to top 10 table

Best Aquabike

last updated Apr 12, 2019

If we were able to train on the moon- our tendons and joints would be so incredibly happy! While we can’t train on the moon just yet, water is going to be the next best thing. Whether you are looking for a good recovery workout in between cycling days, or you just want to work your muscles in a safe and low impact way- an aquabike is going to be a great tool for you. We love these products because they are built exactly like your land bound stationary bikes, but have a lightweight and simple frame to make loading them in and out of the water incredibly easy, and are make with materials that will be unaffected by constant exposure to water. In this guide you will find some of our favorite picks for aquabikes to keep your strength high and your joints protected.

This is the best product on our list that is currently in stock:

icon
Tidalwave
84/100 our score
Style
87
Adjustability
86
Materials
85
Weight
82
Value
80
Tidalwave
Why is it better?

Folding design for easy storage

Easy to adjust resistance and seat settings

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Tidalwave
Test Winner: Tidalwave
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
20
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Adjustability Materials Weight Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Style
97 %
Adjustability
95 %
Materials
93 %
Weight
89 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.09.19)
Amazon Link
$1,333.29
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Style
90 %
Adjustability
91 %
Materials
88 %
Weight
89 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.09.19)
Amazon Link
$1,400.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Style
86 %
Adjustability
89 %
Materials
90 %
Weight
88 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.09.19)
Amazon Link
$499.97
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Style
87 %
Adjustability
86 %
Materials
85 %
Weight
82 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.09.19)
Amazon Link
$2,350.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Style
87 %
Adjustability
80 %
Materials
83 %
Weight
86 %
Value
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.09.19)
Amazon Link
$1,565.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Style
85 %
Adjustability
86 %
Materials
84 %
Weight
79 %
Value
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.09.19)
Amazon Link
$1,108.73
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
Style
80 %
Adjustability
76 %
Materials
86 %
Weight
84 %
Value
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.09.19)
Amazon Link
$1,350.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.2
Style
79 %
Adjustability
81 %
Materials
80 %
Weight
76 %
Value
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.09.19)
Amazon Link
$988.10
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.4
Style
78 %
Adjustability
79 %
Materials
74 %
Weight
76 %
Value
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.09.19)
Amazon Link
$2,100.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.6
Style
80 %
Adjustability
81 %
Materials
84 %
Weight
68 %
Value
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.09.19)
Amazon Link
$2,455.00

Top 10 Picks

1. WIKE-UP Performance

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
WIKE-UP Performance
Amazon Link
Style
97
Adjustability
95
Materials
93
Weight
89
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,333.29
Pros:

Affordable

Lightweight

Made from marine grade aluminum

Cons:

Buckles can be a little difficult to adjust once it is in the water

The reason that we selected this design as our top pick is because it is one of the lightest and compact options out there on the market. That means tossing it into the pool is going to be incredibly easy, and it is made from high quality materials that are going to hold up over time.

Read more

Style

This design is offered in a bright red or bright blue frame option. It has a slender seat that is able to be adjusted with just the flick of a lever, and pedals with adjustable straps that are going to keep your feet from slipping.

Adjustability

Suction cups of the base of the unit provide a stable base to the bottom of the pool, so even those that are a little unsteady on their feet in the water will be able to hop on without worrying about it tipping over. Once you have buckled your feet into the straps, grab onto the long handlebars and start your workout. It also has an adjustable resistance system that will allow you to increase the intensity of your ride.

Materials

The frame of this unit is made from a rust-resistant marine grade aluminum which means that you will be able to take this in and out of the water without worrying about the unit rusting and becoming weak. The straps on the pedals are made from strong nylon, and are held in place with plastic buckles.

Weight

One of the best features about this product is that it is one of the lightest options out there on the market. It only weighs about 33 pounds, making it easy to lift up and out of the pool when you are finished.

Value

Another great feature of this design is that it comes in at one of the more affordable price points that we have seen out there on the market. The price tag on these units can get quite high, but this one falls within the realm of affordability.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is light, compact, made from high-quality materials, and comes in at a price that isn’t going to break the bank- this design is going to be an excellent tool in your recovery or training.

2. Fitmax Professional

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Fitmax Professional
Amazon Link
Style
90
Adjustability
91
Materials
88
Weight
89
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,400.00
Pros:

Made from marine grade stainless steel

Users can adjust resistance while in use

Carbon fiber seat

Incredibly stylish

Cons:

Hard and slender seat can be uncomfortable for some

Heavier than most

Expensive

What we liked most about the Professional model from Fitmax is that it is made tough for hard workouts. It allows users to adjust the resistance even while it is in use, and it is made from incredibly strong materials that aren’t phased by water.

Read more

Style

The style of this unit is pretty sharp, and looks like a bike you would find on a space shuttle. It has a thin silver frame with short curved handlebars (with no rubber grips), and a long and slender seat that may be a little less comfortable than other designs.

Adjustability

One of the great things about this model is that changing the resistance is simple and easy. For most, you have to completely stop pedaling in order to raise or lower the resistance, and there are even some that require you to get off completely. With this design, there is a level between the seat and the handlebars that users can tighten or loosen without even slowing down.

Materials

This design is made from an impressive marine grade stainless steel that not only looks sharp, but it is going to be one of the more durable materials that you can find in a frame. The handlebars don’t have any rubber grips, which can get a little slippery, and the carbon fiber seat is can also get a little slippery and uncomfortable.

Weight

The weight of this unit is a little bit heavier than most considering that it is made from a solid stainless steel frame. It weighs in at just over 50 pounds, which may make lugging it in and out of the pool a workout in and of itself.

Value

The cost of this design is one of the more expensive options out there- but it is far from being the most expensive. Considering that the frame is made from one of the toughest and strongest materials out there on the market, we feel this is an excellent value.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is going to be able to stand the test of time, even when constantly submerged in water, this is going to be one of your better options. Users love the performance of this model, and how it helps them get in an excellent workout to build muscle safely.

3. Akonza

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Akonza
Amazon Link
Style
86
Adjustability
89
Materials
90
Weight
88
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$499.97
Pros:

Affordable

Lightweight- makes it easy to take in and out of the pool

Cons:

No way to adjust resistance

Some users found the pedals tend to fall off while in use

The best part about this design from Akonza is that is it the most affordable option out there on the market. It has a small and simple frame that isn’t going to allow for a lot of adjustments like some of the higher end designs, but it will still get the job of strengthening those muscles done with ease.

Read more

Style

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this design from Akonza. It is a little smaller and more compact than other designs, which means it will take up less room in your pool. It is only offered with a silver frame that is accented with bright yellow pedals.

Adjustability

Adjusting the handlebars and seat works the same way you would adjust weight equipment in the gym. It has a series of holes along the pole that you can move up and down on a track, and then screw in a pin to hold it in place.

Materials

The frame of this unit is made from basic stainless steel that has a rust-resistant coating. Screws, pedals, grips on the handlebars, and the seat are all made from a smooth plastic that has a tendency to get a little slippery, but holds up well with continued use.

Weight

This is one of the slightly lighter options out there on the market, weighing in at just 36 pounds. This is going to make it just slightly easier to lug it in and out of the pool.

Value

Our favorite feature about this design is that it is offered at one of the most affordable price points out there on the market. It might not have all of the same bells and whistles as other brands, and the materials are lacking slightly, but it is going to save you a lot of money.

Overall

For those that are looking for something simple that is going to get the job done, while being offered at an incredibly affordable price, this is going to be one of your best options.

4. Tidalwave

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Tidalwave
Amazon Link
Style
87
Adjustability
86
Materials
85
Weight
82
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$2,350.00
Pros:

Folding design for easy storage

Easy to adjust resistance and seat settings

Cons:

Very expensive

Heavy

While other designs that we have seen have basic styles that you would find on land bound bikes, this option from Tidalwave has a frame that was specifically designed to be used in the water. While it is one of the most expensive options out there on the market, the smart design and high quality make it well worth the padded price tag.

Read more

Style

Users are going to be able to select from three brightly frames that include pink, yellow, and green. It has a longer frame that offers a higher seat and handlebars that could stick up out of the water if placed in shallow waters.

Adjustability

One of the great things about this model is that it has a V frame design that can actually be folded up when not in use. The pedals have wide buckles that will keep feet securely in place, and you will be able to adjust the pedals and the seat, as well as resistance levels.

Materials

This unit is constructed from high-quality stainless steel with a shiny powder coat finish that is going to be resistant to rusting and becoming weakened over time.

Weight

The bad news about this design is that while it folds up flat for easy storage, it is quite a bit heavier than many similar designs. It weighs in at about 55 pounds, which will make taking it in and out of the pool a little difficult.

Value

We hope you are sitting down, because the cost of this unit is almost double that of the higher end options that made out this list. While this price tag is a little shocking, we feel that it is still a great value when you consider the innovative styling and high-quality materials.

Overall

If you are willing to spare no expense to get the very best design that money can buy, this is going to be one of your better options. It may cost a pretty penny, but it is going to be a really great tool to help you build strength.

5. POOLBIKING Evolution

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
POOLBIKING Evolution
Amazon Link
Style
87
Adjustability
80
Materials
83
Weight
86
Value
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,565.00
Pros:

Easy to make adjustments

Made from high quality materials

Cons:

Slightly expensive

Heavy frame

POOLBIKING is a name that you are going to see quite a lot with these products, because they provide users with a wide variety of styles that are made to suit very specific fitness needs. The Evolutions is great because it is small and compact, but provides users with a lot of features that are convenient and helpful.

Read more

Style

This design is only offered in a sleek silver frame that is accented with bright blue pedals with red buckles. One thing that we noticed that it had that others didn’t was that it had a water bottle holder in the middle of the handlebars. It might seem like a strange addition to something you use in water, but it can come in quite handy in the middle of a rough workout.

Adjustability

What’s great about the Evolution model is that you will have the control to adjust pretty much everything. There are two adjustment knobs on the bottom of the unit to change the height from the floor, or to even stagger the height. There are also two knobs you can use to adjust the handlebars as well as the seat.

Materials

The materials used to construct this product are incredibly strong and durable. The frame is composed of AISI 316L stainless steel that is electropolished with a protective coating to prevent wear and rust.

Weight

The weight of this design is pretty heavy, but it is far from being one of the heaviest designs that we have seen. Weighing in at just over 48 pounds, it is going to be a little bit of a struggle lifting it up and out of the pool.

Value

As far as price is concerned, this design is just priced slightly above average. It isn’t the most expensive design out there on the market, but it isn’t the most affordable as well.

Overall

For those that are looking for something that is going to be easy to use to provide a really great workout while in the pool, this is a really solid choice that is going to hold up quite well over the years.

6. Fitmax Hydrospin Lite

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Fitmax Hydrospin Lite
Amazon Link
Style
85
Adjustability
86
Materials
84
Weight
79
Value
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,108.73
Pros:

Easy to adjust

Cushioned seat and handlebars

Cons:

Slightly expensive

Heavy

If comfort is something that is important to you on those long rides in the pool, this is an option that is worth a look. Users like that it has a seat and handlebars that are a little more cushioned than most, and the smart pedals are going to give you a slightly more challenging workout.

Read more

Style

This unit is offered in a darker gray frame with red and blue accents on the wheel, pedals, and handlebars. What users like most about this design is that the seat and the handlebars are coated in a soft rubber that makes it more comfortable and less slippery when wet.

Adjustability

You are going to be able to adjust this device in a myriad of ways that are going to suit your physical needs. The pedals and the handlebar can be raised or lowered as you see fit by simply pulling up on a lever, positioning the bar, and clamping the lever back down in place.

Materials

Fitmax claims that their products are made from such high-quality materials that you will be able to leave this unit in the pool 24/7. The frame is made from marine grade SS316L stainless steel that is going to stay strong and won’t rust no matter how long you leave it in the water.

Weight

The weight of this unit runs pretty par for the course. It weighs in at just over 46 pounds, which means when you do want to take it out of the pool, it going to be pretty heavy.

Value

One thing that we liked about this design is that while it is made from high-quality materials and sports an innovative design, it doesn’t have a price tag that is going to knock your socks off. It’s not one of the more affordable options out there, but we feel that it is offered at a great price point considering the quality.

Overall

For those that are looking for something incredibly solid and well made, and are willing to pay just a little bit extra to get there, this designs from Fitmax is going to be an excellent tool for your fitness goals.

7. POOLBIKING ONE

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
POOLBIKING ONE
Amazon Link
Style
80
Adjustability
76
Materials
86
Weight
84
Value
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,350.00
Pros:

Made from really high quality materials

Cons:

Expensive

No way to manually adjust resistance

This design might seem very similar to POOLBIKING’s Evolution model, but there are slight differences that make this design just a little bit different. One noticeable difference is that it is priced to a little bit more affordable, but doesn’t have as many of the features.

Read more

Style

This unit is offered in a bright silver frame that is accented with red and blue pedals, and a solid black seat. One thing users really like about this design is that the seat is a lot more cushioned than other POOLBIKING designs, which will provide you a more comfortable ride.

Adjustability

Users will only be able to adjust the resistance of the pedals by increasing their speed. The faster that you pedal, the more resistance you accumulate. What users like about this design is that it is simple and t is easy to adjust the height of the seat as well as the position of the handlebars.

Materials

As always with POOLBIKING products, this is constructed of some really tough materials. The frame is made from stainless steel that is considered to be marine grade, so you can leave it in the pool and not have to worry.

Weight

The weight of this unit is just slightly lighter than some of the other designs in this line, but only by a few pounds. It weighs in at about 45 pounds, which will be just a little difficult to lift up out of the pool.

Value

The cost of this design is expensive, but it is considered to be one of the more affordable options in the POOLBIKING line. If you are looking for something from this brand to give a try, this is going to be one of your better options.

Overall

We liked this design because it’s simple, easy to use, and small and compact. It might not have all of the bells and whistles as some of the other designs, but it does a great job at allowing you to get a great workout.

8. WIKE-UP Fitness

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.2
WIKE-UP Fitness
Amazon Link
Style
79
Adjustability
81
Materials
80
Weight
76
Value
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$988.10
Pros:

Incredibly lightweight

Easy to adjust the seat

Cons:

No resistance options available

Users can only move the seat up and down

Expensive

If you have spent all of your time strengthening your lower body, and your upper body has the power of a couple of wet noodles- this is going to be your best option. It is considered to be one of the lightest designs out there on the market, so lugging it in and out of the pool will be easy- even with your noodle arms!

Read more

Style

This design is offered in a lot of fun colors options that include bright white, yellow, pink, blue, purple, and gray. Users love that is has a soft and comfortable seat as well as handlebars with soft rubber grips for an easy ride.

Adjustability

To make adjustments, users will simply need to pull down the handle on the bottom of the seat to adjust it up and down, and then snap it back into place. The bad news about this design is the seat is the only thing that users will be able to change.

Materials

Due to the fact that this model is so light, it is made from aluminum instead of stainless steel. WIKE-UP uses marine grade aluminum that they guarantee will not rust no matter how long that it is left in the water.

Weight

The best feature about this design is that it is made from super light materials that make it one of the lightest options out there on the market, weighing in at just 18 pounds!

Value

The cost of this unit is a little more expensive than some of the similar designs out there, but we feel that the quality of materials used as well as the super light frame for easy handling makes it well worth the higher price point.

Overall

If you need something that is going to be lightweight and easy to lug in and out of the pool, but still offers you superior quality and style, this is going to be one of your better options.

9. HYDRORIDER PRO FIX

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.4
HYDRORIDER PRO FIX
Amazon Link
Style
78
Adjustability
79
Materials
74
Weight
76
Value
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$2,100.00
Pros:

Made from marine grade materials

Easily adjusted

Cons:

Very expensive

If you are willing to spare no expense when it comes to your fitness gear, the HYDRORIDER PRO FIX is the Cadillac of this list. It provides users with all of the adjustments and features they will need. The only downside is that it comes in at a point that is over double that of even some of the higher end designs.

Read more

Style

This design is a lot more sleek and slim than other designs out there on the market. It is only offered in a basic light silver color, and is accented by while bumpers on the base and a black seat.

Adjustability

Users love the multitude of ways that this device is able to be adjusted. You will have the power to change the height of the entire unit by adjusting the bottom arms, and you can also change the height of the seat and handlebars as well.

Materials

This unit is made from really high-quality materials that are going to hold up quite well even if you leave it in the water. The frame is composed of stainless steel that is considered to be marine grade.

Weight

The weight of this design runs about in the middle of the road. Weighing in at about 48 pounds, this isn’t the heaviest design out there on the market, but it is far from being the lightest.

Value

We hope you are sitting down, because the cost of this unit packs quite the price tag, and will set you back about double the amount of similar designs. However, when you consider the professional grade of style and materials, this may be worth the extra cost.

Overall

For those that are serious about their training and are willing to spare no expense to reach their fitness goals, this device is going to be an excellent tool to help you get there if you are willing to pay the extra cost.

10. POOLBIKING Ibiza

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.6
POOLBIKING Ibiza
Amazon Link
Style
80
Adjustability
81
Materials
84
Weight
68
Value
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$2,455.00
Pros:

Large wheels on back make it easy to move

Easy to adjust

Cons:

Very heavy

Incredibly expensive

What we liked about the Ibiza style is that is lives somewhere in between a bike and an elliptical. This design is going to work great at providing you a well-rounded workout and stronger muscles without wreaking havoc on your joints.

Read more

Style

As with any POOLBIKING style, this unit is only offered in the basic silver model with red and blue pedals and a black seat. What makes this design a little bit different is that it has pretty large wheels along the back to make transporting and lifting just a little bit easier.

Adjustability

The great thing about this model is that users will have the ability to adjust it to be taller by raising the bottom pins, and they can also adjust the seat and the handlebars as well.

Materials

Made from a marine grade stainless steel, this design is made to hold up quite well in all types of conditions- whether it is freshwater, chlorinated water, or even salt water.

Weight

Clocking in at a whopping 60 pounds, this is one of the heaviest units out there on the market. However, the addition of the large wheels along the backside makes moving this beast around just a little easier.

Value

The bad news about this easy design is that it comes in at one of the most expensive price points of any of the other options out there on the market. However, we do consider this unit a good value if you take into consideration the sturdy frame and innovative design features.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is going to be a little more versatile than most, and will provide users with a sturdy machine that will hold up over time, this is an excellent option from a trusted brand.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

When we considered style, we looked at a lot more than just how it looks.

Let’s face it, the look of the frame isn’t going to be all that important because while it is in use- it is going to be submerged in water! So, the styling of the frame from an aesthetic standpoint wasn’t at the top of our priority list. What we did look at, however, was the style of seat as well as the handlebars, and how the shape of the frame was going to benefit your workout. The seat is one of the big issues that we considered. The seats that are provided on most designs are not going to be soft and squishy like the seat on your land bike. This is because soft and squishy seats are going to absorb more water and wear out quickly, and because you simply do not need that much padding when you are underwater. However, there still is such a thing as a seat that is uncomfortable. We found that narrow seats were typically regarded better because it allowed the users to shift their weight or even stand up if they needed without the seat getting in the way. Handlebars are also something that we considered. Most of these designs have bars that are high enough to stick up out of the water. Features that we looked at were things like water bottle holders and grooved plastic handles for a surefire grip.

Adjustability

We also took into consideration how well you were going to be able to adjust it.

Not all body types are all created equal, which is why you want something that you are going to be able to shift up and down. The best gear we found were designs that had four points of adjustments- two on the base and two on the top. Most of the designs that we found had the basic method of adjustment that you would find in most gyms- the long arm with holes held in place by a central screw. These methods are the most common, but they are not the easiest to shift. Our favorite design for adjustments is the crank. To make your adjustments, simply flick up the crank, pull up your seat to the desired height, and the flick the crank back down into position. This method is going to be ideal for those with weaker hands.

Materials

For something that works when submerged in water- it is going to need to me made from some pretty strong materials.

We wanted to make sure that we selected designs that are constructed from materials that won’t rust. Once a device begins to rust, it will soon spread and weaken the entire system. One of the best materials we found that is going to hold up over time and not rust is marine grade stainless steel. Hands down, stainless steel is the material that you want for the frame of your device. However, the downside to stainless steel is that it is going to make your product incredibly heavy. If you want to select something that is going to be a lot lighter and also rust resistant, marine grade aluminum is going to be your second best option. While aluminum is going to be a lot lighter and easier to handle than stainless steel, it is considered to be just a little less durable.

Weight

We have mentioned it a few times before, but weight is something that you want to keep an eye on because these devices are meant to move.

Unlike your elliptical that you put in your bedroom that quickly turned into a coat rack and will most likely be sold right where it is with your house- you are actually going to be able to lift this unit up and move it. From what we could gather, the heaviest design weighed in at about 60 pounds, but it also had a small set of wheels that make it easier to move. We wanted to ensure that we select designs that were going to be able to be accessible to everyone. The average weight of these devices is around 50 pounds, with some being a little higher and some being a little less. The lightest design we found out there weighs just 18 pounds- but that still is pretty heavy if you are not used to lifting heavy things. If you want something that is going to be easier to move, be sure that the design that you land on has wheels!

Value

Of course, we want to save you a little bit of money when we can without sacrificing quality.

The bad news here is that there are very few designs that one could classify as inexpensive. Most of the designs out there on the market carry quite the hefty price tag- even the more affordable options. We wanted to make sure that we selected designs that ranged the entire price spectrum- from the affordable to the expensive. However, we did discover that there were few differences between the extremely expensive and those that ran in the middle of the roads in terms of price. Both options were typically made from stainless steel, and they all sported very similar frame designs with the same level of adjustments. The more affordable options were typically made from less quality materials that would break, and they also didn’t come with the same level of features and adjustments as the higher end models.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Weight
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Style

Seats and handlebars are going to be something that you are going to want to take a good look at. While most of the seats are made from hard plastic, there are some designs out there that use a nonporous but soft plastic that will provide a soft ride. Keep in mind, however, that you are going to need as much padding under the water as you do on top.

Adjustability

For superior adjustability, you need to look further than simply the seat or the handlebars. Adjustments at the bottom of the unit are great because this is going to raise or lower the whole device, which may be impartivie when faced with a deep for shallow body of water.

Weight

How much a price of workout equipment weighs typically isn't something worth worrying about, because you will just need to set it up and leave it there until the end of time. However, these products are going to be on the move, and you are going to need to be able to lift them up and out of the water after ever workout. If you aren't working with a lot of upper body strength, we recommend ensuring that you select a device that has wheels to make your life easier.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What are some of the benefits of using these products?

a:

Running or cycling on planet earth can be murder on your joints and tendons. With every step or cycle, the earth is trying desperately to pull you back to the surface, and that’s where joint damage comes into play. An excellent way to give your joints a break is to conduct your daily workouts on the moon. Unfortunately, there are no gyms open on the moon, and even if there were- there are no bus lines that will take to there. THe next best thing to working out on the moon, however, is to conduct your workouts underwater. By submerging your body, there is going to be no pull from gravity impacting your joints, and you will be able to effectively build muscle while giving you bones a break.

q: Can I leave them in the pool full time?

a:

While many companies claim that their products can be stored in a body of water full time, we have discovered otherwise. Many people that use these products do not suggest that you leave them in the pool full time. Most units are designed with marine quality materials, but keeping them in the water for incredibly long periods means that you are shortening it’s lifespan- even if only slightly. These products typically do not come at a low price point, so it is always going to be in your best interest to err on the side of caution to help protect your investment.

q: Will they damage the bottom of my pool?

a:

The good news here is that almost all of the products we have researched and placed on our list have been designed that they will not harm the bottoms of pools that are made from materials such as tile, cenement, or PVC. They achieve this by placing rubber bumpers along the bottom points. Some designs even use a series of suction cups to not only keep it in place, but to also prevent it from moving around too much and running the risk of scuffing the bottom of your pool.

q: How deep does the water need to be?

a:

You might assume that the entire unit needs to be submerged in order to reap the highest benefits, but that simply isn’t the case. Typically, you will only need about 3-5 feet of water, and you might be able to get away with even less if you adjust the height setting on you device to the lowest setting. What you are looking for is to ensure that the lower half of your body is completely submerged in water. Many devices use long and exaggerated handlebars that stick up and out of the water to keep your grip firm.

q: Who can benefit the most from these types of products?

a:

While it is never a bad idea for even the most hardcore athlete to give their joints a break every once in a while, these products are geared more towards those that are recovering from a set back or an injury. There is nothing worse that suffering some type of injury while training- such as a sprained ankle or pulled muscle. A small set back can turn into a huge valley if you decide to tackle your healing with a Netflix marathon on your couch. Just because you are down doesn’t mean that you are out- you just need to be smarter about training. Using one of these products inside of a pool will keep your muscles engage and strong, and you will be able to get a pretty tough workout in while you are waiting to get back to 100 percent. These types of products are also perfect for those that want to start a workout routine but that want to start slow, or for older folks that want to ease back into a workout routine without worrying about injury.

q: Are they hard to get in and out of the water?

a:

We aren’t going to sugar coat it here- they can be a bit of a pain to lug in and out of the water. Most people leave their unit in the water until they need to clean their pool- but we don’t recommend that because it is going to shorten the lifespan of your product. If carting it in and out of the water is going to be a problem for you with the models that are 45 pounds and up, there are a few solutions that you can consider. The WIKE-UP Fitness model is going to be an excellent choice because it is the lightest option out there on the market weighing in at just 18 pounds. Also, be sure that out select a design that has wheel running along the back. This isn’t going to do much to reduce the weight of the product, but it is going to help you a great deal when you need to wheel it up and out of the pool and store it in the garage.

q: Are they going to be easy to store?

a:

This is another downside to these products- they aren’t typically able to be folded down for easy storage (for the exception of the Tidalwave design that can be folded in half). The good news, however, is that these products aren’t going to be the same size as your standard land model, so while they will be a little bit of a hassle to toss into storage, it could always be a lot worse.