to top 10 table

Best Air Quality Monitors

last updated Jul 01, 2019

One of maybe the most overlooked aspects of owning a house is monitoring the air inside of it. While most people are aware of the dangers of outdoor air at times, many overlook the fact that the health and quality of the indoor air is equally as important. The good news is that there are affordable devices that you can buy and bring into your home to monitor how well the air quality is. There are plenty of benefits to keeping tabs on the air in your home and we will touch on these in our buying guide. We have also taken the liberty of compiling the ten best monitors on the market today, taking the guesswork out of the researching process for you. Read on to find which ten we found to be the best and why you should invest in them.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 4 hrs of research

icon
Canary
98.6/100 our score
Versatility
98
Connectivity
99
Advanced Features
99
Size
98
Value
99
Canary
Why is it better?

Equipped with an HD camera

Built-in siren

Works well in day and night time

Can monitor what cannot be seen (temperature, air quality)

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Canary
Test Winner: Canary
Amazon Link
Sorting Options
Versatility Connectivity Advanced Features Size Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Versatility
98 %
Connectivity
99 %
Advanced Features
99 %
Size
98 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Versatility
97 %
Connectivity
99 %
Advanced Features
96 %
Size
98 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$175.75
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Versatility
92 %
Connectivity
92 %
Advanced Features
93 %
Size
99 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$104.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Versatility
92 %
Connectivity
90 %
Advanced Features
94 %
Size
96 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$165.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Versatility
99 %
Connectivity
80 %
Advanced Features
99 %
Size
80 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$162.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Versatility
96 %
Connectivity
96 %
Advanced Features
96 %
Size
80 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Versatility
80 %
Connectivity
80 %
Advanced Features
82 %
Size
97 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$104.97
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Versatility
85 %
Connectivity
92 %
Advanced Features
92 %
Size
80 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$269.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Versatility
80 %
Connectivity
80 %
Advanced Features
82 %
Size
80 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$109.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Versatility
80 %
Connectivity
90 %
Advanced Features
90 %
Size
80 %
Value
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link

Top 10 Picks

1. Canary

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Canary
Amazon Link
Versatility
98
Connectivity
99
Advanced Features
99
Size
98
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

Equipped with an HD camera

Built-in siren

Works well in day and night time

Can monitor what cannot be seen (temperature, air quality)

Cons:

Must purchase a separate membership for full access to benefits

This product is less of a dedicated air quality monitor and more of an all-around home monitoring device. It has a host of incredible features that will provide homeowners with the peace of mind they need when leaving home for the day.

Read more

Versatility

If you’re looking for the most technologically advanced and versatile air quality monitors, look no further than this product from Canary. This device does it all. It is equipped with a camera so homeowners are able to watch live or recorded activities from their smartphones from anywhere. It has a built-in speaker so you can have two-way conversations from your smartphone to whoever is at your house. It can be used as a baby monitor or as a way for pet parents to check on their furry companions while they’re out of the house. It is equipped with a 90-decibel siren meant to spook away burglars just with the tap of your finger if necessary. Not only will it monitor the air quality in your home but the temperature and humidity as well so you will always have access to what you cannot see.

Connectivity

This device is compatible with all Alexa and Google Assistant enabled devices. You can connect your smartphone to the Canary system in order to receive alerts when the built-in camera recognizes movement or activities going on in your home. This makes it one of the most ‘connected’ options on our list, perfect for the techie family looking for a well-rounded device to add to their home.

Advanced Features

This device boasts easy access to emergency services. If you are not at home but see something happening that shouldn’t be from your smartphone, you can tap the button on the app and be able to connect automatically with local emergency services. It’s equipped with technology that is designed to recognize any people or motion happening in your home. The app will then notify you if something is happening so you can then look through the camera to see what is going on. This smart device will automatically arm itself when you leave the house and disarm when you arrive home. Even if you forget to set your alarm, Canary has your back.

Size

This monitor is 3” x 3” x 6” in size. This device is compact in size, thus effectively making it rather portable. Because it provides more functions than just testing the air quality, it might not be the best choice if you want to take it around your home to check the quality. This device is meant to sit in one spot in order to present homeowners with all of the possible benefits.

Value

This product from Canary is actually the most affordable product on our top ten list. We loved that consumers are able to choose a color for their device that best suits their home décor and all of the benefits that this monitor provides.

2. Awair 2nd Edition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Awair 2nd Edition
Amazon Link
Versatility
97
Connectivity
99
Advanced Features
96
Size
98
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$175.75
Pros:

Retro style

Second generation makes vast improvements over first

Accurate

Smaller than expect

Powered by USB

Cons:

May be some issues with quality control

The Awair 2nd Edition is designed to track five different factors of air quality: fine dust, chemicals, carbon monoxide, humidity and temperature. These five elements can work together to negatively impact your environment, health and comfort levels so it is important to have a way to quickly check and see if the air quality in your home is up to par.

Read more

Versatility

Though this air quality monitor's main feature is just to monitor the quality of your air, it does have other functions that make it a worthwhile investment. Keep reading to see what else this device has to offer.

Connectivity

This device connects to a number of different smart home products that you already have in your home. Nest, Google Home, Amazon Echo are all different devices you can connect the Awair to.

Advanced Features

One of the great features of this device is your ability as a consumer to be able to track and check your air quality improvements over a period of time. You are able to check patterns in the quality as well receive customized tips that are designed to help you keep the air you breathe healthily.

Size

This device is similar in style and size to an old school alarm clock. It is 6.3” x 2” x 3.5 in size.

Value

This product is one of the cheaper options that you will find in our buying guide. Don’t let its affordable price tag fool you into thinking this is a poor quality air quality monitor, though. We placed the Awair 2nd edition in our second place spot for a reason after all.

3. Yvelines

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Yvelines
Amazon Link
Versatility
92
Connectivity
92
Advanced Features
93
Size
99
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$104.99
Pros:

Very accurate temperature and humidity readings

Can be used as a clock

Easy to set up

Easy to read

Cons:

Instructions are hard to understand

If you’re in the market for a simpler design for your air quality monitor, this product from Yvelines might be just what you’re looking for. There is no compatibility with your smartphone or virtual assistants but we know some people prefer it that way.

Read more

Versatility

This device is able to check for the presence of a number of different gases that you may find in your home including formaldehyde, Total Volatile Organic Compounds, haze, dust and more.

Connectivity

Though this device isn’t very technologically advanced, that doesn’t mean that you should discount it entirely unless you’re hoping to purchase a device that connects to your smartphone. It charges via a USB cord.

Advanced Features

This device claims to be able to locate any combustible or explosive gas leaks just by measuring the indoor temperature of your home.

Size

The device is 4.9” x 3.1” x 1.9” making it a handy portable unit that you can take with you wherever you go. Yvelines warns, however, that the readings may fluctuate a lot when you move the monitor because of a higher circulation rate. They recommend use in one dedicated spot.

Value

This monitor is priced around the middle of the line when we compare it to the other products on our list. This might not be the best device for folks who like to have the most technologically advanced products in their home as its pretty simple in design and function, but it’s still a worthwhile investment for folks who prefer something a little less ‘connected.’

4. Temtop M2000C

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Temtop M2000C
Amazon Link
Versatility
92
Connectivity
90
Advanced Features
94
Size
96
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$165.99
Pros:

High-quality construction

Device boots fast

Battery lasts a long time

Screen is big and easy to read

Cons:

Buttons aren’t as tactile as they could be

If you’re looking for a simple and portable air quality monitor, this product from Temptop has you covered. It is easy to read and simple to use and while it doesn’t provide some of the high tech functions as other options on our list, it is still incredibly useful and worth the price.

Read more

Versatility

This device is not as versatile as some of the other monitors on our list, but it still provides a number of different readings. With the Temptop M2000C, users can check for carbon monoxide, humidity levels, current temperature, fine particle matter, and particulate matter.

Connectivity

This device does not connect to your smartphone or to any virtual assistants.

Advanced Features

This device has an audio alarm to warn you if it senses something wrong in your air quality. The device itself is very ergonomic in design, making it easy to hold and use. The built-in battery lasts a long time.

Size

This device measures 8.6” x 2.8” x 1.4”. It is small enough to fit in your pocket and take with you wherever you would like to check the air quality.

Value

This product is priced a little on the higher end when we compare it to similar products on our list. Though it doesn’t have the bells and whistles of some of the other devices we have listed here, it is still a worthwhile investment.

5. LEVOIT LV-PUR131

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
LEVOIT LV-PUR131
Amazon Link
Versatility
99
Connectivity
80
Advanced Features
99
Size
80
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$162.99
Pros:

Quiet operation

Great customer service

Easy to set up

Air intake is on sides of the device so it can be placed near a wall

Cons:

Doesn’t give you feedback about the pollutant it is picking up

Filter doesn’t last long

If you are in the market for an air quality monitoring system that will far surpass your expectations in terms of functionality, this unit from Levoit is going to be right up your alley. For a price similar to what is being asked of devices that can only act as an air quality monitor, you can have an air purifier that will stop the problem in its tracks.

Read more

Versatility

This device is not only an air quality monitor, but it is an air purifier as well. When it senses there is a pollutant in the air in your home such as dust, mold or dander, the device will immediately kick into gear and its three filters will make quick work of the offending pollutants.

Connectivity

This device will not connect to your smartphone or utilize any of your virtual assistant benefits.

Advanced Features

This unit has a three-stage system for filtration once it detects impurities in your air. Stage one is a preliminary filter that is designed to filter out any pet dander, fungi or bacteria. The second stage is the HEPA filter that will take care of dust, mites or pollen. Finally, the third stage is the activated carbon filter that will help to tackle any odors that are present in your home (like that seafood you cooked last week or the lingering cigarette smoke).

Size

This device is 18.” X 7.2” x 14.5.” The size of this unit doesn’t make it the most portable option on our list. This device is meant to stay in one room and will service around 322 square feet without issue.

Value

For less than some of the other air quality monitors on our list, you can have yourself a device that not only will detect impurities in your air but try to rid you of them at the same time.

6. Wynd Plus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Wynd Plus
Amazon Link
Versatility
96
Connectivity
96
Advanced Features
96
Size
80
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Travel-ready

Air purifier is powerful

Can use it in your vehicle

Holds a good charge

Cons:

Some concerns regarding the longevity of this product

In the sixth spot on our top ten list, we have this product from Wynd. This air quality monitor doubles as an air purifier so you can have two devices for one price.

Read more

Versatility

Again, we have another product on our list that doubles as an air purifier and a tracker for the air quality in your home. This monitor comes with a free e-book that serves to teach consumers the ins and outs of air quality and how using this device can help you live a healthier life.

Connectivity

The Wynd Plus can be paired with the Wynd app so you are able to access all the important information you need right from your smartphone, providing you with a way to get the real-time facts.

Advanced Features

The air quality sensor can easily detach from the purifier in order to provide readings on the go. Current users love that this device is portable enough to take with them when they travel.

Size

This monitor is extremely portable. It is about the size of a water bottle and will fit in any normal size cupholder in any vehicle. It weighs less than a pound, making toting it around with you a breeze.

Value

This product from Wynd is one of the more expensive options on our list. We must remember, however, to look at the value that is being provided by the device when we are comparing the products on our list. While this monitor requires a bit more of an investment, it does have some pretty unique features that set it apart from the others in our buying guide.

7. EG Air

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
EG Air
Amazon Link
Versatility
80
Connectivity
80
Advanced Features
82
Size
97
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$104.97
Pros:

High-quality construction

Accurate

Portable

Rechargeable battery

Great customer service

Cons:

Some questions regarding the accuracy

Here we have another handheld portable air quality monitor. This device from EG Air is similar to other handheld devices on our list but we loved that it is equipped with a few features that are designed to set it apart from others on the market. The built-in fan and laser sensors are really unique touch and we loved that the “homegrown” feel this company seems to employ.

Read more

Versatility

Though this device is an air quality monitor and doesn’t offer much aside from that function, it still does its job very effectively. This device has a number of different sensors that are designed to take measurements to ensure consumer safety. It can assess the temperature, humidity levels, formaldehyde, TVOC and even the dust matter (which can travel into your respiratory tract making you quite sick).

Connectivity

This device does not connect to your smartphone or any virtual assistants. That said, there is one unique way consumers can feel connected to their device. The company proudly boasts that their technical staff (including a chemist) will be happy to answer any questions you have regarding their product, thus effectively keeping you connected with the manufacturer.

Advanced Features

This monitor has a built-in fan in it that is designed to allow ambient air inside in order to provide consumers with a way to check the real-time measurements of their home. The device is equipped with a laser sensor that is meant to measure the number of dust particles in your home as well.

Size

The dimensions of this air quality monitor are 5.9” x 2.8” x 1.7.” It is an extremely portable device that will allow users to spot check air quality wherever they see fit.

Value

This product from EG Air is one of the most budget-friendly air quality monitors on our list. We loved its built-in fan and laser sensors and the company’s commitment to providing a high-quality device to improve your home and life.

8. IQ Air AirVisual Pro

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
IQ Air AirVisual Pro
Amazon Link
Versatility
85
Connectivity
92
Advanced Features
92
Size
80
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$269.00
Pros:

Device will send notifications to your smartphone

Can be used indoors or outdoors

Can “If this, then that” commands

Seems to be accurate

Cons:

Battery doesn’t last long

The IQ Air AirVisual Pro air quality monitor requires a bit of an investment up front but the payback you will receive from this product is unprecedented. This device is a great addition to your already Smart Home and will connect to a number of your smart home devices to create a safer and healthier environment for you and your family.

Read more

Versatility

This device is designed to be used either indoors or outdoors, making this a very versatile air quality monitor choice for consumers who are hoping to be able to check the air quality outside of their homes as well. One of the really great features of this device is that you can set commands with it so the monitor will tell your other smart home devices to take action if necessary. For example, if your monitor notices that there is a number of indoor pollutants present in your home, it will trigger your air purification system to run.

Connectivity

This device will alert you via your smartphone when the air quality you are in is not up to par. You can link it to most of your smart home technology for an easy way to stay connected. You can even pair your device to your homes Wi-Fi and have it turn on your HVAC system if your smartphone is near to your Wi-Fi network so you can come home to fresher air.

Advanced Features

We love that this device is about to notify consumers of pollution and weather forecasts up to 72 hours in advance. This is a perfect feature to have if you like to travel and know what to expect before you go anywhere. This feature allows you to plan your day ahead of time so you know how to minimize your exposure to certain pollutants.

Size

This product is 7” x 4” x 3” in size.

Value

There are a lot of things to love about this product and we were barely able to scrape the surface in our short review. Though this is the most expensive air quality monitor on our list, we think it is a great addition for folks who want to be able to keep connected to their home and it is especially useful for folks who already have a lot of smart home devices to simplify their lives.

9. IGERESS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
IGERESS
Amazon Link
Versatility
80
Connectivity
80
Advanced Features
82
Size
80
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$109.99
Pros:

Very portable

Accurate readings

Easy to operate

Quiet sensor

Cons:

Will need to calibrate it every time you turn it on

Available in either grey or white, this device from IGERESS is an affordable solution to your indoor air quality monitoring. It has recently been updated to include more accurate sensors for top-of-the-line monitoring.

Read more

Versatility

This device has a lot of functions and is really easy to operate. It will check your air for the presence of formaldehyde, Total Volatile Organic Compounds, and atmospheric particulate matter.

Connectivity

This device does not connect to your smartphone or to your virtual assistants.

Advanced Features

This monitor is equipped with new anti-interference technology to ensure that you are receiving the most accurate and precise readings from your device.

Size

This device is conveniently sized and easy to tote around with you. It only takes five minutes or so to receive a reading so you can use it to test other areas of your home as well. It is 5.9” x 1.7” x 2.8” in size.

Value

This air quality detector from IGERESS is one of the cheapest options that you will find in our buying guide.

10. Kaiterra Laser Egg 2+

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Kaiterra Laser Egg 2+
Amazon Link
Versatility
80
Connectivity
90
Advanced Features
90
Size
80
Value
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Compact size

Can be used indoors or outdoors

Nice display

Simple to set up

Cons:

Seems to be some issues with staying connected to the device

If you’re hoping to find an air quality monitor that can double as home décor, look no further than the Laser Egg 2+. This device functions well as a monitor for your air, but its unique and modern look makes it a great addition to any room in your home as well.

Read more

Versatility

This device is not only useful in tracking fine dust particles and chemicals in your home, but it will be able to give you accurate readings on the temperature and humidity as well. Another great feature of the Kaiterra Laser Egg 2+ is that it will provide users with the weather forecasts.

Connectivity

You can pair this monitor with your Apple devices to have access to Siri. There is also a Kaiterra app that users can download in order to get feedback from their smartphones or tablets. Using the app, consumers are then able to set alerts and customized instructions in order to have their device operate in just the way they need it to. Users will need to have iOS 9.0 or later or Android 5.0 in order to meet the system requirements for this monitor.

Advanced Features

This air quality monitor is designed to calculate the air quality into one index in order to provide users with a way of knowing which pollutants they should be wary of. It will provide exact readings for a number of different pollutants.

Size

The compact size of this device will allow users to take it with them anywhere they go or anywhere they are curious about the current air quality. We were unable to find the exact dimensions of the device.

Value

This is one of the more expensive options that you will find in our buying guide, but we loved how connected this device is and other features it provides. We loved the style of this device and that it looks like another piece of modern home décor instead of a tool.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Connectivity

Apps, Siri or Google Assistant connectivity is a very real possibility.

It’s 2019. It seems like everything is able to connect to your smartphone or your TV. Walk into any electronics store, take a walk down the Smart Home section and be mind blown by the offerings currently available to homeowners. Air quality monitors are no different. Well, at least some of them are no different. There are a number of options on our top ten list that can connect to your smartphone to give you readings right in the palm of your hand. Some even connect to your smart home devices like Alexa. The benefit of having this kind of connectivity is that it just gives you another way to keep tabs on the air quality (and whatever other measurements the device you have chosen to invest intakes) in your home.

Advanced Features

Technological advances make air monitoring easy.

These air quality monitors are already fairly advanced little devices like it. Some of the options on our list, however, to provide more than just the bare minimum when it comes to delivering consumers the quality of their air. Some devices provide real-time forecasts so users are able to plan their day according to the weather. Some of the air quality monitors that are also air purifiers are fitted with fans and filtration systems.

Size

Handheld or as part of your decor?

The size of your new air quality monitor is important. If you were hoping for a device that you can fit into your toolbox and pull out at any time you need to check the air quality, there are devices on our list that will check that box for you. Some of the options are designed to be left on a side table or in your kitchen in order to provide the most accurate readings. In this case, you don’t want a huge device taking up precious counter space. In this day and age, space is often a hot commodity so we took this into account as we found the best air monitoring systems to provide you with.

Value

Get the most bang for your buck with these options.

Of course, value is a huge factor to consider as you begin your hunt. You want to be able to put your hard-earned money towards a device that is going to not only provide you with the most accurate readings but will give you the most bang for your buck as well. Not one of the products on our list goes over the $300 mark and, in fact, most of them are under $150. You can expect to pay a little more for the more connected and technologically advanced devices, but when you consider what you are receiving in return for your investment (the invaluable knowledge of your homes air quality), we think that it’s more than worth the price.

expert tips icon
Addressing PM2.5

As you begin your own research into air quality monitoring, you may find that you’re inundated with words and phrases you may not be familiar with. One of these is “PM2.5.” This is the atmospheric particulate matter with a diameter of fewer than 2.5 micrometers in size. The particles in this category are so tiny that they can be found only with a special microscope. The fine particles can come from a number of different places like vehicles, planes, forest fires and dust storms. They are so light that they can stay in the air we breathe longer than other, more dense particles. This increases the likelihood of humans and pets inhaling them and having them enter into the lungs.

Air Pollution Dangers

There are a lot of dangers of breathing in air pollutants. A recently published study links air pollution to increased likelihood of mental illness in kids. PM2.5, discussed in our last time, is the biggest environmental health risk that our world is facing today. Asthma in kids has be causally linked to high humidity in buildings. Volatile organic compound pollute indoor air two to five times more than it does outdoor air. And this is all just barely scraping the surface. Though we can’t individually combat the air pollution outdoors, you can take charge of your indoor air. Your best bet in beating the dangers of air quality (or at least getting on top of them), is to provide yourself a way to monitor the air you can control – the air in your home.

Other Factors to Consider

Style

While style may not be a huge concern for you if you’re just in the market for an air quality monitor that does its job well (hint: all 10 of the products on our list check this box), it might be a huge deciding factor for some populations. This is especially true if you’re hoping to purchase a device that will sit out and constantly monitor the air. Many of the options on our list are sleek looking with modern aesthetics that will look great on any countertop. Most notably, we liked the design of the monitors from Kaiterra, Awair, Wynd, IQ Air, and Canary. These are the most ‘modern’ looking devices with nice display screens that won’t look like an eyesore on your counters.

Accuracy

Of course, you want the air quality monitor that you’re investing in to provide the most accurate readings possible or else you wouldn’t purchase the device in the first place. We didn’t only take the manufacturer’s word for it when it came to the accuracy of their monitors. We poured through thousands of reviews to ensure that the products that made our top ten list are the most accurate on the market.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why should I care about my indoor air quality?

a:

There are a number of reasons why homeowners should check their indoor air quality. Even just one single exposure to pollutants in your home can have a detrimental effect on your health. Short-term side effects of living with these harmful pollutants include chronic headaches, itchy eyes, dizziness, and fatigue. Being exposed to certain more dangerous pollutants that are possible in your home could even include death. People who live in homes with poor indoor air quality can experience a multitude of health issues. Sick Building Syndrome (SBS) is sometimes used when describing situations where occupants of a home or building experience adverse side effects that correlate directly to the amount of time they spend in the building. Building Related Illness (BRI) offers less frequently than SBS but tends to be more serious. People who experience BRI will have clinical symptoms and often times a clear cause for these issues can be found when looking more in-depth at the home environment. Legionnaires Disease, a form of bacterial pneumonia, is an example of an ailment that can be caused by BRI.

q: What pollutants will the monitors check for?

a:

There are a number of different pollutants you should be aware of. Carbon monoxide is probably the most dangerous of all of them and it's likely the one you’ve heard about the most. It’s an odorless gas that can be caused by a number of different factors such as propane heaters or gas stoves. The CDC reports that 400 people die every single year in the United States from accidental CO poisoning. Radon is another pollutant you should be checking for. The Department of Health and Human Services in the United States states that one in every five homes have high levels of this odorless gas. Other, slightly less harmful pollutants are things like dust from carpets or fabrics, perfumes from occupants in your home, pollen, and bacteria and molds from damp areas in your home or stagnant water that can be irritating for some populations and even be the cause of allergic reactions.

q: What causes indoor air quality issues in the first place?

a:

Often times issues with air quality in your home are the result of interactions between the materials that were used to build your home and the furnishings inside of it, activities that happen in the building and the climate. The environment of your home can cause air quality issues through the temperature, humidity, and whether or not the air can circulate properly within your home. Contaminants like dust, fungi, bacteria, and gases are also known causes of poor indoor air quality.

q: What is CO2 and why is it so dangerous?

a:

Carbon monoxide is a poisonous, colorless and odorless gas. It is harmful when it is breathed in because it displaces the oxygen in your blood and will eventually cause your heart, brain, and other important organs to be deprived of the oxygen they need to operate properly. Some of the first symptoms of carbon monoxide poisoning include headaches, fatigue, dizziness, and nausea. If you’re experiencing prolonged exposure to C02, you may have symptoms like vomiting, confusion and collapsing. It is important to note that carbon monoxide poisoning can be reversed if it is caught fast enough.

q: Where is CO2 found in homes?

a:

Carbon monoxide is made wherever a material burns. If you have a fuel-burning appliance or an attached garage on your home, you are more likely to have problems with CO2. Other common sources of carbon monoxide in homes are from appliances like dryers, water heaters, boilers, fireplaces, and wood stoves.

q: How can I improve the air quality in my home?

a:

The first way you can improve your air quality is by controlling the source of pollution. Keeping your home clean and free of dust will help to keep dust and pollens down. You could invest in a vacuum with a HEPA filter or install a built-in option that will vent outside. You should always follow the instructions for your fuel-burning appliances to ensure you’re using and servicing them properly. Never allow your vehicle to idle with the garage door closed. Other ways you can improve air quality in your home is through improving the ventilation. Keep windows open when you can and try to remember to turn your vents on when you cook and exhaust fans on in the washroom when you’re bathing. You can use air cleaners in your home to help increase the ventilation and remove pollutants.