to top 10 table

Best Bluetooth Tracker

last updated Apr 24, 2019

Before stepping out of the house every morning, you make sure that you have your keys, wallet, and phone before shutting the door behind you to start your day. However, getting to that point when you are in a rush can be a little maddening, especially for the forgetful or disorganized. In this guide, you can find our picks for the best Bluetooth trackers so you no longer have an excuse to be late!
You have a way to locate your phone when it has gone missing, so why not have that same function for your other important personal items such as your wallet and your keys?

A good Bluetooth tracker is the best way to ensure that you always know where all of your important belongings are, even on those long days where you placed your car keys in the bottom of the silverware drawer for some reason.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Tile Mate
93.4/100 our score
Style
97
Connectivity
96
Ease of Use
93
Size
90
Value
91
Tile Mate
Why is it better?

Trusted brand

Tile app allows you to follow the places it has gone in real time

Affordable (when you buy more than 1)

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Tile Mate
Test Winner: Tile Mate
Researched Sources
27
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
28k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
11
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Connectivity Ease of Use Size Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Style
97%
Connectivity
96%
Ease of Use
93%
Size
90%
Value
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$59.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Style
95%
Connectivity
93%
Ease of Use
94%
Size
89%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$24.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Style
92%
Connectivity
88%
Ease of Use
91%
Size
90%
Value
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$19.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Style
88%
Connectivity
90%
Ease of Use
91%
Size
87%
Value
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$16.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.2
Style
88%
Connectivity
84%
Ease of Use
85%
Size
89%
Value
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$36.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Style
85%
Connectivity
84%
Ease of Use
80%
Size
82%
Value
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$16.85
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Style
83%
Connectivity
80%
Ease of Use
78%
Size
79%
Value
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$18.59
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78
Style
81%
Connectivity
74%
Ease of Use
76%
Size
79%
Value
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$12.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.8
Style
77%
Connectivity
73%
Ease of Use
70%
Size
76%
Value
78%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$11.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.6
Style
70%
Connectivity
71%
Ease of Use
75%
Size
77%
Value
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$19.74
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Tile Mate
  • H+LUX
  • WONBO
  • Njoii
  • Innway Card
  • Calerix
  • MADETEC
  • Bari
  • BCKAKQA
  • Rinex
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Bluetooth Trackers

1. Tile Mate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Tile Mate
Style
97
Connectivity
96
Ease of Use
93
Size
90
Value
91
best offer for today
$59.99
Pros:

Trusted brand

Tile app allows you to follow the places it has gone in real time

Affordable (when you buy more than 1)

Cons:

Users must keep Tile app running in background (which can drain your phone’s battery)

These devices have always been around in some form or another, but it wasn’t until Tile started making slender devices that pair with your phone that they really started to pick up steam in popularity. Users love Tile because it is simple enough to use, it has a really long range, and the upbeat jingle doesn't sound like a 5 alarm fire!

Read more

Style

The Tile Mate comes in a basic matte white color option with no other colors available (some users like bright colors because they are easy to spot). The style of this unit makes it blend into whatever you place it on, so it won’t look out of place on your very expensive handbag.

Connectivity

One of the most impressive features of this design is the range. Once it is connected to your phone, it is able to communicate between devices in a range that spans up to 150 feet!

Ease of use

Users will simply need to pair this device to their phone one time, and the rest is simple and easy. To connect it to your phone, you will need to open the connectivity options in the settings in your phone and select the Tile option. Download the Tile app, and you can keep tabs on all of the places your belongings have been (which is ideal if your things ever become stolen!).

Size

This unit is small and slender enough that you can even keep it in your wallet like a credit card. It measures to be .2 inches thick, and 1.4 inches long and 1.4 inches wide- which isn’t even as wide as one of your house keys.

Value

The purchase of one device comes in at a price point that we find is a little steep, but the real value comes when you purchase a pack of 4. When you buy 4 at one time, it is as if you are getting 2 for free!

Overall

If you are in the market for something that has been tried and tested by multiple users and has recent updates that make it more user-friendly than previous iterations, this is going to be your best options.

2. H+LUX

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
H+LUX
Style
95
Connectivity
93
Ease of Use
94
Size
89
Value
90
best offer for today
$24.99
Pros:

Long range

Easy setup

The alarm is much louder than most

Cons:

A little expensive

Much bulkier than other designs may make it difficult to keep inside a wallet

We liked this design from H+LUX for many of the same reasons that we liked Tile. It has a pretty good range that is going to be able to detect your belongings from pretty far away, and it has an app that will not only allow you to find your belongings, but it will also allow you to have a record of the places that they have gone.

Read more

Style

This unit is offered in a matte gray design with a rubber grip in the center for easy use. It comes with the addition of a keychain so that you can hang it off your car keys or your purse. It is also offered in a sharp champaign white option as well.

Connectivity

One really great feature of this product is that it has a pretty impressive range. When locating it indoors, it can detect your belongings up to 60 feet, and when outside that range doubles to up to 160 feet.

Ease of use

You are going to need to pair this device to your phone one time and then download the app. Once it is paired and the app downloaded, simply press the find button in the app to activate the alarm on the base unit. If you need to find your phone, press the button on the unit to create an alarm on your phone.

Size

This unit measures to be just slightly bigger and thicker than the Tile. It is .8 inches thick (which may be a tight fit in a wallet), and is 5 inches long and 5.2 inches wide.

Value

The cost of this unit is just slightly higher than other options out there on the market, and you won’t receive any discounts if you opt to buy more than one like we saw with the Tile option.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is easy to use and has quite an impressive range both indoors, and outdoors, this is a great option. One thing that we did notice is that the alarm function is quite a bit louder than other options out there on the market.

3. WONBO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
WONBO
Style
92
Connectivity
88
Ease of Use
91
Size
90
Value
89
best offer for today
$19.99
Pros:

Comes in multiple color options

A slight discount when you buy a pack of 4

Cons:

Some users have experienced a loss of connection when indoors

This option from WONBO gives you a few more color options that you can select from, and it is incredibly small and compact. Even with its small size, it is able to achieve long ranges which makes it one of our favorite options.

Read more

Style

If you wanted something that comes in a variety of colors, this is an excellent choice. Users can select from pastel, matte colors that include pink, green, gray, and black. You can also elect to buy a pack that offers one of every color to color coordinate your belongings.

Connectivity

Just like all other designs out there, you will need to not only connect the device to your phone under the general connectivity settings in your phone, but you will also need to download the app to reap the full benefits of this designs. It has a range of about 60 feet indoors and up to 150 feet outdoors.

Ease of use

Once the app has been downloaded and the device connected, it is incredibly easy to use. If you need to find your phone, simply press the button on the front of the device. If you need to find your keys, open the app on the phone and press the find button.

Size

This is another design that is incredibly small, and one of the smaller options out there on the market. It measures to be just .3 inches thick (making it easy to store inside of your wallet), and measures to be 1.5 inches long and 1.5 inches wide.

Value

The cost of a singular design runs about in the middle of the road in terms of price. It isn’t the most expensive, but it isn’t the most affordable option either. If you opt for a pack of 4, you will see a slight discount in price, but not by much.

Overall

For those that want something that comes in a few more fun colors than some of the other designs out there on the market, this option from WONBO is going to be a really great and reliable design.

4. Njoii

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Njoii
Style
88
Connectivity
90
Ease of Use
91
Size
87
Value
89
best offer for today
$16.95
Pros:

Easy to set up

Small and compact

Affordable

Cons:

Some users found that it frequently drops the connection

A few smart additional features make this design from Njoiii really stand out from the rest. It is still small and compact like all of the others, and it is incredibly easy to use and set up that makes it a really great choice.

Read more

Style

User will be able to select from color options that include your basic black, gray, and white. While it doesn’t come with a keychain, it comes with a loop on the side that will make it easy to affix to your purse or your keys.

Connectivity

While this isn’t going to have the same range as some of the others, the range is still pretty impressive for such a little device. It is able to connect about 100 feet while indoors, and about 160 feet when you are outside.

Ease of use

To use this device, you will need to download an app to your phone, and you will need to conduct an initial set up through the settings on your phone that previous users find to be incredibly quick and easy.

Size

This unit is exactly the same size as the Tile design we saw earlier. It measures to be .2 inches thick, and it 1.4 inches long and 1.4 inches wide.

Value

One of the things that we really liked about this design is that it comes in at a really affordable price point. Plus, it comes with an additional battery, which makes this unit a really great value in our option.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is small and simple and will save you a little bit of money in the process, this design from Njoiii is an excellent choice.

5. Innway Card

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.2
Innway Card
Style
88
Connectivity
84
Ease of Use
85
Size
89
Value
80
best offer for today
$36.99
Pros:

Slim design

Fits right into the credit card slot in your wallet

Easy to set up

Cons:

A little expensive

Some users do not like the app

Keys aren’t the only things that get lost or misplaced, wallets can get misplaced as well. This option from Innway that is designed to look like a credit card fits perfectly inside of your wallet, and even though it is impossibly thin, it can still chime to help you find it.

Read more

Style

As we mentioned earlier, this option is made to look just like a credit card. It is offered in two basic colors that include black and kelly green.

Connectivity

The range on this is just a little less than ideal over some of the other designs out there on the market. It is able to connect about 98 feet away, and that includes if you are indoors or outdoors.

Ease of use

You will need to download the app and go into the settings on your phone to make a connection with this device. Once connected, you will be able to ring your phone with the card, or ring your card with your phone.

Size

As you can imagine, this design is the size of a credit card. It measures to be .1 inch thick (one of the thinnest designs out there on the market), and 3.3 inches long and 2.1 inches wide.

Value

The bad news here is that the price tag of this design makes it one of the most expensive options out there on the market, and can sometimes cost double the amount of some of the more affordable options.

Overall

For those that want something that is going to be able to fit easily into their wallet right where a credit card would go, this is going to be one of your best options if you are willing to pay the higher price point.

6. Calerix

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
 Calerix
Style
85
Connectivity
84
Ease of Use
80
Size
82
Value
81
best offer for today
$16.85
Pros:

Affordable

The app is easy to use

Color options available

Cons:

Some users found that it sometimes will shot off on its own

What we found out about this design from Calerix is that users find that it is incredibly easy to set up, and it does a great job and keeping tabs on your belongings. This model is updated from the previous iteration to make it ringer louder and the battery will last longer.

Read more

Style

Users will have the option to select from three different color options that include black, red, and white. It has a loop on one of the corners to allow users to loop it on a backpack dog leash or keys, but it doesn’t come with a chain included with purchase.

Connectivity

The range for this design is pretty par for the course. Whether you are indoors or outdoors, the range on this design will reach just under 100 feet.

Ease of use

To get started, you will need to download the app (which users seem generally pleased with), and then go into the settings on your phone and link the device with your phone- you should only need to do this once.

Size

What we found about this option is that it is quite bigger and bulkier than many of the slimmer options that we have seen. It measures to be .6 inches thick (a little too bulky for a wallet), and 2.7 inches long and 2.7 inches wide.

Value

The good news here is that it comes in at a really affordable price point. In fact, this might be one of the most affordable options out there on the market.

Overall

For users that want something that is going to be more affordable, but still offered a pretty decent range with a simple and user-friendly design, this is a great selection.

7. MADETEC

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
MADETEC
Style
83
Connectivity
80
Ease of Use
78
Size
79
Value
85
best offer for today
$18.59
Pros:

Easy to use

Small design

Affordable

Cons:

Has a shorter range than the norm

Sometimes spontaneously drops the connection

Sleek, simple, and small- this design hits all of the marks that users would want from one of these products. The only downside that we have found with this option is that it just doesn’t quite have the range as many of the other products out there.

Read more

Style

This design is only offered in two lighter color options that include white and a light gray. One thing that users really like about this option is that it comes with a chain included that will allow you to attach it to just about anything.

Connectivity

As we mentioned before, this design falls a little short in the connectivity department. It is only about to achieve a max range of about 66 feet indoors and about 164 feet outdoors.

Ease of use

Users will first need to download the app in order to use this product. To connect it to your phone, go into the settings and look for this device under wireless connectivity- you should only have to do this once.

Size

This unit is slim and sleek and measures only about .3 inches thick- which is going to make it ideal for wallets, and it is also 1.5 inches wide and 1.5 inches long.

Value

One thing that we liked most about this design is that it is offered at a really affordable price point. While it isn’t the most inexpensive design that we have seen, it is certainly going to save you a little bit of money.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is quite affordable, and that is going to be something that is easy to use, we think this design from MADETEC is going to do a great job at keeping track of your stuff.

8. Bari

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78
Bari
Style
81
Connectivity
74
Ease of Use
76
Size
79
Value
80
best offer for today
$12.99
Pros:

Incredibly affordable

Easy to use

Small and compact

Cons:

Limited range

Perhaps you are a bit of a skeptic on whether these products are actually going to be of any use to you. If that’s the case- this incredibly affordable option from Bari is going to be worth checking out.

Read more

Style

This design is only offered in a basic white frame that is accented with blue edging around the button as well as blue letters for the logo on the front. Included with purchase is an additional key chain as well as an extra battery.

Connectivity

The range on this device is a little lacking when you compare it to other more expensive designs that we have seen. Whether you are indoors or outdoors, this design has a maximum range of about 80 feet.

Ease of use

Users will first need to download the appropriate app from the Google play store in order to use this device. Once the app is installed, you need to simply pair the device to your phone, and you can achieve this by going into connection settings in your phone.

Size

This design is exactly as big as the Tile option found at the top of our list. It measures to be just .2 inches thick, 1.4 inches long and 1.4 inches wide.

Value

As we mentioned before, the absolute best part of this design is that it is offered at a really affordable price point, and it the absolute lowest priced design that we have seen.

Overall

Considering the incredibly low price point, this design from Bari is an excellent choice if you wanted to give these devices a try but you didn’t want to spend too much money.

9. BCKAKQA

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.8
BCKAKQA
Style
77
Connectivity
73
Ease of Use
70
Size
76
Value
78
best offer for today
$11.99
Pros:

Small and compact

Very affordable

Cons:

Some feel that the app is confusing to use

Sure, you may not be able to pronounce the name of this design, but you may be more willing to try when you discover how affordable it is. We liked this design because it comes in at an incredibly affordable price point, and it offers some unique features.

Read more

Style

This design is offered in three different color options that include the standard white and black, and it is also offered in unique pastel orange.

Connectivity

One impressive thing about this design is that it has a range that it is capable to reach up to 164 feet, which is pretty impressive when you consider how affordable it is. One thing we really liked about this design is that it has a separation alarm so that if you pull out of the driveway without your phone, the device will alert you.

Ease of use

To use this device, you will need to download the corresponding app from the app store. Once the app is downloaded, simply connect the device to your phone by selecting on a list under connectivity settings on your phone.

Size

We liked that this design is very small and compact. It measures to be just .24 inches thick, 1.42 inches wide, and 1.42 inches long.

Value

As we mentioned before, we love that this design is offered at one of the most affordable price-points out there on the market, while still offering users a few unique features you may not see in other designs.

Overall

If you wanted to give one of these products a try, but you are reluctant to pay the higher price tag on one of the big name options, this is an excellent place to start that won’t break the bank.

10. Rinex

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.6
Rinex
Style
70
Connectivity
71
Ease of Use
75
Size
77
Value
80
best offer for today
$19.74
Pros:

Easy to use

Sleek LED lights on the front

Cons:

Limited signal strength

We liked this option from Rinex because it comes in fun and bright color options. This design offers users all of the features that they would want from one of these products, but it is a bit lacking in the range department.

Read more

Style

Our favorite feature about this design is that it is offered on color options that include orange, green, and white. It also has a sleek LED light around the button that offers a little bit of extra style but can wear down the battery quicker than those that do not have lights.

Connectivity

There is no indication of the range of this product in the product description, which we found a little suspect. Looking into user reviews, we found that many users felt that this design had an indoor range of about 20 feet, and anything over 20 meant that it would drop and regain connection frequently.

Ease of use

To set up this design, you will first need to download the app to get up and running. Once the app is downloaded to your phone, you will then need to connect the device to your phone under the connection settings.

Size

This unit is about average compared to most of the other slim designs out there, but it is just a tad thicker. It measures to be 1.4 inches long, 1.4 inches wide, and about .3 inches thick.

Value

The cost of this unit is pretty average. It isn’t the most expensive design out there on the market, but it also isn’t the least expensive as well.

Overall

If you are looking for something that comes in fun colors and is going to be a little easier to use and navigate, this is going to be a great selection.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

Since it is something that is going to hang off of your keychain or purse, we wanted to make sure that we found something that is going to look good.

We were drawn to designs that allowed the user to select from a variety of different colors. Colors not only add a little bit of style but if you are buying more that one unit they also will help to keep organized. Looks aren’t the only thing that we looked at regarding the frames of these devices, we also made sure that it was equipped to be carried a variety of ways. For instance, many designs have a loop on one of the corners that would allow for a chain to be pulled through so that you could attach it to a purse of a suitcase (and some companies even offer the chain with purchase). If a design doesn’t have that loop, it means that you are going to have a little bit of trouble when it comes to fastening it to your gear.

Connectivity

Another thing that we considered was how far you could wander off before your phone loses connection with your device.

For many, the range varied from impressive to very minimal. On the higher end of the scale, users could wander about 120-180 feet from their phone before the signal would drop. On the shorter end, users will only be able to travel up to 20 feet before they have trouble finding a signal. It is important to note that there is going to be a difference in ranges depending upon whether you are inside or whether you are outside. Indoor ranges typically cap out at about 100 feet, while outdoor ranges can reach distances of up to 200 feet on some of the higher end designs. If you live in a tiny apartment in the city, you might not need to worry at all about the various ranges of these devices at all, and therefore can settle for a more affordable option.

Ease of Use

Everyone like a product that is able to be removed from the box and set up without the need of consulting an instruction manual and that is precisely what we looked for.

We wanted to select designs that were going to be able to be set up in a snap and would be pretty easy to use on the regular. One way to ensure that it would be easy to use was to look for an associated app. Typically when companies utilize an app to work their products, it means that there is going to be a designated interface that users can interact with, and that it is going to be far easier to control than dealing with the setup menu in your phone. Another thing that we kept our eye on when it came to these products is we took a look at what past users had to say. If there were an overwhelming number of users that felt a device was too complicated (or stubborn) to sync to their phone, we typically moved on to the next product.

Size

Size is going to determine where you are going to be able to place this product, whether it be inside of a wallet or on a keychain.

For the most part, these devices are pretty small. On average, they measure to be about .2 inches thick, and just over one inch long and one inch wide. Thickness is something that you want to consider because there are a lot of users that like to tuck these products into their wallets or into very small slit pockets in their gear or purses. Anything over .2 inches is going to be just a little bit too bulky to fit inside of your wallet. Small and compact is good, but for some, it doesn’t always mean that it is better. It is important to keep in mind that larger objects are easier to see, and often they are able to produce much louder sounds. If you need something that is really going to make sure that your keys are never lost ever again, bigger might actually be better in that case.

Value

We wanted to be able to save you a little bit of money when we could, but we didn’t want to select designs that weren’t going to be effective.

The good news here is that even some of the big name products (such as Tile) come in at a really affordable price point. A lot of the better values for many of these products often come when users buy a pack of more than one. If you need something for the family, or you just need to keep tabs on everything that you own, buying in bulk, in this case, is going to save you quite a bit of money. On average, one singular device is going to set you back around the same amount that you would spend on a large take out pizza. On the lower end of the price scale, some units will only set you back the same amount you would spend on a few cups of coffee. It is important to keep in mind, however, that the more affordable options often don’t have the same range as some of the more expensive options.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Connectivity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Connectivity

The range that you are going to be able to move away from your phone while still maintaining a connection to your device is what we mean by connectivity. A good range when looking at these devices caps out at around 200 feet outdoors, or just shy of 100 feet indoors. If you live in a small apartment, the range may not be something that is going to be all that important to you, so you could get away with buying a more affordable option that has a shorter range.

Ease of use

Apps are going to make or break the ease that you are going to be able to access your device. Connecting it to your phone is going to be a simple journey into your settings, but the app is where all of the action happens. If you are reluctant to purchase a product because you are unsure about the app attached to it- download it before you buy! These apps are almost always free, and you can navigate the interface to see if it is going to be a good fit for you.

Value

The best piece of advice that we can give when deciding upon a device is that you are going to save the most amount of money when you buy in bulk. If you are buying this device for your family, be sure to buy all of the devices that you need at the same time to maximize your savings.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why do I need one?

a:

When your wallet, keys, and phone are all in one place- everything is right in the world. The moment that one of those three ends up missing- it can send your day spiraling into chaos. You likely have a way of finding your phone- whether it be via a smartwatch, tablet, or computer, but what do you do about your non-connected devices such as car keys or your wallet? These little devices are a great way of creating an invisible bridge between all of your important personal belongings and your phone. They are the perfect companion for those that are constantly losing things, and they can make a really great gift! If you have a friend or a family member that is constantly late, this device is a really great gift- especially if they are someone that is impossible to shop for!

q: Is it going to be something that is difficult to set up?

a:

If you have a smartphone and very basic knowledge of how to navigate in the settings and connect wireless devices- these are going to be a snap to set up. To get it up and running out of the box, you will need to be able to pair it with your phone. To do this, simply head into general settings on your phone, and look for the drop down menu for wireless devices. Be sure that your little device is turned on, and it will show up on the drop-down menu. Select the device on the drop-down menu- and you are (almost) ready to go! To finish setup, you will likely need to download an app from the app store that allows you to be able to communicate with your devices, as well as utilize all of its additional features.

q: Does it offer live tracking?

a:

You might have noticed that these devices are able to give you mapped coordinates of the location of your device. It is important to note that this isn’t a live indication of where your device is at any given moment. What this mapped image is showing you is the last record position of your device. Let’s say that you are having dinner at a restaurant, and your phone and wallet are in the same place at the same time. Your device will make occasional records of your location while in the same proximity of your phone. Now, let's say that you leave the restaurant with your phone, but leave your wallet at the restaurant. The following day, as you get ready to leave, you notice that you cannot find your wallet anywhere. In this case, you can open your app and it will tell you that the last recorded place that your wallet was at the restaurant the previous night. There are some devices out there on the market that offer live tracking, but this feature is often offered at a much higher price point or requires some type of monthly subscription.

q: Can they be used on anything else other than keys?

a:

If it is something that can be lost, these devices are going to be great to help you find them. Sure, they are advertised as being something that is used to help find wallets and keys, but that doesn't mean you can’t get creative with them. We noticed that some users have found a myriad of ways to make their lives easier and less stressful with these products. For instance, if you have a ghost of a cat that likes to hide in the most peculiar places, popping of these lightweight units onto their collar will help you find them easily. Once absolutely ingenious way we saw them being used was on luggage. Searching for your luggage on a carousel at the airport or on the sidewalk from a bus trip can be frustrating (especially if you travel with that basic black bag like everyone else). The popping of these devices may help you gain a general direction of your suitcase before you even see it!

q: Do I need a smartphone in order to use it?

a:

The downside here is that yes- you are going to need to have a smartphone to be able to use them because almost all of them require the use of an app. That means that if you are buying them as a gift for your older and forgetful parents that are still rocking a landline and carrier pigeons as their primary source of communication, these are going to be a little less than ideal. However, they can still be helpful if you have a tablet that is able to download apps or a computer such as a Chromebook that offer app extensions that hook up to your home’s wifi. This method isn’t going to be of much help once you have left the house, but it will really help those that often leave their keys in strange places like the vegetable crisper in the refrigerator.

q: How does it work?

a:

Each device offers a special wireless signature that communicates to your phone. This means that only the phone that is paired with each device will be able to communicate. When you lose your keys, pressing the ‘find’ button on the app will send a signal to the base that tells it to produce a sound or alarm to help you find it. Plus, you won’t really need to worry about the constant communication between devices draining your battery, because almost all styles out there on the market use something called Bluetooth Low Energy.