to top 10 table

Best Ankle Weights

last updated Jul 01, 2019

There are various ways that you can increase the intensity of your hikes or runs, such as trying to beat a time limit or traveling a long distance. However, one great way of improving your performance and burning quite a few calories in the process is to strap a few more pounds to your body in the form of ankle weights. These products are great because they make you work for each and every step that you take, and do a great job to help strengthen and tone muscles as well as improve your endurance. Plus, there are many designs out there on the market that are slim enough that you could wear them all day to burn calories while at work and no one would know! In this guide, you will find some of our favorite picks that will really help improve your strength, endurance, and performance.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 4 hrs of research

icon
HEALTHYMODELLIFE
91.6/100 our score
Style
97
Weight
90
Materials
91
Adjustability
92
Value
88
HEALTHYMODELLIFE
Why is it better?

Slim design

Users can select from lighter or heavier options

Easy to put on

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
HEALTHYMODELLIFE
Test Winner: HEALTHYMODELLIFE
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
25
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
4
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Weight Materials Adjustability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Style
97 %
Weight
90 %
Materials
91 %
Adjustability
92 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.07.19)
Amazon Link
$34.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Style
91 %
Weight
87 %
Materials
90 %
Adjustability
89 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.07.19)
Amazon Link
$19.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Style
87 %
Weight
90 %
Materials
91 %
Adjustability
84 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.07.19)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Style
89 %
Weight
83 %
Materials
88 %
Adjustability
85 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.07.19)
Amazon Link
$22.97
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Style
82 %
Weight
87 %
Materials
84 %
Adjustability
86 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.07.19)
Amazon Link
$23.90
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
Style
80 %
Weight
84 %
Materials
82 %
Adjustability
79 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.07.19)
Amazon Link
$24.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.2
Style
78 %
Weight
84 %
Materials
75 %
Adjustability
79 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.07.19)
Amazon Link
$24.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.4
Style
75 %
Weight
77 %
Materials
79 %
Adjustability
80 %
Value
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.07.19)
Amazon Link
$26.15
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.6
Style
75 %
Weight
76 %
Materials
69 %
Adjustability
74 %
Value
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.07.19)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.2
Style
69 %
Weight
70 %
Materials
72 %
Adjustability
71 %
Value
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.07.19)
Amazon Link
$17.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • HEALTHYMODELLIFE HEALTHYMODELLIFE
  • Nordic Nordic
  • AmazonBasics AmazonBasics
  • Fitnessery Fitnessery
  • CIPPSER CIPPSER
  • Sportneer Sportneer
  • GoFit GoFit
  • Empower Empower
  • JBM JBM
  • Prodigen Prodigen
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Expert Interviews & Opinions
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Ankle Weights

1. HEALTHYMODELLIFE

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
HEALTHYMODELLIFE
Amazon Link
Style
97
Weight
90
Materials
91
Adjustability
92
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.99
Pros:

Slim design

Users can select from lighter or heavier options

Easy to put on

Cons:

Some users found that the filling often collects at the bottom and they have to turn it upside down every so often

What we liked most about this option is that it offers a slim design that users can elect to wear all day long, and it also comes in a wide variety of pound options so that you will be able to choose just how heavy you want to make them.

Read more

Style

What users like most about this option are that they feel that it isn’t as big and bulky as some of the other options out there. It comes in a standard black color with the logo printed in small white and pink letters along the front.

Weight

The great thing about this design is that it is offered in very light to heavier options. Users can select from 1 pound, 2 pound, 5 pound, and 8 pound sets. This offers a little bit more variety than other options we have seen.

Material

There is no indication of what material is used for this option, be we have read some positive reviews that state that even when incredibly sweaty, these cuffs stay in place and feel great against their skin.

Adjustability

To put these on, simply wrap them around your leg and then fasten it into place using the very secure and double wide velcro. Even without a buckle to pull it tight, users feel that once they are secured, they provide the absolute perfect fit.

Value

The cost of this design is going to be just a little bit higher than many of the averagely priced options that are out there. However, if you want something that is going to have a lot of options and is made from high-quality materials, it is well worth the slightly higher price point.

Overall

This is a perfect pairing for someone that is looking for something that is easy to put on, and it won’t look as big and bulky as some of the other designs out there. With a 1 year replacement or refund guarantee, there really is no reason not to give these a try.

2. Nordic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Nordic
Amazon Link
Style
91
Weight
87
Materials
90
Adjustability
89
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.95
Pros:

Easy to adjust

Comes with a carrying bag

Comfortable and soft material

Cons:

Only offered designs up to 5 pounds

Some found that the filler sand isn’t evenly distributed which can feel a little awkward

While there isn’t a wide variety of options offered to allow users to adjust how light and heavy they are, we found that this style is perfect for a wide variety of workouts, and it is made from really great materials that are super soft and will provide a really comfortable fit.

Read more

Style

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this model from Nordic. It has a quilted design on the front that offers a soft and comfortable feel. The bad news for this option is that it is only offered in a light grey color, which has a tendency to show dirt and stains easily.

Weight

Users will have the option to select from designs that range from lightweight and easy for daily use, to heavier options for more intense workouts. Users can select from 1, 2, 3, and 5-pound options.

Material

One thing that we really liked about the material used for this option is that it has reflective strips on the surface that will allow you to be seen when out of your evening walks. The quilted pattern will feel nice and soft against your skin, and it is filled with very fine sand.

Adjustability

To secure this product in place, wrap it around your leg and pull the strap through the stainless steel buckle. Once you have it to your desired tightness, secure it in place with the extra strong velcro

Value

What we like about this design is that it comes in at a very reasonable price point. It isn’t the most expensive design out there, but it is far from being the least expensive as well.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is going to be rather affordable and easy to use, this is going to be a really great option for your workout needs. Plus, it comes with a 1-year warranty and a carrying bag.

3. AmazonBasics

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
AmazonBasics
Amazon Link
Style
87
Weight
90
Materials
91
Adjustability
84
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

Trusted brand

Very affordable

Comes with a 1 year warranty

Cons:

Some feel that the double straps offer an uncomfortable fit

This option from AmazonBasics is a perfect selection if you are a little wary of giving these a try and want something that is going to be offered at a very low price point in case it is something that you do not like to use.

Read more

Style

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this design. It comes in a solid black color, and it is quite a bit bulkier than some of the other designs that we have seen out there on the market.

Weight

There are 2 options that users can select from- a 2.5-pound option and 5-pound options. It is important to note that the 5-pound option is just a little bit more expensive than the 2.5-pound designs.

Material

Construction from high quality polyester and nylon, these are not only going to be incredibly durable, but they are also going to be easy to wipe down and fend off odors as well. Plus, they are filled with a very fine stand that will conform to the shape of your legs.

Adjustability

To secure this option in place, pull the straps through the double stainless steel buckles, and then cinch it into place with the high-quality velcro

Value

The best part about this option from AmazonBasics is that it is offered at one of the most affordable price points out there on the market. Considering that it comes from the Amazon trusted brand, we feel this is an excellent deal.

Overall

If you want to give these a try without dishing out all that much money, this is going to be a really great choice. Plus, it comes from a trusted brand which gives you little reason not to give this a shot.

4. Fitnessery

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Fitnessery
Amazon Link
Style
89
Weight
83
Materials
88
Adjustability
85
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.97
Pros:

Made from high-quality neoprene

Slim fit

Lighter options are very affordable

Cons:

Heavier options are a little more expensive

The great thing about this option from Fitnessery is that it offers a smooth and slim design that is going to be great to wear under your jeans as you run errands throughout the day, but it is also durable enough to wear out on a hike or to the gym as well.

Read more

Style

One of the things that we noticed right away about this option is that is has a much slimmer design that many of the others out there on the market. In fact, they are so thin that you may even be able to wear them under your jeans to get a little work out in as your run errands throughout the day.

Weight

Due to the fact that these are so thin, they don’t get as heavy as some users would like when working out their leg muscles. Options start as light as 1 pound (which is something we don’t see as often) and also include 2, 3, 4, and 5 pound options as well.

Material

The exterior of this option is made from a chafing resistant neoprene that is going to feel soft and comfortable when strapped to your legs. It is also filled with a fine sand-like substance that will help conform to your leg for a more comfortable fit.

Adjustability

Getting these into place is incredibly simple and can be complete with just one hand. There are no straps or buckles that you are going to need to thread, just wrap the material around your leg and secure it into place using the extra wide velcro.

Value

The heavier options such as the 4 and 5-pound options have a price tag that is just slightly higher than many that we have seen out there on the market. However, the options that are set below these two are incredibly affordable and are a great deal if you are looking for something that is slim.

Overall

What we liked most about this option is that it is incredibly easy to put in place, and it has a much thinner design than others that we have seen, and lower weights come in at a very affordable price point.

5. CIPPSER

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
CIPPSER
Amazon Link
Style
82
Weight
87
Materials
84
Adjustability
86
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.90
Pros:

Affordable

Comes with free wristbands and workout tutorials

Heavier options offered

Stay put while in use

Cons:

Some users feel that it is too bulky

This option from CIPPSER is a little bit thicker and difficult to secure in place than most, but that just means that these are going to stay in place while in engaging in a wide array of demanding physical activity that isn’t just limited to walking and running.

Read more

Style

As we mentioned earlier, this option is just a little bit thicker and more complicated than most. It has a long black strap with the CIPPSER logo on it, and the trim is lined with bright blue. What users really like about this option is that it also comes with a set of free black wristbands, as well as a free ebook and online workout tutorials.

Weight

There are slightly fewer choices with this design, but your options get a little bit heavier than most. You will be able to select from options that begin at 2 pounds, and also include 4 and 6-pound options as well.

Material

What users really like about this design is that it is made from an incredibly soft neoprene that is designed to feel soft against your skin, but it also works great at absorbing sweat.

Adjustability

At first, glance, getting this in place may seem a little complicated, but it isn’t all that bad. To secure it into place, wrap the weight section around your leg, and then wrap the straps through the stainless steel buckle and cinch it into place with the very strong velcro.

Value

The cost of each of the 2, 4, and 6-pound styles are all incredibly affordable and priced well below many other options of similar style out there on the market. We feel this is a great value based upon what past users have had to say about the performance of this design.

Overall

If you are in the market for something that is just a tad heavier than some of the other options that we have seen out there on the market, and that comes with a few bonus items to help you get the most out of your workouts, this is an excellent option.

6. Sportneer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
Sportneer
Amazon Link
Style
80
Weight
84
Materials
82
Adjustability
79
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.99
Pros:

Easy to put on

Users can remove sand bags to make it lighter about 1 pound at a time

Cons:

Some users found that they tend to slip around even when pulled tight

What we liked about this option from Sportneer is that it is incredibly simple and easy to use, and it isn’t all that bulky the way some heavier options can be. Plus, it is made from a high-quality material that feels lightweight and comfortable while in use.

Read more

Style

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this design. It comes in a black exterior shell that has the Sportneer logo printed on the adjustable strap. As far as bulkiness is concerned, it is somewhere in between the bulkier options and the slimmer designs.

Weight

This design is only offered in 5 pounds per leg. The good news here is that users will have the option to remove sandbags per pocket (that weigh .97 pounds) so that you will be able to adjust how heavy you want it based upon the activity that you are engaging in.

Material

The exterior of this design is made from a high-quality neoprene that is going to feel light and breathable against your skin, as well as do a great job at absorbing sweat. The interior is made from a sand-like material that will conform to the shape of your leg to provide a really great fit.

Adjustability

It is very easy to secure this unit in place against your leg and can be accomplished with just one hand. Simply wrap the material around your leg, and pull the strap through the stainless steel buckle. Once you get the desired tightness, cinch it into place with the provided velcro.

Value

The cost of this option from Sportneer runs about par for the course. It isn’t the most expensive option out there on the market, but it is far from being the least expensive.

Overall

For those in the market for something that it simple, easy to use, and made from high-quality materials at a good value, this is going to be one of your better choices.

7. GoFit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.2
GoFit
Amazon Link
Style
78
Weight
84
Materials
75
Adjustability
79
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.99
Pros:

Fits most sizes of legs

Users can remove bars to make it lighter

Cons:

Expensive

If you want something that is going to offer heavier options than other designs, this is going to be one of your better options. It has a simple design that makes putting them on easy, and it allows you to adjust how heavy you want it for each and every workout.

Read more

Style

What we liked about this option is that it offers more pounds per leg than other options, but it also is quite thin considering how heavy it is. Plus, the bars inside are a little more narrow than other designs, which means that the distribution of the bars is more even to provide a more comfortable fit.

Weight

There are two options that users can select from- 5 or 10 pounds sets. Each option has a series of bars that can be removed from their pockets to make it lighter depending upon the workout that you are engaging in.

Material

There is no indication on the product description on what type of materials is used for the exterior of this option, but it appears to be made of a canvas type material. This means that it might not be the most comfortable and breathable material, but it is going to be easier to clean and wipe down when needed.

Adjustability

Securing these options is incredibly easy, and is listed to be able to accommodate most sizes of legs. Simply pull the straps through the stainless steel buckles and cinch it into place tightly not but too tight to the velcro.

Value

The cost of this set is quite more expensive than other similar designs out there on the market. However, if you want to ensure that you pick a design that fits perfectly, this is going to be well worth the added cost.

Overall

This is a great option for those that want something that is simple and easy to use, and it made with an extra long strap that is designed to accommodate all sizes and shapes of users.

8. Empower

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.4
Empower
Amazon Link
Style
75
Weight
77
Materials
79
Adjustability
80
Value
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.15
Pros:

Easy to take out and put in 1 pound bars

Made from high-quality materials

Cons:

Users found iron bars are uncomfortable

Some feel they are too bulky

This option from Empower isn't as heavy as some of the other options out there on the market, but we liked this style because it offers an incredibly comfortable fit that is going to stay put, and it is easy to remove 1 pound bars to adjust it as you see fit.

Read more

Style

One of the things that we like most about this option from Empower is that it has a slimmer style that isn’t going to look too bulky or awkward. It comes with a light grey base with black zippered pockets that hold the 1 pound bars.

Weight

This is only offered in 4 pounds per leg. Users will have the option to remove one of the 1 pound bars from the zippered pockets to adjust how heavy it is as they see fit.

Material

One thing that users really liked about this design is that it is made from high-quality neoprene that is going to feel soft against your skin, and it will also work great at wicking away sweat.

Adjustability

What we liked most about this option is that you can remove 1 pound bars from their zippered pockets to make it lighter, and it is also quite easy to adjust them into place. Simply pull the straps through the stainless steel buckle, and secure it in place with t strong velcro strip.

Value

The cost to this unit runs about in the middle of the road. It isn’t the most expensive option out there, but it isn’t the least expensive as well. We feel it's a great value considering the quality of materials used as well as the innovative design.

Overall

If you are looking for something that is going to be incredibly comfortable to wear and is easy to adjust as you change up your cardio routine, this is going to a great selection to help your workouts.

9. JBM

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.6
JBM
Amazon Link
Style
75
Weight
76
Materials
69
Adjustability
74
Value
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99
Pros:

Incredibly affordable

Many sizing options offered

Filled with iron sand

Cons:

Some user found that the canvas material rubbed into their skin over long periods of time

Sure, this option from JBM sticks out a little bit, and they are considered to be pretty bulky, but you cannot beat this value. They are offered in varying weight options, and the best part is that they come in at a really affordable price point- even for the heavier options.

Read more

Style

Users found that this option is pretty bulky, and looks a little like water wings for your legs- especially when it comes to the heavier designs. Users will be able to select from a bright blue design with black accents, or solid black options.

Weight

There are a lot of different options that users can select from, and they include 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6-pound designs. While you aren’t going to be able to take up bars to adjust the weight for individual designs, you will be able to select a design that will work for most of your workouts.

Material

The exterior of this unit is made from a thin layer of canvas that some users have found can dig into their skin when worn for a long period of time. It is also filled with iron sand that will conform to your legs while in use.

Adjustability

Putting these on is so simple you can do it with one hand. Simply wrap the fabric around your leg, and pull it tight with the double velcro straps that are provided for a secure fit that will not shift around.

Value

If you are in the market for something that is going to be incredibly affordable- this is going to be one of your best options. The price of this one is one of the more affordable options out there on the market.

Overall

We liked this design because it is offered in a wide variety of sizes to accommodate most users, and it is offered at a really affordable price point that gives you little reason not to give this a shot.

10. Prodigen

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.2
Prodigen
Amazon Link
Style
69
Weight
70
Materials
72
Adjustability
71
Value
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.99
Pros:

Incredibly comfortable cotton material

Affordable

Cons:

Some found it difficult to remove and replace sandbags

This option from Prodigen is made from high-quality materials and is incredibly comfortable to wear, but doesn’t offer heavier options for users that want something that is really going to challenge them. This option is more ideal for wearing for casual use while running errands.

Read more

Style

This design offers a very sleek and slim style that makes it something that would be perfect for wearing for everyday use under your pants. Users can select from one of three colors that include pink, blue, or black.

Weight

Users will have the option of selecting sizes that include 2 pounds per leg for the blue or pink options, for a heavier grey design that is 3.5 pounds per leg.

Material

Unlike many of the other options out there on the market, this design uses incredibly soft and durable cotton for the exterior shell. This type of material is soft as well as breathable and will be comfortable to wear for long periods of time.

Adjustability

To secure this design in place, simply wrap the material around your leg and cinch it in place using the thin velcro strap that is provided.

Value

What we like most about this option is that it is offered at a really affordable price point that is just slightly more affordable than many of the similar style out there.

Overall

If you were looking for something that is going to be comfortable enough to wear all day and comes in at a low price point, this is going to be one of your better options.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

Whether you are wearing them around the office or at the gym, you want to make sure that you select something that looks good.

Slimmer designs are going to be your best option if you want something simple to wear while running errands, but those slimmer options typically don’t offer a lot of extra pounds. That’s why we still considered the style of a product even if it offered extra pounds, because bulkier designs are not only going to look a little awkward, but they are also going to be less comfortable than their slimmer counterparts. We also liked to select designs that came in more colors than you standard black, because everyone loves a little pop of color when it comes to their workout gear. Plus, if you are running your neighborhood after dark, that pop of color is going to be noticeable by drivers so that you will be a lot safer on those late night jogs. We also made sure to select understated color options as well that are offered in solid blacks so they they may blend in with the pants that you wear to work.

Weight

Picking the right pounds is going to be the key to getting the most out of your workouts.

We wanted to make sure that we selected products that offered a wide range of sizes that users could pick from. Designs that offered sizes that started off at 1 pound and worked their way in 1 pound increments to 5 pounds were pretty standard from most companies. We also wanted to make sure that we included a few options that were a little heavier than most and included some that were between 5-8 pounds. For those that aren’t sure how heavy they should go for their workouts, we also tried to stick to designs that had iron bars or sandbags that were able to be removed from the base so that users would have the choice of working up to a heavier option, or simply removing bags to accommodate specific exercises. The ability to make it lighter when needed is going to be the keep to preventing injury.

Materials

If you are wearing it for a quick job in the park or while you are at work all day, the type of material used is going to dictate how comfortable it is.

What we found during our research is that selecting products that used neoprene is going to be the best option available to use. This material is great because it is incredibly soft and won’t rub your skin raw, and it also conforms to the shape of your leg over time. Neoprene is also ideal because it is considered to be incredibly lightweight and breathable, so as you work up a sweat in your workout, it will still stay cool and dry on the inside of the products. The only downside to neoprene is that it is a little difficult to wash and care for, and it is often a little more expensive. If you are looking to save a little bit of money and want something that is going to be easier to care for, materials such as cotton and canvas are great solutions. While they are easier to care for, they run the risk of digging into your skin, and they aren’t as durable as neoprene.

Adjustability

We wanted to select styles that were pretty easy to get on and off.

We know how it is- is a product is a pain to strap on and take off at the end of your workout, it is likely to deemed to gather dust in the bottom of your closet. That’s why we wanted to make sure that we selected products that were going to be easy to take on and take back off. While it is important that it is easy to slip on and off, we also wanted to make sure it was designed to fit most users. This means that we also took a look and the size and length of the adjustable strap. Not all users are created equal, and we wanted to make sure that the straps were going to be long enough to fit larger and smaller users. To make sure that these are comfortable and to help ward off injury, you are going to need to ensure that they fit properly. This means that they are going to need to be snug, but not too tight.

Value

As always, we want to save you a little bit of money when we can.

The good news here is that these products are generally pretty affordable. There were very few instances where we found the price was considered to be unnecessarily high. A few key features are typically going to drive up the price, but many of those features are worth the extra cost in our option. Naturally, heavier designs are going to have a higher price point over their 1 pound counterparts, so be prepared to pay more if you want to go heavy. Also, the materials used are going to be priced higher than others. From what we found, products that use neoprene are typically quite a bit more than those that use canvas or cotton. However, neoprene is also more durable, so these higher priced options are actually going to last you quite a bit longer, making them well worth the slightly padded price tag.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Weight
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Style

If you are looking for something that you are going to be able to wear all day long, the slimmer options are going to be your best selection. Slimmer options are typically only offered in 1-2 pound options, but this is a going to really be all you need if you are going to wear it all day.

Weight

To reduce the risk of injury while in use, it is important that you don't know too heavy. We know that it might be tempting to go as heavy as you can to really burn those calories, but heavier options will put more strain on your joints such as your knees. Be sure that it is heavy enough that you can feel it, but not so heavy that it affects your natural gait.

Adjustability

When you are fastening these products to your legs, you need to make sure that it is put on properly. We suggest that you pull it tight so that it doesn't move around while in use, but not too tight that you lose circulation.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How will they help my workouts?

a:

Adding additional pounds to your cardio workouts is going to add quite a bit of resistance that is not only going to help tone leg muscles and make you stronger, but it is also going to help you burn more calories because you are going to be exerting more energy. Users typically wear these products while hiking, cycling, lifting weights at the gym, or engaging in aerobic class such as Zumba. If you find that all of your typical workouts don’t seem as difficult as they used to be, or you aren’t building up a sweat as much as you used to, this is a great way to add a little bit more resistance without changing up your routine altogether.

q: Can I wear them while running?

a:

Yes, you can wear these while you are running, but there are a few things that you will need to keep in mind. Many experts claim that adding sudden pounds to your legs on your daily jog is going to put additional strain on your knees, which are already prone to strain when you are running. However, proper use of these products can actually help strengthen your legs muscles that can actually help you run faster and for longer distances. Is wearing them worth the risk of putting that extra strain on your knees? We feel that if you make sure that you select the right size, it is going to be worth it in the long run. If you are just starting out on your running journey, we suggest selecting a 1 pound option. This will help add promote strengthening, but it is going to reduce the strain on your joints.

q: What else can they be used for?

a:

If you lead a busy life and can’t seem to find the time to fit in a workout as much as you’d like, slimmer options are going to be a great option to wear all day long. This means that while you are engaging in everyday activities such as walking around the office or working in the yard, you are going to be able to build muscle and burn calories. If you intend on wearing one of these products all day, we suggest selecting a design that is made from soft and high-quality materials such as neoprene that won’t run the risk of digging into your skin while in use. Just make sure that you select a thinner and lighter option because heavier and thicker designs will run the risk of being uncomfortable and digging into your skin.

q: How do I know what size to select?

a:

Figuring out how heavy you want them to be is a tricky process. You want to make sure that they are going to be heavy enough you get the most out of wearing them, but going too heavy is going to increase the risk of injury. For those that are just starting out on their fitness journey, 1-2 pound styles are going to be your safest selection. If you are really unsure of how heavy you want to go, a great solution is to pick a brand that allows you to remove sandbags so that you will have the option to try out different levels before finding the right one. You are going to want it to add a little bit of resistance, but you don't want it so heavy that it is going to negatively affect your natural gait. If you find you are walking or running a little different, this is where you will run the risk of injury.

q: Will they help me jump higher?

a:

Sadly, they will do little to help increase your vertical jump. In fact, you are going to run the risk of injury if you wear these while trying to jump higher. Due to the fact that you need to use your knees to stabilize yourself when landing, the additional weight strapped to your lower leg is actually going to increase the risk of injury when you land. If you are looking to increase your jump, simple and old fashioned practice is going to be the best solution. So, if you are looking to just try and increase your vertical jump, training with these products is going to end up doing more harm than good.

q: Is it safe to wear them?

a:

Yes, these are going to be safe to wear while engaging in cardio activities, but as long as you keep a few things in mind. Adding additional pounds is also going to increase your risk of injury. There are, however, a few ways to sidestep this issue. The first way is to ensure that you never go too heavy. It might seem tempting to push it as heavy as you can go to build the most about of muscle and endurance, but this is exactly where people run into injuries. The second thing that you want to consider is that you ensure that it isn’t going to affect your natural gait. You have most likely spent a long time developing a gait that feels natural and tries to distribute the impact of hitting the ground evenly through your body. When you add too much weight that disrupts that natural process, vulnerable parts of your body (such as your knees and lower back) are going to be more susceptible to injury.

Sources