to top 10 table

Best Appetite Supressants

last updated Feb 08, 2019

If you are looking to shed some pounds, you likely are willing to take any help you can get in reducing cravings and overeating. While there isn’t a magical pill out there that will shed pounds for you while you plow through another season of your favorite Netflix show, there are things that can keep you from reaching for the potato chips. A good appetite suppressant works by making your stomach as well as your mind think that you just ate a filling and hearty meal, which means that you will be less likely to reach for the cookies. Using these products alongside healthy food choices and exercising regularly will make it easier to shed those pounds before your big beach trip this summer. In this guide, you will find some of our favorite picks for appetite suppressants that will jumpstart your weight loss journey.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 6 hrs of research

icon
Nature Driven
89/100 our score
Use
89
Effectiveness
90
Size
88
Product Purity
91
Value
87
Nature Driven
Why is it better?

Affordable

One bottle will last 2 months

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Nature Driven
Test Winner: Nature Driven
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
25
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
6
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Use Effectiveness Size Product Purity Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Use
89%
Effectiveness
90%
Size
88%
Product Purity
91%
Value
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.02.19)
$16.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Use
89%
Effectiveness
90%
Size
86%
Product Purity
91%
Value
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.02.19)
$19.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Use
84%
Effectiveness
88%
Size
85%
Product Purity
89%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.02.19)
$14.95
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.4
Use
79%
Effectiveness
89%
Size
80%
Product Purity
90%
Value
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.02.19)
$26.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Use
90%
Effectiveness
86%
Size
75%
Product Purity
85%
Value
74%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.02.19)
$24.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
Use
85%
Effectiveness
72%
Size
88%
Product Purity
89%
Value
83%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.02.19)
$34.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Use
87%
Effectiveness
80%
Size
79%
Product Purity
84%
Value
76%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.02.19)
$29.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Use
81%
Effectiveness
86%
Size
77%
Product Purity
72%
Value
78%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.02.19)
$39.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.2
Use
79%
Effectiveness
77%
Size
82%
Product Purity
71%
Value
72%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.02.19)
$29.95
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.8
Use
83%
Effectiveness
69%
Size
80%
Product Purity
79%
Value
68%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.02.19)
$15.95
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Nature Driven
  • Alpha Strength Labs
  • Nutriana
  • Dr. Emil Nutrition
  • RAW Synergies
  • Lipozene
  • Jacked Factory
  • Complete Nutrition
  • Skinny PM
  • Orphic Nutrition
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Nature Driven

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Nature Driven
Use
89
Effectiveness
90
Size
88
Product Purity
91
Value
87
best offer for today
$16.99
Pros:

Affordable

One bottle will last 2 months

Cons:

Some users found that it has too much caffeine that keeps them awake at night

This option from Nature Driven is really great because it uses all natural ingredients that work together to keep you from eating as much, jump starting your metabolism, and giving you a kick of caffeine for a little bit of extra energy to keep you active.

Read more

Use

Simply take one capsule in the morning to set the pace for your day. From what some of the past users had to say, these pills are not too big and are generally easy to swallow.

Effectiveness

Users can expect to get a feeling f fullness from day one when taking these capsules. It is going to prevent you from getting hungry, and you are going to eat less when you do sit down to eat. Plus, because it contains caffeine, you are going to get a little pep in your step when heading out to the gym.

Size

One bottle contains exactly 60 capsules. This means that if you take one capsule every day, the entire bottle is going to last you about 2 months, which is pretty impressive when you consider the affordable price point.

Product purity

Everything found inside this bottle is made and packaged in the United States. The main ingredients in this product are simple and easy to identify, and they include green coffee bean extract, raspberry ketones, and Garcinia Cambogia.

Value

The price of this bottle is one of the lowest price points of many of the other options out there on the market. Considering that one bottle will provide users with an impressive 2 months, we find that this is one of the greatest values we have seen.

Overall

If you want a vegan option that uses all natural ingredients and that is manufactured in the United States, this is an excellent place to start your weight loss journey without breaking the bank.

2. Alpha Strength Labs

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Alpha Strength Labs
Use
89
Effectiveness
90
Size
86
Product Purity
91
Value
88
best offer for today
$19.99
Pros:

Affordable

Gives users a bit of a caffeine burst

Utilizes natural ingredients

Cons:

One bottle is only a 30 day supply

What we liked about this option from Alpha Strength Labs is that it is full of natural ingredients that will help keep craving at bay, but it also uses ingredients that will give you a boost of energy as well as ingredients that will help you burn fat.

Read more

Use

Taking this supplement is simple and easy, and something that you will only need to do once per day. In the morning as you start your day, simply swallow two of these capsules with plenty of water. Users feel that they aren’t too big to swallow, and have described them as being long and thin.

Effectiveness

Two capsules per day are going to serve a few purposes. First, it is going to keep you from getting as hungry when meal time comes, meaning that you will eat less. It also has a bit of caffeine in them, so it will help give you a little bit of extra energy to hit the gym or go for a walk.

Size

One bottle comes with a total of 60 capsules, which means it will offer a 30 day supply if you are taking it every day.

Product Purity

This product uses all natural herbal ingredients that are listed right on the label. The big players in this formula are the raspberry ketones that help burn fat, green tea extract, and a bit of coffee for a natural boost of energy.

Value

The cost of this choice runs about pretty par for the course. It isn’t the most expensive out there, but it isn’t the least expensive. It will set you back about the same amount as a healthy salad out at a restaurant.

Overall

This is one of our favorite picks because it comes in at an affordable price point, and utilizes healthy and natural ingredients that you will be able to pronounce when reading it off of the back of the label.

3. Nutriana

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Nutriana
Use
84
Effectiveness
88
Size
85
Product Purity
89
Value
90
best offer for today
$14.95
Pros:

Offers a money back guarantee

Users feel that it really keeps them from getting too hungry

Green coffee beans add a little jolt of energy

Cons:

Bottle is only a 30 day supply

Some users find that it leaves a bad taste in their mouth

We liked the brand messaging with this option. It doesn’t make any wild claims that it is going to magically make you lose weight, but instead offers a little bit of help in addition to all of your hard work. It uses all natural ingredients and users feel that it really helps them achieve their goals.

Read more

Use

Simply take 2 capsules in the morning before you start your day. There weren’t any users that complained about this product being hard to swallow, so we are going to assume that these pills are going to be small and easy to take.

Effectiveness

According to many past users reviews, this product did a great job in helping users from getting too hungry, and it also helps some users from overeating. While some capsules might leave you with jittery feelings, users found that this product did not have that side effect on them.

Size

One bottle contains 60 capsules, but you are going to need to take 2 every morning to take the proper dosage. This means that one bottle is only going to last you 30 days.

Product purity

What we liked most about this product is that they are very clear and upfront about what you are putting into your body. The main players for this formula include raspberry ketones, Acai berry extract, Garcinia Cambogia, and unroasted green coffee beans for a little-added pep to your step.

Value

The cost of this bottle is listed to be slightly lower than the average price, but keep in mind that it is only a 30 day supply. What we liked most about this option is that they offer a lifetime warranty to give you your money back if you find that it didn’t help you in the slightest.

Overall

With a money back guarantee, if it doesn’t work for you, this is going to be the perfect option for all of those skeptics out there that aren’t entirely sure that these types of products will actually help them a little on their weight loss journey.

4. Dr. Emil Nutrition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.4
Dr. Emil Nutrition
Use
79
Effectiveness
89
Size
80
Product Purity
90
Value
84
best offer for today
$26.95
Pros:

Easy to take

Proprietary blend utilizes apple cider vinegar

Users found it really help curb their cravings

Cons:

Slightly expensive

Only comes in a 30 day supply

Most of these options that we have seen so far generally have the same type of ingredients, but this option from Dr. Emil Nutrition adds a few extra things that you might not expect that is really going to help you stay in control of your craving so you can easily lose weight.

Read more

Use

The recommended dosage of this product is to take two capsules every morning before you start your day. We couldn’t find any users that felt that they were hard to swallow, so we are going to assume that the pills are small and easy to take.

Effectiveness

One of the big things that you will notice straight away is that is it going to help you from getting too hungry, and it is also going to help you eat less when you do sit down for a meal. Other ingredients also make claims that they will help you burn fat easier.

Size

One bottle has 60 capsules, but you are going to need to take 2 pills every morning which means that this is only going to offer you a 30 day supply if it is something that you intend on taking every morning.

Product purity

All of the big players in this bottle are listed on the back label, and feature raspberry ketones, and African mango. Where this product differs in their proprietary formula which offers users things such as apple cider vinegar, kelp, grape seed extract, and caffeine.

Value

The price of this option is going to set you back a little bit more than some of the other options out there on the market, especially considering that you only get a 30 day supply with a single bottle.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is going to really pack a punch to give you a little bit of a jolt while helping you eat less and burn fat, this option from Dr. Emil Nutrition is going to be well worth the slightly higher price tag.

5. RAW Synergies

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
RAW Synergies
Use
90
Effectiveness
86
Size
75
Product Purity
85
Value
74
best offer for today
$24.99
Pros:

Can be mixed with water or tossed into a protein smoothie

Caffeine free

Cons:

One bottle only offers 20 servings

Some users feel that it tastes a little chalky

While many options out there offer a jolt of caffeine in their blends to help you start your day, this vegan option from RAW Synergies actually offers stress relieving ingredients to help you stay calm, cool, even, and collected throughout your day.

Read more

Use

Taking this product is just a little bit different because it comes in a powder form. Users often prefer powder because it is easy to toss into a healthy morning smoothie in the morning. Plus, it comes in a lemonade flavor, so you will also have the option of just stirring it into a glass of water and getting on with your day.

Effectiveness

The bottle claims that it is going to help curb your cravings, help you burn fat effectively, and also help reduce stress. When reading through reviews, we noticed that users also found that the BCAAs in this blend really help mitigate muscle soreness are a brutal workout.

Size

Users will need to use the scoop that is included to measure one spoonful into their glass or smoothie. One bottle only offers users a 20 day supply, which is significantly less than many of the other options out there.

Product purity

As a vegan product, you won’t have to worry about hidden animal byproducts as you do with other brands. It offers users BCAAs which are ideal for muscle recovery, and it also has an ingredient called Ashwagandha that serves to tackle stress and help you feel calm.

Value

The price tag on this option might seem like it runs about the same price as many of the other average priced options out there on the market, but keep in mind that one bottle is only going to provide you with a 20 day supply.

Overall

If you are someone that likes to hit the gym to help promote weight loss and get stronger, this option from RAW Synergies is going to be the perfect pairing to keep you from overeating while also helping your muscles recover from your intense workouts.

6. Lipozene

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
Lipozene
Use
85
Effectiveness
72
Size
88
Product Purity
89
Value
83
best offer for today
$34.95
Pros:

Simple blend

Users found that it really helped them eat less

Offers an impressive 60 day supply per bottle

Cons:

Some users felt that weight loss results were slow

What we liked most about this option from Lipozene is that it comes at a really great value. This bottle is likely to last you quite a while, and it comes in at a much better value than most. This blend is simple, and works in a very simple and safe way.

Read more

Use

To take this product, simply swallow 2 capsules in the morning, and be sure to drink plenty of water. We didn’t notice any users complaining about them being difficult to swallow, so we are going to assume that the pills are on the smaller side.

Effectiveness

How this particular product works is quite simple. It functions off of one primary ingredient that swells in size once it hits your stomach. This not only makes you feel full, but it also sends signals to your brain that you just ate a big meal, releasing hormones known as serotonin that will make you feel satisfied.

Size

This is where this product really shines. One bottle will give users an impressive 120 capsules. Due to the fact the users will need to take 2 pills per days, this equals a 60 day supply, which is double that of many of the other options out there on the market.

Product purity

What we also liked about this product is that it isn’t bogged down with too many extra ingredients. It simply uses a proprietary blend of primarily konjac root that expands in size once it hits your stomach.

Value

While this option may double the supply of many of the other options out there, it doesn’t come at double the price tag. The price is still a bit higher than some of the other options but considering that you get twice as much makes this an excellent deal.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is going to last you more than 30 days, this is going to be one of your better options. Users love the simplicity of this blend that serves simply to make you feel full, and doesn’t offer extra ingredients that you may not want, such as caffeine.

7. Jacked Factory

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Jacked Factory
Use
87
Effectiveness
80
Size
79
Product Purity
84
Value
76
best offer for today
$29.99
Pros:

Users found it really helps their workout performance

Caffeine gives you a big jolt of energy

Cons:

Acetyl-L-Carnitine HCL can be harsh on sensitive stomachs

A little expensive

This option from Jacked Factory is going to offer users a lot of different ingredients that will mitigate cravings, while helping you burn fat and giving you a burst of energy to start the day off on the right foot.

Read more

Use

Users will simply need to swallow two capsules at the start of their day, and will start to feel the effects on day one. We didn’t notice any users complaining about the pills being too big and difficult to swallow, so we assume that they are on the small side.

Effectiveness

From what we gathered from past users, where this product really shines is in the energy department. Users that used this product before a workout noticed an improvement in their workout performance, and had more energy to push farther. Users also loved that it makes them feel full, and kept them from overeating come mealtime.

Size

One serving consisted of 2 pills, and there are 60 pills per bottle. This means that one bottle is going to provide with you a 30 day supply.

Product purity

The big player in this blend is the Acetyl-L-Carnitine HCL, which can be a pretty harsh ingredient to those with a sensitive stomach. It can cause side effects that include an upset stomach, nausea, vomiting, and a headache in some. It also contains a pretty high dosage of caffeine that can also cause sleeplessness in some users.

Value

The cost of this 30 day supply is slightly higher than many of the other options out there on the market. However, Jacked Factory is a company that really stands behind their products, so if you find that you cannot take this or it doesn’t give you the results you desire, they will offer a 100 percent money back guarantee.

Overall

While the ingredients in this product are a little harsher than we would like, it’s hard to pass up on this option considering all of the praise that it receives from previous users. If you are someone that is active and wants to add an additional punch to your workouts while keeping your cravings in check, this is an excellent tool.

8. Complete Nutrition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Complete Nutrition
Use
81
Effectiveness
86
Size
77
Product Purity
72
Value
78
best offer for today
$39.99
Pros:

Great source of energy

Users find that it work great and curbing cravings

Cons:

Expensive

Some users found that is has a terrible taste

Complete Nutrition is another option that comes in a powder form so that you will have a little bit more control on how you take it. It uses gluten free ingredients that will make you feel full and keep you from overeating come mealtime.

Read more

Use

Simple stir one scoopful of this lemon flavor mix into a large glass of water and take it in the morning. Some users like to add a scoop to their healthy energy smoothie in the morning to give them a step up right out of the gate every day.

Effectiveness

Users found that this product really helped them from overeating at mealtime, and the generally ate less throughout the day. One thing that a lot of users noted is that it also gave them a lot of extra energy throughout the day, which really came in handy when they hit the gym.

Size

This powdered version is going to give you a little bit more bang for your buck than other powdered options. One serving size is one scoopful, and there are 30 servings per bottle. This means that this bottle will last you about a month.

Product purity

Powered by yerba mate leaf, green tea, and guarana are ingredients that you would find in energy drinks, and they are going to give you a little bit of a kick in the pants to get out there and get active. Chromax, or to be more technical chromium picolinate, is a compound that has been tested in 50 clinical studies in humans to help curb your craving while supporting bone and brain health.

Value

The bad news here is that this is one of the more expensive options out there on the market, and costs almost double of some of the more affordable options out there.

Overall

For those out there that love their energy drinks, this is going to be a great replacement for them. It offers caffeine content that equals about 2 cups of coffee, but the chromium picolinate is a great way to help you feel full and promote a healthy brain and bones.

9. Skinny PM

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.2
Skinny PM
Use
79
Effectiveness
77
Size
82
Product Purity
71
Value
72
best offer for today
$29.95
Pros:

Great value

Caffeine free

Cons:

Some found that it curbed their cravings only slightly

It made some feel lightheaded

This option from Skinny Gal uses all of the same ingredients found in some of the other options out there on the market, and they also use a very potent proprietary blend that is going to help you hold your cravings at bay while giving you ample energy to get out there and burn calories.

Read more

Use

To get started, simply take one capsule in the morning with plenty of water. It will slowly dissolve in your stomach throughout the course of the day and will halt your cravings so that you can make healthier food choices.

Effectiveness

Users found that this formula packed a powerful punch. From what we read, there were quite a few users that felt that it was really effective at keeping them from getting too hungry throughout the course of the day, without making them feel jittery or nauseous.

Size

One bottle contains 60 capsules, and users will only need to take one capsule in the morning. This means that one bottle will last you up to 2 months if you take one every day.

Product purity

This option has main ingredients that include raspberry ketones, garcinia cambogia, and african mango that are all designed to help you keep craving at bay while also helping you lose weight. One thing that we noted about this option is that it doesn’t have caffeine. So, if you were looking for a powerful caffeine-free option, this is an excellent choice.

Value

The cost of this option is slightly more expensive than some of the others, but it will last users twice as long with a 60 day supply, making it an excellent value.

Overall

For those that want something that is going to pack quite a punch without using caffeine, this product from Skinny Gal is an excellent option to kicking those cravings and making you feel full and satisfied.

10. Orphic Nutrition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.8
Orphic Nutrition
Use
83
Effectiveness
69
Size
80
Product Purity
79
Value
68
best offer for today
$15.95
Pros:

Simple formula

Users found that is works great at curbing hunger

Cons:

Not the best value out there

Some found that it gave them a stomachache

What we really liked about this option from Orphic Nutrition is that it packs quite a powerful punch in such a little pill form. It has all of the major and all natural ingredients that users would expect from these products, and past users have found that it has really helped them on their weight loss journey.

Read more

Use

The bad news here is that you will have to swallow 3 capsules in the morning to start your day. Luckily, we found no users complaining about these being too big to swallow, so we assume that the capsules are pretty small.

Effectiveness

From what we have read in the user reviews, this product does a great job at keeping cravings at bay with a limited number of users complaining about unwanted side effects such as jitters or dizziness.

Size

One bottle contains 30 capsules, but you are going to need to take three per day. This means that one bottle is only going to last you a mere 10 days, which is significantly less than many of the other options out there.

Product purity

What we liked about this option is that it provides users with 2,100mg of one hundred percent pure Garcinia Cambogia, which is a powerful weapon in keeping you from getting hungry.

Value

Another downside to this option is that while it comes in at an affordable price point, one bottle is only going to last you just under 2 weeks.

Overall

If you are curious to try these types of products but don’t want to spend the money on a bigger bottle in case you find that it is not a good fit for you, this is an excellent option to give a try without breaking the bank.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

If it is something that is going to be incredibly unpleasant to take, it is going to be harder to make yourself take them every day.

There are a few pitfalls that these products typically fall into. The first problem has to do with the pill form. When companies try to jam pack as much as they can into a capsule, it means that it grows in size to the point that makes them literally hard to swallow. Before we made our final call on a product, we made sure that past users were not complaining about the colossal size of each capsule so they they would be easier to swallow. The second problem often came after the pill hit your stomach. With some options, a sense of fullness also meant slight nausea, and that really isn’t acceptable to us. You want to start your day feeling satisfied and refreshed- not slightly ill. If taking pills doesn’t sound ideal, we also included a few powder options. This makes it easy toss into a smoothie so that you can add a lot of fruit and veggies to mask the possible unpleasant taste.

Effectiveness

Hands down, the effectiveness of each product is the most important feature, and it is the very first thing that we considered.

However, how did we determine how effective each options was? First, we looked at the claims that each brand would make. A few red flags would pop up when we noticed companies makes claims that seemed a little too good to be true- like claims that you can eat whatever you want and lose weight. If it seems too good to be true, it’s usually not true. We took claims that the brand made such as it will help you feel full and eat less at mealtime, or it gives you a boost of energy when it’s time to hit the gym, and we read what users had to say. If there were an overwhelming number of users that backed up the claims that the product made, we added that product to our list. We also made sure to check out the negative reviews as well to determine if there were any unpleasant side effects that might keep you from taking these pills on a daily basis, or that could sabotage your gym goals. One of the most common complaints that we found were that products that contain caffeine made users shaky and led to sleepless nights. If you are a little sensitive to caffeine, you might want to switch to a non caffeinated option.

Size

Since this is going to be something that you will want to take every day, size matters.

We liked products that had a serving size of one capsule, because that means you will know immediately just how long a bottle will last you. The average lifespan of most bottles, from what we gathered, is roughly 30 days. Most bottles contain 60 capsules, but require you to take 2 a day, which means it will last you about a month. If you don’t like the idea of restocking every month, you can either opt not to take them every day (just on the days you feel that you really overindulge), or you can select a bigger bottle. The biggest bottle that we found came with 120 capsules that would last users 2 months. You can also opt for a bottle that comes with 60 capsules that only require 1 pill a day, but some users find those options to be a little on the weak side. With powdered options, they last an even shorter amount of time, with most only offering enough servings to last about 20 days.

Product Purity

To ensure that what you putting into your body is safe and will help you perform at your best, you first have to consider exactly what is inside of each bottle.

Main ingredients are important to achieving your goals, but you also have to dig down into that fine print at the filler ingredients as well. For main ingredients, we liked things such as raspberry ketones, Garcinia Cambogia, apple cider vinegar, green tea extract, and green coffee beans. These all natural ingredients can be found in a lot of the healthy foods that you eat, but are offered in a more concentrated form without the extra calories. The trick here is to dive down into the small print to find all of the minor players. To ensure that you have a keen grasp on what you are putting into your body, we liked ingredients that we were able to pronounce in a reasonable amount of time. Most companies add things like psyllium husk to add a little bit of fiber to make digestion easier.

Value

As always, we want to save you a little bit of cash when we can.

Ideally, you want to spend all of your extra money on things like running shoes, fruits, and veggies, so we wanted to select the best deal. In this particular case, more expensive isn’t necessarily better if you look at what is on the inside. We made sure to selected the more affordable options that were on the market, but we didnt take our eyes off of the ingredients. If a product has all of the same active ingredients as the more expensive brand (such as raspberry ketones and apple cider vinegar), we would lean more towards the more affordable option. What we found is that more expensive options typically packed their pills with a ton of ingredients that often weren’t even necessity. It is important to note that the more ingredients that are in a product doesn’t mean that it is going to be more effective than others. The main goal here is to simply make you feel full so that you will be able to control yourself when Kevin brings in donuts into work on Friday.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Effectiveness

Really dig in and listen to what previous users had to say, because they are going to be your best source of information. Sure, a company can make a lot of claims about what their product can do, but consumers are going to provide a wealth of information on just how well each formula is going to work.

Use

You are going to have to get this formula into your body one way or another, so pick an option that works best for you. If you hate taking pills or often forget, you might want to check out powdered options. These options are great if you make yourself a powerhouse smoothie every morning, and you can place the bottle next to all of your smoothie ingredients so that you won't forget about it!

Product purity

As with anything that you put into your body, you are really going to want to look at all of the ingredients, not just the ones printed in large print on the front of the label. Typically, in small print at the bottom of the label are the other non-essential ingredients in a brand's formula. You either want to select a brand that has a short list of easy to read ingredients, or one that simply doesn't have a list of inactive ingredients at all.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Do they really work?
a:

Like we mentioned earlier, there is no magic pill out there that is going to make you magically drop 2 pant sizes overnight, with no effort on your part. While taking these products, you are still going to have to maintain a healthy diet and add in some exercise when you can. These pills are designed to make you brain feel that your stomach is full, so that you will be less likely to cave on cravings when faced with a delicious platter of cookies. Other ingredients in these products such as green coffee beans are designed to give you a little bit of pep in your step so that you will be able to tackle the day and your workouts with more energy.

q: Are they safe to take?
a:

Most of the options that we selected on our list are made from all natural ingredients that already exist in the foods that you eat on a daily basis, but it is just a more concentrated version. That isn’t to say that your body might not have a negative reaction to them. Some side effects that users have experienced when taking these pills include dizziness, headaches, nausea, and sometimes even vomiting- especially if you have a sensitive stomach. Most of these side effects can be attributed the caffeine content in these options. If you find that you are sensitive to caffeine, you might want to select an option that is caffeine free. As always, if you are worried about how your body will react to these pills, be sure to consult your doctor first. They will be able to let you know if it is going to be something that is right for you, and if they have any ingredients that your body may react negatively to.

q: How will they keep me from overeating?
a:

The way that these pills work is by working in two ways. Most options out there have an ingredient in them that will double in size once it hits your stomach. This will give you that feeling of fullness that you often get after eating a big meal. When your stomach feels full, your brain released a hormone called serotonin which gives you that happy and satisfied feeling. When your stomach and brain are working together to make you feel content even though you didn't consume any calories, you will be better equipped to make healthier food choices throughout the day, because you won’t be driven hunger that is the reason many make poor food choices. The key to successfully losing weight is to be mindful of that you are eating, and these pills and powders can help you from eating too much of the things that you shouldn’t be eating.

q: Will they help me during my workouts at the gym?
a:

While their primary goal is to keep you from overeating, other ingredients found in some options can actually help you perform better at the gym. Ingredients such as green coffee beans will give you a little bit of an extra jolt of energy at the beginning of the day, so that lacing up your sneaker to hit the treadmill will be a welcome way to burn off some of that extra energy and burn some fat. Other ingredients such as green tea extract make claims that they also will help you burn fat faster, but there is not hard science that can make any hard claims to how well and at what rate.

q: What are the benefits of using a powder compared to pills?
a:

There are benefits to using both, and what you select all depends upon personal preference. Pill forms are great because you can simply down a capsule or two with a large glass of water in the morning to start your day. The capsule will slowly dissolve in your stomach throughout the course of the morning, giving you a full feeling and more control over the foods that you decide to eat. The downside to pill forms is that they can sometimes be a little hard to swallow, and for some they can leave a terrible taste in their mouth (especially if you are taking it on an early morning empty stomach). Taking pills on an empty stomach can sometimes lead to side effect such as heachaches and nausea. Powder forms, on the other hands, are much easier to take and are often flavored. Some users simply mix their powder into a glass of water in the morning, but other find it best to mix it into their healthy fruit smoothies in the morning. This way, you are getting all of the added health benefits, but you won’t be as jittery or nauseous the way you would with a capsule. The downside to powders is that some feel they are a little chalky when taken with water, and one bottle typically only lasts about 20 days.

q: Are they vegan?
a:

You might assume that all these options on our list are vegan friendly, but not all brands make claims of being so. While the ingredients listed all may be derived from natural sources, the places in which they are process may also process dairy products. To be on the safe side, be sure to check the packaging to ensure that it is vegan friendly. If a product doesn’t make claims that it is vegan, it is safe to assume that it may have traces of dairy either in the ingredients, or in the facility where it is packaged.

Sources

  1. Unknown, ARE APPETITE SUPPRESSANTS SAFE WITH DOCTOR SUPERVISION?, Blog, Jan 01, 1970
  2. Unknown, How Do Appetite Suppressants Work?, Blog, Jan 01, 1970