especially true if you are going to be wearing your socks while you’re participating in strenuous outdoor activities all day.

In addition to the materials being comfortable, you should also consider the fit of the socks. Most of the options on our list fit on your leg above the ankle. You want to ensure the option you choose will stay on your leg in the spot it is meant to sit. You wouldn’t want to be hiking up a mountain or spending the day on the ski slopes and have to worry about adjusting your socks.

Features

Different options boast different unique features.

Each individual option in our buying guide has its own unique set of features that sets it apart from other products on the market. Whether you’re looking for something that’s made from recycled materials, an option that provides a reinforced heel or toe or a product that has breathability features, you’re sure to find something in our buying guide that will suit your fancy.

Use

Buy the pair that's right for how you want to use them.

As you may have noticed as you scrolled through our buying guide, there are a lot of different styles of socks that made our list. Some are geared more towards giving your outfit an aesthetic look. Others are designed to be used during outdoor adventures. Before you choose the best boot sock for your particular needs, you may want to consider what your needs are in the first place. If you plan on wearing these for outdoor adventures in the summer months, you may want to choose something that allows for some airflow. If you want to spend some time outdoors during the winter, you’ll want a sock that provides warmth. If you’re looking for something to wear with your cute winter boots, you’ll want something a little more aesthetically appealing.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Don’t Settle

Are you picky about the clothing you wear? If you said, “yes”, that’s okay, you’re allowed to be. You shouldn’t settle for clothing you don’t feel excited about wearing. The same thing goes with your boot socks. We think that our buying guide provides a pretty comprehensive list of the best variety of designs and styles available on the market today. If you want a fashionable and aesthetic sock to wear with your winter boots, check out these options: Henny Rue Annie, STYLEGAGA Winter Slouch Top, or the Ambielly in our buying guide. You may not want to wear a sock designed for functionality if you’re hoping to make a (positive) fashion statement.

Keep Size in Mind

When you’re on the hunt for the best boot sock, you’re going to want to keep size in mind. This is especially true for boot socks. You’re going to want to make sure you’re ordering a size that is going to fit into your boots without any problems at all. If you have some extra space in your shoes already, you will probably be fine getting your usual sock size (though we would recommend reading through some of the reviews to read how current wearers of the sock find that they fit). Thicker socks might not fit properly in boots if they’re already a little bit tight on you.

Insulate, Insulate, Insulate!

If you are in the market for a pair of boot socks to keep your feet warm on long hikes or winter days spent on the ski hill, you’re going want to make sure the product you buy is going to keep your feet warm. Look for materials like wool and words like ‘heat’ and ‘thermal’ in our buying guide to determine which of the socks are going to be the best at keeping your warm no matter what outdoor activities you’re participating in.

Other Factors to Consider

Breathability

This is an important factor to take into consideration as you begin your hunt for the best pair of boot socks for you. When you spend a lot of time participating in adventure activities outdoors, you will begin to see the importance of having not only socks that are breathable, but all of your clothing as well. If you’ve ever worn socks that aren’t breathable, you know how wet and cold your feet can get after wearing them for any length of time. Cold feet are not only uncomfortable, but they can also lead to moisture being trapped on your skin which can lead to serious issues. Your socks ability to wick away any moisture is essential for keeping your feet healthy.

Support

The amount of support provided by your new boot socks is important, especially so if you plan on wearing them during any outdoor activity. If you are an avid hiker or skier, your socks are just as important as what you’re wearing on your feet for shoes. A high-quality pair of socks like the ones you’ll find in our buying guide is essential to ensure your feet are protected during your activities. Socks can help to absorb some of the impacts that your feet and ankles will endure, helping to reduce the overall soreness you will feel after your activities.

Value

When you are deciding to purchase anything, be it boot socks or a swimming pool, you want to ensure you’re getting the best value for your investment. In order to determine value when it comes to boot socks, though, you should think about how many socks you will receive with your order, what materials were used in the construction of your socks and how comfortable they are going to be for the activities you plan on wearing them for.

Color

The great thing about online shopping is that you never have to settle for what is leftover in a brick and mortar store. Many times, when you shopping in a mall or department store, you are left with very few options and have to settle for what other shoppers have left on the shelves. You don’t need to worry about that here. Many of the socks on our top ten list are available in different color and design options. If you’re feeling funky, try some of the more unique designs with Ambielly socks. Are you picky about colors? The Heat Holders socks are available in nearly 30 different options so there is sure to be something there for you! If the color is an important criterion for you, make sure you read over the ‘Style’ section of each of our ten product reviews to see what each product has to offer in terms of color and style.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What makes boot socks different from any other type on the market?

a:

What sets this type of sock apart from other options you can buy from any department store is that these are made specifically for use in boots. If you’ve ever felt personally victimized by socks that slip off inside of your boots, you’ll see why there is a market for this particular style. Nothing could be more annoying than hitting the trails or ski slopes only to find that your sock has somehow pulled a Houdini and slid right off your foot.

q: Can I only wear these with boots?

a:

Of course not. You can wear these socks with anything you have in your closet. Of course, you may find that you don’t like the way they look with certain outfits. This type of sock is designed to fit a bit higher on your leg than typical socks so you may not like the way they look with some outfits.

q: How do I wash these?

a:

In most cases, the options on our list can be washed in your washer. We would recommend air drying them to help protect your investment and ensure a longer lifespan for your socks. Some options do need to be hand washed. You should always check with the manufacturer prior to washing your new socks just to make sure you’re taking care of them appropriately.

q: Is Merino Wool a good material choice for boot socks?

a:

There are plenty of really great materials to choose from. If you check our ‘Materials’ section above, you will get an idea of some of the fabrics used in the construction of the products on our list. We love Merino Wool for a number of reasons. It’s breathable and can remove moisture better than other material types. It is a natural heating and cooling fabric, able to react to your body to see what it needs. Merino wool is also incredibly strong and resilient.

q: Isn’t wool itchy?

a:

This fabric has become famous for being a bit uncomfortable and scratchy at times. This isn’t always the case, though. The itchiness is determined by the size of the fibers used in the construction of the socks. Finer fibers will be more flexible and will bend when they touch the skin, taking away any of the itching qualities that wool has become known for. The socks on our list won’t cause any uncomfortable itching.

q: What does it mean if the sock has a seamless toe?

a:

Having a seamless toe is a desirable feature in boot socks, especially if you’re going to be wearing your socks for all-day excursions. A seamless toe means that the socks have been made to not irritate your toes with an obtrusive seam area. Some options do still have a flat seam in the toe box area, but it’s woven in a way that doesn’t allow it to rub up uncomfortably against your toes.

Sources

  1. The Sock Drawer, Sock Langths,
  2. The Sock Drawer, Fibers,
  3. Smart Wool, Merino Wool 101,